Google Meet Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
155 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 06, 2021
Fernanda Alonso | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts Meet is being used throughout the company to conduct meetings through video calls. We use the service practically every day to talk to customers and suppliers. Ease of use is a great strength, even without a lot of internet and technology knowledge, it is very easy to access meetings via Google Hangouts Meet.
  • Ease of use
  • Slideshow possibility
  • Chat space
  • Recording of meetings
Google Hangouts Meet is very suitable for meetings with a slideshow or just internal meetings with customers and suppliers. The service is not appropriate when we need to record the meeting for future consultation or company documentation. When we need to record the meeting, we end up opting for other services or applications.
Read Fernanda Alonso's full review
June 06, 2021
Siddhant Tripathi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts Meet is a good platform for hosting meetings or sessions. It does not require any app installation on computer devices, so it's easy and simple to use. It also consumes less data in comparison to other software with the same features.
It is one of the best available solutions for schools, colleges, and corporations for meetings and sessions.
  • Easy to use (available on both computer and mobile)
  • Less data consumption
  • Google Calendar integration
  • Recording feature should be made available on mobile
  • Certain main features should be included in the free plan
  • Emoticons should be added for reactions
  • Private chat should be made available
Schools and colleges--Google Hangouts Meet works the best in this case. The recording function is useful for students whenever they want a recap.
Corporate--companies can do meetings, webinars, and in-domain live-streaming with Google Hangouts Meet. The recording function can be useful for taking out the key points of the webinar or meeting.
Read Siddhant Tripathi's full review
June 03, 2021
Magaly Soler Arias | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Hangouts Meet as our main tool to facilitate communication, to connect with our customers and share experiences with the use of our products, to refine the acquisition of new prospects, to train and coach new members, we use it for videoconferences to discuss new marketing strategies and leadership skills, meetings for new product launches, to contact campaign leaders in other countries, etc. We used it in all our departments, in the middle of the pandemic it became more and more popular because it allowed us to be close and in constant contact with our customers and members of our team without the need to travel, avoiding crowds as much as possible.
  • It is easy to use.
  • Its interface is simple and easy to understand.
  • It provides real-time subtitles.
  • Allows sessions to be saved.
  • The audio and video quality is impeccable.
  • It integrates very well with Google calendar making it easy to schedule events and meetings.
  • Screen sharing is easy.
  • Requires G-suite account to start a video conference.
  • It does not have the option to ask to speak.
  • Drag and drop for easy file and document sharing.
Google Hangouts Meet is ideal for maintaining communication between team members or leaders and customers, for conducting remote training processes, as a means to collaborate with files and documents, to create meeting rooms, to present new products or marketing strategies. All this is possible thanks to the fine quality of audio and video it provides, the ease of use, stability, fluidity and functionality that makes every experience enjoyable and can be used by anyone.

Read Magaly Soler Arias's full review
May 24, 2021
Chantal Matthews, MSEd, CHES®, CHWC | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Hangouts Meet in my department, but not organization-wide. It’s a tool we can use to meet quickly. It’s free, convenient, and easy to use. What also helps with the use of Google Hangouts Meet is that we can easily access other Google items during our meetings. We tend to use Google software to save and edit documents. In addition, signing in and out of hangout is not difficult. Most of the software used by the university has at least a 2-step sign-in process.
  • General compatibility with other Google software such as drive
  • Instant messaging
  • Engagement - ability to use emojis, send photos, etc
  • Recording - I’ve never noticed this feature
  • Sometimes the video quality isn’t the best
  • Unlike Microsoft Teams, cannot preset away status
We use Google Hangouts Meet for more informal meetings where we are doing more team building or informal planning or brainstorming. We have a team of students that have worked with us over the years. Google Hangouts Meet is perfect for group reunions and informal office meetings because of the ease of use and simple sign-up and sign-in.
Read Chantal Matthews, MSEd, CHES®, CHWC's full review
May 08, 2021
Jose Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is adorable to have an environment where maintaining communication and collaborating with others becomes easy. The good functioning of this tool has been the cause of an increase in the productivity of our entire work team, synchronized. We have been able to move forward efficiently to fulfill our activities to meet objectives.
  • It is an excellent platform to organize virtual work meetings and progress on tasks; its interface is spotless and tidy, facilitating friendly navigation for all users.
  • My work environment has become more productive since we implemented it; I have taken advantage of its many features to stay connected, share files, and collaborate with my work team seamlessly.
  • I enjoy its seamless synchronization with other tools in the Google suite; it makes everything easier.
  • I wouldn't say I like that it is a bit slow compared to other tools. Google should work a bit more on the fluidity of this software.
It is an exceptional tool from Google that integrates everything needed to keep work teams communicating with capabilities to foster collaboration; it also synchronizes seamlessly with other Google tools to make life even easier for users.
Read Jose Rodriguez's full review
July 14, 2021
Sergey Gorbanenko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are constantly communicating since we have been using Google Hangouts Meet; we decided through an internal meeting that this software can discuss, hold meetings, and generally share via remote. We have done meetings of about one or two hours, and it has not cut off the call; it is efficient.
  • It is a very light software that supports any device; I mainly have it on my cell phone, which has been excellent.
  • I communicate with my workgroup from this application to solve any problem.
  • The chat is fast and very simple to use.
  • I can save the chat history, see who can initiate the conversation and the high quality.
  • They should fix the stability of the microphone; honestly, it is complicated to start a conversation when this specifically fails.
  • I have had problems with additional recharging costs when adding my phone number.
I suggest it for all those interested in implementing an internal communication system with their employees; it is good, it works quickly, and it is very decisive to address critical issues. Google Hangouts Meet delivers.
Read Sergey Gorbanenko's full review
July 13, 2021
HOMESH KUMAR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Google Hangouts Meet to conduct personal and internal team meetings and video conferencing. Sessions become more interactive and people take enthusiasm in the discussions going around. We have dial-in numbers, which help us connect through our phone just by dialing numbers. The best part is its integration with MS Teams or Skype.
  • Other meeting app users can join Google Hangouts Meet
  • It provides dial-in numbers
  • We can join meetings directly from our calendar
  • Takes a bit of time to load
  • User interface can be more interactive
  • More integration can be done
  • Suited for on-the-go meetings for personal use.
  • We can't attach attachments or send emojis to anyone.
  • We can't add gifs to the chat.
  • It can be enhanced in near future to accommodate all the above stated cons.
  • I had a lag-free experience using it for the last five years, but won''t recommend it for office use.
Read HOMESH KUMAR's full review
June 22, 2021
Nadeemur Rahman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts Meet is a sensational tool to conduct meetings online. I can easily connect with my team and start an online meeting. It integrates swiftly with other Google products like Gmail.
  • It is very simple to operate. All of my team members are able to operate Google Hangouts Meet efficiently.
  • It interface is very user-friendly.
  • Large number of people cannot participate in a meeting. Sometimes few members of my team cannot participate in a meeting.
  • I think that Google should improve its video quality. The video quality is not very impressive as compared to other similar software.
Google Hangouts Meet is an outstanding software when it comes to conducting online meetings. There are some remarkable features like screen sharing and recording an online meeting for later reference. However, one downside is that a large number of participants cannot participate in a meeting.
Read Nadeemur Rahman's full review
May 27, 2021
Jay Thakkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, Google Hangouts Meet is used for presentation and also for a lecture.
