TrustRadius
BI ToolsMicrosoft Power BI is being used by a limited set of users in our organization. Since our organization is very huge (Approx. 300,000 employees) different departments have a different way of working. We have several vendor tools that are used organization-wide. The Microsoft Power BI tool particularly helps us to publishing dashboards and focus on some of the most critical areas and gaps. It has excellent visualizations that make our meetings and reports effective. It also has various patterns, themes, spot charts and at an advantage of low costs.,Microsoft Power BI has excellent visualizations, patterns, spot charts. It has a great length of connectivity with databases and other software. This includes: MS Access, PL/SQL, JSON, SAP HANA, MySQL, etc. It's very cheap and helps focus on the right areas during presentations/meeting discussions.,Microsoft Power BI could become a little more user friendly and added videos for training. This is one place where Tableau does a little better. Power BI also needs to become available in the cloud for better usage. Power BI deployment flexibility needs to be improved. This is better in other software.,8,Algolia, SAP BusinessObjects Dashboards, Tableau Online, QlikView, Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service, TIBCO Data Virtualization, Alteryx Analytics and Talend Data Integration,8,9,QlikView, SAP Analytics Cloud, MicroStrategy Analytics, Algolia, GoodData, Dundas Dashboard, Looker, SisensePower BI from an enterprise perspectiveMicrosoft Power Bi is being used by among J&J for data visualization and reporting. My team was using it to visualize and report on certain metrics from our data catalog. I'm not sure if it is used organization wide, but there are many teams in working with data that utilize it. BI makes it convenient for teams to report data to higher management by visualizing it into easy to understand representations.,Connectivity with Microsoft tools - As you would expect, since they are developed by the same company, BI is well integrated with the other Microsoft tools such as Excel that are ubiquitous in the workforce. Price - One of the nicest things about BI is its cheap price tag, compared to to other visualization software like Tableau. Excellent variety of visualizations.,Not Intuitive - Can be difficult to pick up. They could add tutorial videos like Tableau. Not easy to use with R and Python which Tableau does well. Online version could use some work. Does not allow for all features from desktop version.,8,Tableau Desktop, TIBCO Spotfire, Microsoft Access, Qlik Sense and SAS Data Management Platform,9,9,Qlik Sense, Tableau Desktop, SAS Data Integration StudioMicrosoft Power BI an outstanding BI Solution!We used Microsoft Power BI to set the dashboard and reports with my colleagues along the corporate staff. Allows me to maintain everything at the first sight including the variables that aren't on the daily basis, Power BI integrates my spreadsheets setting a feasible option of merging information with the capacity to sync that information with other tools.,Deep Integration with Microsoft Office Suit, Excel, Access, Power Point. API compatible Robust query design from basic to advance consults,UX sometimes can be overwhelming, can be more intuitive Free features always can receive more attention to gain client fidelity Solutions like Power BI can always do better with their Mobile version,9,Domo, ClicData and QlikView,9,9,Domo, QlikView, ClicDataPower BI: Best data visualization tool if you are a Microsoft user!I was the president of an MBA Analytics Class, and Power BI was our main tool for data visualization. We chose this tool because it is the cheapest one to purchase for professional purposes. We know that sometimes organizations don't want to spend money buying new software, so we decided to go with Power BI since it is cheap and easy to getting approval for purchase within any organization. The idea behind the class and the use of Power BI is to learn how to find data insights, help students become more data-driven, and better use data to support recommendations.,Price: The biggest advantage of Power BI is its price. All other data visualization tools can cost thousands of dollars per year, but Power BI would cost way less than $100/month. Most companies have Power BI in their agreement with Microsoft, so it might be even free for most of you. It's a Microsoft tool: Well, all of us are used to Microsoft Excel, right? So, the learning curve to use Power BI is not steep since we are all used to how Microsoft organizes their software, especially compared to other tools such as Tableau. Powerful cloud: Running a lot of data can be an expensive task for many computers. Since Power BI is cloud-based, all the processing power is done on powerful servers, so you can run complicated graphs and tool will handle super well and fast! Add-ins: Power BI has a good stand library of standard features. However, if you need more advanced graphs, such as heat maps, correlation charts, and Sankey charts, they are all available for free.,Connectivity with non-Microsoft tools: Power BI is great to integrate with other MS tools, but if you want to connect it with statistical or machine learning tools (R, Python, Mathlab, JMP, etc.) you might get in trouble. Tableau, for example, has an easy integration with R and Python. Not all features are available in the online version: If you want to use more advanced features, you will probably need to download the desktop version of Power BI. No desktop version for Mac: So, I use a Mac and I needed to use some extra features on Power BI. When I tried to download the more complete desktop version, I realized that there's no desktop version of Power BI for Mac! I had to borrow a PC from a colleague to run the analysis I wanted.,10,Tableau Desktop, Tableau Online, Tableau Public, Adobe Analytics and Domo,8,9,Tableau Desktop, Tableau Online, Tableau Public, Adobe Analytics, Domo, Microsoft Azure Machine Learning WorkbenchPower BI is a very good low cost option to democratize BIMicrosoft Power BI can be used by the entire organization, however, in our experience it is mainly used in a departmental way for reporting and dashboarding. Power BI allows users to perform, in a simple way, a complete analysis of their data using different visualizations. Companies can see trends in the data and what is the best way to use them for future decisions.,Quick and easy dashboard development Self-Service BI capabilities Mobile support Great amount of data visualizations,It is complex to secure access to data taking into account different user profiles. Q&A feature needs to be improved,7,MicroStrategy Analytics and IBM Cognos,8,7,MicroStrategy Analytics, IBM Cognos, IBM Watson Analytics
Unspecified
Microsoft Power BI
318 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

Microsoft Power BI Reviews

Microsoft Power BI
318 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 318 vetted Microsoft Power BI reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 49)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Purav Vaidya profile photo
August 30, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "BI Tools"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Power BI is being used by a limited set of users in our organization. Since our organization is very huge (Approx. 300,000 employees) different departments have a different way of working. We have several vendor tools that are used organization-wide. The Microsoft Power BI tool particularly helps us to publishing dashboards and focus on some of the most critical areas and gaps. It has excellent visualizations that make our meetings and reports effective. It also has various patterns, themes, spot charts and at an advantage of low costs.
  • Microsoft Power BI has excellent visualizations, patterns, spot charts.
  • It has a great length of connectivity with databases and other software. This includes: MS Access, PL/SQL, JSON, SAP HANA, MySQL, etc.
  • It's very cheap and helps focus on the right areas during presentations/meeting discussions.
  • Microsoft Power BI could become a little more user friendly and added videos for training. This is one place where Tableau does a little better.
  • Power BI also needs to become available in the cloud for better usage.
  • Power BI deployment flexibility needs to be improved. This is better in other software.
Power BI is well suited when we are connecting to other databases and sources. The visualizations are constantly improving. This helps it to be more effective in meetings and presentations. Some of the places where it is not very appropriate is that it is not available in the cloud. This makes it a little inconvenient. The deployment needs to be more flexible and there need to be video tutorials available so that it can be more user-friendly. Added mobile support will be a major plus. This is one area that has not been explored by other BI Tools.
Read Purav Vaidya's full review
Angad Singh profile photo
September 27, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Power BI from an enterprise perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Power Bi is being used by among J&J for data visualization and reporting. My team was using it to visualize and report on certain metrics from our data catalog. I'm not sure if it is used organization wide, but there are many teams in working with data that utilize it. BI makes it convenient for teams to report data to higher management by visualizing it into easy to understand representations.
  • Connectivity with Microsoft tools - As you would expect, since they are developed by the same company, BI is well integrated with the other Microsoft tools such as Excel that are ubiquitous in the workforce.
  • Price - One of the nicest things about BI is its cheap price tag, compared to to other visualization software like Tableau.
  • Excellent variety of visualizations.
  • Not Intuitive - Can be difficult to pick up. They could add tutorial videos like Tableau.
  • Not easy to use with R and Python which Tableau does well.
  • Online version could use some work. Does not allow for all features from desktop version.
Power Bi does well when working with databases to create visualizations or to report certain metrics. It would be ideal for large corporations that collect a lot of data and have to use it to improve their business. It can still be beneficial for smaller businesses and its cheap price tag makes it accessible to anyone.
Read Angad Singh's full review
Litzi Saraí Gordils Ortuño profile photo
May 30, 2018

Review: "Microsoft Power BI an outstanding BI Solution!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Microsoft Power BI to set the dashboard and reports with my colleagues along the corporate staff. Allows me to maintain everything at the first sight including the variables that aren't on the daily basis, Power BI integrates my spreadsheets setting a feasible option of merging information with the capacity to sync that information with other tools.
  • Deep Integration with Microsoft Office Suit, Excel, Access, Power Point.
  • API compatible
  • Robust query design from basic to advance consults
  • UX sometimes can be overwhelming, can be more intuitive
  • Free features always can receive more attention to gain client fidelity
  • Solutions like Power BI can always do better with their Mobile version
Power BI works great for those companies that require a deeper understanding of their daily operations without compromising their effectiveness, Every single aspect can be merged using a well-founded source, I don't recommend Power BI for users without or less experience in excel or basic query design, should always require to do a basic to intermediate training to achieve the goals.
Read Litzi Saraí Gordils Ortuño's full review
Gabriel Chiararia profile photo
May 21, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Power BI: Best data visualization tool if you are a Microsoft user!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was the president of an MBA Analytics Class, and Power BI was our main tool for data visualization. We chose this tool because it is the cheapest one to purchase for professional purposes. We know that sometimes organizations don't want to spend money buying new software, so we decided to go with Power BI since it is cheap and easy to getting approval for purchase within any organization. The idea behind the class and the use of Power BI is to learn how to find data insights, help students become more data-driven, and better use data to support recommendations.
  • Price: The biggest advantage of Power BI is its price. All other data visualization tools can cost thousands of dollars per year, but Power BI would cost way less than $100/month. Most companies have Power BI in their agreement with Microsoft, so it might be even free for most of you.
  • It's a Microsoft tool: Well, all of us are used to Microsoft Excel, right? So, the learning curve to use Power BI is not steep since we are all used to how Microsoft organizes their software, especially compared to other tools such as Tableau.
  • Powerful cloud: Running a lot of data can be an expensive task for many computers. Since Power BI is cloud-based, all the processing power is done on powerful servers, so you can run complicated graphs and tool will handle super well and fast!
  • Add-ins: Power BI has a good stand library of standard features. However, if you need more advanced graphs, such as heat maps, correlation charts, and Sankey charts, they are all available for free.
  • Connectivity with non-Microsoft tools: Power BI is great to integrate with other MS tools, but if you want to connect it with statistical or machine learning tools (R, Python, Mathlab, JMP, etc.) you might get in trouble. Tableau, for example, has an easy integration with R and Python.
  • Not all features are available in the online version: If you want to use more advanced features, you will probably need to download the desktop version of Power BI.
  • No desktop version for Mac: So, I use a Mac and I needed to use some extra features on Power BI. When I tried to download the more complete desktop version, I realized that there's no desktop version of Power BI for Mac! I had to borrow a PC from a colleague to run the analysis I wanted.
Well suited:
- The best scenario to use Power BI is if your organization already has an agreement with Microsoft and you can get it for super cheap or even for free;
- Another good scenario is to make your organization more data-driven since it is usually very user-friendly. Or, if your organization is extremely focused on Excel and you want them to improve their data visualization skills.
Less appropriate:
- You might want to look somewhere else if you have a lot of datasets coming from several different systems (Oracle, SAP, Nielsen, Neogrid, etc) and you want to integrate them under the same umbrella;
- If you have a team of analysts/consultants experienced in analytics you might want to use another tool since Power BI does not integrate well with other analytics tools.
Read Gabriel Chiararia's full review
Gonzalo Angeleri profile photo
September 10, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Power BI is a very good low cost option to democratize BI"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Power BI can be used by the entire organization, however, in our experience it is mainly used in a departmental way for reporting and dashboarding. Power BI allows users to perform, in a simple way, a complete analysis of their data using different visualizations. Companies can see trends in the data and what is the best way to use them for future decisions.
  • Quick and easy dashboard development
  • Self-Service BI capabilities
  • Mobile support
  • Great amount of data visualizations
  • It is complex to secure access to data taking into account different user profiles.
  • Q&A feature needs to be improved
I would recommend this solution because it provides good analytical capabilities at a low cost. It is even evolving monthly adding new features. For users who currently use Excel, it is a very good evolution that allows you to improve the analysis and governance of the BI environment, being able to reuse the Excel spreadsheets as data sources in Power BI.
Read Gonzalo Angeleri's full review
Adam Bruckman, MPH, CPC profile photo
May 16, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "The BI tool for the masses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Power BI is being used in our department to create internal reports within our group. The main sanctioned BI tool for our organization is Tableau, but we have to rely on a central IT group to produce dashboards. With Power BI, we can create and customize our own reports, but cannot widely distribute them.
  • Power BI integrates seamlessly with PowerQuery which allows you to easily manipulate source data and add calculated columns for your data model.
  • Producing a data model is very easy as Power BI makes visualizing the model schema and joins simple.
  • Producing data visuals is so much more user-friendly than in Tableau. Customizing and producing visuals is very intuitive and there are tons of built-in visualizations to choose from ( however some are not explicitly Power BI approved and may not work properly).
  • Sharing the dashboards is very easy and end-users can interact with the visualizations.
  • Data and visualizations smoothly integrate with other Microsoft products such as PowerPoint and Access.
  • Although BI is making great updates on a daily basis, there are still some limitations involved with the data modeling and certain visualizations.
Power BI is excellent for decentralizing an organization's BI capabilities. It's great both for creating dashboards widely disseminated throughout your organization as well as allowing users to create their own dashboards for use on a smaller scale. Since it's so approachable and intuitive, you don't need to be an IT expert or data analyst to get up and running with it.
Read Adam Bruckman, MPH, CPC's full review
Sean Lockwood profile photo
July 05, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "POWER BI FOR THE HEAD SALES GUY!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Power BI to display customer and prospect data in a meaningful way to our sales and client success teams. Additionally, we use BI in our Sales Management and Sales Ops teams to help us determine trends in our current customer base as well as prospect base.
  • Want cool graphs for your next board deck? Great interactive graphs and charts!!
  • Detailed reports with easy to use filters help you quickly find segmented info
  • Easy drill down into deeper data. We use it to see trends by rep or customer type.
  • The app is great but you can only use a few reports otherwise it is hard to read
  • It would be great to layer reports or graphs to provide more information in one graph
  • It would be good to be able to lock reports so others don’t change them “by accident”.
Great for deep rich, data pools that have constant change. Microsoft Power BI handles live data exceptionally well. BI is not a substitute for Excel, it is a platform to make data more meaningful.
Read Sean Lockwood's full review
No photo available
October 22, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Power BI is a powerful visual tool that does not disappoint. User friendly and rich content...Elegant!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft PowerBI is used by the organization to reflect the performance of sales and individual accounts. The Sales team has been using PowerBI to contact customers and reflect on their performance. It is being used to solve the problem of having near real time performance. The tool is also used to drill down on more detailed information and serves as a proxy CRM tool to retrieve additional account information (contact info).
  • Microsoft Power BI has beautiful visuals that are made in-house and externally. It really helps you develop a story.
  • Microsoft Power BI also has an easy to setup database model reader and can really help you at ease with development of buttons/controls for the end user.
  • The web portal works well and users have easy access to their sales data.
  • Using the PRO version, the data reader feeding raw data can be very slow and clunky at times.
  • Even with a node subscription, paying a lot of money, performance for loading and refreshing content on a Power BI dashboard can be very slow.
  • Power BI is a visual tool but does not have CPM functionality to add data and other parts into the data model. This is a huge portion that is lacking.
Power BI is great at dynamically reflecting real time data. It has wonderful views of data and can narrate a story that is powerful and impressive. Decisions can be made on the overall visuals shown. BI can show you where your sales are picking up while showing you areas to focus on. The quality of your BI dashboard tremendously improves with the overall quality of your incoming data. BI has great capability to share results across the organization in a secure and safe way in almost any computer platform. Mobile phones welcome too!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 06, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "A great tool for the analyst's toolbox and for sharing reporting within a team or department."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have three BI solutions within our business, Power BI, Qlik View and Qlik Sense. Primary management reporting, dashboards and report distribution are done with Sense, basic marketing views are done through View and most power analytics and ad-hoc analytical work is done via Power BI. We find Power BI is best when data resides in several places and mostly spreadsheets. Using Power BI to connect directly into source systems (even Microsoft branded products Azure SQL Server) cause the app to time out. So company-wide we use sense, and functional analysts across all departments have Power BI to dig deeper than Sense can go.
  • Data blending from several different files is a big hit with our Power BI users. We have so many excel and CSV files and many of them are not clean, so making use of the data cleaning and blending saves us from countless pivots and lookups to just get data worthy of analyzing.
  • The visualizations are top notch, and available without additional cost. Everything is in vibrant colors and crisp, clear lines that whatever your produce is clearly pleasing to the eye. From mapping down to pie charts, the visuals are well done.
  • The Beta preview is very helpful, not all software allows you to preview or use things in beta, but Power BI has a wonderful set of tools and visualizations you can add into your work with very little effort or complexity.
  • Power BI lacks in horsepower compared to other tools with more robust ETL components built in. Particularly if you connect to any type of source system database like SQL, you have to either have a SQL View built for you that limits the volume of data your bring in, or have solid knowledge of the SQL table structures to build yourself custom (and correct!) connections to the tables.
  • Security is not as robust as other BI tools, like Qlik Sense. We often need to restrict subsets of data by customer and even functional position of an individual within a customer. Power BI’s security seems to be built for using just within a company, so if you leverage your work outside the firewall there can be issues when figuring out security streams.
  • I do not like the pricing. It’s really a dirty trick, Microsoft goes around and says the product is free. Well, the stand-alone is free, yes, but you have to pay for the “enterprise” version so you can share files. They say it only costs $10 a month/user, which again is a white lie. You need much more IT infrastructure and people to build SQL views and Tabular Models so you can use the tool, and Microsoft does not tell you that. So we find it is a good stand-alone tool to analytics, but a fairly heavy cost structure if you roll it out enterprise-wide as compared to Qlik or Tableau (which are more expensive per license, but require less back-office support).
Power BI is great for power Excel users and what I call “data archeologists” or people who dig up old data and clean it up for modern usage. It strings many files together and lets you customize the connections and format of the data. It does not work well with large data set or pull data from large databases, you will find it timing out unless you limit the data set first with a SQL View or Tabular Model before going after it. Also, large data sets take forever to refresh and update, so if you have a lot if iterations, you will spend a lot of time going out for coffee while the data reloads. Other BI tools allow you to localize the data with the first load (Qlik QVD’s) so you can refresh quicker. Comparatively, a refresh of SQL data on Power BI took 45 minutes, the exact same data set would refresh in 30 seconds using Qlik Sense.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

User Review: "Microsoft Power BI At-a-Glance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in support of BI/Reporting/Analytics needs in some of the retail consumer and wealth management areas of the company, where Microsoft's private/public stack is used inclusive of SQL Server and no-SQL databases on the back-end, along with data integration and ETL, big data, master and reference data management, data virtualization, and data preparation solutions.
  • Integrates well with the rest of the Microsoft stack - performs well as part of it
  • Has very robust reporting and analytics capabilities
  • Works well with data virtualization/federation and big data
  • Integration with the non-MS stack
  • Containers support
  • Metadata layer
  • It is well suited where the sources are persistent data stores, relational, no-SQL and Big Data/Hadoop.
  • It is not as good using real-time/streaming data on the source side. Its metadata layer-driven business intelligence and reporting are not very robust.
  • It's lacking natively provided machine learning, deep learning, analytics and artificial intelligence components are not robust enough.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 09, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Microsoft BI great for analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current marketing firm, we have clients from all across the globe that we service. We felt the need for providing better analytics for our marketing and sales representatives. We wanted to incorporate a business intelligence tool into our enterprise to get a full 360 view of our mission critical data. Microsoft BI helped fill that role.
  • Microsoft BI integrates seamlessly with the Microsoft Office suite.
  • By using the Power Pivot and Power View it has enabled us to access and mash up data from a variety of sources. Plus it can easily be shared with other users through simple Office applications.
  • The implementation time for Microsoft BI can be fairly lengthy. Its definitely longer than some of the other products we evaluated.
  • The upfront investment in terms of capital and time is fairly large with this tool. It requires a compliant Microsoft SQL server in the back-end to leverage most of its functionality.
The Power BI Desktop and Mobile application in particular has added a lot of value for our business objectives.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 06, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Does the job"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerBI is used across our entire organization which includes sales, marketing, customer service, customer success and executive team. It's used to visualize data aggregated from multiple sources through interactive dashboards for effortless user consumption. Having all data sources aggregated and connected at a level and being able to build reports and dashboards with very little effort is a major plus point.
  • Intuitive and Interactive dashboards can be easily constructed
  • Many custom visuals available in the PowerBI library
  • Import of data in any format is quick and simple.
  • Online PowerBI lacks a lot of the functionality that is present in the desktop version
  • There are other visualization software that offers a larger breadth of functionality
PowerBI is well suited for creating sales pipeline dashboards. It can be integrated with Salesforce and building dashboards in PowerBI is a lot easier and offer more functionality that building them straight off Salesforce.
The online version of PowerBI prevents the creation of custom fields such as fields based on conditional logic etc. and you have to make do with default fields in your dataset.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 23, 2018

Microsoft Power BI: "MS Power BI Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS Power BI is being used across the entire organization. We use it to report Sales, Marketing and Operational metrics to our users in order to indicate areas of improvement, and help drive business decision making processes.
  • Power BI is strong in visualizing data from different sources into easy to navigate dashboards.
  • If you are familiar with MS Excel's Power Query and Power Pivot, Power BI will be very easy for you to use.
  • The data load is limited to 2GB at a time, which is somewhat limited.
When you have multiple sources of data that you want to report on in a single dashboard, Power BI is an ideal tool to accomplish that. It is easy to share the dashboards with your users through Power BI online or through the use of apps.
Read this authenticated review
Josh Schmitz profile photo
March 30, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Overall Power BI is a solid tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Power BI for any of the interactive dashboards or graphics we needed as a company. These dashboards were used by multiple departments within the company so they could gather the appropriate insights into how they should progress. This tool is very useful in starting a "story" and following it down the path of figuring out the trouble spots.
  • Power BI is great for interactivity, the various aspects of your dashboard work well together with minimal tweaking
  • Power BI is easy to use and design on, the drag and drop or double click features work smoothly and normally auto-generate an appropriate chart type. If you do need to change the type, that is done with the click of a button.
  • Power BI makes it easy enough to add custom formula fields to your data set, this could probably use some improvement, but it is easy enough to still be a plus for the tool.
  • Power BI lacks slightly in the customization options you have for a chart. You can probably do most of what you need, but it's not as smooth as other tools
  • Power BI needs to get the functionality that Tableau has for map "grouping" options. Power BI has a lot of plug-ins available for maps and map types, but grouping data into chunks is difficult. Tableau allows you to lasso a "region"/"group" and report on that, it would be AWESOME if Power BI gets that feature as well.
  • Building/cleaning your data set is a process, the Wizard is helpful, but the process is slow. This could be an environment issue though and not a Power BI, but from my experience, while the steps to build a data set are helpful, they take more time than I would like to see.
Power BI is great for dashboards or anything that will be interactive for the end user. The various charts you put on a screen all interact nicely together with very little additional tweaking needed between them. This is great when you are trying to follow the data to find an answer you are looking for.

Power BI is probably not going to be the best tool for a very specific report that someone might as for, with the report being pretty static. Think of something like a template design, Power BI will not be the tool for that.
Read Josh Schmitz's full review
Rohit Acharya profile photo
February 23, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "A Modular Approach to BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Power BI is currently being used by several management level stakeholders within our company. We have built a management data mart in Amazon Redshift data warehousing infrastructure which powers all the dashboards built on Power BI. Important company level decisions are made based on the Microsoft Power BI dashboards. There were numerous reports floating around in emails and Excel sheets with a different data definition for each report before Microsoft Power BI was put in place. The dashboards provide C levels to make critical decisions and the live data capabilities in Microsoft Power BI provides us to make marketing campaign decisions swiftly.
  • One of the most important features in Microsoft Power BI is its minimal learning curve required. excel proficiency would be enough to get even a non BI person to build powerful dashboards
  • Powerpivot DAX functionalities are prevalent in Power BI which allows us to perform time series data manipulation. It also allows to
  • Excel is versatile and Microsoft Power BI allows integration with office 365 and excel. Management often loves to view numbers on excel and with the help of plugins and publishing fixed pivot tables online, Microsoft Power Bi brings the functionality of excel to interactive dashboards.
  • Multiple data source integration is quite powerful and robust.
  • Microsoft Power BIis very modular if a functionality is missing a third-party app can be downloaded to fill the gap, this is particularly a powerful feature as not all tools can have all the features in place.
  • Every month there are updates to the software and it allows for a free one year trial subscription
  • The natural language query and machine learning support to analyze graphs and quickly summarize data is a fancy plus to have.
  • The community is vast and open source communities are active to build apps and help to debug errors and aid in workarounds.
  • The drilling functionalities on dimension allow the dashboards to be more interactive.
  • The data can be manipulated step by step in the backend to arrange the data in the required format. Each step can be manipulated or isolated to achieve the desired result. Example Transform, Transpose, Reverse rows etc
  • Dashboards are quite fast and interactive as the data is stored in the cloud in the backend instead of hitting the database
  • It can connect to plenty of third-party online services to draw data like Google Analytics, Salesforce, and Sharepoint etc.
  • One of the major drawbacks of Power BI is its inability to do incremental data loads effectively. The data needs to be refreshed in its entirety, consuming a lot of resources., even when the same data is required in multiple tables. The query is fired for each instance of the table.
  • Lacks external input capabilities within the dashboard. There are no forms infrastructure to input and play around with the dashboard.
  • Time-based KPIs need improvement and needs modeling and constant debugging is required to get DAX based functions right.
  • The Q&A feature is far from being usable. The questions are often hard to put across.
  • The pivot functionality is highly under-utilized. The excel pivot tables can make Microsoft Power BIi a very powerful tool to use.
  • Hosting Microsoft Power BIi on portals akin to Tableau online is not available
  • Minute details on formatting still needs to improve.
  • Data level security and user group specification needs to improve
  • On premise power bi report server are expensive option when compared to BI Tools
Power BI is a powerful tool for interactive dashboards and upon aggregated data sets if not using-premise infrastructures. All our management level dashboards are on powerbi. The third party apps are really helpful in forecasting, adding new viz, financial modelling and other analytical functions. When the organization depends extensively on Excel for anlaytics Microsoft Power BI would be the next best tool.Microsoft Power BI is not usefull when product level or lower level data is required for anlaysis and also in exporting or downloading data from hosted reports and dashboards. Blending data sources in powerbi is also a challenge.
Read Rohit Acharya's full review
Galen Mosier profile photo
December 13, 2017

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Power BI-- Getting There"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Power BI to create and share dashboards for users and teams in various departments to get a better understanding of the success of their processes. It's also used to track the progress of department and individual performance goals.
  • Because of a strong relationship between Power BI and Excel, Excel power users should find that the Power BI learning curve isn't too steep. Anyone familiar with Power Query, in particular, will find Power BI to be happily similar in many ways.
  • It's very easy to import and massage data from a wide variety of sources. The interface allows for some powerful data cleaning and wrangling without the need to learn the underlying M language.
  • Microsoft appears to be committed to Power BI; improvements and new functionality are added frequently.
  • Because it's fairly new to the party, there is a lot of functionality more mature products like Tableau and QlikView have that Power BI doesn't (yet).
  • While inexpensive enough, I'm not crazy about the pricing model of cost-free development while requiring individual end-users to purchase licenses.
Power BI is well suited to anyone with a deep understanding of Excel. I also recommend it to anyone who doesn't already know and use a similar tool like Tableau or QlikView. The amount of time from knowing nothing to building a reasonably functional dashboard is shorter with Power BI than the other products, in my opinion (having used all three). It can also be also a good introduction to BI tools in general since they all do more or less the same things, but sometimes the complexities of a process can obscure the bigger picture. I feel like I understand QlikView better after learning Power BI than I did after learning only QlikView.
Read Galen Mosier's full review
Viktor Mulac profile photo
November 21, 2017

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Power BI for quick and affordable insights"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have designed an additional layer over Atlassian JIRA and enhanced significantly analytical drilldowns in a SW development projects, software maintenance and end user support. We have also developed custom API to JIRA to efficiently gather JIRA data and process and present them in Power BI dashboards. The management was first skeptical, since the JIRA service desk team already had some reports done in the native JIRA environment. However we have convinced them that the connection of Power BI and JIRA logs makes a sense. Today it is used to visualize flow, detect anomalies (too many cycles, overused programmer resources etc.) in a perfect visual form.
  • Quick and easy dashboard deployment
  • Easy integration to existing system (both API and raw data imports were used)
  • Mobile platform (tablets) support
  • I can not think of any. Until now, all works well!
I would recommend this solution (and we have started to use it) since it is cheap. Even our developer started to use it in a cloud version before the project officially started. For a few bucks per month. So there is a really low entry barrier. Basically it will fit in a situation where you need a short development time. Not very well suited for big data analysis in production system though.
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Bernardo Cavalheiro profile photo
March 02, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Microsoft PowerBI: awesome data visualization tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerBI is used in our organization as a tool to provide a better data visualization. It is used mostly by the intelligence and media department, in order to produce better reports for clients and making the process easier and faster, mostly automatic, when possible. It is also used by the People and Culture department to produce evaluation reports.
  • Data visualization (dynamic graphics, for example).
  • Connecting and fetching data from different sources accross the internet.
  • The possibility of publishing reports online, which makes it really easy to share conclusions and insights.
  • The management of databases should be easier, more flexible like Excel.
  • The Q&A feature is not easy to use.
  • The pricing is not ideal. At least, the free version has some big limitations.
Power BI is well suited for creating reports, specially when dealing with high volumes of data. The possibility of creating dynamic reports, with variables working as filters, is also a great tool for those who seek to produce a presentation: in some scenarios, PowerBI can even replace keynotes or powerpoints, as it allows to to present in a dynamic way all the information you have been analysing.
Read Bernardo Cavalheiro's full review
Arlex Guzman profile photo
March 01, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Power BI - The best perfumes come in a small bottle."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Power BI is a very powerful data visualization tool (BIG DATA), with versions and add-ons in the cloud, server, desktop and smartphone, and free access. I have explored Power BI as part of an investigation to choose a platform that allows visualizations of data necessary for the executive reports of the company.
  • You do not need advanced knowledge to create your own dashboards and reports. Simply build, edit, publish and share to collaborate with whoever needs it.
  • Represent your data with amazing, animated infographics or if you prefer something more traditional, use the usual graphics, but with a more attractive presentation than usual.
  • It has native applications for mobile phones and tablets. Whether your operating system is iOS or Android.
  • One of the main limitations of the BI Power is that it does not have the capacity to publish reports with all the associated data. This means that some data may be left out of visualizations.
It's simple, Power BI is suitable for an intermediate volume of data. I think it is designed for small and medium-sized organizations; for large data volumes, there are more functional solutions.
Read Arlex Guzman's full review
Kevin Lee Elder profile photo
February 02, 2018

Microsoft Power BI Review: "PowerBI is a great tool for the analytics classroom"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We teach analytics in our MIS program, and the students start with SAP tools, then they move to Tableau to visualize the data, and then I introduce them to PowerBI and they wonder why we did not just start with it as it is so easy to use and powerful.
  • It allows you to easily load and integrate data from multiple sources
  • It uses the same UI as other MicroSoft tools so the learning curve is lower
  • Integration with Office 365 is smooth
  • It can do so much, it is hard to be aware of all it does
  • It seems it is primarily to be used with spreadsheets, could use better database integration
  • We need curriculum for college students to use it like we have for other Microsoft tools
PowerBI is a great tool to get you started in analytics, no matter the setting it is flexible enough to be useful as soon as you install it and start dragging your data into it!
Read Kevin Lee Elder's full review
Abhinav Rai profile photo
December 11, 2017

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Power to the top with Power BI"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Power BI is our primary visualization tool for dashboards, scorecards, ad-hoc reports, and self-service. The power of Power BI stems from the implementation of a strong foundation in the form of an enterprise data warehouse. While we introduced Power BI, the data warehouse has been implemented in small chunks, therefore, while the goal is for Power BI to be used across the organization, currently, it is used by a subset of staff. The primary purpose of having Power BI is to allow staff to self-serve and get information at a glance without needing to use a complicated tool or relying on IT /technical resources to generate extracts.
  • Easy to use, intuitive
  • Inexpensive licencing
  • Option to deploy to cloud or on-premise
  • Variety of visualizations
  • Ability to deploy on top of any data source
  • Heavy use of DAX as a programming language for measures/KPIs
  • Confusion around the variety of products that serve same/similar purpose from Microsoft
  • No ability to create a portal with Power BI
Power BI is a market leader in visualization and analytics toolsets. The backing of Microsoft is critical because the tool is familiar to users who use Microsoft products. Integrates well with any data source - whether it is a CSV, an Oracle database, SQL database, or any data warehouse. The visualization options are great and provides flexibility and variety. The natural language search and visualization is a great feature. Mobile apps are great for executives to get information at a glance.
Read Abhinav Rai's full review
Lenny Wu, MBA, MA, CPA, CGA profile photo
December 08, 2017

Review: "Microsoft Power BI promotes AI and self-service financial reporting!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is one of the products assessed in our needs to present financial reporting in a visualized way, and to enable self-service reporting for executives.
  • Top reason to use Power BI is its capability for "natural language query", where users simply type in words of a query to search real-time for financial data in either number format or in charts.
  • The second great feature is its monthly updates of 10+ new features, vs quarterly or semi-annual updates with a couple of features by other vendors.
  • The third great feature is its efforts to build in customized formulas (or DAX) for rookies.
  • Online sharing is a bit difficult for the freemium user who does not sign up for Azure paid accounts.
  • Monthly updated software installation voids prior month's installation - with the shortcut button pinned to the taskbar no longer working.
Well suited for real-time financial report updating and self-service reporting. Needing improvements for easy sharing of dashboard reports.
Read Lenny Wu, MBA, MA, CPA, CGA's full review
Vishal Shivdasani profile photo
December 07, 2017

Microsoft Power BI Review: "Putting the Power back in Business Intelligence"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Power BI is used as a dashboarding solution via the cloud (web) or Excel to share critical KPIs across the organization. The deployment is across the organization; however, seems to be more important to certain members than others. It improves upon the legacy process of circulating of static dashboard workbooks, by offering dynamic, live, realtime data and information critical to the operations, sale and finance/accounting functional departments.
  • Heat mapping
  • Exceptions reporting
  • Trend analysis
  • Data consolidation and hierarchy
  • Drilling into a relational database
  • GUI
  • Help desk / support documentation
  • Developer tools
Well suited:
Dashboarding, KPI broadcasting/publishing, trending, real-time data applications, pull reporting information services, dynamic data availability.

Less appropriate:
Presentation of static information, push information, report repository.
Read Vishal Shivdasani's full review
Justin Leflaive profile photo
November 15, 2017

Review: "Microsoft Power BI - Organise your data and create powerful visuals to assist with business decisions"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Power BI is being used across the whole organisation and it successfully organises data from difference sources (ERP, Excel Sheets, CRM etc) and presents it graphically and powerfully.
  • You can use dashboards to clearly show the general picture but very easily drill down into a lot of detail.
  • The program is constantly being updated with new features, new ways of displaying data and new UI experience.
  • There is good help and community support which helps in learning how to use the tool.
  • Sharing reports and dashboards is a bit of a complex system and could be improved.
  • Better tutorials around building a clean dataset and joining tables in the best way would be helpful.
  • We find that the per-user pricing is a bit restrictive and would prefer to have a company subscription.
  • You can't save versions of a report/dashboard.
  • The number of scheduled refreshes per day is limiting although seems to be improving over time. It would be good to have the option of refresh every 5 minutes at least (depending on the amount of data needing refreshing).
It would only be appropriate to recommend this if you can definitely connect to Power BI from the desired sources: these can be checked here https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/powerbi-desktop-data-sources/. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in extracting and organizing data in a very user-friendly and graphical way.
Read Justin Leflaive's full review
Thomas J. Curran profile photo
December 07, 2017

Microsoft Power BI Review: "A capable and powerful BI tool from Microsoft"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our legacy applicant tracking system had some decent reporting abilities, but very little in the way of visualization options for that data. It was simply stored in MS SQL and if we wanted to do anything really useful with that data, we'd need to export it into Excel and manipulate it there.

With connecting Power BI directly to the database, we can build very nice visuals on dashboards and then potentially share them with other employees across the organization.
  • It's able to connect with a wide array of data sources.
  • The number of different options for visualizations is impressive.
  • Because some of the functionality resembles those in MS Excel, the learning curve is a little less steep.
  • Loading data can sometimes take a long time - would be nice if that could be faster.
  • Using Power BI's browser to find the specific tables you need in your data is not easy for someone unless they are very familiar with databases or their data is very neatly laid out and labeled well.
  • The UI could use a little modernization, but it's not bad.
If you already subscribe to Office365 as we do, it's included so there's very little downside to downloading it and giving it a shot. If you have large chunks of data that you'd really like to be able to visualize and then share that info via dashboards to lots of users, I can't think of a better tool out there.
Read Thomas J. Curran's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (41)
7.9
Customizable dashboards (49)
8.6
Report Formatting Templates (45)
8.0
Drill-down analysis (49)
8.5
Formatting capabilities (49)
8.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (34)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (47)
8.4
Publish to Web (47)
8.9
Publish to PDF (41)
7.9
Report Versioning (38)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (34)
7.6
Delivery to Remote Servers (19)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (45)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (43)
8.8
Predictive Analytics (34)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (40)
8.5
Role-Based Security Model (32)
7.7
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (37)
7.9
Single Sign-On (SSO) (20)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (40)
8.2
Dedicated iOS Application (31)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (33)
8.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (39)
8.2
REST API (17)
7.7
Javascript API (13)
7.5
iFrames (13)
7.1
Java API (10)
6.5
Themeable User Interface (UI) (16)
7.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (9)
6.9

About Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft Power BI Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No