Tableau Server Reviews

708 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 105)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Tableau - Good Viz, Poor Admin

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used as one of several reporting tools. Its primary use was for creating dashboards that could be leveraged by a large segment of the company. The web enablement allowed for broader user adoption than other tools adopted at the time of implementation. Navigation of the workbooks was also more palatable to users vs running individual reports.
  • Visualizations.
  • Simple deployment method.
  • Easy to navigate interface.
  • Server administration is cumbersome.
  • Recent changes (after 10.x) have required rewriting of admin scripts.
  • Cumbersome licensing management.
Tableau may be well suited to non-Microsoft shops. Its methodologies, internal management, and overall approach seem geared more toward Oracle/Java shops. It also does require a decent amount of care and feeding. Backups, upgrades, etc., tend to be cumbersome and require some level of IT knowledge, despite how the product is often sold. Smaller shops that wish to pursue Tableau may be better off leveraging their SaaS offerings.
Connects well to most traditional RDBMS systems and many of the non-traditional (NoSQL) systems. Very poor integration with traditional OLAP systems (SSAS, Essbase).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Deep dive into your data with your Global team using the Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is used by a very limited people in our organization which are working in the data analytics domain. Not everyone here uses the software.

Data is the biggest asset these days and analyzing so much data in a human-friendly format is the challenge. Tableau helps us achieve a difficult goal and make our life's simpler with beautifully presented data. Tableau Server is an add-on which provides even more functionality right on your mobile devices. Tableau Server does not require a physical server as it sits on the cloud. You can directly access your Tableau dashboard from anywhere (even on your mobile phone or Tablets) and view the insights. It is super amazing and really helpful for people who travel a lot and cannot always keep their laptop with them.
  • Security: Organisations sometimes have confidential data, which is important. If there is a lack of security controls within this software, this would become a major setback for the organization. I feel this is the best feature Tableau provides.
  • Can be assessed from anywhere: Tableau Server can be accessed from anywhere in the world. You need not have to install specific software or applications on your phone. Simply view your stats from any device anytime and make the most use of this software.
  • No matter which cloud your organization sits on: Tableau can be configured with any of the cloud service providers and sit with your infrastructure providing a very smooth connection.
  • The tool does not lag in any major domains, but one thing that I feel sometimes this platform lags in is the processing speed of the data. Even with a bunch of data the tool sometimes takes huge time to process and develop the dashboards. For large data sets, this can be understood but with small data sets, the computing power shall be much higher. This can be fixed easily by boosting up the processors on which the tool has been deployed.
Data needs to to be understood at all times. The majority of organizations lack in this field and do not study the data, which eventually becomes the reason for unknown losses. Data can help you understand the domains where an organisation is lacking behind and where improvement is required. Tableau Server helps you do that and that too can be done from people sitting in any corner of the world. In case, of small companies where data is not of much use and are based on other parameters, Tableau Server might not be a very wise decision since if you do not have enough input for some platform then there will not be a magical output which will eventually become a burden then an asset.
Tableau provides the options to connect to multiple data sources, but what we used a simple Excel to power the dashboard. I am not aware how to connect and use other forms of databases, but using it with Excel is pretty much straightforward and easy. The data can be changed and viewed in the dashboards in real-time and which even makes the discussion healthy because it allows us to brainstorm and check what will be the outcome of a particular business idea.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Failed to meet expectations

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server was purchased by the IT department in an effort to expand the institution's use of analytic data. Prior to buying Tableau Desktop, there was very minimal use of analytics data of any kind. Tableau Server was purchased with the intention of expanding the use of Tableau and storing data in a central repository for collaboration.
  • It's part of the Tableau ecosystem of products.
  • Easy connectivity to Tableau Desktop.
  • Easy installation.
  • Slow, even with a solid server running it.
  • Overly complicated.
  • Still not 100% sure why I need it in the first place.
We are a small organization, and it was a budget stretch to get Tableau Server in the first place but we took a chance. Our goal was sharing analytics data. Unfortunately, we found the product to be overly complicated. It was not easy to transfer data between Tableau Desktop and Server as advertised. That made sharing overly difficult, which was our primary goal. In the end, we chose not to renew the license and are pursuing other options for collaboration/sharing of analytics data.
Ultimately a key factor in our decision to not renew Tableau Server was the connectivity. It was challenging for end-users to connect and exchange data from Tableau Desktop. After the purchase, the Tableau account rep disappeared leaving us hanging. It is well advertised on Tableau's website, but in our case, the advertising did not match real-world experience.
Read this authenticated review
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2019

Tableau Server is a great tool for small, medium, and large companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used across our entire organization. Every employee at Qualtrics has a Tableau Server user, and we use Tableau Server authentication to display reports and dashboards in our company portal. Tableau Server is used heavily within each department, with dedicated analysts for each team creating and deploying dashboards for all employees to consume. Sales leaders view dashboards regularly to track the progress of their teams, and individual contributors view dashboards frequently to track their own progress.
  • Tableau Server is extremely well at providing a stabile system for us to host data sources and dashboards
  • Tableau Server is great at managing permissions for users, data sources, workbooks, and dashboards
  • Tableau Server has had some issue handling some of our larger data sets. Our extract refreshes fail intermittently with no obvious error that we can fix
  • Tableau Server has been hard to work with before they launched their new Rest API, which is also a little tricky to work with
Tableau Server is extremely well suited for a company with a few dedicated analysts creating dashboards and reports for a few stakeholders. It is also great at handling a large amount of report viewers, but it is more expensive because you have to pay for each user.
Tableau Server has been able to connect easily to everything that we use. It has had issues with larger extracts failing to refresh, but it has been easy to set up connections to all of our data
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used mostly by marketing to get a good view of their customer base. It covers the present footprint in terms of product ownership and the trend in usage of services.

Tableau is used by data scientists to present data to managers and executive. It has a storytelling approach that facilitates the understanding of data and eases the decision-making process.
  • Tableau server's portal and general look is really convenient and pretty. Users feel comfortable using it.
  • The learning curve of Tableau Server from an end-user perspective is really short. For the creator of content, it is a little more complex but easy to learn. Tableau has really succeeded in creating a user-friendly software.
  • From an administration point of view, Tableau is great. Installation and housekeeping are really easy and quick.
  • Visuals are really appealing and will help "sell" your presentations.
  • Tableau allows connectivity to a huge selection of data sources and data formats.
  • Online training for software is free and of very good quality.
  • Tableau doesn't (at least when I used it) have custom widgets or elements in the creation of dashboards. Its main competitor, Power BI, allows this. Because of that, some visualizations are challenging and need the use of advanced tricks that most users don't know about.
  • Tableau logs a lot of information, and sometimes, getting the right information from these logs when something goes wrong is challenging.
  • Tableau support is not the quickest. This sounds bad, but I have to specify that I very rarely had to contact them. However, when I did, the answer took a few more days than with other providers.
Tableau Server should be considered in organizations where you have several consumers of data and fewer creators. The licensing of the server will make you save and allow you to have some governance over your dashboards.

In an environment where you have a lot of creators, the use of a server might not bring a lot of benefits, because creators using the desktop version can open and modify other people's dashboards.
I've never seen a data tool that could so easily connect to data sources and a lot of them at that. Not only can you connect to pretty much every DBMS, but you can also do it without any additional components (licenses). Tableau doesn't have data connectors that they sell, you can connect to everything out of the box. You might have to buy drivers at the OS level but nothing at the Tableau level. You can also read in SAS tables and SPSS tables (I was not expecting that!).
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Kanthesh MALLESH | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

Tableau Server for Sharing and collaboration of Dasboards

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, we have adopted the Tableau Server in our environment. It has been used by higher authority people who want to get some insights out of their data. And also it has been maintained by the AWS team to manage and control the server. It mainly solves sharing and collaboration problems in Tableau.
  • Integrating with APIs, and also on webpages.
  • Version controlling of Workbooks.
  • Provides high-level security to the dashboards. It is completely isolated with other users who don't have access.
  • Adoption of AI [Artifical Intelligence].
  • More options for dashboard management in server.
  • Sharing an interactive dashboard with another environment is the missing factor.
It doesn't have any particular scenarios...but If you are using Tableau Desktop and if you want to share your dashboard with other people in your organization, then you need to go for Tableau Server for sharing and collaboration. If you want to share your dashboard by using cloud-based functionality, then Tableau Online is sufficient. Tableau Server is not required.
We are not using Tableau Server to connect directly to the data source. We are publishing data to Tableau Server through Tableau Desktop. If we want to create a new dashboard in Tableau Server, we can make use of this feature to run a query on the database directly. It is fast, easy, and supports all data sources.
Read Kanthesh MALLESH's full review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used by our organization to implement real-time data visualization and monitoring. The software is used only by certain departments. Tableau Server makes real-time data analytics easy for busy executives who want interactive visualizations and reporting without having to put too much work into what they are doing.
  • Tableau is perhaps the most aesthetically pleasing software to create beautiful visualizations that get updated in real-time. I wish this software had been around 20 years ago.
  • Tableau Server makes sharing visualizations across the organization seamless. I don't think I could do my job without it.
  • Tableau Server is used to create interactive daily reports, updated automatically and in an interactive style.
  • Tableau Server is sometimes referred to as simply Microsoft Excel with a power boost. I understand the reason analysts say this. It is because the software is almost exclusively a visualization software. If you're looking for truly advanced analytics combined with cutting-edge visualization, Tableau Server isn't it.
  • Tableau Server limits the type of graphs a user can create. There are numerous workarounds for different graph types, but they are not easy to implement.
  • Tableau Server can sometimes be slow to render graphics with lots of data and calculated fields.
Tableau Server is awesome for creating easy to understand visualizations for busy executives. An analyst can be up and running with some cool visualizations fairly quickly. But, if you're thinking of using Tableau Server for real machine learning, this is not the tool.
Tableau has live connections to every data source I have ever wanted to use. The most common data sources are Microsoft SQL, Microsoft Access, Oracle, and Excel. I have connected Tableau Server to other data sources, including AWS, Azure, and many others. I've never had a problem.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Reviewing Tableau Server

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau server is used across multiple departments, with the bulk users in our reporting and finance department.

It allows end users to see more comprehensive/dynamic reports versus
what we used. Our clients are now asking for access so they can start looking at reports that we have created.

  • It provides easier reporting for end users
  • It allows for better comprehensive reporting
  • It allows us to connect to multiple sources with one product
  • Desktop should not allow updates unless server is updated first
  • Need a better management tool that doesn't take a long time to start-up
  • Better documentation online
When multiple people need to look at the same report (either with or without Tableau desktop). Allowing users to see data dynamically versus an Excel spreadsheet.

We use a database called Intersystems Cache, which Tableau can connect to but it's almost impossible to pull data.

We connect to Microsoft SQL databases and Excel spreadsheets.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Tableau Server is an absolute must for getting the most out of the Tableau Platform.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used in my company as our primary method for sharing business insights. We build visualization dashboards in Tableau Desktop, then publish them to project folders in Tableau Server so that the appropriate teams can access their near real-time metrics.
  • It's good at doing what it is designed for: accessing visualizations without having to download and open a workbook in Tableau Desktop. The latter would be a very inefficient method for sharing our metrics, so I am glad that we have Tableau Server to serve this function.
  • Publishing to Tableau Server is quick and easy. Just a few clicks from Tableau Desktop and a few seconds of publishing through an average speed network, and the new visualizations are live!
  • Seeing details on who has viewed the visualization and when. This is something particularly useful to me for trying to drive adoption of some new pages, so I really appreciate the granularity provided in Tableau Server
  • I think the UI of how projects and folders within projects are managed could use some improvement. The organization is pretty straightforward, but it's designed for a large amount of content. Accessing a simple dashboard from one published workbook requires clicking into a Project then clicking into the dashboard to actually see the content. It's hard to describe without seeing it, but it always feels like there was an extra, unnecessary click. Seems minor, but this is an annoyance I and my colleagues face many times through the day.
  • There seems to be some formatting issues between what's built in Tableau Desktop (TD) and Tableau Server (TS), e.g., if I format some filters over a background in TD, they show up very legibly with the background as white against the color background. But when published the same filters could have the color of the background and no way to change it to white, and the font has less contrast for some reason. Seems minor, but it wastes a lot of time retrying then re-publishing just to get something to work as expected. The view in TD should be exactly the same as TS.
  • As far as I can tell, there's no way to put a clone of a certain dashboard into multiple projects/folders and have any updates propagate to those clones. Also as far as I can tell, there's no feature that tracks where the same dashboard has been published in multiple places. That means if I have a dashboard that I need to show in multiple places so those teams can access it in their native location with their other content contextual to them, I have to maintain a record of all the places I've published and re-publish to all whenever updates are made. And if it turns out the solution is there in the product, then the UI is clearly pretty dense because I haven't found it whereas this was an intuitive setting to find on a competitor BI tool I have used. I think this should be improved in the product since it's often necessary to manage the same content across multiple locations so various teams are accessing their single location relevant to them.
The scenario where you need Tableau Desktop is if you need to share the content of workbooks across a broad audience, and access it through an on-demand web interface. The alternative being downloading a workbook from some shared drive and opening it in Tableau Desktop. I suppose the latter could work in small team environments, but that would be very tedious for anything beyond a small project.
We connect using the Amazon EMR to our primary database, using the connector in Tableau Desktop. But we also connect to other sources such as PostgreSQL. Connection using a data extract is what we typically use, because a live connection is usually too slow of a user experience. So we schedule the extracts to refresh 1x or 2x daily. The connectors work well and the data scheduling is pretty reliable. When the refresh fails it notifies the appropriate administrators and has automatic retries. All in all, the broad connectivity options suit our needs well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Tableau Server Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used by our organization to create and use real-time dashboards and reports. It is used across the entire organization. Tableau Server makes it easy to gather data from multiple sources and easily create dashboards and reports for different users. The data can be updated instantly and allow users to view real-time data.
  • It can gather data from various sources and combine it in one place for users to view and use the data.
  • Visualizations created by Tableau can be easily modified and updated by users.
  • Tableau Servers can provide daily reports that are up to date, along with dashboards that can provide real-time data.
  • Tableau Server needs to provide more options to modify and update user-friendly dashboards.
  • Tableau Server can be expensive for a company.
  • Tableau Server sometimes takes a long time to load reports with a lot of data.
Tableau Server is great for gathering data from different sources and displaying that data through dashboards and reports that are easy to create and modify. It can be easily used on a mobile platform. However, Tableau Server can be expensive for a company, and may not be able to create all kinds of graphs, dashboards, and reports.
Tableau connects to all kinds of data sources, making it easier for my company to gather data and use it in one central location.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2019

Great product but not Cheap

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server to distribute dashboards to our entire company, as well as to our contractor to keep everyone in the know.
  • Easy to install and to set up
  • Navigation is a breeze
  • Security settings are great
  • Better alert scheduling
  • Cheaper licences cost
Well suited for companies with multiple sites, not good for places with a small budget
We use mostly SQL but we also use Alteryx to help with data prep
Read this authenticated review
Sachin Basappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

Tableau is a gold mine, be the first or last, worth a dig!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is used by a department and it addresses key issues such as device availability, performance of devices deployed, and enterprise reporting for roadway data. Tableau Server has helped store information and visualize it in a great fashion. We have great leverage over other systems because Tableau Server is standalone. Our future goal is to use it across the whole organization.
  • Tableau Server is compatible and flexible in terms of data connection and usage.
  • Tableau Server has the option of configuring on-site or cloud, which is excellent.
  • Tableau Server is economical and easily adaptive in nature.
  • Tableau Server could be made more flexible in terms of data connection and ease of use in terms of documenting.
  • In Tableau Server, the workbook folder itself should be made available with share options to web embed.
  • Groups should be enhanced with more test case scenarios so organizations can easily follow the protocols.
It is well suited in an industry rich with data flow and more room for public information. The reason behind the public information use case is that can Tableau can be made visualize value, and in return adds value to proof of concepts or detailed plan. Tableau Server is economical, and many organizations look for such products, as it is no harm to test and try such an enterprise tool.
We still have issues with live connections to our test environment, such as constant pops up with credentials. Other than that if you're not replacing your data source in a timely fashion, it won't connect/view your workbook and throws an ODBC error. Otherwise, everything connects and has great back up.
Read Sachin Basappa's full review
Eli Massey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2018

Tableau fits our needs as a small company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Vinyl we use Tableau to develop dashboards for insight into our business. It houses most of our day to day reporting and we are now developing our KPI system on it.
  • Access to our data sources such as MS SQL and MySQL
  • Ease of use and administration
  • Relatively small footprint for hardware
  • Reasonable pricing
  • Better exposure of the engine components for diagnostics and reporting
  • Having to uninstall the product and reinstall to upgrade is odd and cumbersome
  • Bring the command line options into a modern web admin interface with better information like backup processes and history
  • Admin reporting on use of data sources and ability to search out dependencies in the database
Tableau does a great job of providing a simple interface to access various dashboards by groups, and has powerful development tools, but they can be a little quirky. It would be much better if there were better admin tools to analyze data sources, the dependencies in the database, and who owns the various dashboards throughout the system.
We use MS SQL and MySQL primarily and have a mix of live connections and data extracts that work quite well. I would like a better admin ability to see what data sources are being used and the dependencies in the database.
Read Eli Massey's full review
Shoaib Yari | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Amazing product for sharing actionable insights!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used at Ellie Mae as a platform for not only sharing enterprise level Tableau dashboards created by our BI developers, but also as a location to host business specific data sources for end users to create their own ad-hoc visualizations.
  • Allows for easy sharing of data and actionable insights with an extremely user-friendly visual interface
  • Acts as an environment to implement and enforce data governance with centralized and certified data sources
  • Easy to deploy, scale to our specific needs, and monitor
  • Enterprise level implementation is very pricey
  • Dashboard layout changes if the screen resolution of the Tableau developer is different from the end user's screen resolution
  • Embedding is limited and difficult
If you want a BI tool with the capabilities to create and share rich, vibrant reports with advanced data visualization options, Tableau can’t be beat. It’s easy to implement and has a very active and helpful online community. If, however, you are looking for a more affordable option, it’s better to look elsewhere.
We connect to our data entirely via custom queries off our enterprise data warehouse on MS SQL. The queries are then made into hyper extracts and, depending on the query, published on to our Tableau Server to be used by others.
Read Shoaib Yari's full review
Henry Yennie | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Usable Analytics for the Right Price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is the backbone for emergency preparedness analytics for the Louisiana State Department of Health. As the lead agency for public health and medical services during an emergency, we collect a large amount of near real-time information from over 1,500 healthcare facilities. This data includes operational statuses, power statuses, fuel usage and needs, and census/bed availability. Tableau takes this data stream and transforms it into user-friendly visualizations for staff both in the field and in the State Emergency Operations Center. On a day-to-day basis, Tableau provides tools and interactive maps to our state trauma network so that they can determine the most appropriate facility for high risk patient routing.
  • Summarize complex data in an easy to understand format.
  • Very fast idea/need to realization timelines.
  • Ability for end users to interact with data sets, giving them filters, groupings and other tools to get the data they need.
  • Tableau's mapping capabilities are "almost there". We would love to have Tableau able to function as our sole GIS product. Each version of Tableau brings us closer to that goal.
  • We would like to have the ability to schedule data transfers. The new Data Prep tool is step in that direction.
  • We still have need to produce lists of summarized data. Making this process a little more straightforward would be nice.
Tableau Server is able to handle our data very efficiently and quickly. The design to publish cycle, using the Desktop Creator tool, is very fast making needed adjustments to visualizations very easy in a rapidly changing event. The ease with which a non-technical person can make changes to a visualization that is connected to our source data is unmatched. We can put this tool in the hands of "unsophisticated IT users" and have them productive quickly. This efficiency and usability is deeper with the mobile application. We now have field hospital coordinators using the mobile app to assist in patient routing and facility evacuations.
It has been extraordinarily simple to connect to our primary Microsoft SQL data sources. We have several data warehouses/data marts that serve up the normalized data to Tableau dashboards. Changes in stored procedures and views enable our technical staff to easily maintain connectivity to relatively real-time data, something critical in emergency situations..
We have consistently had highly satisfactory results every time we've reached out for help. Our contractor, used for Tableau server maintenance and dashboard development is very technically skilled. When he hits a roadblock on how to do something with Tableau, the support staff have provided timely and useful guidance. He frequently compares it to Cognos and says that while Cognos has capabilities Tableau doesn't, the bottom line value for us is a no-brainer.
Read Henry Yennie's full review
David Vander Leest | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

Tableau - One Stop Shop for Visual Analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used across multiple business platforms at Wells Enterprise. We have used it as our primary analytics tool and as our primary catalyst to provide self-service analytics to all business platforms. Our most active departments currently include Revenue Managment, Finance, Sales, Quality Assurance.
  • Tableau Server is a must-have if you want to easily foster an environment of collaboration of dashboards and analytics built by your end users.
  • Tableau Server has a strong and very flexible security model.
  • Upgrades and maintenance of Tableau Server are fairly painless.
  • Tableau Server provides a one-stop-shop for Tableau Desktop users to find data to work with.
  • Content Discovery can be challenging. Unless users have security to data sources or dashboards, they often don't know they are there.
  • Tableau Server doesn't natively support the ability to send PDF versions of dashboards to users that aren't Tableau Server users. An open source project was developed called VizAlerts that provides a workaround for this, but it should really just be built into the product.
  • There are no phone numbers to call if you need support. The only way to contact Tableau Support is via email. If we have an urgent problem we typically need to reach out to our account executive to get appropriate attention.
Tableau Server does a great job at visualizing data. It's very fast and flexible when dealing with data that comes from multiple sources. It also allows users to quickly pull in other non-federated data that may just live in a spreadsheet or file. Tableau is not necessarily the best fit if you want traditional tabular reports.
We haven't found a data source yet that we haven't been able to connect to. As stated before Tableau is a bit limited with Cube data sources, but it works very well with any database that speaks SQL.
Read David Vander Leest's full review
Dan Colbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Tableau part of the DNA of this OEM.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Tableau OEM partner. We are a SaaS company with a web application that incorporates Tableau Server in the delivery of analytics for the education space.
Through our web app - and by proxy, Tableau - our clients are able to run comparable analysis against a back-end data warehouse using the visuals we design, create, and maintain.
  • The visuals are beautiful and powerful, and the interface is easy to understand.
  • The Tableau REST API provides a very functional programmatic interface between our web app and the back-end server.
  • We use Tableau Server for Linux, which greatly simplifies the installation and maintenance of the server architecture.
  • While I have some thoughts for improvements in the Tableau Desktop application, the server environment is a powerful, growing, and improving software. No significant cons.
Tableau Server doesn't come cheap, so it is better suited for organizations with a large enough budget to get a return on the investment. It is also better suited for teams that are large enough where analysis-by-email can quickly become unmanageable.
We have not had any issues connecting to our data sources.
Read Dan Colbert's full review
Ryan Akana | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2018

Tableau - The One Stop Shop

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server as the main repository for all reporting needs for the entire organization. It is used by all parts of the organization, from IT to Human Resources. About 90% of the data is pulled from our various SQL databases within the organization. With less than 10% of the data coming from external resources such as clients/vendors that are merged into some of our reports.

We also use Tableau to pull data for some of our third-party applications, since Tableau provides so many options for connecting to different data sources. We also use Tableau to create reports for data that resides in Microsoft SharePoint. It has basically become the one stop shop for all our reporting needs. We are looking forward to Tableau adding a scheduling feature to produce extracts from their application someday soon, wink, wink! =-)

I will also say that the software, from an administrator level, is very simple and easy to maintain. There are a few maintenance items that must be completed such as running tab admin - cleanup, since there is so much information that is stored in the cache of the Tableau Server, but you can schedule that to run on its own. It easily integrates with Active Directory, making it easy for us to manage user permissions to the various projects in Tableau. We manage all permissions at the project level and we do not go below that as it becomes a nightmare if you were to do that at the report level. Save yourself some time and headache by managing it at the project level.

Tableau allows you to set up a PROD, QA and DEV environment under one license, which is nice. When we perform an upgrade we will normally copy our PROD server and rename it to a QA server to perform the upgrade. Once the QA environment is upgraded we have a few of our analysts from different parts of the organization perform rigorous testing to ensure reports, functionality, processes, and so on, are working correctly in order to avoid any interruption to the business. Once everything has been signed off by the testers, we perform a back up of our PROD server, and after that we perform the upgrade. We haven't had any issues with our Tableau Servers ever, and we are always on the latest releases for Tableau. We perform two to three upgrades in a year in order to take advantage of all the latest and greatest that Tableau has to offer in order to give you an idea of how easy it is to upgrade to Tableau.
  • Various connections to different data sources all in one product. We have so many different data sources within our organization. Tableau makes it easy for us to have all of our reporting in one place.
  • The ability to leverage the software with the company's growth. We have acquired three companies in the last 3 years. Our company has grown from 800 to 1500 plus employees in that short amount of time. Our Tableau Server is the same from day one when we purchased the software, and that was 6 years ago. We haven't need to buy additional cores as we have eight cores right now and we are doing extremely well for an organization with such large growth.
  • The process of how one manages permissions to the different projects saves IT time and resources.
  • I would really like to have the ability to schedule a report as an extract (TXT, CSV, Excel, PDF, or other) that I can either email, place onto a network share, or other transfer method.)
It is well suited for any type of business or organization. I cannot see anyone or group that would not benefit for a software.
We mostly just use Microsoft SQL.
Read Ryan Akana's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

Intuitive and easy BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Tableau as another BI tool, by the client where the Tableau server installation was used and most production reports were accessible here.
Tableau has proven to be a great tool for the collection of data from multiple data sources, with varying complexity -- we used spreadsheets, SQL tables as well as Google Analytics connection. The tool was a standard platform in a multinational organization and was used for years, so the data was already linked, including the local eDWH solution, providing support for regular as well as ad-hoc reports.
  • Many available plugins, incl. the one I have used for regional analysis (data enriched with addresses / GPS attributes)
  • Narratives (story building) is a great tool for creating and sharing your analysis with your audience
  • Data visualization is one of the best you can get today
  • Supports mobile usage
  • Connection to SQL database: by connecting it to a database, one has to employ an SQL specialist to write the script
  • No autosave function
  • No automatized notification feature (e.g. alert based on value out of range, in a report)
  • Very expensive solutions
If you have to quickly explore a large volume of unknown big data (really large tables), then Tableau is a great choice.
It is a great tool for any ad-hoc analysis that has to deliver an interactive story to management (client), it will not only deliver nice visualizations, but will also allow for drill-downs to the primary data and proof for your audience that your numbers in the presented graph are correct
The connectivity we have used was easily set up and involved files as CSV, XLS spreadsheets, Oracle and MS SQL database, Google Analytics cloud solution, as well as other relational data. Except for loading clean CSV files, you will always need a data engineer to assist in writing connections scripts, and creating a read-only database account.
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Sandeep Munagala | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Experience with Tableau

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I started with GOGO, Tableau was one of the BI tools used across the company, where we have distributed usernames to multiple people for their development or usage. I played a key role to enable Tableau as an Enterprise tool with AD Authentication (OKTA Integration,) which helped hugely increase traffic to the Tableau Server.

Most of the departments like Finance, Supply Chain, Airline customers, etc., use Tableau. The only department that I see we are lagging in is HR. HR is looking forward to automating the dashboards, but due to connectivity issues with Workday (as Tableau doesn't have a Workday connector,) we are unable to automate the dashboards.

The Supply Chain department is very much impressed with the tool, as they have had a lot of work reduced at their end. Also, they have better tracking of the vendor details & gap analysis of the stock purchase, which saves a good amount of money for the company by avoiding penalties for late delivery.
  • Saves plenty of time in Development Work.
  • Better Visualization
  • Flexibility to connect to plenty of databases, if not create your data set, using WDC functionality
  • Easy Server maintenance & very quick releases by Tableau.
  • Workday connectivity will help easy integration for HR department & this will encourage more usage in our company
  • Enabling the XML format of the dashboard will help easily share the dashboard, like in COGNOS
There used to be a lot of limitations in the past for Tableau to integrate with various databases. Now most of the time, if we are not able to find the connector, we are encouraging users to provide the source of data and we are automating using R script to download the dataset on the server and utilize it from the server This is what's happening in our situation where we help users to automate the reports. Tableau is flexible in these situations.

As HR data is a larger chunk of data, we are unable to automate using R Script and have security issues with Workday. This would be a scenario where we'd have to look into alternatives.
We use 80% native connectors, but as a work around we use Excel data to feed Tableau for any other data sources other than native connectors. Workday connectivity is important for us to automate the HR dashboards. While publishing, it's better to have a default to embed a password rather than always changing it to embed the password.
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
Brett Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

An essential part of our service offering.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a part of an Analytics-as-a-Service offering for our clients. Clients purchase the service and we create an analytic database that brings together a number of source systems supporting customer service operations, from that database analyses are run based on various hypotheses and visualized using Tableau Server, which clients have purchased seat licenses to log in to and interact with. The administration is handled by myself and my team. The business problem being addressed is not specific to customer service operations, but we utilize it exclusively within that environment; namely, that 5-6 source systems (Automated Call Distributor, Workforce Management System, Quality Assurance System, Customer Satisfaction Surveys, Customer Relationship Management, etc.) are interdependent and yet exist in silos. While all of them are required to operate a CX operation, one can only look at the effectiveness of an operation through the lens of the individual systems. We design a data model to allow querying of data across systems in order to create a full "customer journey" so that the customer experience can be seen from start to finish.
  • Set up and administration are very easy. It takes little time to implement and structure according to the business needs.
  • Broad customization is possible through the use of embedded analytics. Even without that - simple tweaks such as replacing the landing page logo with a company logo and modifying the logos within the standard tableau server interface allow for enough customization to ensure professionalism.
  • Permission structures are thoughtful. It's not challenging to create groups of users that are able to access only the elements appropriate for them to be viewing.
  • .\tabadmin cleanup is an essential function that would benefit from an automated run option through the configuration menu. Currently a batch or bash script must be created and scheduled.
  • Tableau Server extracts are currently very good, but occasionally if a user needs to run a full refresh from within the server environment it can end up appearing to have worked, but bad data has still made its way through. the only solution for this that we have found thus far is to actually re-publish the workbook with a fresh extract
It's useful as a simple client portal for BI analytics or for sharing analyses across departments; it's also very useful as a repository of common queries and thus helps maintain governance when people may not be as skilled with SQL as one would like. It's not as well suited to data science and I would be hesitant to recommend it in that scenario.
We utilize a combination of flat files and our Snowflake Data Warehouse. Because the snowflake connector is built in it's quite simple to connect to. It would be nice to allow users to increase the compute power of the snowflake warehouse being used from within the workbook. i.e. when datasource A launches its queries set the warehouse to a "small" instead of an "x-small"
Read Brett Mendes's full review
Satish Dharmarajan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

If you have the budget, Tableau Server is the way to go!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Rollins, the Tableau Server is used within the Marketing area and primarily with the intent of sharing dashboards/ analyses with the Marketing Leadership Team and at times with leadership outside Marketing. It allows us to share analyses, with the option to dive deeper where necessary and based on the audience/ questions of interest.
  • Having access to the server, the report developer only needs to send a link to the report to her audience, not the entire physical file or data behind it.
  • The reports are dynamic. As the data behind them changes, the developer is not forced to send new reports each time.
  • The reports remain dynamic. This allows for the user to look at what is pertinent to them and not necessarily a static version of the report. They can apply necessary filters as needed.
  • The report user also has the ability to create their own Tableau reports using the data exposed to them through the dashboard. Self-empowered users are that much more effective in their own work product!
  • Scaling Tableau Server comes with a big price tag.
  • In an organization that does not already have Tableau as its enterprise reporting tool, driving adoption is very tough. People tend to slink back into the comfort of excel analyses.
Tableau Server is well-suited for when the report layout can remain mostly static but the data behind it changes regularly: think sales performance reports. Now think about not having to create them more than once or emailing the refreshed reports. That's the power of the server.
It's not appropriate for a very wide audience when Tableau is the enterprise analytics software.
It is easy to connect to any existing data source.
Read Satish Dharmarajan's full review
Cody Kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Tableau Server: A No-Brainer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is a vital part of our data ecosystem. Without it, our data analytics and general reporting efforts would be greatly impeded if not completely derailed. It hosts a large majority of our internal facing reporting KPIs and metrics, and enables our business leaders to keep a watchful eye on the status of the company and its health.
  • It is able to extract data very efficiently, as compared to extracting data on one's personal machine
  • It is able to handle a large quantity of content and traffic to the reports hosted on the server
  • It is fairly self-sustaining and doesn't require too much maintenance, though it is hosted in our own environment.
  • Some of the metrics and data relevant to Tableau Server are difficult to get to, and it would be super insightful if it was more accessible and readily available to users trying to report on it
If you have sensitive data that you are wanting to share in a High Level Visual Analytics environment, Tableau Server is the way to go. Your executives will appreciate no longer wondering how their business is actually doing, but can in a lot of cases have real-time visual depictions on the health of their companies, or at least accurate as of the previous day (depending on your data ecosystem).
We haven't had any significant issues connecting to our data sources like Postgres, Cloudera Hadoop, MySQL, etc. There are occasional issues where it seems to lose connectivity extracting from certain data sources in our VPC, but I am assuming there may be other factors at stake here.
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Charles Bryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2018

Big Fan Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used today as our BI system of choice, primarily for analytical purposes. That is, our healthcare analysts use Tableau for ad-hoc analysis purposes. However, we likely will be converting our standard BI solution to Tableau in the near future.
  • Flexible deployment
  • Ease of administration
  • Security controls
  • Would love the ability to manage/maintain a uniform business semantic layer for consolidation of business rules/logic
  • The interface with folders/projects/workbooks is difficult to navigate and not intuitive
Our analytics team is big on developing narrative around data and we have found no other tool on the market to support that (and do so efficiently) than Tableau. It provides balance of standard washboarding and BI capabilities with unparalleled support for ad-hoc analytical scenarios (and distribution of those assets).
Overall good. However, we use Exasol, and the native driver (for some time) did not work when published to the server, so we needed to us ODBC to get assets to interact with Exasol properly. Less boutique solutions are solid.
Read Charles Bryan's full review
Don Babcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau is the centerpiece of our Business Analytics.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used across our entire enterprise as the primary vehicle for the dissemination of business analytics (BA). In particular, it enables end-user/department "self-service" in terms of reporting. It also works very well for embedding BA in mobile enterprise applications (iPhone-iPad.)
  • Self service publishing - Before Tableau Server, most reporting was done by central report writers on a request basis, and the backlog never ended. Now a great deal of the reporting is "self service" within the departments, freeing IT Business Intelligence (BI) staff to focus on the reporting tasks requiring more expertise.
  • It is VERY easy for folks to publish their creations from Tableau Desktop directly to Tableau Server.
  • Starting with "template" projects, many users don't have to have Tableau Desktop but can simply "clone" the template (data connections "baked in") and create new dashboards with nothing more than their browser. This is very cost effective.
  • We have created several Enterprise Mobile Applications for iPhones/iPads and it is very easy to integrate analytics provided by Tableau Server into our custom in-house applications. This GREATLY simplifies the development of sophisticated mobile BA tools.
  • They are already moving toward not requiring any special desktop software to create dashboards from scratch. It will be nice when they finally get there. The biggest hassle we have with getting new Tableau users installed is that Tableau Desktop requires Admin rights on the PC to install. We don't generally allow that, so end users have to get PC support staff involved to do that installation. All of that goes away when Web UI users of Tableau Server can do everything folks with Tableau Desktop can do in terms of creating new projects from scratch.
  • Tableau Server could be "Dockerized" allowing easier installation. Containerization is the wave of the future as opposed to "Full Stack" installations.
It is great for Business Intelligence/Business Analytic reporting. It is far better than using something like Excel and much easier to use. We have had some issues with folks with a long history of spreadsheet reporting having difficulty making the transition to a different paradigm, but that's not really a fault of Tableau. It's more of a situation where folks have been using a "hammer" (Excel) for so long that they want everything to look like a "nail." Once they make the transition, however, they never want to go back.
We are primarily SQL Server, Oracle, and Postgres. It does ALL of those well. The one thing I'd like to see that isn't really "there" yet is the ability to use REST API based datasources. That's harder because every API is different. However, most provide JSON/XML data once you've gotten connected and that should be readily consumable as a data source. Perhaps the ability to consume a Swagger/OpenAPI definition for an API and use that for schema info for associated JSON data. The hard part would be handling the authentication. The url would be straight forward. Perhaps they could take a page from tools like Postman.
Read Don Babcock's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.0
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.8
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.2
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.0
Publish to Web (80)
8.4
Publish to PDF (79)
7.6
Report Versioning (65)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.1
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.0
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
7.9
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.5
REST API (37)
7.5
Javascript API (34)
7.4
iFrames (38)
6.7
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese