Selenium Reviews

208 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 14, 2020
Isaiah Hayes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For us, Selenium is used solely by the QA department. Since a large majority of our projects include web design, we particularly use selenium for the assurance of our monotonous tasks. However monotonous they may be, as a vital part of our product - they need to be tested! Selenium helps facilitate the autonomous test cycles, and concurrently frees the hands of our department to handle much more engaging tasks.

Additionally, all companies (especially those in the field of marketing) face time constraints. As a lead currently managing a handful of very important projects, time is imperative; how can we maximize our time on things like stability, functionality, and engagement, while spending less human energy on small tasks like content and grammar checks? Well, if the application is web based - Selenium is one answer.
  • Simple record and playback UI. Many programs boast interfaces that appear confusing upon open. However, Selenium creators have implemented a simple UI which makes it not only easy to use, but easy to learn.
  • Support for various languages. As a Java native program, it's safe to say that it would be considered outdated by our upcoming generation of developers. Yet, it also supports Python, Ruby, Pearl, PHP, and more.
  • Unfortunately, there's no way to run tests with playback on a single monitor. For those who simply do not have additional screens on-hand, Selenium is impossible to use. Those who do have multiple monitors may choose to use 1 monitor for any specified reason, therefore making Selenium a non-option.
  • As a program designed to function within Firefox, users tend to experience technical issues with opposing browsers. Although Selenium has been improved over the years, it still has not mastered cross-browser compatibility.
Web applications are well suited by the use of Selenium. For example, many of our creations are web based, which make selenium a viable option for our automation needs. However, a prodigious size of our products are created from a proprietary engine. This being said, selenium is not an option for the majority of our products.

This forces us to find other suitable automation software for more than 2/3 of our products.
Read Isaiah Hayes's full review
November 10, 2020
zahit bogus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium IDE because it allows us to test web-based applications that we develop and then automate them, allowing us to check the same cases on the browser without entering them again and again. It is actively used by Business Intelligence and testing units.
  • It acts like a Normal user, performs and records operations accordingly.
  • Because Selenium is open source, it works on many platforms (Windows, Linux, IOS) without any problems.
  • It is more preferred than other testing tools thanks to its multi-language support and platform support. (UFT, QTP)
  • It has insufficient development for objects to be found. Objects with dynamic properties often fail.
  • It is only available as an add-on for Firefox and Chrome.
Selenium is a “Browser Automation” tool, as defined on the website, that is, a tool that allows us to automatically create and operate certain testing steps of websites through our web browser. For example, when we want to test the correct and incorrect operation scenarios of the user registration page of our website, we can automate steps such as opening the user registration page with Selenium, filling in the input fields on the page, clicking on the button... So it makes it easier for us to do functional tests of our practice.
The Selenium app has a pretty fat community of users. For the problems we are experiencing, we are primarily receiving support from these communities. In addition, there is widespread service support. Instant support is given to the problems we experience when we need Online support. We and our team are happy to provide this support, especially before important deployment processes
Read zahit bogus's full review
September 18, 2020
Pradeep Moganti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is being used across multiple teams within our Engineering department.
Easy to use Test Automation Tool:
We mainly use Selenium to run some automated test cases. Since it doesn't have platform dependency and doesn’t really require learning new languages, it gives us lot of flexibility in usage. It can be easily integrated with various development platforms such as Jenkins, Maven, etc.
  • Open-source.
  • Supports multiple browsers.
  • Supports parallelism while running test cases.
  • It cannot support non web based applications like Oracle Apps.
  • It doesn't really have any built-in reporting for test cases.
  • Not suitable for IPM (Image Processing Management) related testing.
Automation testing framework using Selenium is best suited when the same test and the same code is used for different inputs.

Selenium can be used as test automation tool
for automating Web based applications to run tests very quickly.
There is no dedicated support from product. We should always rely on the community for any kind of help.
Read Pradeep Moganti's full review
November 07, 2020
Chetan Munegowda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used by our organization for automation testing. It helps our business workflow and saves lots of resources/costs.
  • Selenium is highly efficient; helps to automate all the mundane work
  • Helps in basic sanity testing
  • Using Selenium, we did the test automation setup; the base foundation has helped a lot of software applications we develop in our organization
  • Selenium performance can be improved, time taken to run all the tests can be optimized
  • Selenium documentation can be improved--it helps to do integration testing and web automation testing. Maybe some useful videos to set up and example snippets for various languages
  • Selenium UI reports can also be improved; some data advanced error detection and error remedy techniques can be provided
Selenium is easy and robust to use. Also, it's easy for a beginner to get a grasp of the framework.
Selenium has helped our organization to save lots of resource costs in terms of manpower and time. It helps automate our workflow and removes all the mundane work.
Read Chetan Munegowda's full review
February 29, 2020
Sachin Gulmadagkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is the tool of choice for undertaking the automated testing of the bunch of web applications and mobile applications we have built. It used across the organization in Engineering, Professional Services, and pre-sales teams. The tool allows us to function test, regression test the application, but we also use it to generate the test data required for performance testing. We use to perform the cross-browser test for our web applications
  • Cross Browser Testing
  • Support for Various Platform
  • Parallel Test Execution
  • Support for multiple programming languages
  • Open-source
  • Initial Setup takes a long time
  • Documentation
  • Support for Web-based applications only
  • No reliable technical support
  • The steep learning curve for non-technical testers
  • Selenium is one of the best tools available in the market to satisfy all your web testing needs. It's free and virtually has no limit on the number of parallel tests that can be executed. If your organization's core product is web-based (computer, mobiles, tablets), then selenium will solve your automated testing needs. The tool can be customized as you wish with your choice of reporting plugin, programming support, or choice of behavior-driven frameworks. Performance test tools can also use these function tests and regression tests like JMeter for running the performance tests.
  • But if your core product is a desktop application, then there is no support. Also, if you heavily rely on manual testers, then there is a very steep learning curve, and it can be challenging to change the mindset of testers.
The tool can be used across organizations by various roles. It's free of cost and integrates well with most of the sophisticated or opensource development, build management, CI/CD, or management tools. Selenium has outstanding community support and is continuously updated to support newer technologies. The availability of lots of plugins/add-ons makes it a tool that can talk to almost any other tool available in your organization.
Read Sachin Gulmadagkar's full review
February 26, 2020
Binoy Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've developed a customized automation framework around Selenium Webdriver and other supporting tools. It's being used by all the QA departments across the organization. The real business problem it addresses is very obvious to have good coverage of Regression Test Cases, which, in a way, helps to reduce the testing time cycle.
  • Reduce overall test execution time
  • Automating Web UI components
  • Helps to achieve great coverage of Regression Test Cases
  • Support for desktop-based application automation
  • Reach HTML Reports
  • Browser support compatibility
Selenium is best suited for web and mobile-based automation testing. Mainly an automation framework built around selenium web driver is used for Regression Testing coverage, hence testing time can be reduced.

Selenium is less appropriate for organizations where desktop-based applications are being used, and they are looking for automation solutions.
Well, selenium is an open-source tool, and it might not have a dedicated Customer Support team. You can seek help from its wide-open community who are always there to support, but one needs to post their queries on relevant open forums and websites. But still, it's so widely used product. You can easily get help from all the open forums on the net.
Read Binoy Shah's full review
February 08, 2020
Tharanga Wickramsinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is one of the best testing frameworks for testing web applications. Also, it can be used for web automation activities. Selenium helps to reduce the time and effort needed for each job in our organization. So, we have been using it for five years.
  • Selenium supports the number of programming languages, and it smoothly works on different operating systems.
  • And it is open-source. Also, it has a large community with great support. It is a plus point of Selenium.
  • Selenium IDE, Selenium Grid, and Selenium WebDriver are simple to set-up and integrate on IDEs such as Eclipse.
  • The major drawback is, users need to have excellent knowledge about programming to work with Selenium. Otherwise, it is difficult.
  • Selenium does not support windows-based application automation. It only supports web-based applications.
Selenium does not support Windows-based application automation. It only supports web-based applications.
They have excellent customer and community support.
Read Tharanga Wickramsinghe's full review
March 16, 2020
Rajesh Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Selenium in my automation projects. It is really helpful in automating web-based applications and also it is very fast to implement in any language because it has simple code. Most of my automation projects use Selenium with C# only. I am very grateful to have Selenium. I would definitely recommend it to others as well. Kudos to those who created this awesome Selenium tool.
  • We can use Selenium to automate the form-filling process.
  • It can be used for data scraping.
  • It can be used for Website Automations like data-process automation and data collection.
  • They can improve the version that works with Winium tool.
  • They can provide an easy method for data scraping.
  • They can provide some sample documentation on all the features it has, with examples.
Selenium is well suited for web-based automation projects, and it is mainly used in a testing framework as well. I think it is best suited for automation as well as testing. We can even do mobile automation using Selenium. We can do Windows, web, and mobile automation using Selenium. That is a big plus for Selenium.
Overall, I love Selenium. So I will go with full 10.
Read Rajesh Kumar's full review
February 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Selenium for QA purposes. It is used to automate UI and interface testing as well as implemented part of our Test-Driven Development. It helps us create many test cases and give us the ability to report back on several metrics of the performance of the system. It is used primarily by our developers, technical services, and QA teams.
  • Ease of Implementation
  • Best for Automated testing
  • Since it is open-source, there is no technical support available except for forums.
  • Difficult to use and create test cases if not familiar with it.
Selenium is an excellent tool for automating the testing of web applications. If you have an application that has is heavily focused on the user experience and interface, it can make it easier to test and create use cases and be reported on it. It can also help test the application with multiple browsers, which has always been a challenge for tech software companies. Selenium is not useful for automating web scraping, etc.
Selenium does not have technical support available easily. You have to go through forums to get the information you need. However, there are excellent forums out there that make it easy to troubleshoot. The open-source flexibility makes it difficult to have dedicated support.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2019
Janice Cruz (L.I.O.N.) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium daily in my organization. We started using it to run basic automation testing of our web forms. This helped us significantly cut down on the amount of time that it was taking to manually submit lead tests. This ended up leading to full automation of entire test suites.
  • The ability to create testing automation
  • Even without technical experience, I can create test suites and validation using the recording tool
  • We’ve saved hundreds of hours of manual testing by creating automated test plans with this tool
  • It’s free
  • Sometimes the test sites will fail even if the page hasn’t changed
Selenium is perfect for what our company develops. We build landing pages and microsites that will lead to users filling out web forms. We need to test these forms daily and sometimes we have to test for every single state or for every scenario from a drop down. Previously we would have an entire team of people submitting hundreds of leads over the course of a few days to cover these variables. Now we can run thousands of tests in the background while continuing to work on other projects. It may still take hours but we can be less involved with it running.
I have never needed to contact Selenium support
Read Janice Cruz (L.I.O.N.)'s full review
April 16, 2019
Trung Truong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium with TestNG are being used by the QA team in my company as part of the quality assurance process. It helps cover our UI functional test cases across multiple supported browsers on different operating systems, and reduces regression testing time. The automated tests are also integration in Jenkins as a part of the continuous integration and continuous deployment processes.
  • Open source automation test tool
  • Support most of the popular web browsers
  • Easy to find technical supports due to huge community
  • Can be integrated with almost any software development tools
  • Need to have programming skill (at least basic) in order to learn.
  • Built-in methods can be inconsistent across browsers. For example, an element might not be clickable on a browser, although it is clickable on another browser.
  • Advanced programming skills are required if you want to master everything supported by Selenium.
  • Only support web applications.
Selenium is well suited for testing web applications. It supports almost all popular web browsers on the market. It is very effective to help reducing regression testing time of the team. As any other automation tools, you should not automate test cases that only run for once. It is also not suitable for database nor web service testing.
Read Trung Truong's full review
April 10, 2019
Hung Vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium as a standard automation tool for our department for all web projects. We implement common test frameworks with library and common test cases. Then in each project, it will extend this test framework and add its all-test case into it but could re-use common cases, such as login or verify the connection.
We use Selenium, Postman, and JMeter to have the full automation test framework which supports UI, API testing and performance testing
We integrate Selenium with our Gitlab CICD pipeline to check the functioning of the build as automation test case are triggered on every merge on the master branch.
  • It supports multiple browsers and many programming languages
  • Selenium documentation is rich and clear, and it has a big community with great support
  • Selenium IDE, Selenium Grid, and Selenium WebDriver are simple to set up and integrate on IDE such as Eclipse
  • It able to perform testing on almost every kind of UI component
  • Well integrated with other DevOps tool such as Jenkin and Gitlab to automate CICD pipeline
  • It is too complex for the newer people to get started on
  • Execute time is slow. It takes a lot of time to finish all the test cases
  • Add feature get JS script console error
  • Not much support on performance and API testing
It well suited for big or medium-sized projects with UI and for those who have experience or resources to build the testing framework so other juniors could apply the framework to create their all test case. It is also good in case you need to perform testing in multiple browsers with various GUI component
Selenium would not suitable for mobile testing or backend applications. If your application exposes APIs, you could use other simpler tool such as Postman.
Read Hung Vu's full review
April 10, 2019
Shivani Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used within our team of R and D analysts. We use Selenium with Python 3 for web automation. Selenium web driver for Chrome on Linux machines is a very smooth experience. The Web Driver API is available for most popular web browsers. Most of our marketing forms are filled up by Selenium automation. Data scraping using BeautifulSoup 4 with web automation makes it simpler to extract data from websites. We first trigger a website using Selenium, and then use BeautifulSoup for data scraping from that website.
  • Web browser integrations and support. It has a large community so as to debug your code easily.
  • Python and Selenium make a perfect match.
  • Better web scraping in Python with Selenium, Beautiful Soup, and Pandas; it's very easy to scrape data in key-value pairs that are converted from HTML tags.
  • Selenium is not as fast as some industry tools. Not good for large scale production.
  • Mismatch with tools. There are cases when some websites are not Selenium ready, and the content is dynamic.
  • HTML tags and DOM.
  • Selenium requires good programming skills. There are tools in the market already which do all the automation and data scraping using drag and drop options.
Selenium is best suited for Python and Linux machines. With Python and the Selenium web-driver, it works very smoothly. Following are the use cases of Selenium which we use:
1. Testing websites.
2. Data Scraping.
3. Form filling.
Read Shivani Sharma's full review
March 27, 2019
Sanyam Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium in our web development tool and for automation most of the time. Our mains purpose in using Selenium is to automate google forms. We have various sources of input for our events and registrations, but we have to have our all data collectively at one place. So when a user of ours uses our Android app, our website's google forms, or Survey Monkey, we need all of the data on google sheet. We club all data to a CSV and use Selenium to populate google form and sheets, and this way we have all of our data in one place. This complete process gets automated by Selenium.
  • First things first, Selenium is open source, thus providing a large community to help out. Most of the times when our team gets struck with some Regex problems or Syntax issues we directly go to the community page and get it done very fast.
  • Our Ubuntu based environment makes it favorable to work with Python and Selenium. Our clients, mostly with Windows systems, send us their script and we rectify them on Linux. This makes it a script-based and logic-centric tool. No barrier to the OS or Platform.
  • The preloaded libraries for Selenium make it suitable to work fast with repeated business goals. It is very easy to locate Tags, HTML elements, CSS, etc. Our Chrome and Firefox based scripts work seamlessly on all platforms.
  • The technology lacks fault tolerance. Whenever we automate a google form with a centralized CSV, there is always a chance of getting a "NaN Error," i.e, no value error. Some of the fill-ups in google forms are always optional and there's no constraint to fill them, which leads to the input being marked as empty or no value. Thus we have to add if-else logics for the same things.
  • When we scrape data using Selenium, we always end up with fewer values than expected. Suppose we have a table to import/scrape, Selenium updates the table in the spreadsheet real-time, and open-writes each time rather than making a buffered-table in its memory and updating the spreadsheet at once.
  • Scripts written for Internet Explorer always need debugging to work with Firefox and Chrome in an Ubuntu/Linux environment. Though we mostly use chrome in windows to write logic, some of the webpages are IE friendly.
Most Suited: When you are working with Linux/Python it's best to have Selenium for only web-based automation. In addition, we did not have any automation tools for Linux until now (Like UiPath or Automation Anywhere), thus Selenium is a good choice.
Less Suited: If you are completely work-based in Windows and no one on the staff has issues with the Windows UX, one should always go for UiPath.
Read Sanyam Jain's full review
March 13, 2019
Alex Kreston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a Selenium based test automation framework (developed in-house) for testing of our web-based application using variety of browsers.
  • I have used selenium in several technology organizations and one strength that I see is that Selenium can be integrated into frameworks written using different programming languages which allows for native support from organizations development teams and eliminates the need of introducing other languages.
  • Selenium has a powerful object identification mechanism which provides the ability to create custom object repositories and map out entire application interfaces before the tests are even developed.
  • The Selenium community is extremely helpful and even for beginners there are answers available for most questions and challenges that may come up.
  • As some web applications update content dynamically I have experienced "stale element exception" quite a lot and it would be a helpful feature if selenium had a find element retry mechanism embedded into the framework itself.
Selenium is a great solution for web based application testing. I had to use another framework for testing APIs.
Issues get resolved quickly and efficiently. Forum are full of suggestions and best practices.
Read Alex Kreston's full review
March 04, 2019
Mustafa Yildirim, MSc, PMP, PSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is currently being used by developers to be able to increase test coverage in addition to Cucumber scenarios for the front-end product and also in order to provide regression tests by QA team besides SOAPUI and Postman. My two employers finally decided to go on with this tool, considering it's open sourced and has relatively wide community support. I had found the opportunity to use also other ones, however, Selenium seems more talented on its stack, and they provide some advantages on some edge cases.
  • It is a self-proven open source tool and has rich language support. It is cut out for regression tests on HTML based web application subject.
  • It is a relatively easy to use and robust tool for developers, and essential for the QA professionals.
  • On basic flows, the record and play feature is really nice, especially for noncomplex pages.
  • Implemented Regression Tests could save your day one day.
  • Mobile testing should probably be evaluated, as that may require another horizontal spreading to accept another subject/profession.
  • Updates that are not planned well may break your automation.
  • Sometimes, somehow, it can raise false alarms about assertions that may be hard to manage.
Selenium is the tool that you must try/give a chance if you want automation tests on your software release in case of web-based applications. I would suggest for all developers in addition to QA professionals to implement Selenium functional tests for their products. It's fairly easy to learn and apply, alongside many advantages like clean and trustable implementations.
Read Mustafa Yildirim, MSc, PMP, PSM's full review
February 01, 2019
Michael Fleck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Test scripts for our customers are being executed in the backend which uses Selenium as a core framework.
  • Selenium has wide range of language bindings.
  • As an open source framework, it has fewer bugs in its source code.
  • A lot of people are using Selenium, you can find answers to almost every question on the internet.
  • Selenium 4 will finally have the opportunity to interact with the browser itself instead of with a driver.
  • Cross-browser testing is a bit hard with Selenium as different browsers sometimes need different codes. That needs to be streamlined.
Selenium should be used if you want to automate your web browser, but as a web scrapper, it is useful.
Read Michael Fleck's full review
March 18, 2019
Pankaj Rawat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Selenium in my daily use as I am a tester. Through Selenium we inject JavaScript into HTML code in different browsers to test our GUI website. We don't need a strong technical background to use Selenium. It saves lot of time when automating websites rather than testing them manually. Selenium is open source, so anyone can use it and provides wide community support. It supports multiple browsers.
  • Saves a lot of time
  • Open source, large community support. Everything is easily available on the internet.
  • Record and play features
  • Should support the same code in different browsers, because we need to change the code as per browsers
  • It does not support mobile testing
  • Sometimes it gets very slow
For automating websites it saves a lot of time
Read Pankaj Rawat's full review
February 28, 2019
Lakshmi Achary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium to test e2e testing by the QA automation team and its used across the organization. It addresses the problems and difficulties of regression testing.
  • Quality Assurance has worked better with Selenium since this program helps eliminate manual QA testing, which itself could lead to exponential error, and cost.
  • Selenium can automate any part of a web page if it is based on HTML. So if you want to check it, open the CRM web application, open the browser console and confirm if all the elements required for your automation test are based on HTML.
  • You can only test HTML based websites with Selenium. If the CRM application exposes an HTML based front end that is accessible via a web browser then you can use Selenium to test it, if not you can't.
  • The non-HTML components of a web page cannot be accessed by Selenium. You might want to use Image Based testing tools like Sikuli.
  • Slowness may be a minor factor with Selenium, though this is an issue with basically any testing software since waiting on a site to execute JavaScript requires the browser to wait for a particular action.
Selenium is well suited for better UI for wait for loading times. Instead of hard sleeps or explicit waits, I found that CRM actually displays nice spinning "Loading..." messages while it's loading. So to wait for the message to go away before performing further actions.
Read Lakshmi Achary's full review
April 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are working in testfactory in the IT department of my organization which is responsible for providing test services to multiple projects run by different departments. We have implemented a Selenium page object model with cucumber BDD framework. We have automated multiple applications like web CRM and mobile. The programming language we have used is Java. Automation team consists of 6 team members. The automation team is responsible for developing and maintaining automation for multiple applications. Automated tests are integrated with Jenkins (CI/CD) to run in nightlies. Other tools in integration we use are GIT, MAVEN etc.
  • Selenium is an open source software so its Free and has a very strong user community support.
  • Selenium Supports cross browser automation, API automation and database automation.
  • Selenium tests can be implemented in any language like Java, python, ruby, C# etc.
  • Selenium test can be easily integrated with existing testing framework testNg, Junit etc.
  • Selenium does not support windows based application automation.
  • Selenium test development requires developer coding skills to make test dynamic.
  • Selenium is purely open source no customer support exists but have a huge open source community which encounters and solves similar problems.
Well suited:
- For Web and mobile-based automation
- For cross-browser automation
Less suited:
- Selenium is not a tool for automation of windows-based applications like mainframe, .Net , Java etc.






Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used in my company for automated testing in web applications, and it allows us to avoid manual regression testing, and also allows us to fix regression bugs faster and more easily. It's fully integrated to CI, with a Selenium Grid being responsible to launch all browser drivers (allows Chrome, Firefox, IE/Edge, PhantomJS, etc...).

It has a big community, which allows you to easily get lots of questions answered when a problem occurs. Also, it has support for multiple open source frameworks for test execution (Protractor, per example) and also for test reporting. Their web browser drivers allow us to replicate almost all interactions that a user could do, which offers a really good set of events to test web applications.
  • Open Source
  • Huge community
  • WebDrivers with lots of capabilities
  • Integration with CI tools like Jenkins
  • Basis for multiple automatic testing frameworks
  • You need to really understand how to configure Selenium, otherwise your integration could be really painfull
  • Slow to start up
I would recommend using Selenium WebDriver for acceptance/regression automated tests for your web applications, and it has more power when you integrate it on a CI build tool. It works perfectly when you need to test on several browsers (like Chrome, Firefox and IE/Edge). When you have lots of knowledge on this tool, you will also use it to create some routine scripts using web elements, like create clicker bots.

Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by most of the scrum team to automate web page testing. It's being used across the whole organization. It is used as UI automation tool. Scripts are written for smoke, sanity and regression testing purpose.
  • Lightweight and open source, so it's easy to download.
  • Can be integrated into any Java or Javascript framework for automation testing.
  • Supports multiple browser and multiple scripting language.
  • Should have a better locator strategy for modern day complex javascript pages
  • There are multiple types of waits, it should come up with a unique wait strategy
  • Should have option to highlight each action such that user can undersand what action the tool is performing
Selenium is well suited when web pages are rendered by server site rather than client site; less complex UI
Selenium is less appropriate when web pages are rendered by the client site; complex UI
We are not taking any support
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used selenium to test our applications across the technology department. It helps test our products to ensure they do not contain bugs for our end users.
  • It provides automation to test products well.
  • It is fairly easy to use with good documentation, which is of course important for trying to learn a new product.
  • It is an industry leader so has good support within the community.
  • I think selenium IDE can use some improvement. It is a good, easy, quick product to use, however, I have noticed over the past few months that it is no longer supported on newer Firefox browsers, which is unacceptable.
  • selenium IDE should work on other browsers besides Firefox.
It is well suited for testing applications, whether is it is a smoke test, regression, or something that you are tired of doing manually and want to automate, like creating a user for example. The one drawback is it is pretty brittle. If the software changes, for example, an HTML id or element, you have to be constantly updating your selenium suite to keep up with the software.
Read this authenticated review
November 28, 2018
Siddharth Walia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium primarily for testing the Web Applications that are being developed for the clients. It is mainly used by the QA department for writing automated scripts using Java and Javascript for testing various scenarios in the application. The QA team constantly keeps adding more test cases to the test suites to ensure maximum coverage and then combine it with Jenkins to run the test cases over night, so that we can get the test reports in the morning.
  • Record and play feature that lets you record all the steps with a click of a button
  • The intelligent fields selection feature lets you use the locators that you can find easily, rather than being confined to Xpaths
  • The large selection of languages that can be used to write test scripts, if you have a knowledge of any programming language, you can easily get started with Selenium
  • Free of Cost !!!
  • Reading images is one area that might be implemented in Selenium
  • The slowness can be decreased, but I think that not just with Selenium, it could be with any Software
  • Not able to perform Database testing using Selenium
It is a great tool for beginners and any mid-sized company that wants to automate their testing process. It is easy to learn and write code in Selenium. Also, it is available for free, therefore one can give it a shot. If you want to automate simple test cases, it can be used effectively, but for complex test cases, there are some other options available in the market.
The online support and documentation available is huge, so you will find the solution to most of your problems 90% of the time.
Read Siddharth Walia's full review
December 10, 2018
Ilya Popovich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Selenium WebDriver and Hub daily across the whole organization. We cover the most routine test cases on a daily basis to prevent any human-related errors. We get plenty of scheduled jobs to run tests overnight and get results quickly. Web GUI testing became easier for everyone on the team.
  • Open source.
  • Allows use of different languages.
  • Huge community.
  • Supports many browsers.
  • Very slow UI tests (it's not Selenium's flaw, but the whole process).
  • Selenium Hub has lots of restrictions and not all written tests passed locally will run on it.
  • Mobile testing is not supported (you need an extra solution).
It's web "standard" de facto for UI testing, so definitely I'll recommend Selenium.
Read Ilya Popovich's full review

What is Selenium?

Selenium is open source software for browser automation, primarily used for functional, load, or performance testing of applications.

Selenium Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No