Google Meet Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
42 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Virginia Peralta | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2020

Great tool for business meetings

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Google Hangouts Meet is being used by the entire organization. Due to Covid-19 a company-wide policy has been established that no meetings can take place, and instead all employees must use Google Meets to meet with other employees. Additionally, the sales department has been using Hangouts Meet to communicate with clients. This tool has been a great to keep employees working from home without risking infection from Covid.
  • More than one way to connect to the call (a link or a phone number).
  • Possibility of recording the call, and receiving said recording afterwards.
  • Sharing screen.
  • Cannot share only a portion of the screen.
  • Sometimes the microphone doesn't work.
  • If connecting to the call using the assigned phone number, the participant incurs in charges.
Hangouts meet is perfect to communicate with other employees using video-conferencing. Since it allows to share the screen, it is good for presentations as well. Additionally, it is a great tool if you need to contact someone who is not at their computer since there is an assigned phone number that allows someone to connect to the call.
When using Hangouts Meet at a company level, support is handled internally and any issues that need to be handled externally by Google have to be canalized through the IT department which can become tedious at times. Since there are not many issues when using the tool, this might not be as important.
Read Virginia Peralta's full review
Udit Mhatre | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2020

Google Hangouts Meet has been a boon during this pandemic.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Google Hangouts Meet to informally connect with colleagues. It is used across the whole organization. Its integration with Gsuite is its best feature and makes working remotely very efficient and easy. Google Hangouts Meets integration with Gmail and Gsuite is the icing on the cake when it comes to solving business problems and also replaces tools like Slack. With Google Hangouts Meet, we do not have to pay for another conversation platform.
  • Video Conferencing
  • Instant Text
  • File Sharing
  • Social Connectivity
  • Free International Calling
  • UI/UX
  • Features like changing background in Video Chat
  • Screen Control
Google Hangouts Meet is a very efficient tool for informal texts and video/voice calls. Lack of features makes it less appropriate for official work like meetings and screen sharing.
Google is known for its customer support and care. Consumers tend to rely and trust this brand more than they would for other services.
Read Udit Mhatre's full review
Achyut Kulkarni | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2020

Hangouts and Meet at Google.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts Meet is being used by different teams in my department as a way to communicate remotely. It doesn't address a particular business problem per se but definitely helps with communication in a remote environment.
  • Ease of access
  • Price
  • One-click login
  • Video and audio quality
  • It doesn't work efficiently for more than 10 group of people.
  • Accessibility with other web browsers such as Firefox, UC Browser, and Safari.
Google meet is well suited if you are video calling with maybe 3- 4 people. It has good audio and video quality and can be accessed through one-click login via Gmail. Anyone can record the meeting, although the recording will be stored in the cloud of the host. However, in scenarios where attendees need to be muted, anyone can do that, which means I can mute an attendee and remove them from the conference. Therefore, this authority needs to be done with as only the host should have the ability to mute or remove a particular attendee.
The customer support is 24/7 and has a quick, as well as, high response rate. I had an issue with my laptop not being able to download the meet app. I contacted the customer support and they solved the issue within 30 mins. Also, they have the option of live chat, which can be really helpful in case of emergency.
Read Achyut Kulkarni's full review
Maurice Parisien | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2020

Google Hangouts Meet: Great Video Conferencing App at a Great Price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We make use of Google Meet in the normal course of business especially now during the Covid-19 pandemic. We use Google Meet for one-on-one video conference calls and group conference calls as well. We presently conduct one or two video calls per week.
  • Allows for a simple interaction with both video and audio in a quality manner
  • Google Meet takes very little training for the user.
  • Quality of the transaction is quite good.
  • Increase the size of the video window for the host.
  • Offer a transcript of the video call.
  • Forward a reminder of the video conference to the host at a preset time prior to the event.
Google Hangouts Meet is great for one-on-one as well as group calls. In the current world of social distancing, Google Meet has been a great alternative to Zoom.
I’m not aware of a live chat capability to address session problems.
Read Maurice Parisien's full review
Daniel Chance | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2020

Google Hangouts Meet - Quick & Easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts Meet is being used as our go-to meeting spot for all internal meetings and catchups. We also utilize it when we need an alternative meeting spot when our customers can’t access our normal provider. Google Hangouts Meet is so easy to create a meeting, jump into one, and to share with the other person/group.
  • Video Quality
  • Audio Quality
  • Meeting Access for others
  • Calendar Invite Adding
  • Recording
  • Video/screen viewing during meeting
  • Better access for non G Suite users
I think the most useful application for Google Hangouts Meet is for all internal meetings and catchups. It’s so easy to create a Google Hangout and super easy for others to get on. I think they aren’t quite the ideal platform for extending to customers or external users unless they use Google.
Google has always been great at customer service and this is a great example. They respond in a timely manner to any issues I have had, and often can suggest a quick fix even if it’s something that requires more development/configuration of their product. Always fast, friendly, and there to help!
Read Daniel Chance's full review
Khem Lal Pahari | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2020

Google Hangouts Meet Means Business.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Meet is being used by my organisation for its simplicity and stable communication.
It's very easy to enter the meeting and get started. The screen sharing feature works perfectly to help conduct conference effectively. Clients and trainees can also use realtime speech to text feature even in the version. The time limit in the free version is 60 minutes which is enough to run a training session and online classes. The app takes a very small space and runs smoothly even in low end devices.
  • Their Speech to Text feature is very useful.
  • The shared screen can be zoomed and the contents get more detailed which helps the user to notice small details.
  • The video feed is very stable and clear unlike others video conference apps.
  • If you get kicked out of meeting due to bad network you can easily rejoin without any hassle.
  • Sometimes the app closes suddenly.
  • The free version has fewer features.
Google Hangouts Meet is best suited for online classes by integrating it with Google Classroom and Google Forms.
But I don't think It can used to hold online examinations effectively.
Overall, it a great app. It ticks all the boxes and help to establish good relationship between you and your clients and trainees. It might have some shortcomings but they are not major.
Read Khem Lal Pahari's full review
Tanner Cash | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2020

Simple Video Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Hangouts Meet as our free video conference tool. We love how easy it is to schedule with our calendar events. In sales, I use it to do demos and talk with potential clients.
  • Very easy to use
  • Simple to set up meetings
  • Able to make video call easy to join
  • Sound quality (talking when others are talking)
  • More customizable screen viewing/experience
  • Better picture quality
Google Hangouts Meet is great when you want a quick call. It's not the best when you have a big presentation or need a lot of discussion back and forth.
Haven't needed any support
Read Tanner Cash's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2020

Meet: Decent Free Solution

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meet across the organization as our go-to resource for remote meetings. Now that we are all remote, we rely on Meet to replace what would otherwise be in-person face time. The entire organization uses it, but some team still rely on free Zoom accounts for external meetings. Meet allows us to easily stay connected without having to add operational expenses.
  • There is lots of customization to the platform through add-ons.
  • It is convenient and easy to integrate since we utilize G Suite.
  • It's hard to beat a system that is entirely free!
  • Meet as it comes doesn't have a great way to handle large meetings.
  • I don't like the way they hide the mute button. It's a disruptive view to mute/unmute.
  • Chat box is the only way to document collaborations within the meeting.
Meet is great for internal, small, and casual conversations. It is a great substitute for a quick swing by someones desk or a quick morning check-in. Meet is not great for large meetings. Meet is also not great for meetings that require a lot of collaboration and brain storming, since it is hard to capture within Meet.
I have never contacted support for Meet.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2020

Instead of conference rooms we now use Google Hangouts Meet!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Meet for our weekly meetings with the team. Majority of meetings are one-on-one. At some cases whole team is at meeting (4-5 people). For the most time we use for audio and video discussions. Some time we also use screen-share options. Using Google Hangouts meet is very easy to use and it allows our team to connect even thou if we don't work together in the same office.
  • Reliability
  • Good quality audio
  • Good quality video
  • Option to record session
  • Share the recordings
It is a great tool for meetings with team mates and our partners. It is very easy to use and very reliable I held sales meetings thru Google Hangouts Meet and 99% of the time it worked perfectly. What we are missing is an option to record meeting so people who could not attend a meeting could view the recordings. This would be a great feature for us.
Never needed support from them. The product is so great that everything is very clear from the day one.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2020

A great platform to connect virtually!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Good Hangouts for anything and everything. We host team meetings with it and have a speaker share their screen. We host company-wide meetings with it. We host individual 1:1 meetings. It's a great and convenient platform to connect face to face at ease. And pretty much everyone can figure it out. Very straightforward
  • Love the ability to switch different screen views and all the settings you can choose.
  • Entry screen that gives you a preview of your video before joining the meeting.
  • Settings are easy to access. I know where to go to mute, share screen, leave call, etc.
  • Does Google Meets have breakout rooms? If not, would love to see that.
It's great for all your virtual meetings and anytime you want to connect with one or more people "face to face." If you want to share your screen and run through a presentation or collaborate with a colleague, this would be a great opportunity to use Google Hangouts. Or you could use it to connect with friends and family. It is a great alternative to Zoom!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2020

Google Meet: Great for a hangout, not for an office meet!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most students at our University have access to Google Hangouts Meet. We started using it more frequently during quarantine and it has been used for staff meetings, and for social interactions. I have used it for virtual games in addition to other interactions as well. Students have generally found this to be an easy to use tool. Since there is no additional cost, this is a great choice for our case. We are already subscribers of the Google Suite for Education, which includes Google Hangouts Meet.
  • Browser-based interface available, no installation needed.
  • Simple mobile app.
  • Screen-share capability.
  • Preview window is very small.
  • Chat is not integrated with hangouts, it's a little confusing.
Google Meet is great for a meeting that does not need to be recorded, only needs chat, audio, video, and screen share. This is a simple tool for simple meetings. If you need break-out rooms then this is not suitable.
It is very easy to have a single link that you can reuse. I use one link for all 1:1 meetings that are impromptu so I don't need to create a new link each time.
Have not contacted support, but this is a very well-documented tool. Google Forums are great and have answered all questions I have had so far.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2020

Google Meet - Is it worth it?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. With the onset of the coronavirus pandemic, our district turned to Google Apps for education to provide remote learning services to our students. We purchased Google Apps, and I became of the administrators for the service. We ran an experiment to find out whether this purchase would be worth it by having some teachers operate the free version while having some teachers use Hangouts Meet (purchased). We gleaned that Meet provided much higher quality video calls and is much better suited for the business or school platforms.
  • High quality video on video calls
  • High quality audio on video calls
  • The ability to present ones screen, optimal for presentations and such
  • The tiled view has a glitch in which it occasionally does not work.
  • Options to “raise a hand” virtually to get the attention of a teacher if used in an education setting
  • The ability to mute particular members of the call
Google Hangouts Meet is well suited for business meetings, educational lectures, and presentations, particularly of the Slideshow format. It is phenomenal for meetings in which groups of more than two people are present, and it is very good for having meetings in which one person (like a teacher or supervisor) is leading the discussion. It is less appropriate for informal video calls for recreation, because it has a pretty professional look and there is no funny business (you cannot change your background or use stickers like Zoom)
When I communicated with the Google representatives, they were very helpful, friendly, and willing to go the extra mile and gave good suggestions.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (12)
8.1
High quality video (12)
8.2
Low bandwidth requirements (9)
7.1
Mobile support (10)
8.7
Desktop sharing (12)
8.8
Whiteboards (6)
6.8
Calendar integration (12)
9.3
Meeting initiation (12)
8.9
Integrates with social media (4)
8.0
Record meetings / events (8)
8.3
Slideshows (9)
8.4
Live chat (10)
8.6
Audience polling (5)
7.2
Q&A (4)
6.8
User authentication (6)
7.3
Participant roles & permissions (7)
7.7
Confidential attendee list (6)
7.5

About Google Meet

Google Meet, formerly Hangouts Meet, replaces the former Google Hangouts as the company's G Suite integrated web conferencing tool, allowing users to join meetings directly from a Calendar event or email invite from a computer, phone, or conference room. G Suite's Enterprise edition also creates a dial-in phone number for each meeting, as an additional convenience.

Google Meet Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No