Everyone can connect at a time from anywhere, no need to seat at the same place which is the biggest problem is solved by Google Hangout Meet.
We can send the invitation by that all the people can notify and join.
  • All the participants up to the 100 can connect at a time.
  • Anyone can share the screen and explain their thoughts or deliver the information.
  • Admin has access to remove or mute any of the participants.
  • There is functionality of accessing the screen of participant is not there in a meet which is there in similar type of product.
  • Maximum participants can join is 100, which needs to be some more because organization may have more number of participants.
  • Sometime the video quality is not good we need to rejoin to get that better.
I will strongly recommend a Google Hangout Meet if you want to connect all the members online.
The user interface of Google Hangout Meet is very simple anyone can join with few clicks.
We can create future meetings and invite people to notify them about a meeting.
Also, I like the integration with Google Calender which is quite helpful to attend the meeting on a time.
Read Jay Thakkar's full review
July 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Hangouts Meet to have staff meetings and training, multiple departments across the whole company use it as it's an easy and quick way to get together in a meeting. Now that we're working from home, it has been crucial to the quick communication between staff members and other departments.
  • First and foremost, it's free. It has a limited amount of users and time, but the value is great.
  • It's easy to access, as you don't have to download any application and the connection to the servers is great.
  • The user interface is simple and clear for everyone, you may not be able to use it with children, but everyone is able to read and act accordingly when performing a task (sharing screens, sharing files, chatting, turning features off and on, etc.).
  • You can use features in Google's portfolio to your advantage while using it
  • It doesn't have all the features that other meeting/training options have, like annotations that are easy to use or remote control when sharing a screen
For meetings that are quick, simple, and without a lot of people, is perfect. Everyone can join quickly and control their screen how they like it, also there isn't a lot of setups needed.
Webinars or presentations where participation is not completely necessary are great in Google Hangouts Meet too.
For training classes where the participants need to control the presenter's computer or someone would like to annotate directly in someone else's computer, it might not be ideal, as you could do it downloading an extension, but it's not integrated.
Read this authenticated review
July 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using google hangouts meet to connect virtually with other team members for meetings. We also use this platform to conduct meetings with external clients and vendors since almost everyone uses Gmail. The platform has provided many benefits due to its seamless integration.
  • The best part is the integration of the platform with Gmail
  • It takes just a couple of clicks to invite other team members and start the meeting
  • The new UI is fresh and modern
  • The new UI even though is a welcome update is not the best when compared to some other top competitors
  • The placements of key tabs is not very user intuitive
It's a great tool with all functionalities one needs. Plus, it's integrated with Gmail, so everyone who has a Gmail account can reap the benefits. For companies looking for a do it all tool with the best UI and features, there are better tools in the market such as bluejeans, etc.
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hangouts Meet is used by our entire organization as our tool of choice for online meetings. It gives us an easy-to-use way of conducting our meetings with internal and external counterparts. We all use Gmail so it is easy to include in our meeting invites and options to record and present are easy to use!
  • Screen sharing and presenting in one click and you can select specific windows or the entire screen
  • Record functionality is simple and the delivery straight to your email is great with Drive storage as well.
  • Chat also helps share links if needed.
  • I always find the need to share a file during the call and not being able to do that via the chat is a miss I feel.
Simple to use and great integration with email and calendar. Create links to meets on the fly if needed for a quick chat or schedule your meet with Google Calendar in a few clicks! A reliable way to communicate and supported by 95% of my contacts.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts Meet along with the entire Google suite is very useful when it comes to connectivity as well as the ability to sync various meetings in your calendar so that no one can miss any important meeting in their day.
The users also get the flexibility to use either the web client or the mobile client which enhances the mobility that the users can experience when using Google Hangouts Meet.
  • Aligning the meetings based on the calendar times of all users.
  • Supported all across the globe to ensure that no one is missing from the action.
  • Support for inviting users from other platforms and managing the guests properly.
  • Large chat rooms and screen recording and sharing abilities.
  • The overall user experience can be improved when it comes to multi user meetings.
  • The mobile app can be Improved to allow the user to choose the audience he wants in focus.
  • The integrations with Gmail can be improved to add the meetings as an overlay.
Google Hangouts Meet is best when it is to be used as the primary communication tool between the clients and the users of the company.
