TrustRadius
MatLab is a predictive analytics and computing platform based on a proprietary programming language. MatLab is used across industry and academia.Fantastic tool to kill engineering problemsMATLAB has been used by mostly all of the engineering programs and so it has been made available to all of the engineering computer labs to solve problems in multiple disciplines, such as product optimization design, spectrum and time series analysis of data, signal process, statistical data analysis and model formulation, and image processing.,A tremendous collection of functions (mathematics, statistic, financial, etc) have already integrated into MATLAB and free to use for all of the users no matter what type of license users have MATLAB Toolbox is pretty powerful. Its GUI interface helps users visualize solutions directly and can generate editable MATLAB code easily for future use. MATLAB tutorials are everywhere (online video tutorials, forums, and seminars) and are easy to find. Documentation from MATLAB itself is also clear to follow with few sample questions.,Although MATLAB language is easy to learn and use, there is still limited interaction between MATLAB and other widely-used programming languages such as Python. Would like to see a language convertor that can convert MATLAB language into other ones. It takes much RAM and memory of a computer when processing data in MATLAB, which definitely slows the computational speed. To generate an animation for a parametric study, it would take lots of efforts to write the code or proceed with a specified GUI. With some experience with mathematical, I feel mathematical is even easier to use although I was quite new to it at that time.,9,I have been using MATLAB in most of my research projects, coursework or course projects. It helps me complete those projects and solve problems too. Since I am an education license subscriber, there are no extra fees for me to buy the product or the MATLAB Toolbox.,,AutoCAD, JMP Pro, RStudioMATLAB - my statistical savior!MATLAB is used by both my lab and the general department. We often utilize this program to perform many of the statistical analyses that are much more difficult to do in excel or by hand. It is also very useful for us to use for creation of codes which we can share with students to use in labs.,Very easy to write your own operations and share with others Great statistical processing capabilities Very user friendly for even inexperienced programmers,It is often difficult to receive help on issues with writing code To a new user, it can often be overwhelming to start. A tutorial would be great! Better compatibility with other programs,10,Greatly aided in producing meaningful reports on laboratory analysis The often difficult to use user platform has slowed down some of our work Easy to transfer codes and processes among different users, making repeating of actions very smooth,IBM SPSS, TIBCO Spotfire and TIBCO Spotfire Data Science (previously Alpine Data),IBM SPSS, TIBCO Spotfire, TIBCO Spotfire Data Science (previously Alpine Data)One of the key economic modelling toolsMATLAB is primarily used by the Macroeconomists in the Research Department and Macroeconomics and Fiscal Management Teams to solve DSGE and other numerical models, and sometimes do time-series econometric analysis.,Excellent treatment of linear algebra and matrix manipulation Easy and clear syntax User friendly interface,Weak treatment of non-linear problems Slow compared to key competitors such as Julia Licensing issues make it difficult to work with models and large datasets that require parallelization,8,MATLAB helped with the development of better models assisting decision support in lending.,,Apple iCloud, Apple Remote DesktopMATLAB for modelingI use MATLAB to model the bioenergetics of organisms through the application of the Dynamic Energy Budget Theory (Kooijman, 2000). Through measurements of physiological rates under various environmental conditions, we can predict the response to stress in the natural environment, e.g. climate change predictions.,linking between files for calling commands is simple and allows for easy organization produces clean graphics outputs with user-friendly interface to edit plots It is a widely used software so finding online help to problems and roadblocks is pretty easy,Error messages could be more detailed to help you fix problems in your code,10,ease and speed of data organization and analysis publication-ready plots simplifying the analysis procedure,IBM SPSS,IBM SPSS, ArcGISMatlab for data analyticsWe use MATLAB to program prototype algorithms for image data analysis. It is being used by our data analysis department in R&D. The model program is then deployed VIA MATLAB into a file we then use in the final system. This is very easy to do with MATLAB.,Prototype / model algorithms Plot data and code Deep learning,Not easy to customize plots/graphs Coding can be tediuous Sometimes it's slow or laggy.,9,Create easy to understand models increases audience understanding and engagement Automated data analysis Report generating,,Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft Visio, MySQL
Unspecified
MATLAB
76 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

