Oracle Exadata

Oracle Exadata

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.1 out of 100
Oracle Exadata Database Machine

Overview

Recent Reviews

Exadate the real database machine

10 out of 10
October 31, 2019
The Exadata Machine is used as a centralized database for ERP applications, and some other inhouse applications. It is used for the whole …
Continue reading

The best you can get!

8 out of 10
October 23, 2019
I have been using Exadata for about 8 months and have been loving it. Most of the time it is used by the BI applications team and we don't …
Continue reading

No Alternative Competes

9 out of 10
September 18, 2019
It has leveraged as our enterprise Oracle Database platform. Helped us with the consolidation of all Oracle Databases including both OLTP …
Continue reading

Exadata Review

10 out of 10
September 17, 2019
We use the Exadata enterprise wide. It has all of our OLTP production databases as well as the data warehouse. We also have a standby …
Continue reading

Exadata is wonderful

9 out of 10
September 17, 2019
Oracle Exadata Database Machines is being used for one of our mission-critical databases supporting the revenue cycle department. It has …
Continue reading

EXADATA

9 out of 10
October 29, 2018
It's the best platform to run Oracle Database. You can consolidate all your DB workload to Exadata and it will perform much better than …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Oracle Exadata, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Database Server

$2.9032

Cloud
Per Unit

Quarter Rack

$14.5162

Cloud
Per Unit

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Oracle Exadata?

Oracle Exadata is software and hardware engineered to support high-performance running of Oracle databases.

Fore more information visit https://www.oracle.com/engineered-systems/exadata/database-machine

Oracle Exadata Competitors

Oracle Exadata Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle Exadata?

Oracle Exadata is software and hardware engineered to support high-performance running of Oracle databases.

Who uses Oracle Exadata?

The most common users of Oracle Exadata are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (186)

Reviews

(1-20 of 20)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Exadata Database Machine is a great platform. My only concern with the platform is the fact that it runs on dedicated proprietary hardware provided by Oracle because it is treated as a "machine." Our prior database installation of Sybase could run on a variety of hardware devices. Same with SAP HANA, MS-SQL, and DB2. But given the way the organization is utilizing the Oracle Exadata Database Machine as the enterprise solution and providing the database as a service. I was less concerned about that because my team is no longer responsible for patching the hardware or database software. That is all handled for us because we are receiving the service. Oracle Exadata Database Machine is well suited for mission-critical large scale installations given the cost of entry to get the platform. We are running on-premise. I do know that oracle also offers a cloud-based service.
Ankur Karmakar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Exadata Database Machine is suitable for critical business for which there should not be any downtime. It is suitable for business which requires fast computation speeds. It is suitable where business runs many queries. The performance of queries is really very good in Oracle Exadata Database Machine. It is suitable for business where we need scripting through bash and sh.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Any area where a highly architected database solution is needed, Exadata is a good fit. It is generally built to order so cooperative configuration and build phases are executed between the vendor and business and technology teams. When full adherence to the latest database technology and hardware support are needed.
Anytime RAC/clustered database technology is needed.
Habeeb Akbar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Exadata machine is well suited for customers who have mission-critical data with high transactional and high availability database requirements.
We had 9 Oracle databases on different Hardware machines, we merged all those databases into a single Exadata, and today we are having higher performance than before. It is not very appropriate for customers who have a very small database, and users below 25.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Exadata Database Machine is perfect for organization which already familiar with Oracle Databases which want to run their database on an infrastructure specifically engineered to run Oracle Database efficiently and get the best performance possible. Using same vendor for both hardware and software for database also eliminate the complexity of managing multiple vendors for different hardware and software. However, for organization which already invested on various commodity hardware and using multiple databases software. Migrating to Exadata Database Machine which can only run Oracle Database will surely comes with a price.
September 17, 2019

Exadata is wonderful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is best suited for environments where performance, consolidation and scalability plays a big role. It might be less appropriate for small scale applications/companies since the investment is very big.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Best for both analytics and OLTP loads. Redundancy at every level makes it highly available. Patching process is being simplified over time, making it easier with less downtime. Good to consolidate lots of databases in a single Exadata rack which makes the management of databases easy. Very large databases are well supported.
Olivier Ameryckx Oliva G. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Exadata is well suited for large enterprises and data integration.Not suited for SMB or non-Oracle driven databases.

It is a question of pricing. Oracle Exadata is a big machine which is not suitable for SMBs. I recommend more sparse server or Oracle Database appliance for SMBs. Enterprise companies have much more data to run, so need better performance.

In most of the cases, you can start with an entry-level machine and upgrade. But once you use Oracle Exadata Database Machine you cannot move to another machine. This is one of the best in the market. Exadata in the cloud is also a great solution.
October 29, 2018

EXADATA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The machine is best suited for data warehouses and analytical workloads, and with new features it even provides better performance on OLTP as well. It keeps improving with every version and getting better and better day by the day. The DBAs will enjoy the full control of the system and enhance their skills. It's best for OLTP and DWH.
Ray Hirte | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Performance improvement in our payroll processing. Payroll calcs going from 25 minutes to 6 minutes was a game changer for us, as well as backups going from 5 hours to 20 minutes. This allows us to do testing and then restore the database and test again.
Gurcan Orhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • First, get the database on Oracle. If you are in an Oracle stack, it would be much better to use the Oracle products. If you are driving a Ferrari, you wouldn’t put a Mercedes engine in it. If you are writing a query, you cannot rely on other brands. Since I'm an architect, when I look for a product, I look for performance.
  • The installation is easy because it comes out-of-the-box and you just start using it.
  • Previous to Oracle Exadata, we were using a normal Oracle RAC service. We were just waiting for this product to come out.
  • I'm currently writing a data warehouse on Exadata. Before this solution, we were aiming for this to be completed by 8 a.m., when our ETLs would finish. With the help of Exadata's special features, this was reduced to 3 a.m. This solution allows us to bring more data within the same time period. It provides us with more subject areas that provide more reports to our users. Our ETL times reduced to 65%, then to 50%.