DreamHost Reviews

15 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Stephen Steinberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

DreamHost is the perfect balance of price vs. performance - and an A+ for the outstanding support team!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DreamHost to host our static websites - content WordPress websites, corporate one-page websites, etc. Because these websites are mostly informational and don't directly drive any revenue, we valued a hosting provider that could keep our overhead costs and time to a minimum. DreamHost's managed hosting solutions fit our needs perfectly and we've been happy using them.
  • Customer service is industry-best. We've never had a problem that wasn't solved by them almost immediately.
  • Their dashboard is extremely easy to use and doesn't cause any confusion at all.
  • Their website speeds are good but not great. In an age when speed is important, they are good enough, especially for the price.
  • They have a great backup feature.
  • We've had issues in the past with compatibility migrating websites over (from Bluehost specifically).
  • We've had issues of WordPress updates crashing our server, but a quick call to support fixes everything immediately.
  • Their pricing structure and different packages are a bit confusing to choose from.
If you're not too technical, don't want to spend time managing a server and want something quality while sticking to a budget, DreamHost is the best it can get. We may be able to save money by switching to something like AWS, but for our usage it doesn't totally make sense even with potential cost-savings and improved speeds. The support and ease of use cannot be overstated here.
Read Stephen Steinberg's full review
Carlos Eduardo de Souza | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Great service for an affordable price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dreamhost is our main hosting solution, since 2006, and we're offering their services to our clients as well. We have dozens of websites and it works really well for us.
  • Panel is easy to use
  • Flexibility to configure our websites and domains
  • It's affordable
  • The customer support is very attentive and helpful
  • They could have better deploy solutions for not so experienced users
  • More integration with external services to automate some tasks
  • Better ways to track hosting performance
  • The user management could be easier to understand
It works really well for small or even medium scaled projects. If you need something fast and easy to use, it's great. You're able to host how many sites you want, create users and use some tools like Wordpress with "one-click" installs.
But if you need some scalable solution for a big project, maybe it's not as good as AWS, Azure and Google Cloud, since their pricing policies are much better for those cases.
Read Carlos Eduardo de Souza's full review
Derek Letellier | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2018

Solid, reliable web host despite lack of phone support and recent downtime with attacks.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dreamhost currently hosts my company's website on a virtual private server using the Wordpress platform. We've also used Dreamhost as our web host of choice for client websites. Dreamhost has provided us fast and reliable space on the web for prospective customers to find us, for eCommerce and online payments, and other web-based integrations and applications.

Lately they've been off their game in a lot of ways. I have six websites with them, and five of those sites have had major issues in which my clients have experienced major downtime or data loss. Their support staff has been unable to answer tickets in a timely manner, sometimes taking days to respond I assume because of the volume of tickets. They've gone from being a steady force in the web hosting world to an unreliable average provider trending downward.
  • Linux-based Web Hosting
  • Wordpress one-click installs
  • Security certificate one-click installs
  • Webmail Servers
  • Customer Service
  • Telephone Support (or lack thereof)
  • Email reliability
  • Recent uptime
  • Delay in resolving issues
Dreamhost was previously a great web host with reliable service and top-notch features, but I can no longer recommend them. If you're looking for web hosting on a Linux platform (such as running PHP or platforms like Wordpress, Jooma, or Drupal), with simple pricing services, then this is the great service for you. One big downside is lack of phone customer support. This is especially frustrating because of their many issues the last few weeks, which aren't easily resolved or addressed by their team.
Read Derek Letellier's full review
Bruce Emmerling | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2018

A powerful hosting service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dreamhost is used for hosting a Drupal based CMS site. The site is a public portal for services and information resources. The hosting service helps provide a solid presence with limited downtime or security problems with its Linux based servers.
  • Dreamhost has very good hosting plans that can be matched for different levels of hosting needs and expected web traffic bandwidth.
  • The hosting service is very friendly for coders and those needing to tinker "under the hood" with their sites.
  • Great uptime service with limited technical issues.
  • Dreamhost may not be the best solution for users with limited web hosting knowledge.
  • The service doesn't offer great technical support and lacks customer support by phone.
  • The service may not be the cheapest among hosting providers.
Dreamhost is really well suited for different types of web hosting. Its unlimited data bandwidth plans can really help a company with an e-commerce site flourish without fears of limited bandwidth. The service also provides free SSL certificates for added security. It is also great for web developers that want to create a specialized site using coding tools such as Subversion.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
Jim Rubenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2017

Optimized WordPress hosting without breaking the bank

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DreamHost for deploying WordPress sites, exclusively. Utilizing DreamHost's "DreamPress" offering allows the flexibility of a self-hosted installation (install whichever plugins you like, have direct access to the site code and configuration) while getting some of the optimization features of a hosted WordPress platform (eg, varnish caching, optimization, resource allocation, etc).
  • Automatic WordPress updates
  • Site provisioning and set-up
  • Reasonably available customer support
  • The web interface for managing WordPress deployments, command line users, domains, and SSL certificates has the most room for improvement.
DreamHost's services are best targeted towards personal sites or small to medium sized business sites for businesses that don't have a full-time IT staff to manage WordPress or the infrastructure that goes along with it. If the requirements of the web site/application exceed that of a simple webserver and mysql database (eg, memcached, redis, etc, or other custom services), DreamHost's services are likely to be lacking. Which is not to say you couldn't use those services with the DreamHost deployment, just that they're unavailable from the same vendor, and as such there will be a performance penalty when utilizing them cross-vendor.

More technical natured folk who want to get into optimizing performance of their site on the server level (beyond the software that DreamHost provides, and the actual application software) will want a more robust solution. Larger deployments of sites (WordPress or otherwise) where the deployment is more advanced than a simple application server, will likely also want to look elsewhere.
Read Jim Rubenstein's full review
Christopher Power | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2017

DreamHost Above the Competition

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Francis Lewis High School we use dreamhost to host a large number of student run websites. It is being monitored by me, the teacher, but 90 students have access to updating and revising the website and re-uploading new files to update the website. We use dreamhost both for hosting and for registering new domains.

The business problem it addresses is the issues that students run into each year. Our seniors need personal websites for themselves for their future resumes, to host video introductions and portfolios. In addition, students utilize the the websites in their classes. Many classes have a website that illustrates the content covered, displays the curriculum and shows student work. Dreamhost provides the platforms for hosting those sites and using plug-ins for Wordpress our students can effectively manage their own websites daily.
  • Dreamhost provides great support. Every question I have asked I have heard back from them within 24 hours.
  • Dreamhost sends you updates via email as your hosting and domain expiration get close. They assure that you are aware that you need to update your hosting and domain.
  • Dreamhost has an easy to use interface that assures it is simple to navigate for simple management of content and websites.
  • I would like to see MOODLE re-installed as a plug-in. Most educators use MOODLE so this plug in is important.
DreamHost is well suited for small businesses. As an art director that needs to manage multiple websites and client domains, it is important to use DreamHost for structure and organization. When working with clients, it is important to be able to manage each client individually. You can have private servers, allow each website to redirect to any other site desired, and each can easily be given multiple emails. When working with various clients, being able to be quick to update the website for clients is important, DreamHost provides that.
Read Christopher Power's full review
Nathan Arthur | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2017

DreamHost Will Help You Sleep Better At Night

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the college and academy where I worked, we used DreamHost to manage our main web presence and domain name registration. This allowed for us to have one place to manage everything related to our web presence. DreamHost's one-click installs allowed us to spin up new projects quickly. It's automatic WordPress updates allowed us to spend less time worrying that we were missing an important security patch. DreamHost generally has very good support, which allowed us to spend less time troubleshooting.
  • DreamHost lets you manage everything in one place--hosting, databases, domain names, email forwarders and inboxes, etc. This can make it much easier to keep track of all the important aspects of your web presence.
  • DreamHost's one-click installs of many popular web products, including WordPress, makes it very easy to start a new website.
  • DreamHost has very responsive support, which makes solving many problems much easier.
  • There was one instance where DreamHost support caused unnecessary downtime because they misread my request. Unfortunately I don't have access to that account anymore (it was an old employer) so I don't remember the details. To avoid this, make it very clear whether you're just asking a question or want support to handle it (they can be quite eager to fix the problem even when you've just asked a question), and be VERY clear what you need when doing the wrong thing may cause serious problems.
DreamHost is well-suited to people who have moderate to high levels of experience in web administration. It has all the tools you need to get the job done, plus some (like one-click installs) that can make your job much easier. It's also very convenient to have everything (including email config, databases, and domain registration) within one dashboard. DreamHost is also good for a beginner who wants to learn. The learning curve is real, but support is always helpful, and, again, having everything in one place is a plus for the learner. If a beginner just wants to throw up a website and isn't interested in learning the technical details of website administration and DNS, DreamHost is not the best solution. Such a person would be better served by finding a fully-hosted and managed software-as-a-service solution, such as WordPress.com, Weebly, SquareSpace, etc.


Read Nathan Arthur's full review
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2017

One-click installers are really nice and easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Dreamhost myself since 2008. I started my first blog there by using their WordPress service with one click installation. At the time, I wanted to start sharing my knowledge but did not have too much time to set up my own infrastructure for blogging. It was really easy to get my blog with custom domain up and running.
  • One click installers work really well.
  • When I needed support it was really effective.
  • As a new customer, it was really easy and fast to get what I wanted (WordPress in a shared hosting).
  • If you want to deploy something that needs more tuning and is not a one-click installer it will take some time.
  • As any shared hosting, the libraries will be outdated because they can't update it without breaking many things.
  • Sometimes my blog was unavailable for some time without reason. Probably problems with bad neighbors.
If you need something that they already have a one-click installer for, and is not that mission critical for your business, I would really recommend starting with DreamHost. I have no regrets about starting to blog using their WordPress service some years ago. With some clicks, I got my domain, email, and blog up and running.
Read Willian Molinari's full review

About DreamHost

DreamHost is a website hosting service with features such as managed VPS hosting, public cloud computing, and dedicated servers.
Categories:  Website Hosting

DreamHost Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No