Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS) Reviews

154 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure DevOps Server is being used across the organization as a defect/bug tracking system for IT projects similar to Jira. The business problems it addresses are mainly related to issue tracking and traceability. There is a multitude of IT deployments at our company, and hence, lots of QA/UAT testing. When defects are captured during these phases, they are logged in Azure DevOps Server and tracked.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2019
Kellie Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am currently using Azure DevOps Server with a client on a scrum project to build a business application. In the company, Azure DevOps Server is mostly used by our specific project but does have other users and different projects. It helps manage the scrum process and provides organization and clarity to a project with many moving parts and members.
Read Kellie Crawford's full review
October 15, 2019
F A | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It was used as an Application Lifecycle Management (ALM) system that takes care of all aspects of software development from planning, requirements gathering to coding, testing, deployment, and maintenance. Also as a Source Code Control(SCC), Bug Tracking, Project Management, and Team Collaboration platform.
SDLC Management (SDLC – Software Development Life Cycle):
  • Software Team Collaboration
  • Source Code Management
  • Supports Agile, Scrum, CMMI
  • Bug Tracking
  • Integrated Test Tools
  • Automated Builds
Read F A's full review
October 07, 2019
Mark Orlando | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Azure DevOps to manage and store all our corporate source code and deploy our applications to a string of various environments from development to production. In addition, we use Azure DevOps on a daily basis to manage our agile-based projects. Azure DevOps is used to track and follow the progress of customer support tickets as well. Our business analysts use the Agile Project Management feature to log user stories.
Read Mark Orlando's full review
October 04, 2019
Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the Azure Dev Ops server throughout the IT department of our organization. It is utilized by Business Analysts, Scrum Masters, Developers, and QA. We have Git integration enabled and it has been an awesome experience with its integration to our source code. I especially love the built-in ability in the latest version to perform source code wide string searches. This makes it exceptionally easy to find code references and delve into new areas quickly. Aside from source control, it is our UI interface for all of our SCRUM project management needs. We create all of our tasks on the work items board and it makes it easy to see the progress of the overall team. Overall it's just been a great experience and I can't think of any complaints.
Read Brendan McKenna's full review
August 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure DevOps server is being utilized as a centralized tool for our organization's code & release management. All departments in the organization have their own repositories where they check-in their codes. Azure DevOps server along with GIT integration is serving as a central code repository for our organization. Also its widget integration and inbuilt templates to automate code build and release from almost any tech stack is worthy to have it as a DevOps tool.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Source control for application code, for the most part. For database code, it integrates well with Red Gate software. Besides scripting out database schema, Red Gate will even script out static data so it can be source controlled as well within TFS/ADS. My previous employer used TFS/ADS to automate builds and as a ticketing system.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure DevOps is being used by the entire company. We use that to build our build and release pipeline to continually release our deployment.
For our department, we build infrastructure with Terraform and deploy it to the Google Cloud Platform. It solves our problem of not having a CI/CD pipeline. It makes our development cycle much faster.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Azure as one of our cloud providers for a few months. Not all departments in my company are using it but a few of the critical applications that need multi-cloud for managing resilience are using it. How these departments use it is for an end to end infrastructure on the cloud and set up and launch an app in Azure.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Azure DevOps server is used within our IT department. We use it to have simplified server management and improved connectivity with remote sites. It also allows us to save money, as we may have options to pay per use or month-to-month. It is also hosted on-prem, which is beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our IT department uses Azure DevOps Server to manage all our projects and for software development.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2019
Vaibhav Choksi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Dell Technologies uses Team Foundation Server for managing multiple projects across the North America region and rolling out in all other regions. If you use Visual Studio for development, TFS, or its online equivalent VSTS, you can have a fairly seamless end-to-end integration. Out of the box, it provides code management, testing, work hierarchy in agile formats, automated build, and deployment.

Dell manages source code, project reporting, engineering progress tracking and release management for agile software development. Microsoft TFS is also leveraged by the Product Management group to define and manage product requirements and managing the technical backlog. TFS really makes it easier to perform an end-to-end integration, reporting, tracking, code management, automated build, and deployment, etc.
Read Vaibhav Choksi's full review
December 03, 2018
Michael Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently managing a large project and we use TFS to manage bugs, code and releases. It is only being used by the technical team but others are coordinating with us to make sure their bugs make it into the system. As well, we are using data from the system to routinely give updates to management on the status of the project as well as any concerns or risks.
Read Michael Martinez's full review
December 17, 2018
Vinicius Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Team Foundation Server in the Information Systems Department in our company. All developers have access to Team Foundation Server to do code versioning. We use it integrated with Visual Studio to check-in and check-out our projects' code. We also use the web interface to navigate between code versions and to manually download code when necessary.
Read Vinicius Lima's full review
April 16, 2018
Markus Hopfenspirger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Team Foundation Server as Source Control Managment System and for automated Builds and Tests. We don't use the WorkItem System of Team Foundation Server. We Used it a couple of years ago, but it was to complicated. Right now we just use Trello with a Scrum AddOn for Task and Backlog Planning. Right now only our Developers are using Team Foundation Server.
Read Markus Hopfenspirger's full review
July 23, 2018
Lavanya Elluri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Team Foundation Server is used for version control of Microsoft .net applications, SSIS, SSRS. Also, TFS is used for tracking tasks, bugs and change requests.
Read Lavanya Elluri's full review
February 05, 2018
Luca Campanelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my organization Team Foundation Server is used to better manage all projects and application packages. Having several developers in place and having to work on multiple projects Team Foundation Server allows you to have complete control of all developments and to manage independently and with order every release and every package developed without loss of data or misalignments.
Read Luca Campanelli's full review
February 02, 2018
Brian Willis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for our software development team. Team size is 8. It is being used as source control for .NET applications and as a continuous integration server. It is being used on site and also by our offshore partner developer team in Mexico. It helps us track versioning and collaborate with the peace of mind that we control the code.
Read Brian Willis's full review
December 01, 2017
Rich Mephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Team Foundation Server (TFS) is used by the development and test teams at Peppermint Technology. It is used for management of our source code and we also take advantage of the automated build functionality. We also use it for storing all of our release user stories, tracking enhancements and bugs as well as taking advantage of the project management tools to support our agile development process.
Read Rich Mephan's full review
October 27, 2017
Peter Anderson BEng MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Team Foundation Server as a hub for our in-house software development. It allows the development team to centralise software issues, feature requests and testing.

Apple Trailer Download:

Read Peter Anderson BEng MCSA's full review
October 26, 2017
Erik Sheafer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using TFS in our software division as a source control for code and DB objects. It allows us most importantly to keep a history of our code. Secondly, we can do deploys from this environment out to our many environments.
Read Erik Sheafer's full review
April 04, 2017
Roxanna Aramjoo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it across the organization. We use TFS to manage projects beginning with the Business recording requirements, rating them by Priority and approving. IT utilizes TFS for managing Projects, versioning of code, Management of Test scripts. Utilizing the tool allows us full traceability.
Read Roxanna Aramjoo's full review
March 13, 2017
Erin Hinnen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Team Foundation Server (TFS) is being utilized by many different departments within our organization. We personally use it to track tasks, user stories, bugs, releases, and test cases. Developers associate specific check-ins with bugs/user stories within TFS which, when pushed to our staging environments, are then assigned to QA/UAT for review. User stories and bugs are tracked as release scope for regular releases. The ability to associate releases/user stories/bugs in many different scenarios is priceless. It allows us to create different metrics/queries to measure success and potential failure, as well as to analyze what went well or what went wrong. TFS can be confusing for those new to the field or those who are older and used to other programs, but once the learning curve is achieved, the user tends to take well to the program.
Read Erin Hinnen's full review
April 04, 2017
Marcus Felling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Team Foundation Server (TFS) is used as an Application Management Lifecycle suite by PMO, Software Development, and Information Technology. TFS ensures that software initiatives drive overall business value.
Read Marcus Felling's full review
June 10, 2016
Tiffany Seeman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Team Foundation Server was being used as the central repository for all organization application assets (Requirements, Code, and Test Suites). Each application is used by different users depending on job title and role but only within the IT departments. It addresses the issue of having multiple repositories for each kind of asset needed to develop projects and applications. The organization can now link together requirements to code pieces, stored queries to code, and test cases to code and requirements to makes sure all pieces of the project have been fulfilled before go-live.
Read Tiffany Seeman's full review

What is Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS)?

AzureDevOps Server (formerly Team Foundation Server, or TFS) is a test management and application lifecycle management tool, from Microsoft's Visual Studio offerings. To license Azure DevOps Server an Azure DevOps license and a Windows operating system license (e.g. Windows Server) for each machine running Azure DevOps Server.

Azure DevOps Server (formerly TMS) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No