Oracle Exadata Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
175 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Oracle Exadata Database Machine offers in-memory performance for our DB transactions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Oracle Exadata Database Machine is a great platform. My only concern with the platform is the fact that it runs on dedicated proprietary hardware provided by Oracle because it is treated as a "machine." Our prior database installation of Sybase could run on a variety of hardware devices. Same with SAP HANA, MS-SQL, and DB2. But given the way the organization is utilizing the Oracle Exadata Database Machine as the enterprise solution and providing the database as a service. I was less concerned about that because my team is no longer responsible for patching the hardware or database software. That is all handled for us because we are receiving the service. Oracle Exadata Database Machine is well suited for mission-critical large scale installations given the cost of entry to get the platform. We are running on-premise. I do know that oracle also offers a cloud-based service.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Habeeb Akbar | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Exadate the real database machine

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Exadata machine is well suited for customers who have mission-critical data with high transactional and high availability database requirements.
We had 9 Oracle databases on different Hardware machines, we merged all those databases into a single Exadata, and today we are having higher performance than before. It is not very appropriate for customers who have a very small database, and users below 25.
Read Habeeb Akbar's full review
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Exadata does better than most

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Any area where a highly architected database solution is needed, Exadata is a good fit. It is generally built to order so cooperative configuration and build phases are executed between the vendor and business and technology teams. When full adherence to the latest database technology and hardware support are needed.
Anytime RAC/clustered database technology is needed.
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
Anna Lard | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Exadata Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It suits our enterprise well. This would be good for any enterprise level database company. This would not be good for super small companies.
Read Anna Lard's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Specifically engineered platform for running Oracle Database efficiently

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Oracle Exadata Database Machine is perfect for organization which already familiar with Oracle Databases which want to run their database on an infrastructure specifically engineered to run Oracle Database efficiently and get the best performance possible. Using same vendor for both hardware and software for database also eliminate the complexity of managing multiple vendors for different hardware and software. However, for organization which already invested on various commodity hardware and using multiple databases software. Migrating to Exadata Database Machine which can only run Oracle Database will surely comes with a price.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle Exadata: Best for Analytics and OLTP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Best for both analytics and OLTP loads. Redundancy at every level makes it highly available. Patching process is being simplified over time, making it easier with less downtime. Good to consolidate lots of databases in a single Exadata rack which makes the management of databases easy. Very large databases are well supported.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

The best you can get!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Oracle Exadata is well suited to simplify databases and IT management with high levels of consolidation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Exadata is wonderful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is best suited for environments where performance, consolidation and scalability plays a big role. It might be less appropriate for small scale applications/companies since the investment is very big.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Built to run mission-critical databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Exadata is a machine built to run databases and it does it extremely well. It helps in driving the overall Opex cost lower without compromising uptime and performance.
Read this authenticated review
Olivier Ameryckx Oliva G. | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

In Expectation of the New Exadata Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Exadata is well suited for large enterprises and data integration.Not suited for SMB or non-Oracle driven databases.

It is a question of pricing. Oracle Exadata is a big machine which is not suitable for SMBs. I recommend more sparse server or Oracle Database appliance for SMBs. Enterprise companies have much more data to run, so need better performance.

In most of the cases, you can start with an entry-level machine and upgrade. But once you use Oracle Exadata Database Machine you cannot move to another machine. This is one of the best in the market. Exadata in the cloud is also a great solution.
Read Olivier Ameryckx Oliva G.'s full review
Ray Hirte | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2018

You aren't on Exadata? You're killing me smalls!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Performance improvement in our payroll processing. Payroll calcs going from 25 minutes to 6 minutes was a game changer for us, as well as backups going from 5 hours to 20 minutes.
This allows us to do testing and then restore the database and test again.
Read Ray Hirte's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

EXADATA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The machine is best suited for data warehouses and analytical workloads, and with new features it even provides better performance on OLTP as well. It keeps improving with every version and getting better and better day by the day. The DBAs will enjoy the full control of the system and enhance their skills. It's best for OLTP and DWH.
Read this authenticated review
Gurcan Orhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2017

Performance, scalability, fast, installed: this is Oracle Exadata.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • First, get the database on Oracle. If you are in an Oracle stack, it would be much better to use the Oracle products. If you are driving a Ferrari, you wouldn’t put a Mercedes engine in it. If you are writing a query, you cannot rely on other brands. Since I'm an architect, when I look for a product, I look for performance.
  • The installation is easy because it comes out-of-the-box and you just start using it.
  • Previous to Oracle Exadata, we were using a normal Oracle RAC service. We were just waiting for this product to come out.
  • I'm currently writing a data warehouse on Exadata. Before this solution, we were aiming for this to be completed by 8 a.m., when our ETLs would finish. With the help of Exadata's special features, this was reduced to 3 a.m. This solution allows us to bring more data within the same time period. It provides us with more subject areas that provide more reports to our users. Our ETL times reduced to 65%, then to 50%.

Read Gurcan Orhan's full review

Oracle Exadata Scorecard Summary

About Oracle Exadata

Oracle Exadata is software and hardware engineered to support high-performance running of Oracle databases.
Categories:  Data Warehouse

Oracle Exadata Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No