It is great as it allows the user to seamlessly switch from Google Calendar to the meeting and the users can manage not just the invitees but also the other non invited people.
Read this authenticated review
May 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Day-to-day video conferencing, project discussions, attending online sessions, sessions online for people who are remote, and for sure the pandemic has escalated that. Also, the screen sharing feature is great for witnessing signatures. Google Hangouts Meet has made it simple to set up emergency meetings to sort out production issues if and when they come up. A meeting is always just a link away.
  • Fully integrated with other Google Workspace products.
  • Great Customer Support section.
  • Start a meeting instantly.
  • Easy to use.
  • Limited features.
  • Not more than 100 participants.
  • No session recording feature.
Google Hangouts Meet allows others to communicate and provide direct instruction at any time point of time and from any location. Communication is made easy and manageable with just a simple open tap. Without any interruptions, communication is simplified and allows professional and personal communication needs to be met with the ease of multi-tasking steps.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
From the moment the covid-19 crisis occurred and we resorted to teleworking, we rely on Google hangouts [to] [serve] as the main platform and facilitator of all communications in our company. [We] use it daily in video calls for [preview] and post shows, where we share the latest news of the processes; [we also use Google Handouts] to socialize the scorecard, trainings, and last minute meetings when immediate action is required on our operation due to failures in the area or services, among other uses. We use it in all our departments and the benefit we have obtained with its implementation has been really important and productive. [Its] functions promote and favor collaborative work, as [well as] the chat and messaging function, whicj allows us to be always in contact with our work team. [Google Handouts Meet] is really useful and fits very well in our business.
  • Its high quality audio and video.
  • Events can be created directly from Google Calendar as required.
  • Video streaming.
  • The security offered on every connection, whether audio or video, ensures that content is always protected.
  • Its interface is easy to use.
  • Their mobile application is easy to use and works very well.
  • Sincroniza con Google Drive.
  • Reduce the size of the chat box [because] it occupies a large part of the screen and makes it difficult to carry out other processes.
  • All information or data shared in the chat during a meeting is lost after the meeting is over.
  • Compatibility with browsers other than [Chrome].
Google [Hangouts Meet] is ideal for shortening distances and strengthen remote work, conduct meetings, training, conferences, and others. [Its] great collaborative environment, facilitates the interaction of work teams either through audio calls, video calls or messaging; with unparalleled quality and efficiency, [...] your section start is done through [Gmail]. [This] is a plus since many people use these email accounts.
Read this authenticated review
February 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have tried this platform, but it lacks the features of other services such as Zoom. We used as a test for staff meetings. I do like the live captioning feature during meetings. It also has typical features you need like standard controls, screen sharing, messaging others, working across devices, and more.
  • Standard features.
  • Closed Captioning.
  • Integrates with most devices.
  • Security features.
  • Backgrounds.
  • Interaction.
We have used and tried WebEx, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams and Zoom. Zoom is a verb like Google is to search. Zoom just has more features and they keep adding more every month. Almost all of our customers prefer Zoom, and even expect Zoom. Google Meet works fine, there are just more robust options.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts is one of our communication platforms. [It] is used by all departments of the organization. The audio and video capabilities are among the features that excite me the most. It has superior audio and video quality, making it suitable for communicating at conferences. It has a fast talk feature that helps us to stay in touch with our colleagues at all times. Our collaboration benefits from its various functions, such as file sharing, links, meeting records, and calendar invitations.
  • Hangout strongest feature is its convergence with Google calendar.
  • Just send a link and you can invite everyone to the meeting.
  • This is a great way to schedule business meetings.
  • Google Hangout enhances connectivity and coordination.
  • The communication is also much easier and more secure.
  • Due to the limited number of people who can participate, It is not recommended for use in large communities.
  • A strong internet connection is required. Sometimes the voice call will also be disconnected.
  • Doesn't work properly on any browser other than Chrome.
Google Hangout is a simple and easy-to-use service with a user-friendly interface. It's easy to use on both mobile phones and desktop computers, and the overall performance is excellent. With matching notifications, guest lists, and accept/reject options, Google hangout with calendar would offer a full-management solution. It's ideal for our mobile communications and the need to respond quickly in emergency scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Mohsin Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The best thing that I like about this software is that it seamlessly syncs with Google Drive, Google Calendar, and Gmail. The interface is very intuitive that makes navigation very swift.
  • The interface is seamless to navigate.
  • There is no learning curve.
  • Screen sharing is very easy.
  • The quality of video and audio could be better.
I operate Google Hangouts Meet when I am traveling. The main reason for using this great software is its interface that is very intuitive. The screen sharing and file sharing features are very convenient to use. I can easily share important documents with my clients and quickly get feedback. I love that it integrates very well with other Google products. The only area where I think that this software needs improvement is its video and audio quality.
Read Mohsin Shah's full review
November 09, 2020
Carly McPartland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our group presently uses Google Hangouts Meet as a critical tool within online instruction through COVID. We are engaging students across all classrooms, contents, and grade levels with direct, live instruction, as well as recorded lessons with asynchronous learners. We also utilize it for building-wide and district-wide meetings, engaging all staff simultaneously.
  • Integration of other apps, like JamBoard
  • Easy-to-use interface
  • Integrated with Google Calendar
  • Breakout rooms for smaller group discussion
  • Difficult to re-add individuals who have been removed from video
  • Default setting to “Spotlight” or “Grid View” can be challenging
  • Limited connectivity with large groups
As we work to provide instruction during a global pandemic, we are moving from in-person to remote learning fluidly. Using Google Hangouts Meet, students are able to see the teacher as well as the instruction provided on a Google Chrome tab or other connected device. Through presenting their screen, presenters can share a presentation with viewers while still being able to interact. Similarly, the chat and closed captioning features make accessibility even easier to solidify.
Google does a great job of providing tech support for this product, as it does many others. Similarly, Google has FAQs that cover a large amount of issues faced by users. Problems have not persisted in our use of this product. Problems are resolved quickly and easily, with or without personal Google support.
Read Carly McPartland's full review
September 22, 2020
Virginia Peralta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Google Hangouts Meet is being used by the entire organization. Due to Covid-19 a company-wide policy has been established that no meetings can take place, and instead all employees must use Google Meets to meet with other employees. Additionally, the sales department has been using Hangouts Meet to communicate with clients. This tool has been a great to keep employees working from home without risking infection from Covid.
  • More than one way to connect to the call (a link or a phone number).
  • Possibility of recording the call, and receiving said recording afterwards.
  • Sharing screen.
  • Cannot share only a portion of the screen.
  • Sometimes the microphone doesn't work.
  • If connecting to the call using the assigned phone number, the participant incurs in charges.
Hangouts meet is perfect to communicate with other employees using video-conferencing. Since it allows to share the screen, it is good for presentations as well. Additionally, it is a great tool if you need to contact someone who is not at their computer since there is an assigned phone number that allows someone to connect to the call.
When using Hangouts Meet at a company level, support is handled internally and any issues that need to be handled externally by Google have to be canalized through the IT department which can become tedious at times. Since there are not many issues when using the tool, this might not be as important.
Read Virginia Peralta's full review
August 31, 2020
Udit Mhatre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Google Hangouts Meet to informally connect with colleagues. It is used across the whole organization. Its integration with Gsuite is its best feature and makes working remotely very efficient and easy. Google Hangouts Meets integration with Gmail and Gsuite is the icing on the cake when it comes to solving business problems and also replaces tools like Slack. With Google Hangouts Meet, we do not have to pay for another conversation platform.
  • Video Conferencing
  • Instant Text
  • File Sharing
  • Social Connectivity
  • Free International Calling
  • UI/UX
  • Features like changing background in Video Chat
  • Screen Control
Google Hangouts Meet is a very efficient tool for informal texts and video/voice calls. Lack of features makes it less appropriate for official work like meetings and screen sharing.
Google is known for its customer support and care. Consumers tend to rely and trust this brand more than they would for other services.
Read Udit Mhatre's full review
August 31, 2020
Achyut Kulkarni | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts Meet is being used by different teams in my department as a way to communicate remotely. It doesn't address a particular business problem per se but definitely helps with communication in a remote environment.
  • Ease of access
  • Price
  • One-click login
  • Video and audio quality
  • It doesn't work efficiently for more than 10 group of people.
  • Accessibility with other web browsers such as Firefox, UC Browser, and Safari.
Google meet is well suited if you are video calling with maybe 3- 4 people. It has good audio and video quality and can be accessed through one-click login via Gmail. Anyone can record the meeting, although the recording will be stored in the cloud of the host. However, in scenarios where attendees need to be muted, anyone can do that, which means I can mute an attendee and remove them from the conference. Therefore, this authority needs to be done with as only the host should have the ability to mute or remove a particular attendee.
The customer support is 24/7 and has a quick, as well as, high response rate. I had an issue with my laptop not being able to download the meet app. I contacted the customer support and they solved the issue within 30 mins. Also, they have the option of live chat, which can be really helpful in case of emergency.
Read Achyut Kulkarni's full review
August 30, 2020
Maurice Parisien | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We make use of Google Meet in the normal course of business especially now during the Covid-19 pandemic. We use Google Meet for one-on-one video conference calls and group conference calls as well. We presently conduct one or two video calls per week.
  • Allows for a simple interaction with both video and audio in a quality manner
  • Google Meet takes very little training for the user.
  • Quality of the transaction is quite good.
  • Increase the size of the video window for the host.
  • Offer a transcript of the video call.
  • Forward a reminder of the video conference to the host at a preset time prior to the event.
Google Hangouts Meet is great for one-on-one as well as group calls. In the current world of social distancing, Google Meet has been a great alternative to Zoom.
I’m not aware of a live chat capability to address session problems.
Read Maurice Parisien's full review
August 27, 2020
Daniel Chance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Hangouts Meet is being used as our go-to meeting spot for all internal meetings and catchups. We also utilize it when we need an alternative meeting spot when our customers can’t access our normal provider. Google Hangouts Meet is so easy to create a meeting, jump into one, and to share with the other person/group.
  • Video Quality
  • Audio Quality
  • Meeting Access for others
  • Calendar Invite Adding
  • Recording
  • Video/screen viewing during meeting
  • Better access for non G Suite users
I think the most useful application for Google Hangouts Meet is for all internal meetings and catchups. It’s so easy to create a Google Hangout and super easy for others to get on. I think they aren’t quite the ideal platform for extending to customers or external users unless they use Google.
Google has always been great at customer service and this is a great example. They respond in a timely manner to any issues I have had, and often can suggest a quick fix even if it’s something that requires more development/configuration of their product. Always fast, friendly, and there to help!
Read Daniel Chance's full review
October 31, 2020
Jackson Gordon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This has been a great software, especially for someone who has a bunch of different calls throughout the day and week with clients who live in different time zones. My favorite aspect of Google Hangouts Meet is that it allows you to sync it directly with your calendar. This prevents calls from getting overlapped with others. It also makes it super easy to invite new clients to a call, and the record feature makes it perfect for those who want to go back and review what was discussed.
  • Easy to use and invite others to use
  • Easy to share your screen and record meetings
  • Syncs with your calendar, keeping things organized
  • Additonal cost for the record feature
I like Google Meet better than Zoom and other video conference software because of its simplicity. It is very convenient to invite clients to a chat via the Google Hangouts Meet link that you can include in an event with one click of a button. It also takes out any of the additional charges that would be accumulated by communicating with someone internationally; this easy-to-use software takes that out of the equation.
Very few issues, if any, with the platform, and I have never had any clients have issues using it at all.
Read Jackson Gordon's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (33)
8.7
High quality video (33)
8.6
Low bandwidth requirements (29)
7.5
Mobile support (31)
8.9
Desktop sharing (33)
8.9
Whiteboards (21)
7.9
Calendar integration (32)
9.3
Meeting initiation (32)
9.1
Integrates with social media (16)
8.1
Record meetings / events (24)
8.3
Slideshows (25)
7.9
Live chat (30)
8.8
Audience polling (16)
7.5
Q&A (18)
7.7
User authentication (22)
8.4
Participant roles & permissions (23)
8.5
Confidential attendee list (19)
7.9

What is Google Meet?

Google Meet, formerly Hangouts Meet, replaces the former Google Hangouts as the company's G Suite integrated web conferencing tool, allowing users to join meetings directly from a Calendar event or email invite from a computer, phone, or conference room. G Suite's Enterprise edition also creates a dial-in phone number for each meeting, as an additional convenience.

Google Meet Pricing

Starting Price: $8

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Google Meet$0.00
Google Workspace Essentials$8.00per active user/per month
Google Workspace EnterpriseContact Sales

Google Meet Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google Meet?

Google Meet, formerly Hangouts Meet, replaces the former Google Hangouts as the company's G Suite integrated web conferencing tool, allowing users to join meetings directly from a Calendar event or email invite from a computer, phone, or conference room. G Suite's Enterprise edition also creates a dial-in phone number for each meeting, as an additional convenience.

How much does Google Meet cost?

Google Meet starts at $8.

What is Google Meet's best feature?

Reviewers rate Calendar integration highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Google Meet?

The most common users of Google Meet are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.