TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ij/Er/392GFE7ZWX2R.PNGWhy we run Kube in BlueMix.IBM Kubernetes Service is our one-stop for running all our Java services and NodeJs services. Currently, we are running 16 services inside our Kube cluster. It hosts and runs the application that collects the IOT information from our bots and stores it in IBM Cloudant.,Quick Updates, Highly Scalable. We keep adding nodes when needed. Never spent a minute on any maintenance activities for our Kube Cluster. Zero Downtimes in last 2 years.,Helm inventory is somewhat lacking. Little confusing when it comes to PVCs. Networking between our Kube Clusters and our other VMs is very difficult due to lack of documentation,9,This project does not bring any ROI directly. But there are other departments in the organization which are benefited by analyzing the IOT information collected by this service.,,IBM Cloudant, IBM Cloud Container Registry, IBM Event Streams (formerly Message Hub)Love the productWe use IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service in our IoT Platform. Currently it isn't being used across different parts of the organization. In our IoT platform, we use IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service to orchestrate about 200 micro services that are deployed on IBM Containers. Because of Kubernetes we no longer need to manage scaling and it's super easy to deploy the application.,Help to orchestrate the containers on with we have deployed our micro services Auto scaling It makes it super easy to deploy applications,Much better integration with the log analysis Make it easy to retrieve the logs and search through them,10,Cost saving in terms of manpower Faster time to market. It only take about 3 mins to deploy my applications Auto scalability,,IBM API Connect, DB2, IBM Cloudant, IBM Cloud Databases (formerly Compose)Kubernetes adoptionWe are using it for migrating work loads into the Cloud.,Gives the scale we need Bundled with Dev Ops it becomes easier to deploy and operate Gives us the portability across cloud providers,Dev Ops reference templates are not available for organizations to quickly adopt Organizations want to focus on developing business features but wanted a pipeline which takes the code all the way to deployment without much human intervention. Wanted to see quick set up of Kubernetes platform along with Dev Ops capabilities as Service.,10,Positive impacts : enables quick platform to replatform work loads Provides business agility Easier to add value incrementally once the work load is deployed to k8S,,WebSphere Application Server, WebSphere DataPower Gateway, WebSphere BPMSIBM product reviewWe used it for a POC of a mobile app back-end service during container technology evaluation.,Easy to setup Strong support Fully managed,Not easy to integrate with in-house tools Lack of prebuilt functionality Not easy to install,7,ROI Agile development Standardized implementation,Great container offer!We are using Kubernetes to manage our entire IoT backend services, globally. It’s a fairly complex implementation with performance and security requirements which IBM is fully delivering.,Highly configurable Resilient Secure,Pricing compared to competitors,10,Performance and reliability allow us to meet our consumer standards Running cost is still high Easy to configure makes deployment ease and helps not to increase TCO,,IBM Cloudant, Redis Cloud, DB2, SonarQube, AppDynamics, Crashlytics, Google Analytics
Unspecified
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service
85 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Reviews

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service
85 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 85 vetted IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Lokesh Venkatesan profile photo
February 21, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Review: "Why we run Kube in BlueMix."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Kubernetes Service is our one-stop for running all our Java services and NodeJs services. Currently, we are running 16 services inside our Kube cluster. It hosts and runs the application that collects the IOT information from our bots and stores it in IBM Cloudant.
  • Quick Updates, Highly Scalable. We keep adding nodes when needed.
  • Never spent a minute on any maintenance activities for our Kube Cluster.
  • Zero Downtimes in last 2 years.
  • Helm inventory is somewhat lacking.
  • Little confusing when it comes to PVCs.
  • Networking between our Kube Clusters and our other VMs is very difficult due to lack of documentation
I recommended Kube on Bluemix (9 out 10) to a colleague. Having one Kube cluster on BlueMix is like having your own data center which is readily available to scale up on your needs.

Suitable for:
1) Running an application which is built on a microservice architecture.
2) Running NodeJs services, proxy services.

Not suitable:
1) For running DB engines.
Read Lokesh Venkatesan's full review
Sudhanshu Nagar profile photo
February 14, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Review: "Love the product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service in our IoT Platform. Currently it isn't being used across different parts of the organization. In our IoT platform, we use IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service to orchestrate about 200 micro services that are deployed on IBM Containers. Because of Kubernetes we no longer need to manage scaling and it's super easy to deploy the application.
  • Help to orchestrate the containers on with we have deployed our micro services
  • Auto scaling
  • It makes it super easy to deploy applications
  • Much better integration with the log analysis
  • Make it easy to retrieve the logs and search through them
IBM Kubernetes Service is good for the applications that are born on the cloud i.e., the applications that are cloud native. There's quite a bit of time investment required to containerize the legacy applications and only then they they can be orchestrated using IBM Kubernetes Service. Currently the cost is prohibitive.
Read Sudhanshu Nagar's full review
No photo available
February 15, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Review: "Kubernetes adoption"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for migrating work loads into the Cloud.
  • Gives the scale we need
  • Bundled with Dev Ops it becomes easier to deploy and operate
  • Gives us the portability across cloud providers
  • Dev Ops reference templates are not available for organizations to quickly adopt
  • Organizations want to focus on developing business features but wanted a pipeline which takes the code all the way to deployment without much human intervention. Wanted to see quick set up of Kubernetes platform along with Dev Ops capabilities as Service.
Re-platform of on-perm work loads to modernize the middleware services as a first step to modernizations and continue to modernize the app layer using micro services to optimize resource utilization
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service: "IBM product review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it for a POC of a mobile app back-end service during container technology evaluation.
  • Easy to setup
  • Strong support
  • Fully managed
  • Not easy to integrate with in-house tools
  • Lack of prebuilt functionality
  • Not easy to install
For services that require high availability and rapid deployment
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2019

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Review: "Great container offer!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Kubernetes to manage our entire IoT backend services, globally. It’s a fairly complex implementation with performance and security requirements which IBM is fully delivering.
  • Highly configurable
  • Resilient
  • Secure
  • Pricing compared to competitors
Well suited: Cloud native applications, highly distributed systems.
Not well suited: legacy monolithic applications
Read this authenticated review
Paul Levy profile photo
June 23, 2017

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Review: "IBM Bluemix - A Paragidm Shift in Cloud Computing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Bluemix internally and for our clients across entire organizations. Bluemix enhances the connectivity between different cloud services, so that data and code can be aggregated in one central place: The Bluemix Dashboard. While similar services exist in AWS and Azure, Bluemix makes the integration highly automated and reliable. Coders can self service their section of the Bluemix infrastructure without relying on cloud networking experts to do so. Database administrators can easily share and control access to data through IBM Data Connect across more than 20 industry standard databases, and though multi-cloud vendors.
  • Sends data from IBM Data Connect to Data Analytics in one click.
  • Manages coding in the cloud IDE with continuous integration.
  • Has tool chains which aggregate different services together into a complete process.
  • Has a dashboard that is far more in-depth and intuitive than AWS or Azure.
  • Basics like DNS and routing can be challenging.
  • Uptime is not at the same level as AWS.
  • Phone support is not at the level of AWS.
  • Absolutely for prototyping.
  • Ideal for inter-company data exchanges.
  • Great for shared managed coding by dispersed teams.
  • Excellent suite of starter code.
  • Excellent AI integration via Watson, Node-Red including for IOT.
Read Paul Levy's full review
Damani Best profile photo
July 21, 2017

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service: "Test and iterate with the cognitive features of Watson"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bluemix is being used to create a platform for the delivery of electronic scheduling services.
Bluemix gave us the ability to iterate on multiple initiatives and micro-services with limited resources.
  • Prepared environment - the preparation of the platform was easy for us to spin up
  • Selection of services that we would implement. Limited need to search for varied sources
  • Our developers felt that the documentation was difficult to navigate. Time spent in the platform cleared the problem for the team.
Bluemix gave our team an opportunity to immediately begin building and testing solutions.
Our team built the forms and services they wanted in days without the need to manage a local environment and across geographical regions.
Read Damani Best's full review
Noble George profile photo
July 19, 2017

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service: "Bluemixed-bag of a review!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All the micro-services that are running to keep our VoIP platform alive are deployed over Bluemix. It provides seamless integration with our deployment model and reduces much of the hassle involved in the deployment process. Compared to a privately hosted infrastructure, a cloud solution the likes of Bluemix provides more flexibility while reducing cash burn.
  • Automation
  • Orchestration
  • Deployment
  • User Experience
  • Lack of a large worldwide availability zone options unlike competitions.
  • Certain clutter
If you're working on a new product and intents to design the same in a micro-services model, Bluemix is the goto option. It requires certain experience and training to get proficient with the tool but it's newbie friendly at the same time. Join us in using BlueMix as you major infrastructure provider
Read Noble George's full review
Gary Theis profile photo
June 26, 2017

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Review: "Bluemix and Watson, great choice for Enterprise AI"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bluemix primarily as a way to access IBM Watson's suite of AI APIs, for our own use as well as proposing as a solution for other companies. Watson is one of several AI options we can support with our chatbot AIs, and is especially suitable for issues where security is important and a local install may be required.
  • Local install options.
  • Security.
  • Often for large companies IBM is already on the network and it is an easier sell.
  • Kubernetes is comparatively new there, needs maturing.
  • Getting your app available as a third party is a longish process, needs streamlining.
  • Still some shifting around and renaming of elements of the Watson APIs that can throw off development, hopefully, all is now set.
Enterprise installs and customers who already run IBM solutions are great use cases. I'd love to see more variety in native language Watson NLP support, but that's an industry issue.
Read Gary Theis's full review
Grant A. Gelven profile photo
June 26, 2017

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Review: "Watson on Bluemix"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our product development team uses Watson APIs through Bluemix. We build cognitive applications in a B2C market for identity protection services. IGWW integrates Watson APIs as components of a daily “threat” monitoring service for consumers. Our cognitive application is developed to monitor news events related to software vulnerabilities, data breaches, online scams, and malware campaigns that are directly relevant to the consumer. The data are then extracted from the web, filtered, processed, scored, and presented to the consumer as a “threat alert” related to some aspect of their personal information security. The alert is presented with advice for mitigating the threat in the form of an “action”. Upon completion of an action, the user will see this reflected in their individual risk management plan.

Additionally, as threat alerts are generated, they are personalized and targeted to specific consumers using information contained in their personal profile. Some of the data points in a profile are automatically captured using social media data and Natural Language Classifiers to select attributes.
  • Good documentation and examples for integrating APIs.
  • Wonderful technology from an infrastructure POV, nearly on par with AWS.
  • Watson APIs are some of the most robust turn-key ML packages out there. Furthermore, one can take these out of the box in minutes and have a working cognitive app very easily.
  • Great support when needed.
  • Pricing tiers for larger volumes should be included. Also, costs should be evaluated on a use-case basis, pricing these types of services by number of API calls can be prohibitive for some applications.
  • Lagging in dev speed to compared to AWS.
  • Need to support batch processing for Watson APIs (I'm told this is on the road map).
[It's] Great for building simple cloud based apps or prototyping. It's particularly well suited for applications using Watson APIs.
Read Grant A. Gelven's full review
No photo available
September 11, 2017

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Review: "Using Bluemix as the IoT platform for our clients"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an IBM Bluemix implementation partner. We use our platform for proofs of concept, demos, and training, etc. So we are in the business for providing Bluemix solutioins for others, there are no business problems which Bluemix addressess internally at the moment or in the future, if you are not counting the license sales.
  • Rapid implementation for IoT platform
  • Rapid implementation of a micro service environment
  • Deep learning facilities available in the value stream
  • Surprisingly complex to implement some features, like port forwarding within the PaaS architecture without implementing IaaS layer features.
It's good for a quick PoC for an IoT setup with hundreds/thousands of sensor points that need to be provisioned. It is also good for building full stack web architectures with micro services and mobile front ends etc. Not very well suited in current state for complex back end solutions requiring network operations/analysis in the core service built.
Read this authenticated review

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Scorecard Summary

About IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service

A managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that you can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability to design your own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment.

Visit our Docs pages for pricing and support information.

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Features

Has featureEase of building user interfaces
Has featureScalability
Has featurePlatform management overhead
Has featureWorkflow engine capability
Has featurePlatform access control
Has featureServices-enbaled integration
Has featureDevelopment environment creation
Has featureDevelopment environment replication
Has featureIssue monitoring and notification
Has featureIssue recovery
Has featureUpgrades and platform fixes

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Integrations

IBM Cloud Container Registry, IBM Cloud Continuous Delivery, IBM Cloud DevOps Insights, Istio

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Competitors

Google Kubernetes Engine, Azure Kubernetes Service, Amazon EKS

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Slack Channel to Development Team

IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:https://console.bluemix.net/docs/containers/cs_regions.html#regions-and-zones
Supported Languages: A managed Kubernetes offering to deliver powerful tools, an intuitive user experience and built-in security for rapid delivery of applications that you can bind to cloud services related to IBM Watson®, IoT, DevOps and data analytics. As a certified K8s provider, IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service provides intelligent scheduling, self-healing, horizontal scaling, service discovery and load balancing, automated rollouts and rollbacks, and secret and configuration management. The Kubernetes service also has advanced capabilities around simplified cluster management, container security and isolation policies, the ability to design your own cluster, and integrated operational tools for consistency in deployment. Visit our Docs pages for pricing and support information.