Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 11, 2020
Paolo Borghi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A manufacturing company recently asked my company to do a Business Intelligence project to improve and standardize the analysis of its users. Before the project, users used spreadsheets and local databases based on Access to perform management analysis.
For the project, we proposed them an Oracle cloud full-stack architecture based on:
  • Object storage
  • Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse
  • Oracle Analytics cloud
After a first as-is analysis, the project steps have been:
  • Export of data from the company ERP on flat files
  • Creation of a staging area layer
  • Creation of PL/SQL procedures to import files on staging structures, performing formal checks, cleaning and standardization processes
  • Creation of entity-relation models for some Data Marts
  • Creation of ETL flows to load data from the staging area on the Data Marts
  • Creation of a series of institutional reports, based on Data Marts
  • Profiling of users to access to the reporting layer and for free ad hoc analysis
The project has recently been deployed and the architecture is currently being used by about fifty users.
  • It's really fast to set up (like 2 minutes to create a new database)
  • It's cheap, and its costs are based on dedicated resources (RAM and CPUs), and it can eventually be turned off
  • Resources (RAM and CPUs) can be increased or decreased at run-time
  • Patching and release upgrades are automatically performed by Oracle at scheduled times
  • It's secure, without the need to implement a VPN: it provides a wallet that includes encryption methods for authentication
  • It automatically extracts statistics (needed by Oracle database engine to improve performances) on its structures
  • Backups are automatically performed and very easy to restore
  • Disaster recovery is granted thanks to fault domains provided by Oracle
  • It's really limited from a DBA point of view
  • There is only 1 tablespace associated to all the users you create on the database
  • The cost (license and monthly fees) are not always very clear
  • The loading of data on the cloud is subjected to network speed, so huge amounts of data may take a lot of time to be loaded on the database
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is particularly well suited for small or medium-sized companies that are evaluating a new database for reporting goals or for creating a common data access point for the whole enterprise.

It's probably less suited for very big companies with huge amounts of data, for network latency in moving data through the network, or for companies that already have very big Data Warehouse on-premise, and want to migrate it into the cloud, since Autonomous database has some limitations.
Read Paolo Borghi's full review
December 05, 2020
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The blockchain style for data storage and analysis. We have many different data formats from XML, HTML, JSON and this tool is very useful in organizing and querying all types of data at once. Getting all of our data centralized in one place and then only using one tool to look at all of it is hugely beneficial.
  • Integration with other Oracle products is very easy.
  • Centralizing different data formats.
  • Smooth implementation.
  • Learning curve can be high if the user is inexperienced.
  • Can get expensive with options.
Again, it is great for consolidating our data. It performs much better than our last tool. Our reports are smooth and we are able to integrate more data within each report. This is huge because this is the ideal outcome of a product like this. We haven't moved all of our ETL to the tool yet, but any new pipelines being built are utilizing the tool.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
November 03, 2020
Peter Merkert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ADW in conjunction with the Oracle Blockchain Platform, as it provides an easy way to inspect, analyze, and reuse information stored in a blockchain style. The ADW has basically the same functionality as the Oracle Autonomous Transaction Processing - and they have a massive toolset of useful things!
Let's start with the most engineer-y one: JSON or SQL? It does not matter. Basically, the DB hides the fact if data is in SQL or JSON structure and allows you to easily make queries independently of the actual data structure. This is extremely useful as in our case the Blockchain provides structures in JSON and we needed to digest the information without wanted to dump everything into a strict SQL table! And that works out of the box.
  • Connecting to Oracle Blockchain Platform out of the box
  • JSON or SQL? ADW makes handling both as if they are the same!
  • The basic setup comes with quite some power. The power is often too much for a data warehouse which is used to aggregate data just a dozen times per day and is due to caching not queries for the data sets that often. A smaller shape - yet bigger than the always free - would be great!
We use ADW to stash data long term from the Oracle Autonomous Transaction Processing and also to digest and process data in a fast manner from the Oracle Blockchain Platform.
Read Peter Merkert's full review
November 02, 2020
Erik Dvergsnes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse for one specific application that store[s] alarm[s] and incidents as an historical database. It address business problem[s] with regard to preventive maintenance that analysts can query more than a billion rows very fast, to identify certain patterns. This historical database was migrated from an older Oracle database into the Autonomous Data Warehouse and now we don't need to think about upgrading the database and having machine/database available. Now the database is always available and if it is not need[ed] for some time, we just stop it, and when there is need to query the data I start it up again.
  • Very easy and fast to load data into the Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse
  • Exceptionally fast retrieval of data joining 100 million row table with a billion row table plus the size of the database was reduced by a factor of 10 due to how Oracle store[s] and organise[s] data and indexes.
  • Flexibility with scaling up and down CPU on the fly when needed, and just stop it when not needed so you don't get charged when it is not running.
  • It is always patched and always available and you can add storage dynamically as you need it.
  • Not sure what these can be
Very well suited for:
- data warehouse and data lake projects
- storage of decommissioned applications/databases if you one day would like to restore data - then you will always have the data available.
Read Erik Dvergsnes's full review
December 23, 2020
Jyoti Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is used by the IT department . It is an automated version of Oracle Database. It removes the mandate layer of a database administrator to manage the database.
  • Out-of-the-box use
  • Flexibility of scaling out and in
  • Minimal DBA intervention required to run the system
  • Exposure of the OS on request basis
  • Delegate control of the Oracle binaries on an as-needed basis
  • View access of the OS which may be used for troubleshooting purposes
  • Ease of use is one of the best features
  • Low initial investment
  • Better performance and highly scalable
  • Self correcting and automatic maintenance
Read Jyoti Shah's full review
December 13, 2020
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using the a Free Tier [Oracle] Autonomous Data Warehouse in a PoC / Test environment to centralize information from a wide range of sources in order to allow quick Reporting and OLAP analysis of data coming from our suite of tolling software. I'm integrating information from more than 30 databases (20 SQL Server, 5 Oracle and other like Postgres). This POC will try to demonstrate the ease of use and maintenance of Autonomous databases so we can recommend them to our customers.
  • Simple and quick provisioning and configuration
  • Really good and fast ETL features allow quick data load
  • Always pached, always available. Foerget about many tedious admin tasks
  • Pricing may we high when using all features
It's great if you are already using othe Oracle Cloud products. It is really simple to integrate with them. We plan to use it as a central datawarehous hosting data from many different data sources.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
December 11, 2020
Nitika Dhingra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse for storing our data from various fusion apps, marketing technology stack, and customer transaction data. We are stitching these disparate data sources/systems together so that eventually we can perform historical and OLAP analysis using Tableau.
  • Extremely fast query execution for large volumes of data
  • Very rich library of statistical and aggregation functions
  • We can access the underlying data objects from Multiple IDEs such as SQL developer
  • Highly granular and robust access control on data warehouse objects
  • Sometimes when we run queries the error codes/details are not detailed or very helpful
  • We need a built-in easy-to-use data pumping tool
  • I get confused sometimes between the schema vs user in Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse (it is the same)
  1. For a large volume of data and quick results, Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is best
  2. You can choose columnar storage options to persist data
  3. No learning curve if you have already used Oracle SQL
  4. Self-maintenance and auto-scaling based on usage and load
Read Nitika Dhingra's full review
December 04, 2020
Paulo Henrique Orind | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of our data warehouses is Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse and it is being used for two years corresponding very well in terms of performance and reliability. Some of our data has been stored there and it's available to some departments to connect through it to pull data feeding their business intelligence tools.
  • Performance is really nice if set properly.
  • [Reliability].
  • Documentation is easy.
  • Some ETL tools are not compatible yet.
  • Even they have a good documentation, I don't think this is well structured.
  • The tool could be more intuitive.
You definitely should go for Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse if you are looking for something trustable, secure, tunable and that can be scalable easily. All these features make it one of the best tools in terms of Data Warehousing. If you are looking for something small and of course cheap, I would not suggest this option.
Read Paulo Henrique Orind's full review
December 13, 2020
Krishan Mohil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

One of the biggest challenge is the scaling and provisioning of hardware & software for any data ware house solution and also the associate problems like configuration, security and importantly tuning of the storing and fetching/querying data. For the same reason Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse tool used for one of the project for the customer. It help overcome some of critical, complex, manual and time consuming tasks like hardware procurement, configuration, security, high availability and high performance all this with reducing administrative cost and no human error.

  • Scale Up & Down as you need to reduce the cost immediately.
  • Save lots of time and costs, helped project delivery in less time which is a big plus for customer and vendor. Also, saving administrative cost.
  • Performance Tuning, security, backup and high availability.
  • Combine the abilities of a data lake and a data warehouse to manage any data type for business analysis.
  • The analytics come with it to code collaboratively with the rest of your team, not the classic data miner GUI interface.
  • Due to security limitations, neither the powerful GUI development environment Application Express (yet?) nor Oracle R Enterprise are not available.
[Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse] is well suited in most of case when it comes to save time, cost, quick project delivery, over the cloud and instant scale up and down features. I would not say scenarios where it is less appropriate, it always with anything which comes news have some features missing or not available as of time, you can find ways for better analytics or other ways than no support for R language.
Read Krishan Mohil's full review
December 10, 2020
Yogeswar Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse as my company central data warehouse where we store the different department's data in corresponding tables
  • This eliminates nearly all the manual and complex tasks that can introduce human error
  • Database providing built-in support for multi-model data and multiple workloads such as analytical SQL, machine learning, graph, and spatial.
  • I need to spend lot a time to find the appropriate technical document
  • Pricing
Suitable data warehouse with all necessary components
Read Yogeswar Reddy's full review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is being used by our company to full
manage our warehouse inventory. Time that was wasted previously doing
repetitive tasks is now delegated and we did not have to worry about any
database management.
  • fully autonomous
  • Easy to use
  • Fast query performance
  • Complicated and time consuming setup
  • Several discovery calls are needed in order to begin process
  • Oracle customer service is not always responsive
II would recommend Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse to someone looking to fully automate the transferring of data especially in a warehouse scenario though I can see the elasticity of the suite that is offered and can see it is applicable in other scenarios not just warehouses.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is being used by one of our clients, which is in the manufacturing of gas detections products primarily used by customers across the U.S. and Canada. The client was initially using the OBIEE tool for Reporting. They decided to move in to Oracle Analytics Cloud, with Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse as the data warehouse source for the OAC reports and dashboards. With the use of Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse, and Oracle Analytics Cloud, the major license limit issues were taken care of, also the database size issue on the on-premises database was made much more linear.
  • The Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse helps in auto-performance-tuning of the data warehouse for optimal output.
  • The Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse helps in auto-scaling of the data warehouse based on the data size.
  • The Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse helps in preparing data visualization.
  • Do not have provision to control the database instance and configuration.
  • Cannot monitor the product via the enterprise manager.
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is well suited for organization which has limitations on their budget for IT. Also it would be useful for an organization that would want to scale up its analytical processes. The Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse cost is significantly lower initially as you pay for the services used. The capability of automatically monitoring the data warehouse and sending alerts wherever appropriate and auto-scaling of Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse gives more value for money.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse was tested for specific reporting use cases. It was tested to see how efficient it is when compared to our current existing solution. Also, we have a requirement to keep the database up and running 24x7. The autonomous data warehouse setup and maintenance are very simple and easy, it will help to manage resources efficiently.
  • It is easy to setup.
  • It is easy to manage.
  • Database admin with limited experience can manage.
  • Performance.
  • Connectivity with third party tools needs to be improved.
  • No on-prem solution.
It is well suited for analytical reporting, data lake, and read-intensive databases. I have faced some issues with integration and connecting to third-party tools.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is used in automation of provisioning and configuring a data warehouse. It is also used to tune and scale the data warehouse as needed. It is used across the whole organization.
Business problems that it addresses: Since the manual work is almost completely eliminated, the cost of administering a data warehouse is reduced significantly. Also, this is highly secured and reliable.
  • High performance using continuous query optimization, table indexing, data summaries, and auto-tuning
  • Autonomous data encryption and security patch application
  • Different deployment models--shared, dedicated, and cloud@customer
  • Built in analytics--this makes data loading, indexing, and building good data visualization models easier
  • Improved machine learning capabilities
  • I find it to be the best autonomous solution out there with high scalability and reliability
  • More capabilities of Analytics Cloud
Well suited when
1. High performance is needed--The autonomous data warehouse is capable of increasing performance for continuous query optimization, table indexing, data summaries, and auto-tuning even as data volume and number of users grows.
2. High scalability is needed--Unlike other cloud services that require downtime to scale, Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse scales while the service continues to run.
3. Automation is needed--Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse automates provisioning, configuring, securing, tuning, and scaling for a data warehouse.

Less suited when
1. There is not a significant amount of data that needs to be handled on a daily basis.
2. Data analytics is not a requirement.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse to store, update, and, most importantly, automate tasks. It's very efficient when working with digital data, specifically online conversation data and transaction information.
  • Store data and information
  • Help process automated tasks
  • Break down complex projects
  • Save time on manual tasks
  • Processing times can use some optimization to add flexibility
  • The complexity of the tool doesn't allow a more widespread usage by partners
  • It's great for digital but could be improved to be better used with other data sources
It's great for digital data. The data sharing processes can be complicated when using multiple data sources, so oftentimes you need experts to help with implementations and it can get expensive and time consuming.
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is the data warehousing tool for our company in cloud. It is currently being utilized by the transportation department, but we are in the process of expanding its adoption to other departments once the single sign-on issues with the connection to our core Oracle ERP Cloud is resolved. We have a need for many summary reports which could be a challenge from OTBI, hence we are planning to do summarization at the ADW level and then report out of ADW using Oracle Analytics Cloud.
  • Data warehouse in-cloud, that is the biggest plus point.
  • No need to worry about backups or maintenance since it is in-cloud.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud comes with a default connector to ADW which makes it handy in terms of integration. OAC is our reporting tool that sits on top of ADW.
  • ODI Marketplace is a free add-on that can be installed on the compute of ADW and could be used as a complete ETL tool.
  • Oracle ADW should definitely improve in terms of cumbersome connectivity with third-party tools like ODI Marketplace.
  • Oracle Data Sync that is used to load data into ADW does not work if we have single sign-on enabled.
  • ADW can also be priced on a subscription basis instead of universal credits. This way customers need not be hooked all the time concerned about overages but use the tool to its full capacity.
Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is well suited for on-prem to cloud situations. That is more controllable as we have control over the ETL tools and database. It is still a challenge to adopt ADW on a full scale for cloud-to-cloud implementations primarily because the tool is still evolving and the challenges pose a risk to critical implementations without resolving the challenges.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The autonomous data warehouse is being used as a test case currently. We are using it to test how much more efficient and reliable it can be compared to our current configuration. It is used solely in my department . It is used to address performance issues for the most part.
  • It enables us to execute large queries quicker
  • It is easier to set up
  • It is easier to manage
  • I want more admin access for DBA to configure this database
It is well suited when buying new server hardware is too costly and when setting up a warehouse quickly is very necessary. It is also great when a DBA has very limited experience managing a data warehouse.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Oracle Autonomous Database for our warehouse reporting. It is a 50 TB huge database and reports are generated every day. It is pretty read intensive database. It's availability is required for 24 X 7. We have several thousands customers using it on a regular basis. The performance is phenominal.
  • Read queries
  • ETL process
  • Performance.
  • Use case for hybrid environment
  • Price factor
  • Clustering
We used Oracle Autonomous Database for our warehouse reporting. It is a 50 TB huge database and reports are generated every day. It is a pretty read intensive database. Its availability is required for 24 X 7. We have several thousands of customers using it on a regular basis. The performance is phenomenal.
Read this authenticated review

What is Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse?

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse is a cloud data warehouse service. By automating provisioning, configuring, tuning, scaling, patching, backing up, and repairing of the data warehouse, it provides a simple, high-performance and always available service. It includes built-in analytics such as in-database machine learning, Spatial & Graph. A comprehensive security and privacy capabilities are included to protect customer data. It is available in both the Oracle public cloud and customers data centers with Oracle Cloud@Customer.

Categories:  Data Warehouse

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Features

Has featureAutonomous Management
Has featureHigh performance
Has featureComprehensive security & privacy
Has featureIn-database Machine Learning
Has featureGraph Analytics
Has featureSpatial Analytics
Has featureAvailable in Oracle public cloud or in customers' data centers

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Screenshots

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Video

Watch Autonomous Data Warehouse introduction Watch how Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse can help departments use analytics to get more value from any data.

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Integrations

https://www.oracle.com/autonomous-database/autonomous-data-warehouse/tools/

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Competitors

Snowflake, AWS Redshift, Microsoft Synapse

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Linux
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, LAD, APAC, Dedicated Region Cloud@Customer