TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/bG/rq/TW605X8LB66C.PNGDOMO, engage your end userWe are combining all our internal and external data in one place which allows us to get a holistic view; something we were lacking before DOMO. The ability to combine, ETL, visualize and the resource power behind DOMO allows us to leverage our data. It is being used by the whole organization. We are now able to get real-time metrics, from Sales, Marketing to even support desk and IT.,The fact end users can ETL data in a drag and drop UI instead of code is extremely useful. Processing. You can run through millions to billions of data pretty quickly being that its all on AWS. Visualizations. There are what seems to be 100's of chart types to chose from which allows each question to be answered in the most insightful way. Mr. Roboto. A new feature which give you insight/anaylsis into your data and reports (cards),Dataset management. If you rename a field in the dataset it breaks everything you built Better tables, pivot tables. Sometimes you just need to build a table and have some basic "excel" functionality,8,IBM Cognos, Microsoft Power BI and MicroStrategy Analytics,9,8,JIRA Software, Slack, Microsoft Power BI, IBM CognosThe best solution for the marketing use case.We use Domo to both operate our business as well as manage the marketing performance for our clients. Internally, it is leveraged across our entire executive leadership team, managers of all departments and our client services team. For our clients, it is used to answer specific questions as they relate to performance marketing objectives.,For the marketing use case, Domo is second to none as they have connectors prebuilt for the most common toolsets used in marketing. The commenting feature in Domo allows users to have real-time dialogue to discuss observations and record a history of the WHY behind specific performance inquiries. Domo allows us to develop dashboards for key stakeholders, and roll up dashboards at the executive level. Alters allow real-time notification if a KPI is falling below or exceeding expectations so action can be taken immediately to correct or capitalize on opportunity.,Our primary exposure has been to the marketing use case. I am not aware of connectors for operations or financial use cases but imagine that there is always opportunity to stay ahead of the curve on proactive development of connectors. From a sales perspective, it would be beneficial for Domo to develop a specific SOW for initial integration versus selling a bucket of hours. An SOW helps to define expected outcomes for integration and ensure the appropriate budgeting is in place to meet those objectives. As a reseller, I would like to have more visibility into the opportunity status for co-sell agreements [eg integration with Domo Salesforce instance to surface knowledge gathered to date.],10,Tableau Online,9,9,Salesforce.com, Asana, Tableau OnlineDomo is a powerful platform - if fully trained and implmentedWe have rolled-out Domo to many departments and divisions across our organization. The hope was to provide a standard Business intelligence software platform that was standardized across the company and allowed for a Decentralization of reporting. Our departments have always struggled finding and analyzing the data to be able to make informed business decisions.,Domo is very feature rich and has so many possibilities to present data The "Social Media" approach to Business Intelligence really draws people into the tool and makes collaboration easy Pushing data analytics to the Cloud takes the stress off the local network resources,It was much more difficult of a learning curve for our users - so much so that some gave up and don't use the tool The tool is so expansive and high-tech that it really requires a dedicated person to manage the system The training was very lacking and should have been sold up front with much more options than after the fact.,7,Tableau Server, Microsoft Power BI, Apteryx and Logi Analytics,6,10,Logi AnalyticsDomo, The Powerful BI tool that leaves other tools in dust.We use Domo as our primary tool for data visualization and ad-hoc reporting. Our company is known to be data driven so Domo is our go to tool when it comes to building new reports and dashboards. We're able to quickly build new reports and share them effortlessly across the teams. Although there are tons of data connectors available for us to use, we heavily use ODBC via workbench to aggregate data in SQL and push it into Domo and schedule the data sets to update the reports automatically. It's pretty much one and done!!!,Great looking interface User-friendly Excellent support from Domo team Wide range of connectors available Sharing capability is impressive,It would be nice if there was flexibility to scheduling the jobs in Domo workbench. A way to build a single card that will combine a sumo pivot table along with a graphical representation.,9,Tableau Public and Microsoft Power BI,9,10,Microsoft Power BI, Tableau PublicDomo arigato.We use Domo to aggregate our information that previously had been spread across many different areas. We were unable to access it or do anything with it. Domo was able to help us create a dashboard with relevant information - that way none of that data goes to waste. We went from losing all that unused data, to finding a way to make meaningful changes to our company.,Data Aggregation Customer Support API integration,Price is fairly high for a small business Some of the items can be confusing for those who aren't trained Setting everything up takes a lot of effort,7,GoodData,9,8,Google Drive, Apple iCloud, Asana
Unspecified
Domo
90 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Domo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Domo
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 90 vetted Domo reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Julian Kochummen profile photo
November 28, 2018

User Review: "DOMO, engage your end user"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are combining all our internal and external data in one place which allows us to get a holistic view; something we were lacking before DOMO. The ability to combine, ETL, visualize and the resource power behind DOMO allows us to leverage our data. It is being used by the whole organization. We are now able to get real-time metrics, from Sales, Marketing to even support desk and IT.
  • The fact end users can ETL data in a drag and drop UI instead of code is extremely useful.
  • Processing. You can run through millions to billions of data pretty quickly being that its all on AWS.
  • Visualizations. There are what seems to be 100's of chart types to chose from which allows each question to be answered in the most insightful way.
  • Mr. Roboto. A new feature which give you insight/anaylsis into your data and reports (cards)
  • Dataset management. If you rename a field in the dataset it breaks everything you built
  • Better tables, pivot tables. Sometimes you just need to build a table and have some basic "excel" functionality
When you want to empower your end users. When you want to take the stress off your IT team from building reports. When you want to have a "data warehouse" without building out your own massive DW/DC and Infa team.
Read Julian Kochummen's full review
Erika Werner profile photo
December 06, 2018

Domo Review: "The best solution for the marketing use case."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Domo to both operate our business as well as manage the marketing performance for our clients. Internally, it is leveraged across our entire executive leadership team, managers of all departments and our client services team. For our clients, it is used to answer specific questions as they relate to performance marketing objectives.
  • For the marketing use case, Domo is second to none as they have connectors prebuilt for the most common toolsets used in marketing.
  • The commenting feature in Domo allows users to have real-time dialogue to discuss observations and record a history of the WHY behind specific performance inquiries.
  • Domo allows us to develop dashboards for key stakeholders, and roll up dashboards at the executive level. Alters allow real-time notification if a KPI is falling below or exceeding expectations so action can be taken immediately to correct or capitalize on opportunity.
  • Our primary exposure has been to the marketing use case. I am not aware of connectors for operations or financial use cases but imagine that there is always opportunity to stay ahead of the curve on proactive development of connectors.
  • From a sales perspective, it would be beneficial for Domo to develop a specific SOW for initial integration versus selling a bucket of hours. An SOW helps to define expected outcomes for integration and ensure the appropriate budgeting is in place to meet those objectives.
  • As a reseller, I would like to have more visibility into the opportunity status for co-sell agreements [eg integration with Domo Salesforce instance to surface knowledge gathered to date.]
  1. The best solution for the marketing use case.
  2. Speed to market is incredible.
  3. Allows for more rapid expansion through the organization because of connectors, and does not rely on hiring analysts that have a specific skillset and typically an incredibly large/lengthy backlog.
Read Erika Werner's full review
Jon Shurtliff profile photo
December 05, 2018

Review: "Domo is a powerful platform - if fully trained and implmented"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have rolled-out Domo to many departments and divisions across our organization. The hope was to provide a standard Business intelligence software platform that was standardized across the company and allowed for a Decentralization of reporting.
Our departments have always struggled finding and analyzing the data to be able to make informed business decisions.
  • Domo is very feature rich and has so many possibilities to present data
  • The "Social Media" approach to Business Intelligence really draws people into the tool and makes collaboration easy
  • Pushing data analytics to the Cloud takes the stress off the local network resources
  • It was much more difficult of a learning curve for our users - so much so that some gave up and don't use the tool
  • The tool is so expansive and high-tech that it really requires a dedicated person to manage the system
  • The training was very lacking and should have been sold up front with much more options than after the fact.
If you have very analytical people that thirst for data and understand graphical data, this tool is for them.

If you have casual data ingestors, then Domo will be too difficult to successfully implement across an entire business.

We had one division where Domo really took off - this was largely due to the highly analytical personell there.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
Kevin Patel profile photo
November 29, 2018

Review: "Domo, The Powerful BI tool that leaves other tools in dust."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Domo as our primary tool for data visualization and ad-hoc reporting. Our company is known to be data driven so Domo is our go to tool when it comes to building new reports and dashboards. We're able to quickly build new reports and share them effortlessly across the teams. Although there are tons of data connectors available for us to use, we heavily use ODBC via workbench to aggregate data in SQL and push it into Domo and schedule the data sets to update the reports automatically. It's pretty much one and done!!!
  • Great looking interface
  • User-friendly
  • Excellent support from Domo team
  • Wide range of connectors available
  • Sharing capability is impressive
  • It would be nice if there was flexibility to scheduling the jobs in Domo workbench.
  • A way to build a single card that will combine a sumo pivot table along with a graphical representation.
Building attractive dashboards and the sharing capability is where Domo really shines in comparison to other BI tools.
Read Kevin Patel's full review
Gavin Scott-Miller profile photo
November 29, 2018

User Review: "Domo arigato."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Domo to aggregate our information that previously had been spread across many different areas. We were unable to access it or do anything with it. Domo was able to help us create a dashboard with relevant information - that way none of that data goes to waste. We went from losing all that unused data, to finding a way to make meaningful changes to our company.
  • Data Aggregation
  • Customer Support
  • API integration
  • Price is fairly high for a small business
  • Some of the items can be confusing for those who aren't trained
  • Setting everything up takes a lot of effort
Domo is great for a mid-sized company to take the data they are already collecting from many sources, and put them all together in a useful way. It is a little harder to bite for a small business who might not have the resources and money to put into setting this application up.
Read Gavin Scott-Miller's full review
Phil Irvine profile photo
November 23, 2018

User Review: "Head of CRM and Power User of Domo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used as a report visualization tool for every functional area at our company: finance, marketing, operations, product, and tech. We use it to surface everything from post campaign reporting to tracking company wide KPIs
  • Great user interface
  • Flexibility with incorporating and using filters to parse through data
  • Easy to export functionality
  • Sharing of cards is sometimes a challenge where specific access rights have to be set
  • With some reports there is a lack of flexibility with visualizing data comparisons between different time periods
  • Sometimes data update speeds can be a little slow
Domo is a great report visualization tool for organizations that have a solid underlying infrastructure where their data is consolidated. In my company's instance, we have a data warehouse that captures the majority of our company-specific data. Having Domo sit on top of that and set up to pull in information directly from there has been vital with having accurate reports.
Read Phil Irvine's full review
Canio Caputo ☁ profile photo
November 21, 2018

User Review: "Domo, yes it's that good"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is being used across our entire organization. It has solved some manual efforts in both Finance and Operations. Before certain reports were being created in our System of Record, exported to Xls and then manipulated. I took that info and automated the process and made it real time. There is no longer editing. It's just there for them when they need it. The same goes for Operations and how they are managing some aspects of payroll.

Also before the CEO can now see Customer Tickets, see if they are closed out, and what are common issues occurring. Again, in real time.
  • Presents a wealth of data you had to dig for before. Making datasets is easy using its Magic Tool.
  • Very easily allows you to merge data together without having to know code, though it helps to have an understanding of how data works
  • Domo makes it pretty easy to communicate inside the tool. They have something called Buzz, it's nice to not have to leave the tool and email someone. You can do it right inside Domo. You just have to make sure the person you are Buzzing has their notification settings set up to get messages
  • I would also point out that their support is world class. They are very knowledgeable, responsive, and make sure you're issues are resolved.
  • The backend is the Wild West. You have to make sure you document and annotate very well. Novices can't just go to town on the backend, it will wreak havoc on your data model
  • There releasing a beta that will give us more functionality and less restrictions to dashboards. It should be arriving soon. Until then we are stuck with 3 sizes for their "cards" aka charts. It's not ideal, but knowing the fix is coming "soon" makes this less of an issue
  • Knowing where datasets are used is also something that would be great to know. It's hard to get a visual idea of where your Customer Table is linked too. To the best of my knowledge you can't see the schema, like you can with Sisense or can in Salesforce
Domo is well suited for your organization if you have a data analyst with an SQL background, and it's not if you don't. I would not recommend it if you don't have someone in the org that can dedicate 20 to 30 hours a week maintaining it. Especially if you plan on using it to service your entire organization.
Read Canio Caputo ☁'s full review
Logan McLeod profile photo
November 29, 2018

User Review: "Domo is smart but not great"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Domo across the whole department in various forms. We use the data to manage internal KPIs as well as helping our clients manage their businesses KPIs. It helps aggregate data from multiple sources which is nice and helps give visualizations to the data we process.
  • It automates the data collection process well
  • It helps visualize key data points
  • It provides insights that we would not otherwise have
  • Customer support sucks
  • It is filled with tons of bugs. I encounter a new bug nearly every time I use it. I used to report them but it is so many now I don’t have the time to report each issue.
  • Although powerful, it is pretty limited on some of its features. It can’t donthings that other BI platforms do very simply
It is good to use if you have a ton of data sources and you are trying to aggregate them all together in one.

It is not useful if you already have a good BI platform or are fine using excel’s report builder
Read Logan McLeod's full review
David Nero profile photo
August 03, 2018

User Review: "Domo is a powerful analytics tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Domo as an analytics platform support a variety of different lines of business. It served as a lightweight but powerful platform that helped leaders ask questions and make decisions.
  • Easy to use data connection
  • Easy to use visualization
  • Easy to share/publish visualizations
  • I don't have any examples
I think Domo is a great tool for an organization to ramp up its analytics function which can help drive decision making
Read David Nero's full review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

Review: "Domo - a great tool for sharing data with higher level employees"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Domo as part of consultancy group. Our customer had the data allocated in Domo, so we used the platform for quick data analysis and for data extraction as well. Domo was being used among all the consultants in our group allocated to this project. We were working to solve problems in the transporation industry with Domo, the company in charge of the data had millions of truck trips in their database.
  • Connectivity: Domo can easily connect to most databases and data sources. They have a team that would help with your data connection, in case you need it.
  • Speed: In comparison to other tools, Domo is reasonably fast. Of course, this will depend on a lot of things: the amount of data you are working on and your internet speed, since Domo is cloud based.
  • User friendly: Domo is fairly easy to use. And you can access most of the data you want easily.
  • Mobile: Domo is a great tool for mobile purposes. Their apps for data visualization are top notch!
  • Access to all parts of the data: We needed to use SQL for certain types of queries, and that was a pain point since one a few consultants were proficient in SQL. It would have been awesome if all the data was accessible with just a few clicks.
  • Machine learning: They are still a lit bit behind on integrating Machine Learning and AI models easily in their tool.
  • Not for everyone: your company might already have another data visualization being used, so using another one might be a burden in terms of cost and making employees learn a new tool.
Well suited:
Domo is well suited if your company is trying to be more data-centric and it is pushing this idea to executive levels. Domo apps make easy for executives to visualize and have the information needed on-the-go.
I'd also argue that it is suitable for smaller companies trying to use a single tool for data analysis.

Less appropriate:
If you are trying to have a versatile and powerful tool for data analysis and analytics. Domo doesn't include more sophisticated data science models, or the robust visualizations of Power BI. Also, I'd argue that is not very appropriate for big organizations, since they tend to go to the bigger names (Microsoft or Tableau).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Review: "Domo is extremely powerful for advancing your data visualization and connecting data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo can be used across the organization. If done right, it can be one source of truth, uniting data from a lot of sources to paint a complete picture. However, it is truly a data visualization software, not a master data management platform so caution should be used. When used for data visualization it is a pretty complete and full functioned, with the ability to cross all different types of data (like financial and product usage, accounts and demand, adoption and church etc.) and visualize them a lot of ways. Great suite of integration with anything you can imagine, and ability to pull in your own data a bunch of ways too.
  • ETLs - Domo has multiple ways to combine and compare data from different parts of the business, giving greater insight than a single report can.
  • Visualizations - once you get your data ready, it has extreme flexibility and ease to quickly pull out the insights
  • Integrations - pull data from the vast majority of top platforms as quickly as you can login
  • The organization of pages and cards - it is often difficult to put cards where you want them, and to reorganize pages, and/or delete unneeded ones. Your view can quickly get out of control
  • Organization of data flows and data sets - when looking at a dataset, it is difficult to navigate to the other datasets/transforms that go into it. While I can generally see where they are, it is not easy to traverse to where I need to work.
  • Unspecified errors - while Domo often surprises by how much data and how many calculations it can do, quickly, and often without error, on the rare occasion it does error, I find myself wishing for more information than what is provided. Support answers, but is not extremely quick
Domo is a great way to advance the visualization of data, especially at an organization that is starting to face challenges with uniting data from across the org, getting a complete picture, and having a first "one source of truth". It is many times faster than something like Excel, and can also really highlight additional insights, or help you picture info you should be visualizing. However, if you have grown to where you are a) needing real time analytics fed to a system (i.e. customers rely on it), or b) have large amounts of various types/sources of data, you need a different environment underneath and maybe Domo can consume and visualize that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Review: "Domo is well suited for roll up, some limitations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Domo in multiple lines of business, including our community organizing, marketing metrics, programmatic work, and some financial reporting. We use it to roll up numbers for performance metrics across the organization. We have users who log in to use detailed reports, and some who only have reports delivered to them.
  • Graphical representation of data
  • Access at different levels
  • Ability to pull in many different tools
  • Ability for non-login users to dig deeper in reports (in web interface)
  • More user-friendly roll ups
Domo is well suited to roll up data stored in disparate tools -- it is so helpful to have one place to look at charts and metrics. As our other tools improve (like Salesforce), Domo is less relevant for our data directly related to our non-profit's contacts and program work. Additionally, our fundraising function lives in Salesforce, so I can see us relying more on it alone.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

User Review: "Domo - the strong business tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Domo as a dashboard, visualization, and BI tool for our clients. We use an iFrame to pop Domo within our existing web app so they have access to it along with their other daily work. The Domo app is also used by some of our clients. To manage access to data, we use publication groups to limit who see what, allowing our clients to only see their data.

Over the past year, we have started to use it more for our internal purpose and have it on our road map to do that more. However, the primary focus is to provide this BI tool to our clients.
  • Attractive visuals with simple displays for the end user.
  • The app is nice for users that are more on the go, which in our vertical is the case more often than not.
  • Visualization tools for user are robust; it's super helpful to be building a card and be able to change things on the fly while seeing how it will affect the display users will be seeing.
  • Since we use this as an external BI tool for our clients, there isn't a great way to manage all the data for them while limiting access so they don't see each others data.
  • Since our use case is a bit different in that we use this tool for our clients, it does become challenging to turn off certain features that Domo offers that we don't want our clients to use. For example, doing a universal search allows our clients to see one another. It would be nice if there was a way to better manage separate instances of Domo more seamlessly.
Domo is a great visualization tool. New features are being developed all the time and we have seen some of our suggestions worked on. The team listens to what we have to say, looks for ways to help us, and then goes to work with the development to see if updates make sense. We've been pleased with their response and the progress on the product over the years.

Where we provide this to our clients, it can be a challenge to manage and customize everything while maintain a simple organization of the data and associated controls for user access.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 29, 2018

Review: "Domo is the best software for visualizing your data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used to visualize data across all of our systems at Civitas Learning. Most of our departments are using Domo, but it's primarily used by the operations and sales teams. We use it for everything from creating team dashboards to managing company level OKRs. It's great to use in slideshow mode as well to cycle through important metrics in real time.
  • Very easy to build KPI cards
  • Very easy to build pages for individual teams
  • Easy to assign access to the right team members for appropriate cards
  • Great support team
  • Beast mode functionality could be improved with better training
  • Formula number fields created in Domo should be able to be used as a summary number
  • Currency fields from salesforce reports show up as text
Domo is great for visualizing any data you have in spreadsheets, salesforce, or a host of other applications all in one chart or card. It's really helpful for seeing progress towards goals and drilling down into the data to understand what is going on at a more granular level as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 11, 2018

User Review: "Domo for Dummies"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's currently being used as a sales tool to track forecasts, quotas, and pipeline across our entire organization from end users to leadership.
  • UI/UX is very slick
  • Lots of options on the backend with robust tools to build dashboards from scratch
  • Settings are persistent for each user
  • Doesn't load very quickly - fairly bloaty
  • Platform isn't fully baked and missing lots of features
  • Has issues with stability
Domo is fantastic for building larger data pictures where a client needs to cross-reference several data dashboards to draw conclusions from a larger picture.
Read this authenticated review
Ainun Najib profile photo
December 19, 2017

Review: "Domo: All in one BI/Analytics platform that will solve majority of your analytics use cases"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed Domo as main BI/Analytics platform for everyone in the whole organization. It is meant to centralize data/insight visibility and collaboration across departments. Currently we have more than 750 users on Domo, more than half out of the ~1500 employees there are in the organization. 80% of them are active users.

Domo is utilized to support almost every decision making in the organization, as we want to be a data-driven organization, everyone is encouraged to make decisions based on data. And Domo is the common place for us to have insights from data.
  • Centralizing data/insights in a single platform. Domo supports hundreds of connectors for different types of data sources, and once the datasets are in Domo platform, they can be joined and available for slicing and dicing snappily.
  • Self service. Once datasets are in Domo, users having access to that dataset will be able to easily build their own visualization for analysis and monitoring on their own. Users can also connect their own data (e.g. spreadsheets, .csv files) that can then further be joined with the available datasets.
  • Collaboration. The possibility to have discussion *on the data* itself is amazing. Every single dashboard page and chart card has its own chat channel, where people can mention colleagues, attach images & files, both publicly (visible/readable by everyone having access) or privately (only specifically for mentioned users).
  • Alerts, including near real time alerts. Domo allows alerts to be defined by any of the users having access, which can then be shared for others to reuse (subscribe to alert) as well. Domo delivers alerts via SMS, mobile app notification, in-browser notification and email. Powerful for executives who would like to be made aware when certain key metrics changes significantly.
  • Insights on the go. Domo's mobile app is currently unparalleled by others in terms of insight consumption and basic exploration.
  • Beautiful UI & UX.
  • Able to handle large datasets. Our largest datasets are in the range of hundreds of millions records per dataset. In total we have more than 10 billions rows from hundreds of datasets.
  • All in one platform. By pareto 80-20 principle, just by deploying and utilizing Domo well, you will get 80% of your data/insight use cases resolved.
  • Support. Granted, most of our needs simply works without the need of support and issues rarely happens. However when it does happen, the response from their support team is painfully slow and it takes long to get through the layers of support teams when the issues are indeed advanced and can't be solved by their first layer of support.
  • Data Catalog. Self service when ungoverned may result in mess. Domo offers great tools to display and manage datasets, pages, cards; however there is no proper Data Catalog that will allow us list and define datasets, pages, metrics, cards to help business users navigate the plethora of data and information in the platform.
  • Real time / live queries. Currently Domo lives & breathes on datasets concept, whereby the snapshot of the data has to be imported into Domo first as datasets. While some other BI/Analytics tools works for live queries. These live query capabilities are needed for real time use cases as well as exploratory analyses. We're currently happy with "near" real time instead, whereby the datasets in Domo is refreshed every 15 minutes (the fastest frequency Domo currently supports).
Domo works well for:
  • Centralizing data/insights from disparate variety of data sources.
  • Collaboration between users, including across different departments.
  • Self service analysis, slice & dice, for business users.
  • Sharing of insights within the organization.
  • Discussion on data itself. Every single page & card has dedicated chat channel.
  • Insights consumption on the go. Domo's mobile app is best.
  • Alerts on key metrics. Domo supports alerts into SMS, mobile app notifications, emails.
  • Joining different datasets from various data sources allowing wider perspective on insights. And this is very user friendly for business users to do this themselves.
  • Able to connect to hundreds types of data sources, from databases to web cloud apps.
  • Handling large datasets. Our largest datasets are in the range of hundreds of million rows.
Domo doesn't work well for:
  • Live queries analysis. There are many better tools for this purpose, Domo currently requires import of data first before analysis can be done.
  • Ad-hoc exploratory analysis where dataset needed is not yet fixed/clear.
  • Navigating plethora of data. Domo needs to come up with Data Catalog as a feature.
  • Advanced visualizations.
Read Ainun Najib's full review
Alan Strutz profile photo
December 18, 2017

User Review: "DOMO, the last BI tool you'll need"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DOMO is used by our executive group, store management, accounting staff, HR staff, operations staff, marketing staff, and purchasing staff. We use it for reporting on various company metrics, including trends and PTD totals, managing labor at our retail locations, tracking inventory counts, understanding the performance of various promotions, compiling data from disparate sources to reduce time spent in compiling daily reports, and other ways. It has allowed us to save time and money through automating reporting, reducing the need for IT resources, and provided insight into areas of the business that were not available prior to DOMO.
  • DOMO has a very simple and intuitive interface that allows user without much experience to build and interact with cards.
  • DOMO provides a platform for managing all BI, reporting, data analysis, etc. functions, from ETL to charts to social. This allows users to work easily within a single environment, improving adoption, learning curves, and value.
  • DOMO has a great ETL tool called Magic that allows users with no SQL skills to join and manipulate data in a variety of ways, using drag and drop methodologies and a simple interface. The value is immense because it means users don't have to rely on IT programmers to prepare their data and get the answers they need.
  • DOMO lacks more advanced Admin functions for managing data sets, calculations, users, etc.
  • DOMO needs to improve their data upload application, used to pull data from on prem data sources and upload to the DOMO cloud. It lacks functions to manage a large number of jobs and needs a better scheduling tool.
  • DOMO has a mobile app, that is pretty good, but certain types of cards and features are not supported in the app. This creates extra work and is a drag on the user experience.
DOMO is great when the goal is to create an environment within a team or organization that relies upon data to run their business. It works well with teams that don't have a lot of technical experience and who want to collaborate in a cloud environment.

DOMO does not work for organizations who simply want a few basic reports that can be automated as it does not leverage DOMO's strengths and unique features.
Read Alan Strutz's full review
Justin Mohlenhoff profile photo
December 06, 2017

User Review: "Domo - The Data Dynamo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have Domo implemented across the entire organization. Our largest users are our regional directors, board of directors, brand leaders and C-level executives. The problems that Domo addressed was providing a consolidated location for reporting on core KPIs for the company. It also provided a quick tool for extracting data and fast analysis.
  • Domo handles the ETL process with smooth efficiency
  • Visualization of data
  • Clean UI
  • Content sharing; extracting data into automated emails
  • Integrated statistical analysis; Domo has hooks to R but it would be nice to have more of what R provides integrated into Domo
Domo is the perfect tool for data visualization. It has a large array of template functions, graphs, and charts to display any kind of data into a more visually pleasing manner. Domo also has several options for ETL. Domo has a UI interface for ETL but I am more partial to the MySQL option.
Read Justin Mohlenhoff's full review
Jesse Mauser profile photo
November 30, 2017

Review: "Domo is a game changer for any size shop"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is currently being rolled out to our entire organization and is being used as a platform to standardize how we consume data and reports. We started with a targeted POC for a single department, but quickly attracted interest from departments all over the company, which helped drive the success of the platform. We now have a solution that enables data driven communication and collaboration across teams, giving our executive team a shared and trusted view of the organization.
  • Ease of use. As a tool it's comfortable, approachable and forgiving. If you have a tool that end users can dive into without fear, and create and think and collaborate, without training, without hand-holding, you quickly realize how rare and important that is. You'll need more licenses than you think because of how fast user adoption is.
  • Speed of implementation. You can go from 0-60 faster than a Tesla. We were up and running in weeks, with live working dashboards sourced from a mixture of external and internal data sets.
  • Sharing and Collaboration. In addition to getting internal departments to collaborate and share insights around their data, we quickly realized how easy it would be to provide analytics to our customers and partners. Everything is in place to setup external secure analytics portals to outside parties, and it's a game changer.
  • Data quality. Remember those days of building exception reports to call out data issues that no one wants to take ownership of? With Domo I ended up with crowd sourced data quality that grew organically from users finding issues, and building cards to highlight those issues. A simple alert to the manager/owner of that upstream process, or to the users names showing up in relation to the issue, have not only helped us shine a light on significant issues, but has resulted in users being aware of the downstream impacts and in some cases enables them to manage their own data quality. Makes for a great segue into those data governance initiatives when you have dashboards showing how dirty or clean your data is.
  • It would be helpful if we could filter (using the page analyzer) for the report side variables (beast mode calculations). But it's probably in the works.
  • Being able to use variables in card titles would be useful when we're building cards and dashboards that are dependent on row level security (PDP).
  • Debugging Beast Mode calculations would be super helpful, when you're trying to figure out what's wrong with your statement.
  • Report Scheduling was missing, but it's getting released to everyone in the next week or so.
The whole point of Business Intelligence, sometimes referred to as Data Analytics... is to make information available in a way that enables decision makers to make informed decisions. Domo makes consuming that information simple, whether you're at your desk or on a golf course, but the power isn't in being able to open up a metric and look at it, the power is in being able to challenge the data or ask a qualifying question or to have a conversation around the result, with the data, in the report. No extra emails. No extra meetings. The ability to set alerts partnered with the collaboration functionality brings tremendous efficiency and insight and makes it easier than ever to take the guessing game out of the decisions that are being made.
Read Jesse Mauser's full review
Nakisha Wong-Chong-Lancaster, MBA profile photo
January 03, 2018

User Review: "Domo for you!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used as a data analytics tool within the Sales and Marketing organization. It addresses campaign and program strategy and initiatives while providing insight on performance.
  • Domo allows you to analyze data in different views to tell a complete story.
  • Domo allows users to share reports directly in presentations and manipulate data in real time.
  • Domo allows collaboration on data and building cards between team members which is helpful in a global organization.
  • The back end of getting the data into the tool can be a bit complex... its not as user friendly for non-technical users.
Domo is well suited in campaigns and sales activities -- it may be less suited in scenarios where multiple touch attribution is needed.
Read Nakisha Wong-Chong-Lancaster, MBA's full review
Daniel Rabiner profile photo
December 08, 2017

Review: "Use Domo to have your data scale with your business as your business scales."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is integral to how our company looks at data. It standardizes the information so everyone is working from the same vantage points and informs people on how to make day-to-day and strategic business decisions.
  • Combining multiple databases together into singular data sets that can be used for visualizations.
  • Store large amounts of data in ways that cannot be done within our databases due to the snapshot like functionality.
  • Automate reports so you can set and forget it. Saving you time from having to rebuild a report every few days if it's an ongoing thing.
  • Filters that support aggregations is the #1 issue I have
Domo is not suited for a company that uses one database for all of their data. Also if the company is relatively small the cost and work to get it up and running is limited in value. However, as your company scales the value increases exponentially.
Read Daniel Rabiner's full review
No photo available
December 12, 2017

Review: "Domo - The almost perfect reporting platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the biggest aspects we were missing was one true source of data. We had multiple reporting tools where users were allowed to manipulate data and create reports as they saw fit. With Domo, we now have one true source of data that is used company-wide. Almost every department in the company has a page in Domo where they can see data that's relevant to them.
  • There are tons of connectors built for applications from Microsoft Access to social media accounts. You can pretty much connect anything to Domo via a connector or ODBC connection.
  • Easy for users to find the data they are looking for. From being able to create custom pages for departments/users to search functionality, Domo makes it super easy to find the data you are looking for.
  • Creating the 'cards' is easy. Once a dataset is created, visualizing your data is drag and drop.
  • The workbench tool is great but can be quirky when copying an SQL query that created an SQL Developer. It seems to find invalid characters when there aren't any.
  • It lacks built-in reports that can be used to manage the datasets and cards within Domo.
  • Lots of connectors that are great, but the ones for Oracle and Access don't seem to work the best. An ODBC connection is the best way to connect those to Domo.
Domo is perfect if you need one source of data for executive dashboards or basic visuals to be used throughout the company. It probably isn't the best if you need very granular data. Excel charting is still more versatile when you are working with large datasets and you need multiple x-axes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 24, 2017

Domo Review: "Enable self-service data visualization on your company!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is still new on using Domo as data visualization tools. However, since the visualization tool doesn't require much technical knowledge to build a data-set, Domo isn't only used by Engineering Department, but also Marketing and Revenue team. Its visualization drill down feature helps a lot on investigating root the causes of each phenomenon.
  • non-tech savvy user friendly
  • easy drag and drop feature
  • various available data connectors
  • task management feature, i.e. for assigning tasks
  • good data access privilege
  • increases site response time, since the site takes time to load
  • Domo imports data-sets from the connector and treats it like CSV format, which gives us problems on importing irregular data types (e.g. fields with JSON format)
  • more tutorials and how tos, especially on data-set management best practices
When the key metrics are well defined, it's much better to visualize the data using Domo, since it provides more flexibility to explore the data-set. However, if you are still on the data exploration phase and the data-set is still in raw format, perhaps you'll find it easier if you visualize it using other tools, i.e. you can modify the SQL queries on the go and see the visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 29, 2017

User Review: "Domo"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Domo is used to make sure everyone is on the same page with where we are at as a company and where are moving as a company. Visualizations in Domo are key and add some of the most value for our teams. It's important for us to have the ability to take data and present it in a way in which all teams can understand.
  • Visualizations are the best part about Domo.
  • Cloud access to everything.
  • Layout is intuitive and easy to use!
  • Cannot do SQL runs. This makes it heavily reliant on your engineering team to retrieve data.
  • No customer support unless you pay more. It's pretty pricey.
  • It's sooo expensive!
One of the best features is the ability to store data in the cloud, which gives us more flexibility to access data anywhere. Graphs are fairly easy to build in the product. Data is pushed and retrieved faster as a team, thus helping us roll out projections and past data to the whole team quickly.

Domo works best when your data has access to API feeds, otherwise, good luck...
Read this authenticated review
Katie Nix profile photo
March 23, 2017

Domo Review: "Outstanding tool! Get business insights with live data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our customer success area is using Domo as our main analytics tool. We're using Domo as a primary data collector (aggregating data from our CRM, from SalesForce, and from within our own product) to better understand customer spending behavior, feature adoption, and cohort/vertical performance. It's giving us insight into our business that we could only get through hours of analysis before!
  • Data visualization, with customized graphs & charts
  • Data manipulation, combining multiple data sources & cleaning up
  • Live data analysis, updating charts using live data
  • Collects and combines data from multiple sources and automatically collects into master tables to build visualizations and gather insights
  • Excellent support center, support staff, and training tools
  • Not for the faint of heart! Even if someone else implements for you and builds out initial data tables, you'll likely need SQL skills to build complex visualizations or to make any changes to your data structure
  • Steep learning curve - not everything in the card editor (used for editing graphs & data visualizations) is intuitively located
We've yet to find something Domo can't do with our data! It's just awesome. If you have any question about your business, your product, or your customers, and you have raw data, Domo will combine any number of data sources and give you beautiful little charts. It's especially well suited to monitoring performance or data points, as it can automatically update cards as data flows in.
Read Katie Nix's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (26)
7.9
Customizable dashboards (35)
8.5
Report Formatting Templates (31)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (35)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (34)
7.9
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
9
Report sharing and collaboration (35)
8.6
Publish to Web (28)
8.3
Publish to PDF (25)
8.6
Report Versioning (1)
7
Report Delivery Scheduling (31)
8.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (35)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (33)
7.1
Predictive Analytics (1)
7
Multi-User Support (named login) (32)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (31)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (33)
7.9
Single Sign-On (SSO) (1)
10
Responsive Design for Web Access (30)
8.9
Dedicated iOS Application (25)
9.1
Dedicated Android Application (1)
10
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (29)
8.8
REST API (1)
8
Javascript API (1)
8
iFrames (1)
8
Java API (1)
8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (1)
7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (1)
7

About Domo

Domo's Business Cloud is a full self-service business intelligence (BI) software that promises to bring all of your business data together in one platform. According to the vendor, the Business Cloud can help organizations automate reporting, turn data into intelligence, and help executives make faster better-informed decisions.

According to the vendor, companies can use Domo to:

  • Connect to Any Business Data
  • Get Powerful Analytics & Insights
  • Generate Robust Visual Reports
  • Manage Data
  • Send Messages in Real-Time
  • Manage Projects & Tasks
  • Download or Develop New Apps

Domo Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureReal-Time Messaging Platform
Has featureProject & Task Management
Has featureAppstore

Domo Screenshots

Domo Video

Domo gives every business user—from executives to interns—the power to make better-informed decisions in less time. It’s not just a tool for data visualization or mining, or a dashboard, or anything you think you’ve seen before. It’s a business management platform, and it changes everything.

Domo Integrations

Domo Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Domo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Domo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:USA, Australia, Canada, Japan
Supported Languages: English, Japenese