MariaDB Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
61 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 26, 2021
Ravi Narine | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB is our production database for clients' VRP.
  • Easy deployment.
  • Ample amount of tools to be used.
  • Documentation.
  • Initial setup needs to be improved (determining correct configuration values).
  • If replication fails, needs to be easier to recover.
  • More functionality in the Community Server.
Well Suited
For any relational data, one of the easiest databases to use

Less appropriate
Big Data is lacking.
Performance, manageability of data
We had major performance issue. They were able to quickly diagnose and aid in the implementation.
I highly recommend getting it, as they are the experts.
Read Ravi Narine's full review
December 01, 2020
Alex Anwar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially we just use it as in place upgrade for MySQL as part of system regeneration, later it turned out that its performance was far better than the original MySQL that we replaced. Our system was designed to be low maintenance and less human interaction, therefore we need a database system that quite simple and practically maintenance-free.
  • Aria engine support, the improved MyISAM, it deliver faster performance with less required buffer than InnoDB, also almost a maintenance free table that less fragmented, no need to optimize so often.
  • Based on out experience, having smaller memory requirement.
  • With proper setup, it is fast.
  • It will nice to have Aria engine be able to perform concurrent SELECT and INSERT/UPDATE like in InnoDB.
We aware that Oracle is half-heartedly developing MySQL, therefore an in-place upgrade to a database system that still supported & actively develop will be needed. For this scenario, MariaDB is fit perfectly.
Since it compatible with MySQL, most support material can be found easily on the net. For specific MariaDB issues also can be found easily since it widely used by people. So far we haven't encounter issue that requires us to contact the developer.
Read Alex Anwar's full review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB is our primary relational database. We have multiple databases including WordPress and Magento running on it.
  • High performance and availability.
  • Has an active open-source developer community.
  • Robust transactional support.
  • Availability of many storage engines.
  • MariaDB is no longer completely compatible with MySQL, which makes migration a tedious process.
  • Needs improvement in caching.
  • It doesn't support full outer joins.
  • Implementation of JSON datatype in MariaDB isn't ideal.
MariaDB is well suited for running secure ACID-compliant relational databases with vertical scaling support.
MariaDB has a great community and well-written documentation. That makes troubleshooting is much easier.
Read this authenticated review
October 06, 2020
José Javier Dominguez Reina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have 2 installations of MariaDB TX Cluster formed by 3 nodes each installation.
One installation is in the pre-production environment and another is in the production environment.
In MariaDB TX Cluster we have the databases of two of the main applications of the company, which in addition to having internal use also have public use from the internet.
  • High availability through the MariaDB TX Cluster.
  • Performance improvement with proxy for MariaDB, MaxScale.
  • Great support, respond quickly to questions.
  • Constant evolution of the product.
  • Improving the migration of databases from MySQL to Maria DB, by default they are done easily but as there is an error it is costly to solve it.
  • Some minor bugs in MariaDB version updates.
Our installation scenario is a MariaDB cluster composed of 3 nodes to achieve high availability in the service and in this way the application that accesses the backend (MariaDB) is always working and is not down at any time.

To achieve high performance of the application when accessing the database, a MariaDB MaxScale has been mounted that acts as a proxy for queries to the database.

We have launched several inquiries to MariaDB support and they have always responded very quickly and have not been tutoring for the duration of the incident/problem.

Likewise, they want to hold constant meetings with the client to get their opinion as well as how they can help.

I see a very human support and concerned about the customer.
Read José Javier Dominguez Reina's full review
September 20, 2020
Greg Yantz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company provides finance-related services to customers, using our own proprietary software. We process customer transactions and store customer data in our own data center. MariaDB is our production RDBMS software - one way to look at it is that it's the bedrock on which everything rests.

We also use MariaDB for development and testing, of course. We used to be an Oracle shop but over the course of time, we migrated all of our operations to MariaDB. It meets the needs of a relatively small business efficiently and reliably.
  • Simpler learning curve. MariaDB is a cleaner, simpler system that is (IMO) easier to learn and easier to manage effectively than many other database systems.
  • Lower hardware requirements. After migrating to MariaDB from another database software system, we find that our hardware needs have substantially decreased.
  • MariaDB support is very responsive. It's like they actually care. On the few occasions we've run into technical issues, support has always come through with what we needed. Once it was showing me a relatively new feature the server supported that I wasn't aware of, that, once I was able to properly make use of it helped me resolve a serious production performance issue.
  • Architectural flexibility. As an example, the ready availability of synchronous (Galera) versus asynchronous replication schemes without being locked into one of the other by enormous technical complexity or punitive licensing, allows the customer to find what really works best for their needs.
  • Complications from the single, global shared ibdata1 (which may be considered more an InnoDB limitation).
  • Backups and restores, especially if you do partial (per db) backups. Actually the backups work very well but the restores are not pleasant.
  • Certain weaknesses in Galera. Because of the way it works it doesn't handle very large single transactions very well (I understand that has improved in recent releases, but that was after we moved away from Galera), and there are altogether too many ways to stall an entire Galera cluster - you will find them.
For a smaller company with fewer resources and less of an established investment in other database software (including having paid the substantial premium for staff expertise with that other software), MariaDB is an excellent idea. It's easier to learn, easier to manage, easier to license.
Support for technical issues we've encountered has been (IMO) excellent. Response on feature requests have been disappointing, not so much compared with other db vendors (who are worse), but with the quality of support we've received otherwise.
Read Greg Yantz's full review
October 09, 2020
Shubham Shrivastava | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MariaDB Enterprise 3-node cluster setup in production with 10.4.13 version and on top of the cluster using max scale router to load balance read/write OLTP traffic. In the 10.4 version, there is a lot of improvement done for InnoDB performance and especially the changes regarding the instance drop of any table fields. I also found very useful the use of the SQL-mode feature for strict typecasting.
  • Strict type checking with default mode on for STRICT_TRANS_TABLES
  • Instant drop column operation (instant add column is already available), a big part of schema changes can be performed ad hoc
  • MariaDB 10.4 will benefit from faster extension of VARCHAR columns, additionally, character set and collation changes on non-indexed columns will be instant.
  • MariaDB 10.4 comes with an option for expiring user password
  • Galera 26.4 - MariaDB 10.4 will benefit from a new Galera version with features like streaming replication or improved SST thanks to backup locks.
  • MariaDB 10.4 you can set SQL-mode = MSSQL
  • Explain and analyze works as a separate command as compared to other MySQL products
MariaDB is well suited when it comes to making any DDL changes or DML changes in DB objects.
So far my interaction with the MariaDB support team has been average. I would suggest MariaDB support to users in case they do not have enough experience in MySQL internal workings and management.
Read Shubham Shrivastava's full review
August 11, 2020
Jedrzej Marciniak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the main data base solution for almost all the applications we are developing that require storing data in relational database. It's used for storing content and parts of websites as well as some configuration. It's also used for simple contest apps that require entry code checkout. Software development team is mainly working with MariaDB but apps, website or tools based on MariaDB are used across all organization.
  • It's easy to use for software development team members with knowledge of SQL.
  • It's better than standard MySQL solutions, it's a little bit faster.
  • It's also often required for some applications that we use for example CMS.
  • While using with large data it's slowing.
It's really good as a database for CMS, small apps. Its relational structure is well suited for organizing structured data used while building web apps and other web solutions.

It is noticeably slowing when working on tables with 10-20+ millions of rows. We had cases when we made operations, for example select or insert, on over 60 millions rows and some of them took a few seconds. It was crucial to use faster servers to achieve better latency.
Documentation of MariaDB is well written. We didn't need to use other support.
Read Jedrzej Marciniak's full review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team is currently using MariaDB Enterprise to store data for several customer-facing microservices that delivery critical weather data in the form of alerts and reports. To the best of my knowledge we are the only team in our division that uses it. Previously we were using a NoSQL implementation but it was not a good fit for the types of data we store. Moving to a relational model has made a huge improvement in performance and reliability. We specifically chose MariaDB as it supports a multi-region replication model.
  • Replication - Works extremely well and has very reasonable latency.
  • Monitoring - There is no shortage of tools for monitoring clusters.
  • Reliability - Rock-solid product that appears to be quite resilient.
  • I honestly can't think of anything I'd change.
Given that MariaDB is a relational database, it is best suited for situations where data integrity is a necessity and said data is highly structured. It is a little more difficult to scale so having a consistent load is also a plus since you can plan for capacity more easily.
If being able to scale easily and dynamically is import then MariaDB might not be a good fit. Also if data consistency is less important than speed or flexibility then there are other database models (document, key-value store, etc.) that may be a better fit.
Having opened several support tickets with MariaDB Enterprise support I have been consistently pleased with their knowledge and responsiveness. Tickets were updated in a timely manner and every problem was found to have a solution. They were also able to offer useful feedback during our architecture and planning phases. They have been invaluable partners so far and we have no reason to think that will change moving forward.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB is our primary database for user data.
  • SQL - Is well known and supports most types of usage cases for a database.
  • Open source - means there's lots of support and resources to develop on.
  • Multi-platform - runs on any operating system and doesn't tie it down.
  • Full text searches - slows startup to the extreme, leaks memory, can be buggy.
  • Startup process needs to be streamlined and with more output. You shouldn't need to debug the system to find out what the startup process is doing.
  • More consideration to using multiple databases. Most solutions seem to concentrate on single database products.
  • MariaBackup is buggy and might not work on larger databases. Taking backups or restoring them takes manual work. Could really need some easy to use tools and less hand scripting shell scripts.
MariaDB suits most use cases, but also needs expertise to use and debug. So if you haven't got experience in MariaDB/MySQL, some problem cases might be too difficult to solve without help.
You have to repeat all the basic info every time you contact support. You might also get completely different answers from different people.
After a few bad advice I've learned to be a bit wary of the answers we've gotten and think them through by myself.

On the other hand the consultants we have used have been professional and seem to know their stuff and give good information and suggestions.
Read this authenticated review
August 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MariaDB as our database choice for one service in our microservice architecture.
MariaDB is one of our go-to choices for relational database system if we need to launch a simple web application quickly without the need for any complex feature in the application or database itself. Its simplicity and ease of use are definitely the most appealing aspects for us.
  • Simple, easy to install and upgrade.
  • Mature.
  • Massive user base which makes it easier to find support when needed.
  • Lack of advanced features.
  • Caching performance is lackluster compared to PostgreSQL or SQL Server.
  • Arguably prone to error since it doesn't distinguish data as accurate as PostgreSQL for example.
MariaDB is more suited if you need to quickly launch a simple application or store simple data. Its simplicity to download, install, and upgrade is one of the main strength for us. However, for more complex use case that requires more out of the box solution or needs a high precision, I don't think MariaDB is suitable.
Since MariaDB is an open source software, there is no direct line support that we can use. However, it has a massive community and user base and there are countless documentation, forums, questions and answers in internet about MariaDB, so far we haven't had any problem that we can't get the answer from the internet.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MariaDB for all of our customer-facing applications. It provides replicated data across multiple sites without the high costs of many other DB solutions. It delivers great performance at a great price with flexible engines that allow tuning based on the needs of your data and applications. Their support is fast and thorough.
  • Query optimization
  • Table partitioning
  • Relational and non-relational data
  • Adding servers to replication series (playing catchup)
MariaDB is an economical, scale-able, relational database.
Great support. Responds quickly to production issues. Sometimes they ask for a lot of information and it often takes me more time to gather all that they need than it does for them to actually resolve the issue.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vital db for quite a large number of our applications used internally and externally. The database is used for some management tools used by the infrastructure team. Externally it's being used for reporting to our customers as well as holding some of the metadata. MariaDB is tied into Galera which also helps out considerably for high availability.
  • Fast writes. Writes are fast, where it depends on the hardware.
  • Reads are fast. Putting into memory is easy.
  • Functions and procedures are easy to implement.
  • Paritioning is nicely implemented.
  • Bloating. Can't reduce the size of idx log file, especially when data is truncated from tables. Space is not reclaimed. Need to find way to "shrink" file.
  • Writes are dependent on hardware. If hardware isn't great, writes will be effected. If that can still be solved through software.
  • Flushing of cache data is not as fast as it should be. There can be cases of malformed data.
If you need a robust and scalable OLTP rdbms, MariaDB works. If you need an OLAP, MariaDB is not for you. Look elsewhere. If you implement Galera, then you'll have a high availability database engine. No one true master, all masterless/slaveless. If you need to use a DB for management tools like Cloudera, etc... then MariaDB works.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
November 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MariaDB to host databases for applications used by both employees and customers. It is managed and hosted by IT, but is used to host data for a wide variety of mission-critical services. Because MariaDB is free software, we are able to use it without some of the licensing concerns that we face with other database systems.
  • Reliability - MariaDB handles heavy usage loads well for high-traffic applications.
  • Easy Administration - For those who are familiar with MySQL, MariaDB is easy to administer and configure.
  • Cost - MariaDB is free to use.
  • Driver Support - Some third party applications use database drivers that cause unexplained slowness with MariaDB. This can be worked around by using the MySQL drivers, but it's not clear what causes the problem in the first place.
  • Support - While online communities are helpful in diagnosing problems, there isn't as much professional documentation/support available for MariaDB as some of the other major database options.
  • Data Visualization - It would be helpful if there were more built in options for analyzing statistics and generating reports.
MariaDB is especially helpful for organizations that are currently using MySQL but would like to move to a product with friendlier licensing terms. This is easier to do if you have an in-house programming team that can implement integrations on their own, as some outside firms will sometimes prefer to work with other database solutions that have more restrictive/expensive licensing.
Compared to other solutions (such as Oracle), there aren't quite as many professional support or documentation options available. However, MariaDB is widely used and there are a lot of online communities that share helpful information. Additionally, much of the existing MySQL documentation is still valid for MariaDB, and while some third-party applications officially require MySQL, many will also work seamlessly with MariaDB.
Read this authenticated review
October 15, 2019
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB is being used for all our academic computing and research projects at Pomona College where an relational database is needed. The problem that is solves for us is that we can get projects and development up quick on MariaDB without having to have to worry about complex DBA stuff or dealing with expensive licences. Lot's of out online infrastructure uses MariaDB and most anything that is currently on MySQL will be moved to MariaDB.
  • MariaDB does well with PHP or Python (django) in a web environment. Developers are able to work quickly.
  • MariaDB is extremely well documented and has a gigantic support community. If you need ask a question on how to do things you can go to many placces online and find answers quickly.
  • MariaDB is fast! Queries with tens of thousands of rows are quick.
  • MariaDB is highly compatible with Oracle's MySQL. Basically the same thing but more open and with a brighter future.
  • With MariaDB it is so easy to import and export data, and backups are a cinch. This saves me so much time as compared to other RDBMS.
  • I can honestly sat that there is no area where MariaDB needs improvement. Nothing is hard to use, the learning curve is just the nature of the product. I see no missing functionality, add ting things would only be unwanted bloat.
MariaDB works well in a web development environment using PHP or Python. We have also used it in a Tomcat environment. I do not see any reason to use any other database such as Oracle, Informix, or any MySQL server. In my opinion they all under perform MariaDB when it comes to performance and ease of administration. MariaDB is very scalable. You can use the same instance for small projects with a few hundred rows or with a few million. MariaDB is powerful and that power can be found in its command line which makes the manipulation of any data easy, especially when the SQL is not of a proprietary nature.
Well I have never had to use MariaDB for support. However, they get a ten because the support community online is just fantastic. There is always someone there to answer a question. Moreover it is easy to find documentation online. Again, this is often the case with open source software.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
February 26, 2019
Feng Cai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB is used in our organization to handle medium/small sized DB with non-mission critical applications. It is used for information lookup and small-sized reporting.
  • Standard RDMBS which runs on an open-sourced platform
  • Performance is enough for small to medium-sized applications
  • Low cost
  • Within our organization we put so much effort into maintaining software security, do we believe MariaDB should handle the security patch better.
  • Certain that join performance could improve
  • Support model is still a concern for mission critical applications
Very good for a cheap and quick RDBMS solution an on an open system, it should fit most people's needs. However, I still would not put mission-critical applications on it yet.
Very good RDBMS, very similar to MySQL.
Read Feng Cai's full review
August 28, 2018
Dan Mahoney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB is being used across a division of the company (Aviation division). It is the primary database server for our internal business tools.
  • We are seeing more security releases than we did when we were running MySQL
  • Very large queries complete more quickly on MariaDB than they do on MySQL
  • Setting up Master-Master replication is more straightforward in MariaDB than it is in MySQL
  • MariaDB doesn't yet have a Memcached interface
  • CHECKSUM TABLE can give different results in MariaDB than in MySQL
MariaDB is a good fit for most cases where MySQL is being considered.

In cases where the database will never get very large, MySQL might be a better choice. Queries can take a little longer in MariaDB if MariaDB is using the default configuration, just because the default config. includes the Aria engine.
Read Dan Mahoney's full review
May 24, 2018
Parry Ghuman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for storing web services data on microgrid control. The same product is also used to store weather data to analyze the electricity consumption in the future.
  • It gives better performance with a large amount of data.
  • Easy to switch from SQL database.
  • Help to take backups for integration and testers.
  • Hard to implement relational queries.
  • The graphical user interface should be more attractive.
  • It does not show or allow to add a filter to the execution plan.
Easy to switch from another database. Installation is very easy and integration team always prefers to solve issues using MariaDB tool.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
November 08, 2016
Stênio Pereira Filho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB actually is used in our Eduroam Authentication Service thats provide authentication to +200 thousand local wifi users. It is being used as database server in other important service called Stoa, that is a big social collaborative net and learning platform used by students and teachers. Security is a special focus for ours developers and we happy with MariaDB. When some critical security issue is discovered, we receive immediately a new version of MariaDB to get the fix.
  • Synchronous multi-master cluster that permits to develop high availability applications
  • Compatible with applications developed to MySQLDB.
  • Not much modification required
  • Quicker security releases. You don't need to wait about 2 or 3 months to security patches.
  • MariaDB is developed fully in the open: all development decisions can be reviewed and debated on a public mailing list of in the public bug tracker
  • We still do not have confidence in using MariaDB in our administrative systems because we do not have experience to use it in critical systems
  • We can consider that It is developed mainly by a small company and the future of MariaDB maybe is uncertain (!) (?).
  • On the other hands, we didn't find other cons of this software
MariaDB is well suited in scenarios where it is possible to use open source software and scenarios that demands active-active clusters. MariaDB is maintained to date with the latest version of MySQL and will work just like MySQL. All the commands, interfaces, libraries and APIs that exist in MySQL also exist in MariaDB. There is no need to convert the databases to switch to MariaDB. But in critical systems we do not risk using it yet.
Read Stênio Pereira Filho's full review
June 06, 2017
Andrew Meyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MariaDB for monitoring solutions and an open source project. It's easy to use and I can always find great support. I also have it in a replicated scenario so if something were to happen then I have a backup. This is a great product and would definitely recommend it for someone trying to learn new things!
  • SQL
  • Applications
  • Replication
  • Fixing replication issues still needs some work
[It's a] multi-server open-source application.
Read Andrew Meyer's full review
September 28, 2016
Casey Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using MariaDB to store flattened data from other various sources for quick searching. It addresses the problem of needing to work with data from disparate sources.
  • It has many speed improvements over MySQL.
  • It offers better time precision over MySQL.
  • It adheres to open source methodologies and testing, which MySQL has moved away from since Oracle took it over.
  • It could use a memcached interface.
  • Although it is traditionally thought of as a binary drop-in replacement for MySQL, some incompatibilities have come up since version 5.1
MariaDB is well suited for general purpose RDBMS needs or anywhere you need a DB that's simple to set up. For example, it is a breeze to use in Docker containers.
Read Casey Smith's full review
May 27, 2016
Andy G Teasdale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Maria DB was utilised as a data storage tool for asset and geo calibration data. On its own, Maria DB would have struggled to meet the requirements of the users in question as they did not have sufficient experience in using command line. However Maria DB was successfully leveraged using the front UI of Heidi SQL.
  • Data Storage
  • Data processing
  • Data Retrieval
  • Stronger help
  • Better literature
  • For small to meddium volumes of data there is nothing wrong with MySQL
Originally Maria DB was recommended to me by a colleague as a stronger offering than the product I was utilising at the time, MySQL. My understanding is that the aim of MariaDB is to take market share away from MySQL. To answer the question directly Maria DB is very well suited in doing this operation of offering a solution from MySQL predominantly down to the similarities in syntax structure.
Read Andy G Teasdale's full review
May 26, 2016
Rytis Slatkevičius | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MariaDB as a drop-in replacement for MySQL. We benefit from the fact that it does not require changing the client side at all - we maintain some legacy applications that would not be easy (or even possible!) to change. At the same time, we benefit from the performance and stability upgrades that MariaDB offers over MySQL.
  • The primary reason for me to migrate from MySQL to MariaDB was its stability. I experience more than one crash with data corruption on MySQL's standard MyISAM and InnoDB; I haven't seen any with MariaDB.
  • I love progress reporting for ALTER TABLE queries. In MySQL you would be facing a long running ALTER TABLE query and have no way to know when it finishes. With MariaDB you see the progress in the process list (especially important if there's a boss breathing down your neck!)
  • I haven't done significant benchmarks, but MariaDB seems faster than MySQL. I think it is mostly evident when using subqueries.
  • MariaDB has added a lot of extra features over MySQL. However, I think one in particular is still missing - and really, just the one - an ability to compute median values from the data. I miss it in my work quite often.
You can use standard MySQL client side libraries to connect to MariaDB servers, however, there is one caveat: MariaDB versioning. MariaDB is now at version 10, whereas MySQL is at version 5. If the client side has hardcoded version numbers it may behave in unexpected ways as it will see mismatching versions and especially one that it does not even know about.

Overall, MariaDB is a very good drop-in replacement for MySQL, as long as your client-side does not do anything fancy.
On Debian Linux, it is recommended to install a MariaDB repository and retrieve the product from there. It is both a good and a bad thing: it is more up-to-date than Debian's version (as Debian tends to lag behind with stable software), but it also makes your packages drift away from the generic system.
Read Rytis Slatkevičius's full review
February 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB is being used across our entire organization for various databases. Various different teams use MariaDB and rely on it to maintain their backend application. We implement monitoring and metrics for MariaDB to ensure we are getting the best performance out of our databases. MariaDB can be replicated on other servers for high availability
  • Stores data
  • Backwards compatible with MySQL
  • Opensource
  • Simple to setup
  • Easy query language
  • Query language doesn’t support working with arrays.
  • Doesn’t support full outer joins.
  • Not guaranteed to be 100% compatible with MySQL.
MariaDB is best for use cases where MySQL was previously being used but due to licensing or not wanting to use Oracle's MySQL, you can use MariaDB. For the most part, it's a drop in replacement supporting the same syntax as MySQL, requiring no changes in applications which use it, meaning MySQL Databases can be migrated to MariaDB.
MariaDB is very usable and stable to be used in production settings as an alternative to MySQL. The shortcomings of SQL are present but well understood in the community, and if the decision were to be made again, I would choose MariaDB over MySQL on future projects.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2016
Brandon Cluff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MariaDB for every aspect of my database. I prefer using MariaDB over MySQL!
  • A bunch of third party storage engines.
  • Various performance enhancements.
  • Parallel replication and multi-source replication.
  • The future of MariaDB is uncertain. It is developed mainly by a small company that may not have as strong a future as Oracle. There have been and will continue to be MySQL improvements that will never make it into MariaDB.
  • MariaDB has basically forked off of MySQL 5.5, and it will not acquire all the features of MySQL 5.6 or future releases.
I use it instead of MySQL everywhere.
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
February 01, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in both internal applications and also in applications and services that are sold to external customers. The software that is being developed in-house uses MariaDB as a database and it is also used when the software is deployed to clustered production environments. MariaDB works as a free and open solution for software that requires a database to function.
  • Easy to switch to it from MySQL. No client side re-configuration or re-programming is needed.
  • Developed by open community.
  • Widely supported in all environments and software.
  • It's not guaranteed to be 100% compatible with MySQL (especially newer versions). However I've never encountered problems with this.
  • Could have some UI tools incorporated into it like its competitors.
MariaDB suits perfectly if you want to switch away from Oracle-owned MySQL but still want to keep maximum compatibility and minimize efforts required for migration. It's also a perfect choice for any use case where usage of a relational database has been decided. However if for some reason you need enterprise-level support for your database solution, the choice for MariaDB might need some more thought since it's entirely community-driven.
Read this authenticated review

What is MariaDB Platform?

MariaDB Platform is an enterprise open source database solution, able to support transactional, analytical and hybrid workloads as well as relational, JSON and hybrid data models. And it has the scalability to grow from standalone databases and data warehouses to fully distributed SQL for executing millions of transactions per second and performing interactive, ad hoc analytics on billions of rows. MariaDB can be deployed on prem on commodity hardware, is available on all major public clouds and through MariaDB SkySQL as a fully managed cloud database. To learn more, visit mariadb.com

Other resources:
5 Key Steps for Selecting Your Ideal DBaaS
Guide to Open Source Database Selection: MariaDB vs. MySQL
Enterprise Database Comparison Guide – MariaDB vs. MS, IBM and Oracle

MariaDB Platform Features

Has featureCloud DBaaS: SkySQL
Has featureWorkloads: transactions, analytics and smart transactions (HTAP)
Has featureTransactional scalability: distributed SQL
Has featureAnalytical scalability: columnar data with massively parallel processing
Has featureDevelopment: temporal tables, JSON documents and geospatial support
Has featureHigh availability: automatic failover and transaction replay
Has featureDisaster recovery: online backups and point-in-time restore
Has featureSecurity: transparent data encryption and dynamic data masking
Has featureOracle Database compatiblity: data types, sequences and PL/SQL

MariaDB Platform Video

MariaDB is the open source database that empowers today's business, to build a better tomorrow. With an ocean of possibilities, what will you do with MariaDB?

MariaDB Platform Competitors

MariaDB Platform Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

MariaDB Platform Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Email

MariaDB Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Centos, Debian, RHEL, SLES, Ubuntu
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MariaDB Platform?

MariaDB is an open-source relational database made by the original developers of MySQL, supported by the MariaDB Foundation and a community of developers. The community states recent additional capabilities as including clustering with Galera Cluster 4, compatibility with Oracle Database, and Temporal Data Tables, allowing one to query the data as it stood at any point in the past.

What is MariaDB Platform's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses MariaDB Platform?

The most common users of MariaDB Platform are Enterprises from the Computer Software industry.