TrustRadius
Selenium is open source software for browser automation, primarily used for functional, load, or performance testing of applications.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3q/9o/I2IDCMT2B304.jpegSelenium: One of the best Automation tool available in the market for FREEWe use Selenium primarily for testing the Web Applications that are being developed for the clients. It is mainly used by the QA department for writing automated scripts using Java and Javascript for testing various scenarios in the application. The QA team constantly keeps adding more test cases to the test suites to ensure maximum coverage and then combine it with Jenkins to run the test cases over night, so that we can get the test reports in the morning.,Record and play feature that lets you record all the steps with a click of a button The intelligent fields selection feature lets you use the locators that you can find easily, rather than being confined to Xpaths The large selection of languages that can be used to write test scripts, if you have a knowledge of any programming language, you can easily get started with Selenium Free of Cost !!!,Reading images is one area that might be implemented in Selenium The slowness can be decreased, but I think that not just with Selenium, it could be with any Software Not able to perform Database testing using Selenium,9,It helps in quick execution of regression suite at the end of the sprints, so the QAs do not have to manually test everything It is easy to learn, therefore someone with lesser development experience can easily get started with it It's free, therefore it only brings profit to the organization in any ways that it can,Quality Center (formerly HP Quality Center),WebEx Meetings, Quality Center (formerly HP Quality Center), Oracle Access Management, SoapUI NG Pro,,2,Ensure end-to-end testing Test new features added in the application by adding new test scripts to the test suites Generate test reports to conclude the test results Locate the elements to point to the right location in the Web Application,Our company is trying to develop a new layer to be used over Selenium in Eclipse which makes the testing process easier Finding the locators has been made relatively easier as the new layer spits out the locator of the respective element,we are trying to automate all the manual test cases to help us save more time and run the regression every night,9,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Analyst Reports,No. for now, we would still chose SeleniumMust have framework in your daily QA workWe're using Selenium WebDriver and Hub daily across the whole organization. We cover the most routine test cases on a daily basis to prevent any human-related errors. We get plenty of scheduled jobs to run tests overnight and get results quickly. Web GUI testing became easier for everyone on the team.,Open source. Allows use of different languages. Huge community. Supports many browsers.,Very slow UI tests (it's not Selenium's flaw, but the whole process). Selenium Hub has lots of restrictions and not all written tests passed locally will run on it. Mobile testing is not supported (you need an extra solution).,9,Time-To-Market decreased. Reliability increased. Staff costs increased because software developers in test cost much more than manual testers.,,JMeter, DockerBest open source test automation tool for regression testingSelenium as an open source test platform/ framework is used by the whole organization. It is used as automation testing framework and widely used for UI testing.,One of the best user communities. Easy to learn and bring new folks who are new to test automation up to speed. Works well with many new plugins and test frameworks. Open source is a better alternative to HP UFT when it comes to UI testing.,Best suited for UI testing - would be nice if this could be developed/ tweaked for unit testing as well. Support for mobile testing. Performance testing.,9,Since this is open source and easily adaptable, it is well suited for small to large organizations' testing needs. Limited only to functional / UI testing - means organizations will have to use the tool only at the end of the testing cycle for regression testing only. Tons of resources available in the market to support the testing efforts on Selenium and easy to learn and adapt.,,AppiumCrucial software for high volume testingWe use Selenium daily in my organization. We started using it to run basic automation testing of our web forms. This helped us significantly cut down on the amount of time that it was taking to manually submit lead tests. This ended up leading to full automation of entire test suites.,The ability to create testing automation Even without technical experience, I can create test suites and validation using the recording tool We’ve saved hundreds of hours of manual testing by creating automated test plans with this tool It’s free,Sometimes the test sites will fail even if the page hasn’t changed,10,There hasn’t been a downside to using it yet other than we’ve got to update the programs we create for each change. This has saved us hundreds of hours of manpower by allowing our automation engineer to rapid fire tests. We are able to screenshot and save entire sites before and after launch with a program the automation engineer created We can compare large volumes of data against data in excel docs with a program created using Selenium,,Screaming Frog SEO SpiderSelenium - The future of automationSelenium is used by just our department which is quality assurance. We use it basically for the GUI regression testing. We have a virtual private branch exchange and a lot of telecom features available for the call centre workplace. The selenium tests help with automating and running the entire GUI checks each time a new feature is deployed. This is scheduled as a cron job that runs overnight and gets the results in a graphical format.,Complete GUI regression. Integration with other in-house apps thus providing various features like display of results in graphical format. Ease of use and the freedom to code in the language you are comfortable with.,Use of selenium in desktop applications. Enhancing the selenium uses to backend testing along with front end. Improvements in the ways in which it can display the result.,8,Time saving. Saves efforts. Error free code. Easy addition of new features.,QTP,Katalon Studio, Panguin Tool
Unspecified
Selenium
161 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Selenium Reviews

Selenium
161 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 161 vetted Selenium reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 32)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Siddharth Walia profile photo
November 28, 2018

Review: "Selenium: One of the best Automation tool available in the market for FREE"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium primarily for testing the Web Applications that are being developed for the clients. It is mainly used by the QA department for writing automated scripts using Java and Javascript for testing various scenarios in the application. The QA team constantly keeps adding more test cases to the test suites to ensure maximum coverage and then combine it with Jenkins to run the test cases over night, so that we can get the test reports in the morning.
  • Record and play feature that lets you record all the steps with a click of a button
  • The intelligent fields selection feature lets you use the locators that you can find easily, rather than being confined to Xpaths
  • The large selection of languages that can be used to write test scripts, if you have a knowledge of any programming language, you can easily get started with Selenium
  • Free of Cost !!!
  • Reading images is one area that might be implemented in Selenium
  • The slowness can be decreased, but I think that not just with Selenium, it could be with any Software
  • Not able to perform Database testing using Selenium
It is a great tool for beginners and any mid-sized company that wants to automate their testing process. It is easy to learn and write code in Selenium. Also, it is available for free, therefore one can give it a shot. If you want to automate simple test cases, it can be used effectively, but for complex test cases, there are some other options available in the market.
The online support and documentation available is huge, so you will find the solution to most of your problems 90% of the time.
Read Siddharth Walia's full review
Ilya Popovich profile photo
December 10, 2018

Selenium Review: "Must have framework in your daily QA work"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Selenium WebDriver and Hub daily across the whole organization. We cover the most routine test cases on a daily basis to prevent any human-related errors. We get plenty of scheduled jobs to run tests overnight and get results quickly. Web GUI testing became easier for everyone on the team.
  • Open source.
  • Allows use of different languages.
  • Huge community.
  • Supports many browsers.
  • Very slow UI tests (it's not Selenium's flaw, but the whole process).
  • Selenium Hub has lots of restrictions and not all written tests passed locally will run on it.
  • Mobile testing is not supported (you need an extra solution).
It's web "standard" de facto for UI testing, so definitely I'll recommend Selenium.
Read Ilya Popovich's full review
Om Prakash Sheshappa profile photo
December 07, 2018

Selenium Review: "Best open source test automation tool for regression testing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium as an open source test platform/ framework is used by the whole organization. It is used as automation testing framework and widely used for UI testing.
  • One of the best user communities.
  • Easy to learn and bring new folks who are new to test automation up to speed.
  • Works well with many new plugins and test frameworks.
  • Open source is a better alternative to HP UFT when it comes to UI testing.
  • Best suited for UI testing - would be nice if this could be developed/ tweaked for unit testing as well.
  • Support for mobile testing.
  • Performance testing.

- Well suited for end-to-end functional testing of web applications.

- Not so good with mobile web applications testing.

- Not suited for unit testing.

Read Om Prakash Sheshappa's full review
Janice Cruz (L.I.O.N.) profile photo
March 02, 2018

Selenium Review: "Crucial software for high volume testing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium daily in my organization. We started using it to run basic automation testing of our web forms. This helped us significantly cut down on the amount of time that it was taking to manually submit lead tests. This ended up leading to full automation of entire test suites.
  • The ability to create testing automation
  • Even without technical experience, I can create test suites and validation using the recording tool
  • We’ve saved hundreds of hours of manual testing by creating automated test plans with this tool
  • It’s free
  • Sometimes the test sites will fail even if the page hasn’t changed
Selenium is perfect for what our company develops. We build landing pages and microsites that will lead to users filling out web forms. We need to test these forms daily and sometimes we have to test for every single state or for every scenario from a drop down. Previously we would have an entire team of people submitting hundreds of leads over the course of a few days to cover these variables. Now we can run thousands of tests in the background while continuing to work on other projects. It may still take hours but we can be less involved with it running.
Read Janice Cruz (L.I.O.N.)'s full review
Sachin Kalakeri profile photo
March 18, 2018

User Review: "Selenium - The future of automation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used by just our department which is quality assurance. We use it basically for the GUI regression testing. We have a virtual private branch exchange and a lot of telecom features available for the call centre workplace. The selenium tests help with automating and running the entire GUI checks each time a new feature is deployed. This is scheduled as a cron job that runs overnight and gets the results in a graphical format.
  • Complete GUI regression.
  • Integration with other in-house apps thus providing various features like display of results in graphical format.
  • Ease of use and the freedom to code in the language you are comfortable with.
  • Use of selenium in desktop applications.
  • Enhancing the selenium uses to backend testing along with front end.
  • Improvements in the ways in which it can display the result.
Suited for GUI testing. Regression testing and integration with other in-house apps. Not suitable for testing backend applications and testing desktop applications. Testing limited only to GUI aspects. Test runs and result display can be enhanced. GUI needs to be improved. Support for IDE needs to be continued even with the latest Firefox OS version. IDE should be supported by other browsers as well.

Read Sachin Kalakeri's full review
Donny DeLeon profile photo
January 30, 2018

User Review: "My take on Selenium"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium was under review by my department when we were starting with automation. The main drive to use selenium was that it was free and it had a large community. It also supported many different languages and can be easily implemented with other software including Apache JMeter. It was also looked as a way to test API using scripting languages.

What made Selenium sound great was the compatibility with Firefox and other web browsers. It is a great tool for people who like to use playback and record and insert data using Excel or other programs. It's easy to upload and to use.
  • One of the main features is that it is free to use.
  • Compatible with different languages such as Java, Javascript, Python and many more
  • A vast online community where users can go and get information and ask questions regarding any issues they may be having
  • No support at all. Since selenium is open source you will not get any support. The only support is the online community.
  • Updates can break your system. If you are new to selenium and update without doing much research there's a chance that it could break your automation scripts.
  • Community support can sometime take days to get an answer you're looking for.
Selenium suits well to companies starting out. It is free and while there is a learning curve, it's not hard to grasp. There are many online videos users can view and because it supports different languages you are not stuck if you just know 1.

The UI is not fancy but it gets the job done.

One scenario where it's less suited is that you have to install 2 types of software. Since the playback and record feature only works with Firefox, it can be hard to switch between the 2 tools offered.
Read Donny DeLeon's full review
Randy Snow profile photo
May 22, 2018

Review: "Selenium, Still the best automation tool on the market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  1. Create a WebDriver instance.
  2. Navigate to a Web page.
  3. Locate an HTML element on the Web page.
  4. Perform an action on an HTML element.
  5. Anticipate the browser response to the action.
  6. Run tests and record test results using a test framework.
  7. Conclude the test.
  • Selenium is the best UI and Data automation tool currently on the market.
  • Ease of use is a primary selling point
  • I am ok moving from the free model if enhancements and updates can continue
  • This is the best tool on the market and a little bit of IT support would go a long way!
As I said earlier...This IS the industry standard for test automation.
Read Randy Snow's full review
No photo available
June 13, 2018

User Review: "Selenium - Gateway for Automation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For one single department, we used Selenium software for our website application implementation. It was helpful in testing software infrastructure without a need to focus resources and time on learning new test scripting languages. We also utilized Selenium in assisting with the creation of automation that was carried out in test browsers. It was also beneficial for generating reports that we required.
  • The efficiency in testing is beneficial with Selenium because without the questioning the potential usefulness of software, we wouldn't really be able to confirm that certain web applications will perform the way we want them to.
  • Quality Assurance has worked better with Selenium since this program helps eliminate manual QA testing, which itself could lead to exponential error, and cost.
  • A strength of Selenium is also the array of tools as well as cross-platform capability. The remotely controlled server acts as a device platform for JavaScript, PHP, Perl, and Ruby.
  • Selenium is pretty user-friendly but sometimes tests tend to flake out. I'd say roughly one out of twenty tests yields a false positive.
  • Selenium software cannot read images. This is a minor negative because a free plug-in is available from alternate sources.
  • Slowness may be a minor factor with Selenium, though this is an issue with basically any testing software since waiting on a site to execute JavaScript requires the browser to wait for a particular action.
Ease of use and the intuitive set up of Selenium IDE are both easy positives. Setup is very speedy and almost any employee will be able to grasp the ideas presented. We utilized Selenium for Quality Assurance lab situations but maintained discretion for each member of the firm. It was definitely reliable enough, even given the ratio for false-positive readings, for us to choose it for primary automation in lab functions. The cost to use Selenium was basically in the middle of the road as far as range goes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

"Selenium Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used selenium to test our applications across the technology department. It helps test our products to ensure they do not contain bugs for our end users.
  • It provides automation to test products well.
  • It is fairly easy to use with good documentation, which is of course important for trying to learn a new product.
  • It is an industry leader so has good support within the community.
  • I think selenium IDE can use some improvement. It is a good, easy, quick product to use, however, I have noticed over the past few months that it is no longer supported on newer Firefox browsers, which is unacceptable.
  • selenium IDE should work on other browsers besides Firefox.
It is well suited for testing applications, whether is it is a smoke test, regression, or something that you are tired of doing manually and want to automate, like creating a user for example. The one drawback is it is pretty brittle. If the software changes, for example, an HTML id or element, you have to be constantly updating your selenium suite to keep up with the software.
Read this authenticated review
Suhas Kashyap RR profile photo
December 05, 2017

"Selenium Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is an web automation tool, which was used by testers for automating web applications. Instead of doing regression testing manually, Selenium was used so that once script is coded, it can be used to run as many times as required. As Selenium was open source, it was easy and installing eclipse then including the Selenium jar files was an easier task.
The scripts can be executed in batch overnight / during weekends to ensure that application is working as per the requirements. Also, doing manual testing across multiple browsers, which is tedious & time consuming task, can be solved by using Selenium tools.
  • Using Selenium Webdriver we were able to automate the web applications easily.
  • Using different frameworks (Hybrid / Data driven), it was easy to execute the test scripts / suits.
  • Selenium Grid can be used to perform parallel testing on different computers.
  • The Java program which was used for scripting was easy to learn and code accordingly.
  • The record & playback feature of IDE is a simple tool that can be used to understand about automation testing.
  • Cross browser testing can be performed using Selenium.
  • Sometimes Selenium does not locate all the elements properly.
  • It was bit difficult to use Selenium with IE browser, as there is less support from IE browser and even we will not be able to find the elements easily in IE.
  • Selenium IDE lacks some crucial functionalities.
  • The options to locate various web elements using classpath, name, xpath of the object is limited and cannot be extended.
  • Sometimes Selenium test suites takes more time to run.
Selenium is well suited when we need to automate web application for functional, regression & UI testing. Also in situations where we need to test on multiple browsers, it's one of the best suited tools. We can use Selenium if we need to use the data from Excel documents (as input) and then save the result (of each test script) in the Excel document along with test script details.
Sometimes while doing cross browser testing it's not suited well as there is less support from IE browser.
Read Suhas Kashyap RR's full review
Deva Veluchamy profile photo
August 01, 2017

Selenium Review: "Robust Open Source Web Automation Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Web-based application automation are mostly done using Selenium. It's the right automation tool as a replacement for manual regression testing that indispensably reduces the testing time due to its cross-browser, parallel, and remote executions.
  • Parallel executions (same browser in parallel, different browser in parallel).
  • Remote executions using Node and Hub.
  • Integration with CI tools like Jenkins
  • Cross-browser Support (Chrome, Firefox, different versions of IE, Safari, Opera).
  • Supports different scripting languages
  • Huge user community.
  • It has extensive support for Chrome and Firefox, but more is needed for IE and Safari.
- Most importantly, it is an open source tool.

- Parallel executions (same browser in parallel, different browser in parallel).

- Remote executions using Node and Hub.

- Integration with CI tools like Jenkins

- Multi-platform support (for details have a look at http://www.seleniumhq.org/about/platforms.jsp).

- Cross-browser Support (Chrome, Firefox, different versions of IE, Safari, Opera).

- Supported environments are Windows, Linux & Mac.

- Supports different scripting languages (JAVA, C#, Perl, PHP, Python, Ruby, Objective C, Javascript).

- Huge user community.
Read Deva Veluchamy's full review
Isaiah Hayes profile photo
June 19, 2017

Review: "Is Selenium a fit for your web test needs?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For us, Selenium is used solely by the QA department. Since a large majority of our projects include web design, we particularly use selenium for the assurance of our monotonous tasks. However monotonous they may be, as a vital part of our product - they need to be tested! Selenium helps facilitate the autonomous test cycles, and concurrently frees the hands of our department to handle much more engaging tasks.

Additionally, all companies (especially those in the field of marketing) face time constraints. As a lead currently managing a handful of very important projects, time is imperative; how can we maximize our time on things like stability, functionality, and engagement, while spending less human energy on small tasks like content and grammar checks? Well, if the application is web based - Selenium is one answer.
  • Simple record and playback UI. Many programs boast interfaces that appear confusing upon open. However, Selenium creators have implemented a simple UI which makes it not only easy to use, but easy to learn.
  • Support for various languages. As a Java native program, it's safe to say that it would be considered outdated by our upcoming generation of developers. Yet, it also supports Python, Ruby, Pearl, PHP, and more.
  • Unfortunately, there's no way to run tests with playback on a single monitor. For those who simply do not have additional screens on-hand, Selenium is impossible to use. Those who do have multiple monitors may choose to use 1 monitor for any specified reason, therefore making Selenium a non-option.
  • As a program designed to function within Firefox, users tend to experience technical issues with opposing browsers. Although Selenium has been improved over the years, it still has not mastered cross-browser compatibility.
Web applications are well suited by the use of Selenium. For example, many of our creations are web based, which make selenium a viable option for our automation needs. However, a prodigious size of our products are created from a proprietary engine. This being said, selenium is not an option for the majority of our products.

This forces us to find other suitable automation software for more than 2/3 of our products.
Read Isaiah Hayes's full review
Shardul Negi profile photo
September 05, 2017

User Review: "Selenium use and beyond"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium basically is being used for automation of an internal website by one of our clients, Huawei. It is a good open source tool, and since it is open source, it has replaced the legacy automation (paid) for better results.
We have coupled the Selenium framework with REST and use the test cases to automate the 564 test cases for the application which have been integrated to CI.
Since Infosys caters to hundreds of clients, [use by] the whole organization would be an over estimation in my view, but it is catching on throughout the organization to automate repetitive flows.
  • It is open source.
  • Can be scripted in both Python and JAVA. I have recently started to code in Python and it reduces the complexity tremendously well.
  • It has a huge online open source community, so almost all the queries are answered.
  • I feel it is very slow.
  • The websites should follow certain standards for naming and easy processing of automation. There should be guidelines to code about naming and various other attributes of website development. It is difficult to go through or automate bad code with redundant tag names, bad formation and equally bad suggestions.
  • I think there should be Windows support. We can couple it with AutoIt, but by default, if [Windows support were available] it would be a huge help .
Stable website automation. For Agile environments, REST and Selenium can be used together with a gap development of 1 sprint, i.e., using REST API validation for present deployment and then Selenium for measuring the UI components. So, the UI validation is 1 sprint before the whole process.
Read Shardul Negi's full review
Jaykumar Kalaria profile photo
August 24, 2017

Review: "Make life easy with Selenium automation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used by the R&D department. It helps to ensure quality of maximum features in short duration when the product is being released at regular intervals.
  • It is free.
  • It has the support of different open frameworks for test execution and test report creation.
  • Jar created with tests can be shared with any members in the company and they can simply run the tests and get report with just JDK installed.
  • Number of users is so big that you will see that someone has already faced the problem you are facing and found a solution.
  • Third party plugins like AutoIt can be used to automate Image driven testing.
  • Internal Support to do image based testing, it will help a lot as web elements are getting new things.
It is perfect if all applications are web based. If the test needs to interact with Windows apps, selenium is not a great choice.
Read Jaykumar Kalaria's full review
Dheerendra Singh profile photo
November 13, 2017

"Selenium Tool Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our company to automate several web based products.
  • First of all, It is open source, so it means it is zero cost to my company.
  • Second, it has a huge Selenium community and support for Selenium development.
  • With multiple browser supports by multiple browser APIs, I can easily automate and test my web applications many browsers.
  • Some of the browser APIs still don't have a stable build which causes the scripts to crash sometimes.
  • Need to work with many third party frameworks (TestNG, Firebug etc) right from object identification, reporting, integrations with other ALM solutions etc. It doesn't have its own framework for those.
  • Since the object locator is also the third party, locating objects becomes a challenge to find those objects. One needs to have Selenium's own object locators built within Selenium.
  • UI Tests are often slower.
  1. Repetitive UI Tests The WebDriver object triggers real events in the browser: mouse clicks, button clicks, entering text, and events from the keyboard. We can think of each step as a building block. Stacked together, they can enable a technical team to do some powerful things.
  2. Taking Over Long-Running Tasks.
Read Dheerendra Singh's full review
No photo available
September 13, 2017

User Review: "Selenium - a browser automation tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used in my company for automated testing in web applications, and it allows us to avoid manual regression testing, and also allows us to fix regression bugs faster and more easily. It's fully integrated to CI, with a Selenium Grid being responsible to launch all browser drivers (allows Chrome, Firefox, IE/Edge, PhantomJS, etc...).

It has a big community, which allows you to easily get lots of questions answered when a problem occurs. Also, it has support for multiple open source frameworks for test execution (Protractor, per example) and also for test reporting. Their web browser drivers allow us to replicate almost all interactions that a user could do, which offers a really good set of events to test web applications.
  • Open Source
  • Huge community
  • WebDrivers with lots of capabilities
  • Integration with CI tools like Jenkins
  • You need to really understand how to configure Selenium, otherwise your integration could be really painfull
  • Slow to start up
I would recommend using Selenium WebDriver for acceptance/regression automated tests for your web applications, and it has more power when you integrate it on a CI build tool. It works perfectly when you need to test on several browsers (like Chrome, Firefox and IE/Edge). When you have lots of knowledge on this tool, you will also use it to create some routine scripts using web elements, like create clicker bots.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 01, 2017

User Review: "Selenium - No More Point & Click Tests"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Selenium WebDriver for our online portal for effective test automation on a variety of use cases. Prior to writing this test automation QA would manually go through test cases manually with a "point & click" approach prior to every release/major feature which resulted in a large amount of time being spent on a simple process that was slowing our release cycle. With writing these test cases in Java using Selenium WebDriver tests they're able to be re-created with even more precision and tests cases quickly. The QA review process of a release went from a day or two to less than an hour.
  • Clear and concise documentation. It takes very little time to get up and running.
  • Selenium WebDriver is supported in many languages including Java, C#, Javascript, and more. This make it a very versatile tool that can be used anywhere in your tech stack if applied properly.
  • Incredibly feature rich, wether you want to check HTML tags, page formatting, test input, send email, etc. Selenium can support it.
  • Very dense API for Selenium WebDriver which can make it slightly difficult to find the exact thing you are looking for, keep the API documentation close.
  • The Selenium IDE for Firefox is not very good and I would not recommend anyone use it unless your QA is not strong in programming basic tests. It causes more headaches than it is is worth in the long run.
  • The parallelism features of Selenium WebDriver feel half-baked and caused us a few issues. I would recommend running serially unless you are seeing a performance hit.
I would recommend using Selenium WebDriver for acceptance/regression tests for your website or web-based products. One of the difficulties is building out your test automation in a way where it does not decay too quickly. Websites and web products have a habit of continually changing (as they should) so it can be difficult to keep up wth the changes, I would personally not recommend writing in a rough scripting fashion. Try and organize the code well and make use of Selenium WebDrivers more advanced features to save a lot of development efforts down the road.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 13, 2017

User Review: "Selenium Benefits"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization pretty much uses selenium to validate UI of web applications. It usually run on a daily and even several times a day basis. It executes the whole regression test suite whenever a new build is pushed.
  • It captures pictures.
  • Great for creating UI test and validating elements.
  • We can use selenium to execute parallel tests.
  • Sometimes it can provide false failures.
  • Wish it was easier to run selenium across multiple browsers.
Selenium is perfect for UI testing and for running regression suites.
Read this authenticated review
Bayley Gaillard profile photo
March 17, 2017

Selenium Review: "Hands-down the best browser automation tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use both Selenium IDE for quick-and-dirty automation tasks by non-technical users and the Java bindings to build out a robust suite of functional tests we can run for regression testing automatically. We also use the Python and Node bindings for similar tasks and automation efforts outside of testing, like deployment verification or monitoring of the site.
  • Test automation; this is hands-down the best library for writing a suite of tests.
  • Interfacing with browsers; this allows for cross-browser testing without much thought.
  • Distributed testing in a grid. You can even get set up with Docker to automatically scale the nodes out as you run tests.
  • AWS integration.
  • The bindings can sometimes be difficult to use; functions aren't quite named how you expect sometimes.
  • The naming is idiomatic to the language of the binding, which can make applying an example in one language to another language challenging.
  • Internet Explorer remains a problem, and the drivers are often buggy.
Great for anything that requires browser automation. ANYTHING. Including repeated order generation for testing order completion scenarios, running kiosk displays where you walk through the software, et cetera.
Read Bayley Gaillard's full review
No photo available
April 20, 2017

User Review: "Selenium at a glance"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by most of the scrum team to automate web page testing. It's being used across the whole organization. It is used as UI automation tool. Scripts are written for smoke, sanity and regression testing purpose.
  • Lightweight and open source, so it's easy to download.
  • Can be integrated into any Java or Javascript framework for automation testing.
  • Supports multiple browser and multiple scripting language.
  • Should have a better locator strategy for modern day complex javascript pages
  • There are multiple types of waits, it should come up with a unique wait strategy
  • Should have option to highlight each action such that user can undersand what action the tool is performing
Selenium is well suited when web pages are rendered by server site rather than client site; less complex UI
Selenium is less appropriate when web pages are rendered by the client site; complex UI
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 19, 2017

User Review: "Selenium- The Need of Today"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is widely used across all departments of an organization. It's primarily used for UI automation for mobile and desktop browsers.
  • Object identification using XPATHS
  • Cross Browser Testing and Cross Machine Execution (Parallelization using Selenium Grid)
  • Customized Report Generation
  • Language Independent - can use mulitple languages to build selenium scripts
  • Open Source - no cost overhead
  • Not much Incapable of automating Windows based applications, have to depend on third party tools
  • Selenium Forums do not provide much solutions for the issues
  • Sometimes Maven throws issues where there is no compilation error though pom.xml throws some error
Very much appropriate for web-based applications. Very less appropriate For Windows based applications.
Read this authenticated review
Payam Pirooznia profile photo
August 08, 2016

Review: "Selenium is free, but it's worth thousands"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First of all, let's point out that "Selenium" is a vague word. There are:
  • "Selenium IDE" which is a simple plugin for Firefox, that has limited abilities to record and reply user actions along with using javascript snippets and parameterization.
  • "WebDriver , AKA Selenium WD", is a package that can be as libraries to many programming languags such as Java, Ruby, Python and .net framework. Webdriver is way more powerful and flexible because you can use the programming language on your favor; For instance, you might want to use a database to read data as a data driven test, record results to another table, use Java robot to click on non-web elements or desktop windows, or even integrate Webdriver with headless browsers such as PhantomJS, that will help you to run the test in non-gui environments.
  • Selenium Remote Control (RC) : This is a server-based selenium, being installed directly on web server and similar to WebDriver, can adopt various programming languages. In my opinion RC is getting obsolete and replaced with WebDriver except in special scenarios such as running multiple Webdriver Agents on client side as a Selenium Grid.
I love selenium because of its vast usefulness and capabilities. In many cases, it is totally compatible with expensive tools such as HP UFT or SmartBear TestComplete and let's not forget that Selenium is free and open source.

However, Selenium and WebDriver are not so strong on their own: They are weak on detecting Java applets and Flash elements and totally out of league when it comes to non-web elements. Fortunately, there are solutions to overcome such issues. For non-web elements, Java Robot or Python gtk is available. For modern Java applets that are based on swing elements, FEST is a useful tool to integrate with selenium to detect applet elements. Finally, Sikuli is an amazing library to locate elements based on their look (pixel by pixel), which is very useful to detect some Flash or Applet elements within GUI.
  • Selenium Webdriver is very friendly with most browsers and operating systems
  • It can be written in many languages such as Java, Python, Ruby, C#, Etc.
  • Although it is free open source software, but there are very good documentations in support in web including stackoverflow and many forums and blogs.
  • Recognize Adobe Flash and MS Silver Light elements without additional help
  • Detect and locate Java applets ingredients
  • Having the "Wait-till-Displayed" or "Wait-till-Present" as a built in Web Driver function instead of requirement for writing loops and defining expliccit wait, visiblewait, invisiblewait, etc.
Selenium is a good tool for almost all web-based automation that don't require interaction with Java applets or Flash elements.
Read Payam Pirooznia's full review
Geran Huynh profile photo
August 10, 2016

User Review: "Selenium for web automation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Selenium is used for web UI automation. We automate test cases for release regression runs. The whole organization uses it for Web testing. It provides feedback when developing new features and then running tests on old features to make sure nothing is broken. It gives us flexibility to run tests on different environments and browsers.
  • Quick development of tests once framework is written
  • Easy to maintain when using page objects design pattern
  • Compatible with major browsers.
  • Tricky to work out timing issues for test failures
  • Not able to interact with certain popups outside the browser
Selenium is well suited for web UI and API services testing. It is also good for command line execution of processes.
Read Geran Huynh's full review
Yueran Zeng profile photo
May 25, 2016

Review: "Selenium, good choice for web-based UI automation test."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are doing a design functional/UI data-driven automation testing framework using Selenium WebDriver(Java) and TestNG. We have several projects automated with selenium. They are all running reliably. This is a great way to manage the test data, it is especially good for multi-platform testing. Using Selenium, TestNG and Maven is a good set for designing the automation testing framework.
  • Saves time for a regression test.
  • Good for UAT tests.
  • Easy to integrate with other open source tools like Jenkins.
  • Comparatively slow.
  • Not as stable as API level testing.
Selenium is good for web-based applications. There are limitations for desktop based applications.
Read Yueran Zeng's full review
Dmitry Shyshkin profile photo
August 10, 2016

Review: "Selenium, best automation tool available"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Selenium WebDriver for automation of our web application tests.
We use selenium to run our test on different combination of browsers and operational systems.
  • Selenium is great for automating UI and functional tests
  • Selenium can work with different programming languages and frameworks
  • Would be nice, if there was built in feature to read js console errors.
  • Since Selenium is open source free tool, there is no support for it
I don't think there is better software for automation UI tests on web applications on different browsers
Read Dmitry Shyshkin's full review

About Selenium

Selenium is open source software for browser automation, primarily used for functional, load, or performance testing of applications.

Selenium Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No