TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGTableau Server is the best of the bestWe use it across the organization, but I only manage 1 or quite a few. It is the trusted platform for visualization across the organization.,User management; you have a plethora of options built in (LDAP, Domain, SAML, etc.) for SSO and user management. Dashboard Hosting; you have the option to host your dashboard in a few different ways. You can embed it as part of a larger web page, have it emailed automatically, or view it directly on the server. Web Editing; while not as robust as a full fledged desktop I can see that it is edging that way. The web editing is great for fast, small, on the fly edits during a working session with a customer.,Installation; the latest iteration was an absolute nightmare to install. It failed to install several times. Web Editing; while it is okay at small edits it would be a very nice feature to have an integrated solution that is as robust as desktop. User Management; in certain aspects user management could use a small boost. Have a setting that allows Active Directory / LDAP based users be removed/deleted from the server automatically instead of forcing a script be written and deployed. If the user no longer exists in the AD or LDAP group they should be removed vice set to inactive as an option.,9,Time to adoption has been a very big factor; it was easy to adopt. Deployment cost has also been a big factor; outside of the initial purchase of an 8 core license, my organization has been unwilling to revisit getting a larger core license due to the large cost. The headcount needed to setup and install Tableau Server can be pretty low. It depends upon your deployment preference, but as an example a single server option domain connected on a windows server install is likely to take only a couple of hours to setup and a couple of hours of maintenance a month. Even a more highly available setup is still not going to require more headcount per-say, merely a little bit more time on initial setup and maintenance.,8,9,10,10,7Tableau Server Serves Organizations Well![It's] Used across the entire organization and for client-facing reporting. Solves the issue of centralized reporting and a-la-carte reporting using automation and predetermined data sources.,Centralized reporting Role-based security Data visualizations,Animated time series visualizations Custom filtering Easier D3 integration,10,Higher level of automation Reduced resource needs through centralized reporting Interactive visual reporting benefit vs. static reporting templates,7,5,7,4,8Tableau is definitely a leader in BI, yet there is lot to catch up on.We are using Tableau as the primary BI tool for Accurate organization. We used Tableau for creating dashboards, and we integrate those into our Clients portal using JS API. We also use the tool internally across all departments for data analysis and to build self-service reports/dashboards.,Tableau is an easy to use yet powerful analytics tool. We have created 100+ dashboards for our clients in a short time. Tableau supports multiple data connectors to pull data from almost any database, and CRM tools. We are able to pull data into Tableau from multiple databases. If your business is looking at a tool to put data in the user's hands and avoid IT requests overhead around reporting, Tableau is the tool.,It is not easy to subscribe to dashboards or send e-mails outside of Tableau users. We have to use open source solutions like VizAlerts to make this happen. I believe for a tool like Tableau this should be an out of box solution. Even though Tableau is an easy to use tool, there is still a solid learning curve to get familiar with the use of Tableau. One should invest a good amount of time to get an organization to adapt to Tableau, especially if the organization hasn't already used similar tools already. Tableau Desktop is powerful. Tableau Web Portal provides a lot of the same functionality as Tableau Desktop, yet there are lots of gaps. Data blending is one of the more powerful features. However, this only works with limited data. If you are blending a million rows of a data source, we found it very difficult to blend.,9,Our clients are interested in the interactive dashboard on their data. This is a big ask and a good selling point for our future clients. We are not able to get a self-service model yet as it takes a good amount of training for our users. Tableau is definitely a good tool if you would like to build dashboards easily.,9,7,9,10,9Tableau Server is a good tool for sharing content within the organization but still has some flawsWe use Tableau Server across the organization. It started in a business unit (Revenue Cycle, which handles healthcare billing, coding, claims, etc.) to help share information. From there it was shared with other business units, and Revenue Cycle also played a role as a center of excellence and consulting. Five years later it was absorbed by the main IT organization. Now we are in the process of rolling out, formalizing, and organizing that same role.,Democratizes information. Any user can share information. The community is supportive.,Auditing has always been lacking. The repository has some information, but being able to see what is clicked and what filters are used is needed. The UI has improved over the years, but finding content is still hard. People keep looking at custom portals or embedding content since it is hard to find. The 2018.2 upgrade is onerous and we have been putting it off. Not just because of tabadmin to tsm changes but also because o the updater not making the upgrade seamless. I have to reset every configuration. Backup and restore is slow.,9,Money saved Money recovered Improved patient outcomes,8,5,9,7,10Tableau review for in home medical visit company use.Tableau is being used across our entire organization for data analytics and reporting. The business problem it addresses is our business requirements, meaning us being able to keep a close watch on whether we're hitting our goals that were in the contracts with our clients.,Geo-mapping Data drill-down Sharing dashboards online,Better ways to move dashboard items, like when all items need to be moved 2 x or y radius to the right, down, etc. More Graphs and Charts Better color customization Maybe a search bar for tools or other items,6,It has been great for the business to keep track of our data points and business goals.,8,8,9,8,8Big data management across multiple platforms made easy!We use Tableau server across the entire organization. All departments are using worksheets and data sources to answer day-to-day business decisions. It is our go-to business intelligence platform and is heavily used.,Controls over who can see what report One place for everything Custom controls over various datasources,Better mobile Updates are hard, but we try to wait until data source first couple after release, always end up getting connection issues back to our servers A user activity dashboard - more than what data sources,10,Positive ROI. Always need more training We utilize a service provider (ICIMO) - they are the best and double/triple the value that we get out of Tableau,10,10,10,9,10Tableau Server ReviewTableau Server is being used across the organization as our Data Analytics tool of choice. This product empowers our end users to explore data on their products or efforts and make key decisions to improve their customers' experiences. This frees up our BI / BA analytic teams to perform deeper dives into the data.,Tableau server is an easy to use / powerful tool for visual analytics. Users who are not familiar with technologies can easily create beautiful visualizations to convey the impacts of their products and efforts. Tableau server allows our executive members to have quick easy access to our KPI measures to know how our business is performing at a glance. Tableau server empowers our BI / BA team to dive deeply into our data, and summarize, visualize the significant facts in views that are easily consumed and understood.,As with any tool there are areas that can be improved/enhanced. However, Tableau has been a fairly full coverage robust application. I do not have any gaps at this time.,10,Giving users the ability to quickly see trending and total impact of products and efforts in easy to consume visualizations has had significant impact to our overall performance metrics.,10,10,10,10,10Laddy's Tableau Server ReviewWe use it to deploy dashboards that help our decision makers across all companies. It helps our sales associates direct their attention to customers for changes in business activity. It helps our MFG department plan and visually see future demands. We use it to analyze our forecasting and on time delivery.,It always available and allows us to make it easy for users outside of the building get their BI info. It's easy to manage and takes very little daily or monthly maintenance. The subscription service really helps users stay on top of things with their alerts.,Doesn't send out PDF versions of the dashboards. Tabcmd is old and needs to be updated to a visual client. It is sometimes slow opening dashboards and the new data methodology hasn't proven the improvement as promised.,8,IBM Cognos and QlikView,9,6,Epicor ERP, Microsoft Office 2016, ADP Workforce NowTableau Server Admin ReviewThe entire organization of internal users and external users use the Tableau dashboards hosted on Tableau Server. We use Tableau to address health care analytics data.,The installation, upgrading and migrating to new hardware is straightforward The Tableau Server admin can adjust the server processes to make it tailor-fit for the organization, hence increasing the dashboard and query performances. The core-based licensing and user-based licensing of Tableau Server is very useful based on the required scenario.,Support for Exasol Data Connections in Tableau Server for Linux. Publish Document Covering Tableau Server Architecture on 2018.2 with HA environment. Improve historical reporting for extract schedules on Tableau Server.,9,10,9,8,10,7Flexible easy to use analytics platformTableau Server is used to access data and view analytics across different groups at my organization. It makes data from our data warehouse easily accessed and viewed by users.,Tableau Server does a good job of making data easily accessible for consumers of data and analytics. Tableau Server is very easy to populate with data using extracts and storing that in the hyper data engine. Tableau is very fast for viewing complicated analytics - even better when using extracts.,Tableau Online would be better if it used Encryption at rest and in transit - this would allow my organization to use it instead of managing our own VM in Azure with Tableau Server. More color palettes would be nice for both Tableau Server and Desktop.,10,Provides easy access to data. Simple design environment Easy setup for Tableau Server,10,10,10,10,8Tableau Server and ITIt is being used for data virtualization.,We were using a third party tool to visualize data in SSRS reports. Tableau is very helpful to visualize the data. Tableau visuals are easy to develop and need a very minimal amount of IT support.,It would be better if Tableau could work like Microsoft SSRS reports work. Through SSRS , we can call the Stored procedures and pass the parameter, but in Tableau there are a few constraints.,9,I don't see any negative impact Positive impact is that it's been easy to set up the server and easy to create visuals. We only need a low amount of IT maintenance/support.,5,10,10,10,8Tableau Server ReviewTableau Server is being used as an analytical solution that provides dashboards and analytics to all functions. It is being used heavily by the data analytics team that provides analytics for teams such as HR, Technology, Sales etc. It addresses business problems by creating visualizations for datasets and allowing analyses to be easily digested.,Visualizations Ad-hoc Analysis Self-service analytics,Easier functionality for external facing server,9,Cheaper than Tableau Online per user Self-Service analytics Time cost to keep it running smoothly,9,9,10,9,5It's fineWe use it for sharing Tableau workbooks with other team members,Sharing reports- I use Tableau because it can display information better than Excel Quick analytics Usage stats,I don't like how I have to have the desktop and server synced in order to post new reports. I can update my desktop Tableau but I have to wait for some IT guy to update the server. The navigation to finding workbooks could be easier,9,It's not Tableau server that is important, its the Tableau charts,5,5,8,5,7Great tool for growing a company through unified metricsWe created different reports and dashboard for reporting on sales, existing policies breakdowns as well as monitoring agent and partner performance. We also gather data from Athena to present reports on traffic sources, etc.,Able to create different data sources in a single report. Easy integration between the desktop app and the server.,Upload from the desktop to the server if more than 3 different data sources exist is slow, and sometimes the connection resets. The desktop app consumes a lot of battery on a MacBook Pro.,7,It unifies the data collected by different departments into a single platform, thus allowing the company to better understand its goals. The on-boarding is quite long and it takes time to start utilizing it.,8,8,9,8Great Tool!It is used to display data from several data sources into easy to read charts and graphs. We are a manufacturing company and it allows us to visualize the data. It is being used primarily by the Manufacturing support team.,Easy to use. Installations and upgrades have always run smoothly. Flexibility in the types of data sources.,Would like to see a lower cost licensing model for casual users.,9,Tableau has saved the company time by providing reports that show where there are issues.,9,9,9,8,9Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, AgileTableau provides agile, easy to use, and effective ways to visualize data. We have used Tableau visualizations to inform decisions regarding our strategic goals. It took very little time for our data analysts to become familiar with the Tableau toolset. We had several data dashboards up on day one of our implementation.,It's extremely intuitive to use the visualizations. Users can manipulate and construct meaning and additional questions from the data quickly. Tableau is very flexible -- it's completely data source agnostic. It will take data from any source. Our development team learned it very quickly.,While it took little time for our data analysts to crank out visualizations, it did take some time(longer than I expected) for our technology operations team to configure the server to share the sizes. The server update process is rather cumbersome -- requires a full uninstall/re-install. Again, while it took our data analysts next to no time to start creating, I've been in other organizations that have struggled with the feature-rich interface and complexity of the Tableau client. So, it requires the right personnel, with dedicated time, to fully leverage the tool.,9,Tableau does take dedicated FTE to create and analyze the data. It's too complex (and powerful) a product not to have someone dedicated to developing with it. There are some significant setup for the server product. Once sever setup is complete, it's largely "fire and forget" until an update is necessary. The server update process is cumbersome.,9,8,10,9,8Insight into data from multiple systems in a single placeWe use Tableau to aggregate data from a lot of different systems. It brings it all together to a single place where users can build and access reports and dashboards to gain insight into different areas of the business. The insight gained through Tableau across systems is essential to our business functions and would take much more time and effort to do manually.,Allows for aggregation across multiple systems Allows reports and dashboards to be self serve for end users Allows for ad-hoc reporting,Initial setup of data sources can be time consuming. Some native connectors didn’t work as well for us like Salesforce. We had to build our own ETL process. Setting up permissions originally was burdensome.,7,Has allowed for fast iteration of reports and dashboards to find what managers are really looking for. Self serve nature has made it so we don’t need dedicated report writing resources. There was a heavy time investment upfront setting the system and data sources up.,8,8,5,7,8Tableau as an embedded reporting solutionIt is used in a single product using the in-line version in a web application. It is a huge selling point to the application suite as it allows the users to see the effectiveness of using the application. The visualizations are powerful.,Powerful visulizations that can be customized with the desktop suite. Can be scheduled for emails or exported to PDF. Supports many different charts graphs and has plenty of filtering options.,Default dates parameters do not work. Not a lot of room for custom queries to the end user. Desktop customization software is buggy.,4,It is a critical selling point to our tool as it shows the results from using our processes. It is a little painful to maintain and customize. It needs more flexibility in how you create data sets with stored procedures and temp tables.,7,10,7,7,7Review by a technician that embeds reports in a web portalAcross organization, augmenting our client-facing web portal that helps us optimize our clients' database marketing efforts.,Allows non-technical data scientists and analysts to approach and visualize data. Allows reports prepared by non-technical analysts to be readily adapted by technicians into an always-live web portal. Its "extract" capability, although imperfect, can help to digest and visualize larger amounts of data in a moderately performant way. Consume hardware resources like crazy. It is implemented using a raft of heavy technologies, including Postres, Java, Apache httpd, and more.,It has decent support for tabular data, but this support is somewhat rigid. It nags end users to upgrade their desktop versions frequently, even though this risks compatibility errors with the server. It's a significant resource hog. To some degree this is understandable, but it is largely due to its use of many heavyweight technologies (Postgres, Java, Apache httpd, and more). You can't change its use of port 443 when using SQL, forcing extra deployment complexity (e.g. proxy servers) in many deployment scenarios. The look and feel of their "story" feature is surprisingly hard to customize (beyond basic style elements) -- it's "a row of blocky buttons" only. It's geographic maps are fairly basic, and the UI controls for navigating them are clumsy.,5,The analysts love it. As chief technician, I'm neutral. It's heavy, expensive, and somewhat slow. But it helps our analysts contribute to the contents of our client-facing web portals, and that has value.,5,7,6,6,8Tableau Server is greatAt the moment just a small group is using it. However, we hope after we have more workbooks set up and people see the benefits, the user base will expand to the whole department and then organization. It allows for quick dissemination of the usual data and quick question answering, as well as consistent outputs within our group.,Quick access to data in one place that is easy to find Ability for inexperienced users to interact with the data Easy sharing, downloading. Everyone can get what they want. Management of users is easy,Editing a workbook in Server has gotten much better, but it would be nice to add even more Desktop-like functionality. Not being able to get rid of the Default project is annoying. When tasks fail, send an email to the admin instead of just a notification in server. Would be great to be able to purchase more licenses within Server.,10,More employee time to work on other areas Less reliance on vendors consistent graphs for everyone,8,9,10,9,10My Tableau server reviewTableau Server is implemented as an enterprise visualization tool across the organization. At present we are migrating the reports/dashboards running in legacy tools. In the future, Tableau will be used to find the insights of the business happenings, which will help us make better decisions, identify business challenges, and learn how to improvise business solutions.,Architecture of the Tableau Server is very simple and easy to implement. It can be easily scaled up/scaled down based on the business needs The licensing concepts of user-based/CPU core based is best in standards. We can choose based on our needs Tableau DB connectors. It connects all types of data sources available and it is also made very simple and powerful,Too many releases of Tableau Server products. Maybe it could be half yearly so that we can plan for the upgrades of our server as needed Two Node installation should support high availability by making the repository in both nodes,10,Tableau has a super positive impact on our organization. The self-servicing capabilities of Tableau add more support from the business users, as it removes the dependency on IT and also provides ad-hoc analysis of data Deployment cost is considerably lower and implementation is quick,9,10,10,8,9Tableau Server Rocks!The medical department uses it to keep everything organized. It works very well.,Very well organized. Menus are clear to understand. The product works without issues.,Their technical support sometimes doesn't understand the issues. One technician may know the product very well and another technician may not know the product well enough and has to engage a different team. Their licensing is very strict, doesn't give me many options and if you run into any issues, you have to contact the licensing team via email and only email.,9,No negative impact to report at this time.,8,9,9,9,8Tableau Server is a great addition to DesktopThe Business Analytics department uses Tableau Server to share reports and data sources internally. A small number of visualizations are shared outside the department. We currently have 50 users and the majority of those log in at least once per month.,Shares data sources very well. Solid security at the folder and file level. Recently added a "read-only" licensing option.,Performance can be problematic when using MS SQL stored procedures as a published data source on Tableau Server. We've only tried this twice, but it has failed spectacularly under two completely different situations. Maintenance upgrades are extremely slow. That may be improving in version 2018.2. New subscription pricing models are more expensive than the discontinued perpetual licensing model.,9,Tableau Server makes it easy to share engaging visualizations with clients.,7,9,9,10Tableau Server - great times!Our team is using Tableau server to support analytics for the project teams at client sites.,Standardized reporting across teams/projects Easily access summary level reporting with the ability to get to the account level detail within a few clicks Easy to share reports with the many export features,The formatting is always difficult and never translates exactly when publishing from desktop to server Customization using the command line is more difficult than it should be It'd be nice to be able to copy group permissions between sites,9,It's great having standardized reports that are updated for project teams on a consistent schedule Automated updates are great compared to manually updated Excel reports, which opens the door for human error Adoption has been difficult, as many folks are still more comfortable in Excel vs. using SQL and Tableau,,9,9,9,9Small made Mighty with Tableau Server!Tableau Server has resolved operations department needs for More efficient and timely delivery of operations performance to frontline supervisors, managers, business analysts, Steering and C-suiteIncreased accountability of operations KPIsClear "signal" delivery for routine prioritizing, project tracking and alertingIncreased literacy for data-driven process improvement. The tool also provides intuitive and interactive self-service BI for business development tactics and strategy.,Auto refresh setup is a few clicks, and default selections make routine updates to dashboard development a breeze. Intuitive, rapid development of visuals for all stages of business analysis; easy to learn, teach and realize RoI of purchase in 3-6 months. Robust visual recommendations result in responsive, high impact deliverables to meet ad-hoc requests. Highly customizable actions and filters for high interactivity and rapid end user adoption from anywhere business needs to get done.,Pop-up tips for new viewers regarding features like subscriptions, alerts, etc to encourage engagement.,10,Deployment cost is low and rapid Report generation capacity exponentially increased Rise in data-informed decisions,8,10,10,8,8
Windows, Linux
Tableau Server
633 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Tableau Server
633 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 633 vetted Tableau Server reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (26-50 of 102)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Justin Pulley profile photo
October 30, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server is the best of the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization, but I only manage 1 or quite a few. It is the trusted platform for visualization across the organization.
  • User management; you have a plethora of options built in (LDAP, Domain, SAML, etc.) for SSO and user management.
  • Dashboard Hosting; you have the option to host your dashboard in a few different ways. You can embed it as part of a larger web page, have it emailed automatically, or view it directly on the server.
  • Web Editing; while not as robust as a full fledged desktop I can see that it is edging that way. The web editing is great for fast, small, on the fly edits during a working session with a customer.
  • Installation; the latest iteration was an absolute nightmare to install. It failed to install several times.
  • Web Editing; while it is okay at small edits it would be a very nice feature to have an integrated solution that is as robust as desktop.
  • User Management; in certain aspects user management could use a small boost. Have a setting that allows Active Directory / LDAP based users be removed/deleted from the server automatically instead of forcing a script be written and deployed. If the user no longer exists in the AD or LDAP group they should be removed vice set to inactive as an option.
Server is appropriate anywhere really, but it comes down to cost. If you are a small org, say 20 people, that cost is going to be $16,800 per year. That is a steep price and other options might be more cost effective. Additionally, large high availability Tableau clusters increase the costs.
Read Justin Pulley's full review
Yigael Chetrit profile photo
October 29, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server Serves Organizations Well!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used across the entire organization and for client-facing reporting. Solves the issue of centralized reporting and a-la-carte reporting using automation and predetermined data sources.
  • Centralized reporting
  • Role-based security
  • Data visualizations
  • Animated time series visualizations
  • Custom filtering
  • Easier D3 integration
Tableau Server is extremely well-suited for centralized reporting within an organization, or for client facing reporting. There are some very useful visualizations that exist, but allowing for more advanced visualizations to be seamlessly integrated would be a huge benefit.
Read Yigael Chetrit's full review
Kishore Ummadisetti profile photo
October 15, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is definitely a leader in BI, yet there is lot to catch up on."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Tableau as the primary BI tool for Accurate organization. We used Tableau for creating dashboards, and we integrate those into our Clients portal using JS API. We also use the tool internally across all departments for data analysis and to build self-service reports/dashboards.
  • Tableau is an easy to use yet powerful analytics tool. We have created 100+ dashboards for our clients in a short time.
  • Tableau supports multiple data connectors to pull data from almost any database, and CRM tools. We are able to pull data into Tableau from multiple databases.
  • If your business is looking at a tool to put data in the user's hands and avoid IT requests overhead around reporting, Tableau is the tool.
  • It is not easy to subscribe to dashboards or send e-mails outside of Tableau users. We have to use open source solutions like VizAlerts to make this happen. I believe for a tool like Tableau this should be an out of box solution.
  • Even though Tableau is an easy to use tool, there is still a solid learning curve to get familiar with the use of Tableau. One should invest a good amount of time to get an organization to adapt to Tableau, especially if the organization hasn't already used similar tools already.
  • Tableau Desktop is powerful. Tableau Web Portal provides a lot of the same functionality as Tableau Desktop, yet there are lots of gaps.
  • Data blending is one of the more powerful features. However, this only works with limited data. If you are blending a million rows of a data source, we found it very difficult to blend.
Tableau Server works well in providing a self-service analytics tool. To work with live data, you better have the data in query efficient schema (data warehouse.) Tableau has a good security model. It is easy to integrate with other external tools.
Read Kishore Ummadisetti's full review
Thomas Cook profile photo
September 28, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server is a good tool for sharing content within the organization but still has some flaws"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server across the organization. It started in a business unit (Revenue Cycle, which handles healthcare billing, coding, claims, etc.) to help share information. From there it was shared with other business units, and Revenue Cycle also played a role as a center of excellence and consulting. Five years later it was absorbed by the main IT organization. Now we are in the process of rolling out, formalizing, and organizing that same role.
  • Democratizes information. Any user can share information.
  • The community is supportive.
  • Auditing has always been lacking. The repository has some information, but being able to see what is clicked and what filters are used is needed.
  • The UI has improved over the years, but finding content is still hard. People keep looking at custom portals or embedding content since it is hard to find.
  • The 2018.2 upgrade is onerous and we have been putting it off. Not just because of tabadmin to tsm changes but also because o the updater not making the upgrade seamless. I have to reset every configuration.
  • Backup and restore is slow.
Good for
  • if you want answers and interactivity
  • self-service
Not for:
  • well formatted and paginated pdf reports to print out
  • an Excel replacement
  • printing
Read Thomas Cook's full review
Duran Roberts profile photo
September 13, 2018

Tableau Server: "Tableau review for in home medical visit company use."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used across our entire organization for data analytics and reporting. The business problem it addresses is our business requirements, meaning us being able to keep a close watch on whether we're hitting our goals that were in the contracts with our clients.
  • Geo-mapping
  • Data drill-down
  • Sharing dashboards online
  • Better ways to move dashboard items, like when all items need to be moved 2 x or y radius to the right, down, etc.
  • More Graphs and Charts
  • Better color customization
  • Maybe a search bar for tools or other items
It's great with complex graphs but it isn't user-friendly for the intermediate user.
Read Duran Roberts's full review
David Brotton profile photo
August 17, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Big data management across multiple platforms made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau server across the entire organization. All departments are using worksheets and data sources to answer day-to-day business decisions. It is our go-to business intelligence platform and is heavily used.
  • Controls over who can see what report
  • One place for everything
  • Custom controls over various datasources
  • Better mobile
  • Updates are hard, but we try to wait until data source first couple after release, always end up getting connection issues back to our servers
  • A user activity dashboard - more than what data sources
Suited
Any type of BI, metrics, easy to use, fast, robust.

Not Suited
This may start to cross over into general Tableau use itself, but we are always fighting using the right tool for the right job, we have tried to use tableau to adjust data much the way Alteryx or Tableau prep can be used.
Read David Brotton's full review
Sharon Graves profile photo
August 10, 2018

"Tableau Server Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used across the organization as our Data Analytics tool of choice. This product empowers our end users to explore data on their products or efforts and make key decisions to improve their customers' experiences. This frees up our BI / BA analytic teams to perform deeper dives into the data.
  • Tableau server is an easy to use / powerful tool for visual analytics. Users who are not familiar with technologies can easily create beautiful visualizations to convey the impacts of their products and efforts.
  • Tableau server allows our executive members to have quick easy access to our KPI measures to know how our business is performing at a glance.
  • Tableau server empowers our BI / BA team to dive deeply into our data, and summarize, visualize the significant facts in views that are easily consumed and understood.
  • As with any tool there are areas that can be improved/enhanced. However, Tableau has been a fairly full coverage robust application. I do not have any gaps at this time.
If you're looking for an easy to implement, easy to support tool that is easy for your end users to adopt, Tableau is your answer.
Read Sharon Graves's full review
Bob Ladd profile photo
July 16, 2018

"Laddy's Tableau Server Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to deploy dashboards that help our decision makers across all companies. It helps our sales associates direct their attention to customers for changes in business activity. It helps our MFG department plan and visually see future demands. We use it to analyze our forecasting and on time delivery.
  • It always available and allows us to make it easy for users outside of the building get their BI info.
  • It's easy to manage and takes very little daily or monthly maintenance.
  • The subscription service really helps users stay on top of things with their alerts.
  • Doesn't send out PDF versions of the dashboards.
  • Tabcmd is old and needs to be updated to a visual client.
  • It is sometimes slow opening dashboards and the new data methodology hasn't proven the improvement as promised.
  • Is well suited at deploying BI dashboards to any audience that has a license.
  • It not good at servicing users outside of the license for one-off reporting. Microsoft BI does this very well.
Read Bob Ladd's full review
Anand KK profile photo
November 02, 2018

"Tableau Server Admin Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization of internal users and external users use the Tableau dashboards hosted on Tableau Server. We use Tableau to address health care analytics data.
  • The installation, upgrading and migrating to new hardware is straightforward
  • The Tableau Server admin can adjust the server processes to make it tailor-fit for the organization, hence increasing the dashboard and query performances.
  • The core-based licensing and user-based licensing of Tableau Server is very useful based on the required scenario.
  • Support for Exasol Data Connections in Tableau Server for Linux.
  • Publish Document Covering Tableau Server Architecture on 2018.2 with HA environment.
  • Improve historical reporting for extract schedules on Tableau Server.
The Tableau Server can be used based on different requirements and is very user-friendly.
Read Anand KK's full review
Scott Peterson profile photo
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Flexible easy to use analytics platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used to access data and view analytics across different groups at my organization. It makes data from our data warehouse easily accessed and viewed by users.
  • Tableau Server does a good job of making data easily accessible for consumers of data and analytics.
  • Tableau Server is very easy to populate with data using extracts and storing that in the hyper data engine.
  • Tableau is very fast for viewing complicated analytics - even better when using extracts.
  • Tableau Online would be better if it used Encryption at rest and in transit - this would allow my organization to use it instead of managing our own VM in Azure with Tableau Server.
  • More color palettes would be nice for both Tableau Server and Desktop.
Tableau Server works well when you need to present a large dataset to consumers of the data and allow them to both use analytics and visualizations they design as well as being able to download the data into a tool like Excel where they may be more comfortable working.
Read Scott Peterson's full review
Shaheed Ahmad profile photo
September 22, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server and IT"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for data virtualization.
  • We were using a third party tool to visualize data in SSRS reports. Tableau is very helpful to visualize the data. Tableau visuals are easy to develop and need a very minimal amount of IT support.
  • It would be better if Tableau could work like Microsoft SSRS reports work. Through SSRS , we can call the Stored procedures and pass the parameter, but in Tableau there are a few constraints.
Visuals can be made quickly and with out having much technical background.
Read Shaheed Ahmad's full review
Gabriel Horwitz profile photo
September 07, 2018

"Tableau Server Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used as an analytical solution that provides dashboards and analytics to all functions. It is being used heavily by the data analytics team that provides analytics for teams such as HR, Technology, Sales etc. It addresses business problems by creating visualizations for datasets and allowing analyses to be easily digested.
  • Visualizations
  • Ad-hoc Analysis
  • Self-service analytics
  • Easier functionality for external facing server
Appropriate for self-service and not appropriate for advanced analysis, like regression analyses.
Read Gabriel Horwitz's full review
Robert Cosgrove profile photo
September 04, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "It's fine"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for sharing Tableau workbooks with other team members
  • Sharing reports- I use Tableau because it can display information better than Excel
  • Quick analytics
  • Usage stats
  • I don't like how I have to have the desktop and server synced in order to post new reports. I can update my desktop Tableau but I have to wait for some IT guy to update the server.
  • The navigation to finding workbooks could be easier
It's very good to allow others to interact with my reports
Read Robert Cosgrove's full review
Arik Yelovitch profile photo
September 03, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Great tool for growing a company through unified metrics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We created different reports and dashboard for reporting on sales, existing policies breakdowns as well as monitoring agent and partner performance.
We also gather data from Athena to present reports on traffic sources, etc.
  • Able to create different data sources in a single report.
  • Easy integration between the desktop app and the server.
  • Upload from the desktop to the server if more than 3 different data sources exist is slow, and sometimes the connection resets.
  • The desktop app consumes a lot of battery on a MacBook Pro.
It is well suited for organizations who have developers/IT that can maintain queries and develop business logic.
Read Arik Yelovitch's full review
Grant MacDonald profile photo
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Great Tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to display data from several data sources into easy to read charts and graphs. We are a manufacturing company and it allows us to visualize the data.

It is being used primarily by the Manufacturing support team.
  • Easy to use.
  • Installations and upgrades have always run smoothly.
  • Flexibility in the types of data sources.
  • Would like to see a lower cost licensing model for casual users.
Perfect for manufacturing environments where there are many disparate systems to collect from. Tableau provides connections to just about everything.
Read Grant MacDonald's full review
No photo available
December 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau provides agile, easy to use, and effective ways to visualize data. We have used Tableau visualizations to inform decisions regarding our strategic goals. It took very little time for our data analysts to become familiar with the Tableau toolset. We had several data dashboards up on day one of our implementation.
  • It's extremely intuitive to use the visualizations. Users can manipulate and construct meaning and additional questions from the data quickly.
  • Tableau is very flexible -- it's completely data source agnostic. It will take data from any source.
  • Our development team learned it very quickly.
  • While it took little time for our data analysts to crank out visualizations, it did take some time(longer than I expected) for our technology operations team to configure the server to share the sizes.
  • The server update process is rather cumbersome -- requires a full uninstall/re-install.
  • Again, while it took our data analysts next to no time to start creating, I've been in other organizations that have struggled with the feature-rich interface and complexity of the Tableau client. So, it requires the right personnel, with dedicated time, to fully leverage the tool.
Tableau is a fully agnostic tool for simply representing complex data. If thought is given to the design of the visualizations, they are very powerful and intuitive to use. We recently used Tableau to go deeper into our staffing. We looked at various demographic profiles of attendance centers to see which ones should receive more FTE. This would have taken much longer and been much less insightful without Tableau.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 01, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Insight into data from multiple systems in a single place"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau to aggregate data from a lot of different systems. It brings it all together to a single place where users can build and access reports and dashboards to gain insight into different areas of the business. The insight gained through Tableau across systems is essential to our business functions and would take much more time and effort to do manually.
  • Allows for aggregation across multiple systems
  • Allows reports and dashboards to be self serve for end users
  • Allows for ad-hoc reporting
  • Initial setup of data sources can be time consuming.
  • Some native connectors didn’t work as well for us like Salesforce. We had to build our own ETL process.
  • Setting up permissions originally was burdensome.
Tableau is great for aggregating data for reporting across many different systems. The perpetual licensing made it an affordable solution for a small subset of our company. It is nice that end users can create reports and dashboards without a dedicated report writing resource.
If Tableau is used for reporting outside the company to external users it can get very expensive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau as an embedded reporting solution"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in a single product using the in-line version in a web application. It is a huge selling point to the application suite as it allows the users to see the effectiveness of using the application. The visualizations are powerful.
  • Powerful visulizations that can be customized with the desktop suite.
  • Can be scheduled for emails or exported to PDF.
  • Supports many different charts graphs and has plenty of filtering options.
  • Default dates parameters do not work.
  • Not a lot of room for custom queries to the end user.
  • Desktop customization software is buggy.
Quickly getting a reporting solution integrated.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Tableau Server: "Review by a technician that embeds reports in a web portal"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across organization, augmenting our client-facing web portal that helps us optimize our clients' database marketing efforts.
  • Allows non-technical data scientists and analysts to approach and visualize data.
  • Allows reports prepared by non-technical analysts to be readily adapted by technicians into an always-live web portal.
  • Its "extract" capability, although imperfect, can help to digest and visualize larger amounts of data in a moderately performant way.
  • Consume hardware resources like crazy. It is implemented using a raft of heavy technologies, including Postres, Java, Apache httpd, and more.
  • It has decent support for tabular data, but this support is somewhat rigid.
  • It nags end users to upgrade their desktop versions frequently, even though this risks compatibility errors with the server.
  • It's a significant resource hog. To some degree this is understandable, but it is largely due to its use of many heavyweight technologies (Postgres, Java, Apache httpd, and more).
  • You can't change its use of port 443 when using SQL, forcing extra deployment complexity (e.g. proxy servers) in many deployment scenarios.
  • The look and feel of their "story" feature is surprisingly hard to customize (beyond basic style elements) -- it's "a row of blocky buttons" only.
  • It's geographic maps are fairly basic, and the UI controls for navigating them are clumsy.
Well suited when non-technical analysts need to approach and visualize data sets. Poorly suited for shops that are well-positioned to do their own, more nimble web application visualization (e.g. using D3).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 05, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server is great"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the moment just a small group is using it. However, we hope after we have more workbooks set up and people see the benefits, the user base will expand to the whole department and then organization. It allows for quick dissemination of the usual data and quick question answering, as well as consistent outputs within our group.
  • Quick access to data in one place that is easy to find
  • Ability for inexperienced users to interact with the data
  • Easy sharing, downloading. Everyone can get what they want.
  • Management of users is easy
  • Editing a workbook in Server has gotten much better, but it would be nice to add even more Desktop-like functionality.
  • Not being able to get rid of the Default project is annoying.
  • When tasks fail, send an email to the admin instead of just a notification in server.
  • Would be great to be able to purchase more licenses within Server.
It works best when the majority of people won't be building workbooks themselves, then the data can still be shared, but for a much lower cost than buying everyone desktop licenses.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

"My Tableau server review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is implemented as an enterprise visualization tool across the organization. At present we are migrating the reports/dashboards running in legacy tools. In the future, Tableau will be used to find the insights of the business happenings, which will help us make better decisions, identify business challenges, and learn how to improvise business solutions.
  • Architecture of the Tableau Server is very simple and easy to implement. It can be easily scaled up/scaled down based on the business needs
  • The licensing concepts of user-based/CPU core based is best in standards. We can choose based on our needs
  • Tableau DB connectors. It connects all types of data sources available and it is also made very simple and powerful
  • Too many releases of Tableau Server products. Maybe it could be half yearly so that we can plan for the upgrades of our server as needed
  • Two Node installation should support high availability by making the repository in both nodes
It is suited across all industries. Simple and powerful tool for any business solutions
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server Rocks!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The medical department uses it to keep everything organized. It works very well.
  • Very well organized.
  • Menus are clear to understand.
  • The product works without issues.
  • Their technical support sometimes doesn't understand the issues.
  • One technician may know the product very well and another technician may not know the product well enough and has to engage a different team.
  • Their licensing is very strict, doesn't give me many options and if you run into any issues, you have to contact the licensing team via email and only email.
Document management and scheduling work very well. No complaints about the product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server is a great addition to Desktop"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Business Analytics department uses Tableau Server to share reports and data sources internally. A small number of visualizations are shared outside the department. We currently have 50 users and the majority of those log in at least once per month.
  • Shares data sources very well.
  • Solid security at the folder and file level.
  • Recently added a "read-only" licensing option.
  • Performance can be problematic when using MS SQL stored procedures as a published data source on Tableau Server. We've only tried this twice, but it has failed spectacularly under two completely different situations.
  • Maintenance upgrades are extremely slow. That may be improving in version 2018.2.
  • New subscription pricing models are more expensive than the discontinued perpetual licensing model.
We have not found an excellent use case. However, our limited number of users rarely complain, so that is probably a good sign.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server - great times!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team is using Tableau server to support analytics for the project teams at client sites.
  • Standardized reporting across teams/projects
  • Easily access summary level reporting with the ability to get to the account level detail within a few clicks
  • Easy to share reports with the many export features
  • The formatting is always difficult and never translates exactly when publishing from desktop to server
  • Customization using the command line is more difficult than it should be
  • It'd be nice to be able to copy group permissions between sites
Tableau server is great to support our project teams that are doing similar things at different client sites across the country.

Many of our clients do not have Tableau or Tableau Server, so leaving behind reporting after project conclusion is often difficult and requires us to build something out in Excel for them.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Small made Mighty with Tableau Server!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server has resolved operations department needs for

  1. More efficient and timely delivery of operations performance to frontline supervisors, managers, business analysts, Steering and C-suite
  2. Increased accountability of operations KPIs
  3. Clear "signal" delivery for routine prioritizing, project tracking and alerting
  4. Increased literacy for data-driven process improvement. The tool also provides intuitive and interactive self-service BI for business development tactics and strategy.
  • Auto refresh setup is a few clicks, and default selections make routine updates to dashboard development a breeze.
  • Intuitive, rapid development of visuals for all stages of business analysis; easy to learn, teach and realize RoI of purchase in 3-6 months.
  • Robust visual recommendations result in responsive, high impact deliverables to meet ad-hoc requests.
  • Highly customizable actions and filters for high interactivity and rapid end user adoption from anywhere business needs to get done.
  • Pop-up tips for new viewers regarding features like subscriptions, alerts, etc to encourage engagement.
Well suited for decentralized data ownership culture where data-driven decision-making is highly valued. Perfect for busy senior managers with "power user" and/or business analytics chops to drive their own insights at the speed of dynamic shifts in priorities.

Not well suited for heavy real-time queries against transactional data without extensive reporting infrastructure and architecture.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (85)
8.9
Report Formatting Templates (72)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (86)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (84)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (54)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (81)
8.5
Publish to Web (77)
9.2
Publish to PDF (76)
8.1
Report Versioning (63)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (70)
8.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
6.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (78)
8.7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (77)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (59)
7.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (84)
8.4
Role-Based Security Model (82)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (83)
8.5
Single Sign-On (SSO) (53)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (69)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (56)
8.1
Dedicated Android Application (47)
8.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (61)
8.1
REST API (35)
8.4
Javascript API (32)
8.1
iFrames (36)
7.6
Java API (7)
6.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.5
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
5.9

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese