TrustRadius
Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/tH/rx/4APKV7V3F5EA.JPEGA great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players.We rolled out Pentaho within one of our business units as a way to get at trapped data from an old home-grown CRM system that had been recently updated to .net. Pentaho quickly got us access to the data and the built-in ETL tools were easy and quick to use and learn. It enabled a team of two to provide enough data, reporting and analytical dashboards to support over $1.5B in sales.,The built-in ETL tools are easy to learn, and can quickly import and transform any data you have. The excellent visualizations and charts are pleasing to the eye, and looks are important in sales and marketing presentations. The rollout was fast, we installed the software and were building dashboards within minutes.,I think the relative obscurity of the tool is a downside, not as many developers, consultants or peers you can tap into. Lack of a solid user community held us back, looking at Power BI and Qlik, they have huge user communities that help each other out. Would have liked that here. Smaller company means smaller sales force, and the lack of a local presence made it hard to only interact online with the account rep. Other companies have someone local who often stops by with pre-sales developers to just pitch in free of charge when they have time.,6,Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI and Tableau Server,8,7,Qlik Sense, Azure SQL Database, Informatica Cloud Data IntegrationPentaho for your businessCurrently, Pentaho was using it for our internal IT Department. We are using Pentaho to address more specific needs to integrate and analyze the company data that resides on all systems. It is necessary to have a secondary system that runs for the same purpose to run small and simpler modeling tools for Data Warehouses and Business Intelligence. It also acts as a comparison system to build simple jobs and transformations.,Easy to create simple jobs and transformations Mature data access and data transformation capabilities Suitable for complex analytic use cases Consume data from many sources,At first, one needs to learn the basic concept of this software before going for the implementation. Once you are an expert on this then you will rock it. Some of the basic features need to be enhanced such as sharing and collaboration capabilities Needs to support automatically generated analytic visualizations or models,8,Microsoft BI, Oracle BI Foundation Suite and SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform,8,7,Joomla!Pentaho can be a great solution for a companyWe are currently using this application for all the companies. We have managed to develop a lot of reports and dashboards and also bursting reports. Until now we have been able to meet the requirements of reporting in the company in all departments. Pentaho is a good BI solution to also provide the option of creating many operational reports if you don't have a good option in your ERP.,SQL query + scripting will help you design different objects, tables, pivots, dashboards, linked t other reports. Organizing in which way you want, synchronizing with AD is very helpful to set security/folder/group of users/single users. By using Eclipse you can set another layer of security by filtering information users's need to access. Sending reports y email also can be set up by security, by groups or list of users. Design seems pretty secure, from time to time can fail when there is too much design.,Would like to have a format copy for different objects, tables, cross-tabs, grids, it would make design much more easier. Of course, we use template and CSS design for these objects, from time to time we design something different and it makes it much harder to do this manually for each similar object. Possibility to use multiple DB in the .xaction.,9,direct query in excel,8,8,Kyubit Business Intelligence, BOARDPentaho was just OK as an OEM solutionWe made a decision to use Pentaho to OEM into the analytics feature of our software and the developers had a much harder time getting it integrated than we were expecting. The Mondrian code was hard to learn and the number of qualified applicants who already knew how to use it was limited.,Being able to use the OLAP Analyzer tool saved our organization a lot of time in not needing to develop an OLAP tool on our own. The ability to customize the tool and integrate all the internationalization we required was pretty straightforward.,The Mondrian code was hard to learn. The availability of resources that had experience with Pentaho and Mondrian was limited for us. The dashboards were slow and we found that it ended up being easier to remove the Pentaho pieces of the dashboard.,5,,4,7Pentaho - Enhancing our ETL CapabilitiesPentaho is used for scheduled ETL between Remedy and other platforms to help centralize and enrich data.,Easy to use! Reliable for small jobs Open source Easy to learn Great community online Fast,Open sourced Running on our vendor's VM... could be the reason why we are seeing some data limitation issues Future friendly,8,,BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite, BMC Atrium CMDB,9,9
Unspecified
Pentaho
100 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

Pentaho Reviews

Pentaho
100 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 14 of 100 Pentaho ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
June 28, 2018

Pentaho Review: "A great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Good. The built-in ETL allows you to connect to most sources and types of data. It is nice that you don't need any special ETL tool to do the work, but when you get into an implementation like this you'll find you do still need tools like Informatica or Snowflake to stage data to a warehouse so you can access it faster with less transformation.
Read this authenticated review
Ilham AB profile photo
March 19, 2018

User Review: "Pentaho for your business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Pentaho is able to read from SQL engine or many data sources with the additional capability to use the available plugin. The plug-in is bundled with all servers and allows users to create new data sources for use throughout the system from other databases or CSV files uploaded to the server while using a setup wizard. During the steps of creating a data source users also are given a chance to create a data model describing how columns or fields relate to each other creating hierarchies of relationships like Time: Year, Quarters, Months, Weeks and Product Division, Category, Type etc. It also supports NoSQL system.
Read Ilham AB's full review
Mihaela Olariu profile photo
February 23, 2018

Review: "Pentaho can be a great solution for a company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Usability for previous day data.
Read Mihaela Olariu's full review
No photo available
June 30, 2017

User Review: "Pentaho was just OK as an OEM solution"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

4
I was not involved in the details of these discussions, but I believe they supported what we needed, however going through the API was often slower than writing the query to hit the DB directly and going around Pentaho.
Read this authenticated review
Gordon Yeh profile photo
June 27, 2016

Review: "Pentaho - Enhancing our ETL Capabilities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
With a built in AR Data source connector, setting this up was very easy. Currently we are using Pentaho to connect it to our multiple-discovery platform, HR user platform and exporting data from our AR system to various consumers of the data. Once I get started, most jobs take 1-2 hours of "coding". Very easy, and I am quite excited to hear about new projects that I can utilize Pentaho to help us deliver what the customer wants.
Read Gordon Yeh's full review
Jordan Squire profile photo
February 23, 2016

Review: "Pentaho powerful backend BI tooling, hit-and-miss data visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
There are a lot of natively supported connections. For those not natively supported if they have a JDBC driver, REST API, HTTP API, or some other API it is likely that you can connect with the data source. There is also an active plugin community which has connections to many additional data sources without having to generate the connection yourself.
Read Jordan Squire's full review
Yinghua Hu profile photo
March 01, 2016

Pentaho Review: "A powerful ETL tool which is open source"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Range of data sources include MySQL and Impala, which are two main sources we need. It is very easy to set up also.
Read Yinghua Hu's full review
Ivan Miller profile photo
February 26, 2016

Review: "Pentaho- An adequate BI solution for users on a budget!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
This is one of the areas where I think pentaho has done a great job--and with every iteration of the product they seem to include more and more data sources to connect to. Given the data we've been working with, I don't think we've come across a situation yet where we haven't had a relatively simple connector to use.
Read Ivan Miller's full review
Anderson L.A. profile photo
February 16, 2016

Pentaho Review: "One of the best BI solutions for start up companies or those looking for a highly customizable tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
As previously stated, Pentaho is an excellent tool for start ups and where CTOs are willing to invest in staff training. It may not be user friendly as Tableau or SAS, but once staff master it, development of new solutions becomes limitless.
Read Anderson L.A.'s full review
Deepak Paramanand profile photo
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho the best BI integrator"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Range of data sources you could connect to. The fact that you could read unstructured data into a Hadoop workflow, enrich and load it to a Relational database, refresh a report and finally burst it to end users was easily doable with Pentaho Data Integration. Had we used other tools we would have to build the integration ourselves which is wasted time and money.
Read Deepak Paramanand's full review
Adam O'Connor profile photo
September 16, 2014

Review: "Pentaho Report Designer Integated with Odoo v7!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Pentaho is very flexible in terms of data sources. The connection to Odoo works well and the direct, object-based connection works well and is quite powerful for generating reports as well. I can see using Pentaho to generate reports for ecommerce sites by creating a JDBC connection to a MySQL database and although integration within an ecommerce platform is not currently available, it would still be useful to run Pentaho reports in the designer.
Read Adam O'Connor's full review
Itamar Steinberg profile photo
December 05, 2014

"Data Integration with Pentaho Kettle review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Hi, I uploaded a video from my course http://etltutorial.com on you tube - about data sources with Pentaho Kettle.

I will summarize it here. You can connect to relational databases like: mssql, mysql, and Oracle. It also connects to files like: txt, csv, xls (even though I don’t recommend it) and more complex files: xml, json. It can connect to API, web services and of course big data like Hive, Cassandra, MongoDB and more including bulk loads. I think Pentaho Kettle is versatile and has 95% of sources you will ever need.

Read Itamar Steinberg's full review
No photo available
February 23, 2016

User Review: "An implementor view on Pentaho tools."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
The most powerful feature and reason we use this software. As I already wrote - it can handle most of the possible data out of the box. From sql sources, to no-sql, and read from HDFS etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 24, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho for Quality Assurance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Except SQL server all other db we are able to merge data easily, with SQL server to oracle we had some connectivity issues which can be overcome easily over the time.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (12)
6.5
Customizable dashboards (11)
6.9
Report Formatting Templates (12)
6.8
Drill-down analysis (12)
7.1
Formatting capabilities (12)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (7)
6.2
Report sharing and collaboration (11)
4.9
Publish to Web (11)
6.2
Publish to PDF (13)
7.4
Report Versioning (8)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (11)
6.9
Delivery to Remote Servers (3)
6.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (10)
6.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (10)
6.4
Predictive Analytics (9)
5.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
7.5
Role-Based Security Model (12)
7.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (12)
7.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (4)
7.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (6)
5.4
Dedicated iOS Application (3)
6.5
Dedicated Android Application (3)
6.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (7)
5.9
REST API (3)
6.7
Javascript API (3)
6.3
iFrames (3)
5.0
Java API (3)
5.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (3)
5.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (3)
6.4

About Pentaho

Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.

Pentaho Integrations

Pentaho Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No