Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Oracle PeopleSoft ERP

Oracle PeopleSoft ERP

Overview

What is Oracle PeopleSoft ERP?

Oracle's PeopleSoft ERP (or PeopleSoft FSCM) is a software solution used to reduce costs by automating and centralizing global transactional processes and the enterprise entire supply chain. Oracle states they have extended support for PeopleSoft to 2034.

Read more
Recent Reviews

A True ERP System

10 out of 10
October 15, 2019
Incentivized
PeopleSoft Financials and supply chain product is being used as an enterprise-level product within our HR, Finance and Supply Chain …
Continue reading

PeopleSoft Financials

9 out of 10
September 18, 2019
Incentivized
We use HCM, AP, GL for all of our financial transactions and reporting needs. It helps us accurately report based on a consolidated trial …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 66 features
  • Role-based user permissions (24)
    10.0
    100%
  • Custom reports (25)
    10.0
    100%
  • Accounts payable (25)
    8.1
    81%
  • Standard reports (25)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Oracle PeopleSoft ERP?

Oracle's PeopleSoft ERP (or PeopleSoft FSCM) is a software solution used to reduce costs by automating and centralizing global transactional processes and the enterprise entire supply chain. Oracle states they have extended support for PeopleSoft to 2034.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

15 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Genius Solutions?

Genius Solutions delivers a complete enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution, including software, implementation services, and field expertise for small to mid-sized custom manufacturers across the US and Canada. Genius ERP is built for SME manufacturers handling make-to-order, engineer-to…

What is Cetec ERP?

Cetec ERP offers manufacturing web-native ERP As A Service for $40/user. Its design and delivery provide manufacturers with a platform built to increase both capacity and efficiency. The vendor states that companies will run faster on Cetec ERP. By providing a single, integrated platform that can…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

PEOPLESOFT Financials Training India | PS Fi Online Training | Free Demo Video | ECORPTRAININGS

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

6.2
Avg 7.1

Customization

This addresses a company’s ability to configure the software to fit its specific use case and workflow.

10
Avg 7.2

Security

This component helps a company minimize the security risks by controlling access to the software and its data, and encouraging best practices among users.

10
Avg 8.0

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

9.3
Avg 7.0

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting

Financial management solution, including capabilities for general ledger and configurable accounting

8.3
Avg 7.6

Inventory Management

The ability to track and manage the flow of goods or materials into and out of an inventory.

6
Avg 7.8

Order Management

The ability to process orders, and track them from quote to cash.

7.8
Avg 7.7

Subledger and Financial Process

Revenue management solution including capabilities for subledgers and financial processes

8.1
Avg 7.4

Project Financial Management

Project financial management solution including capabilities for project budgeting, cost control, billing and contract management.

7.4
Avg 7.6

Project Execution Management

Project execution management solution including capabilities for project scheduling, resource management, and team member task management.

6.9
Avg 6.8

Grants Management

Grants management solution for higher education, public sector, or non-profits with capabilities for managing financial awards for program and project funding

9.3
Avg 7.4

Procurement

Procurement management solution with capabilities for sourcing, contracting, procure-to-pay and supplier management

6.5
Avg 6.9

Risk Management

Risk management solution with capabilities for managing controls, assessing control effectiveness, certifying controls, and addressing deficiencies

5.2
Avg 6.4

Logistics

Logistics solution with capabilities for transportation planning, transportation execution, trade compliance, customs management, warehouse management and warehouse workforce management.

9
Avg 6.7

Manufacturing

Manufacturing solution for managing manufacturing processes and costs.

8.7
Avg 7.4

Supply Chain

Supply Chain Planning solution with capabilities for planning, performance monitoring, change responses and execution.

7.4
Avg 7.0

Product Lifecycle Management

Product Lifecycle Management solution with capabilities for innovation management, product development

8.9
Avg 7.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Oracle PeopleSoft ERP?

Oracle's PeopleSoft ERP (or PeopleSoft FSCM) is a software solution used to reduce costs by automating and centralizing global transactional processes and the enterprise entire supply chain. Oracle states they have extended support for PeopleSoft to 2034.

Oracle PeopleSoft ERP Competitors

Oracle PeopleSoft ERP Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Oracle's PeopleSoft ERP (or PeopleSoft FSCM) is a software solution used to reduce costs by automating and centralizing global transactional processes and the enterprise entire supply chain. Oracle states they have extended support for PeopleSoft to 2034.

Pega Platform are common alternatives for Oracle PeopleSoft ERP.

Reviewers rate API for custom integration and Single sign-on capability and Role-based user permissions highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Oracle PeopleSoft ERP are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(271)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 40)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft Financials is being used across our entire organization in many facets. It is used to solve numerous problems and facilitate most of our processes in some regard and to some degree. We use PeopleSoft for HR, Financials, CRM, Contracts & Grants, Capitalized Asset Management - you name it - PeopleSoft plays a role in every process and procedure. The biggest problem the system solves is bringing all of our locations together on a single chart of accounts and platform, therefore tearing down silos that exist previously, and standardizing all data entry and sharing of information.
  • Integrating with other systems
  • Providing a consistent user interface
  • Automating workflow
  • Standardizing added and updated modules
  • Updating old modules with newer UI and features
  • Adding more in-application help
You really need a big enterprise to take advantage of PeopleSoft. It is not entirely user-friendly, and it often requires massive amounts of customization to make it work for layers if you will. Business experts can figure it out, but if you are expecting someone to easily learn how to use the timekeeping modules without heavy customization, it's really not for you. You need to know going in, that this is not for a small business at all, and not even a medium-sized enterprise. It's geared to massive organizations that need to integrate business processes over geographic areas and multiple departments.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Oracle PeopleSoft globally to manage our complex contracts for all of our different businesses. We find that it handles all the complexities we have.
  • Manages complex billing schedules
  • Manages complex revenue models
  • Allows the collection of all transactions for profitability
  • Strong Resource Management capabilities
  • Time Entry needs to be more robust
  • Resource Management and Project management need to be more flexible
  • Needs more capabilities to link to external tools
We find that Oracle PeopleSoft is extremely capable and customizable. We use it globally, with many different currencies and have no issues. One of our biggest struggles is to obtain adoption in the regions to add another ERP and we have worked around that by introducing a subledger concept, where PeopleSoft does all the work but feeds entries and transactions to the regionally accepted ERP.
David Nero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft Financials is used across the organization for accounts payable general ledger grants [and] asset management. It addresses the core financial requirements of the organization.
  • Reporting
  • Security
  • Basic functionality
  • Ease-of-use
  • Accessibility
PeopleSoft Financials is a solid system for large organizations. It has all of the features that an organization needs to manage its financial activity. It can be complex and challenging to maintain so it would not be a good fit for small
organizations.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized

PeopleSoft Financials is being used as our consolidated accounts payable sub-ledger to pay over 10,000 vendors and we use it also for travel expense reports, auditing, administration, and payment through our two global disbursement banks based in the U.S. It is also linked to our procurement system with the vendor master file. We used PeopleSoft Financials to build in strict controls around the vendor master file. The system addresses vendor payments worldwide in multiple currencies.


  • Process vendors' payments globally in multiple currencies
  • Secure and protect the vendor master file and interface with procurement functionality
  • Provide standard and ad-hoc reporting and security administration
  • Process employee travel and expense reports
  • User interface and user feel could be better
  • Fewer steps and clicks screen to screen; screen efficiency is important
  • Standard reporting is fine but ad-hoc reporting is just OK
Using PeopleSoft Financials for accounts payable is well suited to processing domestic and global vendors and employee payments for expense reports. It has deep functionality and integration across the entire U.S. organization, and the database has been easily kept up to date after we purged 20,000+ aged vendors. It has been scalable as we have changed size and gotten larger. We also are pleased with its interfaces with banks. It has good functionality out of the box, using the excellence of the system provider rather than dropping in customizations that have to later be deleted.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft eProcurement is being used by one of our business units to invoice customers and manage contracts.
  • Makes invoicing streamlined and orgainized
  • Manages contracts with ease and fluidity
  • No suggestions for improvement
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used PeopleSoft Financials at my previous company for our payroll. We had over 30 payroll specialists that used PeopleSoft Financials in our payroll department.
  • PeopleSoft Financials does a great job of delivering detailed payroll information.
  • It is great for companies that require complex payroll accounting
  • It has a very easy interface for pulling payroll information from the system
  • Payroll entry and payroll changes are easily made due to its ease of use for users
  • PeopleSoft Financials could use the room for improvement by simplifying the interface for users to be able to access for payroll reports. It seemed that there were always a lot of steps in order to get to one report.
  • PeopleSoft Financials seemed very complex unless we had an IT guy that would create out queries beforehand.
PeopleSoft Financials is well suited for companies that demand manual entry for payroll or for companies with complex payroll entries. It is not well-suited for companies that do not have complex payroll entries. For a company that has mostly salaried employees, this software is not most suitable.
October 15, 2019

A True ERP System

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft Financials and supply chain product is being used as an enterprise-level product within our HR, Finance and Supply Chain departments. It streamlines the entire procure to pay process as well as financial reporting for our organization.
  • Procure to pay process.
  • Journal generation and financial reporting.
  • Seamless integration within the modules like AP to GL.
  • The user interface could be made more intuitive.
  • The procurement module has a lot of room for improvement like all the other eCommerce websites out there like Amazon etc.
The entire ERP product has a great built-in integration across the modules. It's heavily dependent on the batch processes which take the data across the modules.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our Finance department is in charge of using Oracle PeopleSoft SCM. We are using Oracle PeopleSoft SCM to fully manage our inventory, and to track all the resources that we are purchasing and receiving from our suppliers. Not only do we use it as to make actions needed in the present, but we also use it to plan how many resources we will need to purchase over the next year.
  • Great documentation, training, and certification programs for new users. We had no problem in finding Oracle-certified training courses for our finance department. Even after the training process, many of our team's queries were quickly resolved from the well-documented guides released by Oracle.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft does a great job in helping us identify the possible pitfalls in our business processes and logic. The ability to analyze all your processes in one place provides a birds-eye view of your workflow.
  • Integrates well with Oracle Database. Most of our mission-critical and confidential data that is being used with Oracle PeopleSoft SCM is stored in Oracle Database, so it was crucial for us to need an integration between the two products.
  • Inability to view the results of multiple queries at once in the Query Viewer.
  • Although there is excellent integration with Oracle's other products, there is an unacceptable amount of support for other third party vendors.
  • Personalization Feature for a Quick-Access Menu. Due to the abundance of features in PeopleSoft SCM, it sometimes takes a while to find that one option as there are so many others in the same menu. It would be nice for a user to be able to drag and drop some options they use frequently into a Quick-Access menu.
If your infrastructure is already using other Oracle products, has a large enough budget to afford the costs of running Oracle PeopleSoft SCM, is fine with the strict licensing/compliance requirements of Oracle, and are willing to possibly spend money on training or recruiting people with PeopleSoft experience, your organization should use Oracle PeopleSoft SCM. If all these don't check out for your organization, you may be better off finding another solution for your needs.
October 02, 2019

We love PeopleSoft FSCM

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft FSCM is used across the church for tracking expenses. It is integrated with several subsystems.
  • We love using provided tools for customizing the processes to match our existing business processes.
  • The reporting package (nVision) is fairly complex for end-users to use.
This application is great for integration with other applications.
September 23, 2019

PeopleSoft is great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft Financials is used by Corporate Finance Group for bookkeeping.
  • Easily customizable for business needs. We were able to build several bolt-on applications on PeopleSoft. If not, we would have implemented the same function on new software and spent on integration with PeopleSoft.
  • PeopleSoft cloud will be a good enhancement for us.
PeopleSoft has user-friendly features such as spreadsheet journal import, and the Excel to CI feature to upload contracts, assets, etc. It is also easy to debug any failures.
September 19, 2019

End-to-end ERP solutions

Madhavaram Ramu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using PeopleSoft Financials and HCM, and they are being used across the whole organization for managing books and human resources. It addresses business processes in the supply chain, financials and in HCM areas. Helps users in performing end to end business processes required in the accounting world, supply chain world and also in the human resources world.
  • Performing purchasing related business processes
  • Performing payables related business processes
  • Performing ledger related business processes
  • Lease accounting
  • Workflows
  • Analytics
It is very suitable for medium to larger sized organizations who need to carry out their business processes related to both HR and Finance. It is not suitable for small-sized organizations.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It helps to manage resources and benefits for employees. More employee need to use it in my company so that fewer resources are needed to answer employee general questions. We have rules in place that can answer the majority of employee benefits questions. This product helps my company to streamline, process, and improve productivity. We need to continue educating users broadly to use this product.
  • Budget tool needs to be simple enough for general users' usage.
  • They need to make it more streamlined in the process.
It's more appropriate when more users use it on a regular basis. I see that we still have users pop in to ask generic questions. It can be further improved with more online in-house training. We need more podcasts or videos to help users to find ways to learn how to use this software.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to consolidate data in GL and report to SEC. We are using different modules such as AP, PO, Lease administration, AR, and Billing. It also helps us to pay our suppliers on time. We are using it to streamline our finance and accounting processes. We are using PeopleSoft globally.
  • Pay rent through lease module
  • Pay suppliers through AP
  • Track and monitor expenses through expenses module
  • Consolidate and report through GL module
  • Nvision reporting needs to be improved.
  • Project costing and customer contract processes need to be streamlined.
  • Caching of the pivot grids to display data to end-users should help.
  • Lease admin work center should be added.
Ease of use from a financial perspective. The UI for lease admin needs to be more user-friendly. Processes in project costing and contracts module need to be streamlined. User training should be accessible from within the application. It works well with respect to the query tool. The user's interface needs to be optimized in AR.
September 18, 2019

PeopleSoft Financials

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use HCM, AP, GL for all of our financial transactions and reporting needs. It helps us accurately report based on a consolidated trial balance. From manual journal entries, source interfaced data, and general ledger allocation, Peoplesoft aids in a timely close function. Its flexibility and collaboration across modules give us comfort in having accurate financials.
  • Integration across modules
  • Well delivered reporting
  • Drill down capability with query manager
  • Data latency is always a concern across modules.
  • Easier allocation rules and processing within modules.
  • Ease of use for the regular business user.
Peoplesoft Financials is well suited for the smaller company not yet ready for cloud and has the time to do their own upgrades and patching. Nvision reporting is not for the regular user. Job aids are necessary today and not necessarily standard for Peoplesoft implementation. Allocations are not handled within the modules before they reach GL and customers are looking for that flexibility.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft Financials used as primary books of records. Requisition, Purchase Order, Procurement Contract, Accounts Payable, General Ledger, Commitment Control, and Asset Management.
  • Fluid Approval.
  • Pivot Grid - that gives us a snapshot of our situation in graphical form. It has charts, graphs, and it's a very visually appealing way to see how things are moving.
  • Query.
  • Within PeopleSoft Financials, it integrates well across all modules, they are tightly integrated. e.g. Requisition, Purchase Order, Procurement Contract, Receipt, Voucher, Payment, etc.
  • User Interface - it looks like Windows. The look and feel could be updated. It is also not usable on phones and tablets.
  • Customization.
  • Reporting is very cumbersome, especially when developing new reports. It can take a few weeks for a user to get a new report.
PeopleSoft Financials can be used as full ERP solution. This is good for very big companies, especially due to the high cost. However, it is not 100% fluid, it is slow and the reporting is not great.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently, we are using PeopleSoft Financials to take care of financials and accounting. Considering the size of our company and multiple locations, it was very important to use a software that takes care of all our needs. What works for us is that we have accounting, P2P, budgeting, travel and expense that can be taken care of in one application. So, it acts as one stop shop for all our business needs.

It is also very user friendly and intuitive for financial users who are otherwise not very technology friendly.
  • One of the best thing it does is it is customizable. You can implement any business logic you need. This is one of the very key assets of PeopleSoft Financials.
  • PeopleSoft Financials's accounting methods are in line with industry standards. You can use the process as is and ledger will be taken care of.
  • It supports multiple ways to integrate with other systems.
  • Whenever new updates are released, please do thorough testing.
  • Please implement mobile friendly version. I mean we need an app version also.
  • Improve the performance of some of the slow pages.
PeopleSoft Financials really fits well for us because it is one stop solution for all the problems. For example, our offices are in India, US, UK and we do business in multiple geographical regions. With the help of Multi currency set up we are able to post everything to ledger in one currency and do our accounting.

The only place where it doesn't work is Services Procurement because there are multiple way to pay Services.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our company is currently using an older version of PeopleSoft. We are still deciding if we want to upgrade to a later version or to migrate into the cloud. We are reassured knowing that Oracle will support the software for a rolling period of ten plus years.
  • Run reports.
  • Manage user access.
  • Reports could be more dynamic.
PeopleSoft Financials is well suited for running vision reports. PeopleSoft Financials is well suited for checking the general ledger. It is also well suited for posting journal entries and for administrative purposes, such as granting user access. PeopleSoft could have a better dashboard.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently we use peoplesoft as our ERP back end - it houses all of our financial data. We have a front end UI that provides the workflow and catalog management that is integrated into PeopleSoft.
  • New UI tiles are versatile and easy to use
  • Simplified menus across modules
  • Classic navigation option is helpful for transition
  • Cookie crumb navigation no longer visible or provided - making it difficult to advise other users on how to navigate to certain fields
  • PO requires too many mouse clicks to navigate into details
  • REQ workflow clunky
Currently we are only using ePro on the back end - we have an integrated front end for workflow approvals, catalog management that is much more user friendly than previous versions of PeopleSoft. It may be time to review what's now available in the new versions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It Is used for invoicing and contract management integrated with Ariba.
  • Invoicing
  • Contract management
  • Real-time reporting
  • Better integration
Strong tool for invoice management and integrates well with Ariba. PeopleSoft holds our accounts and users and replicates to all our integrated applications.
Subbu Uppuganti-- PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PeopleSoft Financials for payables, procurement, contracts, general ledger, payments, accounting, and inventory departments. This product has been in use for more than 10 years at Bart. Everyone in the user community is very happy with the product. I support this application on a day to day basis.
  • Vendor payments
  • Purchase orders
  • Requisitions
  • More into analytics
  • Chatbots
I would recommend for any globally measured product and any organization that wants to best manage their financial HR needs.
September 16, 2019

My PeopleSoft Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PeopleSoft for our full financial suite. We have a general ledger, accounts payable, inventory, asset management, project costing, and materials management. It is the best product that I have seen in my 40 years of working in accounting. It is easy to use, easy to teach and it delivers the results we want. It has been a good partner to our hospital.
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of obtaining analytical data
  • A winning partnership with our industry
  • Better dashboards, but existing ones are good. I'd like to see trends on the top 10 inventory items we're buying so we could see if we needed to expand relationships with our suppliers. That data could help us drive cost savings.
  • Expense module needs improving - it's not as good as Concur's. We compared both of the products and Concur was the winner in this regard.
  • Commitment control needs to be more user-friendly - it's a pain to use! Setups are complex, as we just went through one. There's room for improvement in making this easier.
This product delivers results in a fast-paced environment. You can get real-time data - how you want it and when you want it. The team can all be looking at various spins on similar data and not slow the speed. We have been able to add bolt on's for scanning and drive, increasing processing times and speed in accounts payable.
August 28, 2019

Administrator Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft is used by multiple business functions and departments. It has a very easy interface to pull reporting and or payroll information from the system.
  • It is perfect for delivering detailed payroll information.
  • Reporting and queries.
  • Flexible and robust.
  • Tracks newly hired associates.
  • Once a customization is in place, it is difficult to change it.
PeopleSoft Financials is well suited for large companies. It provides management with access to data and reoccurring reporting. I am able to provide different levels of security unique to the specific job function or user. The user-friendly reporting can be automatically scheduled and distributed to teams.
December 21, 2018

PeopleSoft Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Used to automate flow across the whole organization. From purchasing raw material, to issuing that material to a production ID producing a finished product, to moving to our inventory control area and finally distribution to the customer. There are several more steps in-between to complete these tasks but that is high level.
  • PeopleSoft handles the purchasing of material, storing that material, and issuing of that to production IDs pretty seamlessly.
  • Once in production, it is a pretty straightforward process for shop floor individuals to complete the production IDs.
  • Then moving production to inventory so we can get the customer flow works pretty good as well.
  • Shop floor data collection could use some enhancements.
  • Streamlining order entry could be another place for enhancements.
From build to stock and order, it handles well. Custom configuration and special tool type scenarios are more challenging as well as creating the item, BOM, and routing.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft Financials is currently being used to house payroll/compensation data as well as provide back-end transactions relating to payroll/compensation. Currently, PeopleSoft Financials is only being used by our Finance dept for payroll/compensation purposes. PeopleSoft Financials currently allows us to address regional issues with various payroll vendors we're currently using by providing the ability to house all vendor data within a single system. This single system allows us to better streamline processes and ensure vendor information is up-to-date and centrally managed.
  • Central system to house multiple vendor data
  • Cross-regional security access features
  • Intuitive UI for Payroll team
  • Reporting capabilities for audit/self-check purposes
  • Ad-hoc reporting capabilities
  • Integration capabilities with various HCMs/CRMs could be better
  • UI is not sleek/well designed. Looks pretty basic as an end-user
PeopleSoft Financials is well suited as a global platform to integrate multiple vendor data across regions/countries and provide payroll services. Where PeopleSoft Financials falls short are the integration capabilities with other systems, and an inability to integrate broader employee data to the extent other financial systems can (i.e. Workday).
John Pavarini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PeopleSoft eProcurement is used at the department level across the organization for all purchasing needs outside of materials managed through our supply chain. This can include miscellaneous office supplies to order catering on advanced notice. The organization outgrew the ability to efficiently expense or justify monthly P-Cards, and automating the payment through ePro with the thousands of cost centers, restricted fund, and grant accounts eased burden on all end users. Although a delay between a department request and actually ordering will now occur, the overall benefit to stream line the financial management piece significantly outweighs any increase in timing. This review and all other details provided are my opinion alone, and not of my employer utilizing the system.
  • System allows for quick ordering from preferred vendors or past orders. This can expedite the process for frequent users.
  • PeopleSoft communicates with our finance department so allows for quick lookup and linking to the thousands of accounts that can be used fro purchasing. This reduces error in entering incorrect numbers that do not exist.
  • Streamline flow to the direct supervisor or account control to approve the ePro request. Triggers a direct email with link to the request, and the review/approval is less than a few clicks.
  • Once the initial approval is granted the current system is not setup to send any follow-up notification around additional approvals or order completion. This creates somewhat of a surprise effect on when an order will actually be made or delivered.
  • Due to the volume of accounts that can be entered, there are limited restrictions for someone to entered an incorrect cost center or even one they do not own.
  • Is not mobile friendly and must be logged into the organization's network to access the internal PeopleSoft platform.
Large organizations can benefit much more than smaller businesses. This is especially true with a centralized finance/purchasing department for a multi-location, statewide, or nationwide company as it streamlines the process to order and deliver where the request originated from. Requesting purchase on the fly or as needed make ePro and excellent choice both for management or front line staff. Having preferred vendors and vendor codes established in your organization make using eProcurement much easier for record keeping.
Return to navigation