AlienVault USM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
684 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 01, 2019
Christian Holton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
There's nothing they don't know. Granted, I haven't had to use them too recently, but the few oddball alarms I've experienced, the support team went above and beyond to ensure I was taken care of. We have a few VMWare servers that use CPUs with the SPECTRE vulnerability. I had no clue what some of the alerts meant that were coming from USM. Panicked, I contacted support and they were able to explain exactly what the problem was and how USM was interpreting the log data, AND how to mitigate the problem until a suitable fix was released by Intel.
Read Christian Holton's full review
November 06, 2017
Randy Kouns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Again, all issues are resolved within a few hours. Once contact is made with Support they will remote in and assist with adjustments or configurations as needed, providing additional training during the call.
Read Randy Kouns's full review
December 28, 2017
Farakh Hussain, CISSP, CISM, CEH, ISO LA, MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
I believe they can do a better job at understanding the problem via a phone call when a support ticket is created, rather than going through email. It would help to resolve issues quicker and provider better customer satisfaction.
Read Farakh Hussain, CISSP, CISM, CEH, ISO LA, MCSA's full review
December 15, 2017
Philip Clarke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Support was initially slow but once engaged resolution was fast and efficient.

Additional support on other topics was also resolved under the same initial call which helped rather than closing the call off and starting again.
Further check backs were carried out before the case was closed so support was very useful throughout.
Read Philip Clarke's full review
August 03, 2017
James Ellsworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
I have a 50/50 rating on this because they have been helpful in one aspect but not in another. They seem to be fairly responsive to requests, but like with my most recent request no solution offered. that is not truly a fair statement, but rather no solution unless I agree to pay additional fee's. From conversations with both our sales rep and another representative they both indicate that we have 3 years of extended support, but the problem reported to them is not covered under our support agreement.
Read James Ellsworth's full review
November 02, 2017
Mikhail Suleymanov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I have not had a single issue with the alienvault support staff. Any issue or question that we had, especially in the beginning during the installation phase the support staff was readily available via phone and email to help us. I am very happy with the decision we made to go with alienvault.
Read Mikhail Suleymanov's full review
October 26, 2017
Chuck Bardram | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

9
I find their support to be excellent. From the FAQ's to the tech docs, it is very easy to resolve most issues. The few times we worked with a support technician, they were always quick to resolve our issue. We are very pleased with the overall level of support!
Read Chuck Bardram's full review
August 03, 2017
Bilal Al Sabbagh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

5
Based on previous experience we had to explain and demonstrate the problems several times; fixes takes long time to be implemented and rolled out to end users. Several times we had to guide the support contact to fully understand the problem.
Read Bilal Al Sabbagh's full review
November 21, 2015
Aaron Rothstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
They have helped resolve a lot of issues, but then there are cases where I am referred to look at documentation for open source components maintained by parties outside of AlienVault.
Read Aaron Rothstein's full review
December 04, 2015
Ledan Patrick Masseus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
I have extremely favorable support for the live people
support. They seem to know the product well in addition to knowing the actual underbelly
of a product such as AlienVault. I took two spots away as I find the online
support to be lacking. Almost any search takes you to the forums, where it's
mostly a miss. And searching for what one suspects is a bug is never there, but
you call in and it's, ‘yeah that's a bug and here's a quick workaround or
solution.’ so yeah for live support .. boo for the online based support/doc.
Read Ledan Patrick Masseus's full review
January 03, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Responsive to requests within quick turnaround time. Their staff that I have dealt with are all professional and knowledgeable.

They also think outside the box as well offering solutions to problems that could be predicative.
Read this authenticated review
January 02, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The support we received from alienvault was excellent. They went above and beyond in making sure everything was working as it needed to be. They REALLY want their product implementation to be a success and our security goals be achieved. They are like a member of our security team.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

9
They do have an excellent support attention, however although they have improved a lot regarding documentation I think it can still improve their online resources.
Read this authenticated review
October 26, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

3
Support is friendly but response time has been spotty. Also initially when we signed up there was a lot of pointing us at the documentation, which has been spotty and ad-hoc for what is supposed to be a commercial product. Overall the feel of AlienVault and the support has been of a very new and startup company that is trying to grow up out of it's open source roots, and I'm not sure if they've totally been able to make the transition to being able to meet the expectations of the enterprise customers.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Have had good support and have had poor where they just want to direct you to pay for consultant services or training. Usually the support rep is pretty good and works to resolve/answer the issue/question, but a few times they have not been willing to look into it very far and push off to services/training.
Read this authenticated review
April 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Every time we have opened a ticket with AlienVault they have managed to get us an answer. At times they are not what we want to hear, but I do appreciate the "drive it home" attitude of tech support. I believe the other SIEM competitors could learn a lesson from AlienVault.
Read this authenticated review
November 30, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
My experience with support has not been the best. Support is quick to auto respond to issues and allow remote support to Alienvault USM. However it is hard to reach a live support agent and get someone immediately. Needs work on response time and follow up resolution.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Best in class with flexible customization capabilities
Read this authenticated review
March 29, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
They seem to really care, and take my questions seriously. I've never been left without a response and they track issues really well. In addition they can dial-in to our system and perform remote diagnosis.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Centralized event and log data collection (3)
7.1
Correlation (3)
7.7
Event and log normalization/management (3)
7.7
Deployment flexibility (3)
6.7
Integration with Identity and Access Management Tools (2)
6.9
Custom dashboards and workspaces (3)
6.9
Host and network-based intrusion detection (3)
7.7

What is AlienVault USM?

AlienVault® Unified Security Management® (USM) delivers threat detection, incident response, and compliance management in one unified platform. It is designed to combine all the essential security capabilities needed for effective security monitoring across cloud and on-premises environments, including SIEM, intrusion detection, vulnerability management, as well as continuous threat intelligence updates. The vendor states that even for resource-limited IT security teams, AlienVault USM can be affordable, fast to deploy, and easy to use. It eliminates the need to deploy, integrate, and maintain multiple point solutions in the data center.

Smart, automated data collection & analysis: USM Anywhere automatically collects and analyzes data across the attack surface, helping to quickly gain centralized security visibility without the complexity of multiple disparate security technologies.

Automated threat detection powered by AT&T Alien Labs: With threat intelligence provided by AT&T Alien Labs, USM Anywhere is updated automatically to stay on top of evolving and emerging threats, so the security team can focus on responding to alerts.

Incident response orchestration with AlienApps: USM Anywhere supports a growing ecosystem of AlienApps, enabling the user to orchestrate and automate actions towards other security technologies, able to respond to incidents quickly and easily.

AlienVault USM Features

Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) Features

Has featureCentralized event and log data collection
Has featureCorrelation
Has featureEvent and log normalization/management
Has featureDeployment flexibility
Has featureIntegration with Identity and Access Management Tools
Has featureCustom dashboards and workspaces
Has featureHost and network-based intrusion detection
Additional Features
Has featureAlienVault Open Threat Exchange

AlienVault USM Screenshots

AlienVault USM Videos (2)

Watch AlienVault USM Anywhere: Five Essential Cloud Security Capabilities in a Single SaaS Platform

Watch See How We're Pushing the Outer Limits of Security

AlienVault USM Downloadables

AlienVault USM Competitors

AlienVault USM Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Essentials$1,075per month
Standard$1,695per month
Premium$2,595per month

AlienVault USM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat

AlienVault USM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global

Frequently Asked Questions

What is AlienVault USM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Correlation and Event and log normalization/management and Host and network-based intrusion detection highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses AlienVault USM?

The most common users of AlienVault USM are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.