IBM Cloud Foundry Reviews

79 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Peter Nortey | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2020

Cloud Foundry Usage

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM cloud foundry is used by our IT department to mange and deploy web apps within the cloud. It is simple to manage in our staging and production process, thus we are able to focus more on development rather than managing deployments. Its salability has been able to improve our web performance.
  • Good Scaling
  • Easy to use
  • Variety of Languages
  • Not suitable for deploying large apps
  • The user interface needs improvement
IBM Cloud Foundry is good for the deployment of small applications and scales well, unlike with large apps. It is also challenging to use 3rd party apps on IBM Cloud Foundry.
Scaling has been able to increase website performance where there is a high amount of traffic.
IBM Cloud Foundry determines the appropriate virtual servers to send the app after it is deployed on the cloud.
Read Peter Nortey's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

IBM Cloud Foundry Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used as a development and runtime platform for new applications. We changed the development mode from monolith to microservices. CF supported us in this matter. By using CF it allows us to deploy fast and change the code. Further IBM is perfect to use in combination with other IBM services. All you need is to develop our code, and all other services are available in the IBM cloud.
  • Operations of the platform.
  • Leveraging from other IBM cloud services.
  • Adding external cloud services.
  • UI could be easier to navigate.
The IBM Cloud Foundry platform is the perfect starting point for creating a fast new application that needs to leverage from IBM Cloud Services like Blockchain.
IBM Cloud Foundry is always available. We can rely on it. This allows us to reduce the number of resources needed because we do not need to prepare for unavaiability or crashes. The scalability allows us to increase or decrease the infrastructure or resource consumption whenever needed.
Read this authenticated review
victor pease solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Easy move to the cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Foundry is the main repository of APIs for our organization. We are migrating some we have internally already developed in loopback and developing from scratch, and some others in other frameworks. For those already in loopback, we just check that we are taking advantage of all the new features in the cloud. For the rest, we started with a new basic ground API and start reusing most of it.
With this approach, we are increasing the API response time and availability and getting rid of local hardware.
  • Easy move from local to the cloud for web apps and APIs.
  • You can run IBM Cloud Foundry locally for testing.
  • There is a free allowance every 30 days.
  • Of course, you can take your apps back or move them to other kinds of hosting.
  • Something like a scripting way to automate start/stop your cells so you can control or divide APIs you just need for a limited time.
  • The pricing calculator is not considering the cost for the whole month.
  • The IBM SDK is now deprecated so that means your actual SDK can be supported. More clarification is required on this.
If you want to start moving your apps to the Cloud, this is a good place to start because all services required for an app have an allowance level so you can try your solution and take it back if you don't like it. Considering a database and the app in IBM Cloud Foundry (CF), you have the option to improve your app with authentication services, monitoring, and some automation. And because CF supports most popular dev environments, there is a good chance that your app is able to be moved to the cloud.
Read victor pease solano's full review
Sashikanth Vema | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

CF is easy to adopt to, but difficult to extend

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Foundry is used on IBM Cloud for applications across the organization.
  • Easy to use
  • Bind services (catalog)
  • Not easily extendable
  • Lacks in observability
Easier to deploy microservice applications. Buildpacks abstract out quite a bit of configuration. Polyglot development. Abstracts out the containers that are built for the runtimes. Difficult for AI/ML type of workloads. Lacks in observability, trying to work out a custom solution for observability. Still evolving for K8s and not sure how to handle K8 workloads.
We have a minimum number of instances which is 3. If any app instances go down, automatically a new instance is spun up. However, it's difficult to get thread dumps etc., for analysis of the failed instance.
Read Sashikanth Vema's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

CF - ease of use from development to production

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All the RESTful APIs and SPA applications are deployed to Cloud Foundry. We also use P2P security for the private services which is good and eliminates external security measures. CI/CD is much easier with CLI and infrastructure is of course not a big deal anymore.
  • Routing.
  • Ease of use.
  • IAM security applies to Cloud Foundry.
  • An option to assign a private IP for P2P security so that public routing can be avoided when needed.
Well suited for micro services and web applications.
We have Replica in another data center which is all managed by the cloud platform, however we have to route ourselves.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

IBM CF way to go!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently used across the whole organization.
  • Buildpacks
  • Easy to Manage
  • Security
  • Reliability
  • Availability
  • Services
  • User Dashboard
  • Provide easy migration from on-prem/dedicated/other clouds to CFEE
IBM Cloud Foundry is easy to use and manage. The application can be deployed on to different versions of buildpacks and managed through one dashboard. The services and features that are provided, is everything an enterprise needs. Security is also built into the provisioned services and IBM provides excellent support.
IBM cloud foundry is highly fault tolerant and created instances with high availability in mind. The replication process is simple for migrating the applications from one instance to other. Our org has benefited from this capability. Auto scaling feature is built in part of the PaaS ecosystems. The overall solution is working well for the org.
Read this authenticated review
Priya Manivannan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

Choose at your own discretion

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud Foundry is used for a few of the apps in our projects. Since this is in the cloud, it's reduced the overhead of maintaining a server dedicated for all our server requests.
  • Scales well.
  • Good for deploying small apps.
  • A variety of commands to choose from to maintain the app well.
  • Provides clear separation of organizations and spaces.
  • It frequently fails when trying to deploy larger applications that involve Meteor.
  • Mapping and unmapping require a restage, which loses the point of blue-green deployment.
  • Needs better documentation for all the functionality.
When you have a small app with lightweight packages, IBM Cloud Foundry works really well. It gets funky when meteor-like apps are highly dependent on large packages and it constantly throws StagingError or Timeout errors. It is easy to understand but some functionalities are more complex when used. We used blue-green deployment for the apps to avoid prod downtime, but the routes were still ghosting around, and only staging(timeout) fixed the routes.
Read Priya Manivannan's full review
Kim Desrosiers | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

Cloud Foundry allows you to save time and simplify your deployments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cloud Foundry to simply to manage our applications. Using Cloud Foundry allows us to deploy quickly and easily with no hassles. It is simple to manage multiple environments such as staging and production. Thus we are able to focus on development rather than managing deployments. Moreover, Cloud Foundry provides a good performance.
  • Quick setup
  • Easy to manage
  • Supports many languages
  • Better scalability options
  • More flexibility to set resources such as ram and CPU
  • Improve environment variables management
Cloud Foundry is well suited for a web application using a monolithic architecture. It works well with a dockerized application as well.

However, Cloud Foundry is not well suited for microservices architecture applications. The pricing model of Cloud Foundry is not thought with microservices in mind.
Read Kim Desrosiers's full review
Deepak Kaul | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

IBM Cloud Foundry

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Foundry to deploy multiple micro services which are a part of our product offering. It the the main deployment model we use right now across our organization.
  • Simple deployment model
  • Multiple language support
  • Good monitoring and operational support
  • Better security model, the current model is coarse grained.
Quick turnaround for deploying applications, it provides a language/runtime agnostic environment to deploy applications with a simple interface.
Read Deepak Kaul's full review
Scott Galvin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Decreased time to market leading to more innovation, faster

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We’re using these services as a POC to research the validity of our assumptions - as a way to shorten the development cycle. The freedom of turning services on and off is valuable.
  • Enabling new services and the management of those services without involving another group.
  • A wide variety of access to APIs and services
  • It simplifies our internal documentation by reducing the number of steps that need to be taken.
  • I’d love to see labels when marketing-names are used; for example, Cloudant is tough when I’m not aware what that brand is, but need to create a new database.
  • Ability to copy projects, services, data, databases between domains - so a user of the IBM cloud with a partner of ours could build and test something, and then move it over to our account when it’s ready. Maybe that already exists.
  • Easier access to third party APIs; perhaps a catalog of solutions from other vendors / a marketplace.
If the majority of connections from your applications are IBM partners, using the Cloud Foundry will accelerate your development and deployment.
Read Scott Galvin's full review
Rajneesh Sehgal | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

ia for AI

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have built our own platform on Cloud Foundry and are using it heavily for internal and external customers. We have built a service management platform and provide all services on this platform. We also use Watson capabilities on IBM Cloud and build our own chat platform for internal and external customers. This is a great platform.
  • Using for service management
  • For chatbot
  • For building our own applications
  • Enterprise service authentication
  • Scalability
  • Resiliency
It is very well suited to create our own platform to provide services to customers, as it is available to multiple locations and provides you with the option to use a lot of API from the catalog which can be consumed seamlessly. I have also seen it better than any other cloud in the market.
Read Rajneesh Sehgal's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

CF can be a start or an end, but it does not need to go away...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud Foundry has been fundamental in our initial cloud solution development, hanging over a Bluemix solution to provide the gateway / sandpit environment for our industry to quickly develop and push proof of concept pieces of work without the fear of having the normal business processes hanging over them and getting in the way with red tape.

Although we are now going in the direction of more IBM managed services where the likes of IBM Cloud, IBM Cloud Private and Multicloud Manager link better in those Kubernetes managed solutions, our time using Cloud Foundry is not over by a long shot and can/will seamlessly work with what will become our key tool stack.
Both still have their place, with CF being the better option to keep things standardized, ring fenced and easy for the end user to consume, and then the links in to the K8s services allowing for wider customization.
  • Keeps things more standardized, ring fenced and thus easier for the end user to use
  • Open source, allowing for a wide group for education, auto and support
  • Developing at pace to keep up with the ever changing needs of the industry from on / off premise, public and private
  • Wider ability for customization of applications
Tailored to the PaaS solution better than most, but still has full integration to all of the latest and greatest including push/pull from Git, and app deployment for on/off prem, private or public cloud environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

Under no circumstance would I recommend Cloud Foundry to anyone for any reason

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We have several clients with whom we have used it. We have it in production for both the front and back ends of our implementation. We have it running to serve a web app that is used as a call taking management system. We have it running to serve an application that is used for inventory management, tracking, and purchasing.
  • It is straightforward to deploy an application from the command line.
  • It is straightforward via YAML files to change the specification of what you are deploying.
  • Increasing the nodes supporting your app is easy.
  • Autoscaling is a HUGE pain and not easy.
  • The reliability is horrible.
  • The connection between other IBM services works, but is not very good eg. Cloud object store, cloud functions, etc.
It is appropriate if you are deploying a very lightweight app. It is appropriate if your application is not going to be used in production. It is horrible if you are going to deploy any type of UI that has any level of complexity. Not appropriate for complex processes. Not appropriate for high CPU operations.
We have not benefited from this capability. We decided to use Cloud Foundry because of these reasons but have literally had the exact opposite experience. We have not found that is scales well. We have found our auto scaler killing our nodes or nodes going stale and not working. We have received none of the benefits and all of the downside.
Read this authenticated review
River Hain | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2017

A review from a "not-so-technical" perspective

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While I am sure there are other orgs/teams within the company that use Bluemix, I am unfamiliar with anybody else's usage outside that of my groups. We use Bluemix for several things, but our main use thus far has been for the Conversation Service. We use this service for the dialog design of our Virtual Agent. Additionally, we are using WKS (which I hear is now no longer a part of bluemix?) for a content annotation project with the end-goal of creating somewhat of a semantic network for our content library. The broader goal here is to improve our content's findability and relevance, so after WKS we will begin piloting WDS as a content retrieval service. That being said, our primary use-case is by far the Conversation Service for dialog design.
  • Intuitive user interface makes it easy for anyone to use, regardless of their professional background.
  • A lot of the services integrate well with external platforms, APIs, and programs, not just IBM services. A lot of the competitors in this space lack this ability.
  • Maybe it is just our contract in particular, but support and help is always made available.
  • Need: VISUALIZATION CAPABILITIES! Particularly with the Conversation Service.
  • Need: Annotation capabilities for dialog nodes in Conversation Service.
  • Need: Search/querying capabilities in Conversation Service
  • Need: Clearer documentation of the S2T service. I had to use a third party website for an understanding of how to use this.
Well Suited:
- Development of information architecture/library. It enables better classification/taxonomy, leading to more intuitive findability.
- Dialog design and content retrieval for virtual agents. (e.g. a virtual agent whose content offerings are not hard-coded into the response fields, but instead require crawling/drawing from other pages/libraries)
Not Well Suited:
- Annotation/labeling/clustering of information that will be retrieved using a different search/query service.
Read River Hain's full review
John Olsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2017

Benefits to Small Startups from Bluemix

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organisation, Bluemix is providing the foundation for our enterprise apps, which we develop as mobile-first developers. The availability of push notifications, the functionality and integrity of the mobile system, as well as the overall security are the keys to its value to us.
  • Flexible development environments available, all interoperative, from Docker-based to apiconnect-based. We can use several repo-sites and keep code versions well tracked and reclaimable on any of them. The networked nature of the systems means we can develop from a world wide basis of engineers and programmers, although right now we have one Senior Software Engineer and a couple of coders, in different countries.
  • Datasources can be connected from anywhere.
  • Mobile Endpoint Security, and Server Security (meeting or exceeding 27001 and 27002) with IBM, represent resellable value to us.
  • We are a fledgling company, but as soon as we are able to afford to use the Blockchains offered by IBM, we will do so, because we can eliminate one entire class of financial (or any trust/transaction-based) risk this way.
  • With the use of Cordova we can code our front ends once and cover the web, Android and iOS platforms together with minimal fuss to tailor the code.
  • Sometimes the API Connect GUIs don't cleanly disengage after attaching models or updating schema and it is hard to know what has been written successfully and which (if any) models or tables were missed. I shouldn't have to manually check through a list of 377 models to find the ones in and out of a list on either models, folder or database tables. Printing a summary even in logs which did a "diff" sort of thing between 'task-set' and 'task-completed' (referring to attaching models or updating schema as tasks here as 'tasks').
  • Provide access to Postgres Database in Sydney datacentre for Australia.
  • Clearer documentation around setting up a secure (referring to SSL and certificate setup here) server on eg, chubby1.au-sydney.mybluemix.net.
  • Allow a ramp in pricing onto the Blockchains. We will not be able to afford it until quite a few years into production, even if we launch successfully.
For us as a start-up IT company (offering SaaS) whose entire existence revolves so far around the possibilities offered by the cloud and a PaaS like Bluemix, we are building our image on a "Mobile-First" reputation, and have the necessary skills to write our own financial recording/reporting systems, with master ledgers updated from journals, as well as the other bells and whistles required by modern enterprise apps. Bluemix allows our customers, people in businesses, to connect from the field or office, from anywhere in the world, and complete any (100%) of tasks available on the applications. Where the data to be recorded is largely text and numbers encodable in JSON format, real-time internet can be used very effectively to transmit requests and receive responses from the servers in the cloud. We arrange to save images and/or video recordings "on-device" until the user returns to an office or location where a wi-fi modem or hotspot can be connected to.
Read John Olsen's full review
Wojciech Kaminski | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2017

Good choice, some more features to equalize with others welcome

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using container services from Bluemix - CloudFoundry PaaS to manage our applications. Apps were Java wars wrapped in Docker containers. Also Softlayer VPS's were used to provide for our Cassandra cluster, where we installed and managed Cassandra instances manually. Four VPS nodes total were in use.
  • PaaS
  • Watson (did not use in prd, just saw good demos)
  • Bare metal servers
  • At the time we used there was no direct Docker offering (had to use containers via CloudFoundry api, which is another layer to learn)
  • No hosted Cassandra database offering (or similar DB, like Amazon Dynamo)
  • I was unable to use VPN link with another provider: Both sides had incompatible configurations and it was impossible to instantiate working VPN connection. Support was only able to point that the other party uses settings that are incompatible with IBM.
+ General purpose application hosting (especially that uses relational database backend)
+ Cognitive computing that leverages Watson's capabilities of it's trained models;
- Column database support for internet grade apps and data-heavy solutions is missing
- is Lambda Computing available on Watson? (not that I am fan of it, but it has been getting some attention)

Read Wojciech Kaminski's full review
Brett Bloethner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

Bluemix, promising for a small startup but a let down after further research.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were part of the IBM Global Entrepreneur program and were given the opportunity to use Bluemix or SoftLayer. We made an attempt to use Bluemix for a few small applications when were were dabbling with rebuilding the platform Meteor. If it worked out it would have been the main platform for the production distribution of the web application.
  • Bluemix makes it really easy to deploy new applications; they give you a good starting point and try to walk you through the process until its time to write or deploy your code.
  • They also offer basically everything you could need for your infrastructure in one spot, which is super valuable. This was an attractive option for us.
  • They support all of the most popular languages and frameworks, JS, Ruby, etc... and have a lot of boilerplate apps to get you started.
  • It significantly reduces the amount of DevOps work.
  • When we used it, it was super buggy which didn't instill very much confidence in the platform.
  • It seems kind of 'black boxy' like we didn't feel like we had much control over the system, so we were always kind of skeptical of the magic going on behind the scenes and how secure it was.
  • There is not very much interfacing outside of the IBM ecosystem. We we felt pressured to use their version control management and the task management tools Bluemix provided when we were experimenting with it.
I would definitely recommend it for prototypes and, if it seems to work well, maybe in some working environments and production. When I was using it I definitely only would have recommended it for raid prototyping.
Read Brett Bloethner's full review
Tomislav Petrinec | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2017

Banking with IBM Bluemix

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is used for the development of an API for a payment services directive. We are a bank within EU and have to implement such a solution.
  • Speed - with a few regions we can always load balance for maximum performance.
  • Availabilty - anywhere, anytime.
  • Usability - everything in one place. Usage metrics and services.
  • Maybe a better user management interface. Every region and all users in one view.
It is especially suited for highly available solutions that need to run 24/7 across the whole world.
Read Tomislav Petrinec's full review
Jason Brower | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

A good service for companies with big guns.

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It ran our entire backend functionality. It is used across the entire organization and its impact is seen on every one of our customers. We used it to try to simplify our deployments, as they took a lot of time out of our day.
  • Large collection of tools to integrate with.
  • Growing application support.
  • Bluemix has the ability to scale easily from very small to very large.
  • Applications that were integrated had a feeling like they came from very different companies and organizations.
  • Logins had to be performed often between different services, once a week the applications would change and we had to learn a different way to do the logins.
  • Branding is important, but the names, like "Jazz" would get in the way of what the application did for us. So new developers would have to learn 5-6 new special websites just to do a single deployment. And one or two new changes a month to keep up with it.
It is suited to large businesses with somebody specifically in charge of deployments. He would be a person specifically paid to take care of all the machines through the Bluemix service. It is not a good situation when the teams are small, such as a three-person development team, because there is considerable maintenance that must be taught between them, and this costs a bit of time and hence money in that situation.
Read Jason Brower's full review
Craig Nash | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2016

BlueMix is starting to be able to give AWS a run for their money.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Bluemix is being used as my primary cloud computing service, having recently replaced AWS as my preferred service. I work with an IT consulting firm, and specialize in designing IT infrastructure for businesses, usually start-ups. My company has changed over the years as technology changes, originally setting servers up at the clients location, then moving to hosting them myself, and now I utilize cloud services with IBM as my primary source of server environments since software development is the focus of 75% of the start-ups I have been encountering, which is where BlueMix shines. Instead of detailing out how I use these services, I am going to explain the differences between IAAS (AWS/Google/Azure) vs PAAS (BlueMix, Redhat). The main difference is what level of control the system focuses on, when it comes to IAAS, the system is focused on infrastructure, such as building a server with x processors, x amount of ram, a storage system with X Gb of data. PAAS on the other hand, is focused on the whole platform that will run your software rather than just the simulated hardware specifications. AWS (IAAS) lets me build a virtual server with 2 processors, 1 gb of ram, 15 Gb of drive space, and 2 network adapters, which I then need to install an OS on, BlueMix (PAAS) lets me setup a geographically clustered environment that can serve HTML, PHP, and MySQL, while also being able to pull Microsoft SQL, while running a version tracking system, such as GIT. So from the start, I specify what I need my system to do to run my software, rather than what I need my server to have to run my OS, to run my server software that I can add additional functionality to in order to allow my custom software to operate best
  • Bluemix is great at providing a custom environment that offers everything I need to develop and run my software, rather than just providing a blank virtual server that I need to configure
  • Bluemix is very good at getting a "ready to use" environment deployed very quickly
  • Offers a wide variety of very unique, and cutting edge services. For example, I recently came across a Bluemix service that analyses any documents I want, such as email, and can tell me what emotions I am conveying. Is it a hateful sounding email, or a happy sounding one.
  • Documentation is lacking unfortunately, and while the new version of BlueMix is very quick and easy to use, it still requires a heavy development background to get features out of it that would end up rivaling AWS.
  • Stability isn't where AWS is, and while being a perfect development system, it isn't where you want to run a production site where downtime causes financial losses.
  • It is very hard to move your app off of BlueMix to another cloud service, as you just can't get the same level of platform customization, and you are going to absolutely be stuck to other PAAS providers.
IBM BlueMix is the perfect, and I do mean "PERFECT" environment for any business working with app development, which is becoming a very large industry very quickly, or an IOT (Internet of Things) oriented business. It allows you to very quickly deploy a custom platform to run and develop your software with, rather than quickly deploying a blank server. BlueMix is especially useful in any situation where multiple developers will be working on a development project or where external contractors need to interact with the development process. BlueMix is also invaluable for those who have an existing data source – for example, a company that has a large CRM system that has built up a large customer database and wants to design applications which utilize that data. Since the customization is in the platform, it is not ideal for companies that need to have mobility capabilities to move between different cloud companies, or any company that has software that requires a lot of server hardware or OS customization.
Read Craig Nash's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2017

IBM Bluemix Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently evaluating the Bluemix stack to get more insights and to be able to identify relevant business cases. We are not yet using it as a production system, but only for test purposes. There are a lot of interesting services included, and we are also interested in offering our own services.
  • Bluemix provides a rich bundle of services you can use.
  • Bluemix is now integrated with some infrastructure components.
  • Fast ongoing development for services/offers.
  • Support sometimes does not respond to tickets in an appropriate timeframe (currently waiting over 7 days for a reply). Sales does not respond to emails.
  • The user interface and the integration of SoftLayer is weird, and it's easy to get lost there.
Using existing cognitive services is very easy. Getting things started for a PoC is also easy. More complex scenarios (like offering our own service in the catalog) is hard to achieve. I currently find it difficult to imagine operating a real production system in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2017

Why I chose Bluemix over AWS and Azure

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Bluemix primarily as a means of centralizing data from multiple IoT devices. It solves the problem of providing a platform by which multiple multiple application components (e.g., database, authentication, etc). can be implemented quickly and with little time and money investment. This is an ideal setup for me because it requires minimal support for the infrastructure needed to host my end application.
  • Makes a number of integrated modules available seamlessly (e.g., mobile, database, authentication, etc.
  • The node js platform for hosting IoT components is extremely easy to use.
  • The node-red graphical wiring tool is makes it especially easy to integrate 3rd party services.
  • Excellent customer support.
  • More tutorials/education materials for Cloudant would be nice.
  • More flexible notifications for outages would be helpful.
  • More integrations to third party services within node-red would be useful.
My uses of Bluemix centered around IoT applications. I found the platform powerful and flexible to support my use cases. The node-red graphical "wiring" environment made it especially easy to create custom applications that integrate with third party services. This is especially useful in the growing the IoT field. The other major benefit of the bluemix setup is the ease in which one can integrate IoT services with SaaS options such as the Cloudant database.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2017

IBM Bluemix Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To my knowledge it is only used in our department, but then again some companies don't share information horizontally well. It's used mainly as a general hosting product.
  • Easy to use
  • Simple UX
  • Good design
  • Expensive
It's [well] suited if you want to use cognitive computing services and general computing all from one provider.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (6)
6.6
Scalability (15)
7.4
Platform management overhead (6)
6.7
Workflow engine capability (13)
6.9
Platform access control (1)
10
Services-enabled integration (14)
6.9
Development environment creation (13)
8.5
Development environment replication (6)
7.0
Issue monitoring and notification (8)
5.0
Issue recovery (12)
7.1
Upgrades and platform fixes (14)
7.1

About IBM Cloud Foundry

IBM Cloud Foundry is an IBM version of the open-source platform designed to make it easier and faster to build, test, deploy, and scale applications. Enterprises can now run Cloud Foundry in a public isolated environment, while natively integrating with other IBM Cloud services, such as AI, Blockchain, IoT, and data tools.

Cloud Foundry Enterprise Environment (CFEE) runs on a Kubernetes service, which reduces complexity by giving development teams a comprehensive set of familiar tools under one management umbrella. CFEE allows IT organizations to safeguard their existing investment in Cloud Foundry, while seamlessly bringing in new skill sets that will lead to building apps that provide contemporary customer experiences.

Visit IBM Cloud Foundry's Docs pages for pricing and support information.

IBM Cloud Foundry Features

Platform-as-a-Service Features
Has featureEase of building user interfaces
Has featureScalability
Has featurePlatform management overhead
Has featureWorkflow engine capability
Does not have featurePlatform access control
Has featureServices-enabled integration
Has featureDevelopment environment creation
Does not have featureDevelopment environment replication
Does not have featureIssue monitoring and notification
Has featureIssue recovery
Has featureUpgrades and platform fixes
Additional Features
Has featureEase of use building interfaces
Has featureService enabled integration
Has featureDevelopment environment integration

IBM Cloud Foundry Integrations

IBM Cloud Foundry Competitors

Microsoft Azure, Amazon AWS, Google Cloud Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

IBM Cloud Foundry Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:https://console.bluemix.net/docs/containers/cs_regions.html#regions-and-zones
Supported Languages: EnglishEnglish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional