GitHub Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 109)

Ronald Melendez | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2018

GitHub Rocks your code

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is a great solution to have version control in your application, I think that for any programming team it is essential to have this type of tool, it is essential since you can have your project in the cloud and you can define work teams for projects, define security options by project and give access to the code to your collaborators, it also solves many problems with clients since you can configure several deployment environments and versions of your application so the client can have an idea of how the implementation of your application is going . This is a tool that is always present in the IT development teams.
  • Platform that serves not only to store code in the cloud but also for deployment in pre-production environments.
  • You can have a private project for free, then you can make a plan update. The cost is not very high.
  • In particular I do not like the desktop version, since I think that more profit is derived from the tool working directly from the bash with console command, it is much more precise and timely
  • They should have a configuration guide available on their website, as there are advanced configurations that not many people manage and it is a bit difficult to implement such solutions.
  • You have a single private project for free, if you need to have other projects privately you have to have a paid account.
When you are in large projects, which have a lot of developers and layers within the project it is ideal to have a code version driver, such as GitHub since you can control your versions and give access by pull request to those who can edit the code and upload to the cloud in these scenarios GitHub becomes your best tool, plus you can have backups of your work in the cloud and use this in any computer, now if you have a small application and few developers and you do not need integration of this work, it is not really It is so necessary since the strength of this software is the integration of online code.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
Peter Tantono | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2018

GitHub Easy SCSS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was a technical project manager for a big automotive client. My role was to create educational simulations for automotive technicians. In doing so, I played a team leader role in storing repositories/source code for each of the projects that I manage. We were concerned about longevity, security and management of code and GitHub addressed all of the above.
  • Version control
  • Code Checkout and check-in
  • Security
  • Single Sign-On
  • Accessibility - even for developers that are outside of our organization
  • Integration with open source project management
  • I wish to see more hooks developed for project management platforms
  • Cost Control
GitHub is awesome for IT or Development projects or any digital projects. It is not suited for, let’s say, Home Improvement projects because those projects tend to be waterfall based instead of agile.
Read Peter Tantono's full review
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2018

Distributed source code management tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is one of the best distributed version control tools I've ever used. GiHub makes it easier to use Git from a Graphical Interface. It is widely used across all the platforms in our organization. It unifies and maintains the code repository from different developers. We deploy the code to production from our centralized GitHub repository.
  • Maintain distributed code contributors to a centralized repository.
  • Visualize the changes made along with contributor's ID.
  • Easy to deploy code from GitHub repo to production boxes.
  • Blame/raw features are unique in GitHub.
  • Making changes for the historic commit is difficult. I think there is room for improvement.
  • Cannot load more than 100 MB of data at once.
  • Contributions to the private repositories are not accounted as expected.
GitHub is well suited for maintaining centralized code repository while developers can work on individual local offline repo and contribute upon completion. It is very easy to integrate with various IDE like eclipse, intellij and many more. It provides various security features and additional functionalities like webhooks. It is less appropriate during historical code modification and loading huge files.
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review
Collin Berg | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Github is the gateway to better team management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used github for side projects and hosting a company wordpress theme for a few years. On a personal level, github is great for saving projects and showcasing the different languages you are proficient in. We use it for our platform and to make sure we have a place to review our code as a team. I use it in each and every project so that i can always look back and track progress, or roll back incase I break something. If you aren't using git in some form on a project, you leave yourself vulnerable to mistakes.
  • Githubs does a great job of visually showing commit history.
  • The UI is clean and easy to navigate through. It has a lot of useful features no matter how small. Such as assigning issues/pull requests, labels and milestones.
  • Gist is a great tool for keeping quick, short snippets in a central location
  • The online community surrounding github makes it one of the best learning resources.
  • No three view for each repo. They have extensions for work arounds, but it intutive and should be a main feature.
  • If someone is new to GitHub, one of the challenges is learning all the ins and outs with the github model, which requires practice and time.
  • Unless you pay for github. there are no private repo's which is sad.
Github is great for working solo or with a team on a project. If you do have a team working on a project, getting files synced between all parties can be a real hassel, and doing it without some form of git is dangerous. Github allows team members to review each others work, and make sure they don't overwrite each others work on accident.
Read Collin Berg's full review
Justin Reynard | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2018

GitHub is amazing for collaboration, no matter the size of your company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My companies use github for collaboration. It makes it really easy to keep everyone on the same page, even if they're working across the world! We have people in Los Angeles, Phoenix, Chicago and London all working together through programming and project management tools included inside github!
  • Github is amazing for people with experience in programming. The public issue trackers have a wealth of information where I don't usually even need to go to stackoverflow anymore for help since the problem/solution probably exist
  • They give back to the community as well with amazing applications and tools like Atom and Electron.
  • Github's user interface is better than all the others, which is why many others just straight up copy it.
  • Their project management tools are constantly getting better but I would like to see them be a viable (lightweight!) Jira replacement.
The code isn't on your computer, so if your computer breaks or a programmer quits (or your house burns down) you always have a backup. But this can be a con, as well, if you work for a company that doesn't allow the code to leave the building (but do offer an enterprise plan!)
Read Justin Reynard's full review
Mamoru Fujinoki, PMP, CSM, ITILF, LSSGB | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2018

The de-facto standard source control

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use GitHub as my source control service. I can easily track the code change, branch the projects, and go back to the previous change. It can also share the project files, collaborate with others, and showcase my coding experience. Also, I can get open source codes from other developers to use and to modify for new projects.
  • Source control
  • Programming collaboration
  • Developers community to share knowledge base
  • User interface
  • Free private repository
  • Language localization
It is good for especially open source projects. You can share and showcase the code publicly. However, this is not suitable if you do not want to share the code with others unless you pay for private repositories. And probably it is not suitable for projects that are for your clients and internal projects.
Read Mamoru Fujinoki, PMP, CSM, ITILF, LSSGB's full review
Andrew Vawdrey | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2018

GitHub is best thing since sliced bread

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is being used across all of our development and IT teams. It is being used to manage our code repos and managing out pull requests made by all of our users. It has been great in rolling out clean code and it is easy to manage, roll back and keep our repos going.
  • Easy to review, approve/reject and roll out new code
  • Great for large teams working on one code repo
  • Has great integrations with many popular Git clients like SourceTree or GitKraken
  • Bit of a learning curve but great once you get past it
GitHub is a must have for anyone that needs code management, code reviews, and code merging. Github is a perfect solution that will make your code repos delightful to work with. Github gives great access to your team to view your code changes and to approve or suggest changes. If you need changes you can easily edit it right in the browser UI.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
Ruirong Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2018

Github review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Github is being used as the code repository across the whole organization. It addresses the problem of code sharing/management within the company
  • Easy to use
  • Good support
  • used by other engineers in the industry
  • Might be hard to pick up from a different background
  • No phone support
If you need to start a new code project, or you need to start storing some files that will be shared among the organization and you need versioning of the files, GitHub is the way to go.
Read Ruirong Chen's full review
Jeremy Hawes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

GitHub's Free Version is a must for any new or veteran developer and the paid versions have useful features worth considering for development when version control is a must

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use GitHub as it relates to those external from our company. It allows us to use their utilities/apps, contribute to them, subscribe to them, and ultimately collaborate with them in any further development that is needed. It is also a great place for us to store internal projects that we would like to be open source and available to other contributors in the development community.
  • Version Control
  • Cloning applications
  • Merging code/development changes
  • Viewing/Presenting code changes
  • Built-in tutorial into the UI
Whether a private or public project (though private costs money) GitHub is extremely well suited for a web-based, version controlled repository for any online application.
Read Jeremy Hawes's full review
Andrew Shell | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2017

You can't beat GitHub for Open Source projects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're a SaaS company and we use GitHub to host all of our private and public git repos. It helps us easily manage collaboration between our internal team of developers as well as the contract developers we hire from time to time. It allows us to easily see a history of changes to our code, but also helps with tracking issues and doing code reviews.
  • Pull Requests are a great way for developers to work on their own forks and then when it's ready to merge they can submit a pull request and another member of the team can review the code before it gets merged.
  • Reliable hosting. I've never had any kind of significant issue with availability of my repos. Once in a while, there might be a hiccup, but it's usually resolved within 5 minutes.
  • Having a wiki available for each repository is a great way to add documentation for your code. If there are instructions for deploying, or information explaining the reasoning for doing something, it's great to be able to just add a page to the wiki.
  • There are certain developers whose work I rely heavily on. I wish it was easier to browse and search all the repositories they contribute to.
  • I'd like to see more granular control of how I watch repositories that I don't own. If I choose "watching", I get notified every time something happens. I'd like to be able to choose what events I want to be notified about (new push, new tag, etc). I'd also like to be able to choose a digest notification where I get one email a day with the events I'm interested in.
  • It would be great if there was a way to automatically keep forks up to date. It has support for merging, so why couldn't a toggle to keep a fork updated with the upstream. That way everytime a commit gets pushed it would get rebased into my fork.
GitHub is the best if you're doing any kind of open source development. It's the largest community and public repos are free. If someone is planning on creating a lot of private repos, Bitbucket is less expensive. If you need even one private repo, an organization on GitHub has to pay $25/month while Bitbucket is unlimited private repos for up to 5 users for free.
Read Andrew Shell's full review
Anand Chhatpar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2017

GitHub has become the industry standard for good reasons.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Github is our primary repository for all the code in the company. All developers push their code to our github repo first and then issue pull requests to merge the code into a master branch that is then deployed to our production servers. The main problems github solves for us are: (1) speeding up code reviews, (2) Helping merge production-ready code from different developers, (3) track a version history so we can always go back and check what the production server code looked like at any point in history. Frankly, for a software focused company with multiple developers, github is extremely central to all operations and I cannot imagine any modern organization operating without it. Managing our own repo outside of github is a tremendously painful and expensive operation -- especially the part about keeping the stack up to date to ensure it is secure at all levels.
  • Code reviews are easy to do with github. Developers can comment on each others' code and approve or reject changes in a pull request. They can also request specific improvements to the code before it is merged,
  • Github helps merge production-ready code from different developers. They provide automated merging based on git and you can also do many operations that would normally need the command line directly from their web-based UI.
  • Tracking and searching through the version history of the code is 10x faster and easier with github compared to other git servers/clients.
  • Adding collaborators to the organization and managing access credentials for incoming and outgoing employees is particularly easy with Github.
  • Their built-in continuous integration tool lacks the sophistication and configurability of a mature tool like CircleCI.
  • They don't provide easy ways to deploy specific branches to specific servers. You have to connect your own deployment system (like capistrano or heroku's pipeline) manually to your github repo.
Github is really useful for companies with multiple developers that have to collaborate on the same code base. Whenever you introduce coupling or overlaps among the tasks of developers, you will need a Git repo and there's currently (as of mid-2017), no better system for managing your repositories in the cloud.

I'd say Github is less appropriate if you have just 1 or 2 developers, although if you expect the team to grow in the future, it would still be wise to use github from the start.
Read Anand Chhatpar's full review
Charles Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2017

GitHub - the standard by which any hosted VCS should be judged

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GitHub across our entire (small) software development organization for software configuration management (version control). We also use it for dev-ops - again, for configuration management/version control. For the most part, we do not use the wiki or issue tracking functions - just the core git functionality. Our developers also use GitHub when forking open-source tools that we use in order to develop enhancements or bug fixes.
  • Hosting git repositories - GitHub is rock solid, and very reliable. It's much easier than maintaining our own servers.
  • The collaboration features - pull requests and code reviews. Having the complete framework for facilitating the collaboration, including email notifications, is great.
  • The user (collaborator) mechanism is simple and straightforward. In our organization, we do not need complicated access control facilities.
  • The integration with other services (e.g. Slack) is great.
  • I sometimes wish I had a better view of the various branches in our repository. However, I can address that need with client-side tools.
  • With open-source projects that are (semi) abandoned, it can be hard to locate a good fork to base one's work or fork off of. That's not really a problem with GitHub as much as a problem with projects that get abandoned.
GitHub works great for our small team where we don't have a lot of bureaucracy. I can imagine that in larger, more complex organizations they might want more controls and auditing - i.e., things one finds in a centralized version control system.
Read Charles Anderson's full review
Julio Toledo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

What's the Diff? Ask GitHub

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GitHub across the company to distribute source code, track changes, collaborate with clients and subcontractors, and store release versions. GitHub is great for this kind of stuff, especially for open source/public repositories. While there is a paid option for private repositories, we don't always use GitHub for those types of projects.
  • "Diff" code bases so that you can easily identify which lines were added/deleted or modified between commits.
  • "Fork" code bases so that you/others can take projects into different directions.
  • Collaborate with others, including developers and customers and track issues and bugs.
  • Initial learning curve, especially for clients and non-traditional developers.
  • UI not terribly intuitive, perhaps there should be more ways to customize what's visible to users depending on their role.
GitHub is ideally suited for web development languages and open source projects. It is also ideally suited for code distribution and team collaboration. Privacy/security, even for paid private/local code repositories, remains a concern. If your monetary investment in your source code rises above a certain level and you are interested in protecting and securing that code, then there may be other tools and methods better suited for tracking/managing that source code.
Read Julio Toledo's full review
Hugo Romani Cortes | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

Git enthusiast

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub became 2 to 3 years ago the new standard developer repository. Like most companies, we came from CVS/SVN world which used to fit our needs but with some gaps. Thanks to the distributed architecture of Git, developers can now manage their own repositories and merge their modifications with master or dedicated branches. With modern tools and modern approach (CI/CD) GitHub is the perfect solution for multi developers teams. The process of pull request is now standard in our organization and enables better code quality with additional review step.
  • GitHub is capable of integrating with modern devops approach (ci/cd) and most of the tools in such flows (jenkins or Bamboo).
  • GitHUb is capable of generating notifications for specific cases (i.e. webhooks) that allow triggering builds or deployments.
  • GitHub is following the modern way of sharing content in public or private spaces. We can find the same ideas with dockerhub, vagrantcloud, etc...
  • Until now, we didn't face any limitations in our current job. The only evolution we foresee is an evolution of the command line cli which should be easier to use
  • An additional evolution would be around the documentation of repositories (i.e. README.md files) that should be more documented for nicer presentations.
GitHub is becoming a standard for source control management. This job is well executed. A developer team can be small or large, each developer manages their own version of source code. The pull request allows to merge branches after manual code review.

GitHub is not appropriate for document versioning (i.e. Word, PDF, etc...) as we are not able to merge these kinds of documents. It's preferable to use alternative solutions (Alfresco, SharePoint, etc...)
Read Hugo Romani Cortes's full review
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

GitHub offers great source control with many handy features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is providing source control for our engineering department. We use it to manage source code for multiple releases, and our QA team uses it as well to ensure their work does not get lost. It also provides functionality for code reviews so we can ensure that our colleagues are following our coding standards.
  • GitHub has great code review features. You can approve or deny someone's pull request and add comments.
  • GitHub makes it easy to do a diff between changes requested in a Pull Request.
  • GitHub makes it easy to create multiple branches if need be and facilitates managing those branches.
  • The pull request interface sometimes generates an error message and requires you to use a different page to make a pull request.
  • Ignoring white space differences should be a UI option, instead, you have to know about an undocumented query string parameter (?w=1).
  • Would be nice to have a view for differences between branches, not just pull requests.
GitHub is well suited for a team of engineers, it makes it easy for team members to collaborate. For a very small team/single user, it may have more features than needed, but in general it should meet the needs of any team out there. It has the ability to create private repositories so others can't see your code.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
Joel Tanzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2017

GitHub: The Octocat is still going strong

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is considered by most to be the original online host of Git repositories and has become the service of choice on which to host your code for many developers. In my own business I use GitHub as a way to manage my project code, and it has been an excellent way to establish a portfolio of work to demonstrate my development skills. It is also the way I interact with the open source community as many open source projects, including React, Angular, Atom Text Editor and a ream of others, are hosted on GitHub. It solves the often challenging problem of version control for your development teams by allowing you to easily create and manage repositories, and to assign access level control to the repo such that only those that require it can merge, branch or approve pull requests.
  • GitHub has an easy to use interface that allows you to create and customize the settings of your repositories in minutes. You can quickly push your code up to your new repo and assign team members to varying roles and access to perform different operations as required. This is important for reducing the time you have to spend on managing your teams.
  • The documentation for the service is clearly and thoughtfully written with an eye for detail, and has terrific tutorials to help you progress from a novice to an advanced user.
  • The service makes it easy to contribute to other projects and submit pull requests to get your code updates into the repository. This is important both for collaboration and for contributing to open source projects.
  • It has an excellent search interface to locate repositories that you can review to learn and develop your technical skills and understanding of coding practices.
  • Github offers free accounts to anyone and you can create as many repositories as you want. However, on the free plan all repositories are public; if you want to make your repo private (which may be necessary to protect your intellectual property), you will have to upgrade to a paid account. This business model may not be sustainable forever given that other services, like Atlassian Bitbucket, offer private repos on their paid accounts, and for many businesses this may be a more compelling and cost-saving option.
  • The search feature, although powerful, can be a bit frustratingly limited at times, such as when you are looking for a specific expression within the code of a repository.
  • Because it is based on Git, an often challenging toolset with a steep learning curve for command-line users, it can be daunting for some users to wrap their heads around the concepts of version control, although to be fair GitHub does offer decent GUI applications to make this easier.
  • It can be a bit too easy at times to make a critical error that writes over an earlier change to your code which can be difficult and confusing to fix.
GitHub is an excellent tool for developers to learn and grow their skills by reviewing other's code and observing best practices, and it is a very good resource for development teams to collaborate and manage projects. Cases where issue tracking and analytics on a project are important to a business unit are well suited for GitHub's service offerings. However, if you are a small business where private repositories are a must, you may want to look into Atlassian Bitbucket as a more economical choice.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
Rajesh P R Mangipudi | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2017

GitHub - the why and the why not

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Github is currently used by the applications and the data teams. The applications use it as a repo for their code. The data team uses it both for database deployments, for deploying across various environments and also as a .sql code change repo, using Redgate Source Control software.
  • Cloud based repo - don't have to worry about the storage
  • Many tools that work with Github so committing work is easier
  • Easy to setup the security for the repos
  • The merges are at the branch level, so every folder within the branch has to be merged. This means lot of colloboration or more branches.
GitHub is ideal for version control in cases where the project is worked upon by one team.
GitHub is not ideal for version control where there are sub projects worked by different disconnected teams - It can be done, either by lot of collaboration between teams/individuals or by creating lot of branches and merging them correctly.
Read Rajesh P R Mangipudi's full review
Gabriel Freire | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

All aboard the GitHub train!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub's being used as a platform to host and control software of various groups of students, in various departments, although mainly on the Computer Science related ones. It allows for better and more efficient collaboration between team members as every single byte of code that's changed is easily verified in a very visual manner. There used to be some problems merging code from various students in a single project but GitHub definitely played a major role in diminishing this problem.
  • Improves collaboration between team members
  • Makes it easier to implement/test new features as it removes any risk of messing with the main source code
  • Allows for better control of changes
  • Makes it easy to set and visualize the progress of the projects' goals
  • The desktop application is a bit limited in terms of more advanced options
GitHub is as amazing tool for anyone into software development. Both small and big projects work great on the platform and the same can be said about the team size. The only scenario where I don't see GitHub as essential would be a project that already had some equivalent version control system and even then the situation should be carefully analysed as not every VCS is as interesting as GitHub.
Read Gabriel Freire's full review
Randall Kelley | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2017

Go Git GitHub and Be Good To Go!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GitHub throughout our research and development teams for version control of our products and test automation. Version control has always been a finicky process and GitHub is actually very straightforward and fairly easy to use once you get rolling with it. It's been easy to share repos across remote teams, as well.
  • Quick and easy: It's easy to create a new repository and via the command line get updates push to your remote repos.
  • Command line driven: After a small learning curve using the command line to drive pushing commits to GitHub is simple.
  • Sharing: I worked with teams across the country and we're able to easily share repo's with minimal issues.
  • Learning curve: While it doesn't take long to understand the basics, I have found there have been a few "gotcha's" that I didn't foresee causing some code changes to disappear or were hard to find.
  • I have been spoiled in the past where I was usually the only one using my code, but recently I've been sharing my repo's, so I had to do versioning the right way. That was a little confusing on main vs. forked repo and why. Then there's the local repo and then syncing everything up. Takes some time to really get it.
We're a medium sized company with remote teams and we've had very good success using GitHub. I would imagine that this would scale up to larger companies just as well. Even very small companies and teams would be benefit from using GitHub. In my opinion, GitHub is well suited for any size team.
Read Randall Kelley's full review
Kevin Patrick Westropp | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2017

Advantages to GitHub

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Github powers our projects by providing a central repository for all our code, plus all changes including tools to manage and track said changes. It also provides great code review and collaboration tools to help make sure our code base is efficient and minimizes the number of defects introduced thorough out the whole development lifecycle.
  • Code Hosting in a central spot.
  • Access management.
  • Code review.
  • Code collaboration.
  • Searching through code bases
  • Tracking issues by linking to specific lines in the code base.
  • More robust wikis and readme files
Code management, code review, code collaboration
Read Kevin Patrick Westropp's full review
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2017

Unimaginably powerful code repository hosting!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is at the core of our development processes. All of our code, whether it be for a client project, an internal project, or even just a collection of shell scripts, ends up in a GitHub repository. Through GitHub's immense catalog of integrations, we're able to do amazingly-detailed code reviews and have automated continuous integration and deployment processes that fire off when we push code, reducing the time we spend managing deployments.

Pull Requests give us the ability to have intelligent conversations about code in a beautiful and intuitive interface throughout the development of a feature, and integrates directly with our peer review and approval processes.
  • GitHub provides a central place for all of an organization's code to live. This is incredibly valuable--many services are geared toward a particular type of development, but GitHub is incredibly generic and usable no matter what you're doing. If you're working with code, GitHub is likely a great place to store it.
  • GitHub facilitates all of the best features of Git within an interface that even someone who doesn't know Git can use. You can easily create and merge branches, tag deployments, etc. without needing to become involved in the underlying technologies.
  • GitHub integrates with just about everything. From Oauth logins, to direct API requests, to running event-based webhooks, GitHub covers just about any possible type of integration you could want for your code.
  • Organizations are used in weird ways that might deserve a separate concept entirely. For example, every time you want to connect something to your GitHub account, it will automatically attempt to request access to your organizations, but that might not make sense to do.
  • My main activity stream is somewhat useless to me. It may not be this way for everyone, but just because I follow a developer I'm interested in, doesn't mean I want notifications of everything they do. I'd like a more powerful main activity page when I log in.
GitHub is extremely appropriate for almost all cases involving needing to store code in the cloud, even if you don't really care about it being version controlled.

Likewise, if you do care about it being version controlled, GitHub is even more suited to the task.

The only time I'd recommend against it is if you primarily host private repositories and it would be too expensive to get enough licenses for your entire team. I find GitHub's pricing very affordable, and pay for it both personally and professionally, but some people with private repo needs and a large number of team members might prefer to host Gitlab themselves or use another alternative.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Tom Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

Customer facing role, loved GitHub.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Github to manage customer requests, set a plan with our development team, and execute and push product enhancements. We had almost all of our company using Github with customer-facing teams pushing requests and the engineering team discussing their priorities and commenting on progress.
  • Track product enhancements
  • Allows customer-facing teams and engineering team to discuss product
  • Shows a nice list of all enhancements with tagging
  • Project management
  • Some projects can get lost
  • Can't see deadlines
Perfect for smaller teams, more difficult as teams grow.
Read Tom Davies's full review
Ryan Sidebottom | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2017

Controlling Your Code with Git

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub makes it simple to work with multiple people on a certain project. Many can view the project as it is being worked on and many can help edit the project. Should anything go wrong, GitHub has the ability to track changes and restore previous versions. It also allows for the project to be worked on separately from the main thread.
  • Track changes. Each commit and push to GitHub leaves a trail of changes that were made. Should anything go wrong, it is easy to revert back to a previous commit.
  • GitHub also makes it easy for multiple people to edit the same project. People can work in different branches as well as merge each person's changes individually.
  • Github also allows repositories to be public or private. Public repositories allow everyone outside of your team to view and potentially modify your code. For an open source project, this is perfect. Should you not want your project open source, GitHub also allows it to be in a private repository which is not viewable by the public.
  • GitHub could use a better interface for merging changes between commits at the same time.
  • What could also be nice is a place in GitHub to store extensive notes outside of a readme file and commit messages.
GitHub is very well suited for team-based projects and open source projects. It fosters the perfect environment for both of those. GitHub is also extremely easy to set up and have everyone use. It is pretty standard and the choice for most programmers when they choose something for version control.
Read Ryan Sidebottom's full review
Shannon Donohue | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2017

GitHub for Version Control and Configuration Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GibHub is used by our organization as a version control tool for our code base, as well as infrastructure configuration management. There are two main methodologies when checking in code, feature branches and single trunk. Feature branches allow developers to check in code simultaneously and merge in changes made from a single feature branch. Single trunk follows the idea that all checked in changes have been through a thorough battery of tests to ensure the code is always in a deployable state.
  • Version control
  • Feature branches
  • Change auditing
I would recommend GitHub for most organizations, or some sort of Git repository. GitHub is well suited for groups of developers working on a single code base. GitHub is also well suited for configuration management if used in conjunction with Ansible or Puppet. By checking in changes to configuration management code like YAML you are able to quickly review and audit changes.
Read Shannon Donohue's full review
Ayush Choukse | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2016

Git it done!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a student and for each and every piece of code that we write for our project or assignments we upload everything to Github. I have a profile where all the academic projects and assignments are kept and updated regularly. Pretty much every student in software engineering is aware of Github and uses it as a daily tool for coding purposes.
  • The user interface is really good.
  • All the updates and analytics it shows about our work and contributions like commits and forks from other repositories.
  • It should allow usage of private repositories for at least 6-7 months at the time of creation of an account.
  • The windows software to use GitHub is very confusing. It can have more improvements in user interface.
If you are a team of students who are working on a project, then GitHub is a well-suited option. Apart from that, If you want to contribute or start an open-source project then you can create public repositories on Github. If you are looking for private repository and have a free account then Github should not be considered.
Read Ayush Choukse's full review

About GitHub

GitHub is a platform that hosts public and private code and provides software development and collaboration tools. Features include version control, issue tracking, code review, team management, syntax highlighting, etc. Personal plans ($0-50), Organizational plans ($0-200), and Enterprise plans are available. 
Categories:  Version Control

GitHub Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No