SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
691 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 48)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) overall satisfaction

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Overall decent connection, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform allows its users to connect the data with the most popular databases. The connection is good enough for even real time data analysis which ensures most of the performance review and data monitoring work that we need to perform at a real time basis.
Read this authenticated review
David Angers | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

BI Platform Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Once understood, it is fairly easy to set up for our use case. But documentation provided to make that decision was unclear.
Read David Angers's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Great tool to access and analyze SAP BW data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
It is capable of loading large amounts of data so lower speeds are acceptable. However, there is some instability with prompts and it crashed quite often if we load many prompts or having many files open at the same time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

A good tool for a business analyst

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
SAP OB BI has the option to create connections with most of the major available data sources. By using the tool, you can connect and merge different sources of data together. In terms of real-time data, the tool also can create a report based on real-time data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

SAP offers a sufficient tool with their BI Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
The connection to the universe of SAP was fine. However, our access to the data was not in real-time. The data was updated over the night. We did not use disparate sources. I gave this score because it is doing what it is supposed to do in terms of data extraction and reporting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

BusinessObjects Business Intelligence for Data-informed decision making.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
BO semantic layer can be built on most of the available data sources and we can combine data from different data sources. In my earlier organizations , I worked on BO tools reporting out of real-time data sources. Creating connections and securing them with the access levels is pretty comfortable in BO tools.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Get over the set-up hump and you are in the clear!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
I'm giving it a lower score because of price, lack of assistance from the customer service team during implementation, and a generally difficult time when we did all of the implementations. Once we got past that initial headache the product was great. People enjoy using it and it works. It's reliable and that's what we need.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Good choice for providing business reports from a variety of data sources

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
SAP BI has enough flexibility to read and combine different data sources. It is easy to add those sources to universe and their fields are instantly available to your reports. Then you can drag and drop those fields to create your report. It also gives great comfort if you have power users, to whom you give some basic design rights.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

SAP BI Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
We can connect with several data sources like Excel and others.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

SAP BI Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Connectivity when speaking about SAP systems is easy and out of the box. Connectivity against relational databases is also good, but it inherits much fewer features from the source.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Possibly the best reporting tool you can have.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
It can be adapted to any different data source. Even if the information does not come from SAP, it can be integrated and mixed with SAP data. SAP is not the only data source for reports. It's really difficult to get real-time reports, but with good architecture, you can get useful reports with a low time refresh (in most cases, less than one hour).
Read this authenticated review
Michael Diaz-Suarez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Why SAP? Why?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

1
My reason for giving this rating is based on feedback from my team. SAP does not play well with non-SAP systems, it is truly a big pain for those whose manufacturing structure is based on either new software or legacy software. It does not integrate well, and SAP and 3rd party support won't help you. It's up to your programmers to find out.
Read Michael Diaz-Suarez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

SAP BO - Top rated BI system in a multinational organization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
BusinessObjects is a great reporting platform for any business to use. It is easy to use and very customizable. You can do the desktop version and the web version of the software and has a great administration platform for the administrators.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

SAP Business Objects is a complex but valuable tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
The big reason for my high rating would be the ability to handle disparate sources of almost any kind of data you can think of. We primarily use the Microsoft SQL driver for our ODBC connectivity but it can handle so much more. The ability to do real-time data analysis is also very valuable to our customers.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Dorscher | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

SAP Business Objects Intelligence: I wish I was allowed another way

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
My understanding is it is meant to gather data from SAP. It does that but I am unaware if it can connect to other sources. Our version seems slow and is prone to crashing which is the largest influencer of my rating
Read Tim Dorscher's full review
Ben Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

SAP BO and I: A love story

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
The ease of merging data from separate parts of the business and then using that data to create meaningful statistics and reports is so easy with the software. We generally had no issues once we were up and running and were able to circumnavigate most problems with ease. The included reports are very good, but customizable reports are fantastic giving us the tools to create exactly what we needed.
Read Ben Williams's full review
Bryan Arroyo Fernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

SAP Quality Engineer Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
SAP Data connectivity is in real time even when you produce/evaluate in different geographies within my company. ​As a Supplier Quality Engineer, I've got the chance to evaluate several ERP programs (particularly when evaluating supplier quality systems). I have concluded that the biggest shortfall for ERP systems is lack of data centralization, which creates the need to go to multiple systems/departments to gather all the information that may be needed. This is especially true for companies with multiple sites manufacturing similar products and using different/local ERP systems.

In my current company, we used SAP in all geographies. This also includes integrating SAP as the ERP system for the need companies that we acquire. This gives us tremendous leverage when investigating a quality issue across multiple sites.
Read Bryan Arroyo Fernandez's full review
Rodolfo Pinera | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

A wonderful tool that has evolutionized to the new needs in business.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Throughout the universe I think you have a lot of options. But I think Webi need to evolve for connections like PowerBi, connections to web pages or a relational data base like a Mongo DB. Even connections to HANA, for me it is more easy use HANA view in a universe, because here I can modify a reorganize the dimensions and ratios.
Read Rodolfo Pinera's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

SAP Business Objects to Empower the Enterprise Data Consumption

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Ease of integrating and pulling SAP ECC data thru SAP Data Marts that we acquire.
Merging data extracts with other data models and other databases.
ETL scheduling integration with our job scheduling tool had no issues.
Excellent interface for the ETL models design and testing.
Stability and integrity of data.
Works well with Oracle and SQL databases.
Read this authenticated review
Josh Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2018

Great capabilities but complex and the future will soon make it obselete

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
A range of data sources can be used (SAP, Business Warehouse, SQL etc.) and these can be done via import or live connection. We have found the data connection to be very slow and a limited capacity of data can be selected at any one time, limiting the benefit of using this vs. download/upload like we do with Spotfire.
Read Josh Anderson's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

A solution that will grow with the company

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Very good connectivity towards all standard enterprise solutions as Oracle, MS SQL Server, IBM DB2 and other relational databases. Started to use in connection with OLAP, already integrated with data warehouse systems.
Recently we have tried a proof of concept solution with analyzing semi-structured data analysis (HANA) large volumes of social media data, web articles and various discussions, processed and finally reported in BO in a customized SAP BO mobile report format.
Read Viktor Mulac's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (40)
7.3
Report Formatting Templates (41)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (41)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
6.9
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
8.2
Publish to Web (34)
8.0
Publish to PDF (39)
8.2
Report Versioning (35)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (39)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (21)
8.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (34)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (33)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (31)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (40)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (39)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (39)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (25)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (27)
7.2
Dedicated iOS Application (21)
6.6
Dedicated Android Application (19)
6.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (24)
7.5
REST API (16)
7.7
Javascript API (14)
7.2
iFrames (12)
6.4
Java API (16)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (15)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (16)
6.6

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that aims to help you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. According to the vendor, the integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Features

Has featureReporting and analysis
Has featureData visualization and analytics applications
Has featureOffice integration

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Competitors

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
Mobile Application:No