Amazon RDS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
101 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

Your DBA will be glad that you're using RDS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon RDS is our default solution for running databases in the cloud. RDS provides the data layer for our web applications that require data persistence. RDS is widely used by application development teams throughout the company. RDS allows us to rapidly deploy databases, operate them in a manner that is generally hands off, and with extended features like Amazon Aurora, take advantage of capabilities like automatic backups, multi-AZ read replicas, and simple failovers.
  • For engineers with experience managing databases, setup is simple. And for the uninitiated, the RDS console interface becomes intuitive with some practice.
  • Not having the maintain the underlying infrastructure is a great benefit of using RDS. Patching and backups can be scheduled from the console and from then on are pretty much automated.
  • Right-sizing the DB instance to perform optimally with an application can be a very simple procedure. If a DB instance is not struggling to keep up, the instance size can be scaled up with just a few clicks.
  • Baseline configurations are generally sane for most RDS instances. This allows novice developers and engineers to get the most out of the service without being a complete database administrator.
  • Experienced DBAs may find RDS limiting in some areas. There is no direct access to the underlying servers so OS level tweaks may be out of bounds.
  • Getting logs from a database can be a challenge. Other services may need to be turned on (CloudWatch, for example) to get access logging, etc.
  • While rudimentary logging is included with RDS, users must pay a premium to get more in depth logs (in particular, fine grained logging in terms of events per minute). This is not a bad thing, since you get what you pay for, but some users find it annoying to have to pay extra for metrics with higher fidelity.
RDS is well suited for application environments where the developers don't have time to worry about the database. If the application requires a DB that is "fire and forget," RDS can be a rock solid implementation. This is particularly true for teams that may not have DBA resources or don't have a team member with extensive database admin skills. With some basic understanding, teams can stand up a DB in RDS and move on to the task of developing and maintaining the applications that use the DB.

RDS may be less appropriate for high performance applications where every level of the systems needs to be finely tuned. On the one hand, a novice developer may be able to get the required performance by scaling up to a large instance size while a proficient DBA could get the same performance from a finely tuned database running on an EC2 instance where access to the OS is available.

Pricing might also be a factor against RDS for teams that have limited budgets. Again, higher performing DB instances might be priced slightly more than the same DB running on a stand-alone server.

  • Online training
  • in-person training
  • no training
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

A to Z, EZ PZ to use and as flexible as the Amazon marketplace.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Relational Database Service is used for spinning up test scenarios or alpha test of products. In addition, it's utilized for creating environments that may or may not be used in the long term. Excellent product for its flexibility, and lack of need for long term capital expenditures or commitments. Easy to utilize and purchase. It's a very friendly platform to use in agile environments, or in organizations that are in either an early startup mode, or rapid growth/expansion phase.
  • Ease of use.
  • Flexibility without excessive commitment.
  • Slightly pricier than some options.
  • Name brand of Amazon is good in some industries, less positive in others.
A growing organization that was already stretched financially and infrastructure wise, was looking for ways to further test and build out product environments for evaluation were looking for quick, easier ways to spin up new environments. Amazon Relational Database Service could certainly be used for long term use, but for this nimble use/business case, it was a great option.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Lukasz Stadnik | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Amazon Relational Database Service review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
The project required many small instances across different regions and departments of our organization.
  • scalable
  • automated backups
  • managed services
  • additional price for managed services
  • not flexible pricing model based on storage and CPU
  • very basic monitoring metrics
Amazon Relational Database Service is well-suited if the project requires high factor time to market. It is a good approach to enable full-fledged services in a quick manner using IaC deployment methods.
Read Lukasz Stadnik's full review
Diego Turcios Lara | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

RDS is great for your company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Instead of having our database servers in house, we decided to use the cloud for managing the servers. Our costs have come down with this and it's so easy to spin up a new database instance. Besides this, as we use several AWS technology we can control it with other services such as CloudWatch or Lambda.
  • Easy to use.
  • Not expensive.
  • Flexible.
  • Parameter groups are sometimes confusing at the moment of editing.
  • Just supports certain amount of databases.
I definitely can recommend RDS to my colleagues, it has helped us a lot to solve issues. We don't have to worry about networking configuration as doing this with Amazon Relational Database Service is fast, easy and secure. We can create instances in a few steps, we have an API that allows us to do via code, not only in the console.
Read Diego Turcios Lara's full review
Alok Patwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Truly fully-managed: Database made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS RDS to manage our MySQL and PostgreSQL databases without having to worry about issues like replication error, hardware failure or logs(general, slow, error) analysis. It is being used primarily by the database team but indirectly a lot of teams use RDS. Since RDS manages a lot of tasks for us, it frees us to focus on the business side of things.
  • Create snapshots on schedule or whenever required: RDS gives you the freedom to take manual snapshots at will or configure a backup policy wherein you can specify the time when the backup would be taken and the number of such automated backups to retain. You can restore a backup very easily whenever required with a few clicks.
  • Monitoring: RDS comes with a lot of metrics like CPU utilization, free storage, freeable memory and read/write latency that you can create alarms on to make sure you can quickly resolve an issue.
  • Failover: If you have a multi-AZ RDS set-up, failover is done automatically when the primary instance fails. This minimizes downtime
  • Point-in-time-restore: With RDS, you can sort of time travel, creating a new instance and restoring the database state to a point in time in the past.
  • Logs: The general, slow, error and audit logs can be published to CloudWatch for better analysis with a few clicks.
  • There should be a proper listing of all parameter groups alongside the instances that they are attached to. This would help to see which instances would be affected if a parameter group is changed.
  • RDS should allow SUPER privilege to the master user. A few advanced tasks(like getting a physical backup using MySQL Enterprise Backup) fail because SUPER privilege is not available for the master user.
  • A few parameters are not modifiable in the parameter groups and the access to the server filesystem is not given. This should not be the case because as an advanced user, you might want to understand things a little deeper.
For a general-purpose workload, RDS is a perfect fit and works really well and takes care of a lot of stuff for you (replication, security, monitoring, scaling, storage, publishing logs to CloudWatch). If you have a read-intensive load though, you should probably think of switching to a NoSQL database service like DocumentDB or DynamoDB.
Read Alok Patwal's full review
Matthew King | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

RDS lives up to the ability for fast, secure, and configurable databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RDS is being used in a ton of different ways, however it shines best for use in conjunction with Elasticsearch and providing the endpoint a writable position that we don't have to manage. Being multizone it allows for it to always be up and working; also since backups are automatic, it takes off that overhead of our engineering team.
  • Automatic backups
  • Multi-zone
  • Completely managed service
  • One thing I'd love to have is the ability to run actual SQL commands on it from the command line with typical SQL workbench type tools.
RDS has the ability to handle infrastructure management in a secure manner, creating a highly available and scaleable database system for great use in production, stage, and development environments. AWS handles all backup and restoration giving your developers less to worry about with infrastructure worries and more time to develop code and produce quality code. In our use case, we required a fully configurable and easily maintainable and scriptable database and RDS completely fit that bill with ability to be scripted via terraform.
Read Matthew King's full review
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

AWS RDS - Let a huge part of database complexity to be handled by AWS at a fair price.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current organization, we are using Amazon Relational Databases as our first option databases, supporting our DevOps environment. Currently, our monitoring system (based on Zabbix) and our configuration management system (based on Puppet) are using it as the main database. In our team, all databases are being based on AWS RDS PostgreSQL so far.
  • AWS products on average, excel at high availability. RDS is a good example of that.
  • Easy scaling. Just a few clicks.
  • Load balancing in a transparent way.
  • Sometimes you can't install specific items like modules.
  • You are not able to use different DB versions from those provided by AWS.
  • AWS keeps DB logs for a short time. If you have a problem and need to check something beyond the retention period, you can't.
Using Amazon Relational Database Service you have almost everything that is needed in a database environment. High availability, backup and recovery processes are already in place, with load balancing, updates and so on. For sure your demands for a DBA will be smaller than if you had an on-premises environment since most of the job is performed by AWS. Just have on mind that you will have to expand your knowledge to cover some specific aspects of a cloud database environment.
Read Erlon Sousa Pinheiro's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Mobile Gaming Developers Sing ARDS Praises

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used the Amazon Relational Database Service on behalf of a customer that was creating a mobile game that had elements of e-commerce. We needed something that was scalable, easy to implement, only charged us for the resources that we used, and had excellent customer service as this was a new project for our agency. ARDS checked every box.
  • Database server monitoring.
  • Security.
  • Admin tools were confusing.
  • Trial and error based learning.
My agency took on a client that required a mobile game build from scratch that had e-commerce baked into the final product. We needed to keep the user information safe and organized on both a game perspective but also from a financial perspective. Amazon Rational Database Service does all of that. They monitor the database so we don’t have to spend time and resources doing so.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Great value for any sized team

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Web Services Relational Database Service (RDS) is being used as our production data store running MySQL. We use it to store user information, click information, billing information. Additionally, we have a separate instance running PostgreSQL and storing some of our proprietary objects used to emit streams for our core business model.
  • Managed - RDS is entirely managed for us
  • Scalable - It is incredibly easy to scale an RDS instance
  • Support - AWS support is top-notch
  • Since RDS is managed, you are never truly a superuser, you just have admin privileges.
  • Lack of direct access to MySQL files and whatnot.
  • Downtime is scheduled on their schedule rather than yours.
Any production database needs could benefit from Amazon Relation Database Service. You can pick any engine you want, and it is entirely managed for you. It is especially good for small teams who do not have or cannot afford a database administrator. It has been useful in that way for us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2019

AWS RDS review for Engineers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS RDS service for multiple applications as a backend for MySQL Databases. It helped us in updating MySQL versions, backups, and snapshots. We don't have to spend time managing and maintaining infrastructure, and we spent the most time on business. We can choose or readjust capacity based on demands and also automatic backups stored on S3 bucket.
  • Automatic updates.
  • We can scale the resources.
  • 99% availability.
  • It needs some basic aws console experience to set up RDS.
We use AWS RDS service for multiple applications as a back-end for MySQL Databases. It is well suited for all companies, including small to enterprise. It does not suit if your application has only a static website or fewer backed services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Relational Database Service is used to host databases accessed by web applications that are on servers hosted within AWS EC2. There is also a database hosted in RDS used by end-user desktop applications.
  • As with all AWS services, it is fast and easy to get set up.
  • It integrates well with the rest of your infrastructure hosted within AWS.
  • The point in time backup/restore options work well.
  • There are use cases where you have to delete and recreate your entire database instance just to change one thing.
  • SQL Server backup and restore to file is not a simple GUI-driven process.
  • Read replicas are not offered for Microsoft SQL databases.
If you have the rest of your infrastructure in AWS, it is easiest to use Relational Database Service for your databases rather than build out your own servers in EC2. The server maintenance, clusters, etc. are all done for you, and you have technical support you can call rather than having to troubleshoot everything yourself.
If you have non-Microsoft databases, you have the ability to set up read replicas so your database writes are not slowed down.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

My experience with Amazon RDS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon RDS across our organization to provide website data and data for applications used internally. It allows us to have fully managed MySQL and PostgreSQL instances at our disposal without the headache of maintaining backups and doing minor upgrades manually or setting up redundancy.
  • Amazon RDS handles database backups for you and allows you to rollback if needed. This is beneficial because we do not have to take the time to set up and manage our own backup schedule.
  • Amazon RDS allows full access control via Security Groups. This is vital to ensure the security of our data.
  • With Amazon RDS, we have monitoring capabilities that allow us to trigger actions. This is important because we are not always watching our RDS instance health 24/7.
  • Amazon RDS could possibly make the major upgrade process easier somehow.
  • Amazon RDS has been an exceptional product in my eyes, so I find it very hard to think of areas it needs to improve.
Amazon Relational Database Service is well suited for environments where fully managed relational databases are required or desired. With Amazon RDS you can know that your database instance is being monitored, updated, and backed up, and is in good hands. It's great to be able to sleep well at night.
Read this authenticated review
Bob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service stays up at night, so I don't have to...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization runs lean, and as a small business that means that each employee wears multiple hats. With Amazon Relational Database Service we are able to deploy, backup, migrate, and manage a vast array of database servers without the need for a full-time Database Administrator. Amazon makes things like failover and backups so easy, my 89-year-old grandmother could do it.
  • Deploying a new database server can be achieved and configured in minutes.
  • Backups are automatically scheduled, and can be as easy as a few button clicks.
  • Failover on Multi-AZ Instances works like magic.
  • Security is easily configured to other Amazon Services and the outside world.
  • It would be nice if the Storage of an instance could auto-scale.
  • Accessing the server logs is something I've struggled with, as I don't have physical access to the server.
  • It would be nice if snapshots could be exported from RDS.
Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) is great for any relational database installation. If you are starting a new project you might even benefit from their Free Tier for the first year of using the service. But what really helps me is that it allows anyone to set up a production environment, and helps you manage backups and failover so your customers won't be caught unaware when there is an outage.
Read Bob Smith's full review
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

RDS: a growing solution for your everyday database needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon RDS is a great service for managing all of your relational database services in a simple manner. In our shift to data analytics and a cloud infrastructure for our applications, RDS was invaluable in providing consistent backend support for all of our applications, both small and large. Its ability to quickly hook up to any existing AWS infrastructure and replicate itself across multiple AZs meant that we could quickly adjust the availability and cost efficiency of an application's database as it scaled.
  • Scalable to infinity. If you want scalable infrastructure, RDS will provide it for you in droves. You automatically launch across multiple AZs to ensure failover solutions, and can choose to launch additional read replicas or database snapshots to ensure snappy reads and data availability.
  • Allows you to focus on the application instead of managing a database. While this leads to tradeoffs in your control of the database, it allows a reduced DB management team and can ensure an application can get off the ground as soon as possible.
  • You do have a lack of control when it comes to the minutiae of database management. Replication topology, SUPER privilege, direct access to data directories and logs are all restricted with RDS making it harder for the experienced RDS sysadmin to run their system.
  • Availability reduced in some ways to make other options easier. The only feasible method is multi-AZ deployment for replication and planned downtime makes it hard to keep a running application at times
  • Lack of access to the professional tools of RDS systems means that you have reduced insight into how your system is performing.
Best for simple to moderately complex database solutions that will keep running with minimal oversight. Bad for complex database solutions that the sysadmin wants to keep a detailed eye on and wants access to all the available tools of an RDS system. Data will be safe under the RDS umbrella if you implement it right, which is something that can be learned in a 2 hour class on AWS.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

RDS, a light weight RDBMS for microservices

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Amazon RDS is used as a data store for all the micro-services in my organization. It is particularly suitable because, in a very loosely coupled micro-services landscape, none of the services need a complex table structure and limited data redundancy is tolerated. Hence, a medium instance of RDS is more than capable of servicing our production-grade micro-services without the maintenance cost of an on-premise RDBMS.
  • It is scalable and fault tolerant.
  • It is provided as a managed service without the need for an on premise data center.
  • It is highly capable and a fast enough data source for a production-grade lightweight microservice.
  • It is not suitable for a very complex database where every performance aspect of a database needs to be granularly fine-tuned.
  • Adopters have to take care of data security.
  • It is not suitable for analytics.
It is very well suited as a small data store for lightweight micro-services where there is no need for a complex table structure and database objects. It is not very well suited for applications which perform analytics on a large volume of data in a short span of time and, hence, require a very high throughput.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

Amazon RDS -- Good cloud-based database service

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using AWS RDS with MySQL for internal as well as production level since 2014. Amazon RDS is the best option to host relational databases. We are using AWS RDS to support our web service and website solution for the client, which exceeds 1+ million hits over a month.
  • High availability and scalability with HIPPA compliance for sensitive data.
  • Great interactive console and configuration option.
  • Great availability of cloud watch triggers.
  • Very fast and easy to create a backup and restore.
  • It's a little bit complex for new users to understand all configurations.
  • Security group creation and maintenance is time-consuming.
  • Costly for small organizations.
Amazon RDS is the best suitable solution if you want to store sensitive data in the cloud with high availability and scalability of the database. Cost is a major concern. If your organization is financially small, then only you have to search for another solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

A Solid Choice for RDS Hosting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Relational Database Service is used by our Development team to centrally host data that our customers create using our application. Our customers are all within North America. Our application can use either MySQL or Amazon's Aurora, interchangeably. Amazon's RDS tools allowed us to quickly move from a distributed application with local databases on each customer's PC, to a SaaS model with multi-tenancy.
  • Console is very intuitive, allowing new users to figure out what is possible without having to search documentation to do each and everything.
  • Seamless upgrade process from MySQL to Aurora.
  • Easy restore process from automated or manual backups.
  • Leverages aspects/services also used by EC2 and other AWS services to implement security and balancing.
  • Unclear on pricing while choosing instance resource levels, must browse to a separate calculator instead of just displaying it on the page in real time with the selected options.
  • Must pick from pre-configured resources(CPU & RAM) per instance class, while GCP allows you to adjust resources to whatever level desired.
  • Has some restrictions on what configuration adjustments can be made to the server when compared to other hosting options.
Great for anyone just getting started with hosted RDS, and looks to have the price advantage as well. Leveraging other AWS services are very helpful, so as not to have to learn different configurations/tools to adjust RDS vs EC2, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

RDS - More bang for your buck

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon RDS is our core database platform. It is used for both development and production loads, throughout the company. RDS provides us with a full-featured database without the cost of managing the server or installation.
  • Hands-off managed service allows us to focus on how we use the database and not managing the database.
  • Multiple database choices provide us with the ability to choose the best product for the intended use case.
  • Automated snapshots take the pain out of disaster recovery.
  • RDS databases are not encrypted by default, so you have to remember to add encryption when you set it up.
Amazon RDS is a perfect choice for most database scenarios. The combination of high-quality database software and a very hands-off approach to management makes Amazon RDS worth checking out. Advanced features allowing redundancy and disaster recovery make this a perfect choice for production loads.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2019

Shaik Review on Amazon Relational Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started recently using Amazon Relational Database service in our company. We are exploring the usage and trying to utilize it at the maximum level. Still we are in the learning phase. Presently we are using Amazon Relational Database service in building reports, Analyzing the data in different ways. As I said earlier still we are in the learning phase as of now we are in good shape.
  • Data storage and retrieval of data at high speed.
  • Able to store a huge amount of data.
  • Analyzing of data became more accurate.
  • Price is a little high
  • Multi-Master replication
  • Storage capacity needs to increase
Amazon Relational Database is easy to Set up, Use and debug. Automatic patch is very good. Amazon Relational Database provides good security and it's configured very well. The timely backup is also too good in reality. Multi-tasking can be improved and the amount of data storage in one file needs to improve.
Read this authenticated review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Amazon RDS - Quick and Easy Way to Get Set up With Enterprise Database Architecture and Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) to manage all of its Databases. The nice thing about RDS is you don't need to have a traditional Database Administrator on staff. Creating an instance of any of the many Database offerings (MySQL, Postgres, etc.) is as easy as a push of a button, and all the complexities around managing your data become very simple.
  • End-to-end management of your database -- including configuration, handling security, and maintenance.
  • Offers compatibility with many (and the most popular) database technologies -- including but not limited to MySQL, Postgres, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle DB.
  • Makes backups and replications very easy, which is one of the toughest things to do effectively.
  • The logging options aren't as good as you would have if you managed your database yourself.
  • Restricted rights and permissions. Because you are using a managed service, you don't have 100% of all the capabilities you would traditionally have when managing a database yourself.
  • Because you are using a managed service, that's meant to do a lot for you and make things easy, you are paying a premium price. Some tasks are very simple (for even standard software developers, not even for a DBA). If you don't need to scale and aren't in a rush, the price might not be worth it.
Amazon Relational Database Service is great when you need a Database solution that can work for you very fast. It is also a great solution when you need a system that can scale to handle very large amounts of data. You can get set up with a complex, large database eco-system in minutes/hours, and have the best security and backups scheduled. The alternative to doing this would typically be hiring one or more very experienced database professionals for not just the implementation, but also on staff to handle the periodic maintenance necessary.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

A great, scalable, transactional engine

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization has, since the beginning, utilized RDS as our transactional, day-to-day database, at first staging all incoming data in a PostgreSQL. Although it has performed so well that it now handles all of our data warehousing and has handled our heaviest queries with enviable aplomb. We had initially staged data in RDS for migration into Redshift, but have determined that running well-optimized queries on our particular volume of data--certainly not the petabytes that would justify Redshift--our PostrgreSQL database on RDS is actually more performant.
  • Security... being in the AWS stack, you get all the "warm and fuzzies" that come with knowing your data is secure. And user management couldn't be easier.
  • Flexibility... Aurora, PostreSQL, MySQL, Oracle, SQL Server--RDS can run any of them.
  • Scalability... when all else fails, add more hardware! To a point... and there is a point (see: petabytes) at which you might consider bumping up to RedShift, but for the other 99.99%, RDS is the place to be.
  • My engineers would be able to speak more thoroughly to the cons. I have only benefited from the fruit of their labor. I can say that, from a Project Management standpoint (interfacing with RDS via a PostgreSQL client and my dashboards), it has only performed well so far.
RDS is well suited if:
  1. You have a modest budget. If I were completely bootstrapped and not married to AWS, I might look elsewhere.
  2. You need a speedy, secure transactional, do-it-all database.
  3. You need the ability to scale seamlessly.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Tim Weisbrod | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2018

I can't think of a reason not to use Amazon RDS (especially Aurora)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RDS to run all the databases to run our platform for both OLTP and analytics/reporting purposes. This includes traditional PostgresSQL Aurora PostgeSQL. and Aurora MySQL implementations.
  • RDS provides high availability databases without having to manage your own servers.
  • Amazon Aurora in particular is a breakthrough database technology, and in particular with the PostgreSQL engine provides advanced features at a fraction of the cost of an Oracle implementation, with better features that have been designed from the ground up to support the cloud.
  • Aurora also allows supports large clusters of database servers easily, with super fast replication (~20 ms), and flexibility to allow changing resources provisioned based on workload.
  • Cross-Region replication is supported for most platforms and engines, but is not available across the board yet. Where it is available it provides an excellent solution for disaster recovery.
If you want to run a database in the cloud, RDS is definitely the way to go. I have not come across any scenarios that would indicate a better option.
Read Tim Weisbrod's full review
Arjun Komath | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

A developer's take on AWS RDS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon RDS is one of the primary data stores for all applications in our organisation. We also use AWS DynamoDB, Elastic Search, Redis etc apart from RDS. We preferred RDS over other DBaaS because it's a part of AWS which is highly reliable and scalable, and it is a completely managed solution which is simple, easy to use and also offers advanced features required by DevOps team.
  • Zero manual configuration, you can get an instance up and running in just 5 minutes.
  • High scalability (RDS simplifies setting up master-slave cluster) and reliability (Multi AZ replications).
  • Automatic backups so that we don't have to worry about losing data.
  • Hard to debug performance issues at times since it is a managed service and we don't have all privileges.
RDS removes the headache of maintaining and monitoring database instances, we do not have to worry about replication, backup and restore, updating the database etc as it's fully managed by AWS. So if you want to focus more on building the actual software rather than worrying about the infrastructure, RDS is a highly recommended.
Read Arjun Komath's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service takes the stress out of Databases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Amazon Relational Database Service to provide various managed database clusters, enabling us to have our data replicated to multiple availability zones, in addition to nightly backups, and managed updates without downtime. Since Amazon Relational Database Service supports MySQL and MariaDB, we are able to use RDS without changes to our platform, removing vendor lock-in.
  • Redundency
  • Managed Updates
  • Security
  • Unified billing
  • Unable to run custom software on RDS servers
  • Customer support is lackluster
  • Price
Amazon Relational Database Service is best for situations where you need to use a MariaDB or MySQL Database, but do not want to spend time setting up and securing the server/software. Amazon Relational Database Service manages all of this for you, so it is very easy to get up and running and have an enterprise-ready environment ready for use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

RDS to the rescue. Let You're DBAs be DBAs, rather than Server Administrators

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has a cloud-first and AWS first strategy that includes creating and moving databases to the public cloud. We started this journey seriously about 2 years ago and have decided to use RDS services as often as possible, instead of using EC2 instances for our database environments. While our footprint in the public cloud is still a small part of our overall compute, we are finding that RDS is meeting our database needs are we are migrating and creating new ones. RDS is not only solving issues for the operations of our business, we are also using RDS as part of our overall data lake strategy.
  • Getting the data in and out of our databases, especially with the close integration RDS has with S3 buckets.
  • Less overall management of the database servers. Our DBAs are now do more DBA work than server admin work, which moves them higher on the value chain.
  • Performance and Scalability.
  • Some of the RDS (like Redshift) still lack a SQL programming language like t-SQL, but are getting better all the time.
  • Depending on the database chosen, pricing is still dictated by the vendor like Oracle or SQL-server.
  • For problem deep in the system, not having machine access can be problematic.
Redshift RDS - Data Lakes and Data Warehouses
Aurora RDS - nice alternative to mySQL or Postgres, but skill the performance and features of those other engines
DynamoDB RDS - scalability and flexibility like other no-SQL database
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (2)
10.0
Database scalability (2)
10.0
Automated backups (2)
10.0
Database security provisions (1)
10
Monitoring and metrics (2)
7.0
Automatic host deployment (1)
10

About Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) allows users to set up, operate, and scale a database in the cloud. The vendor states it provides cost-efficient and resizable capacity while automating time-consuming administration tasks such as hardware provisioning, setup, patching, and backups. This frees users to focus on applications so they can give them the fast performance, high availability, security, and compatibility they need.

Amazon RDS is available on several database instance types - optimized for memory, performance or I/O - and provides you with six familiar database engines to choose from including Amazon Aurora, MySQL, PostgreSQL, MariaDB, Oracle Database, and SQL Server.

Amazon RDS Screenshots

Amazon RDS Videos (2)

Amazon RDS Supported Products

Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle Database, AWS Lambda, MariaDB, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS)

Amazon RDS Competitors

Oracle Database, Google Cloud SQL, Microsft SQL Server

Pricing

    Amazon RDS Support Options

     Free VersionPaid Version
    Email
    Forum/Community
    FAQ/Knowledgebase
    Social Media
    Video Tutorials / Webinar
    Phone

    Amazon RDS Availability

    Geography:NAMER, APAC, LATAM, EMEA
    Supported Languages: English, French, Korean, Chinese, Japanese