AlienVault USM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
640 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 375)

Justin Millett | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

Honest Opinions Only

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for our entire org as a SIEM and vulnerability management tool. Stretched over 14 locations in the North Americas, we utilize this tool to be our first login in the morning. All of our logs from our on-premise and cloud services flow into this.
  • Vulnerability visibility and remediation
  • Log management and compilation
  • The vulnerability scanner could use some tweaking as I feel it isn't always working
  • The integrations could use some more testing
The only thing I will dock AlienVault for is the lack of support without paying an additional bit of $$.. That seems to be my biggest complaint. When you invest 30K, adding another couple thousand for support is quite silly.
Read Justin Millett's full review
Steinerroggers Ufomaduh | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Solid unified security solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault USM is used in our vulnerability management program and endpoint protection program. It addresses the problem of inconsistent patching cadence across organizational units. It is used to perform regular vulnerability scans on our infrastructure and to deliver status reports on progress in program and policy implementation. Some logs are sent to it from servers to help with the SIEM correlation work which is largely outsourced.
  • Endpoint detection notification with detailed logs
  • Vulnerability detection
  • Investigation tracking
  • Endpoint protection agent rollout
  • Vulnerability management historical tracking
  • Endpoint tracking across DHCP infrastructure
The AlienVault USM is suited for networks with minimal IP changes (non-DHCP infrastructure just like most SIEM tools). It struggles with detecting endpoints over VPN tunnels. It identifies the SIP protocol on these interfaces and creates some spurious assets for the entire range. This makes a lot of work for cleanup.
It is very efficient as a supporting tool if SOC work is outsourced or the monitoring requirements are not very intense.
Read Steinerroggers Ufomaduh's full review
Angel Meza | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Great introduction to SIEMs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AlienVault in our organization to monitor the environment of our clients, all the way from reviewing suspicious activity to performing server health-checks and behavior.
  • Great documentation.
  • Overall good support.
  • Nice UI.
  • UI can be wonky at times.
  • Log search from the SIEM UI is quite troublesome as every filter applied performs the search again.
  • Some features can stop working seemingly out of nowhere, requiring contacting support.
AlienVault is great for setting up a SIEM solution with little setup required, with a not-so-difficult-to-use interface. Most stuff is easy to find with their screens available through menus/sub-menus with accurate titles without being overly compact.
Read Angel Meza's full review
Arther Magaya | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

AlienVault USM anywhere

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It addresses compliance and vulnerability assessments, which are critical in having a holistic view of mission-critical assets. USM also gives the ability to detect network threats before they are exploited by criminals, as well as forensic evidence of what happened when and how it happened. With the help of AlienApps, there is vast integration with existing security solutions.
  • Authenticated vulnerability assessment
  • Authenticated asset discovery
  • Incident response
  • Log correlation
  • Ability to do an external vulnerability assessment.
  • User training awareness through the console for administrators to educate users.
  • Allow more remediation options for administrators to endusers.
Managing large networks with multiple vendors on different layers of security. USM integrated well with multiple vendors through plugins and Alien apps like CISCO, Sophos, Kaspersky, and Trend Micro. It has customizable correlation rules, as well as filters that enable administrators to search for required logs and asset events.
Read Arther Magaya's full review
Naveen Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

Cybersecurity--Not "un"-achievable

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Talos Cybersecurity is an MSSP providing Managed Detection and Response services to our clients. For this, we use AlienVault USM on-premises. It is very easy to deploy and setup and starts providing value as soon as it is plugged into the network. All the needs of asset discovery, file integrity, monitoring of critical assets, vulnerability detection, and SIEM ready to plug and play on the initial setup. A long list of plugins helps to integrate SIEM with a variety of products. Also, it is quite easy to develop new plugins and modify the existing plugins. Being an MSSP enables each analyst to handle multiple incidents in a short span of time as the product correlates major information before any need for human intervention.
  • Asset Discovery
  • Network SPAN monitoring
  • Event correlation of out-of-the-box directives and custom directives
  • PCI DSS requirements fulfillment and reporting
  • Appliance should have APIs so that data can be exported to smart dashboards and reports.
  • Limitation of 1000 EPS in All-In-One is very less even for small to medium organizations.
  • Email notification should be smarter and customization for better notifications
Being a great option for large organizations, AlienVault USM is very well suited for small companies as well. Since most cybercrimes are targeted at small companies, which lack funding for cybersecurity setup, AlienVault USM with its pricing model is well suited for all sectors of companies.
Read Naveen Sharma's full review
Xiaotong Song | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

AlienVault USM is quite cost effective.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault USM is one of the tools that we use across the entire organization. It is used to monitor the traffic in our cloud infrastructure and also allows us to centralize the login information in one place, which is the AlienVault Secure Cloud. If there is a triggered alarm for suspicious traffic, it will track that.
  • Ability to identify issues
  • Reduces workload
  • No auto-investigation
  • Multitasking ability
AlienVault USM is well suited for an organization in which the security team is fairly small or an organization that does not have a specialized security team. The AlienVault USM allows such a team to monitor the traffic and threats without a huge initial investment in the infrastructure and without worrying about tuning.
Read Xiaotong Song's full review
Anthony Guynes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

AlienVault USM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use USM to monitor our organization and we deploy it to our customers so we can monitor them with our NSOC.
  • It does a great job of correlating the traffic that it sees and compares it to Open Threat Exchange.
  • It's easy to read and set-up.
  • When looking at events from a destination IP, the USM doesn't show you the total number of these until you find the last page. It just says "XXXX of 4,000,000".
For the price, AlienVault has a lot of reporting dashboards and plugins that make it a very valuable SIEM. It also has very good scalability, so whether you have a large organization or a small business, there is a solution for you. The USM is also very user-friendly which lets you be able to start monitoring right away.
Read Anthony Guynes's full review
John Keenan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

AlienVault appliance review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AlienVault USM as the SIEM for a large healthcare organization with numerous disparate sites and a small security team. We also employ a SOCaaS to help optimize and monitor for 24x7 operations.
  • Lots of ability to generate reports.
  • Solid appliances ingest many sources.
  • Default settings are a bit esoteric and require outside expertise for optimization.
  • AI isn’t really catching as much as I thought it would.
This is well suited to small organizations that need a SIEM but can’t justify Splunk or LogRhythm.
Read John Keenan's full review
Alan Yair Villaseñor Cervantes | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

AlienVault is amazing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are using AlienVault USM to monitor our whole network. We then sell to and manage the app for clients.
  • Simple UI
  • Easy to use, even if you are not used to it
  • It makes everything simpler to monitor.
  • Difficult to get the files in the forensic area
  • The investigations could be more user-friendly, or it could apply some AI to be quicker.
AlienVault USM is well suited if you want to get a SIEM to monitor your network, because it is easy to use and easy to deploy.
Read Alan Yair Villaseñor Cervantes's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

One of the best SIEMs out there

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use AlienVault USM to monitor our network flow and alert us if any of our alarms are triggered. We integrate our Cisco Umbrella and Meraki solutions so that it saves time, having a single dashboard without having to check each instance. We also like the ability to create custom alarms and us the threat exchange to be notified of any day zero vulnerabilities on the software we run in the office.
  • Easy intergration using APIs
  • Bespoke alarm configuration
  • OTX database
  • Needs to be fine tuned to get any valuable insight
  • Requires alot of resourses when running in VMs
  • Cost makes it hard to sell to smaller buisnesses
It has an intuitive and good user interface making it easy to train engineers. It provides the ultimate visibility and insight into any IT infrastructure.

The system may slow down considerably when a large number of events/logs are fed in the dashboard, so ensure there is enough storage each month.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Limited Use Feedback

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
In my current position, I offer AlienVault USM Anywhere to businesses as a managed security service provider. The problem/solution use case is for multiple unrelated point solutions without centralized orchestration or a managed SIEM system in place.
  • The system is intuitive and easy to navigate.
  • Integration with key services like AWS and other cloud applications is crucial.
  • Links to MITRE, root cause, and remediation recommendations is also a very nice feature.
  • Difficult to configure for initial set up.
  • Key features like alarms for brute force attacks or malware should be automatic instead of needing to be created and configured.
  • Remediation should be taken one step further past recommendations to actual solutions able to be purchased or assisted by AlienVault.
Seems to be well suited for larger networks with multiple assets and no orchestration in place. The small business is not what I see as an ideal candidate due to the complexity involved to deploy and configure without dedicated IT staff.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2020

Built with security professionals in mind.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used AlienVault in a controlled lab environment to assess its power in solving the security challenges of an organization. AlienVault provides a clear picture of the events and incidents throughout the network infrastructure and provides us with a way to mitigate any issue.
  • Great log aggregation and management tool.
  • Great intrusion detection and investigation tool.
  • Very easy to set up and get it going in a very few steps.
  • AlienVault can look into providing log collection methods other than using a sensor.
  • AlienVault USM capabilities should be replicated to AlienVault OSSIM except that with OSSIM there wouldn't be any support.
AlienVault USM is well suited for a situation where an engineer needs to set it up quickly and easily.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

AlienVault USM for Investigation Efficiency

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault USM is used by the Cyber Security Team of the company as a SIEM. Basically we use it for our investigation by utilizing the events and alarms section. AlienVault is actually easy to use and understand. It helps in making the investigation process a lot more efficient. It also provides Threat Intelligence that helps identify which of the alarms we should prioritize.
  • AlienVault offers Rule Creation which helps in testing out new implementations such as alarm suppression, event suppression, etc.
  • AlienVault is easy to navigate. At first, I was kinda confused watching my teammates use it but the more I spend my time with AlienVault the more I appreciate its features.
  • For me, I really appreciate the filters. I can filter out events specifically, which reduces time spent on looking for a particular event.
  • I think adding multiple events in the investigation would really help.
  • When opening an alarm, I hope we could just open the events on another tab directly.
Some alarms from the AlienVault NIDS still lack the information we need to fully identify whether or not the alarm is a legitimate attack or not. I'm not sure but it would help if we are able to see events prior and after the alarm to at least have an idea of what's going on. Also, the associated events really helps, but it doesn't consider all the events related to that particular alarm. Although I understand that it's impossible to do that but it would be best if we can be redirected to the events page where all the associated events are included as well as the events prior and after those for a specific amount of time. Since once we deal with a very large number of events, it's kind of hard to investigate since all we can see are the event names. (Customizing the columns is sometimes forgotten.)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

AlienVault Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it primarily to monitor our edge gear.
  • Data is ingested quickly.
  • Its easy to get data in.
  • Filter rules are very customizable.
  • Implementation was dicey.
  • I wish it had a real time data feed.
  • Its been a struggle to keep under our data cap.
I think it works well - but it's not something an average IT guy would want to tackle. I think its probably better suited for large enterprises or MSSP's that have full-time staff to babysit it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2020

Room to grow

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alien Vault is our ATT MSSP SIEM for the entire organization.
  • Event filtering is intuitive.
  • Investigations are well-integrated and provide useful event and alert aggregation for review and analysis.
  • Dashboards have plenty of colors and graphs to please management.
  • The ability to save (event) views saves a lot of time.
  • The session timeout is veiled and I've lost work typing notes into the window of an expired session unknowingly.
  • It does not process eStreamer.
  • It cannot parse the "blocked" field in source fire logs so you can't see if IDS events are blocked or not.
  • Sometimes performance lags.
In a mid-sized business, paired with managed services, USM would really shine. Many of the ancillary offerings (agent, vuln scanning, forensics, and response) are already provided by tools that a larger organization would already employ. Also, be cognizant of your event consumption. If you exceed your monthly limit, "USM Anywhere will no longer store events in the searchable data store, but it will continue to generate alarms, run authenticated asset scans and store raw logs associated with events in cold storage."
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

AlienVault USM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault is used as a SIEM with ATT managed security services assisting with monitoring and creating alerts for potential incidents.
  • Easy to use rules, events will pre-populate fields for alarm rules allowing for quick creation
  • Friendly interface with logical layout of settings and options
  • Some room to improve the scaling of sensors. Sensors struggle to handle millions or events which results in dropped events in large environments
  • USM is upgraded automatically and there is no way to control when your instance is upgraded. This can result in bugs in features without any way to test and control
It is great for those just getting started with a SIEM. Offers a lot of out of the box functionality and integrations. ATT managed services are also helpful for managing the services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

First use of AlienVault USM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault USM is being used in our area as a monitoring tool. The main problems are due to the OSSEC agents used.
  • Customizable
  • Easy installation
  • Scalable
  • NXLog agent compatibility with the Spanish language.
  • OSSEC Agent Compatibility
AlienVault USM is suitable for relatively small volumes of data because when more information is available it is usually slow and queries take time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

USM Anywhere Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
USM anywhere is extensively used by the IT Security Dept to meet the regulatory compliance requirements and as part of SOC operations.
  • Co-relation engine helps where we don't have to spend hours writing rules.
  • As a SaaS solution we don't worry about maintaining the system.
  • OTX integration
  • Having more parsers and AlienVault app. Also, updates the log parsers continuously.
  • Option to the users to purge selective data.
  • Better Reporting & GUI interface.
AlienVault has not kept up with the industry with respect to Next-Gen SIEM capabilities such as UEBA (user-based analytics) or SOAR capabilities along with ML. Also, the parser/s never seem to parse the logs accurately. Customer service can be improved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

USM Anywhere - Low maintenance, great support and easy to use.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use USM Anywhere inside of our organisation and are planning to sell the service to other companies. Overall it is easy to use and setup, with this ease of use come some limitations to how much you can customize it. If you want an application that requires little to no effort to manage and setup, I recommend USM Anywhere. If you want more control I would advise to go for USM Appliance.
  • Ease of use.
  • Cloud based.
  • Limitations to customisation.
USM Anywhere is great when you want a quick and easy deployment on standard applications. But if you want to monitor your own business application then you need to either make a request to AlienVault to create a new plugin or implement another USM program like USM Appliance. Overall, great solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

AlienVault USM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault USM is being used by the whole organization and our multiple clients. Being an MSSP Partner we use it starting from installation to incidence response, for threat intelligence, forensics, etc. AlienVault USM can address a wide range of issues, including basic issues like security monitoring, Office 365, end-point detection, behavioral monitoring, vulnerability management, IDS, IPS, etc. These are the basic issues that most SIEM solutions solve. What makes AlienVault USM different is its threat intelligence performance, fastest intrusion detection, and incidence response methods. It has more than 3000+ user directives built-in by AlienVault research labs.

AlienVault USM is the best in 3 categories compared to other tools on the market:
1. cost - traditional SIEM solutions include license, implementation costs, and renewal costs and additional training costs. Enterprise should consider SIEM as long-term investments in overall cybersecurity.
2. poor correlation rules - one SIEM problem enterprise faces is failing to maintain proper event correlation information. This solution works on threat intelligence to potentially detect threats.
3. ease of use - complexity remains one of the most commonly referenced SIEM problems. This SIEM solution possesses a user interface that works best for an IT security team and environment.
  • Correlation Directives - USM has 3000+ default directives, which reduces time and man-power.
  • SOC building is much quicker and can be complete in 3 months, which is very difficult with other tools that are currently in the market.
  • Yearly subscription of USM product is equal to 3-4 months of others currently in market
  • OTX pulse is the world's biggest forum, which helps in threat hunting and management.
  • Less involvement of man-power and cost
  • Raw log feature is a little slow with limited features
  • Very few, infrequent updates
  • Backup log is not effective and not easy
  • Storage issues
AlienVault USM is well suited in terms of cost, no doubt, as well as for correlation directives and suppression of false positive alarms, threat intelligence, and worldwide-recognized OTX pulse.

AlienVault USM is less appropriate: HIDS disconnection sometimes, backup, updates will face and restore of logs might be big trouble.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

AlienVault USM Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide SIEM as a managed service to companies in all sectors. AlienVault USM provides a solid and customizable framework to tie into your organization's security and systems administration toolkit.
  • Built on open source
  • Easy to use
  • Customizable
  • Speed
  • Database is MYSQL
  • UI design
AlienVault USM is well suited to a stable environment, or one that contains legacy assets. It is less appropriate for an environment with a lot of DHCP and device movement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

AlienVault USM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault USM is used to monitor multiple client environments. It allows us to identify issues that the clients may not have picked up on.
  • Very easy to filter out alarms and events
  • Easy to use and understand interface
  • You cannot add a label to an alarm from an event page, which can be annoying since clicking on it changes the page to the alarm.
  • An extra tab is opened after clicking on an event in an alarm, and it is blank so it's unnecessary.
After suppressing all unnecessary alarms, AlienVault USM is really good at displaying all relevant information for the alarms that do matter. The option to view both the raw log and formatted view is also very helpful for pulling out information.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

AlienVault does the trick and the documentation is great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault keeps an eye on our cloud environments and our mobile endpoints company-wide. It ensures compliance standards are met and alerts us to potential security issues easily and effectively.
  • Intrusion detection.
  • Alarms.
  • Some aspects of the UI require some digging.
  • Pre-packaged deployable agents for various OS's.
The set-up is easy and the documentation is excellent. At the mid-sized scale we're operating at, AV works great and isn't overwhelming. I can't speak to scenarios at far larger organizations. If you're being constantly bombarded with attacks, AV may prove difficult to tune to a usable state.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Great product with many features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AlienVault is currently used throughout the whole organization and it solves problems around authentication and old user actions. It has helped us identify certain issues or unusual anomalies that happen from day to day to 24 hrs a day. We are able to set up alerts for certain events and the policies we setup help with managing the systems and alerts in place.
  • Tracking
  • Auditing
  • UI layout
  • Ease of use
AlienVault USM is well suited for larger organizations because you are able to modify and change certain aspects of each host that it is collecting data on. The vulnerability scanner is a plus along with its built-in ticketing system. This saves money and time from looking at other systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

AlienVault review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AlienVault USM as our SIEM, collecting logs from servers.
  • Log Collection
  • Grouping
  • Alarms can be tedious to work through.
  • Vulnerability scanning is inferior to other products.
AlienVault USM is good at retrieving logs with just one sensor. However, if you prefer not to install agents I recommend you go with a different product.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Centralized event and log data collection (1)
8
Correlation (1)
8
Event and log normalization (1)
8
Deployment flexibility (1)
7
Custom dashboards and views (1)
6
Host and network-based intrusion detection (1)
7

About AlienVault USM

AlienVault® Unified Security Management® (USM) delivers threat detection, incident response, and compliance management in one unified platform. It is designed to combine all the essential security capabilities needed for effective security monitoring across cloud and on-premises environments, including SIEM, intrusion detection, vulnerability management, as well as continuous threat intelligence updates. The vendor states that even for resource-limited IT security teams, AlienVault USM can be affordable, fast to deploy, and easy to use. It eliminates the need to deploy, integrate, and maintain multiple point solutions in the data center.

Smart, automated data collection & analysis: USM Anywhere automatically collects and analyzes data across the attack surface, helping to quickly gain centralized security visibility without the complexity of multiple disparate security technologies.

Automated threat detection powered by AT&T Alien Labs: With threat intelligence provided by AT&T Alien Labs, USM Anywhere is updated automatically to stay on top of evolving and emerging threats, so the security team can focus on responding to alerts.

Incident response orchestration with AlienApps: USM Anywhere supports a growing ecosystem of AlienApps, enabling the user to orchestrate and automate actions towards other security technologies, able to respond to incidents quickly and easily.

AlienVault USM Features

Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) Features
Has featureCentralized event and log data collection
Has featureCorrelation
Has featureEvent and log normalization
Has featureDeployment flexibility
Has featureIntegration with Identity and Access Management Tools
Has featureCustom dashboards and views
Has featureHost and network-based intrusion detection
Additional Features
Has featureAlienVault Open Threat Exchange

AlienVault USM Screenshots

AlienVault USM Videos (2)

Watch AlienVault USM Anywhere: Five Essential Cloud Security Capabilities in a Single SaaS Platform

Watch See How We're Pushing the Outer Limits of Security

AlienVault USM Downloadables

AlienVault USM Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

AlienVault USM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat

AlienVault USM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global