Movable Type Reviews

16 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Sophia Ahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2015

The best-rated CMS for magazines, blogs, and editorial content

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • WordPress,Vanguardistas,TeamSite,Ektron Web Content Management System
WordPress and Movable Type are the go to CMS for a reason - they are by far the easiest to navigate, learn, and use for daily blogging/content management. And now with more plug-ins available, these CMS products are getting more responsive and are offering capabilities (even basic things like tweeting about the story as it gets published) that integrate other platforms and capabilities into one place. As I mentioned before, if you want to make custom pages and build out any code heavy articles with extensive, multimedia pieces, then these easy to use CMS platforms won't cut it. But there's a reason why most publications are switching over from their huge, bulky CMS to these two competitors. For a team of varying web production skills, these are the perfect CMS solutions.
Read Sophia Ahn's full review
Dennis Dewey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2014

Movable Type great for small sites on shared environments.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Movable Type is better than Wordpress because it generates static sites that cannot be broken by losing your database connection. The custom fields in MT are superior to Wordpress because of the way the fields are presented in the new content form. You need to get paid plugins in order to get that kind of functionality in Wordpress. Most of the templates in MT can be customized with greater control because you're provided with more templates.
Read Dennis Dewey's full review
Jean Louis | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2014

My type is Movable Type

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Joomla! and Drupal. Both are power CMSs but I found it easier to work with Movable Type. Every CMS has its positive and negative points, but I found more benefits to using Movable Type compared to Joomla! and Drupal.
Read Jean Louis's full review
Kurtis Amundson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2014

Flexible & Multi-Purposed Website Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • WordPress,ExpressionEngine
Compared to other content management systems that I have used, Movable Type is certainly a top-of-the-line platform. It is my primary choice when building large and intense user-based websites. If I'm building something simple, like a client portfolio website, I may stick with Wordpress. Movable Type misses some of the ease of use which Wordpress is known for, but Movable Type certainly beats it when you need to build a large-scale and user-intensive website with lots of populated user content.
Read Kurtis Amundson's full review
James Warkulwiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2014

Moveable Type @ The Daily Collegian

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I believe that these two product are interchangeable for my purposes. I believe WordPress is slightly more complicated and prone to accidents to someone dealing solely with writing like myself; however, this seems to be the hot product right now, and Moveable Type may need to implement more opportunities to customize to compete.
Read James Warkulwiz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2014

GTD: Gets Things Done

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Movable Type can be compared to WordPress. It's easy to use, and I would say Movable Type is actually more user-friendly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2014

First Experiences With Movable Type

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have not used any other product except Movable Type for my job needs because this is a fairly new position for me. However, with the positive experiences that I have had with Movable Type thus far, I cannot imagine using another product to meet the demands of my job. I am quite satisfied with it.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (1)
5
API (1)
6
WYSIWYG editor (1)
9
Code quality / cleanliness (1)
6
Admin section (1)
8
Page templates (1)
5
Library of website themes (1)
3
Mobile optimization / responsive design (1)
8
Publishing workflow (1)
9
Form generator (1)
3
Content taxonomy (1)
9
SEO support (1)
6
Bulk management (1)
3
Availability / breadth of extensions (1)
3
Community / comment management (1)
7

About Movable Type

Movable Type is a Perl-based CMS from Six Apart, featuring the capability to host multiple weblogs and standalone content pages, manage files and user roles, templates, tags, categories and trackback links. Six Apart was formed in 2001 as a blog solution provider in the US. In 2003 the company founded Six Apart KK, a Japanese legal entity. In November 2010, Six Apart joined forces with VideoEgg to create a new company called SAY Media. In January 2011, Six Apart KK was wholly acquired by Infocom, a Japanese IT company listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange. Six Apart KK has assumed responsibility over all intellectual property and business operations of Movable Type, as well as trademark rights of Six Apart. The new Six Apart, a Japanese corporation formerly known as Six Apart KK, currently develops, markets and supports Movable Type for a global user base.

Movable Type touts a template markup system near in complexity to HTML. It is designed to support unlimited users and expanding without degrading site experience or increasing page load times. Custom fields, themes, plugins and the data API support great configurability. Its decoupled architecture supports flexible deployment for multichannel delivery. It is proprietary software.
Categories:  Blogging,  Content Management

Movable Type Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No