MATLAB Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

MATLAB
76 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 77 vetted MATLAB reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 28)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Bin Cai profile photo
December 11, 2018

MATLAB Review: "Fantastic tool to kill engineering problems"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MATLAB has been used by mostly all of the engineering programs and so it has been made available to all of the engineering computer labs to solve problems in multiple disciplines, such as product optimization design, spectrum and time series analysis of data, signal process, statistical data analysis and model formulation, and image processing.
  • A tremendous collection of functions (mathematics, statistic, financial, etc) have already integrated into MATLAB and free to use for all of the users no matter what type of license users have
  • MATLAB Toolbox is pretty powerful. Its GUI interface helps users visualize solutions directly and can generate editable MATLAB code easily for future use.
  • MATLAB tutorials are everywhere (online video tutorials, forums, and seminars) and are easy to find. Documentation from MATLAB itself is also clear to follow with few sample questions.
  • Although MATLAB language is easy to learn and use, there is still limited interaction between MATLAB and other widely-used programming languages such as Python. Would like to see a language convertor that can convert MATLAB language into other ones.
  • It takes much RAM and memory of a computer when processing data in MATLAB, which definitely slows the computational speed.
  • To generate an animation for a parametric study, it would take lots of efforts to write the code or proceed with a specified GUI. With some experience with mathematical, I feel mathematical is even easier to use although I was quite new to it at that time.
MATLAB is very suitable for educational use, such as to test new algorithms, to simulate/optimize product design, and to analyze large sets of data. However, installing MATLAB needs a large amount of space in a computer, and using it to process data, which is the most popular feature, also consumes large memory/RAM in a computer. Users would need to configure the computer before installing it on the computer.
Read Bin Cai's full review
Shelby Bowden profile photo
September 27, 2018

User Review: "MATLAB - my statistical savior!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MATLAB is used by both my lab and the general department. We often utilize this program to perform many of the statistical analyses that are much more difficult to do in excel or by hand. It is also very useful for us to use for creation of codes which we can share with students to use in labs.
  • Very easy to write your own operations and share with others
  • Great statistical processing capabilities
  • Very user friendly for even inexperienced programmers
  • It is often difficult to receive help on issues with writing code
  • To a new user, it can often be overwhelming to start. A tutorial would be great!
  • Better compatibility with other programs
It is really one of the only programs that is decent in computing statistical processes. While the R program can also be used for many of the same tasks, I have found that MATLAB is generally more proficient at complex or long statistical calculations. Unlike R, MATLAB is often difficult to produce good-looking outputs
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Jevgenijs Steinbuks profile photo
June 28, 2018

MATLAB Review: "One of the key economic modelling tools"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MATLAB is primarily used by the Macroeconomists in the Research Department and Macroeconomics and Fiscal Management Teams to solve DSGE and other numerical models, and sometimes do time-series econometric analysis.
  • Excellent treatment of linear algebra and matrix manipulation
  • Easy and clear syntax
  • User friendly interface
  • Weak treatment of non-linear problems
  • Slow compared to key competitors such as Julia
  • Licensing issues make it difficult to work with models and large datasets that require parallelization
MATLAB is very good for solving any linear models. Also good for solving linearized DSGEs where toolboxes such as Dynare come very handy. It has some nice toolboxes for time-series econometrics, Kalman filtering, and Bayesian estimation.
Read Jevgenijs Steinbuks's full review
Katie McFarland profile photo
June 22, 2018

User Review: "MATLAB for modeling"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MATLAB to model the bioenergetics of organisms through the application of the Dynamic Energy Budget Theory (Kooijman, 2000). Through measurements of physiological rates under various environmental conditions, we can predict the response to stress in the natural environment, e.g. climate change predictions.
  • linking between files for calling commands is simple and allows for easy organization
  • produces clean graphics outputs with user-friendly interface to edit plots
  • It is a widely used software so finding online help to problems and roadblocks is pretty easy
  • Error messages could be more detailed to help you fix problems in your code
Base code for the bioenergetic modeling I use is supported only by MATLAB and Octave. The interface for running and editing code is much smoother and user-friendly in the MATLAB format. Plots are easily added and edited through MATLAB increasing the ease of use and preparing plots for publication.
Read Katie McFarland's full review
Dat Nguyen profile photo
October 12, 2018

User Review: "Matlab for data analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MATLAB to program prototype algorithms for image data analysis. It is being used by our data analysis department in R&D. The model program is then deployed VIA MATLAB into a file we then use in the final system. This is very easy to do with MATLAB.
  • Prototype / model algorithms
  • Plot data and code
  • Deep learning
  • Not easy to customize plots/graphs
  • Coding can be tediuous
  • Sometimes it's slow or laggy.
Well suited for engineers and scientists trying to model data sets. Also good for creating algorithms to process similar data.
Read Dat Nguyen's full review
No photo available
December 12, 2018

"MATLAB Review for Analyst"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MATLAB myself for data analysis. Sometimes it is easier to use the built-in functions rather than creating functions myself in Excel. So it saves me time.
  • built-in function libraries, no need to create new functions most of the time
  • MATLAB has interfaces to Python so I sometimes use specific Python modules to pre-process data sources.
  • Common data sources are easy to import to MATLAB
  • MATLAB is not commonly used in business sense so I do not find many support for business use
  • software not open-sourced
MATLAB is well suited for school and can be suited for business but it needs to allow more business professionals to use so people can get more peer support.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

User Review: ""MATLAB" The Great Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1) I used MATLAB in various applications such as Signal Processing and Communications, Image and Video Processing, Control Systems, Test and Measurement and Computational Finance.
2) It Provides development tools for improving code quality, maintainability and maximizing performance.
3) MATLAB is use for building applications with custom graphical interfaces.
4) It has functions for integrating MATLAB based algorithms with external applications and languages such as C, Java, .NET and Microsoft Excel.
  • MATLAB tools are best as it provides development tools for improving code quality, maintainability and maximizing performance.It has a vast library of mathematical functions for linear algebra, statistics, Fourier analysis, filtering, optimization, numerical integration and solving ordinary differential equations.
  • It is easy to learn. No need to write full C& C++ program to do simple things.
  • It provides tools for creating custom plots.
  • It has vast library of mathematical functions for linear algebra, statistics, Fourier analysis, filtering, optimization, numerical integration and solving ordinary differential equations.
  • Due to slow loading sometimes the whole system freezes .
  • You can't make a library in one .m file. If you have different functions, you need to have different files.
  • You cannot share a script with another person who does not have access to MATLAB.
This is a good software for engineering students. It can be useful for electrical, mechanical and computer science students for solving different aspects of problems. Image processing & mathematical calculations can be done by using MATLAB software. On the contrary, MATLAB software is not appropriate software for implementing deep neural networks and 3D plot.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Review: "MATLAB is user friendly and displays data conveniently"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company we use MATLAB for many of our coding needs. We work studying radar data and processing the radar echoes, therefore we deal with huge amounts of data needed to be manipulated with mathematical operations like FFT for example. Most of our scripts are either based in MATLAB or incorporate MATLAB functions.
  • Math calculations done easily, no need to add too many libraries or any complicated imports.
  • Plotting graphs is user friendly and they look good.
  • Keeping data in matrix form is useful, and they are easily accessible and referenced later in the code.
  • Easy access to stored matrices of data from the main screen. I really appreciate this feature to continuously double check how data is being saved and also to check the values from time to time.
  • Expand the student free versions, as a student it should be more encouraged to obtain free software to practice and learn more.
  • Too high price for license, too expensive for private use outside an organization.
Sometimes we have to use Python because of easier integration with some of our C ++ scripts. Also since it's open source some of my coworkers prefer it. Generally I prefer MATLAB due to the matrix and accessibility and I think it is extremely more user-friendly and easier access to the stored data matrix. Also I prefer MATLAB language much more than Python, which I consider less straightforward sometimes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 23, 2018

MATLAB Review: "Great Data Processing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the engineering department for analyzing and filtering large amounts of raw data as well as plotting.
  • Plotting
  • Simple to use functions
  • Good online help instructions
  • More standard functions versus having to buy a bunch of separate packages
I’d recommend it for data processing and plotting. I would avoid if you're trying to make a stand-alone program.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 12, 2018

MATLAB Review: "Great but needs improvement on deployment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MATLAB in the company is used to prototype and develop algorithms for image processing and to automate lab equipments it the workplace. We also use it for data analysis. Mostly for image processing and algorithm development, though.
  • Good for quick prototyping.
  • Quick data analysis on small datasets
  • Ease of learning
  • Very supportive online help doccumentation
  • Extensive user base for questions and a very active community
  • Modularity
  • Support for object oriented programming
  • Making functions available for other languages/ Ability to develop APIs for other languages
MATLAB is very good for quick prototyping and analysis of small data sets preferably below 10 GB of data. Above 10 GB it typically runs out of memory. Deployment of a project could be a bit troublesome.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2018

Review: "A great tool for developing a product - MATLAB"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MATLAB allows you to do matrix multiplication, implement algorithms, create user interfaces, read images, etc., which helps in modelling a product. MATLAB solutions for Deep Learning allow users to design, build, and visualize convolutional neural networks. It has various uses like image processing, Variable precision arithmetic, simplification and manipulation of symbolic expression. These features helped us develop our product perfectly.
  • The ability to process a variety of data.
  • Interface, Plot figures for reporting.
  • Expensive
  • Not easy to integrate it with Other softwares.
MATLAB is a great software to use, it has many features which can help you creating your product easily. It is best for working with mathematical equations. It is quite easy to understand and start. Plotting analytical graphs and charts helps you for reporting and other things. It has many features which you can get after regularly updating version. You can get your all queries in MATLAB forum and its community is vast.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 07, 2018

User Review: "MATLAB as an educational tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has been used as a learning tool to teach math concepts that cannot be computed by hand. It is initially taught and introduced and then students are expected to pick it up and learn on their own. It is useful and an easy to learn coding program and excellent visualization tool.
  • Numerical computing
  • Graphical modeling
  • Education tool
  • Better UI with Mac/IOs users
I use it as a math tool for functions not done by hand, and a good way to view plots and data quickly. Also recently used as a tool to study next gen sequencing data from DNA sequencing results. The program can be made very simple to use, so that anyone without programing experience can use it.
Read this authenticated review
Maike Holthuijzen profile photo
June 06, 2018

MATLAB Review: "Dependable software for matrix computation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work as part of a climate modeling team at the University of Vermont, which includes faculty from many departments and universities. We use MATLAB for handling and processing climate data in the form of NetCDF files. MATLAB has a library called netCDF that facilitates the opening, viewing, and manipulation of NetCDF files. In addition, the climate modeling team, of which I am a member, is also part of a larger research group. Although it varies, most members of the research group use MATLAB for some or all of their analyses. MATLAB makes it easy to process and manipulate large files, making our research more efficient.
  • I LOVE the MATLAB debugger. It's probably the best debugger I've ever used. You can easily set breakpoints and run through code line by line. This is immensely helpful in locating hard to find bugs.
  • The GUI interface to MATLAB is also very intuitive. The menu has options for quickly creating functions, scripts, and debugging. You can also view all your variables in the variable environment, which is helpful. For example, you can click on a matrix you created within the variable window, and you can view its dimensions and attributes.
  • The help function in MATLAB is also very good. You can get help for any function by typing 'help '. The help function is useful because it also lists many examples of how to use the function you need help on. The online help for MATLAB is also very good and includes tons of examples.
  • It would be great if MATLAB was open source, although that is unlikely to ever happen. I have the luxury of owning a license through my work, but I would not be able to afford it if I could not get it through my work.
  • I am also an R user, and I appreciate that in R, you can run code line by line very easily. However, in MATLAB it is a bit more difficult.
  • I am not a fan of MATLAB cell arrays...they are very difficult to work with. In addition, the plotting functionalities and options in MATLAB are not great. I would never use Matlab to create publication - quality figures.
MATLAB is well suited for processing various types of file formats, including more rare file formats used in climate modeling. It is also excellent for any type of modeling that involves significant amounts of matrix computations (I have found it to be more efficient than R). It is also fairly easy to vectorize most operations if computational efficiency is a big concern. MATLAB is an excellent option if you want to solve an optimization problem with genetic algorithms. The genetic algorithm toolbox (GA toolbox) in MATLAB is one of the best I've used and is extremely versatile.
It is not great for any type of agent-based modeling (e.g. cellular automata or swarm models). Also, I would not recommend MATLAB for producing plots. It is somewhat difficult to fine-tune the appearance of plots.
Read Maike Holthuijzen's full review
Alejandro Daniel Copati profile photo
February 01, 2018

User Review: "MATLAB, The Great"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MATLAB mainly to develop GUI and scripts to control our electronic products. I also used MATLAB in the University to solve Mathematics and Electronics problems.

In the company, we use MATLAB in the Electronics and Development department, precisely because of the ease of MATLAB when creating GUIs and being able to remotely control the devices we manufacture and test, either through USB, or WiFi or Bluetooth.

  • Very powerful console. You can do anything directly through the MATLAB console with no need to write a whole C/C++ program to do simple things.
  • Ease of creating a simple and intuitive GUI with a very powerful wizard.
  • A lot of professional packages and toolboxes for complex problems resolutions. Like Signal Processing, Image Processing, Calculus, etc.
  • The language of programing is like a very nice version of C/C++.
  • The handling of the variables is all making for MATLAB, you don't need to pay attention if you are using more memory that you have, for write one example. MATLAB take care of your stuff and optimize it.
  • When a GUI start to grow up and have many objects, the performance of it starts to decrease very quickly and start to crash sometimes.
  • You can not have more than one function in each file. I mean, you can't make a sort of library in one .m file. If you have different functions, you have to have different files.
  • I think that a very good improvement is that MATLAB can understand the C/C++ sentence and data types. I mean, if I have an array of hexadecimal values in C/C++, I can't copy that in MATLAB because I can't use "0xA4" for the A4 hex value, for example.
MATLAB is perfect for education, with all the specific and professional toolboxes that it has, is a very powerful suite to learn how to develop a workable platform.

I think that is a little less appropriate in the case that you are an applications developer, where you have to make an application that has to work independently if the user has or hasn't idea how to use MATLAB.
Read Alejandro Daniel Copati's full review
Himanshu Singh profile photo
January 19, 2018

MATLAB Review: "A Raw and Powerful Analysis Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use MATLAB for DATA visualization and converting data into Mathematics equations and Models Especially product department uses this for data analysis. We gather a lot of data on a daily basis, so many product releases.During product conceptualization, it helps a lot on giving the decisions on features. If one is analytical and love to visualize things in Mathematics, MATLAB is a beautiful.product!
  • Converting any data into Mathematical Model
  • Nice Data Visualization
  • Dealing with large sets of data
  • Defining data parameters.
  • Not ability to transform into direct business solutions
  • Being an expert on MATLAB takes a longer time
  • More flexibility needed for other departments in the business
Best suited when you have a clear-cut process of defining the mathematical solution and have a business to data transformation in mind. Works wonder for analytical society. It is not well suited if you have more problems related to human error. If you can manage this product then it is a great cost optimizing tool.
Read Himanshu Singh's full review
Manuel Aguilar profile photo
April 02, 2018

Review: "MATLAB is an excellent automation software."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Matlab is used in my organization in the engineering departments for handling several types of problems and for automation of processes. The geophysics department uses it for creating methods for gravimetric data processing and residual gravimetric data separation from regional data. Also, we have used it to correctly process electrical data acquired for water exploration in the subsurface. In the seismic exploration area, we have created seismic acquisition simulations.
  • MATLAB has a lot of automation tools so extracting data from a database such as Excel and processing it can be done just by hitting one button.
  • MATLAB is excellent at handling data from diverse sources. It can work with images, sounds, sensors, so in the engineering world this is a great tool.
  • The workspace is really interactive and its editor features have useful tools such as autocompletion (which is key when coding fast) and bug reporting so you know exactly where you messed up in your code.
  • It is really expensive, and lots of the tools you need in order to read some type of files need to be paid for.
  • Running programs created using MATLAB can be challenging in some scenarios, since is not a commonly used software with some of our clients who prefer their programs to run in Excel via macros.
  • It's a closed source program so getting to know how it computes is really hard.
Matlab is really suited for working as an automation tool in several engineering scenarios. For instance, in gravimetric analysis it surpasses most commercial softwares since one can program all the mathematic functions needed for data processing and customize all the reports needed in the project. Also, Simulink as a tool for running simulation workflows is extremely powerful and easy to use with MATLAB.
Read Manuel Aguilar's full review
Arlex Guzman profile photo
February 19, 2018

User Review: "Matlab adds value and reduces costs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In Eyemar Express we develop projects of machinery for manufacturing and industrial automation, for us and vital from the commercial and commercial point of sale offer solutions of lower possible cost to our clients, that is particularly important in the simulation of equipment, especially of equipment that presents mobile mechanisms whose behavior can be expressed in a transfer function that later allows the design of a control mechanism, computational simulation that is performed with matlab simulink is essential to avoid the use of prototypes and test benches.
  • Matrix language is the hallmark of matlab, it is the basis of its strength.
  • It has a library of transfer functions that can be adapted to specific cases and from there design control systems and simulate the behavior of the system that is intended to describe
  • Greater support for learning.
  • Improve reports and presentation of solutions.
  • Improve visualization and be more intuitive in interoperability with other applications.
Especially useful for simulating systems and solving systems of equations, Simulations for robotics, Useful for your Computational Vision tools.
Read Arlex Guzman's full review
Pritesh Patel profile photo
February 01, 2018

User Review: "MATLAB a great software!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MATLAB was used to program the bayesian networks for determining product variability from a set of data that we recieved. We used matlab to also plot results. We also did a lot of simulation of models using matlab. We were able to create controllers in Matlab for the different flight systems and see their responses.
  • Very user friendly as far as the Syntax is concerned
  • The UI is very intuitive
  • Great for solving engineering problems
  • A better UI that looks more cool
  • Ability to create and save formulas so they format correctly
  • Ability to import formulas for complex problems.
Matlab is great for engineering analysis. I used it for many Aerospace classes and research as well. It was great to solve complex physics, thermodynamics, and propulsion problems. Matlab is not a typical software programmer. If you need to write a small program it would be better to write in other languages.
Read Pritesh Patel's full review
Luciana Montivero profile photo
February 01, 2018

"MATLAB Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used in a project to design GUIs for an ECG. We currently know there are better programs to design user interphases but Matlab suits our needs for this small project.
  • Easy to use and detect mistakes
  • There's a lot of documentation about almost anything
  • It's full of Apps with a wide range of options
  • The forums and help platforms are really useful and full of people willing to help
  • Great debugger
  • GUIs could be better/prettier
  • Some of the apps are not well explained or are not as user-friendly as the could be
  • There are some port configuration bugs when connecting to Arduino that could be fixed
Matlab is great for beginners, because of it's ease of use and all the documentation available. Also, it's debugger tool really helps when finding an error, mainly when you don't know where you program is crashing. The GUIs App is really easy to use when you've never made a GUI and the growth curve is not high. I think is a really powerful program.

Read Luciana Montivero's full review
Lucas Riggi profile photo
January 30, 2018

"Review of Matlab"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Matlab is being used in my organization for code design, testing, and simulations. I personally use Matlab for quick mathematical computations, as well as orbital mechanics simulations, control system design and simulations. I can simulate spacecraft's orbital dynamics as well as attitude dynamics and simulate and test my control algorithms. I use it in combination with Simulink for control system design.
  • User-friendly interface and flexible language
  • Quick computations
  • Flexible and easy to use code structure
  • User-friendly variable check
  • Slow language for data analysis
  • Expensive
  • A lot of add-on toolboxes for a full experience
Matlab, in combination with Simulink and the aerospace and control system toolboxes, is particularly suited for control systems design. It has a really user-friendly and intuitive user interface for design, analysis of performance and stability and simulation of dynamic systems. Because the computations are pretty slow (compared to other languages), Matlab is not particularly suited for big data analysis.
Read Lucas Riggi's full review
Angel Machon profile photo
January 29, 2018

MATLAB Review: "Really good. Really expensive. Probably worth it!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Matlab in the research programs to run complex programs that help us in the research of our faculty and students. It's easy to learn and run pretty complex programs. I like the graphic capabilities. Moreover, the debugger is a life saver and it saves so much time because you can see your code running in real time, hence its easier to find problems in the code.
  • The debugger is something fantastic that I had never seen before Matlab.
  • Complex programs runs with no problem
  • Easy to learn.
  • Lots of add-ons.
  • Price is kind of high
Scenarios where it's more appropriate could be medical studies with the neural net apps, scanners, image processing, etc.. You can use it to solve complex programs that would take more time with other apps. It can be use for simulations as well with Simulink. I cannot think of anything it cannot do.
Read Angel Machon's full review
No photo available
May 25, 2018

MATLAB Review: "Machine Learning Made Easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I initially purchased MATLAB 2017b for a mathematics course during graduate school. At first, I was skeptical about the product and why it was being used. However, I quickly discovered the features that make MATLAB stand out from C++ and Mathematica. MATLAB truly makes numerical analysis easier. The ability to easily push code to run on a GPU allows for a user to take advantage of the modern day hardware. The signal analyzer, filter builder, and machine learning apps have saved me and my co-authors hours by allowing us to quickly look at the effectiveness of a filter on raw data. The built-in K-NN and Neural Network algorithms were easy to use and produced fantastic results for our specific project.
  • Quick visualization of data allows the user to improve code as its written.
  • Easy to use syntax makes picking up MATLAB quick.
  • Constant improvement and addition of apps and functions keep MATLAB competitive with other languages.
  • Errors are simple to understand and fix.
  • Improvement to the symbolic solution output for mathematics would be huge as the output is currently ASCII art.
MATLAB is fantastic for numerical analysis and dealing with large amounts of data. The quick processing of raw data along with the ability to visualize and run code in sections made filter design and data analysis much easier. The only times I would not recommend using MATLAB is for symbolic solutions to mathematical equations as the output is archaic looking.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2018

"My review of MATLAB"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used MATLAB for image processing projects and computer application in Power System projects. It helps to calculate the various electrical parameters, which is then used to optimize loss of power and money. Simulation is also done using various inbuilt tools, and it also can be interfaced with various microprocessor boards for its proper functioning.
  • Easy to learn and understand for beginners
  • Open source code and good customer support
  • Good toolbox and documentation available
  • High memory consumption makes it incompatible with some processors
  • Processing time is longer
  • High price of software license
MATLAB is useful when you are working with a fast processor and a large number of lines of code. Working on a slow processor will make the code run slow, taking too much time to give output. It is quite useful for Electrical Engineers for solving problems of networking, signal processing, control systems etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 30, 2018

Review: "MATLAB is a powerful, but proprietary, scientific programming language."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MATLAB is used by some departments in the sciences for numerical analysis and coding. Because it prioritizes linear algebra and uses 1-based indexing instead of 0-based indexing, it has the advantage of fast prototyping so that the science gets done quickly without getting bogged down in the details. The syntax is also readable for anyone with programming experience, which makes sharing algorithms much easier.
  • Clear syntax, which makes your code readable even without much prior MATLAB experience.
  • Everything is built around matrices, making higher level math much easier to work with.
  • The in-built graphical features are polished and so don't require third party applications.
  • MATLAB can be used for general purpose programming, but isn't calibrated for that.
  • Individual licenses can be expensive.
  • Error messages are not always clear.
MATLAB is best for scientific computing, but not well-suited for all general purpose programming.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 30, 2018

"Matlab Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used:
1. Automation- developing scripts for automating development and validation process
2. MBD Modeling
3. Auto code generation
4. MIL, SIL, HIL
5. Creating control algorithms
Etc.
  • Extensive tool chain integration possibilities with other softwares
  • Great library/building blocks availability for mathematical calculations and signal processing
  • Provides pure MBD alternative where actual coding knowledge can be masked with diagrams and still we can achieve real world software capabilities
  • Need more improvement on how to develop and create software architecture area
  • UML/SML methodology support and availability can be a good area to explore within Matlab
  • More building blocks/libraries (industry ready) for future concepts especially in image processing and data Analytics side
MBD process adoption, DSP, Image processing, complex matlab computation
Read this authenticated review

About MATLAB

MatLab is a predictive analytics and computing platform based on a proprietary programming language. MatLab is used across industry and academia.

MATLAB Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No