TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGTableau Server and ITIt is being used for data virtualization.,We were using a third party tool to visualize data in SSRS reports. Tableau is very helpful to visualize the data. Tableau visuals are easy to develop and need a very minimal amount of IT support.,It would be better if Tableau could work like Microsoft SSRS reports work. Through SSRS , we can call the Stored procedures and pass the parameter, but in Tableau there are a few constraints.,9,I don't see any negative impact Positive impact is that it's been easy to set up the server and easy to create visuals. We only need a low amount of IT maintenance/support.,5,10,10,10,8Tableau Server ReviewTableau Server is being used as an analytical solution that provides dashboards and analytics to all functions. It is being used heavily by the data analytics team that provides analytics for teams such as HR, Technology, Sales etc. It addresses business problems by creating visualizations for datasets and allowing analyses to be easily digested.,Visualizations Ad-hoc Analysis Self-service analytics,Easier functionality for external facing server,9,Cheaper than Tableau Online per user Self-Service analytics Time cost to keep it running smoothly,9,9,10,9,5It's fineWe use it for sharing Tableau workbooks with other team members,Sharing reports- I use Tableau because it can display information better than Excel Quick analytics Usage stats,I don't like how I have to have the desktop and server synced in order to post new reports. I can update my desktop Tableau but I have to wait for some IT guy to update the server. The navigation to finding workbooks could be easier,9,It's not Tableau server that is important, its the Tableau charts,5,5,8,5,7Great tool for growing a company through unified metricsWe created different reports and dashboard for reporting on sales, existing policies breakdowns as well as monitoring agent and partner performance. We also gather data from Athena to present reports on traffic sources, etc.,Able to create different data sources in a single report. Easy integration between the desktop app and the server.,Upload from the desktop to the server if more than 3 different data sources exist is slow, and sometimes the connection resets. The desktop app consumes a lot of battery on a MacBook Pro.,7,It unifies the data collected by different departments into a single platform, thus allowing the company to better understand its goals. The on-boarding is quite long and it takes time to start utilizing it.,8,8,9,8Great Tool!It is used to display data from several data sources into easy to read charts and graphs. We are a manufacturing company and it allows us to visualize the data. It is being used primarily by the Manufacturing support team.,Easy to use. Installations and upgrades have always run smoothly. Flexibility in the types of data sources.,Would like to see a lower cost licensing model for casual users.,9,Tableau has saved the company time by providing reports that show where there are issues.,9,9,9,8,9
Windows, Linux
Tableau Server
575 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

Tableau Server
575 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 575 vetted Tableau Server reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (26-50 of 91)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Shaheed Ahmad profile photo
September 22, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server and IT"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for data virtualization.
  • We were using a third party tool to visualize data in SSRS reports. Tableau is very helpful to visualize the data. Tableau visuals are easy to develop and need a very minimal amount of IT support.
  • It would be better if Tableau could work like Microsoft SSRS reports work. Through SSRS , we can call the Stored procedures and pass the parameter, but in Tableau there are a few constraints.
Visuals can be made quickly and with out having much technical background.
Read Shaheed Ahmad's full review
Gabriel Horwitz profile photo
September 07, 2018

"Tableau Server Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used as an analytical solution that provides dashboards and analytics to all functions. It is being used heavily by the data analytics team that provides analytics for teams such as HR, Technology, Sales etc. It addresses business problems by creating visualizations for datasets and allowing analyses to be easily digested.
  • Visualizations
  • Ad-hoc Analysis
  • Self-service analytics
  • Easier functionality for external facing server
Appropriate for self-service and not appropriate for advanced analysis, like regression analyses.
Read Gabriel Horwitz's full review
Robert Cosgrove profile photo
September 04, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "It's fine"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for sharing Tableau workbooks with other team members
  • Sharing reports- I use Tableau because it can display information better than Excel
  • Quick analytics
  • Usage stats
  • I don't like how I have to have the desktop and server synced in order to post new reports. I can update my desktop Tableau but I have to wait for some IT guy to update the server.
  • The navigation to finding workbooks could be easier
It's very good to allow others to interact with my reports
Read Robert Cosgrove's full review
Arik Yelovitch profile photo
September 03, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Great tool for growing a company through unified metrics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We created different reports and dashboard for reporting on sales, existing policies breakdowns as well as monitoring agent and partner performance.
We also gather data from Athena to present reports on traffic sources, etc.
  • Able to create different data sources in a single report.
  • Easy integration between the desktop app and the server.
  • Upload from the desktop to the server if more than 3 different data sources exist is slow, and sometimes the connection resets.
  • The desktop app consumes a lot of battery on a MacBook Pro.
It is well suited for organizations who have developers/IT that can maintain queries and develop business logic.
Read Arik Yelovitch's full review
Grant MacDonald profile photo
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Great Tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to display data from several data sources into easy to read charts and graphs. We are a manufacturing company and it allows us to visualize the data.

It is being used primarily by the Manufacturing support team.
  • Easy to use.
  • Installations and upgrades have always run smoothly.
  • Flexibility in the types of data sources.
  • Would like to see a lower cost licensing model for casual users.
Perfect for manufacturing environments where there are many disparate systems to collect from. Tableau provides connections to just about everything.
Read Grant MacDonald's full review
No photo available
November 01, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Insight into data from multiple systems in a single place"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau to aggregate data from a lot of different systems. It brings it all together to a single place where users can build and access reports and dashboards to gain insight into different areas of the business. The insight gained through Tableau across systems is essential to our business functions and would take much more time and effort to do manually.
  • Allows for aggregation across multiple systems
  • Allows reports and dashboards to be self serve for end users
  • Allows for ad-hoc reporting
  • Initial setup of data sources can be time consuming.
  • Some native connectors didn’t work as well for us like Salesforce. We had to build our own ETL process.
  • Setting up permissions originally was burdensome.
Tableau is great for aggregating data for reporting across many different systems. The perpetual licensing made it an affordable solution for a small subset of our company. It is nice that end users can create reports and dashboards without a dedicated report writing resource.
If Tableau is used for reporting outside the company to external users it can get very expensive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

Review: "Tableau server is a good choice for a healthcare system willing to strengthen analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a healthcare system that consists of hospitals, clinics, affiliated providers, and an insurance company. We developed a dashboard and reporting environment to support business intelligence for the two major areas: business and clinical. Business reports are for leadership, management, and finance. Clinical reports are for physicians, clinical champions, clinical departments, medical directors, and clinical researchers. We wanted to automate the data extraction and report development processes with the best productivity, since they have been developed with different technologies and toolkits which caused inefficiency in maintaining analyst and computer resources.
  • Since we're a healthcare organization, we're sensitive to security and privacy of information. Tableau provides delicate control of contents in terms of visibility in dashboards and has helped us effectively prevent potential information breach issues. It was easy to integrate Tableau Server with our active directory to control delicate privilege of data access depending on clinical specialty and roles.
  • Since we have a variety of data sources from different systems--electronic health records, claims system, patient administrative system, radiology imaging system, etc.--harmonizing those sources and building and managing robust data connections in one environment is critical. Tableau is very good at that.
  • Tableau provides great monitoring tools to manage bandwidth and performance, cleaning up unused data with extract and report.
  • Tableau Server's computational efficiency of managing metadata is good, but it provides very minimum functions from the standpoint of server managers. As we add more data sources such as big data and external systems outside our organization, its importance becomes bigger.
  • The new alert function on Tableau dashboard is promising, but it is only provided at a server level, not at a desktop level. In addition, it only provides minimum alerting reconfigurability. I understand it is a new function as proof of concept and look forward to seeing it advance.
  • Tableau Server is good at monitoring usage of existing reports but provides little about monitoring data extracts and their data pipelining status.
  • A new feature of integration with AWS is exciting but need to keep watching how it works well.
Tableau is the most popular BI tool these days and is suited to many industries, but healthcare is probably where it is most suited for two reasons. It is relatively easy to learn and run the tool, which is great for an environment where it is being used by non-technical domain experts (e.g. doctors and nurses.) The healthcare industry has rigorous privacy regulation, and by being somewhat conservative when dealing with data, Tableau's enriched data security and privacy management functions are great to fill such requirements.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau as an embedded reporting solution"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in a single product using the in-line version in a web application. It is a huge selling point to the application suite as it allows the users to see the effectiveness of using the application. The visualizations are powerful.
  • Powerful visulizations that can be customized with the desktop suite.
  • Can be scheduled for emails or exported to PDF.
  • Supports many different charts graphs and has plenty of filtering options.
  • Default dates parameters do not work.
  • Not a lot of room for custom queries to the end user.
  • Desktop customization software is buggy.
Quickly getting a reporting solution integrated.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Tableau Server: "Review by a technician that embeds reports in a web portal"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across organization, augmenting our client-facing web portal that helps us optimize our clients' database marketing efforts.
  • Allows non-technical data scientists and analysts to approach and visualize data.
  • Allows reports prepared by non-technical analysts to be readily adapted by technicians into an always-live web portal.
  • Its "extract" capability, although imperfect, can help to digest and visualize larger amounts of data in a moderately performant way.
  • Consume hardware resources like crazy. It is implemented using a raft of heavy technologies, including Postres, Java, Apache httpd, and more.
  • It has decent support for tabular data, but this support is somewhat rigid.
  • It nags end users to upgrade their desktop versions frequently, even though this risks compatibility errors with the server.
  • It's a significant resource hog. To some degree this is understandable, but it is largely due to its use of many heavyweight technologies (Postgres, Java, Apache httpd, and more).
  • You can't change its use of port 443 when using SQL, forcing extra deployment complexity (e.g. proxy servers) in many deployment scenarios.
  • The look and feel of their "story" feature is surprisingly hard to customize (beyond basic style elements) -- it's "a row of blocky buttons" only.
  • It's geographic maps are fairly basic, and the UI controls for navigating them are clumsy.
Well suited when non-technical analysts need to approach and visualize data sets. Poorly suited for shops that are well-positioned to do their own, more nimble web application visualization (e.g. using D3).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 11, 2018

"Reviewing Tableau Server"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau server is used across multiple departments, with the bulk users in our reporting and finance department.

It allows end users to see more comprehensive/dynamic reports versus what we used. Our clients are now asking for access so they can start looking at reports that we have created.

  • It provides easier reporting for end users
  • It allows for better comprehensive reporting
  • It allows us to connect to multiple sources with one product
  • Desktop should not allow updates unless server is updated first
  • Need a better management tool that doesn't take a long time to start-up
  • Better documentation online
When multiple people need to look at the same report (either with or without Tableau desktop). Allowing users to see data dynamically versus an Excel spreadsheet.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 05, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server is great"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the moment just a small group is using it. However, we hope after we have more workbooks set up and people see the benefits, the user base will expand to the whole department and then organization. It allows for quick dissemination of the usual data and quick question answering, as well as consistent outputs within our group.
  • Quick access to data in one place that is easy to find
  • Ability for inexperienced users to interact with the data
  • Easy sharing, downloading. Everyone can get what they want.
  • Management of users is easy
  • Editing a workbook in Server has gotten much better, but it would be nice to add even more Desktop-like functionality.
  • Not being able to get rid of the Default project is annoying.
  • When tasks fail, send an email to the admin instead of just a notification in server.
  • Would be great to be able to purchase more licenses within Server.
It works best when the majority of people won't be building workbooks themselves, then the data can still be shared, but for a much lower cost than buying everyone desktop licenses.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

"My Tableau server review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is implemented as an enterprise visualization tool across the organization. At present we are migrating the reports/dashboards running in legacy tools. In the future, Tableau will be used to find the insights of the business happenings, which will help us make better decisions, identify business challenges, and learn how to improvise business solutions.
  • Architecture of the Tableau Server is very simple and easy to implement. It can be easily scaled up/scaled down based on the business needs
  • The licensing concepts of user-based/CPU core based is best in standards. We can choose based on our needs
  • Tableau DB connectors. It connects all types of data sources available and it is also made very simple and powerful
  • Too many releases of Tableau Server products. Maybe it could be half yearly so that we can plan for the upgrades of our server as needed
  • Two Node installation should support high availability by making the repository in both nodes
It is suited across all industries. Simple and powerful tool for any business solutions
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server is a great addition to Desktop"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Business Analytics department uses Tableau Server to share reports and data sources internally. A small number of visualizations are shared outside the department. We currently have 50 users and the majority of those log in at least once per month.
  • Shares data sources very well.
  • Solid security at the folder and file level.
  • Recently added a "read-only" licensing option.
  • Performance can be problematic when using MS SQL stored procedures as a published data source on Tableau Server. We've only tried this twice, but it has failed spectacularly under two completely different situations.
  • Maintenance upgrades are extremely slow. That may be improving in version 2018.2.
  • New subscription pricing models are more expensive than the discontinued perpetual licensing model.
We have not found an excellent use case. However, our limited number of users rarely complain, so that is probably a good sign.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server - great times!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team is using Tableau server to support analytics for the project teams at client sites.
  • Standardized reporting across teams/projects
  • Easily access summary level reporting with the ability to get to the account level detail within a few clicks
  • Easy to share reports with the many export features
  • The formatting is always difficult and never translates exactly when publishing from desktop to server
  • Customization using the command line is more difficult than it should be
  • It'd be nice to be able to copy group permissions between sites
Tableau server is great to support our project teams that are doing similar things at different client sites across the country.

Many of our clients do not have Tableau or Tableau Server, so leaving behind reporting after project conclusion is often difficult and requires us to build something out in Excel for them.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Small made Mighty with Tableau Server!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server has resolved operations department needs for

  1. More efficient and timely delivery of operations performance to frontline supervisors, managers, business analysts, Steering and C-suite
  2. Increased accountability of operations KPIs
  3. Clear "signal" delivery for routine prioritizing, project tracking and alerting
  4. Increased literacy for data-driven process improvement. The tool also provides intuitive and interactive self-service BI for business development tactics and strategy.
  • Auto refresh setup is a few clicks, and default selections make routine updates to dashboard development a breeze.
  • Intuitive, rapid development of visuals for all stages of business analysis; easy to learn, teach and realize RoI of purchase in 3-6 months.
  • Robust visual recommendations result in responsive, high impact deliverables to meet ad-hoc requests.
  • Highly customizable actions and filters for high interactivity and rapid end user adoption from anywhere business needs to get done.
  • Pop-up tips for new viewers regarding features like subscriptions, alerts, etc to encourage engagement.
Well suited for decentralized data ownership culture where data-driven decision-making is highly valued. Perfect for busy senior managers with "power user" and/or business analytics chops to drive their own insights at the speed of dynamic shifts in priorities.

Not well suited for heavy real-time queries against transactional data without extensive reporting infrastructure and architecture.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 19, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Data consolidation and visualizations done right"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the growth and expansion of our company into the overseas markets, we felt a need to be able to collaborate better on our projects and provide management with tools to get better insight into our Key Performance Indicators. We first on boarded our marketing and sales departments to the Tableau Server. Now we have dashboards being used by the implementation and engineering departments as well.
  • One of the main features of this product is the ease of generating reports. Dashboards can be shared among team members instantaneously.
  • Scheduling and alert notifications can be easily configured to help managers find out critical information in a timely fashion.
  • Some of the reports and dashboards generated by Tableau Server are not fully mobile responsive.
  • We have had several issues with Tableau being unable to communicate with other data sources and servers, possibly arising through some authentication failures.
In the few years that we have been using Tableau Server, we've had good success in utilizing it as the single point of data access and visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 05, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau has been a great tool for us, has room to improve too!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TS is used as a reporting framework that connects to a legacy SQL server that stores Time and Expense information for a national consulting company. We primary use tabluar\xtab reporting formats
  • Easy connection to SQL Server. Easy creation of SQL statement, data source for reporting. Easy drag and drop report creation
  • Flexible report formats
  • Easy to set permissions on a per User basis
  • We use Tab CMD extensively; documentation is poor (specifically on how to format some exports - a topic we recently had to rerseach).
  • We leverage xtab reports a lot, and we run into the 16 column limit
It works great for our applications; internal reporting directly connected to our back end database. In our case we were replacing the reporting tools that accompanied a legacy system - and Tableau performed that role easily.

We're a middle sized company, and only have 12 licenses because adding more is too expensive...
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Decent product and good UX (except requirement for desktop client) but legacy underlying architecture"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used across the whole organization to deliver reports and dashboards.
  • Data presentation
  • Visual data exploration
  • Story telling
  • Deployment and management are quite hard.
  • Required Tableau Desktop for report design (embedded browser version is too weak and incomplete)
Good: Advanced Data analysis for reports creation. Internal users report consumption.
Bad: Required lots of training to use all the features to create reports.
Bad: Interactive dashboards are hard to build and not flexible enough.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 21, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is the best solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is an amazing software, it’s very easy to create all kinds of reports. It can be well integrated with our systems.
  • Easy to build.
  • The Linux version is very stable.
  • Upgrades fast.
  • We can't open admin web because of the certificate issue.
  • It needs automatic backup and recovery.
It's good enough for most of our areas of need; so far I haven't found any use to which it is less suited.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Data visualizations made easy"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our firm as we started building solutions for clients from overseas, we felt the need to have better analytics for our marketing and sales departments. Previously we had a wide array of different services that were pretty much offering the same results for us. We decided to go with Tableau Server to consolidate most of that information into a single source.
  • Reporting through Tableau Server is just a matter of few clicks. Anyone with the correct user access can we the dashboards instantaneously.
  • Using dynamic filtering, users can access the relevant sections of the reports without the need for any admin re-configuration.
  • Thus far I have not seen Tableau generated reports being mobile responsive.
  • Some of the navigation required to access workbooks, folders and projects can quickly get messy.
So far into our implementation of Tableau server for single point of data access and visualization we have seen good success. We've managed to retrieve data from different databases like Oracle and SQL server. Our next step is integrating our HR solution Workday with the Tableau Server as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 11, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Great product but not Cheap"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server to distribute dashboards to our entire company, as well as to our contractor to keep everyone in the know.
  • Easy to install and to set up
  • Navigation is a breeze
  • Security settings are great
  • Better alert scheduling
  • Cheaper licences cost
Well suited for companies with multiple sites, not good for places with a small budget
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

User Review: "My experience with Tableau Server"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used across the whole organization as a reporting and business intelligence platform.
  • Quick development time.
  • Easy to administer.
  • Lots of options for authentication.
  • It's slow to start/stop the server components, which results in more downtime during upgrades.
  • Hard to kill a data refresh manually.
Great for publishing dashboards within the company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server increases time efficiency!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server in a variety of ways. Currently in my Business Unit at OpinionLab we use an instance of Tableau Server for internal reporting needs for our Professional services team. We publish workbooks connected to live data sources, schedule a refresh, then using another application we send pushed reporting to a distribution list. At Verint Mainstream we use Tableau Server for our registered digital survey customers to set up reporting to interact and share within their organization.
  • The ability to share metrics across an organization with one source of truth (published data source)
  • Allows users the ability to author their own visualizations without having to purchase a Desktop license
  • Subscription and Data-Driven alerting to alert users to changes in their data
  • Add in the ability to search for fields while using web authorizing on Tableau Server. It's tedious to find the fields you want to add to a visualization when you have 100 fields and multiple joins to search through
  • Allow web authors the ability to reorder the worksheets after creation
  • Include ability to set up parameters while web authoring
Tableau Server is well suited for users who want the ability to interact with their data, find out the why, behind some of the changes they are seeing. Also great for sharing information across an organization; however this shares a static image.
Read this authenticated review
Ken Sparks profile photo
January 16, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Show your data with pride!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used within my organization to present users with an easily understandable visualization of our very large data sets. These data sets include web log information, customer information, and transaction information. By using Tableau, we are able to present this data in a number of formats including tabular format as well as various charts and graphs. Because the charts and graphs are interactive, the user experience has been received very well.
  • Tableau's visual presentation of data is unsurpassed
  • Tableau Server is easily integrated into various database and technologies such as Business Objects
  • Because the Tableau user community is so large, we are able to obtain answers to the majority of our questions through news feeds and online user groups and communities.
  • On the lowest level, many of Tableau's features and strengths are too complicated for the typical end-user
  • IT expertise is required to fully implement Tableau Server
  • Tableau Server is very weak in source-code versioning.
- Tableau Server is particularly strong in the creation and presentation of dashboards
- I would not recommend Tableau out-of-the-box for use by an end-user
Read Ken Sparks's full review
Ilham AB profile photo
January 25, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "A very cool tool for Data Visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Tableau in the company several years ago and the main the decision was because at that moment we do not have a COTS data visualization product in place. Previously we only relied on Microsoft Excel and an in-house tool for data visualization and BI. It was not interactive, hard to maintain and not user-friendly. There were many challenges like too much time for preparing the data and report, and many formulas and processes before producing a visualization that were creating a pain point. There was a necessity to create one governed reporting platform and centralized BI for all departments. So, it was a turning point to select Tableau for complimenting the company's purpose and goal.
  • Ease of use
  • Automatic data visualization
  • Lower cost of ownership
  • Interactive visual exploration
  • Multiple data sources
  • A license model need to be enhanced to capture small and medium business requirements
  • Capability for data discovery
  • Supporting the cloud functionality
If you need out-of-the-box software to create an analytical dashboard that is easy to use, then Tableau will be a fit for your purpose. Tableau supports multiple data sources and provides a conversion tool for your raw data. Drag-and-drop is a key feature to develop the data visualization. In our industry, this capability is critical to differentiate with the competitor. But you also need to consider Tableau's performance to directly analyze huge volumes of datasets.
Read Ilham AB's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (74)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (62)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (75)
7.7
Formatting capabilities (73)
8.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (44)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (70)
7.8
Publish to Web (66)
8.9
Publish to PDF (66)
7.8
Report Versioning (54)
7.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (60)
8.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (67)
8.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (67)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (50)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (73)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (71)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (72)
8.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (43)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (59)
7.7
Dedicated iOS Application (47)
7.7
Dedicated Android Application (39)
7.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (51)
7.6
REST API (29)
8.1
Javascript API (25)
8.0
iFrames (30)
7.6
Java API (7)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
6.8

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server allows organizations to deploy self-service analytics with a scalable, secure, enterprise-grade platform.

The vendor says key benefits include:

  • Deploy the way that makes the most sense for your organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux even integrate with your existing security and authentication protocols.
  • Provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, reports and dashboards, all with the scalability and security requirements you require.
  • Automate processes and workflows.
  • Manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights.

In other words, Tableau Server aims to give you the visibility, security and controls you need to empower your people with data. The vendor says Tableau helps organizations of all sizes unleash the power of their two most valuable assets: their data and their people. The product aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Video

Learn more about Tableau Server: https://www.tableau.com/products/server Tableau Server is true enterprise-scale analytics your business will love. Share insights and collaborate with data sources, interactive dashboards, and ad hoc analyses in a trusted and secure

Tableau Server Downloadables

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese