IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
248 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 51)

Jason Tian | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Try using the container service of IBM Cloud Kubernetes

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire department is using it to create high-availability clusters, making mobile scalability truly user-friendly and easy to develop multilingual applications.
  • You can add features easily, growing as you need.
  • Options for dedicated servers or VMs gives us a lot of flexibility from a provisioning standpoint.
  • Quick deployment.
  • Powerful tool!
  • Old operation guide.
  • For beginner developers, it takes longer to learn costs.
  • Too expensive.
1. Deploy a simple Python application with Kubernetes.
2. Build a smart WeChat robot with IBM Watson Assistant with Cloud Function.
3. Deploy a simple React application with Kubernetes.
Read Jason Tian's full review
John Hanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes is an excellent container management system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an IT consulting company specializing in cloud architecture, security, hybrid and multi-cloud deployments. We recently starting working with IBM Cloud. We used IBM Cloud Kubernetes to train ourselves in preparation to advise our customers.

We deployed several test environments from our Google Cloud Kubernetes system to IBM Cloud Kubernetes for practice. This proceeded without incident or technical problems. I wrote an article on my personal website that detailed my experiences with IBM Cloud and IBM Cloud Kubernetes.
  • IBM has a strong focus on serverless and Kubernetes. This shows in the platform. Deploying containers to Kubernetes was very easy.
  • Deploying a Kubernetes cluster through the GUI is very easy and quick. On top of that, IBM Cloud offers a single node cluster for Free.
  • Container Registry is a very good product for managing container images. Integration with Kubernetes was seemless.
  • Portability. To transition from Google Cloud Kubernetes to IBM Cloud Kubernetes took almost no effort. We mostly use the CLI and the standard tools such as kubectl were present.
  • IBM Kubernetes worked as I expected it to. The area that I would like improvement is either the simplification of the Kubernetes commands or a better management layer built on top. It takes considerable effort to train administrators to manage Kubernetes. However, I feel that adding a management layer should be an option so that the core IBM Kubernetes offering stays industry compatible.
IBM Cloud Kubernetes is well suited to anything serverless to start. As more companies integrate the cloud into their core datacenter services, IBM Cloud Kubernetes makes for a wonderful deployment platform. As monolith applications are broken into individual services, containerization offers great appeal. The ability to deploy, update and scale thru automation has enormous potential.
Read John Hanley's full review
Srihari Kapu | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Kubernetes: your go to container service on IBM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had used Kubernetes service for building hyper ledger fabric applications. Kubernetes comes in handy in integration with hyper ledger for building various blockchain use cases. We use Kubernetes within our blockchain team for building products for our clients.
  • Simple
  • Easy to integrate
  • Robust
  • Efficient
  • On a lower note, it's a bit expensive.
Its of great value when you are implementing your corporate or private block chain use cases. Its quite simple to setup, deploy and run fabric using IBM Blockchain platform.
Read Srihari Kapu's full review
Andrew Xiao | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using it for a project. It is meant to address the ease of orchestrating the deployment of containers.
  • Good documentation.
  • Ease of installation.
  • Good UI.
  • Having better instructional videos online would be nice.
A well-suited case is when we want to evaluate a new potential cloud service. It is less appropriate for situations where businesses already have one.
Read Andrew Xiao's full review
Rishabh Pandey | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Detailed Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are developing a blockchain application for a healthcare-related product. We are using the IBM blockchain platform with the Kubernetes cluster to deploy our network as well as to expose our node application
  • Security is the key feature which our client expects to maintain across the application.
  • Built-in IP address provision so that we do not need to get an external IP.
  • External service connection ease.
  • Built-in volume management to store our keys.
  • IP addresses are expensive as compared.
  • Logging is not up to the mark.
  • Not highly available in all countries, we need to use other region clusters.
  • Downtime on many occasions.
It is perfectly suited for a blockchain platform which is built locally as there are not many good choices available in the market.
Read Rishabh Pandey's full review
René Schouten | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Services serves as an accelerator for innovation using micro-services

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a systems integrator, we use IBM Cloud Kubernetes for our customers for deploying micro-services in Kubernetes as a backend for several apps. Kubernetes is easily configurable, deployable and scaleable. We can innovate and deploy new functionality in days combined with an Agile way of working. So IBM Cloud Kubernetes gives us the certainty of a managed container service and we can fully concentrate on the micro-services and the data.
  • Managed cluster
  • Easy configuration
  • Ideal for micro-services architecture.
  • Cheap compared to old VM's.
  • Offers good support.
IBM Kubernetes is well suited when your company is working on microservices architecture and uses Agile as a working process.

Using Kubernetes you need to know some basics about deployment and the dependencies with other functionalities.
Also, it is required to split your application into microservices to you can have the full benefit of the container platform
When well implemented you can do maintenance during operation hours, so you can work on the back-end while running the application.
Read René Schouten's full review
Dillen Meijboom | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2020

Smooth, friendly alternative to Google Cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Before, we hosted our entire cluster in GKE (Google Cloud). This was not user-friendly at all and after another random increase in the price (for us almost 70 euro per month), we wanted to switch to another cloud provider. We're in the middle of migrating our entire cluster to IBM Cloud and so far we're really happy with it!
  • Personal touch with their Slack channel.
  • Very affordable and nice billing overview.
  • Docs could be improved
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is very easy to use, with a nice and smooth control panel, command-line interface, and several built-in features.
Read Dillen Meijboom's full review
Aitor Mier Pons | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

The best alternative to build your Blockchain Platform on Hyperledger Fabric.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service to implement a solution with the IBM Blockchain Platform. Our product is around Blockchain, but nobody can use the Kubernetes Service. I'm the only one who can manage it. The only problem I have is its capacity. Now, I'm checking out how to upgrade each machine instead of adding more.
  • Easy to use
  • Not very expensive
  • More documentation
  • Capacity to upgrade easily
I only checked on this within my department, but IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service works well with the IBM Blockchain Platform, seems to be up all the time, and the multizone works very well, without latency (at least on Frankfurt).
Read Aitor Mier Pons's full review
Lakshman Pasala | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Pretty simple and easy to get started with K8s service

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using RedHat OpenShift for a while and are currently evaluating IBM Kubernetes directly for our clusters.
  • We like the integrated K8s dashboard that IBM provides.
  • The security audit of container images is great.
  • One thing we'd like is options of more instances to be used as worker nodes.
Pretty good and simple to setup/use for users who are just getting started and are evaluating K8s.
Read Lakshman Pasala's full review
Dipendu Biswas | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Kubernetes for proof of concepts

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for orchestration of business services. It is used by a department. It addresses automation of business processes.
  • Comprehensive orchestration product.
  • Good integration with public source code control system.
  • Support for low footprint infrastructure for development could be better.
Good framework for production workloads. Encourage greater adoption by providing economical access to new users.
Read Dipendu Biswas's full review
Venkata Rao Vuppala | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

IBM Kubernetes Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for proof of concept for microservices using Kubernetes and Docker engine.
  • Simple.
  • Scalable.
  • Reliable.
  • Not available in all regions.
  • Setting up cluster takes time.
IBM Cloud Kubernetes is well suited for e-commerce fields where innovation takes place in rapid scale.
Read Venkata Rao Vuppala's full review
Henry Liu | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Please make free tier Kubernetes service the most usable/serviceable across cloud vendors

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A small portion of businesses uses K8s but only for microservices.
  • Always, the free tier is attractive.
  • The 30-day free tier expiration is pointless.
  • Not all options are available on the free tier.
  • Load-balancer type not available on the free tier.
  • Cluster deployment is slow.
Perhaps for those enterprises requiring classical infrastructure needs.
Read Henry Liu's full review
moin haq | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

My Kube

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, IBM is a cloud partner of AA and we are using IBM Kubernetes. The master node and worker node are in with B2B cloud VPN and they are secure. API gateway is good.
  • Secure
  • Reliable
  • Cost-effective
  • Network security
  • Vault
Resilient, secure and effective API gateway.
Read moin haq's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

IKS: Early adopter but needs some polish

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm currently trialing out IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service as part of my independent testing since our platform uses Kubernetes as our primary deployment method for our PaaS.
  • Currently, the pricing for the instances is quite high (30% higher than major vendors), so that needs to be worked on.
  • VM spinup times are slower than most major cloud vendors, if GCP only takes 60 seconds on average, IBM Cloud takes more than 10 minutes. This should be faster and could use more improvement
  • While providing a barebones dashboard for Kubernetes is great, I believe having the IKS service to have its own managed dashboard is better than providing the upstream Kube's dashboard.
This is more suited to well-established organizations where they want to go cloud-native. With the advent of the importance of cloud, IKS has a place where existing customers would like to move to a more modernized, distributed platform with the trust and security of IBM along with the option to be deployed to a bare metal instance—currently some vendors lack.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Custom containers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our Smart City area, many of our customers ask us to develop software as it must be installed in their environments. Generally, they ask us to make an image with Kubernetes as a container. It is used in the IT area of our company and solves the problem of software exchange without relying on operating system configurations.
  • Multi-platform
  • Removes dependencies
  • Simple use for IT staff
  • It is not open source
  • High price
  • There are other standards like Docker or VMWare
Among the most important companies we work with, they use Kubernetes, they have large IT departments and choose this tool, so it is reliable with great performance. In scalable projects, it is a great platform. It removes OS dependencies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Best K8s GUI I've come across

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently are not using IBM Cloud Kuberentes Service. I used it while attending KubeCon 2019. While using it, I could definitely see the benefits that an organization would reap by using the product. It helps facilitate some of the more challenging aspects of creating a Kubernetes cluster on the cloud.
  • Very good documentation for the commands
  • Really good UI integration
  • Easy to pick up with some light instruction
  • I was on a bad wifi signal and lost connection a couple of times. The process of reconnecting was inconsistent and I sometimes lost my environment variable definitions
  • Error messages were sometimes not descriptive. I tried performing a kubectl command and got a strange error that was essentially the result of not having the KUBECONFIG environment variable set due to the error above
It could be an amazing place to train users how to use Kubernetes. I think it does a fairly good job at extracting away some of the more esoteric aspects of configuring a Kubernetes cluster and some of the other things that can inhibit new users. I have not worked with the product enough to be able to see if it has efficacy for production level deployments, but the UI integration seems rather intuitive and might be a real asset for a team supporting production deployments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Impressed with IBM Cloud Kubernetes in a workshop.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I attended a workshop on Kubernetes, specifically focusing on Istio. The service seems quite solid. IBM's special add-ons to Kubernetes, especially Watson, are what sets it apart from Amazon Webservices (AWS) or Google Compute Engine (GCE). While my experience is quite limited, the workshop showed me that it's a solid product, worth considering when choosing where to run Kubernetes.
  • Watson
  • Scaling
  • Base Kubernetes Functions
  • Pricing clarity
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is worthwhile if you want to run containers in the cloud. It's especially useful if you'd like to use IBM's Watson service alongside your Kubernetes services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the whole company. We use IBM Cloud Kubernetes for our VPN server. IBM has a lot of data centers around the globe thus it's really effective in connecting employees at different locations in Europe and USA to the company servers. As much as I know, our mail server is also located on IBM Cloud Kubernetes.
  • It's located at many locations around the globe. Mainly in US and Europe
  • Pay as you go plan for reduced costs
  • Easy to maintain
  • Not enough data centers located in Asia and South America
Well suited for apps that require a high distribution and the ability to scale, since it enables to scaling and variety of data center locations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Newbies in IBM cloud after disappointed at GCP

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes. We're trying to deploy cloud services on IBM Cloud Kubernetes. It's intended to improve productivity of my staff. However, according to my employees, the descriptions are rather difficult to understand. Sometimes they get confused about specific functions. They know how to run it, if they can find how to initialize the configurations.
  • The network is rather reliable, which greatly satisfies our customer.
  • High performance equals time saved
  • Affordable. We believe it's an acceptable price.
  • Complicated description - it's not easy to initialize the settings.
  • Limited privileges - Kubernetes offer limited functions. It seems root authorization is not provided.
  • Port forwarding can't be set after deploying the docker. Maybe we just haven't found how to change it.
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is well suited for deploying online computing services. We are satisfied with the network and CPU performance. It greatly saves our time. We used to use GCP and AWS, which neither provided reliable service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Enhance your ISTIO service mesh with IBM CKS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is part of our testing environment for multi-cloud projects. By using ISTIO mesh to span to multiple Kubernetes clusters across multiple cloud providers, we can test the HA capabilities of the deployments and offer high HA solutions to our customers.
Also, by integrating IBM CKS to Google Cloud using Google Anthos GKE Connect, we can manage all our deployments in one place. IBM CKS offers one of the most powerful Kubernetes services: stable, powerful, easy to use and HIGH availability.
  • Easy to use and configure
  • ISTIO and KNATIVE installation by just clicking one button.
  • Use of CONTAINERD (CRI-O)
  • Choose the OS of the nodes
Well suited:
  • DEV / QA / SIT deployments: You can use IBMCKS for DEV / QA or SIT environments. Since IBM CKS is a managed service, you can let the deveolping team to be in charge of the infraestructure.
  • Multicloud deployments: Working with ISTIO mesh works perfect on IBM CKS.
  • Network intensive deployments: IBM's network is quite powerfull.
  • Docker containers
Less appropriate:
  • Production Workloads: Is never a good idea to use K8s for production if you don't have a team that fully understands how to operate K8s. K8s is one of the hardest techonologies to use due it's complexity.
  • Workloads that requieres KERNEL tunning: You can't modify Kernel parameters on Managed K8s like CKS. If you are running a workload like REDIS that needs certain KERNEL parameters to be set, I highly advice you to use K8s Open Source.
  • High performance workloads (GPU): IBM CKS does not offers GPUs on their nodes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

Kubernetes Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is being used mainly for educational purposes. We use it to show the students some use cases regarding things such as a VPN server using squid, or an HTTP server using Nginx.
  • Has lots of data centers around the world.
  • Easy management.
  • Price could be lower.
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is well suited for Linux and open-source apps. It is less appropriate for Microsoft or Apple software, for example.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Much better than expected

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are evaluating several K8S providers for our customers. The IBM solution is very reliable and easy to use.
  • Ease of use
  • Great documentation
  • Nice User Experience (UI)
  • More documenation
  • Would love some video tutorials on Istio
Would be a good fit for medium to large companies and potentially too complex for small non-IT companies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

IBM Cloud: the KUBERNETES of Kubernetes Service Providers!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by my DevOps department addressing our transition towards a CI/CD paradigm for our enterprise applications.
  • Seamless integration with IBM cloud registry and CLI
  • Faster cluster provisioning on the IBM Cloud
It is well suited for the managed-service oriented DevOps team able to lock-in to a well structured cloud interface such as IBMCloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

IBM Kubernetes Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It used by my application team. We use it to move current applications from on-premise to cloud.
  • It provides nice orchestration for the docker containers.
  • Pretty straightforward to use.
  • The technical support procedure needs to be improved.
IBM Cloud Kubernetes is great for lift-and-ship type apps. It is not good for heavy data caches where the expense could be a killing factor.
Read this authenticated review
Naresh B | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

IBM Cloud better and simple

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are from pre-sales team, we'll make POC on that, and we will expose it to the world. Here I attended one internal IBM training in our organization. I found that IBM Cloud on DevOps only works on NodeJs support. We are looking on Java Simple Hello World app.
  • Better to make it available for all webapp supports
  • Everything is simple and user friendly, only thing is why we create separate cloud foundry app name space for Devops related projects
It's very fit into Nodejs related apps.
Read Naresh B's full review

About IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service is a managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that users can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability for users to design their own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit the vendor's Docs pages for pricing and support information.
Categories:  Container Management

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Video

Advantages of Managed Kubernetes

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Integrations

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Competitors

Google Kubernetes Engine, Azure Kubernetes Service, Amazon EKS

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Slack Channel to Development Team

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:https://console.bluemix.net/docs/containers/cs_regions.html#regions-and-zones
Supported Languages: A managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that you can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability to design your own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit our Docs pages for pricing and support information.