TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/e2/GH/SOLK9QFX34V8.JPEGPowerSchool - Solid and FlexibleWe use PowerSchool SIS across the entire school for managing student demographics, parents, emergency and other student contacts, assignments and grades, schedules, attendance, discipline and medical alerts as well as special education needs. All our teachers use the integrated grade book. Parents and students have access to see grades, assignments and due dates through a parent/student portal or an app, which has eliminated the need for printed report cards.,PowerSchool is highly customizable. We are able to create any field or table that is not part of the stock product. PowerSchool's list of partners is extensive. If you use any other system for information relating to student data, chances are that they will be able to integrate with PowerSchool Whenever I call Support, only rarely have I been put on hold. My call normally goes straight through to a support person. There are also several very active user forums. I have had many questions answered through one of those.,The user interface could be more intuitive. Because of the many features, it can sometimes be difficult for administrators to find what they are looking for. A recent upgrade allowing for more flexibility in the relationship between students and parents was long in coming and didn't go very smoothly. We are now dealing with a ton of clean-up after the upgrade. Even after we have cleaned everything up, there is still a ways to go before PowerSchool is on par with other SIS systems in that area. In their defense though, they are actively working on getting caught up.,8,Complete integration between teacher gradebooks and the administrative side of PowerSchool eliminates the need for double data entry. Integration with parent/student portal has eliminated the need for printed report cards, which means both money and time saved.,FileMaker Pro, Blackbaud K-12 “ON” SolutionsWonderful Product ReviewPowerSchool is the SIS for our student data. It is the central hub for student and teacher data to satisfy the requirements for educational reporting to the state and federal levels. It is being used by our administrators, teachers, parents and students. It helps the parents stay abreast of all the information on their students.,Web based solutions running a very reliable oracle database. Very user-friendly. It has a very strong support team! The state reporting is written to the specs of our department o0f education with makes reports easy.,They are improving it every day by staying on top of the ever changing technology world! Again it is very user-friendly so it is hard to say that is hard to use. Don't change a thing!,10,Being centralized and having audit ability has improved on error free data reporting. It has also help teachers make better data driven decision on student progress.,,Toad Data Point, Microsoft BIPowerSchool SiS-continued growthPowerSchool is an integral part of our school community. We use it to house student information and for grading purposes. The ease of use for both end users and administrators is an asset. For a sysadmin, the support community is a lifesaver as well.,Excellent searchability for locating student information Compatibility with other systems is a major asset Highly customizable for storing unique information needed in a non-public school,Roll out of new features sometimes needs debugging first Responsiveness support has become slightly more difficult with the increase in the clientele of the product Rapid expansion of the company over the last 12-24 months has resulted in some issues,9,We have been able to save significantly on paper costs as we no longer have to print and send home 4 report cards and 4 interim reports for each student.PowerSchool Student Information SystemWe are a K-12 public school district currently using PowerSchool as our primary Student Information System. It houses all student and parent contact information, grades and transcript information, discipline information, and attendance information. We also have it connected to other products which extend the capabilities of PowerSchool. It addresses our need to maintain and report accurate digital records for students.,Clean and user-friendly user interface that works in any web browser Solid partners that sell additional products to extend the core functionality of PowerSchool Offers the ability to customize the interface with basic HTML and SQL syntax,Although it houses a lot of data, extracting that data often requires the use of data export and manipulation tools or writing SQL queries so only the technically-minded can do it Core functionality missing: digital report cards in the Parent/Student portal/app Support is hit-or-miss with low response time or a knowledgeable representative,8,We have reduced a lot of paper going digital,Microsoft Office 2016PowerSchool SIS, the Best!PowerSchool SIS is the way that student data is tracked in our school district. We use it for attendance, to house all of the important demographic information and prepare data for State Reporting. Each school in the district uses it for student tracking purposes of data and then at the district level we can see information on a wider scale.,It's easy to use. Student data can be as rich as you would like. Parent Portal accounts allow parents to have access to basic information about their child.,Once data is in, a moving district like ours it can be difficult to move students quickly from one school to another when they transfer.,10,It's easy to keep track of students attendance. It's easy to keep track of data. It's customizable to what is needed.,,Microsoft Office 365, PowerSchool Unified Classroom, Brightspace
Unspecified
PowerSchool Student Information System
24 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

PowerSchool SIS Reviews

PowerSchool SIS
24 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 24 vetted PowerSchool SIS reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Isa Dunaway profile photo
November 08, 2018

PowerSchool SIS Review: "PowerSchool - Solid and Flexible"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PowerSchool SIS across the entire school for managing student demographics, parents, emergency and other student contacts, assignments and grades, schedules, attendance, discipline and medical alerts as well as special education needs. All our teachers use the integrated grade book. Parents and students have access to see grades, assignments and due dates through a parent/student portal or an app, which has eliminated the need for printed report cards.
  • PowerSchool is highly customizable. We are able to create any field or table that is not part of the stock product.
  • PowerSchool's list of partners is extensive. If you use any other system for information relating to student data, chances are that they will be able to integrate with PowerSchool
  • Whenever I call Support, only rarely have I been put on hold. My call normally goes straight through to a support person.
  • There are also several very active user forums. I have had many questions answered through one of those.
  • The user interface could be more intuitive. Because of the many features, it can sometimes be difficult for administrators to find what they are looking for.
  • A recent upgrade allowing for more flexibility in the relationship between students and parents was long in coming and didn't go very smoothly. We are now dealing with a ton of clean-up after the upgrade. Even after we have cleaned everything up, there is still a ways to go before PowerSchool is on par with other SIS systems in that area. In their defense though, they are actively working on getting caught up.
PowerSchool is well suited for a school that wants/needs a lot of flexibility to customize the system to their own needs. This will naturally require a certain amount of technical expertise. Schools that just need the basics and don't have the personnel to oversee a comprehensive system might be better off with a simpler student information system.
Read Isa Dunaway's full review
Steve Bynum profile photo
November 18, 2018

PowerSchool SIS: "Wonderful Product Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerSchool is the SIS for our student data. It is the central hub for student and teacher data to satisfy the requirements for educational reporting to the state and federal levels. It is being used by our administrators, teachers, parents and students. It helps the parents stay abreast of all the information on their students.
  • Web based solutions running a very reliable oracle database.
  • Very user-friendly.
  • It has a very strong support team!
  • The state reporting is written to the specs of our department o0f education with makes reports easy.
  • They are improving it every day by staying on top of the ever changing technology world!
  • Again it is very user-friendly so it is hard to say that is hard to use.
  • Don't change a thing!
It allows me to connect from the backend using a variety of third-party software to query the database. Being that you can only query and not writeback through this connection, it cuts down on any protentional mistakes with uploading data. I can write lots of queries against the database to get data very easily.
Read Steve Bynum's full review
Terry C. Wood profile photo
November 18, 2018

User Review: "PowerSchool SiS-continued growth"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerSchool is an integral part of our school community. We use it to house student information and for grading purposes. The ease of use for both end users and administrators is an asset. For a sysadmin, the support community is a lifesaver as well.
  • Excellent searchability for locating student information
  • Compatibility with other systems is a major asset
  • Highly customizable for storing unique information needed in a non-public school
  • Roll out of new features sometimes needs debugging first
  • Responsiveness support has become slightly more difficult with the increase in the clientele of the product
  • Rapid expansion of the company over the last 12-24 months has resulted in some issues
Fantastic for most schools, may not be cost appropriate for particularly small schools. There is a learning curve with the system, having experienced staff on hand would be highly recommended.
Read Terry C. Wood's full review
David Murphy profile photo
November 08, 2018

User Review: "PowerSchool Student Information System"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a K-12 public school district currently using PowerSchool as our primary Student Information System. It houses all student and parent contact information, grades and transcript information, discipline information, and attendance information. We also have it connected to other products which extend the capabilities of PowerSchool. It addresses our need to maintain and report accurate digital records for students.
  • Clean and user-friendly user interface that works in any web browser
  • Solid partners that sell additional products to extend the core functionality of PowerSchool
  • Offers the ability to customize the interface with basic HTML and SQL syntax
  • Although it houses a lot of data, extracting that data often requires the use of data export and manipulation tools or writing SQL queries so only the technically-minded can do it
  • Core functionality missing: digital report cards in the Parent/Student portal/app
  • Support is hit-or-miss with low response time or a knowledgeable representative
PowerSchool is a great option for tracking student information. It is the most widely used student information system, so there are some great communities out there for support, and when you are looking to add on, there are plenty of existing customers to talk to.
Read David Murphy's full review
No photo available
November 08, 2018

User Review: "PowerSchool SIS, the Best!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerSchool SIS is the way that student data is tracked in our school district. We use it for attendance, to house all of the important demographic information and prepare data for State Reporting. Each school in the district uses it for student tracking purposes of data and then at the district level we can see information on a wider scale.
  • It's easy to use.
  • Student data can be as rich as you would like.
  • Parent Portal accounts allow parents to have access to basic information about their child.
  • Once data is in, a moving district like ours it can be difficult to move students quickly from one school to another when they transfer.
PowerSchool Student Information System is well suited for school districts of any size, any location. I believe that PowerSchool Student Information System is the most widely used information system in the US and in the world. This kind of familiarity makes it easy for any teacher to adopt. PowerSchool is also working on a LMS which the SIS would be fully integrated into.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Kauffman profile photo
March 21, 2018

PowerSchool SIS Review: "PowerSchool? Power cool!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerSchool Student Information System is being used by my entire organization in one way or another. It is solving a myriad of problems/issues for my organization. With PowerSchool, my school is able to take and access attendance records, record grades by using the grade book feature, create progress reports along with report cards, enter and look at demographics school-wide and per student/class, enter comments into the progress and report cards, create seating arrangements for each class we teach, enter in assignments into the grade book and have them weighted by category or by curriculum standards. PowerSchool is taking many different separate items that both teachers and administrators have to complete or deal with on a daily basis, and puts them in one place, making things easy and accessible to everyone, including parents and students as well.
  • It allows teachers to add in formative and sumative assignments into their grade book with ease
  • It allows for easy attendance taking
  • It allows for quick reference of students performance not only in your class, but in others as well.
  • The function to enter in comments on report cards could be easier to access.
  • I think there should be a function to re-use weights for categories ( e.g. classwork, homework, quizzes. etc.) that you have previously used for classes.
  • After assigning the same assignment for multiple classes, if you have taken the shortcut to create them by simply filling out the information on the assignment form and then clicking on multiple classes grade books for it to be added to, if you then decide not to give said assignment to one of the classes you chose, you cannot only delete the assignment from that class, the system will delete the assignments from every class!
PowerSchool Student Information System is well suited to putting in grades for both formative and summative assignments for multiple classes. It is good for creating report cards, taking attendance, and obtaining a quick overview of how a student is doing in not only your class, but all the other classes they have taken for the year as well. PowerSchool is most well suited to schools, including primary and secondary, because it is able to not only use letter and numerical grades for final reports, but standards based grades for primary years as well.
Read Jennifer Kauffman's full review
Joanne Riker profile photo
March 19, 2018

PowerSchool SIS Review: "PowerSchool is very user-friendly, but lacks visually pleasing data"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerSchool Student Information System is used throughout the school. It is used by teachers, administrators, students, and parents. The program is used to house students personal/home information, which allows their school team members to effectively communicate with their given family members. This information is updated by the guidance department or an administrator. PowerSchool Student Information System also provides detailed school information, including grades, attendance, GPA, as well as behavior and communication logs for given school members with administrative logins. The school information is updated by guidance, administrators, as well as classroom teachers.

Students, parents, and support personnel are able to view information but are unable to make any changes within the system. The only time students are able to make edits are during course selection time, where they work within a specific page and submit their requests for the following years classes. The most beneficial part of the PowerSchool Student Information System is for students, parents, and support personnel to view the student's updated grades, which include grades for specific assessments and assignments, as well as missing work.
  • Having one linked system for student information including grades, data, attendance, etc., linked up to the grade-book (Power Teacher Pro) is very convenient for teachers.
  • PowerSchool allows support staff, administration, parents, and students to all view overall grades as well as detailed information. This is a nice feature so that all members of a student's team can be on the same page, especially when there are missing assignments.
  • PowerSchool has the feature to alert parents when students are absent from a class. Parents can check student's attendance at any time, but also can be alerted.
  • While administrators have the ability to view schedules in a format that is easy to view, students and teachers are unable to have a yearlong or trimester long schedule that is printer friendly.
  • The view available for looking back on attendance is not user-friendly. The grid per block is hard to read on both the screen and after being printed.
  • As a teacher, there is no place within PowerSchool to document communication with students or parents. Having a log would be a nice feature so that there is a record and other staff members could see the history of communication.
PowerSchool is user-friendly for checking grades, taking attendance, and viewing basic student information. It is easy to use for support staff who are not savvy with advanced technology. PowerSchool has some limits for those same support staff members, such as a communication log, overall attendance, and a viewable schedule. PowerSchool is well suited for basic information and viewing grades, however, doesn't allow for great data viewing without being an administrator.
Read Joanne Riker's full review
No photo available
November 09, 2017

"PowerSchool Student Information System Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerSchool is being used by the entire Catholic School to manage student demographic information, classes, registration, and grades. We have even expanded it out to now use PowerSchool's Learning Management System. It is a daily tool that is the center of how we keep and manage the abundance of our student information.
  • User Friendly for both our students and staff.
  • Very customizable, and supported by a lot of other vendors/services.
  • Solid performance.
  • Has shown to be very secure, and is trusted by families.
  • Sales department could be better.
  • Some features or settings can be hidden.
  • Installing certain services can require a complex series of steps, and things are sometimes not very intuitive.
For a school, PowerSchool is a powerhouse. In the old days, every service we had to provide (grades, registration, lunch service, emergency notifications, etc...) was under its own system. Trying to sync information between providers became a hassle for the Technology department, and complicated things for our users. We can now bundle most of these services under one vendor - which is greatly reduces our overhead and labor. Also, as a large player in the SIS market, PowerSchool is widely supported by a ton of other vendors/services we use as a school.

For businesses/organizations, I wouldn't see it as useful tool - but for schools it works great!
Read this authenticated review

PowerSchool SIS Scorecard Summary

About PowerSchool SIS

The PowerSchool Student Information System covers administrative needs, such as scheduling, attendance, reporting, data management, faculty management, emergency/medical and health management, registration, and more for K-12 schools and districts. It is easy to use and boasts an industry-leading gradebook, PowerTeacher Pro. Users enjoy a fully web-based SIS that is flexible, configurable, and scalable with real-time updates on any operating system, browser or device.

PowerSchool SIS Screenshots

PowerSchool SIS Competitors

Infinite Campus, Skyward, Aeries

PowerSchool SIS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
%

PowerSchool SIS Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PowerSchool SIS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Greek, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese