TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGTableau Server is a great tool for small, medium, and large companiesTableau Server is being used across our entire organization. Every employee at Qualtrics has a Tableau Server user, and we use Tableau Server authentication to display reports and dashboards in our company portal. Tableau Server is used heavily within each department, with dedicated analysts for each team creating and deploying dashboards for all employees to consume. Sales leaders view dashboards regularly to track the progress of their teams, and individual contributors view dashboards frequently to track their own progress.,Tableau Server is extremely well at providing a stabile system for us to host data sources and dashboards Tableau Server is great at managing permissions for users, data sources, workbooks, and dashboards,Tableau Server has had some issue handling some of our larger data sets. Our extract refreshes fail intermittently with no obvious error that we can fix Tableau Server has been hard to work with before they launched their new Rest API, which is also a little tricky to work with,9,Tableau Server has had a huge positive impact. It has allowed us to quickly distribute complex dashboards across the company Tableau Server has allowed us to easily manage our entire employee base at the company and control the dashboards they view and interact with,5,10,6,9,8Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau ServerTableau is being used mostly by marketing to get a good view of their customer base. It covers the present footprint in terms of product ownership and the trend in usage of services. Tableau is used by data scientists to present data to managers and executive. It has a storytelling approach that facilitates the understanding of data and eases the decision-making process.,Tableau server's portal and general look is really convenient and pretty. Users feel comfortable using it. The learning curve of Tableau Server from an end-user perspective is really short. For the creator of content, it is a little more complex but easy to learn. Tableau has really succeeded in creating a user-friendly software. From an administration point of view, Tableau is great. Installation and housekeeping are really easy and quick. Visuals are really appealing and will help "sell" your presentations. Tableau allows connectivity to a huge selection of data sources and data formats. Online training for software is free and of very good quality.,Tableau doesn't (at least when I used it) have custom widgets or elements in the creation of dashboards. Its main competitor, Power BI, allows this. Because of that, some visualizations are challenging and need the use of advanced tricks that most users don't know about. Tableau logs a lot of information, and sometimes, getting the right information from these logs when something goes wrong is challenging. Tableau support is not the quickest. This sounds bad, but I have to specify that I very rarely had to contact them. However, when I did, the answer took a few more days than with other providers.,9,ROI wasn't really measured but the time to market was really quick. Within a few days, the Tableau server was installed and fully usable by analysts. The installation process of this software is really well documented and easy to perform. An administrator should be appointed to manage the platform. In our case, we went with an existing administrator of a different platform as this was not a full-time job. A few hours a month is generally enough to manage the platform. Tableau creates really dazzling reports and dashboards. I suggest establishing upfront the targeted audience for the consumption of data if you want to keep the license count under control. It is very tough to achieve that if you grant one to anyone who asks for a license.,10,9,10,10,10,100,1,Creating dynamic dashboards on customer buying trends Follow evolution of customer base through time based on several criteria Market share analysis with graphical representations (heat maps),Use of command lines functionalities to allow automated ETL process to prepare data, refresh datasources and Tableau object all without any intervention. Use with mobile for executives,10Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analyticsTableau Server is used by our organization to implement real-time data visualization and monitoring. The software is used only by certain departments. Tableau Server makes real-time data analytics easy for busy executives who want interactive visualizations and reporting without having to put too much work into what they are doing.,Tableau is perhaps the most aesthetically pleasing software to create beautiful visualizations that get updated in real-time. I wish this software had been around 20 years ago. Tableau Server makes sharing visualizations across the organization seamless. I don't think I could do my job without it. Tableau Server is used to create interactive daily reports, updated automatically and in an interactive style.,Tableau Server is sometimes referred to as simply Microsoft Excel with a power boost. I understand the reason analysts say this. It is because the software is almost exclusively a visualization software. If you're looking for truly advanced analytics combined with cutting-edge visualization, Tableau Server isn't it. Tableau Server limits the type of graphs a user can create. There are numerous workarounds for different graph types, but they are not easy to implement. Tableau Server can sometimes be slow to render graphics with lots of data and calculated fields.,10,Tableau Server has replaced Excel spreadsheets in much of what I do. The software really did save a ton of time and improved the overall work product. I think the ROI has been heavily in the positive. For analysts trying to get others to improve their reporting processes, Tableau Server may at first represent a negative ROI because others are unwilling to change. If you're unable to get others to change their habits, Tableau Server may not be for you. Tableau Server was easy to set up. The required headcount was as little as 1 for report creation. It's very easy to get up and going with Tableau Server.,10,8,10,10,9,The "Show Me" visualization is awesome. The drag and drop is easy. Customizing Tableau is about as easy as it gets.,Making calculations is Tableau Server is sometimes very difficult. Customizing Tableau Server for a very specific graphical display can sometimes be very, very time-consuming. Tableau Server sometimes takes a good deal of time to update.,Yes, but I don't use it,9Tableau is a gold mine, be the first or last, worth a dig!Tableau is used by a department and it addresses key issues such as device availability, performance of devices deployed, and enterprise reporting for roadway data. Tableau Server has helped store information and visualize it in a great fashion. We have great leverage over other systems because Tableau Server is standalone. Our future goal is to use it across the whole organization.,Tableau Server is compatible and flexible in terms of data connection and usage. Tableau Server has the option of configuring on-site or cloud, which is excellent. Tableau Server is economical and easily adaptive in nature.,Tableau Server could be made more flexible in terms of data connection and ease of use in terms of documenting. In Tableau Server, the workbook folder itself should be made available with share options to web embed. Groups should be enhanced with more test case scenarios so organizations can easily follow the protocols.,9,It has helped improve reporting capabilities from traditional to modern ways to view data. It has helped in terms of using new maps and charts for devices availability and which is unique and insightful. Interactive features attracted our client to look up business intelligence and other areas.,9,8,9,9,9Tableau fits our needs as a small companyAt Vinyl we use Tableau to develop dashboards for insight into our business. It houses most of our day to day reporting and we are now developing our KPI system on it.,Access to our data sources such as MS SQL and MySQL Ease of use and administration Relatively small footprint for hardware Reasonable pricing,Better exposure of the engine components for diagnostics and reporting Having to uninstall the product and reinstall to upgrade is odd and cumbersome Bring the command line options into a modern web admin interface with better information like backup processes and history Admin reporting on use of data sources and ability to search out dependencies in the database,9,We recently reduced our licensing due to scaling down the company and Tableau had a reasonable process to accommodate us. The most recent version we use (10.4) has been much more reliable - looking forward to the 2018 version that we will implement next month. Many times changes in version cause our analysts headaches by changing small things we don't always catch at first and we don't have the means to run a test environment for all of them.,8,8,9,9,9
Windows, Linux
Tableau Server
613 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Tableau Server
613 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 613 vetted Tableau Server reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 100)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jacob Rasmussen profile photo
March 06, 2019

Review: "Tableau Server is a great tool for small, medium, and large companies"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used across our entire organization. Every employee at Qualtrics has a Tableau Server user, and we use Tableau Server authentication to display reports and dashboards in our company portal. Tableau Server is used heavily within each department, with dedicated analysts for each team creating and deploying dashboards for all employees to consume. Sales leaders view dashboards regularly to track the progress of their teams, and individual contributors view dashboards frequently to track their own progress.
  • Tableau Server is extremely well at providing a stabile system for us to host data sources and dashboards
  • Tableau Server is great at managing permissions for users, data sources, workbooks, and dashboards
  • Tableau Server has had some issue handling some of our larger data sets. Our extract refreshes fail intermittently with no obvious error that we can fix
  • Tableau Server has been hard to work with before they launched their new Rest API, which is also a little tricky to work with
Tableau Server is extremely well suited for a company with a few dedicated analysts creating dashboards and reports for a few stakeholders. It is also great at handling a large amount of report viewers, but it is more expensive because you have to pay for each user.
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
Mathieu Gaouette profile photo
January 24, 2019

Review: "Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used mostly by marketing to get a good view of their customer base. It covers the present footprint in terms of product ownership and the trend in usage of services.

Tableau is used by data scientists to present data to managers and executive. It has a storytelling approach that facilitates the understanding of data and eases the decision-making process.
  • Tableau server's portal and general look is really convenient and pretty. Users feel comfortable using it.
  • The learning curve of Tableau Server from an end-user perspective is really short. For the creator of content, it is a little more complex but easy to learn. Tableau has really succeeded in creating a user-friendly software.
  • From an administration point of view, Tableau is great. Installation and housekeeping are really easy and quick.
  • Visuals are really appealing and will help "sell" your presentations.
  • Tableau allows connectivity to a huge selection of data sources and data formats.
  • Online training for software is free and of very good quality.
  • Tableau doesn't (at least when I used it) have custom widgets or elements in the creation of dashboards. Its main competitor, Power BI, allows this. Because of that, some visualizations are challenging and need the use of advanced tricks that most users don't know about.
  • Tableau logs a lot of information, and sometimes, getting the right information from these logs when something goes wrong is challenging.
  • Tableau support is not the quickest. This sounds bad, but I have to specify that I very rarely had to contact them. However, when I did, the answer took a few more days than with other providers.
Tableau Server should be considered in organizations where you have several consumers of data and fewer creators. The licensing of the server will make you save and allow you to have some governance over your dashboards.

In an environment where you have a lot of creators, the use of a server might not bring a lot of benefits, because creators using the desktop version can open and modify other people's dashboards.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Thomas Young profile photo
January 09, 2019

Review: "Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used by our organization to implement real-time data visualization and monitoring. The software is used only by certain departments. Tableau Server makes real-time data analytics easy for busy executives who want interactive visualizations and reporting without having to put too much work into what they are doing.
  • Tableau is perhaps the most aesthetically pleasing software to create beautiful visualizations that get updated in real-time. I wish this software had been around 20 years ago.
  • Tableau Server makes sharing visualizations across the organization seamless. I don't think I could do my job without it.
  • Tableau Server is used to create interactive daily reports, updated automatically and in an interactive style.
  • Tableau Server is sometimes referred to as simply Microsoft Excel with a power boost. I understand the reason analysts say this. It is because the software is almost exclusively a visualization software. If you're looking for truly advanced analytics combined with cutting-edge visualization, Tableau Server isn't it.
  • Tableau Server limits the type of graphs a user can create. There are numerous workarounds for different graph types, but they are not easy to implement.
  • Tableau Server can sometimes be slow to render graphics with lots of data and calculated fields.
Tableau Server is awesome for creating easy to understand visualizations for busy executives. An analyst can be up and running with some cool visualizations fairly quickly. But, if you're thinking of using Tableau Server for real machine learning, this is not the tool.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Sachin Basappa profile photo
November 02, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is a gold mine, be the first or last, worth a dig!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is used by a department and it addresses key issues such as device availability, performance of devices deployed, and enterprise reporting for roadway data. Tableau Server has helped store information and visualize it in a great fashion. We have great leverage over other systems because Tableau Server is standalone. Our future goal is to use it across the whole organization.
  • Tableau Server is compatible and flexible in terms of data connection and usage.
  • Tableau Server has the option of configuring on-site or cloud, which is excellent.
  • Tableau Server is economical and easily adaptive in nature.
  • Tableau Server could be made more flexible in terms of data connection and ease of use in terms of documenting.
  • In Tableau Server, the workbook folder itself should be made available with share options to web embed.
  • Groups should be enhanced with more test case scenarios so organizations can easily follow the protocols.
It is well suited in an industry rich with data flow and more room for public information. The reason behind the public information use case is that can Tableau can be made visualize value, and in return adds value to proof of concepts or detailed plan. Tableau Server is economical, and many organizations look for such products, as it is no harm to test and try such an enterprise tool.
Read Sachin Basappa's full review
Eli Massey profile photo
October 31, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau fits our needs as a small company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Vinyl we use Tableau to develop dashboards for insight into our business. It houses most of our day to day reporting and we are now developing our KPI system on it.
  • Access to our data sources such as MS SQL and MySQL
  • Ease of use and administration
  • Relatively small footprint for hardware
  • Reasonable pricing
  • Better exposure of the engine components for diagnostics and reporting
  • Having to uninstall the product and reinstall to upgrade is odd and cumbersome
  • Bring the command line options into a modern web admin interface with better information like backup processes and history
  • Admin reporting on use of data sources and ability to search out dependencies in the database
Tableau does a great job of providing a simple interface to access various dashboards by groups, and has powerful development tools, but they can be a little quirky. It would be much better if there were better admin tools to analyze data sources, the dependencies in the database, and who owns the various dashboards throughout the system.
Read Eli Massey's full review
Shoaib Yari profile photo
October 29, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Amazing product for sharing actionable insights!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used at Ellie Mae as a platform for not only sharing enterprise level Tableau dashboards created by our BI developers, but also as a location to host business specific data sources for end users to create their own ad-hoc visualizations.
  • Allows for easy sharing of data and actionable insights with an extremely user-friendly visual interface
  • Acts as an environment to implement and enforce data governance with centralized and certified data sources
  • Easy to deploy, scale to our specific needs, and monitor
  • Enterprise level implementation is very pricey
  • Dashboard layout changes if the screen resolution of the Tableau developer is different from the end user's screen resolution
  • Embedding is limited and difficult
If you want a BI tool with the capabilities to create and share rich, vibrant reports with advanced data visualization options, Tableau can’t be beat. It’s easy to implement and has a very active and helpful online community. If, however, you are looking for a more affordable option, it’s better to look elsewhere.
Read Shoaib Yari's full review
Henry Yennie profile photo
October 19, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Usable Analytics for the Right Price!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is the backbone for emergency preparedness analytics for the Louisiana State Department of Health. As the lead agency for public health and medical services during an emergency, we collect a large amount of near real-time information from over 1,500 healthcare facilities. This data includes operational statuses, power statuses, fuel usage and needs, and census/bed availability. Tableau takes this data stream and transforms it into user-friendly visualizations for staff both in the field and in the State Emergency Operations Center. On a day-to-day basis, Tableau provides tools and interactive maps to our state trauma network so that they can determine the most appropriate facility for high risk patient routing.
  • Summarize complex data in an easy to understand format.
  • Very fast idea/need to realization timelines.
  • Ability for end users to interact with data sets, giving them filters, groupings and other tools to get the data they need.
  • Tableau's mapping capabilities are "almost there". We would love to have Tableau able to function as our sole GIS product. Each version of Tableau brings us closer to that goal.
  • We would like to have the ability to schedule data transfers. The new Data Prep tool is step in that direction.
  • We still have need to produce lists of summarized data. Making this process a little more straightforward would be nice.
Tableau Server is able to handle our data very efficiently and quickly. The design to publish cycle, using the Desktop Creator tool, is very fast making needed adjustments to visualizations very easy in a rapidly changing event. The ease with which a non-technical person can make changes to a visualization that is connected to our source data is unmatched. We can put this tool in the hands of "unsophisticated IT users" and have them productive quickly. This efficiency and usability is deeper with the mobile application. We now have field hospital coordinators using the mobile app to assist in patient routing and facility evacuations.
Read Henry Yennie's full review
David Vander Leest profile photo
October 12, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - One Stop Shop for Visual Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used across multiple business platforms at Wells Enterprise. We have used it as our primary analytics tool and as our primary catalyst to provide self-service analytics to all business platforms. Our most active departments currently include Revenue Managment, Finance, Sales, Quality Assurance.
  • Tableau Server is a must-have if you want to easily foster an environment of collaboration of dashboards and analytics built by your end users.
  • Tableau Server has a strong and very flexible security model.
  • Upgrades and maintenance of Tableau Server are fairly painless.
  • Tableau Server provides a one-stop-shop for Tableau Desktop users to find data to work with.
  • Content Discovery can be challenging. Unless users have security to data sources or dashboards, they often don't know they are there.
  • Tableau Server doesn't natively support the ability to send PDF versions of dashboards to users that aren't Tableau Server users. An open source project was developed called VizAlerts that provides a workaround for this, but it should really just be built into the product.
  • There are no phone numbers to call if you need support. The only way to contact Tableau Support is via email. If we have an urgent problem we typically need to reach out to our account executive to get appropriate attention.
Tableau Server does a great job at visualizing data. It's very fast and flexible when dealing with data that comes from multiple sources. It also allows users to quickly pull in other non-federated data that may just live in a spreadsheet or file. Tableau is not necessarily the best fit if you want traditional tabular reports.
Read David Vander Leest's full review
Dan Colbert profile photo
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau part of the DNA of this OEM."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Tableau OEM partner. We are a SaaS company with a web application that incorporates Tableau Server in the delivery of analytics for the education space.
Through our web app - and by proxy, Tableau - our clients are able to run comparable analysis against a back-end data warehouse using the visuals we design, create, and maintain.
  • The visuals are beautiful and powerful, and the interface is easy to understand.
  • The Tableau REST API provides a very functional programmatic interface between our web app and the back-end server.
  • We use Tableau Server for Linux, which greatly simplifies the installation and maintenance of the server architecture.
  • While I have some thoughts for improvements in the Tableau Desktop application, the server environment is a powerful, growing, and improving software. No significant cons.
Tableau Server doesn't come cheap, so it is better suited for organizations with a large enough budget to get a return on the investment. It is also better suited for teams that are large enough where analysis-by-email can quickly become unmanageable.
Read Dan Colbert's full review
Viktor Mulac profile photo
January 02, 2019

Tableau Server Review: "Intuitive and easy BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Tableau as another BI tool, by the client where the Tableau server installation was used and most production reports were accessible here.
Tableau has proven to be a great tool for the collection of data from multiple data sources, with varying complexity -- we used spreadsheets, SQL tables as well as Google Analytics connection. The tool was a standard platform in a multinational organization and was used for years, so the data was already linked, including the local eDWH solution, providing support for regular as well as ad-hoc reports.
  • Many available plugins, incl. the one I have used for regional analysis (data enriched with addresses / GPS attributes)
  • Narratives (story building) is a great tool for creating and sharing your analysis with your audience
  • Data visualization is one of the best you can get today
  • Supports mobile usage
  • Connection to SQL database: by connecting it to a database, one has to employ an SQL specialist to write the script
  • No autosave function
  • No automatized notification feature (e.g. alert based on value out of range, in a report)
  • Very expensive solutions
If you have to quickly explore a large volume of unknown big data (really large tables), then Tableau is a great choice.
It is a great tool for any ad-hoc analysis that has to deliver an interactive story to management (client), it will not only deliver nice visualizations, but will also allow for drill-downs to the primary data and proof for your audience that your numbers in the presented graph are correct
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Cody Kimball profile photo
December 20, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server: A No-Brainer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is a vital part of our data ecosystem. Without it, our data analytics and general reporting efforts would be greatly impeded if not completely derailed. It hosts a large majority of our internal facing reporting KPIs and metrics, and enables our business leaders to keep a watchful eye on the status of the company and its health.
  • It is able to extract data very efficiently, as compared to extracting data on one's personal machine
  • It is able to handle a large quantity of content and traffic to the reports hosted on the server
  • It is fairly self-sustaining and doesn't require too much maintenance, though it is hosted in our own environment.
  • Some of the metrics and data relevant to Tableau Server are difficult to get to, and it would be super insightful if it was more accessible and readily available to users trying to report on it
If you have sensitive data that you are wanting to share in a High Level Visual Analytics environment, Tableau Server is the way to go. Your executives will appreciate no longer wondering how their business is actually doing, but can in a lot of cases have real-time visual depictions on the health of their companies, or at least accurate as of the previous day (depending on your data ecosystem).
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Subhadipto Poddar profile photo
November 29, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server - Connecting the visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used by our department to visualize displays. The transportation department uses it to visualize different performance parameters like congestion, delay, and other measures across the state. It is also being used to work in collaboration by different research groups at Iowa State University. Tableau server is also used to visualize different accident hotspots in the state of Iowa.
  • Access from any device
  • Worksheets can be managed online
  • Can change and visualize new stuff
  • Easy to use
  • Public server gives first few lines free of charge
  • Free lines are limited to 10 million per single connection
  • Premium is expensive
  • New data sources cam be published from Tableau Desktop
When you are using it to collaborate with other Tableau Servers, it is very useful. However, if you have data sets to be added from another sheet, it is not possible using Tableau Server. Tableau desktop version needs to be used to cope up with such a scenario. Thus we should have both Tableau Server as well as the desktop accounts.
Read Subhadipto Poddar's full review
Michael Tam profile photo
November 01, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - A world of visualizations at your fingertips."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to help our clients visualize their usage data from different angles. It is being used by a handful of people across the organization. It helps expose our big data hosted on Cloudera clusters to display them in a unique way.
  • Very easy to create neat visualizations in a professional way.
  • Easy to publish workbooks to Tableau server for global access
  • Different ways to group and slice the data
  • Custom SQL are not intuitive when dealing with Cloudera connections
  • Simple data tables are harder to create than complex visualizations
  • Large extracts are not very performant
  • Cubes are not supported on Tableau
  • Group aggregates and stacked charts are some of Tableau's better visualizations.
  • Simple data sums and data points are not well suited for Tableau
Read Michael Tam's full review
Justin Pulley profile photo
October 30, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server is the best of the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization, but I only manage 1 or quite a few. It is the trusted platform for visualization across the organization.
  • User management; you have a plethora of options built in (LDAP, Domain, SAML, etc.) for SSO and user management.
  • Dashboard Hosting; you have the option to host your dashboard in a few different ways. You can embed it as part of a larger web page, have it emailed automatically, or view it directly on the server.
  • Web Editing; while not as robust as a full fledged desktop I can see that it is edging that way. The web editing is great for fast, small, on the fly edits during a working session with a customer.
  • Installation; the latest iteration was an absolute nightmare to install. It failed to install several times.
  • Web Editing; while it is okay at small edits it would be a very nice feature to have an integrated solution that is as robust as desktop.
  • User Management; in certain aspects user management could use a small boost. Have a setting that allows Active Directory / LDAP based users be removed/deleted from the server automatically instead of forcing a script be written and deployed. If the user no longer exists in the AD or LDAP group they should be removed vice set to inactive as an option.
Server is appropriate anywhere really, but it comes down to cost. If you are a small org, say 20 people, that cost is going to be $16,800 per year. That is a steep price and other options might be more cost effective. Additionally, large high availability Tableau clusters increase the costs.
Read Justin Pulley's full review
Yigael Chetrit profile photo
October 29, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server Serves Organizations Well!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used across the entire organization and for client-facing reporting. Solves the issue of centralized reporting and a-la-carte reporting using automation and predetermined data sources.
  • Centralized reporting
  • Role-based security
  • Data visualizations
  • Animated time series visualizations
  • Custom filtering
  • Easier D3 integration
Tableau Server is extremely well-suited for centralized reporting within an organization, or for client facing reporting. There are some very useful visualizations that exist, but allowing for more advanced visualizations to be seamlessly integrated would be a huge benefit.
Read Yigael Chetrit's full review
Kishore Ummadisetti profile photo
October 15, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is definitely a leader in BI, yet there is lot to catch up on."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Tableau as the primary BI tool for Accurate organization. We used Tableau for creating dashboards, and we integrate those into our Clients portal using JS API. We also use the tool internally across all departments for data analysis and to build self-service reports/dashboards.
  • Tableau is an easy to use yet powerful analytics tool. We have created 100+ dashboards for our clients in a short time.
  • Tableau supports multiple data connectors to pull data from almost any database, and CRM tools. We are able to pull data into Tableau from multiple databases.
  • If your business is looking at a tool to put data in the user's hands and avoid IT requests overhead around reporting, Tableau is the tool.
  • It is not easy to subscribe to dashboards or send e-mails outside of Tableau users. We have to use open source solutions like VizAlerts to make this happen. I believe for a tool like Tableau this should be an out of box solution.
  • Even though Tableau is an easy to use tool, there is still a solid learning curve to get familiar with the use of Tableau. One should invest a good amount of time to get an organization to adapt to Tableau, especially if the organization hasn't already used similar tools already.
  • Tableau Desktop is powerful. Tableau Web Portal provides a lot of the same functionality as Tableau Desktop, yet there are lots of gaps.
  • Data blending is one of the more powerful features. However, this only works with limited data. If you are blending a million rows of a data source, we found it very difficult to blend.
Tableau Server works well in providing a self-service analytics tool. To work with live data, you better have the data in query efficient schema (data warehouse.) Tableau has a good security model. It is easy to integrate with other external tools.
Read Kishore Ummadisetti's full review
Thomas Cook profile photo
September 28, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server is a good tool for sharing content within the organization but still has some flaws"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server across the organization. It started in a business unit (Revenue Cycle, which handles healthcare billing, coding, claims, etc.) to help share information. From there it was shared with other business units, and Revenue Cycle also played a role as a center of excellence and consulting. Five years later it was absorbed by the main IT organization. Now we are in the process of rolling out, formalizing, and organizing that same role.
  • Democratizes information. Any user can share information.
  • The community is supportive.
  • Auditing has always been lacking. The repository has some information, but being able to see what is clicked and what filters are used is needed.
  • The UI has improved over the years, but finding content is still hard. People keep looking at custom portals or embedding content since it is hard to find.
  • The 2018.2 upgrade is onerous and we have been putting it off. Not just because of tabadmin to tsm changes but also because o the updater not making the upgrade seamless. I have to reset every configuration.
  • Backup and restore is slow.
Good for
  • if you want answers and interactivity
  • self-service
Not for:
  • well formatted and paginated pdf reports to print out
  • an Excel replacement
  • printing
Read Thomas Cook's full review
Anand KK profile photo
November 02, 2018

"Tableau Server Admin Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization of internal users and external users use the Tableau dashboards hosted on Tableau Server. We use Tableau to address health care analytics data.
  • The installation, upgrading and migrating to new hardware is straightforward
  • The Tableau Server admin can adjust the server processes to make it tailor-fit for the organization, hence increasing the dashboard and query performances.
  • The core-based licensing and user-based licensing of Tableau Server is very useful based on the required scenario.
  • Support for Exasol Data Connections in Tableau Server for Linux.
  • Publish Document Covering Tableau Server Architecture on 2018.2 with HA environment.
  • Improve historical reporting for extract schedules on Tableau Server.
The Tableau Server can be used based on different requirements and is very user-friendly.
Read Anand KK's full review
Scott Peterson profile photo
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Flexible easy to use analytics platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used to access data and view analytics across different groups at my organization. It makes data from our data warehouse easily accessed and viewed by users.
  • Tableau Server does a good job of making data easily accessible for consumers of data and analytics.
  • Tableau Server is very easy to populate with data using extracts and storing that in the hyper data engine.
  • Tableau is very fast for viewing complicated analytics - even better when using extracts.
  • Tableau Online would be better if it used Encryption at rest and in transit - this would allow my organization to use it instead of managing our own VM in Azure with Tableau Server.
  • More color palettes would be nice for both Tableau Server and Desktop.
Tableau Server works well when you need to present a large dataset to consumers of the data and allow them to both use analytics and visualizations they design as well as being able to download the data into a tool like Excel where they may be more comfortable working.
Read Scott Peterson's full review
Shaheed Ahmad profile photo
September 22, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server and IT"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for data virtualization.
  • We were using a third party tool to visualize data in SSRS reports. Tableau is very helpful to visualize the data. Tableau visuals are easy to develop and need a very minimal amount of IT support.
  • It would be better if Tableau could work like Microsoft SSRS reports work. Through SSRS , we can call the Stored procedures and pass the parameter, but in Tableau there are a few constraints.
Visuals can be made quickly and with out having much technical background.
Read Shaheed Ahmad's full review
No photo available
January 28, 2019

Review: "Tableau Server is an absolute must for getting the most out of the Tableau Platform."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used in my company as our primary method for sharing business insights. We build visualization dashboards in Tableau Desktop, then publish them to project folders in Tableau Server so that the appropriate teams can access their near real-time metrics.
  • It's good at doing what it is designed for: accessing visualizations without having to download and open a workbook in Tableau Desktop. The latter would be a very inefficient method for sharing our metrics, so I am glad that we have Tableau Server to serve this function.
  • Publishing to Tableau Server is quick and easy. Just a few clicks from Tableau Desktop and a few seconds of publishing through an average speed network, and the new visualizations are live!
  • Seeing details on who has viewed the visualization and when. This is something particularly useful to me for trying to drive adoption of some new pages, so I really appreciate the granularity provided in Tableau Server
  • I think the UI of how projects and folders within projects are managed could use some improvement. The organization is pretty straightforward, but it's designed for a large amount of content. Accessing a simple dashboard from one published workbook requires clicking into a Project then clicking into the dashboard to actually see the content. It's hard to describe without seeing it, but it always feels like there was an extra, unnecessary click. Seems minor, but this is an annoyance I and my colleagues face many times through the day.
  • There seems to be some formatting issues between what's built in Tableau Desktop (TD) and Tableau Server (TS), e.g., if I format some filters over a background in TD, they show up very legibly with the background as white against the color background. But when published the same filters could have the color of the background and no way to change it to white, and the font has less contrast for some reason. Seems minor, but it wastes a lot of time retrying then re-publishing just to get something to work as expected. The view in TD should be exactly the same as TS.
  • As far as I can tell, there's no way to put a clone of a certain dashboard into multiple projects/folders and have any updates propagate to those clones. Also as far as I can tell, there's no feature that tracks where the same dashboard has been published in multiple places. That means if I have a dashboard that I need to show in multiple places so those teams can access it in their native location with their other content contextual to them, I have to maintain a record of all the places I've published and re-publish to all whenever updates are made. And if it turns out the solution is there in the product, then the UI is clearly pretty dense because I haven't found it whereas this was an intuitive setting to find on a competitor BI tool I have used. I think this should be improved in the product since it's often necessary to manage the same content across multiple locations so various teams are accessing their single location relevant to them.
The scenario where you need Tableau Desktop is if you need to share the content of workbooks across a broad audience, and access it through an on-demand web interface. The alternative being downloading a workbook from some shared drive and opening it in Tableau Desktop. I suppose the latter could work in small team environments, but that would be very tedious for anything beyond a small project.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau provides agile, easy to use, and effective ways to visualize data. We have used Tableau visualizations to inform decisions regarding our strategic goals. It took very little time for our data analysts to become familiar with the Tableau toolset. We had several data dashboards up on day one of our implementation.
  • It's extremely intuitive to use the visualizations. Users can manipulate and construct meaning and additional questions from the data quickly.
  • Tableau is very flexible -- it's completely data source agnostic. It will take data from any source.
  • Our development team learned it very quickly.
  • While it took little time for our data analysts to crank out visualizations, it did take some time(longer than I expected) for our technology operations team to configure the server to share the sizes.
  • The server update process is rather cumbersome -- requires a full uninstall/re-install.
  • Again, while it took our data analysts next to no time to start creating, I've been in other organizations that have struggled with the feature-rich interface and complexity of the Tableau client. So, it requires the right personnel, with dedicated time, to fully leverage the tool.
Tableau is a fully agnostic tool for simply representing complex data. If thought is given to the design of the visualizations, they are very powerful and intuitive to use. We recently used Tableau to go deeper into our staffing. We looked at various demographic profiles of attendance centers to see which ones should receive more FTE. This would have taken much longer and been much less insightful without Tableau.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 01, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Insight into data from multiple systems in a single place"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau to aggregate data from a lot of different systems. It brings it all together to a single place where users can build and access reports and dashboards to gain insight into different areas of the business. The insight gained through Tableau across systems is essential to our business functions and would take much more time and effort to do manually.
  • Allows for aggregation across multiple systems
  • Allows reports and dashboards to be self serve for end users
  • Allows for ad-hoc reporting
  • Initial setup of data sources can be time consuming.
  • Some native connectors didn’t work as well for us like Salesforce. We had to build our own ETL process.
  • Setting up permissions originally was burdensome.
Tableau is great for aggregating data for reporting across many different systems. The perpetual licensing made it an affordable solution for a small subset of our company. It is nice that end users can create reports and dashboards without a dedicated report writing resource.
If Tableau is used for reporting outside the company to external users it can get very expensive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau as an embedded reporting solution"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in a single product using the in-line version in a web application. It is a huge selling point to the application suite as it allows the users to see the effectiveness of using the application. The visualizations are powerful.
  • Powerful visulizations that can be customized with the desktop suite.
  • Can be scheduled for emails or exported to PDF.
  • Supports many different charts graphs and has plenty of filtering options.
  • Default dates parameters do not work.
  • Not a lot of room for custom queries to the end user.
  • Desktop customization software is buggy.
Quickly getting a reporting solution integrated.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Tableau Server: "Review by a technician that embeds reports in a web portal"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across organization, augmenting our client-facing web portal that helps us optimize our clients' database marketing efforts.
  • Allows non-technical data scientists and analysts to approach and visualize data.
  • Allows reports prepared by non-technical analysts to be readily adapted by technicians into an always-live web portal.
  • Its "extract" capability, although imperfect, can help to digest and visualize larger amounts of data in a moderately performant way.
  • Consume hardware resources like crazy. It is implemented using a raft of heavy technologies, including Postres, Java, Apache httpd, and more.
  • It has decent support for tabular data, but this support is somewhat rigid.
  • It nags end users to upgrade their desktop versions frequently, even though this risks compatibility errors with the server.
  • It's a significant resource hog. To some degree this is understandable, but it is largely due to its use of many heavyweight technologies (Postgres, Java, Apache httpd, and more).
  • You can't change its use of port 443 when using SQL, forcing extra deployment complexity (e.g. proxy servers) in many deployment scenarios.
  • The look and feel of their "story" feature is surprisingly hard to customize (beyond basic style elements) -- it's "a row of blocky buttons" only.
  • It's geographic maps are fairly basic, and the UI controls for navigating them are clumsy.
Well suited when non-technical analysts need to approach and visualize data sets. Poorly suited for shops that are well-positioned to do their own, more nimble web application visualization (e.g. using D3).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (83)
8.8
Report Formatting Templates (70)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (84)
8.2
Formatting capabilities (82)
8.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (52)
8.1
Report sharing and collaboration (79)
8.5
Publish to Web (75)
9.2
Publish to PDF (74)
8.1
Report Versioning (62)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (68)
8.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
6.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (76)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (75)
8.7
Predictive Analytics (57)
7.1
Multi-User Support (named login) (82)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (80)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (81)
8.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (51)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (67)
7.9
Dedicated iOS Application (54)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (45)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (59)
8.0
REST API (34)
8.3
Javascript API (31)
8.1
iFrames (35)
7.8
Java API (7)
7.1
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
6.4

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Video

Learn more about Tableau Server: https://www.tableau.com/products/server Tableau Server is true enterprise-scale analytics your business will love. Share insights and collaborate with data sources, interactive dashboards, and ad hoc analyses in a trusted and secure

Tableau Server Downloadables

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese