TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/cn/EV/MTUP7E033QBO.PNGSquarespace: the best choice for small businesses and freelancers!I've been using Squarespace off and on for years, but in the past year, I've shifted my freelance web design business completely over to Squarespace (from WordPress and GatsbyJS). For small businesses, it simply makes more sense, because there's no need for a developer or tech support longterm. This allows me to keep creating new websites and focus on the design aspect, rather than on providing maintenance services to existing clients.,Easy to use. Literally, anyone can manage it after 30-60 minutes of training. It offers more design flexibility than it used to (backgrounds, more unique layouts, etc). There's no need for maintenance—plugin updates, security issues, etc.,The editing experience is VERY slow. Every time you switch in or out of an editor (page content, styles, etc), Squarespace takes 3-5 seconds to load, which is not a deal-breaker, but definitely annoying. There's still no "real" way to set a background color on a given section. You can fake it by using a background image, which works, but what if you want a light background? Squarespace automatically makes the text white for any section, regardless of how bright the background is. It's frustrating that Squarespace hasn't implemented some sort of variable system for fonts and colors. If you decide to change fonts or colors, you have to go around and update it in 50 million different places, which is a huge pain.,8,I spend zero time on maintenance now. It's really nice to finish a project and feel that my client is self-sufficient. Revision processes are a lot easier than they are with custom-code websites because I can simply do one round of revisions, then turn the site over to my client, so they can do what they want with it. Visual editing means I can simply start designing in the CMS itself, which saves time by cutting out the prototyping and coding phases.,WordPress and Contentful,Contentful, Microsoft Visual Studio Code, Adobe Premiere Pro,Developer,1-10 pagesDesigner Look and Feel is Ideal for Creative BusinessesI use Squarespace to build, manage and maintain websites for my small business clients who are involved in a variety of industries. Squarespace's "designer" look and feel, along with well-designed templates overall, makes it ideal for companies where creative representation is especially important. This includes graphic designers, photographers, architects, etc. The look is achieved through wide-format imagery, extensive availability of designer fonts, use of white space, etc.,Ease of use with its drag and drop interface. Beautiful templates — more so than other easy to use builder tools like Weebly or Wix. Extensive and well-designed elements, including fonts. Images are presented beautifully.,Drag and drop interface is not as intuitive as it was when it first launched. It's a bit more challenging to use than, say, Weebly. Its ecommerce functionality isn't as robust as something like Shopify. Setting up grids or sections isn't as easy to do as other tools. Changing templates to see how content may look isn't seamless.,10,My clients are very happy with the results they're getting from their websites. They don't really manage the sites themselves, so can't really speak to the ease of use for them. However, I find it relatively easy to build good looking sites for them. This in turn makes it economical for them. Making changes and updating their sites can be done relatively quickly. We can embed whatever elements they need, like video. We can easily manage updates to their on-site SEO.,Weebly, Shopify and WordPress,Weebly, WordPress, Airtable, Todoist, Screaming Frog SEO Spider, Zoom,Developer,10-100 pagesIf Squarespace went to high school, they would have won "best all around" as their senior superlative.We use Squarespace to support our company website. I also personally use Squarespace to support multiple websites for side projects. Our marketing team uses the platform most consistently internally. We had formerly built our site on Wordpress, which proved to be too difficult to update and maintain. We switched to Squarespace and haven't regretted it for a second. The website builder is intuitive, but also has advanced customization so our design team is happy and our marketing team can manage it.,Intuitive User Interface: Literally anyone can create a website on Squarespace, from the experienced designer to the absolute novice. Customization: While Squarespace manages to be extremely user-friendly, it doesn't do so at the sacrifice of customization. You can still add custom coding if you need to, but it doesn't require coding experience to make a well-designed site. Functionality without hundreds of plugins: Many Squarespace competitors offer expanded functionality through plugins, which can be difficult to work with as they are third party functions that vary in quality. Squarespace has done a great job of adding features to their platform, so plugins are less necessary. They offer many integrations to major services (like Typeform and Stripe), but the experience is much better than sifting through hundreds of plugins.,I could see an experienced designer being frustrated by the limitations of Squarespace compared to an open platform like Wordpress. Sometimes it's difficult to make quick edits in the website builder because you don't know where the functionality resides. For example, you can make some edits to your nav bar by clicking on the nav bar, but you can make others by going through a series of menus. This is easily resolved by watching the tutorials, but can be frustrating for new users.,10,Our Squarespace website has saved us thousands of dollars in our technical development budget, as we were able to build and support our website internally instead of outsourcing the project to an agency. In combination with Hubspot, we've been able to increase our inbound website leads by 150% over the last year.,WordPress, Leadpages, ClickFunnels and Wix,AdStage, ClickFunnels, Hootsuite Pro, Zoho Projects,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pages,3,1,We use Squarespace to build and support our main company website. We use Squarespace to build and support website for any new offerings or side projects.,We have integrated Squarespace with Hubspot Sales to build an excellent inbound marketing engine.,We'll continue to use Squarespace for new product offerings and side projects websites.,10,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product,I wouldn't change it.Squarespace is an excellent platform for simpler websites, but be aware of some e-commerce limitationsWe use Squarespace as our e-commerce website and platform. It is our portal through which customers can find out about us, our products and what we do and then they are able to purchase our products on our website. It is basically like most traditional e-commerce websites. We do utilize certain other tools that Squarespace offers, like their Analytics tools to gauge the traffic to our site, traffic sources and sales data. We do also use their "Abandoned Cart feature which allows us to contact customers that added product to their shopping cart but did not complete a purchase. At this time we do not use a lot of the marketing tools that Squarespace offers as part of their Advanced Commerce plan.,Getting started with Squarespace is incredibly easy. Their templates make getting an early design for your website set up and published quick and simple. There are plenty of advanced features that can be utilized to tweak the design indefinitely but getting up and running smoothly and quickly is key and Squarespace does that beautifully. The Squarespace Analytics tools are incredibly helpful. They are quite detailed yet very easy to understand and parse through. If you've ever tried to understand all of your Google Analytics data, you can feel like you need to get a new degree to comprehend it all. Squarespace Analytics are intuitive and easy to understand allowing you have an easier time making decisions based not eh data you re provided. Squarespace makes integrations with other platforms very easy as well. Email service providers (like Mailchimp or Contant Contact), or integrating with outside fulfillment centers for orders of your products is very easy to set up. The back end design and control makes navigating through these things very easy (with the right instructions, of course).,My biggest complaint about Squarespace is particularly about the shipping rates controls in the Commerce plans. Squarespace does not allow you to assign different shipping costs to different products. You can set up different costs for different levels of shipping (for example, Ground, Express, Overnight, etc.). But if you have two different products that are different sizes and weights you cannot independently assign each of them a different cost for Ground shipping. All products have to have the same price for Ground, the same price for expedited, etc. It is incredibly frustrating. This one deficiency alone has actually been enough to have prompted me into looking for alternative platforms for my e-commerce site. If you sell multiple products of varying sizes and weights and you intend to charge you customers shipping, then be aware of this beforehand. If you only sell digital products, or products that don't vary much in size or weight, or you intend to offer free shipping on everything then this will not be as big a deal for you. Squarespace offers excellent help services via live chat, but in the years that I've used it I get the sense that recommendations from users are taken seriously. I've made numerous recommendations for enhancements and fixes over the years and I know other people that have as well. However what I continue to see from Squarespace is development of new product offerings that aren't necessarily in line with their core product offering, and not much in the way of making what they already offer much better. There are certain things that should be prioritized by their development team but I don't get the sense that these are taken seriously. Of course this is just my guess as I don't work there but it's important to remember that perception is reality to those who are perceiving. As much as Squarespace makes integrations easy, they still have along way to go with regards to being recognized by many other platforms as integration worthy. Very often I come across services that offer integrations with web design platforms and Squarespace is not one of them. I'm not sure why this is but I wish Squarespace would do a better job of working with these other companies to have integrations with them.,8,Our direct to consumer selling platform is done primarily via our website so Squarespace is the major player here. We do sell on Amazon and eBay as well, but the majority of our direct to consumer revenue is generated via our website with Squarespace. Due to the above-mentioned deficiencies in making shipping costs product specific we do see a small percentage of loss in individual orders depending on where an order is being shipped to. We have to make sure our shipping prices are not exorbitant so in some cases the cost to ship a product is greater than what we charge the customer. This could be rectified is Squarespace would enhance the way they allow users to implement shipping charges. The clean look of the website, the ease of creating new content and the ability to add new products in the Commerce Advanced plan has surely allowed us to grow our sales with a clean look and added product offerings. Hard to measure though how much the can be attributed though directly to Squarespace.,Shopify, Wix and Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento),MailChimp, Hightail, Grasshopper, Calendly,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesWebpage development that's as easy as it looks in the commercials.Working as the A/V Media Coordinator for a multi-campus religious organization, we needed a user-friendly way to create a church website that provided a way to relay comprehensive information for all of our campuses, while maintaining accessibility for visitors and an easy way for non-tech users to update information on the website as needed.,User-friendly Interface: Easy to jump in and create with no coding or design experience required. Free Trial (No Card Required): Designing the perfect website takes time. Squarespace allows a 14-Day Free Trial (with live access to the website) to learn the interface, input information, and tweak designs before committing to any plans. Multiple Tiers: Depending on the business or individual needs, Squarespace provides multiple website and commerce plans with corresponding features based on the user's goals.,Pricing: While not too prohibitive, Squarespace hosting may be more than the average user may want to spend on hosting, especially if building their own website from scratch. However, if looking for a quick, good looking website that is easy to manage, Squarespace is the way to go. Almost cookie-cutter Templates: when developing using the Squarespace auto-generated website builder, the templates provided look somewhat generic. If looking for a functional website that looks nice, Squarespace will do the trick. If looking for a quick, but more customized look, this might not be the way to go.,7,Increased Web Interaction: We migrated to Squarespace from using a customized Wordpress template. Squarespace built and configured a clean and functional website for our church that must be more welcoming to visitors, as we have seen an increase in interaction with our existing members (signing up for events via website) and new visitors reaching out (via contact us form). Easy to Manage: Before switching to Squarespace, due to the complexity of adding updates or announcements to our website, all updates needed to be run through a volunteer who managed our website. Now we can assign multiple contributors to update information for our events, distributing the workload.,Wix and WordPress,Developer,10-100 pages
Unspecified
Squarespace
140 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Squarespace Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Squarespace
140 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 140 vetted Squarespace reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 58)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Andrew Folts profile photo
February 15, 2019

Review: "Squarespace: the best choice for small businesses and freelancers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Squarespace off and on for years, but in the past year, I've shifted my freelance web design business completely over to Squarespace (from WordPress and GatsbyJS). For small businesses, it simply makes more sense, because there's no need for a developer or tech support longterm. This allows me to keep creating new websites and focus on the design aspect, rather than on providing maintenance services to existing clients.
  • Easy to use. Literally, anyone can manage it after 30-60 minutes of training.
  • It offers more design flexibility than it used to (backgrounds, more unique layouts, etc).
  • There's no need for maintenance—plugin updates, security issues, etc.
  • The editing experience is VERY slow. Every time you switch in or out of an editor (page content, styles, etc), Squarespace takes 3-5 seconds to load, which is not a deal-breaker, but definitely annoying.
  • There's still no "real" way to set a background color on a given section. You can fake it by using a background image, which works, but what if you want a light background? Squarespace automatically makes the text white for any section, regardless of how bright the background is.
  • It's frustrating that Squarespace hasn't implemented some sort of variable system for fonts and colors. If you decide to change fonts or colors, you have to go around and update it in 50 million different places, which is a huge pain.
Read Andrew Folts's full review
Robbin Block profile photo
December 17, 2018

Squarespace Review: "Designer Look and Feel is Ideal for Creative Businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Squarespace to build, manage and maintain websites for my small business clients who are involved in a variety of industries. Squarespace's "designer" look and feel, along with well-designed templates overall, makes it ideal for companies where creative representation is especially important. This includes graphic designers, photographers, architects, etc. The look is achieved through wide-format imagery, extensive availability of designer fonts, use of white space, etc.
  • Ease of use with its drag and drop interface.
  • Beautiful templates — more so than other easy to use builder tools like Weebly or Wix.
  • Extensive and well-designed elements, including fonts.
  • Images are presented beautifully.
  • Drag and drop interface is not as intuitive as it was when it first launched. It's a bit more challenging to use than, say, Weebly.
  • Its ecommerce functionality isn't as robust as something like Shopify.
  • Setting up grids or sections isn't as easy to do as other tools.
  • Changing templates to see how content may look isn't seamless.
It's great for creative businesses, but I wouldn't recommend it for full-on ecommerce. Other tools have more features. However, if selling a limited product line, it may be appropriate. It's not ideal for business owners who want to manage their own websites, yet don't have any web skills, because it's not as intuitive as other simple builders.
Read Robbin Block's full review
Emily Muhoberac profile photo
November 23, 2018

Review: "If Squarespace went to high school, they would have won "best all around" as their senior superlative."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Squarespace to support our company website. I also personally use Squarespace to support multiple websites for side projects.

Our marketing team uses the platform most consistently internally. We had formerly built our site on WordPress, which proved to be too difficult to update and maintain. We switched to Squarespace and haven't regretted it for a second. The website builder is intuitive, but also has advanced customization so our design team is happy and our marketing team can manage it.
  • Intuitive User Interface: Literally anyone can create a website on Squarespace, from the experienced designer to the absolute novice.
  • Customization: While Squarespace manages to be extremely user-friendly, it doesn't do so at the sacrifice of customization. You can still add custom coding if you need to, but it doesn't require coding experience to make a well-designed site.
  • Functionality without hundreds of plugins: Many Squarespace competitors offer expanded functionality through plugins, which can be difficult to work with as they are third party functions that vary in quality. Squarespace has done a great job of adding features to their platform, so plugins are less necessary. They offer many integrations to major services (like Typeform and Stripe), but the experience is much better than sifting through hundreds of plugins.
  • I could see an experienced designer being frustrated by the limitations of Squarespace compared to an open platform like WordPress.
  • Sometimes it's difficult to make quick edits in the website builder because you don't know where the functionality resides. For example, you can make some edits to your nav bar by clicking on the nav bar, but you can make others by going through a series of menus. This is easily resolved by watching the tutorials, but can be frustrating for new users.
Squarespace is best suited for:
- Solopreneurs that need a pretty website fast
- Side projects
- Basic E-Commerce websites
- Anyone who needs to create a one page website quickly
- Marketing teams that lack technical skill, but are required to support the company website internally

Squarespace is least suited for:
- Companies with full design or technical teams that won't benefit from the additional structure Squarespace provides
Read Emily Muhoberac's full review
Daniel Shatzkes CEO Entrepreneur, Manufacturer, Musician profile photo
November 19, 2018

Review: "Squarespace is an excellent platform for simpler websites, but be aware of some e-commerce limitations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Squarespace as our e-commerce website and platform. It is our portal through which customers can find out about us, our products and what we do and then they are able to purchase our products on our website. It is basically like most traditional e-commerce websites. We do utilize certain other tools that Squarespace offers, like their Analytics tools to gauge the traffic to our site, traffic sources and sales data. We do also use their "Abandoned Cart feature which allows us to contact customers that added product to their shopping cart but did not complete a purchase. At this time we do not use a lot of the marketing tools that Squarespace offers as part of their Advanced Commerce plan.
  • Getting started with Squarespace is incredibly easy. Their templates make getting an early design for your website set up and published quick and simple. There are plenty of advanced features that can be utilized to tweak the design indefinitely but getting up and running smoothly and quickly is key and Squarespace does that beautifully.
  • The Squarespace Analytics tools are incredibly helpful. They are quite detailed yet very easy to understand and parse through. If you've ever tried to understand all of your Google Analytics data, you can feel like you need to get a new degree to comprehend it all. Squarespace Analytics are intuitive and easy to understand allowing you have an easier time making decisions based not eh data you re provided.
  • Squarespace makes integrations with other platforms very easy as well. Email service providers (like MailChimp or Contant Contact), or integrating with outside fulfillment centers for orders of your products is very easy to set up. The back end design and control makes navigating through these things very easy (with the right instructions, of course).
  • My biggest complaint about Squarespace is particularly about the shipping rates controls in the Commerce plans. Squarespace does not allow you to assign different shipping costs to different products. You can set up different costs for different levels of shipping (for example, Ground, Express, Overnight, etc.). But if you have two different products that are different sizes and weights you cannot independently assign each of them a different cost for Ground shipping. All products have to have the same price for Ground, the same price for expedited, etc. It is incredibly frustrating. This one deficiency alone has actually been enough to have prompted me into looking for alternative platforms for my e-commerce site. If you sell multiple products of varying sizes and weights and you intend to charge you customers shipping, then be aware of this beforehand. If you only sell digital products, or products that don't vary much in size or weight, or you intend to offer free shipping on everything then this will not be as big a deal for you.
  • Squarespace offers excellent help services via live chat, but in the years that I've used it I get the sense that recommendations from users are taken seriously. I've made numerous recommendations for enhancements and fixes over the years and I know other people that have as well. However what I continue to see from Squarespace is development of new product offerings that aren't necessarily in line with their core product offering, and not much in the way of making what they already offer much better. There are certain things that should be prioritized by their development team but I don't get the sense that these are taken seriously. Of course this is just my guess as I don't work there but it's important to remember that perception is reality to those who are perceiving.
  • As much as Squarespace makes integrations easy, they still have along way to go with regards to being recognized by many other platforms as integration worthy. Very often I come across services that offer integrations with web design platforms and Squarespace is not one of them. I'm not sure why this is but I wish Squarespace would do a better job of working with these other companies to have integrations with them.
Squarespace is a perfect platform for an informational website, for selling digital products or as a scheduling website. These kinds of things it does incredibly well, what with their myriad templates and design tools. As an e-commerce platform it can be very good but it definitely has some catching up to do with other more well known platforms. They need to focus on some core features a little bit better to make selling easier.
Read Daniel Shatzkes CEO Entrepreneur, Manufacturer, Musician's full review
Dan Talvi profile photo
February 14, 2019

Squarespace Review: "Webpage development that's as easy as it looks in the commercials."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Working as the A/V Media Coordinator for a multi-campus religious organization, we needed a user-friendly way to create a church website that provided a way to relay comprehensive information for all of our campuses, while maintaining accessibility for visitors and an easy way for non-tech users to update information on the website as needed.
  • User-friendly Interface: Easy to jump in and create with no coding or design experience required.
  • Free Trial (No Card Required): Designing the perfect website takes time. Squarespace allows a 14-Day Free Trial (with live access to the website) to learn the interface, input information, and tweak designs before committing to any plans.
  • Multiple Tiers: Depending on the business or individual needs, Squarespace provides multiple website and commerce plans with corresponding features based on the user's goals.
  • Pricing: While not too prohibitive, Squarespace hosting may be more than the average user may want to spend on hosting, especially if building their own website from scratch. However, if looking for a quick, good looking website that is easy to manage, Squarespace is the way to go.
  • Almost cookie-cutter Templates: when developing using the Squarespace auto-generated website builder, the templates provided look somewhat generic. If looking for a functional website that looks nice, Squarespace will do the trick. If looking for a quick, but more customized look, this might not be the way to go.
Squarespace is perfect for the users, businesses, or individuals who are looking for a "set it and forget it" approach to their website and/or something that is easy to update as needed. Specifically, if you are looking for a website that looks good and does a great job of getting your core information across, Squarespace is for you. But, if you're looking to build a more in-depth website with greater levels of customization, Squarespace is worth trying but might not suit your needs.
Read Dan Talvi's full review
Elizabeth Pampalone profile photo
January 22, 2019

User Review: "Squarespace = Website In A Day"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I meet business owners every day that have the same issue... "My website embarrasses me, don't look at it!!"
So, in order to serve these clients, I developed a formula to build a website in one day. When I found Squarespace, it made my formula a reality! I was always going over by a few hours (my formula was really a "website in a day and a half"). But when I started using Squarespace, It allowed me to truly build a website in a day. (8 hours flat is my current time!)
  • I love using Squarespace for Small Business Websites for local soloprenuers.
  • Squarespace works great for Coaches and Trainers who need a membership site
  • I often use Squarespace for those who have e-commerce stores with less than 100 products.
  • ability to duplicate blocks in builder
  • ability to save blocks in builder
  • file upload manager / Images etc
Squarespace is most useful for brochure websites, e-commerce sites, and membership sites.
Squarespace is least useful if you have strong SEO needs, a Developer, over 100 items you are selling, complex e-commerce items, or no time to run your site.
Read Elizabeth Pampalone's full review
Mary Racter profile photo
January 22, 2019

Squarespace Review: "It just works"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Squarespace to host its employee handbook, with information on the code of conduct, etiquette, and role expectations. Employees can log in to view the document.
  • Attractive visual interface for site building
  • Fully responsive templates that adjust seamlessly to mobile
  • Easy to create a website with little to no technical expertise
  • Does not support OAuth2 for federated access; this would be an extremely useful feature for company internal websites or reducing sign-up friction
  • Personal plan is quite pricy and limited
  • Templates have limited customisability
Squarespace would probably be very suitable for small businesses looking to set up an online store easily and with minimal hassle. For a larger company, it depends on the degree of personalization that would go into the website. If you want your site design to stand out and have a very specific vision for your brand, then Squarespace templates might give you some trouble.
Read Mary Racter's full review
Alicia Kramer profile photo
January 18, 2019

Review: "Squarespace plays game of Customer Keep-Away!"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Squarespace to promote my graphic design business for four years now. My small organization benefits from having a web presence and Squarespace is the platform that we currently use. A web presence allows clients to see our past work to make an educated decision whether to hire us! Setting up our Squarespace site had its issues but we learned to work with the template constraints - we are designers after all so we always want to finesse design elements!
  • Allows for quick site building through their templates. If you work quickly, you can build a site in about a day.
  • I believe their demographic includes people just entering the web so the interface is simple (sometimes too much) and easy to learn.
  • They have customization options if your business expands from a simple site to online purchasing.
  • The designs are very clean and simple which allows for a professional look.
  • If you have a problem, customer service plays a game of keep-away! With only the option to chat or email, the contact person at Squarespace changes every time. So... everytime you have a question or response to a querie, you get a new person who doesn't have the thorough history. Squarespace says they share the information... but the representative would need to actually read the history and I don't believe they do.
  • If you don't auto-renew (which I don't like as I want to acknowledge this purchase every year), your account may go dead in an instant. To get things sorted out, you enter Customer keep-away and it can be days before a resolution is made.... Days!
  • Customer care..again... The turnaround time for a response has been no shorter than 24 hours! A ridiculous amount of time in this day and age. If you ask a question during the email thread, it will cost you another 24 hours.
  • The marketing for their product touts a quick and efficient response time for customer care. This is simply not true for the average, smaller client.
  • If one is not familiar with website developement, it can be daunting to create a site, even if you use their templates. Since there is no live person to answer immediate questions, you must watch (and re-watch) their videos. Some times there is a question they haven't answered with a video and it is hard to resolve this with only chats or email.
Well suited for a novice web person who has a basic static site.

Not well suited for a more complex site because if any issue arises (and they do with complex sites or online sales), Squarespace simply does not expend the time or energy on their customer care to retain clients.
Read Alicia Kramer's full review
Nathan Meehan profile photo
November 30, 2018

Review: "Squarespace: Making the Novice Look Professional"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Squarespace for our website and email hosting. We selected it to replace our GoDaddy/Microsoft Exchange-based email and web hosting. We needed a solution that was inexpensive and easy to update. The GoDaddy site was a Wordpress site and, unlike Squarespace, requires a higher level web design experience. We are a small company and needed to be easily able to modify/update our website and also make it look professional. Squarespace does both.
  • Flexible: Squarespace allows me to quickly and easily make changes to our website.
  • Professional: I am not a web design professional. Squarespace helps me makes my site look professional.
  • Inexpensive: Squarespace's price point is great for a small company that needs to maximize our use of every dollar.
  • Integration: Squarespace integrates well with other services (such as LinkedIn) and helps me do my job.
  • Responsive: Squarespace has a lot of tutorials and help available on the web. They were also quick to respond if I had questions or problems.
  • Interface: Sometimes I have problems with their interface not saving or working correctly. For example, the photo editor tool sometimes locks up and crashes causing me to lose work.
  • Picture Integration: Sometimes it is unclear how to manipulate cropping and sizing of pictures so they look right on the website.
Squarespace is well suited for small companies trying to control their own information. They help you learn how to design your own site and make it look professional; great for the novice user. I can imagine as a company grows larger and requires more from their website, that it may become a bit more cumbersome to use.
Read Nathan Meehan's full review
Jacqueline DeCapua profile photo
November 23, 2018

Squarespace Review: "Great Software to Create Beautiful Websites"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Squarespace has helped me create a beautiful website to help drive my business. Most of my business has come from people online and interacting with my website. It is a lot more cost effective than hiring someone to build a website for us and it allows me control over all aspects of the website. I can customize and redesign whenever I want!
  • Ability to create your own domain, your own email, and an ad free website all in one place.
  • Many different layouts to choose from that are able to serve various different needs and services.
  • The analytics are awesome and really help me understand what people are interacting with on my website.
  • They offer a google AdWords credit for signing up.
  • Some layouts are difficult to customize.
  • The design process is a little clunky at times and takes some getting used to.
  • It's a little more expensive than some other web builders.
Squarespace is great for small businesses and is much more affordable than hiring a designer to build your website. The layouts and design options allow for a very nice looking, professional website. However, I would not recommend Squarespace if you're a larger company or if you can afford to hire a web designer.
Read Jacqueline DeCapua's full review
Edmond Lorts profile photo
November 23, 2018

Squarespace Review: "Simple and beautiful solution for artist."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Squarespace for years for my photography business. Setting up my site was incredibly easy. The design layouts provided are beautiful and complement my work. They keep the selection of templates fresh and modern. It's always easy to jump in and configure my site and update the images and products offered. I've only had to use their customer support once in the years I've used Squarespace. The one time I chatted with customer support, they were super helpful and gave a thorough explanation with screenshots. I expect to be using Squarespace for many more years and growing my business through their many plans.
  • Templates are sleek, modern, and beautiful.
  • Customer support is U.S. based and super friendly.
  • There are multiple plans so your site can grow with your business.
  • An even more basic plan would be welcomed for people looking for just a simple gallery to host w/o the bells and whistles.
  • I'd like to see Squarespace suggest the optimal layout/design based on my content.
Squarespace is great for any website type but it really shines for an artist to display their work. The layout is hip and modern, which works fantastic for those looking to target customers that are high-end and internet savvy. It might not be necessary for someone looking for a more bare-bones service.
Read Edmond Lorts's full review
John Selkow profile photo
November 19, 2018

User Review: "Squarespace is a hit"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our primary website as well as a separate landing page. It is easy for us to incorporate both sites into one profile accounts. Is incredibly easy to use and the designs are great. Since we aren’t the typical type of business that would use Squarespace, our websites are more appealing in our industry.
  • Easy to use
  • The artistic and modern design’s or a great alternative for a btob company
  • Sometimes the design options are scarce when we are looking to re-designed the website
  • While building the website, the platform can run slower than usual
  • There can be improvement on the frequently asked questions/help section. Some of the resolutions are generic and sometimes we need to look elsewhere for a workaround
Using Squarespace for B2C businesses is a no-brainer. [For] A company such as mine that sells directly to businesses, it can be challenging to design based upon our customer needs and wants
Read John Selkow's full review
Sean Pomory profile photo
November 19, 2018

Squarespace Review: "The Best E-commerce CMS/SAAS for Small Businesses"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Squarespace to build a modern, beautiful, responsive websites. I also use Squarespace to implement websites for smaller businesses that need full-scale commerce as well. It has a ton of capabilities and integrates with some of the biggest players in the game, including Apply Pay, MailChimp and PayPal. WordPress may give you more features, but it will cost more time to build. The templates are beautiful.

Best of all, the pricing includes website hosting and SSL.
  • E-commerce
  • Easy to use
  • Transparent pricing
  • Great support
  • Decent analytics
  • Limited template options
  • Difficult to edit the UI of a site beyond provided templates
  • Can be more difficult to use than Wix or Weebly
This recommendation depends entirely on use case. If you are looking for an enterprise level e-commerce site, look to something like Drupal 8 to solve your needs. If you desire complete control over your code at the SMB level, use WordPress. If want to spin up a site efficiently, at low cost, and know exactly what you're paying for, use Squarespace. It is by far the best e-commerce platform form small businesses.
Read Sean Pomory's full review
Dave Becker profile photo
November 19, 2018

Squarespace Review: "Easy Website Creation For Anyone"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use Squarespace to create an internal website for our employees. The website has pages and content that our teams can easily access while out in the field, and links to resources that they can access whenever they want. It's become our knowledge center for all things related to the company. We also host an internal company blog on the site.
  • The website was easy to create, using Squarespace's user-friendly tools.
  • Making edits and updates are also very easy, and requires very little training to teach someone new to do so.
  • We were able to password protect our site, so the resources contained within are only available to those in the company.
  • We are using a search tool to make it easier to find what you are looking for.
  • The search tool is helpful, but lacks an ability to sort your results. Maybe it's just the tool we're using, but it's a feature I would like to have.
  • When adding custom images to your site, the image size requirements could be easier to understand.
  • The mobile app to help write blog posts on the site lacks some of the functionality of the desktop version.
We use Squarespace in an internal fashion (employee facing) whereas I think most users would use it to host a customer or visitor facing site. Either way, the web pages are very easy to create and update, no matter the desired outcome. If you don't have any knowledge about coding your own site, Squarespace is a great alternative to get you online.
Read Dave Becker's full review
Faith Barker profile photo
November 19, 2018

User Review: "Love Squarespace!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Squarespace to host and build my personal website for graphic design work. The software is great because I know basic coding, but I am not in the field of creating websites from scratch. Squarespace has allowed me to build a custom website based on my preferences with great UX/UI. I have NEVER had an issue with website failure or malfunction. A full-blown website update and relaunch took just two days for me to complete, where others would take months or more. I don't need to hire a web developer. I can use my own photographs or stock imagery Squarespace provides users with. They also offer you website templates and sample sites so you can see how others have used the templates with their own spins to create unique, customized webpages.
  • UX/UI design and functionality
  • Excellent web support and service
  • Customized webpages made easy
  • Low cost
  • SEO suggestions
  • Email newsletter with web tips and software updates
  • Referral incentive
Appropriate for
  • those looking to build websites quickly.
  • those who do not have background experience in web design or coding.
  • freelancers, consultants, and teacher websites.
  • portfolio creation.
  • beginner bloggers.
Not appropriate for
  • those claiming to be web coders or developers
  • those who want complete control of their website design and development
  • those in need of SEO guidance and suggestions
Read Faith Barker's full review
Sara Meyer profile photo
November 19, 2018

Squarespace Review: "Great Value"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Squarespace for a beauty blog. I am showcasing different treatments and procedures related to the aesthetics industry.
  • Aesthetically pleasing templates that have a modern feel and clean feel.
  • Organizing the templates to be able to find what you are looking for that would work for your project.
  • I had to call customer service a few times and it was positive.
  • I think it would be nice if they had a recommended amount of words for each box in the template. When I imported some of text it did not have the same look as the template because I had too little or too much. I had to gauge by making changes and keep going back to review.
I think it is a good cost value when working on a budget but still want a clean and modern look.

Read Sara Meyer's full review
Sarah Daggett profile photo
November 19, 2018

Squarespace Review: "Helped this Novice Get Going"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Squarespace to host my website. It provided an easy, affordable, out of the box webpage that could help serve my business.
  • It was so easy to get set up. In one place, I was able to reserve my domain, choose a template, and get to work on a webpage. All on my own.
  • Squarespace partners with Unsplash, a free photography website, that allows me to use professional-level photography with no royalties.
  • Using the customization tools to build my webpage was hard. There were some areas that made total sense and others that made no sense at all. My husband has some experience with this stuff, so I brought him in to have him look over the UI with me. Together, we figured it out, but I felt like some features were unnecessarily hard to use.
If you're just starting a new company and can't afford to pay a web designer, Squarespace is an AMAZING way to "hang your shingle", as they say. For less than $100, I was able to reserve a domain and get a webpage on its feet. That's really incredible!
Do know, though, that their templates are highly stylized and aren't as flexible as maybe you'd like or need (it wasn't for me). I had to compromise on the look I wanted because their templates didn't quite accommodate what I had envisioned.
Read Sarah Daggett's full review
Marissa Artman profile photo
October 17, 2018

Squarespace Review: "Does the Job for a Small Company, Could be More Robust"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Squarespace as my current website host for my online teletherapy business. It doesn't actually host the teletherapy platform for HIPAA reasons, but it holds the information about my company for school districts, private clients, and potential employees, as well as any other information about my business. It is used across the entire organization and addresses the issues of identifying our market, what we do, putting a face to our name, and making a web presence. We could also easily host a blog or an online shop.
  • General website
  • Image hosting
  • Blog hosting
  • Blog hosting is not as robust as WordPress
  • Online shop is emerging
  • HIPAA compliance for online therapy could be really robust if allowed to grow
Squarespace is great for beginners in designing and hosting a website, specifically those who need a visual schematic to help them build a site. It is less robust for blogging, online store fronts, and secure hosting.
Read Marissa Artman's full review
Josephine Stafford profile photo
November 23, 2018

User Review: "I love Squarespace!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Squarespace to manage an online storefront for my wedding planning company. Since I am the owner and only employee I don’t quite need to have other users, but I am aware of the opportunity to expand if I do decide to add team members. Having a website with such great SEO helps me rank better on google and brings me potential new clients.
  • Image alt text optimized for SEO
  • Integrations and opportunities for custom CSS, like my contact form
  • Pushing posts to social media
  • Keeping pages organize but easily found
  • Great templates
  • Easy to add or change pages
  • Cover pages! I’d like to be able to add custom CSS
  • Reminders to publish new content
  • Higher capacity for audio
Perfect for small business owners and perfect for anyone who can’t stand Wordpress’ clunky layout. Mac users will adore Squarespace and its so simple to use and figure out
Read Josephine Stafford's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

Squarespace Review: "Excellent, easy-to-learn tool for beautiful basic sites"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Squarespace is used by a handful of team members – I use it primarily to create websites for clients that do not have needs that require the building of a custom website. We offer website design as an add-on service in addition to our branding and identity design services; Squarespace makes it very easy to build out websites that match the identity's look and feel and also fulfill all the customer's requirements in a cost-effective way.
  • Very robust how-to and troubleshooting guides – if you're trying to do something specific, a quick google search will lead you to a writeup by Squarespace of exactly the issue you're trying to solve. Comparing this to competitors where you're more or less on your own, Squarespace makes you feel confident that you can make any change you'd want.
  • Well-designed template sites – you'd have to try very hard to create an ugly site when you've got such robust templates to work with. Plus design fundamentals like ample white space and color palettes are built in to the design process.
  • Lots of options – Squarespace has beautifully-designed add-ons that clients ask for (such as adding a dynamic map to their site which shows their shop's location). These options require no jury-rigging and dovetail with the design of the site.
  • Unbreakable web design – there is no way to break your site, unlike with competitors where you're trying to cobble together plug-ins to make your site function how you'd want it.
  • Being able to save versions of a particular site's design. While I like that any change you make is automatically saved, it'd be nice to be able to show clients multiple versions of a site/page design or be able to revert to a previous design later on.
  • The way that image galleries are handled can be a bit confusing. There's overlapping functionality between Gallery pages and image galleries inserted into a page, so I often find myself building out both to decide which works best.
  • It'd be nice to have a more professional way to share beta versions of websites with clients – sending them a link to an automatically generated URL (like triangle-sphere-9.squarespace.com) and having them log in as a guest is sometimes confusing. If there were a way to have that login screen say something customizable (like "Welcome to the future home of Website.com!") it'd be helpful.
Squarespace is great if you're updating a client's site that they've made themselves using less-than-optimal software. I've used it for lots of small businesses and sole proprietors that know that their site is out of date and doesn't serve their needs any longer, but are not sure where to look for an alternative. Squarespace allows me as a designer to set up a functional and beautiful site quickly for my clients.

If I'm dealing with an enterprise-level client that has more specific needs, Squarespace would not be my first choice since its customizability is limited (though well-suited for most small businesses).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2019

Squarespace Review: "The perfect tool to create your web presence."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Squarespace to get my website and my webstore up and running. I needed a professional grade looking website that worked well. Since this was a side project, I didn't want to expend resources and set up a web development team to create it. Squarespace was a really good alternative that simply let me drag, drop and create something that looked great and functioned without any issues. I liked the fact that you don't need to be a software guru to get things up and running. I also loved how easily I could add e-commerce functionality to my website.
  • It is incredibly easy to use. Simple to the point where you can drag and drop. So you can create a very professional looking website with little to no coding experience.
  • There are a ton of customization options and a lot of templates to choose from. My website still looked unique and "mine" even though I built it using their pre-built tools.
  • You can add an e-commerce part to your website really easily. Very handy if you are providing services or selling items through your web portal.
  • Looks and works great on mobile devices as well.
  • The pricing is very reasonable. For the service it offers, it is priced very competitively. And certainly cheaper than hiring a web development team.
  • The user interface is simple and clean. You won't have to spend time searching online on how to do things.
  • Good support. They were very nice and helpful when I contacted them.
  • I had difficulty embedding video content into it. I got it to work but it took longer than it should have.
It is perfect if you want to create a website to promote yourself or your small and medium-sized business. You don't need software knowledge and can build and deploy an e-commerce ready website almost over the weekend. It is also really good if you just want to create a web presence for yourself for cheap.

I wouldn't recommend it if you plan on creating a web store that you will be regularly selling items through. It probably would work out cheaper to engage a web development team for the long term savings. But it's good if you only occasionally plan on transacting through your webpage.

Also definitely not recommended for enterprise-level usage. You want more control over your web presence in that scenario rather than engaging through a third party.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 23, 2018

Review: "Squarespace is the only platform we use for all of our clients!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I own a Custom Squarespace Web Design and Graphic Design company. We exclusively design and build websites on the Squarespace platform. We serve small to medium size businesses with their design needs online. Our websites, when complete, are passed onto the owner. We do not provide ongoing maintenance on their websites. After a project is finished we provide full training on their site so that they can confidently update and maintain their own website. We find that Squarespace makes it easy for companies to do this. With security updates, software upgrades, and almost zero downtime, Squarespace makes it easy for our client, and us, to depend on them as a solid hosting service for their sites.
Squarespace provides solutions for our clients in the areas of blogging, eCommerce, gorgeous user experience, modern look, third party integrations, appointment booking and many other features. We personally use it for several of those benefits.
  • eCommerce: Squarespace provides a thorough and comprehensive solution for eCommerce. There are analytics, inventory tracking, variants, shipping, third party integration, easy to build and use options for users to build a secure store.
  • Blogging: Squarespace provides all types of options for blogging that people can use to design a gorgeous but functional blogging platform.
  • Style Editor: Their style editor has so many options it is one of the most flexible and customizable options out there. Anywhere from changing the fonts, colors, and layout to custom designing with CSS code injection.
  • No Affiliate program: I think with all the designers out there that use and promote Squarespace as one of the best options, having an affiliate or reseller program would be nice.
  • I think there is room for improvement on the responsive design end. There is some disconnect sometimes with the way the layouts adjust depending on the screen size. For the most part it works great but I think it could be better.
Squarespace is most appropriate for service and eCommerce small to medium size businesses that need to be able to maintain their own website and do NOT need a database or client login scenario.

Squarespace is not appropriate for large size companies that need the most flexible open source options through something like Wordpress and need a developer to maintain their site. Sometimes companies need more options than a platform like Squarespace can provide.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Review: "Squarespace Allowed Us to Focus on The Business, Not Get Bogged Down"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Squarespace is currently used to manage our website needs for both the school and our training site. We first began using it because we needed a program that would allow us to keep a clean, neat website, while also allowing new users to interact with it quickly and efficiently. We chose it because of the simply drag and drop interface, which made it very easy to navigate and create a site where we could focus on our needs and not spend hours trying to decipher what certain parts of the interface meant.
  • Blogs - it provides an easy way to create the blogs, as well as a nice way to organize and sort blogs so that our customers can identify what they want to read before having to slog through everything on the site.
  • User Interface - we have a saying: "what if you get hit by a bus?" If the entire operation shuts down because one person is gone, then the program is not worth it. Squarespace's interface is something anyone can learn in the span of 10 minutes, and with a little bit of guidance, you will never be left alone in case your web master is away.
  • Pricing and Domain - this was not only easy to set up, but painless and straightforward. No hidden costs, and no sudden expenses that we didn't expect.
  • I am not a fan of the embedded code. For third party programs, I have to search them for a direct HTML code in order to put it on the site, as their embedded link only creates a hyperlink. Something you can do easier in the text blocks.
  • More reliable integration with social media. I have to resync the school's Instagram account weekly. We manage multiple, so I can't just leave it logged in. One time it displayed my own personal account without confirming.
  • I would also like a more expansive CMS on par with WordPress, but that is a preference, not a negative.
Artists, photographers, writers - anyone selling digital content or trying to display their work. Their site and template selections are very well suited for this type of interface, and can easily encourage sales. It is less appropriate for sites who are constantly updating their catalog, like car sales or ones which require a more extensive vetting process.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 12, 2018

Review: "Travel Photographer Happy with SquareSpace"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SquareSpace is our website builder. Because our company is very small (two people), we needed a program that was both sophisticated but easy to use. And as every company big and small, budget is always a factor in deciding whether to license a product. SquareSpace met all these goals.
  • Every few months we update our website's "Featured Gallery", an image gallery depicting a particular subject (this month it is Istanbul). After selecting a number of images from my collection, SquareSpace makes it easy to set up the gallery page, move images around to see how they would look as a set, and even move the copyright symbol around so it does not fall on an important part of an image. We then view the gallery before posting it.
  • We also like the variety of templates SquareSpace offers. They tend to be modern and simple, and they are highly customizeable. As a travel photographer it is important that that images are highlighter (not the website builder), and SquareSpace's simple templates allow for this.
  • As a travel photographer I need my images to be front and center of every page of my website. The gallery pages are great for this, but not so with my blog. It is here where I think SquareSpace could use some improvement. I am only able to feature an image cropped in a circular fashion!
SquareSpace is well suited to showcase beautiful imagery, whether you are a travel, wedding, architectural or fashion photographer. The galleries are easy to set up and update as needed. I found the blog page not to be as useful to display my work. The images are automatically cropped as a circle.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 23, 2018

Squarespace Review: "Oversimplification leads to restricted design, but if you're on a tight budget..."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Squarespace not for my own website, but for clients. I have had four clients over the past year that have chosen to use Squarespace for their website and they have hired me to help with various tasks, such as styling, third-party integrations, design review and more. Squarespace was being used by independent artists and small business owners.

Squarespace makes creating a simple website easy for people with no real web development experience. It offers a fairly clean interface featuring a visual builder WYSIWYG editor and the ability to drag and drop elements quickly.
  • Fairly simple to use visual builder for front-end website development
  • The cost is very low
  • The setup, from purchasing a domain and certifying with SSL through building pages is relatively simple for non-coders.
  • Restrictive when it comes to design. I tend not to recommend Squarespace to any organizations of more than one or two people because it is more or a temporary "fix" for not having a website, in my POV.
  • You never own your website, as it is stuck to Squarespace's proprietary platform.
  • Your website design will most likely look like everyone else's who uses the same Squarespace theme, as people who go this route tend to do very little customization.
  • There is still a learning curve, regardless of how easy people say it is for beginners.
Well-suited for:
  • temporary websites
  • photographers
  • hobby blogs
  • artists
Not well-suited for:
  • B2B businesses
  • Robust websites
  • Monetized blogs
  • Custom-designed websites
  • Anything with even a remote amount of back end functionality
  • Anyone who needs to establish significant business credibility to get clients or make sales
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (37)
8.8
API (26)
7.8
Internationalization / multi-language (19)
8.1
WYSIWYG editor (49)
8.7
Code quality / cleanliness (43)
8.3
Admin section (58)
8.4
Page templates (58)
8.4
Library of website themes (56)
8.3
Mobile optimization / responsive design (54)
8.9
Publishing workflow (49)
8.7
Form generator (43)
8.6
Content taxonomy (42)
7.7
SEO support (47)
7.4
Bulk management (23)
6.8
Availability / breadth of extensions (35)
7.1
Community / comment management (37)
7.5

About Squarespace

Squarespace is a CMS platform that allows users to create a DIY blog, eCommerce store, and/or portfolio (visual art or music). Their templates are designed to be elegant and give users maximum control over the look & feel of the website. Some Squarespace templates are industry or use case-specific, such as menu builders for restaurant sites.

Squarespace allows eCommerce users to customize not only elements like themes and fonts, but also structural elements like online store layout. Templates are optimized for mobile shopping. SEO, product galleries, and order management features are built in. Squarespace integrates with Stripe for credit card payments, and ShipStation for shipping. 

Squarespace Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No