Selenium Reviews

197 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 46)

Sachin Gulmadagkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Cost-effective Solution for the automated testing requirement of all your cross-platform web applications

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is the tool of choice for undertaking the automated testing of the bunch of web applications and mobile applications we have built. It used across the organization in Engineering, Professional Services, and pre-sales teams. The tool allows us to function test, regression test the application, but we also use it to generate the test data required for performance testing. We use to perform the cross-browser test for our web applications
  • Cross Browser Testing
  • Support for Various Platform
  • Parallel Test Execution
  • Support for multiple programming languages
  • Open-source
  • Initial Setup takes a long time
  • Documentation
  • Support for Web-based applications only
  • No reliable technical support
  • The steep learning curve for non-technical testers
  • Selenium is one of the best tools available in the market to satisfy all your web testing needs. It's free and virtually has no limit on the number of parallel tests that can be executed. If your organization's core product is web-based (computer, mobiles, tablets), then selenium will solve your automated testing needs. The tool can be customized as you wish with your choice of reporting plugin, programming support, or choice of behavior-driven frameworks. Performance test tools can also use these function tests and regression tests like JMeter for running the performance tests.
  • But if your core product is a desktop application, then there is no support. Also, if you heavily rely on manual testers, then there is a very steep learning curve, and it can be challenging to change the mindset of testers.
Read Sachin Gulmadagkar's full review
Binoy Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Worries about lack of Regression, more time of testing, here we go....Boom....Selenium!!!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've developed a customized automation framework around Selenium Webdriver and other supporting tools. It's being used by all the QA departments across the organization. The real business problem it addresses is very obvious to have good coverage of Regression Test Cases, which, in a way, helps to reduce the testing time cycle.
  • Reduce overall test execution time
  • Automating Web UI components
  • Helps to achieve great coverage of Regression Test Cases
  • Support for desktop-based application automation
  • Reach HTML Reports
  • Browser support compatibility
Selenium is best suited for web and mobile-based automation testing. Mainly an automation framework built around selenium web driver is used for Regression Testing coverage, hence testing time can be reduced.

Selenium is less appropriate for organizations where desktop-based applications are being used, and they are looking for automation solutions.
Read Binoy Shah's full review
Tharanga Wickramsinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2020

One of the best frameworks for testing web applications

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is one of the best testing frameworks for testing web applications. Also, it can be used for web automation activities. Selenium helps to reduce the time and effort needed for each job in our organization. So, we have been using it for five years.
  • Selenium supports the number of programming languages, and it smoothly works on different operating systems.
  • And it is open-source. Also, it has a large community with great support. It is a plus point of Selenium.
  • Selenium IDE, Selenium Grid, and Selenium WebDriver are simple to set-up and integrate on IDEs such as Eclipse.
  • The major drawback is, users need to have excellent knowledge about programming to work with Selenium. Otherwise, it is difficult.
  • Selenium does not support windows-based application automation. It only supports web-based applications.
Selenium does not support Windows-based application automation. It only supports web-based applications.
Read Tharanga Wickramsinghe's full review
Rajesh Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

Selenium is the best for web-based automations & testing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Selenium in my automation projects. It is really helpful in automating web-based applications and also it is very fast to implement in any language because it has simple code. Most of my automation projects use Selenium with C# only. I am very grateful to have Selenium. I would definitely recommend it to others as well. Kudos to those who created this awesome Selenium tool.
  • We can use Selenium to automate the form-filling process.
  • It can be used for data scraping.
  • It can be used for Website Automations like data-process automation and data collection.
  • They can improve the version that works with Winium tool.
  • They can provide an easy method for data scraping.
  • They can provide some sample documentation on all the features it has, with examples.
Selenium is well suited for web-based automation projects, and it is mainly used in a testing framework as well. I think it is best suited for automation as well as testing. We can even do mobile automation using Selenium. We can do Windows, web, and mobile automation using Selenium. That is a big plus for Selenium.
Read Rajesh Kumar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Selenium is a great tool for Automation Testing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Selenium for QA purposes. It is used to automate UI and interface testing as well as implemented part of our Test-Driven Development. It helps us create many test cases and give us the ability to report back on several metrics of the performance of the system. It is used primarily by our developers, technical services, and QA teams.
  • Ease of Implementation
  • Best for Automated testing
  • Since it is open-source, there is no technical support available except for forums.
  • Difficult to use and create test cases if not familiar with it.
Selenium is an excellent tool for automating the testing of web applications. If you have an application that has is heavily focused on the user experience and interface, it can make it easier to test and create use cases and be reported on it. It can also help test the application with multiple browsers, which has always been a challenge for tech software companies. Selenium is not useful for automating web scraping, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Janice Cruz (L.I.O.N.) | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Crucial software for high volume testing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium daily in my organization. We started using it to run basic automation testing of our web forms. This helped us significantly cut down on the amount of time that it was taking to manually submit lead tests. This ended up leading to full automation of entire test suites.
  • The ability to create testing automation
  • Even without technical experience, I can create test suites and validation using the recording tool
  • We’ve saved hundreds of hours of manual testing by creating automated test plans with this tool
  • It’s free
  • Sometimes the test sites will fail even if the page hasn’t changed
Selenium is perfect for what our company develops. We build landing pages and microsites that will lead to users filling out web forms. We need to test these forms daily and sometimes we have to test for every single state or for every scenario from a drop down. Previously we would have an entire team of people submitting hundreds of leads over the course of a few days to cover these variables. Now we can run thousands of tests in the background while continuing to work on other projects. It may still take hours but we can be less involved with it running.
Read Janice Cruz (L.I.O.N.)'s full review
Trung Truong | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2019

Selenium pros and cons

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium with TestNG are being used by the QA team in my company as part of the quality assurance process. It helps cover our UI functional test cases across multiple supported browsers on different operating systems, and reduces regression testing time. The automated tests are also integration in Jenkins as a part of the continuous integration and continuous deployment processes.
  • Open source automation test tool
  • Support most of the popular web browsers
  • Easy to find technical supports due to huge community
  • Can be integrated with almost any software development tools
  • Need to have programming skill (at least basic) in order to learn.
  • Built-in methods can be inconsistent across browsers. For example, an element might not be clickable on a browser, although it is clickable on another browser.
  • Advanced programming skills are required if you want to master everything supported by Selenium.
  • Only support web applications.
Selenium is well suited for testing web applications. It supports almost all popular web browsers on the market. It is very effective to help reducing regression testing time of the team. As any other automation tools, you should not automate test cases that only run for once. It is also not suitable for database nor web service testing.
Read Trung Truong's full review
Hung Vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Powerful automation test framework for UI testing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium as a standard automation tool for our department for all web projects. We implement common test frameworks with library and common test cases. Then in each project, it will extend this test framework and add its all-test case into it but could re-use common cases, such as login or verify the connection.
We use Selenium, Postman, and JMeter to have the full automation test framework which supports UI, API testing and performance testing
We integrate Selenium with our Gitlab CICD pipeline to check the functioning of the build as automation test case are triggered on every merge on the master branch.
  • It supports multiple browsers and many programming languages
  • Selenium documentation is rich and clear, and it has a big community with great support
  • Selenium IDE, Selenium Grid, and Selenium WebDriver are simple to set up and integrate on IDE such as Eclipse
  • It able to perform testing on almost every kind of UI component
  • Well integrated with other DevOps tool such as Jenkin and Gitlab to automate CICD pipeline
  • It is too complex for the newer people to get started on
  • Execute time is slow. It takes a lot of time to finish all the test cases
  • Add feature get JS script console error
  • Not much support on performance and API testing
It well suited for big or medium-sized projects with UI and for those who have experience or resources to build the testing framework so other juniors could apply the framework to create their all test case. It is also good in case you need to perform testing in multiple browsers with various GUI component
Selenium would not suitable for mobile testing or backend applications. If your application exposes APIs, you could use other simpler tool such as Postman.
Read Hung Vu's full review
Shivani Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Selenium with Python makes a great combo for your web automation and testings!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used within our team of R and D analysts. We use Selenium with Python 3 for web automation. Selenium web driver for Chrome on Linux machines is a very smooth experience. The Web Driver API is available for most popular web browsers. Most of our marketing forms are filled up by Selenium automation. Data scraping using BeautifulSoup 4 with web automation makes it simpler to extract data from websites. We first trigger a website using Selenium, and then use BeautifulSoup for data scraping from that website.
  • Web browser integrations and support. It has a large community so as to debug your code easily.
  • Python and Selenium make a perfect match.
  • Better web scraping in Python with Selenium, Beautiful Soup, and Pandas; it's very easy to scrape data in key-value pairs that are converted from HTML tags.
  • Selenium is not as fast as some industry tools. Not good for large scale production.
  • Mismatch with tools. There are cases when some websites are not Selenium ready, and the content is dynamic.
  • HTML tags and DOM.
  • Selenium requires good programming skills. There are tools in the market already which do all the automation and data scraping using drag and drop options.
Selenium is best suited for Python and Linux machines. With Python and the Selenium web-driver, it works very smoothly. Following are the use cases of Selenium which we use:
1. Testing websites.
2. Data Scraping.
3. Form filling.
Read Shivani Sharma's full review
Sanyam Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

"Selenium vs RPA - No comparison"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium in our web development tool and for automation most of the time. Our mains purpose in using Selenium is to automate google forms. We have various sources of input for our events and registrations, but we have to have our all data collectively at one place. So when a user of ours uses our Android app, our website's google forms, or Survey Monkey, we need all of the data on google sheet. We club all data to a CSV and use Selenium to populate google form and sheets, and this way we have all of our data in one place. This complete process gets automated by Selenium.
  • First things first, Selenium is open source, thus providing a large community to help out. Most of the times when our team gets struck with some Regex problems or Syntax issues we directly go to the community page and get it done very fast.
  • Our Ubuntu based environment makes it favorable to work with Python and Selenium. Our clients, mostly with Windows systems, send us their script and we rectify them on Linux. This makes it a script-based and logic-centric tool. No barrier to the OS or Platform.
  • The preloaded libraries for Selenium make it suitable to work fast with repeated business goals. It is very easy to locate Tags, HTML elements, CSS, etc. Our Chrome and Firefox based scripts work seamlessly on all platforms.
  • The technology lacks fault tolerance. Whenever we automate a google form with a centralized CSV, there is always a chance of getting a "NaN Error," i.e, no value error. Some of the fill-ups in google forms are always optional and there's no constraint to fill them, which leads to the input being marked as empty or no value. Thus we have to add if-else logics for the same things.
  • When we scrape data using Selenium, we always end up with fewer values than expected. Suppose we have a table to import/scrape, Selenium updates the table in the spreadsheet real-time, and open-writes each time rather than making a buffered-table in its memory and updating the spreadsheet at once.
  • Scripts written for Internet Explorer always need debugging to work with Firefox and Chrome in an Ubuntu/Linux environment. Though we mostly use chrome in windows to write logic, some of the webpages are IE friendly.
Most Suited: When you are working with Linux/Python it's best to have Selenium for only web-based automation. In addition, we did not have any automation tools for Linux until now (Like UiPath or Automation Anywhere), thus Selenium is a good choice.
Less Suited: If you are completely work-based in Windows and no one on the staff has issues with the Windows UX, one should always go for UiPath.
Read Sanyam Jain's full review
Alex Kreston | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2019

For web app automation Selenium is my tool of choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a Selenium based test automation framework (developed in-house) for testing of our web-based application using variety of browsers.
  • I have used selenium in several technology organizations and one strength that I see is that Selenium can be integrated into frameworks written using different programming languages which allows for native support from organizations development teams and eliminates the need of introducing other languages.
  • Selenium has a powerful object identification mechanism which provides the ability to create custom object repositories and map out entire application interfaces before the tests are even developed.
  • The Selenium community is extremely helpful and even for beginners there are answers available for most questions and challenges that may come up.
  • As some web applications update content dynamically I have experienced "stale element exception" quite a lot and it would be a helpful feature if selenium had a find element retry mechanism embedded into the framework itself.
Selenium is a great solution for web based application testing. I had to use another framework for testing APIs.
Read Alex Kreston's full review
Mustafa Yildirim, MSc, PMP, PSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

Selenium is a really good option for testing web based applications!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is currently being used by developers to be able to increase test coverage in addition to Cucumber scenarios for the front-end product and also in order to provide regression tests by QA team besides SOAPUI and Postman. My two employers finally decided to go on with this tool, considering it's open sourced and has relatively wide community support. I had found the opportunity to use also other ones, however, Selenium seems more talented on its stack, and they provide some advantages on some edge cases.
  • It is a self-proven open source tool and has rich language support. It is cut out for regression tests on HTML based web application subject.
  • It is a relatively easy to use and robust tool for developers, and essential for the QA professionals.
  • On basic flows, the record and play feature is really nice, especially for noncomplex pages.
  • Implemented Regression Tests could save your day one day.
  • Mobile testing should probably be evaluated, as that may require another horizontal spreading to accept another subject/profession.
  • Updates that are not planned well may break your automation.
  • Sometimes, somehow, it can raise false alarms about assertions that may be hard to manage.
Selenium is the tool that you must try/give a chance if you want automation tests on your software release in case of web-based applications. I would suggest for all developers in addition to QA professionals to implement Selenium functional tests for their products. It's fairly easy to learn and apply, alongside many advantages like clean and trustable implementations.
Read Mustafa Yildirim, MSc, PMP, PSM's full review
Michael Fleck | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Selenium: first choice for web browser automation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Test scripts for our customers are being executed in the backend which uses Selenium as a core framework.
  • Selenium has wide range of language bindings.
  • As an open source framework, it has fewer bugs in its source code.
  • A lot of people are using Selenium, you can find answers to almost every question on the internet.
  • Selenium 4 will finally have the opportunity to interact with the browser itself instead of with a driver.
  • Cross-browser testing is a bit hard with Selenium as different browsers sometimes need different codes. That needs to be streamlined.
Selenium should be used if you want to automate your web browser, but as a web scrapper, it is useful.
Read Michael Fleck's full review
Pankaj Rawat | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

Automating things with Selenium saves time

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Selenium in my daily use as I am a tester. Through Selenium we inject JavaScript into HTML code in different browsers to test our GUI website. We don't need a strong technical background to use Selenium. It saves lot of time when automating websites rather than testing them manually. Selenium is open source, so anyone can use it and provides wide community support. It supports multiple browsers.
  • Saves a lot of time
  • Open source, large community support. Everything is easily available on the internet.
  • Record and play features
  • Should support the same code in different browsers, because we need to change the code as per browsers
  • It does not support mobile testing
  • Sometimes it gets very slow
For automating websites it saves a lot of time
Read Pankaj Rawat's full review
Lakshmi Achary | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

Selenium is the new Regression Testing

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium to test e2e testing by the QA automation team and its used across the organization. It addresses the problems and difficulties of regression testing.
  • Quality Assurance has worked better with Selenium since this program helps eliminate manual QA testing, which itself could lead to exponential error, and cost.
  • Selenium can automate any part of a web page if it is based on HTML. So if you want to check it, open the CRM web application, open the browser console and confirm if all the elements required for your automation test are based on HTML.
  • You can only test HTML based websites with Selenium. If the CRM application exposes an HTML based front end that is accessible via a web browser then you can use Selenium to test it, if not you can't.
  • The non-HTML components of a web page cannot be accessed by Selenium. You might want to use Image Based testing tools like Sikuli.
  • Slowness may be a minor factor with Selenium, though this is an issue with basically any testing software since waiting on a site to execute JavaScript requires the browser to wait for a particular action.
Selenium is well suited for better UI for wait for loading times. Instead of hard sleeps or explicit waits, I found that CRM actually displays nice spinning "Loading..." messages while it's loading. So to wait for the message to go away before performing further actions.
Read Lakshmi Achary's full review
Ilya Popovich | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

Must have framework in your daily QA work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Selenium WebDriver and Hub daily across the whole organization. We cover the most routine test cases on a daily basis to prevent any human-related errors. We get plenty of scheduled jobs to run tests overnight and get results quickly. Web GUI testing became easier for everyone on the team.
  • Open source.
  • Allows use of different languages.
  • Huge community.
  • Supports many browsers.
  • Very slow UI tests (it's not Selenium's flaw, but the whole process).
  • Selenium Hub has lots of restrictions and not all written tests passed locally will run on it.
  • Mobile testing is not supported (you need an extra solution).
It's web "standard" de facto for UI testing, so definitely I'll recommend Selenium.
Read Ilya Popovich's full review
Om Prakash Sheshappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2018

Best open source test automation tool for regression testing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium as an open source test platform/ framework is used by the whole organization. It is used as automation testing framework and widely used for UI testing.
  • One of the best user communities.
  • Easy to learn and bring new folks who are new to test automation up to speed.
  • Works well with many new plugins and test frameworks.
  • Open source is a better alternative to HP UFT when it comes to UI testing.
  • Best suited for UI testing - would be nice if this could be developed/ tweaked for unit testing as well.
  • Support for mobile testing.
  • Performance testing.

- Well suited for end-to-end functional testing of web applications.

- Not so good with mobile web applications testing.

- Not suited for unit testing.

Read Om Prakash Sheshappa's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2019

Selenium - Cost Efficient, High ROI, easy implementation, Strong open source community support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are working in testfactory in the IT department of my organization which is responsible for providing test services to multiple projects run by different departments. We have implemented a Selenium page object model with cucumber BDD framework. We have automated multiple applications like web CRM and mobile. The programming language we have used is Java. Automation team consists of 6 team members. The automation team is responsible for developing and maintaining automation for multiple applications. Automated tests are integrated with Jenkins (CI/CD) to run in nightlies. Other tools in integration we use are GIT, MAVEN etc.
  • Selenium is an open source software so its Free and has a very strong user community support.
  • Selenium Supports cross browser automation, API automation and database automation.
  • Selenium tests can be implemented in any language like Java, python, ruby, C# etc.
  • Selenium test can be easily integrated with existing testing framework testNg, Junit etc.
  • Selenium does not support windows based application automation.
  • Selenium test development requires developer coding skills to make test dynamic.
  • Selenium is purely open source no customer support exists but have a huge open source community which encounters and solves similar problems.
Well suited:
- For Web and mobile-based automation
- For cross-browser automation
Less suited:
- Selenium is not a tool for automation of windows-based applications like mainframe, .Net , Java etc.






Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2019

Selenium - a browser automation tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used in my company for automated testing in web applications, and it allows us to avoid manual regression testing, and also allows us to fix regression bugs faster and more easily. It's fully integrated to CI, with a Selenium Grid being responsible to launch all browser drivers (allows Chrome, Firefox, IE/Edge, PhantomJS, etc...).

It has a big community, which allows you to easily get lots of questions answered when a problem occurs. Also, it has support for multiple open source frameworks for test execution (Protractor, per example) and also for test reporting. Their web browser drivers allow us to replicate almost all interactions that a user could do, which offers a really good set of events to test web applications.
  • Open Source
  • Huge community
  • WebDrivers with lots of capabilities
  • Integration with CI tools like Jenkins
  • Basis for multiple automatic testing frameworks
  • You need to really understand how to configure Selenium, otherwise your integration could be really painfull
  • Slow to start up
I would recommend using Selenium WebDriver for acceptance/regression automated tests for your web applications, and it has more power when you integrate it on a CI build tool. It works perfectly when you need to test on several browsers (like Chrome, Firefox and IE/Edge). When you have lots of knowledge on this tool, you will also use it to create some routine scripts using web elements, like create clicker bots.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Selenium at a glance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by most of the scrum team to automate web page testing. It's being used across the whole organization. It is used as UI automation tool. Scripts are written for smoke, sanity and regression testing purpose.
  • Lightweight and open source, so it's easy to download.
  • Can be integrated into any Java or Javascript framework for automation testing.
  • Supports multiple browser and multiple scripting language.
  • Should have a better locator strategy for modern day complex javascript pages
  • There are multiple types of waits, it should come up with a unique wait strategy
  • Should have option to highlight each action such that user can undersand what action the tool is performing
Selenium is well suited when web pages are rendered by server site rather than client site; less complex UI
Selenium is less appropriate when web pages are rendered by the client site; complex UI
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Selenium Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used selenium to test our applications across the technology department. It helps test our products to ensure they do not contain bugs for our end users.
  • It provides automation to test products well.
  • It is fairly easy to use with good documentation, which is of course important for trying to learn a new product.
  • It is an industry leader so has good support within the community.
  • I think selenium IDE can use some improvement. It is a good, easy, quick product to use, however, I have noticed over the past few months that it is no longer supported on newer Firefox browsers, which is unacceptable.
  • selenium IDE should work on other browsers besides Firefox.
It is well suited for testing applications, whether is it is a smoke test, regression, or something that you are tired of doing manually and want to automate, like creating a user for example. The one drawback is it is pretty brittle. If the software changes, for example, an HTML id or element, you have to be constantly updating your selenium suite to keep up with the software.
Read this authenticated review
Siddharth Walia | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

Selenium: One of the best Automation tool available in the market for FREE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium primarily for testing the Web Applications that are being developed for the clients. It is mainly used by the QA department for writing automated scripts using Java and Javascript for testing various scenarios in the application. The QA team constantly keeps adding more test cases to the test suites to ensure maximum coverage and then combine it with Jenkins to run the test cases over night, so that we can get the test reports in the morning.
  • Record and play feature that lets you record all the steps with a click of a button
  • The intelligent fields selection feature lets you use the locators that you can find easily, rather than being confined to Xpaths
  • The large selection of languages that can be used to write test scripts, if you have a knowledge of any programming language, you can easily get started with Selenium
  • Free of Cost !!!
  • Reading images is one area that might be implemented in Selenium
  • The slowness can be decreased, but I think that not just with Selenium, it could be with any Software
  • Not able to perform Database testing using Selenium
It is a great tool for beginners and any mid-sized company that wants to automate their testing process. It is easy to learn and write code in Selenium. Also, it is available for free, therefore one can give it a shot. If you want to automate simple test cases, it can be used effectively, but for complex test cases, there are some other options available in the market.
The online support and documentation available is huge, so you will find the solution to most of your problems 90% of the time.
Read Siddharth Walia's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

Selenium - Gateway for Automation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For one single department, we used Selenium software for our website application implementation. It was helpful in testing software infrastructure without a need to focus resources and time on learning new test scripting languages. We also utilized Selenium in assisting with the creation of automation that was carried out in test browsers. It was also beneficial for generating reports that we required.
  • The efficiency in testing is beneficial with Selenium because without the questioning the potential usefulness of software, we wouldn't really be able to confirm that certain web applications will perform the way we want them to.
  • Quality Assurance has worked better with Selenium since this program helps eliminate manual QA testing, which itself could lead to exponential error, and cost.
  • A strength of Selenium is also the array of tools as well as cross-platform capability. The remotely controlled server acts as a device platform for JavaScript, PHP, Perl, and Ruby.
  • Selenium is pretty user-friendly but sometimes tests tend to flake out. I'd say roughly one out of twenty tests yields a false positive.
  • Selenium software cannot read images. This is a minor negative because a free plug-in is available from alternate sources.
  • Slowness may be a minor factor with Selenium, though this is an issue with basically any testing software since waiting on a site to execute JavaScript requires the browser to wait for a particular action.
Ease of use and the intuitive set up of Selenium IDE are both easy positives. Setup is very speedy and almost any employee will be able to grasp the ideas presented. We utilized Selenium for Quality Assurance lab situations but maintained discretion for each member of the firm. It was definitely reliable enough, even given the ratio for false-positive readings, for us to choose it for primary automation in lab functions. The cost to use Selenium was basically in the middle of the road as far as range goes.
Read this authenticated review
Sachin Kalakeri | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2018

Selenium - The future of automation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used by just our department which is quality assurance. We use it basically for the GUI regression testing. We have a virtual private branch exchange and a lot of telecom features available for the call centre workplace. The selenium tests help with automating and running the entire GUI checks each time a new feature is deployed. This is scheduled as a cron job that runs overnight and gets the results in a graphical format.
  • Complete GUI regression.
  • Integration with other in-house apps thus providing various features like display of results in graphical format.
  • Ease of use and the freedom to code in the language you are comfortable with.
  • Use of selenium in desktop applications.
  • Enhancing the selenium uses to backend testing along with front end.
  • Improvements in the ways in which it can display the result.
Suited for GUI testing. Regression testing and integration with other in-house apps. Not suitable for testing backend applications and testing desktop applications. Testing limited only to GUI aspects. Test runs and result display can be enhanced. GUI needs to be improved. Support for IDE needs to be continued even with the latest Firefox OS version. IDE should be supported by other browsers as well.

Read Sachin Kalakeri's full review
Donny DeLeon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

My take on Selenium

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium was under review by my department when we were starting with automation. The main drive to use selenium was that it was free and it had a large community. It also supported many different languages and can be easily implemented with other software including Apache JMeter. It was also looked as a way to test API using scripting languages.

What made Selenium sound great was the compatibility with Firefox and other web browsers. It is a great tool for people who like to use playback and record and insert data using Excel or other programs. It's easy to upload and to use.
  • One of the main features is that it is free to use.
  • Compatible with different languages such as Java, Javascript, Python and many more
  • A vast online community where users can go and get information and ask questions regarding any issues they may be having
  • No support at all. Since selenium is open source you will not get any support. The only support is the online community.
  • Updates can break your system. If you are new to selenium and update without doing much research there's a chance that it could break your automation scripts.
  • Community support can sometime take days to get an answer you're looking for.
Selenium suits well to companies starting out. It is free and while there is a learning curve, it's not hard to grasp. There are many online videos users can view and because it supports different languages you are not stuck if you just know 1.

The UI is not fancy but it gets the job done.

One scenario where it's less suited is that you have to install 2 types of software. Since the playback and record feature only works with Firefox, it can be hard to switch between the 2 tools offered.
Read Donny DeLeon's full review

About Selenium

Selenium is open source software for browser automation, primarily used for functional, load, or performance testing of applications.

Selenium Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No