SAP Analytics Cloud Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
280 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 104)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 10, 2021
Ashish Kumar Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SAP Analytics Cloud for Business Intelligence, Automated Machine Learning, efficient modelling and predictions for business modelling. It is having a single unified dashboard for robust and rapid prototyping. It is also having mobile and web extensions, which supports iPhone or iPad to access latest information and analytics information. It also provides high end team collaboration capabilities using chats and notifications. SAP Analytics Cloud also provides feature like SAP Business Warehouse. It comes with robust cloud solutions to enhance corporate performance and overall growth.
  • Data integration from different application is very easy
  • Business Intelligence and Predictive Analytics becomes very helpful
  • Provides various Cloud Deployment options like - Shared Cloud Infra.
  • Security and Access control is high
  • ETL operations are still not competitive.
  • Hard to get start and might lead to initial hiccups.
  • Cost wise customization feature is missing, which leads to manual efforts
  • Huge volume of data takes time to load.
In my experience, SAP Analytics Cloud is best suited for data exploration and visualization capabilities for your business. Filtering data and managing data sets are easy and feasible. It is also preferable to use if you have your business exposure to SAP HANA and thus it can quickly be used for Financial Integration planning. It enables custom widget options to view and control the insights.
SAP support needs more proactive and dynamic support team to address customer queries and issues. During the initial period we faced hiccups and the response from the support team was not up to the mark. Hence, it needs to further improve the process to tackle customer queries.
Read Ashish Kumar Das's full review
December 28, 2020
Paul Saacreia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This cloud solution has been used as business intelligence tool for quite some time in our organization to gather some critical data insights using the live data available through HANA database. It uses some future ready machine learning models to give us the required end results that we can present to the management with quite some confidence.
It's a really secure solution with a high level of governance and compliance as per our IT policies. Our lead time for dashboard development from proof of concept by Subject matter expert to final implementation by db connection, folder permission formalities were under 2 months. Thanks to the intuitive interface on offering we used this software mainly for the predictive analytics capabilities and easy spooling of data to generate apt reports.
  • It has a very balanced and basic intuitive interface making it easy for business users to work with very less IT support.
  • Predictive analytics with Machine learning capabilities.
  • Complete cloud package with no requirement of additional hardware infrastructure.
  • Even though deployed on cloud have found delays in report delivery when working with very large datasets.
  • There is no option to go back to previous committed action other than redo from scratch should have an option to go back to last step.
  • It only works with connected SAP db.
  1. Cloud deployment makes the solution available at even remote locations away from the office.
  2. User interface helps to create dashboards and reports without much issues.
  3. Frequent updates ensure the ML models are up to date.
  4. Certain modules in planning interface are not up to the mark and requires more work by SAP.
  5. Easy to export data to different file types like xlsx, pdf.

The ticket system for issues is rally noteworthy we have received reverts on every issue that was raised and the user community platform is again a really helpful platform for clearing any questions or issues that arise during normal product use with solution put forth by users who have faced the same problems earlier which ensures it's a reliable solution.
Read Paul Saacreia's full review
December 14, 2020
Gaurav Gautam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SAP Analytics Cloud for data warehousing, data analysis, exploration, visualization, augmented analytics (insight to action), and integrated planning using workflows. It has provided us with a one-stop platform to do and stitch together planning, dashboarding, and analytics. We love it.
  • It is easy to connect and use all these data sources
  • We have been able to access all the data live (in real time) also
  • SAP Analytics Cloud has potent machine learning and AI capabilities
  • Built-in workflows in the tool allow us to do planning and scenario management
  • Sometimes slow in processing very large data sets slows business processes.
  • Limited options for broadcasting the stories hence difficult to share with others.
  • Need to lot of rework when a model is rebuild leading to frustration
If a customer is already using lot of SAP stack, I would recommend SAP Analytics Cloud, as integrations are seamless and the insights it provides are very valuable. There can be limitations in using Python on other scripting languages, unlike in competing products such as Tableau, Qlik, OAC.
  • Their solutions and customer success team is very receptive to enhancements, features, and feedback
  • Turnaround time on reported problems is astonishing
  • Good training materials on how to utilize the platform
Read Gaurav Gautam's full review
December 08, 2020
Ravi Ansal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud is used by different teams as a contributor to end-user. We basically have a different set of data for a different set of users and I really like how easy it is to connect and use all these data sources. It is a really helpful tool for our marketing and sales meetings and drives the results based on the reports from SAP Analytical Cloud.
  • Improve business process outcomes.
  • Real-time access to databases.
  • Analysis leveraging machine learning.
  • Seamless integration to more and more tools.
  • it is still slow, when the data set is large it takes a lot of time.
  • Cannot combine with already loaded data.
Compared to other tools it is easier to work with existing SAP tools.
If you are already using SAP tools such as ERP and CRM then this tool will make your reporting way easier.
They should still work on live database connectivity; it is still not the best feature.
It is really good when it comes to deep insight views and visualization using R, etc.
I have never worked with the SAP Support team.
Read Ravi Ansal's full review
December 08, 2020
Francis Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud is a stable platform that we use in our organization to make meaning out of our data and from using it, we acquire insights, empirical data that helps us in forecasting, predictive analytics and decision making among others. It's an easy to use platform and it's used across our departments where it helps us solve the business problem of coming up with decisions that lack scientific insights and ones that do not reflect the position of our business. SAP Analytics Cloud gives us a clear outline and standing of our business for purposive planning.
  • Helps us make and implement decisions that have arisen out of facts and insights and this contributes to growth of our business.
  • Helps us understand the standing of our business and its performance whether good or bad thus uncover any unseen agendas and trends.
  • Improves the execution of our workflow and enhance the performance of our business.
  • Since it's cloud based sometimes its performance is affected by poor internet connections slowing down its usage.
SAP Analytics Cloud does not disappoint and it fits well in a scenario where an organization wants to move from manual/outdated ways of making decisions and planning blindly without injecting insights and data based on the performance of your business. It will automate that and turn your business data into actionable insights that bring a positive impact in the way you do your business.
The vendor offers stable customer support services across all the platforms and this ensures that no one gets stuck anywhere in using the platform.
Read Francis Cook's full review
December 04, 2020
Ira Mae Ramos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was first introduced to this tool several years ago when I was still working with IBM. The system was used then mainly for financial data, vendor management as well as an HR tool that helped the organization to perform tasks more efficiently and at a real-time state. Last year, a client that I worked with, as freelance analyst, was also working with same system and they are mostly using this for financial reporting. Being, a multinational firm, it allows them to manage, monitor and maintain financial data real time and hence lessen errors/risks brought about by getting incomplete/ untimely data.
  • Allows dashboard personalization
  • Financial analysis
  • Real time reporting/data entry
  • Provides security
  • Ease of Use
  • Can be challenging sometimes system performance-wise. It feels like it is having a hard time processing when dealing with a large set of data and parameters.
  • Lacks versatility.
  • Can be confusing at times. Due to the vast uses of the tool. Even as an experienced user, you'd probably be scared to try navigating to other parts of the tool.
For a big company, SAP is definitely one of the top tools that one can consider but considering the cost that it entails and the variety of other products that is currently in the market with the same capabilities and lesser cost, smaller enterprise would most probably decide to go for other options
They are very involved. When our team first went live in their system, they have given full support all the way.
Read Ira Mae Ramos's full review
November 25, 2020
Venkat Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud helps us create Stories that shows real-time data which comes from variety of source systems. These stores help take decisions at different levels in the organization. SAP Analytics Cloud with its unique features including - rendering on any device, R visualizations, digital board room agenda creation are highly powerful.
  • Support for real-time data analysis
  • Provision to bring data from many source systems.
  • Scalability options available as this is a cloud solution.
  • Rich support for analytical functions using scripting languages
  • Options to bring data from two models in SAC stories together
  • More options for broadcasting the stories seamlessly.
The scenarios that SAP Analytics Cloud supports like - Time series analysis, forecasting, Geo maps and options available to format the report are simple and very useful. Smart insights is yet another feature that gives us great value and it is very useful.
Support extended to consume PAL libraries and AFL functions can be improved.
The support that is received during our SAP Analytics Cloud journey was very very great. We really appreciate and the thank the SAP support for their quick turn around and valuable help and support. We are very grateful to them for all the support that we have received at every stage of the journey.
Read Venkat Reddy's full review
October 14, 2020
Shivram Dhiresh Parijatam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics is currently used across all departments (finance/HR/sales) of client I support. We have designed various stories and applications as well on sales/finance/HR data showcasing different KPIs, Top N contributors, Geo-Map data points. There is not much additional work needed as the same story can easily be seen using mobile or tabs by business users. Business users loved the smart capabilities of SAC wherein they type any query in Natural Languages and it produces relevant graphs to users.

Recently I have done POC on HR data for them to identity probable employees who could leave organization. The POC went well so we are asked to implement the same. I used built classification-in for addressing Attrition problem which resulted in 83% accuracy. Client has asked us to do a POC using regression if we can predict number of copies to be printed considering various factors like historical data (sports event/elections/or other catastrophic events).

Suggestion:
However I feel SAC can be more effective if more modelling capabilities are provided. Integration with R is good but SAP should think of Python integration as well, reason being Python is more user friendly and capable of doing all what R does.
  • Natural language processing.
  • Geo-spatial enrichment.
  • Support to mobile/tabs.
  • Easy user interface.
  • Prediction capabilities.
  • R integration.
  • Application building.
  • Dashboarding.
  • Complete descriptive statistics about business using stories.
  • Modelling capabilities.
  • Python integration should be included.
  • Model rebuilding losses all data validations/transformation and too much of rework.
For an organization spread across globe SAC comes in handy as it has capabilities to represent data of all countries on Global Map using Geo-Spatial points. Even business users can drill down to the lowest possible level maintained in hierarchal structure. SAC has built-in capabilities for currency translation which further enriches two show data in single global currency for ease of comparative analysis for different regions.
SAC is very well suited for planning budget & forecast scenarios for companies' financial needs. SAC is the only tool having all three different type of Analytics i.e. Descriptive, Predictive & Prescriptive analysis. SAC has an inbuilt R Server and also supports R integration with external server for more of predictive analysis and superb visuals. The same story can be seen in desktop, laptop including mobiles & tab so no extra work for getting reports on mobile except for API integration. SAC supports importing data from non-SAP environments and provides seamless live connectivity to SAP HANA cloud systems.

SAC will not be that useful where more of operation reporting is required though it is capable of providing Excel-like interface with similar functionalities.
1. SAC is the only product available in market with all three capabilities of planning, business intelligence & predictive analytics.
2. Development of stories can easily be seen on desktop/laptop/tabs & mobile. The widgets/stories can easily be consumed in web using APIs.
3.User friendly predictive capabilities which does not require much knowledge.
4. R integrations for very complex algorithms and appealing visuals.
5.Natural language querying supported, which makes it easy to use and search if someone forgets technical name of stories.
6. Smart insight feature presents with influencers for a KPI in question, along with correlation plots with different variables making bivariate analysis easy. It also present us Top N/ Bottom N scenarios without much fuss.
Read Shivram Dhiresh Parijatam's full review
October 14, 2020
Dharmesh Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using for specific few departments, source data is SAP BW. Business team needs dashboard to be created to analyse the data more effectively. We are planning to implement Planning model for finance team.
  • User friendly like Tableau.
  • Comparative features offered by Tableau, Power BI.
  • Business feel more comfortable to use Power BI.
  • Strong integration with HANA, what about other data sources and columnar storage.
  • Available on web. All operations (create, modify, share stories) are done on web.
  • SAC out of the box connections available for SAP specific source systems only.
  • Power BI out of the box connections available for wide range of data sources.
  • Power BI will maintain authorization/roles of source systems (Checked specifically for SAP BW).
  • Power BI Available SAP Sources: SAP BW, SAP HANA.
  • SAC Search is not available using Bex description. Search can be done only through technical name.
  • SAC Prompt Difficulty in using select all or Not equal to option.
  • SAC Smart Insights and Smart discovery not available with Live connections to SAP BW. Works well with offline excels.
  • SAC New calculations - with live connection new calculations can be created while creating charts. It is not available at modeling level.
  • SAC Local and Global Query Elements supported.
  • SAC Forecast in line charts.
  • in-person training
Yes - Yet to implement and experience.
Read Dharmesh Shah's full review
January 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud is being used by a vast part of our company. We are able to ingest data from a wide range of sources and make sense of it. What otherwise would have been slow and error-prone process is now being achieved quickly and dynamically. Ability to connect to cloud sources, SQL servers and SAP On Premise is making this possible.
  • Secure live connections
  • Predictive forecasting
  • Visualizations
  • Initial setup takes time
  • Some models are not available. Which seem to be getting added
Well suited for -
  1. Building models and sharing with others
  2. Managing access controls
  3. Data auditing
  4. Creating stories and customizing charts
Less appropriate -
  1. When you are using non-SAP products and want SAP Analytics as the only tool from SAP
  2. In case you are using Qlik, Tableu or Power BI already
  1. We had a pleasant experience in getting started with teh application.
  2. Most of our initially envisaged IT and Business benefits were realized.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Until now, we have often kept data in SAP ERP redundant for analytics. With the new SAP Analytics and the so-called CDS views, this is no longer necessary. This means we have less development effort and our customers have real-time access to analyses. Correspondingly a real WIN WIN situation. Some of our customers had already started to build their own islands. It was difficult for us to build them back. But we did it.
  • Less redundant data
  • High speed analytics
  • Integrate with your ERP landscape
  • Separate departments have to take care of the topic
  • Difficult questions in the field of General Data Protection Regulation
  • Steep learning curve
The SAP Analytics Cloud is not intended to replace the SAP Business Warehouse completely. Instead, it wants to focus on reporting and analysis. It also provides innovative functionalities that SAP is constantly expanding. Of course, the focus is more on self-service and therefore requires fewer specialist staff. What I personally like are the collaboration tools like chats and presentations.
The SAP Analytics Cloud is a relatively new product. As already mentioned, there are still many innovations flowing into the product. This means that the support is really excellent. SAP reacts very quickly to errors and problems and new ideas are also taken into account. The important thing is that you accept the steep learning curve and afterwards you are rewarded.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used SAP Analytics Cloud in a number of SAP implementations at our client sites. Typically, they use SAP Analytics Cloud to drive insights and knowledge related to the wealth of master data stored within an SAP ERP system such as S4 HANA or SAP ByDesign. It can also be used with a large number of third party data sources as it supports a wide range of integration strategies.
  • SAP Analytics cloud is very easy to connect to an SAP system to directly consume data.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud has a very strong data model building tool for curating and cleansing the data it receives from a variety of data sources.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud supports a wide range of proprietary and industry standard data formats for consumption of data.
  • While SAP Analytics Cloud is ideal for providing insights into an SAP system, it is a little less ideal for third party systems as this generally requires customizations. However, it still supports such scenarios and with a little extra work it does the job very well.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud is a separate license from other SAP systems, meaning added cost.
When a client needs to understand their data in an SAP context, we always recommend SAP Analytics Cloud. Especially when that source is cloud based such as SAP ByDesign. The integrations are seamless and the insights it provides are very valuable. Connecting is so simple that a non-technical user could do it and the modeling is robust and easy to customize.
SAP provides a robust support platform for its products and SAP Analytics Cloud is no different. There are varying degrees of support from user documentation and indexed, searchable self-help guides to full formal support provided by partners or SAP itself. It is easy to find and receive the help you need.
Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using SAP Analytics Cloud in our company for quite a while now. We started with the sales and marketing department, but now it is being used across the organization. It is very useful for creating meaningful reports from the extensive data coming in from various sources, and helps us in forecasting, which is a crucial part of the e-learning industry. Another great feature is that it helps us in managing data in real time.

  • Easy to connect
  • Built-in workflows
  • Financial analysis
  • Real-time reporting
  • Requires a good amount of training
  • Confusing for new users
  • Takes time when dealing with large data sets
SAP Analytics Cloud is exceptionally well suited for performing deep analysis on data sets coming from multiple channels. It's an extremely helpful tool for carrying out predictive analysis and forecasting future business. Being on cloud, it requires a strong Internet connection at all times. It tends to get slow when dealing with large data sets.
We haven't required assistance or support, except when it was being implemented. The implementation was flawless, and the vendor support during the time was perfect. We haven't faced any problems since then.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been testing SAP Analytics Cloud for the past six months to expand our BI/analytics capabilities and further integrate it with SAP Cloud solutions. Being powered by HANA with instant (built-in) data source options (BW), it piqued our interest. It is being used by selective power users/analysts throughout the entire organization. For a long time they have been asking for an all-in-one cloud-based solution where they can develop dashboards and use planning/predictive features (modules) and share them in a centralized location (digital boardroom).
  • Easy ways for managing public dimensions by creating attributes
  • Custom apps and widgets
  • Predictive analytics capability
  • Poor performance when doing modeling in the cloud
  • Data preparation has limited capabilities
  • Complex currency conversion
It has come a long way since it was introduced in 2015. It would be a common sense solution for customers with an SAP ERP ecosystem who are already running their apps on SAP HANA Cloud Platform. It provides easy access to internal data sources like BPC, SAP BW, SAP ERP, SAP HANA, or SAP Universe (Business Objects). At the same time, business users have access to the right set of tools to cover the entire BI analysis process in an easy way without creating additional work for the IT team.

Depending on the SAP footprint in your organization, licensing could be a major roadblock. It can be expensive (depending on which model you choose--private or public) for non-SAP customers, so make sure you understand what you are paying for.
Support is excellent, even if you have a basic support package. Their knowledge base is very extensive, so you can easily find related articles on your own. The chat option is very good as well--very knowledgeable support engineers--but first you have to go through a somewhat complex selection process in order to be assigned to the right person. They also try to close cases as soon as possible, so make sure your issue is addressed thoroughly first before you close the incident.
Read this authenticated review
December 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Analytics Cloud for our internal BI requirements. We use it to see how our sales teams are performing, what do our customers say about our products, and also to understand what is the ROI for marketing spends. The data comes from different sources and the software handles it seamlessly and provides meaningful insights. We use it in two business units.
  • Wrangling expression language feature works really well, it reduces most of the data modeling work which is otherwise done by an analyst.
  • Application loads real quick compared to tableau or other similar tools.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud Mobile App works really good, review the reports on the go.
  • Its robust ability and speed of how it processes data from a variety of third-party sources.
  • Frequent updates makes this a competent BI tool in the market.
  • An option to share the story outside the company, similar to Google Data Studio.
  • The company can look into the pricing model a bit more; there are similar tools with similar features in the market with less price.
If you are SAP User, you should definitely use it. Well Suited: For companies who are small or large who want to run the whole BI stack on the cloud without any issues. Less Appropriate: For startups who do not want to spend much money on the BI Solution. There are other similar tools that can offer the same features at less cost.
Support was good. We had called a couple of times during the tool issues, and we were given the solution quickly.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud provides data exploration and visualization, through which the interactive dashboards can be created. It also has embedded machine learning algorithms, which are quite handy to use to make data-driven business decisions.
  • Embedded machine learning
  • Interactive visualizations
  • Enterprise-wide usage
  • Predictive analytics
  • Connectors with multiple sources
  • Templates for the visualization storyboards
  • Advanced analytics and artificial intelligence
SAP Analytics Cloud is one of the best business intelligence tools for connecting with SAP products. It has the capability of connecting with the live data, which is useful for analyzing and making business decisions. The machine learning applications are easy to apply to create models. As it is on the cloud, it has significant scalability options.
Overall the product is quite good with the features and user experience.
-The user experience for the tool is quite easy
- Advanced predictive analytics and machine learning
- Live Connections
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud is being used by different teams across the organization and on the clients projects. We have different data requirements with sets like FI, inventory, or HR. It is very easy to connect and use all these data sources. SAP Analytics Cloud is a really helpful tool for our internal and sales pitches. It also has machine learning built in, which really helps to get the insight you are looking for. SAP Analytics Cloud gives us a clear and crisp dashboard and digital boardroom for our business for deliberate planning.
  • Real time Data Analysis - with connection to multiple ERP system like Oracle, SAP HANA , Excel and any 3rd party DB
  • Easy to create dashboard - Drag and drop and you will get the insight from the raw data and that too real time
  • Integration with R and have ML inbuilt to provide the smart insight
  • Separate license cost for the product there by increasing the project budget
  • Debugging is a tedious task and documentation is hard to find.
  • Dashboard loading time is noticeable and require lot of improvements when compared to other dashboard tools like Tableau and Power BI
SAP Analytics cloud is suitable for the digital boardroom for CEO and CFO meeting. Dashboard can be created pretty quickly and can give smart insight while pitching to clients. With cloud capability, this is easy to share and develop.
Comparing with other tools like Tableau and Power BI, SAP Analytics cloud lack the robustness and look and feel.
SAP Support team are very easy to reach and always available for the support within the SLA.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used SAP Analytics Cloud for my clients where it is mostly used organization wide to solve various business problems related to Sales, Finance, Inventory, etc. Mostly SAP Analytics Cloud is used to build applications for decision makers to look at the latest data and make an informed decision.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud offers extensive planning capabilities in addition to Business Intelligence and Augmented Analytics in a single cloud solution.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud has a robust Application builder that allows customers to build complex applications (all in the cloud) with features that may not be possible in other competing tools.
  • Smart Predict using machine learning has a huge potential considering the amount of effort needed from a business user to predict the values.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud could benefit from adding extensive support to non-SAP data sources.
  • The imparity between building a model based on live vs import connection is definitely a con.
  • SAP Analytics Cloud is not the appropriate tool for customers who are looking to build complex reports similar to the ones built using SAP Web Intelligence.
SAP Analytics Cloud is well suited for scenarios where the data sources are from SAP. For customers looking to build a complex Analytic Application with features that is not generally available in BI tools, SAP Analytics Cloud is the clear winner. With improvements in planning in each release, SAP Analytics Cloud could easily be recommended in scenarios where planning and Business Intelligence has to be used intertwined.
The importance given by SAP for SAP Analytics Cloud is commendable. There is room for improvement.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud enables our company's transformation process of "data-driven decision making." We are performing in a very dynamic sector and real-time data is very crucial for the competitive advantage. Our whole Executive Committee and Management team are using the SAP Analytics Cloud dashboard for both operational and strategic KPI's and performance tracking.
  • Real-time data management.
  • Ultimate and user-friendly dashboards for data visualization.
  • Fast
  • Maintenance cost is a bit high.
  • Deployment might take more time.
It is well suited to manage the large scale of operational data. Real-time data and dashboards are very important, especially for top management. IT enables top management to make data-driven daily decisions. In addition to operational parameters, we also use it for strategic, long-term KPIs, and company performance tracking.
The support that we have received during our SAP Analytics Cloud implementation and usage process is great. They were accessible every time. The team is really solution-oriented at every moment of the process. They are very experienced and highly skilled in both technical support and problem-solving. Support is very crucial for continuous improvement.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [SAP Analytics Cloud] to help identify and streamline our supply chain planning for our product.
It assists in the identification of the stop blocks that are not allowing for timely changes, which areas need focus groups to work through the kinks.
  • Various ways to view the stories in relation to the end user that needs to view the data
  • Pull in fresh data from our source ERP with the latest data while using the stories as designed.
  • Allows for various users to see specific data.
  • Seems hard to grasp in the beginning.
  • Was a difficult learning curve - finding the correct information for the proper user type.
  • More sample/standard OData queries to use or edit for individual scenarios
The ability to link it to the various ERP options (SAP ByD & S/4H) is a great option to auto-update the data and stories.
It is also nice that you can upload an excel and then manipulate it into various views in SAC.
It seems to me that it is a technology that is good for C-levels to see the data, but not sure that floor managers would gain any knowledge with the product.
I have not had to use the support side of this product - but the overall cloud support from SAP is generally pretty good.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud is used for ingesting data, doing analysis, publishing reports, building visualizations within the team. Uploading data was quite easier and csv can easily be uploaded there. We also use story mode whereby we can get quite an interesting view. The discovery process in the tool is quite intuitive and allows us to find detailed insights. Visualizations are good but not as useful.
  • Impressive storytelling
  • Real-time analytics
  • Streaming data feature
  • Centralized view
  • Consolidated analytics.
  • Toolbar can be confusing at times
  • Learning curve huge
SAP Analytics Cloud is well suited: Analyze the impact of any campaign on customer journeys. It should have clear detailed information for some mapping so that you can get a detailed analysis.
Scenarios where it is less appropriate: Not many. I think if you want cool visualizations, you will need to extract output elsewhere.
SAP Analytics Cloud is well supported. I did not use it much but I think given the tool and background, it would be good. I did find that the tool does support a wide variety of inputs. Eg: it supports R language, which is very handy and useful to us in our day-to-day work.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am both involved in development of SAC use cases as consultant for clients as well as for internal assets/showcases at my company. I have used SAC for a variety of use cases from top management reporting to planning applications. At our clients it is usually used across the organization once the decision for the product is made. Some of the teams at my current project have already set developments into productions whereas other teams will start doing so beginning Q1 2021.
  • Modern charts and graphics.
  • Scripting possibilities to implement business logics.
  • R Integration.
  • Lots of simple drag n drop development and settings.
  • CSS/Layout customizations.
  • Compounded Objects currently do not work in Application Designer.
  • "Back" button functionality.
  • Setting filters on model/data source level, not on individual chart level.
SAC is well suited for reporting or planning scenarios that do not involve too complex application logic. SAC has very modern looking charts and components which provides a great user experience. It is also relatively easy to learn/adapt and allows developments to be implemented quickly (fast prototyping). It is also great for business users to explore data on their own within stories.

SAC still lacks some functionality compared to a mature tool like e.g. Lumira where scripting/layouting is more mature. Also, SAC is not suited for fully customized reporting/business applications that require a lot of individual logic according to specific business requirements.
While I have no direct contact with the SAC support team, I feel that issues are taken up quickly and suggestions for feature improvements are always welcome. The second point particularly will help make this new tool even more user/developer friendly.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used mainly by our business intelligence division, but available to everyone via a democratized data policy, we depend on SAP Analytics [Cloud] to drive our major product roadmap decisions using informed user-specific data. We are able to get a 360 view of our business in seconds, by mixing data from multiple streams, connecting both cloud and on-premise data to eliminate knowledge silos.
  • Efficient workflow-driven UI
  • Security built-in from the ground up
  • Embedded machine learning
  • Contextual help during workflow creation
  • Error reporting and debugging during workflow execution
  • New user onboarding
[SAP Analytics Cloud] is great for visualizing and exploring both structured and unstructured business intelligence scenarios. Helps us to efficiently answer questions both about the "known knowns" and "unknown unknowns". We often turn to SAP Analytics Cloud to help us decide on the next course of action in our product roadmap.
While we have not needed support much, the few times we have it was great. We appreciate the dedication to users.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Analytics Cloud is primarily being used for reporting purposes as well as predictions. It is used primarily for the finance and sales business functions; and not being used across all functions. It is used for generating reports on business data; analyzing the data and carrying out predictions based on the Smart Insight and Smart Discovery features.
  • Great option for users to build their own stories.
  • Powerful graphics.
  • Great features such as Linked Analysis and Smart Insight.
  • Loading time and performance require considerable improvement.
  • Limited features for a live connection.
  • Seamless connectivity to include other databases such as SQL, etc. as well is desired.
SAP Analytics Cloud is a powerful tool suited to building rich reports, and offers a lot of pre-built content which can be modified as per requirements and help in coming up with a quick reporting story. It is not useful where basic reports are required and not all features of the SAP Analytics Cloud can be utilized.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Worked on SAP Analytics Cloud Solutions for Oil & Gas Upstream Industry. Worked
on creation of Connection between SAP S4HC & Sap Analytics Cloud using CDS
views. Developed queries, models, stories & a digital boardroom. We used the dashboard in SAP Analytics Cloud and explored different features such as smart insights, VDT, geo map, and time series charts in IBO. It helped in taking strategic decisions and tweaking the data as per client convenience.
  • Smart Insights- User can tweak the data to get desired results
  • Time Series Charts in IBO- Statistical Modeling and Machine Learning App for Time-Series Problem
  • Geo Map- You can create Geographical Maps and Different Sales Level Charts using the Data
  • Digital Boardroom- Accessing and interacting with your most important data, integrated across a single source of truth.
  • Less Flexibility- Sometimes it is difficult to provide the desired configuration to clients.
Users can take real-time strategic Decisions using SAC. Users can get broader and vast data analytics on a real-time basis.
It is a must have tool if you have vast business. Helps in achieving target and set future goals by understanding the business real time performance.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (71)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (86)
8.5
Report Formatting Templates (80)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (89)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (87)
8.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (67)
7.8
Report sharing and collaboration (85)
8.4
Publish to Web (75)
8.3
Publish to PDF (76)
8.1
Report Versioning (66)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (55)
7.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (87)
8.3
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (85)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (86)
7.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (86)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (86)
7.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (84)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (84)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
8.0
Dedicated iOS Application (57)
8.1
Dedicated Android Application (44)
7.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (70)
8.0
Long-term financial planning (79)
7.8
Financial budgeting (80)
8.0
Forecasting (83)
8.1
Scenario modeling (83)
7.9
Management reporting (89)
8.6
Financial data consolidation (52)
8.0
Journal entries and reports (52)
7.6
Multi-currency management (62)
7.5
Intercompany Eliminations (42)
7.7
Minority Ownership (40)
7.7
Local and consolidated reporting (56)
8.1
Detailed Audit Trails (51)
7.6
Financial Statement Reporting (67)
7.9
Management Reporting (84)
8.3
Excel-based Reporting (79)
7.7
Automated board and financial reporting (70)
7.7
XBRL support for regulatory filing (29)
7.9
Personalized dashboards (101)
8.7
Color-coded scorecards (93)
8.5
KPIs (99)
8.8
Cost and profitability analysis (91)
8.2
Key Performance Indicator setting (93)
8.5
Benchmarking with external data (72)
7.9
Flat file integration (93)
8.4
Excel data integration (91)
8.5
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (85)
7.6

What is SAP Analytics Cloud?

SAP Analytics Cloud combines planning, business intelligence, and predictive analytics as a unified cloud-based platform allowing visualization, planning and prediction to be performed within a single tool. It is built on top of the very fast SAP Cloud Platform, and integrates natively with on-premise applications and data.

The platform provides data connectors to a wide range of data sources, including SAP Business Warehouse, SAP Business Planning and Consolidation, SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, SAP SuccessFactors, Salesforce, and other sources. Visualization capabilities are enriched by geo-enriched data, and the SAP HANA engine contains an in-memory calculation engine to perform numerous calculations in real-time.

SAP Analytics Cloud Video

Unify business insights with SAP Analytics Cloud.

SAP Analytics Cloud Competitors

Microsoft Power BI, Qlik Analytics Platform, Anaplan Predictive Insights (Mintigo)

SAP Analytics Cloud Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Business$21per user, per seat
EnterpriseCustomUnlimited users

SAP Analytics Cloud Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Customer Success Coach

SAP Analytics Cloud Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS
Supported Languages: Czech, English, French, German, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.