TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/bG/rq/TW605X8LB66C.PNGDomo is the best software for visualizing your dataDomo is used to visualize data across all of our systems at Civitas Learning. Most of our departments are using Domo, but it's primarily used by the operations and sales teams. We use it for everything from creating team dashboards to managing company level OKRs. It's great to use in slideshow mode as well to cycle through important metrics in real time.,Very easy to build KPI cards Very easy to build pages for individual teams Easy to assign access to the right team members for appropriate cards Great support team,Beast mode functionality could be improved with better training Formula number fields created in Domo should be able to be used as a summary number Currency fields from salesforce reports show up as text,9,,9,9,YouEarnedIt, Pardot, YeswareDomo for DummiesIt's currently being used as a sales tool to track forecasts, quotas, and pipeline across our entire organization from end users to leadership.,UI/UX is very slick Lots of options on the backend with robust tools to build dashboards from scratch Settings are persistent for each user,Doesn't load very quickly - fairly bloaty Platform isn't fully baked and missing lots of features Has issues with stability,5,,6,8,Tableau OnlineDomo: All in one BI/Analytics platform that will solve majority of your analytics use casesWe deployed Domo as main BI/Analytics platform for everyone in the whole organization. It is meant to centralize data/insight visibility and collaboration across departments. Currently we have more than 750 users on Domo, more than half out of the ~1500 employees there are in the organization. 80% of them are active users. Domo is utilized to support almost every decision making in the organization, as we want to be a data-driven organization, everyone is encouraged to make decisions based on data. And Domo is the common place for us to have insights from data.,Centralizing data/insights in a single platform. Domo supports hundreds of connectors for different types of data sources, and once the datasets are in Domo platform, they can be joined and available for slicing and dicing snappily. Self service. Once datasets are in Domo, users having access to that dataset will be able to easily build their own visualization for analysis and monitoring on their own. Users can also connect their own data (e.g. spreadsheets, .csv files) that can then further be joined with the available datasets. Collaboration. The possibility to have discussion *on the data* itself is amazing. Every single dashboard page and chart card has its own chat channel, where people can mention colleagues, attach images & files, both publicly (visible/readable by everyone having access) or privately (only specifically for mentioned users). Alerts, including near real time alerts. Domo allows alerts to be defined by any of the users having access, which can then be shared for others to reuse (subscribe to alert) as well. Domo delivers alerts via SMS, mobile app notification, in-browser notification and email. Powerful for executives who would like to be made aware when certain key metrics changes significantly. Insights on the go. Domo's mobile app is currently unparalleled by others in terms of insight consumption and basic exploration. Beautiful UI & UX. Able to handle large datasets. Our largest datasets are in the range of hundreds of millions records per dataset. In total we have more than 10 billions rows from hundreds of datasets. All in one platform. By pareto 80-20 principle, just by deploying and utilizing Domo well, you will get 80% of your data/insight use cases resolved.,Support. Granted, most of our needs simply works without the need of support and issues rarely happens. However when it does happen, the response from their support team is painfully slow and it takes long to get through the layers of support teams when the issues are indeed advanced and can't be solved by their first layer of support. Data Catalog. Self service when ungoverned may result in mess. Domo offers great tools to display and manage datasets, pages, cards; however there is no proper Data Catalog that will allow us list and define datasets, pages, metrics, cards to help business users navigate the plethora of data and information in the platform. Real time / live queries. Currently Domo lives & breathes on datasets concept, whereby the snapshot of the data has to be imported into Domo first as datasets. While some other BI/Analytics tools works for live queries. These live query capabilities are needed for real time use cases as well as exploratory analyses. We're currently happy with "near" real time instead, whereby the datasets in Domo is refreshed every 15 minutes (the fastest frequency Domo currently supports).,10,Tableau Desktop, Tableau Online, Tableau Public, Looker, Periscope Data, Chartio, JReport, TIBCO Jaspersoft, Yellowfin, RJMetrics, Zoomdata, QlikView and Microsoft Power BI,10,10,Databricks, Qubole, Dataiku DSS, Amazon Redshift, Google BigQuery, Keboola Connection, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Relational Database Service, Apache Spark, Apache Hive, Google Drive, RStudio, Periscope Data, RJMetrics, MemSQL, Apache Kafka, Atlassian Confluence, JIRA Service Desk, Alation,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,Stress test the platform and secure commitment on Support.DOMO, the last BI tool you'll needDOMO is used by our executive group, store management, accounting staff, HR staff, operations staff, marketing staff, and purchasing staff. We use it for reporting on various company metrics, including trends and PTD totals, managing labor at our retail locations, tracking inventory counts, understanding the performance of various promotions, compiling data from disparate sources to reduce time spent in compiling daily reports, and other ways. It has allowed us to save time and money through automating reporting, reducing the need for IT resources, and provided insight into areas of the business that were not available prior to DOMO.,DOMO has a very simple and intuitive interface that allows user without much experience to build and interact with cards. DOMO provides a platform for managing all BI, reporting, data analysis, etc. functions, from ETL to charts to social. This allows users to work easily within a single environment, improving adoption, learning curves, and value. DOMO has a great ETL tool called Magic that allows users with no SQL skills to join and manipulate data in a variety of ways, using drag and drop methodologies and a simple interface. The value is immense because it means users don't have to rely on IT programmers to prepare their data and get the answers they need.,DOMO lacks more advanced Admin functions for managing data sets, calculations, users, etc. DOMO needs to improve their data upload application, used to pull data from on prem data sources and upload to the DOMO cloud. It lacks functions to manage a large number of jobs and needs a better scheduling tool. DOMO has a mobile app, that is pretty good, but certain types of cards and features are not supported in the app. This creates extra work and is a drag on the user experience.,10,Excel,10,10Domo - The Data DynamoWe currently have Domo implemented across the entire organization. Our largest users are our regional directors, board of directors, brand leaders and C-level executives. The problems that Domo addressed was providing a consolidated location for reporting on core KPIs for the company. It also provided a quick tool for extracting data and fast analysis.,Domo handles the ETL process with smooth efficiency Visualization of data Clean UI,Content sharing; extracting data into automated emails Integrated statistical analysis; Domo has hooks to R but it would be nice to have more of what R provides integrated into Domo,9,Tableau Online and Microsoft BI,9,7,Microsoft BI, Microsoft Dynamics CRM, Microsoft Dynamics GP, MySQL,ETL Data visualization Data Connections,Sharing Extracting from domo,Yes, but I don't use it,9
Unspecified
Domo
69 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

Domo Reviews

Domo
69 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 70 vetted Domo reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
March 29, 2018

Review: "Domo is the best software for visualizing your data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used to visualize data across all of our systems at Civitas Learning. Most of our departments are using Domo, but it's primarily used by the operations and sales teams. We use it for everything from creating team dashboards to managing company level OKRs. It's great to use in slideshow mode as well to cycle through important metrics in real time.
  • Very easy to build KPI cards
  • Very easy to build pages for individual teams
  • Easy to assign access to the right team members for appropriate cards
  • Great support team
  • Beast mode functionality could be improved with better training
  • Formula number fields created in Domo should be able to be used as a summary number
  • Currency fields from salesforce reports show up as text
Domo is great for visualizing any data you have in spreadsheets, salesforce, or a host of other applications all in one chart or card. It's really helpful for seeing progress towards goals and drilling down into the data to understand what is going on at a more granular level as well.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2018

User Review: "Domo for Dummies"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's currently being used as a sales tool to track forecasts, quotas, and pipeline across our entire organization from end users to leadership.
  • UI/UX is very slick
  • Lots of options on the backend with robust tools to build dashboards from scratch
  • Settings are persistent for each user
  • Doesn't load very quickly - fairly bloaty
  • Platform isn't fully baked and missing lots of features
  • Has issues with stability
Domo is fantastic for building larger data pictures where a client needs to cross-reference several data dashboards to draw conclusions from a larger picture.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2017

Review: "Domo: All in one BI/Analytics platform that will solve majority of your analytics use cases"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed Domo as main BI/Analytics platform for everyone in the whole organization. It is meant to centralize data/insight visibility and collaboration across departments. Currently we have more than 750 users on Domo, more than half out of the ~1500 employees there are in the organization. 80% of them are active users.

Domo is utilized to support almost every decision making in the organization, as we want to be a data-driven organization, everyone is encouraged to make decisions based on data. And Domo is the common place for us to have insights from data.
  • Centralizing data/insights in a single platform. Domo supports hundreds of connectors for different types of data sources, and once the datasets are in Domo platform, they can be joined and available for slicing and dicing snappily.
  • Self service. Once datasets are in Domo, users having access to that dataset will be able to easily build their own visualization for analysis and monitoring on their own. Users can also connect their own data (e.g. spreadsheets, .csv files) that can then further be joined with the available datasets.
  • Collaboration. The possibility to have discussion *on the data* itself is amazing. Every single dashboard page and chart card has its own chat channel, where people can mention colleagues, attach images & files, both publicly (visible/readable by everyone having access) or privately (only specifically for mentioned users).
  • Alerts, including near real time alerts. Domo allows alerts to be defined by any of the users having access, which can then be shared for others to reuse (subscribe to alert) as well. Domo delivers alerts via SMS, mobile app notification, in-browser notification and email. Powerful for executives who would like to be made aware when certain key metrics changes significantly.
  • Insights on the go. Domo's mobile app is currently unparalleled by others in terms of insight consumption and basic exploration.
  • Beautiful UI & UX.
  • Able to handle large datasets. Our largest datasets are in the range of hundreds of millions records per dataset. In total we have more than 10 billions rows from hundreds of datasets.
  • All in one platform. By pareto 80-20 principle, just by deploying and utilizing Domo well, you will get 80% of your data/insight use cases resolved.
  • Support. Granted, most of our needs simply works without the need of support and issues rarely happens. However when it does happen, the response from their support team is painfully slow and it takes long to get through the layers of support teams when the issues are indeed advanced and can't be solved by their first layer of support.
  • Data Catalog. Self service when ungoverned may result in mess. Domo offers great tools to display and manage datasets, pages, cards; however there is no proper Data Catalog that will allow us list and define datasets, pages, metrics, cards to help business users navigate the plethora of data and information in the platform.
  • Real time / live queries. Currently Domo lives & breathes on datasets concept, whereby the snapshot of the data has to be imported into Domo first as datasets. While some other BI/Analytics tools works for live queries. These live query capabilities are needed for real time use cases as well as exploratory analyses. We're currently happy with "near" real time instead, whereby the datasets in Domo is refreshed every 15 minutes (the fastest frequency Domo currently supports).
Domo works well for:
  • Centralizing data/insights from disparate variety of data sources.
  • Collaboration between users, including across different departments.
  • Self service analysis, slice & dice, for business users.
  • Sharing of insights within the organization.
  • Discussion on data itself. Every single page & card has dedicated chat channel.
  • Insights consumption on the go. Domo's mobile app is best.
  • Alerts on key metrics. Domo supports alerts into SMS, mobile app notifications, emails.
  • Joining different datasets from various data sources allowing wider perspective on insights. And this is very user friendly for business users to do this themselves.
  • Able to connect to hundreds types of data sources, from databases to web cloud apps.
  • Handling large datasets. Our largest datasets are in the range of hundreds of million rows.
Domo doesn't work well for:
  • Live queries analysis. There are many better tools for this purpose, Domo currently requires import of data first before analysis can be done.
  • Ad-hoc exploratory analysis where dataset needed is not yet fixed/clear.
  • Navigating plethora of data. Domo needs to come up with Data Catalog as a feature.
  • Advanced visualizations.
Read Ainun Najib's full review
December 18, 2017

User Review: "DOMO, the last BI tool you'll need"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DOMO is used by our executive group, store management, accounting staff, HR staff, operations staff, marketing staff, and purchasing staff. We use it for reporting on various company metrics, including trends and PTD totals, managing labor at our retail locations, tracking inventory counts, understanding the performance of various promotions, compiling data from disparate sources to reduce time spent in compiling daily reports, and other ways. It has allowed us to save time and money through automating reporting, reducing the need for IT resources, and provided insight into areas of the business that were not available prior to DOMO.
  • DOMO has a very simple and intuitive interface that allows user without much experience to build and interact with cards.
  • DOMO provides a platform for managing all BI, reporting, data analysis, etc. functions, from ETL to charts to social. This allows users to work easily within a single environment, improving adoption, learning curves, and value.
  • DOMO has a great ETL tool called Magic that allows users with no SQL skills to join and manipulate data in a variety of ways, using drag and drop methodologies and a simple interface. The value is immense because it means users don't have to rely on IT programmers to prepare their data and get the answers they need.
  • DOMO lacks more advanced Admin functions for managing data sets, calculations, users, etc.
  • DOMO needs to improve their data upload application, used to pull data from on prem data sources and upload to the DOMO cloud. It lacks functions to manage a large number of jobs and needs a better scheduling tool.
  • DOMO has a mobile app, that is pretty good, but certain types of cards and features are not supported in the app. This creates extra work and is a drag on the user experience.
DOMO is great when the goal is to create an environment within a team or organization that relies upon data to run their business. It works well with teams that don't have a lot of technical experience and who want to collaborate in a cloud environment.

DOMO does not work for organizations who simply want a few basic reports that can be automated as it does not leverage DOMO's strengths and unique features.
Read Alan Strutz's full review
December 06, 2017

User Review: "Domo - The Data Dynamo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have Domo implemented across the entire organization. Our largest users are our regional directors, board of directors, brand leaders and C-level executives. The problems that Domo addressed was providing a consolidated location for reporting on core KPIs for the company. It also provided a quick tool for extracting data and fast analysis.
  • Domo handles the ETL process with smooth efficiency
  • Visualization of data
  • Clean UI
  • Content sharing; extracting data into automated emails
  • Integrated statistical analysis; Domo has hooks to R but it would be nice to have more of what R provides integrated into Domo
Domo is the perfect tool for data visualization. It has a large array of template functions, graphs, and charts to display any kind of data into a more visually pleasing manner. Domo also has several options for ETL. Domo has a UI interface for ETL but I am more partial to the MySQL option.
Read Justin Mohlenhoff's full review
November 30, 2017

Review: "Domo is a game changer for any size shop"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is currently being rolled out to our entire organization and is being used as a platform to standardize how we consume data and reports. We started with a targeted POC for a single department, but quickly attracted interest from departments all over the company, which helped drive the success of the platform. We now have a solution that enables data driven communication and collaboration across teams, giving our executive team a shared and trusted view of the organization.
  • Ease of use. As a tool it's comfortable, approachable and forgiving. If you have a tool that end users can dive into without fear, and create and think and collaborate, without training, without hand-holding, you quickly realize how rare and important that is. You'll need more licenses than you think because of how fast user adoption is.
  • Speed of implementation. You can go from 0-60 faster than a Tesla. We were up and running in weeks, with live working dashboards sourced from a mixture of external and internal data sets.
  • Sharing and Collaboration. In addition to getting internal departments to collaborate and share insights around their data, we quickly realized how easy it would be to provide analytics to our customers and partners. Everything is in place to setup external secure analytics portals to outside parties, and it's a game changer.
  • Data quality. Remember those days of building exception reports to call out data issues that no one wants to take ownership of? With Domo I ended up with crowd sourced data quality that grew organically from users finding issues, and building cards to highlight those issues. A simple alert to the manager/owner of that upstream process, or to the users names showing up in relation to the issue, have not only helped us shine a light on significant issues, but has resulted in users being aware of the downstream impacts and in some cases enables them to manage their own data quality. Makes for a great segue into those data governance initiatives when you have dashboards showing how dirty or clean your data is.
  • It would be helpful if we could filter (using the page analyzer) for the report side variables (beast mode calculations). But it's probably in the works.
  • Being able to use variables in card titles would be useful when we're building cards and dashboards that are dependent on row level security (PDP).
  • Debugging Beast Mode calculations would be super helpful, when you're trying to figure out what's wrong with your statement.
  • Report Scheduling was missing, but it's getting released to everyone in the next week or so.
The whole point of Business Intelligence, sometimes referred to as Data Analytics... is to make information available in a way that enables decision makers to make informed decisions. Domo makes consuming that information simple, whether you're at your desk or on a golf course, but the power isn't in being able to open up a metric and look at it, the power is in being able to challenge the data or ask a qualifying question or to have a conversation around the result, with the data, in the report. No extra emails. No extra meetings. The ability to set alerts partnered with the collaboration functionality brings tremendous efficiency and insight and makes it easier than ever to take the guessing game out of the decisions that are being made.
Read Jesse Mauser's full review
January 03, 2018

User Review: "Domo for you!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used as a data analytics tool within the Sales and Marketing organization. It addresses campaign and program strategy and initiatives while providing insight on performance.
  • Domo allows you to analyze data in different views to tell a complete story.
  • Domo allows users to share reports directly in presentations and manipulate data in real time.
  • Domo allows collaboration on data and building cards between team members which is helpful in a global organization.
  • The back end of getting the data into the tool can be a bit complex... its not as user friendly for non-technical users.
Domo is well suited in campaigns and sales activities -- it may be less suited in scenarios where multiple touch attribution is needed.
Read Nakisha Wong-Chong-Lancaster, MBA's full review
December 08, 2017

Review: "Use Domo to have your data scale with your business as your business scales."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is integral to how our company looks at data. It standardizes the information so everyone is working from the same vantage points and informs people on how to make day-to-day and strategic business decisions.
  • Combining multiple databases together into singular data sets that can be used for visualizations.
  • Store large amounts of data in ways that cannot be done within our databases due to the snapshot like functionality.
  • Automate reports so you can set and forget it. Saving you time from having to rebuild a report every few days if it's an ongoing thing.
  • Filters that support aggregations is the #1 issue I have
Domo is not suited for a company that uses one database for all of their data. Also if the company is relatively small the cost and work to get it up and running is limited in value. However, as your company scales the value increases exponentially.
Read Daniel Rabiner's full review
December 12, 2017

Review: "Domo - The almost perfect reporting platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the biggest aspects we were missing was one true source of data. We had multiple reporting tools where users were allowed to manipulate data and create reports as they saw fit. With Domo, we now have one true source of data that is used company-wide. Almost every department in the company has a page in Domo where they can see data that's relevant to them.
  • There are tons of connectors built for applications from Microsoft Access to social media accounts. You can pretty much connect anything to Domo via a connector or ODBC connection.
  • Easy for users to find the data they are looking for. From being able to create custom pages for departments/users to search functionality, Domo makes it super easy to find the data you are looking for.
  • Creating the 'cards' is easy. Once a dataset is created, visualizing your data is drag and drop.
  • The workbench tool is great but can be quirky when copying an SQL query that created an SQL Developer. It seems to find invalid characters when there aren't any.
  • It lacks built-in reports that can be used to manage the datasets and cards within Domo.
  • Lots of connectors that are great, but the ones for Oracle and Access don't seem to work the best. An ODBC connection is the best way to connect those to Domo.
Domo is perfect if you need one source of data for executive dashboards or basic visuals to be used throughout the company. It probably isn't the best if you need very granular data. Excel charting is still more versatile when you are working with large datasets and you need multiple x-axes.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2017

Domo Review: "Enable self-service data visualization on your company!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is still new on using Domo as data visualization tools. However, since the visualization tool doesn't require much technical knowledge to build a data-set, Domo isn't only used by Engineering Department, but also Marketing and Revenue team. Its visualization drill down feature helps a lot on investigating root the causes of each phenomenon.
  • non-tech savvy user friendly
  • easy drag and drop feature
  • various available data connectors
  • task management feature, i.e. for assigning tasks
  • good data access privilege
  • increases site response time, since the site takes time to load
  • Domo imports data-sets from the connector and treats it like CSV format, which gives us problems on importing irregular data types (e.g. fields with JSON format)
  • more tutorials and how tos, especially on data-set management best practices
When the key metrics are well defined, it's much better to visualize the data using Domo, since it provides more flexibility to explore the data-set. However, if you are still on the data exploration phase and the data-set is still in raw format, perhaps you'll find it easier if you visualize it using other tools, i.e. you can modify the SQL queries on the go and see the visualization.
Read this authenticated review
August 29, 2017

User Review: "Domo"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used to make sure everyone is on the same page with where we are at as a company and where are moving as a company. Visualizations in Domo are key and add some of the most value for our teams. It's important for us to have the ability to take data and present it in a way in which all teams can understand.
  • Visualizations are the best part about Domo.
  • Cloud access to everything.
  • Layout is intuitive and easy to use!
  • Cannot do SQL runs. This makes it heavily reliant on your engineering team to retrieve data.
  • No customer support unless you pay more. It's pretty pricey.
  • It's sooo expensive!
One of the best features is the ability to store data in the cloud, which gives us more flexibility to access data anywhere. Graphs are fairly easy to build in the product. Data is pushed and retrieved faster as a team, thus helping us roll out projections and past data to the whole team quickly.

Domo works best when your data has access to API feeds, otherwise, good luck...
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2017

Domo Review: "Outstanding tool! Get business insights with live data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our customer success area is using Domo as our main analytics tool. We're using Domo as a primary data collector (aggregating data from our CRM, from SalesForce, and from within our own product) to better understand customer spending behavior, feature adoption, and cohort/vertical performance. It's giving us insight into our business that we could only get through hours of analysis before!
  • Data visualization, with customized graphs & charts
  • Data manipulation, combining multiple data sources & cleaning up
  • Live data analysis, updating charts using live data
  • Collects and combines data from multiple sources and automatically collects into master tables to build visualizations and gather insights
  • Excellent support center, support staff, and training tools
  • Not for the faint of heart! Even if someone else implements for you and builds out initial data tables, you'll likely need SQL skills to build complex visualizations or to make any changes to your data structure
  • Steep learning curve - not everything in the card editor (used for editing graphs & data visualizations) is intuitively located
We've yet to find something Domo can't do with our data! It's just awesome. If you have any question about your business, your product, or your customers, and you have raw data, Domo will combine any number of data sources and give you beautiful little charts. It's especially well suited to monitoring performance or data points, as it can automatically update cards as data flows in.
Read Katie Nix's full review
February 07, 2017

Domo Review: "Great tool for small teams with big data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization used Domo as part of our business intelligence and analytics tools. All departments produced reports in a number of other programs and uploaded the data into Domo. Domo was then used to synthesize, summarize, and present the data for executive reporting. Additionally, we used Domo to create alerts that would notify us of changes to key metrics.
  • Ease of use. Unlike many other business intelligence tools, Domo can be set up and used by pretty much anyone.
  • Beautiful reports. Domo creates some very striking reports and charts that are suitable for daily use as well as customer and board presentations.
  • It can combine data from disparate data sources. The tool has the ability to merge reports from different sources into one chart at a fraction of the time that it would normally take.
  • There are a number of preloaded designs for charts and data sources that can help you hit the ground running.
  • The Domo App Store with connected applications could use some work. The pre-made reports can sometimes use a lot of work. This is not a Domo problem, per se, since the connected applications create the reports, but it does impact using Domo.
  • The program will automatically assign your values to dependent or independent datasets. These can sometimes cause problems when trying to create a graph.
  • Support is of little help when it comes to any data source outside of Domo.
Domo is great for...
  1. Executive reporting across a vertical org structure
  2. Merging data across platforms
  3. Companies with a business intelligence or data analytics team who want to present data
Domo is not the best value for companies with...
  1. Few disparate data sources
  2. Data sources that do not need to be integrated
  3. Internal engineering teams who can use Tableau or AWS QuickSight
Read Patrick Slaven's full review
February 07, 2017

Review: "Domo is the Business Intelligence Platform of the Future"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

One of the most important strategic assets of Colony American Finance is data and the ability to access, integrate, cleanse, conform and manage it across all technology platforms to empower business users, management, clients, customers and investors with timely, accurate and actionable information.

As a company fully leveraging cloud-based technology, the team at Colony American Finance needed a comprehensive enterprise platform to acquire, integrate, disseminate and synthesize data points from platforms like Salesforce, Facebook, Pardot, Twitter, LinkedIn, Zillow and other critical business and marketing applications. With the right tools Colony American Finance can provide better financial solutions to its customers.

  • Time to market, low total cost of ownership, ROI achieved in months, not years
  • DOMO Data Connectors, Quick Start Cards allow for rapid deployment and low maintenance footprint
  • Fully mobile enabled, secure access 24x7x365 with proactive alerting capability
  • Ability to extend platform with Predictive Analytics and Machine Learning
  • WYSWIG editor for row/columnar atomic level reporting
  • Report scheduler for automated email distribution of reports
In deciding what technology would best support Colony American Finance’s goal to provide the right data to the right people at the right time, the team selected Domo as it offers end users accessibility to production dashboards and reports. Anyone on the Colony American Finance team can interact with data and refresh it based on user-defined parameters, allowing team members to drill down and slice and dice to get to the most relevant, actionable data and use it to inform business decisions.
Read Matthew March's full review
February 07, 2017

Domo Review: "Help your data come together and get actionable insights"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used primarily in the sales and marketing departments but reaches into data sources across departments to consolidate siloed data from marketing, sales, support, and product.
  • Through key fields, we were able to connect data from Salesforce to our product database (DB) giving us a clearer picture into service utilization once prospects became customers.
  • We were able to recreate hard to read Salesforce reports into good visualizations and then dynamically slice and dice the data to get deeper insights.
  • Creating custom calculation fields (Beastmode Calculations) were really helpful in transforming data in a useful way — such as creating bucket or tier fields from revenue, units sold, company size.
  • Beastmode Calculations are helpful, but require some SQL-like knowledge (it's their own syntax), so you need some technical proficiency on that end. Would be great if it had more of a builder or wizard.
  • Some re-ordering can be difficult when doing visualizations with discrete stages. For instance, creating a Funnel visualization required creating a custom calculation to re-label the existing Status (Anonymous, Lead, MQL, SQL, SAL, Qualified, etc) to starting with a numeric value to get the right order (1-Anon, 2-Lead, 3-MQL etc.).
Domo is well suited for Salesforce and marketing data and tying it into other data sources. Their support and customer success team were really helpful in getting us set up with the data integrations, and building out a set of baseline reports based on our needs and asks. It's pretty common to have disparate data, so bringing it together really helps get closer to the truth.
Read Ray Huang's full review
February 06, 2017

Domo Review: "Advance reporting for anyone looking to connect the dots from mutliple systems!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is currently being used primarily among our services team to help tie together multiple systems that our company uses to capture customer data. The goal of Domo was to provide a 360 degree view of our customer base and be able to intelligently analyze each aspect of how we interact with them at every point.
  • Great Salesforce connector with ability to pull in standard and custom objects
  • Responsive to feedback on future connectors and building out new functionality
  • ETL capabilities are outstanding for simple point and click interface, very quick turnaround for building complex datasets
  • Visualizations could be better in terms of their breadth of what types of visualizations are available
  • The "collection" to answer a question mindset is not bad, but a step away from traditional dashboards and limits on some customization
  • More options than just a powerpoint send out in terms of export.
Not a bad solution if you are only using one data source i.e. Salesforce, but it is great for anyone using multiple systems and may not have the ability to integrate systems deeply enough to do reporting in one of those systems. Ideal for companies using spreadsheets or manual processes as well.
Read Kyle Husni's full review
February 14, 2017

Review: "Domo - Great responsive dashboards, but you need a tech resource to make the most of it."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization utilizes Domo. The easy segmentation based on dashboards and card level permissions easily allow us to ensure the right people, and only the right people, have access to the correct data. We use Domo to track revenue, margins, and performance of multiple performance marketing campaigns as well as retention and margins on services.
  • Data Visualization - Domo makes it easy to test different formats of your data until you can find the visualization you are looking for.
  • Drill Down - The data is all connected, so you are able to drill down for greater detail, filter, and otherwise slice the data as needed.
  • Simple, but complex - With basic users the system is intuitive enough to figure out what you need the majority of the time, but for advanced users the possiblity with scripting is endless.
  • Technical Expertise - If you don't have a solid technical/database foundation it can be hard to understand what is possible.
  • Buried Features - There are some great features that are hard to find unless you pay more for advanced training.
  • Slow Support - Support is often slow.
  • Support - Often slow to get things worked out if it is more than a simple fix.
For us, Domo is great to visualize trends, but you always need the human eye to evaluate the data and really pull meaning from it. Sometimes you can get lost in creating pretty cards that are meaningless. I love it for quick snapshots and having answers to common questions at my fingertips. Our business changes every day so knowing answers to key questions in an instant is essential.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2016

Review: "Domo - Good visualization tool that could be better"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Domo to manage and monitor our digital marketing efforts. It helps us identify where our performance is to plan and when it is not. It allows us to drill down to help develop countermeasures. We are exploring the expansion of the tool to other departments (including finance and sales).
  • Pulling in data from disparate data sources
  • Transforming the data into a usable format
  • Easily building out visualizations
  • Need better dashboard access for non-licensed users
  • Better connectors to different data sources
  • Easier app building
Domo works really well with visualizing data from different data sources for the connectors it supports. It can show that data in a huge number of different graphs/charts. It also is well suited for well-defined drill down paths. It does not work nearly as well for ad-hoc analysis of data.
Read Tim Madel's full review
April 12, 2016

Domo Review: "Simple and Clean Analytics"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo was used by the organization I was interning with to analyze customer data. It allowed our company to understand our marketing efforts' successes and failures with the helpful visualization of colorful graphs. Domo helped us collaborate on our marketing efforts using separate accounts to access the same information. The wide range of connected apps makes the business solution versatile.
  • Domo provides Cloud services for business in a way that takes away the need for someone with IT experience to manage.
  • It allows management from many users.
  • It allows collaboration within the context of where changes need to be made. For example right along side content within an app.
  • The advertising of the company has put out some offensive billboards that weren't tasteful.
  • A more concise explanation of the data and solutions the company offers.
Domo is best suited for large companies that can afford the product and have their data in somewhat of an organized fashion prior to paying for it. Companies who review data on a regular basis and would like better organization could benefit from the visual and computational advantages that Domo provides.
Read Brandon Adawi's full review
March 01, 2016

Review: "Domo for Business Intelligence Decisions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used as a business intelligence layer for our company. We use Domo to import data sources and aggregate information into an readable and accessible format. Domo cards are shared throughout the organization, which enables us make better business decisions from the executive level all the way down to the customer service level.
  • Domo is good at categorizing data sources into common pages, and cards, which can be shared with specific users or groups of users. This keeps data secure, but also accessible for those that need it.
  • Domo cards are easy to copy and manipulate. For instance if a card is normally viewed as a weekly view by day, the viewer of the card can easily change the data to show the last year grouped by quarter instead.
  • Since Domo can keep tons of historical data, we use it to correlate business decisions and study trends.
  • Domo has a robust Beast Mode calculator, which has been augmented several times in the past year. I wish they would keep one design and stick with it.
  • Domo should have a way of sharing colors between common cards. For instance we have users from different verticals mapped on cards, and the verticals color changes depending on the card. I'd like to keep the colors the same.
  • Domo is user friendly, I just wish there were an easier way for us to import data. This may be due to process more than the limitations of Domo though.
Domo is well suited to companies trying to graph and share data in a digestible way for the masses. Engineers can graph trends and send them off to execs in a breeze. Domo is definitely a business intelligence tool, I would not use it for real time monitoring of servers or alerting.
Read Shannon Donohue's full review
February 19, 2016

Review: "DOMO BI Meets Your Data Aggregation and Information Needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DOMO to:
1) Aggregate and warehouse disparate data sources from multiple systems as well as external data sets.
2) DOMO provides the tools to transform the data and join the data sources together for side-by-side comparison and a deeper look at the information.
3) Managers use the data to make data-driven decisions and keep operations on track and running well.
  • DOMO's data output, or cards as their are known, enable for very clear visualizations of information. A manager can into DOMO and quickly see what's going well and what's needs some additional focus.
  • DOMO's data ETL tools are very easy to use. They've got one for hardcore SQL users as well as GUI tools which enable drag-and-drop SQL programming. No matter your level of expertise, both tools are very useful in their own right.
  • DOMO's data warehousing and organization system is concise and easy to use. Everything your company needs can be stored and accessed in one location.
  • DOMO employs data connectors which are pre-built connections that allow companies to quickly connecting to existing data sources such as Quickbooks, Facebook, Box, Salesforce, and many more.
  • We were early adopters of DOMO, and they have made some amazing strides forward since our implementation.
  • DOMO is always open to suggestions for improvement. For example, we would like to have a Census data connector to complement the Bureau of Labor Statistics connector that they already have. They put it into the development queue for us.
  • I would like to see DOMO build more DOMO Apps. Currently, these are add-ons to existing accounts, but I think they should be offered as part of the basic platform. Apps enable users to create a picture of multiple data points as they flow together, for example. They are kind of a like a big graphical report or even an infographic that is fully customized to the users' needs.
Domo is really well suited to the business world, but I can even see it being used in logistics management, research, government...
There are few limitations that we have encountered. If you have a creative mind, you could likely find a useful application of Domo in any environment as it's not limited to any particular industry. If you've got lots of data and need to make some sense of it all, Domo is a great platform to do so.
Read Trevor Schrotz, MBA's full review
May 27, 2016

User Review: "Why My Organization is Hooked on Domo"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Domo across the entire organization to track our goals, including fundraising, site traffic, lead generation and proposal applications. We're able to track all of our marketing channels and also quickly get a holistic view of our progress. It's particularly useful for tracking progress toward specific, timely goals. We started using the tool last November around our year-end giving campaigns, and many people across teams checked it every day.
  • Easy to understand graphics
  • Highly customizable
  • Visually appealing
  • Easy to communicate with others from within the tool
  • I wish there were Quickstart options for a few more common platforms, like Pinterest.
Domo is great for communicating and sharing data across teams. We have two people dedicated to using the tool as well as several others who also know how to use it. It might not be the right fit for very small teams, as it does require a decent amount of upkeep. However, the Quickstart options may be helpful for those smaller groups.
Read Nancy Ryerson's full review
October 10, 2014

Review: "If you want great Data Visualization Tools, get Domo. Your data will shine brighter than Hollywood!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is being used at the enterprise level, connecting various sources of data to create visualizations and mashups in one single dashboard that is accessible via the web and through mobile devices. The purpose of using such a tool was to help bring a clearer picture of business performance and metrics to the executive team as well as other key stakeholders who use the information to make decisions.
  • Connecting to various data sources (databases, excel spreadsheets, etc.) has been key in helping deliver the solution to the business.
  • The visualization tools were one of the selling points that Domo provided to us that really made a difference in our selection.
  • The accessibility of the information on both the web and mobile has been huge in keeping our users engaged with using the tools on a daily basis.
  • While the visualization tools are excellent, extracting information from the tool has been a little bit of a challenge.
  • Initial learning curve was a little steep.
  • Cost model was a bit high in procuring the software.
I would say in confidence that you really need to have definitive data sources outlined before even acquiring Domo. One key question to definitely ask is how easy it would be to model the data that I have in my company and how can/will these tools change the way we do business? This will help in defining how your dashboards and visualizations will be created in an effective and usable manner.
Read John Orate's full review
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Domo Dashboard Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skyline uses Domo as a way to visualize data stored in 5 different systems. Executives and managers from across the organization now have ready access to sales, margin and quality information on the road as well as in the office. Domo eliminates the need to dig for details or to re-enter into Excel to graph the data. The President is looking for a single source of truth; Domo gives us a tool to establish it.
  • The Domo Team has helped us automate data uploads from SAP as well as Pardot
  • The Domo Team includes statisticians (something I am not!) that help me to develop meaningful charts
  • Tools allow you to quickly upload data and then combine data sources to provide unique insights
  • Each user can adjust their view in Domo so that they see charts and receive text/email alters only on the information they need
  • Domo provides a way for our team to communicate on a specific chart to one or many people
  • Slideshows can be created to share with others or to download to PowerPoint
  • Mobile is currently only available on the iPad
  • The iPad app and the slideshow do not display the Date Range for a chart
Although charts are easy to create, you will need someone who understands the data; both before and after it is loaded into Domo. In addition, the automation process required technology resources to schedule Windows batch jobs. We continue to meet with Domo for 1/2 hour each week to work thru the latest challenges. This provides a forum for learning and for communicating enhancement requests.
Read Maureen Olstad, PMP, CPA (inactive)'s full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (16)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (22)
8.5
Report Formatting Templates (18)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (22)
9.0
Formatting capabilities (21)
8.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
9
Report sharing and collaboration (22)
8.3
Publish to Web (16)
8.4
Publish to PDF (16)
8.5
Report Versioning (1)
7
Report Delivery Scheduling (18)
8.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (22)
8.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (21)
7.4
Predictive Analytics (1)
7
Multi-User Support (named login) (20)
8.9
Role-Based Security Model (18)
9.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (20)
8.8
Single Sign-On (SSO) (1)
10
Responsive Design for Web Access (17)
9.4
Dedicated iOS Application (15)
9.2
Dedicated Android Application (1)
10
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (17)
8.9
REST API (1)
8
Javascript API (1)
8
iFrames (1)
8
Java API (1)
8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (1)
7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (1)
7

About Domo

Domo's Business Cloud is a full self-service business intelligence (BI) software that promises to bring all of your business data together in one platform. According to the vendor, the Business Cloud can help organizations automate reporting, turn data into intelligence, and help executives make faster better-informed decisions.

According to the vendor, companies can use Domo to:

  • Connect to Any Business Data
  • Get Powerful Analytics & Insights
  • Generate Robust Visual Reports
  • Manage Data
  • Send Messages in Real-Time
  • Manage Projects & Tasks
  • Download or Develop New Apps

Domo Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureReal-Time Messaging Platform
Has featureProject & Task Management
Has featureAppstore

Domo Screenshots

Domo Video

Domo gives every business user—from executives to interns—the power to make better-informed decisions in less time. It’s not just a tool for data visualization or mining, or a dashboard, or anything you think you’ve seen before. It’s a business management platform, and it changes everything.

Domo Integrations

Domo Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Domo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Domo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:USA, Australia, Canada, Japan
Supported Languages: English, Japenese