Tableau Server

Tableau Server

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.0 out of 100
Tableau Server

Overview

Recent Reviews

Data Analytics with Tableau

9 out of 10
January 14, 2022
Tableau Server is an online platform to host and hold all the tableau workbooks, data sources, and related tableau data. Users should have …
Continue reading

Laddy's Tableau Server Review

10 out of 10
December 02, 2021
We use it to deploy dashboards that help our decision makers across all companies. It helps our sales associates direct their attention to …
Continue reading

Tableau to the rescue

8 out of 10
October 05, 2021
It is being used across the organization. It helps us visualize business trends in a nicely presented format which can be easily used by …
Continue reading

Tableau - Good Viz, Poor Admin

6 out of 10
March 18, 2020
Tableau is being used as one of several reporting tools. Its primary use was for creating dashboards that could be leveraged by a large …
Continue reading

Failed to meet expectations

1 out of 10
September 13, 2019
Tableau Server was purchased by the IT department in an effort to expand the institution's use of analytic data. Prior to buying Tableau …
Continue reading

Great product but not Cheap

10 out of 10
June 18, 2019
We use Tableau Server to distribute dashboards to our entire company, as well as to our contractor to keep everyone in the know.
Continue reading

Reviewing Tableau Server

8 out of 10
June 11, 2019

Tableau server is used across multiple departments, with the bulk users in our reporting and finance department.

It allows end users to see …

Continue reading

Tableau Server Review

8 out of 10
May 17, 2019
Tableau Server is used by our organization to create and use real-time dashboards and reports. It is used across the entire organization. …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 28 features

Customizable dashboards (92)

8.6
86%

Drill-down analysis (93)

8.4
84%

Multi-User Support (named login) (91)

8.2
82%

Formatting capabilities (91)

6.2
62%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Tableau Server, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Viewer

$12.00

On Premise
Per User Per Month

Explorer

$35.00

On Premise
Per User Per Month

Creator

$70.00

On Premise
Per User Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

BI Standard Reporting

8.5
85%

Ad-hoc Reporting

8.2
82%

Report Output and Scheduling

8.5
85%

Data Discovery and Visualization

8.3
83%

Access Control and Security

8.2
82%

Mobile Capabilities

7.8
78%

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding

7.5
75%

Product Details

What is Tableau Server?

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features

  • Supported: Administration via Windows App
  • Supported: Administration via MacOS App
  • Supported: Administration via Web Interface
  • Supported: Live Connection to External Data
  • Supported: Snapshot of External Data
  • Supported: In-memory data model
  • Supported: Multi-Data Source Reporting (Blending)

Supported Data Sources Features

  • Supported: MS Excel Workbooks
  • Supported: Text Files (CSV, etc)
  • Supported: Oracle
  • Supported: MS SQL Server
  • Supported: IBM DB2
  • Supported: Postgres
  • Supported: MySQL
  • Supported: ODBC
  • Supported: Cloudera Hadoop
  • Supported: Hortonworks Hadoop
  • Supported: EMC Greenplum
  • Supported: IBM Netezza
  • Supported: HP Vertica
  • Supported: SAP Hana
  • Supported: Teradata
  • Supported: Salesforce
  • Supported: SAP
  • Supported: Google Analytics

BI Standard Reporting Features

  • Supported: Customizable dashboards
  • Supported: Report Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Predictive modeling
  • Supported: Integration with R or other statistical packages
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to Web
  • Supported: Publish to PDF
  • Supported: Output Raw Supporting Data
  • Supported: Report Versioning
  • Supported: Report Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
  • Supported: Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization
  • Supported: Predictive Analytics
  • Supported: Support for Machine Learning models
  • Supported: Pattern Recognition and Data Mining
  • Supported: Integration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

  • Supported: Multi-User Support (named login)
  • Supported: Role-Based Security Model
  • Supported: Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
  • Supported: Report-Level Access Control
  • Supported: Single Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

  • Supported: Responsive Design for Web Access
  • Supported: Mobile Application
  • Supported: Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features

  • Supported: REST API
  • Supported: Javascript API
  • Supported: iFrames

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server interface and administration view 1.Tableau Server interface and administration view 2.Tableau Server permissions view.Tableau Services Manager (TSM) view 1.Tableau Services Manager (TSM) view 2.

Tableau Server Video

Learn more about Tableau Server: https://www.tableau.com/products/server Tableau Server is true enterprise-scale analytics your business will love. Share insights and collaborate with data sources, interactive dashboards, and ad hoc analyses in a trusted and secure

Tableau Server Downloadables

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesWorldwide
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Tableau Server?

Tableau Server allows Tableau Desktop users to publish dashboards to a central server to be shared across their organizations. The product is designed to facilitate collaboration across the organization. It can be deployed on a server in the data center, or it can be deployed on a public cloud.

What is Tableau Server's best feature?

Reviewers rate iFrames highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Tableau Server?

The most common users of Tableau Server are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 109)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is an online platform to host and hold all the tableau workbooks, data sources, and related tableau data. Users should have a license in order to use Tableau server and its features. creating security, folder setup, automation, data refresh are some of the best features Tableau servers provides. Scheduling the data extracts and dashboard refresh is the main scope of our project
  • Security
  • extract refresh schedule
  • subscriptions to workbooks & Dashboards
  • download data in crosstab
  • download workbook as image, pdf, twbx
  • permissions should flow from primary folder if changes are made later.
  • download pdf content doesn't have scroll bar it just takes snapshot leaving some data
  • data cache issues should be resolved
Ask data is one of the new and good feature that is available in tableau server. Tableau Server is well suited for a data warehouse build and handling big data. Tableau data aggregation, transformation, clustering capability is powerful and easy to implement. The choice of charts and visualization tools is outstanding.
Tableau Server on Linux supports a subset of the data sources on Tableau Server on Windows. You need to confirm that the data sources used by your organization are supported on Linux, and install any drivers required. Tableau Server will start a session for the user and the user will see the visualization. Of course, the user does not see the HTTP requests going on behind the scenes, but simply loads a page in your application and sees embedded Tableau content without having to signin.
Bob Ladd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to deploy dashboards that help our decision makers across all companies. It helps our sales associates direct their attention to customers for changes in business activity. It helps our MFG department plan and visually see future demands. We use it to analyze our forecasting and on time delivery.
  • It always available and allows us to make it easy for users outside of the building get their BI info.
  • It's easy to manage and takes very little daily or monthly maintenance.
  • The subscription service really helps users stay on top of things with their alerts.
  • Doesn't send out PDF versions of the dashboards.
  • Tabcmd is old and needs to be updated to a visual client.
  • It is sometimes slow opening dashboards and the new data methodology hasn't proven the improvement as promised.
  • Is well suited at deploying BI dashboards to any audience that has a license.
  • It not good at servicing users outside of the license for one-off reporting. Microsoft BI does this very well.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server as an add-on service to our SAAS product. It's integrated via API, using "Trusted Tickets" functionality. Multitenant environments. It allows our clients some self-service reporting capability using pre-defined datasources which connect tableau to their SAAS product database.
  • It's pretty
  • Installs easily
  • Impresses decision makers
  • Support is costly and practically nonexistent
  • Their windows server application is fragile
  • Product not well designed for multitenant architectures
  • Licensing is convoluted in ways
As a person responsible for administering their self-hosted product, I would never recommend this to a collogue. Fragile product + ineffective support = operations nightmare. It breaks frequently (upgrades, extracts, backups/restores, sometimes a service just stops during normal usage), and basic support (costing 5 figures/yr) with a 3 bizday follow-up SLA on downtime events is essentially useless for anything more than functionality questions (which take weeks to resolve). Stack restarts take over 15 minutes and are required for just about every configuration change. [I believe] the product was a poor fit for our use-case (add-on service for multitenant customer SAAS applications) for several reasons: - There's no supported method for changing datasource connections, which is a problem if you plan on publishing data sources from dev to prod environment without Tableau Desktop and manual effort. You'll have to make your own tooling to modify the XML directly (unsupported) - Trusted ticket implementation is secured via IP whitelist. If you want to use a modern SAAS product and not have to manage this IP whitelist (every change requires 15min restart), you'll have to write your own ticket-granting service over top of this API. - Security architecture offers poor segmentation between client databases. You can very easily provide customer A access to customer B's database. This danger is aggravated by the lack of a supported method for modifying data source connections in an automated fashion. - All users exist at a server level. This adds to the "poor segmentation between sites" argument, and also complicates things when you have 2 clients bound to different sites, trying to add the same username "jsmith". But hey, it's really pretty. Our product team bought it, infra team has paid for it since.
"What support?"
Support barely exists at the "standard" (5 figure) price point. The SLA's are terrible. They won't help you expediently in an outage scenario. Their approach to any server problem appears to be "ask them for logs until they solve the problem themselves". For functionality questions they're somewhat useful, but it'll take you a few rounds (over 2 weeks) to get the answer you need.

Prices for better support are around the same as a full-time professional.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used for data visualisation and analysis of our internal and third-party data sets. Tableau allows our business analytics team to assist the business in reporting, data visualisation, performance monitoring, and machine learning across multiple organisation functions - operations, marketing, finance, product, compliance, and automation design.
  • Data visualisation.
  • Analysis.
  • Dashboards.
  • Reports.
  • Worksheets, Stories, Dashboards different tabs are a bit cumbersome.
  • Limitations with Tableau Online.
Tableau Server is well suited for a data warehouse build and handling big data. Tableau data aggregation, transformation, clustering capability is powerful and easy to implement. The choice of charts and visualisation tools is outstanding. Customisation and dynamic data visualisation capability is superb. The user interface takes some time getting used to.
Tableau Server support is readily available and delivers a reasonably efficient service. The Tableau obline community is an invaluable resource as well. Because Tableau has become an industry standard tool, there is a wealth of publicly available online resources to build your knowledge base. Tableau's user guides and troubleshooting information are straightforward and easy to use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is actively used in my organisation for connecting to different data sources and viewing different visualisation for deriving insights from them.
  • Connection to different data sources
  • Creating meaningful visualization
  • Advanced Analytics
  • Tableau server can incorporate more AI visualization
  • Errors in visualization can be highlighted quickly
  • ETL capabilities can Ben enhanced
Tableau [Server] is a user friendly tool and is applicable for any areas where KPI can Ben understood by just dragging and dropping the visualization objects.
The Support Team of Tableau [Server] is quite helpful
October 05, 2021

Tableau to the rescue

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization. It helps us visualize business trends in a nicely presented format which can be easily used by all levels of management. Currently we use it for our sales projections, marketing analytics, finance analytics and other business analytics. It is also used to analyze monthly results across different KPI's
  • Visualization of data in multiple formats
  • Concisely present information in a dashboard
  • Allow multiple users to access the same reports simultaneously
  • Sometimes the functionality related to formula entry is difficult
  • You have to create multiple data sheets to create one dashboard
It is well suited where data is clearly arranged in a particular format and is less useful if the data is not in the format usable by tableau
The formulas are sometimes difficult to enter into tableau and that restricts some analysis to be performed.
Visualization within tableau is the best but the trend line graphs are not great
I have not used the support function of tableau a lot as I am not the administrator. Our data platforms team takes care of any internal requests for issues within tableau. Our organization as a whole uses tableau for creating different visualizations for management views and there have been no issues which have caused issues with the server
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used as one of several reporting tools. Its primary use was for creating dashboards that could be leveraged by a large segment of the company. The web enablement allowed for broader user adoption than other tools adopted at the time of implementation. Navigation of the workbooks was also more palatable to users vs running individual reports.
  • Visualizations.
  • Simple deployment method.
  • Easy to navigate interface.
  • Server administration is cumbersome.
  • Recent changes (after 10.x) have required rewriting of admin scripts.
  • Cumbersome licensing management.
Tableau may be well suited to non-Microsoft shops. Its methodologies, internal management, and overall approach seem geared more toward Oracle/Java shops. It also does require a decent amount of care and feeding. Backups, upgrades, etc., tend to be cumbersome and require some level of IT knowledge, despite how the product is often sold. Smaller shops that wish to pursue Tableau may be better off leveraging their SaaS offerings.
September 13, 2019

Failed to meet expectations

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server was purchased by the IT department in an effort to expand the institution's use of analytic data. Prior to buying Tableau Desktop, there was very minimal use of analytics data of any kind. Tableau Server was purchased with the intention of expanding the use of Tableau and storing data in a central repository for collaboration.
  • It's part of the Tableau ecosystem of products.
  • Easy connectivity to Tableau Desktop.
  • Easy installation.
  • Slow, even with a solid server running it.
  • Overly complicated.
  • Still not 100% sure why I need it in the first place.
We are a small organization, and it was a budget stretch to get Tableau Server in the first place but we took a chance. Our goal was sharing analytics data. Unfortunately, we found the product to be overly complicated. It was not easy to transfer data between Tableau Desktop and Server as advertised. That made sharing overly difficult, which was our primary goal. In the end, we chose not to renew the license and are pursuing other options for collaboration/sharing of analytics data.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server to distribute dashboards to our entire company, as well as to our contractor to keep everyone in the know.
  • Easy to install and to set up
  • Navigation is a breeze
  • Security settings are great
  • Better alert scheduling
  • Cheaper licences cost
Well suited for companies with multiple sites, not good for places with a small budget
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau server is used across multiple departments, with the bulk users in our reporting and finance department.

It allows end users to see more comprehensive/dynamic reports versus what we used. Our clients are now asking for access so they can start looking at reports that we have created.

  • It provides easier reporting for end users
  • It allows for better comprehensive reporting
  • It allows us to connect to multiple sources with one product
  • Desktop should not allow updates unless server is updated first
  • Need a better management tool that doesn't take a long time to start-up
  • Better documentation online
When multiple people need to look at the same report (either with or without Tableau desktop). Allowing users to see data dynamically versus an Excel spreadsheet.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used by our organization to create and use real-time dashboards and reports. It is used across the entire organization. Tableau Server makes it easy to gather data from multiple sources and easily create dashboards and reports for different users. The data can be updated instantly and allow users to view real-time data.
  • It can gather data from various sources and combine it in one place for users to view and use the data.
  • Visualizations created by Tableau can be easily modified and updated by users.
  • Tableau Servers can provide daily reports that are up to date, along with dashboards that can provide real-time data.
  • Tableau Server needs to provide more options to modify and update user-friendly dashboards.
  • Tableau Server can be expensive for a company.
  • Tableau Server sometimes takes a long time to load reports with a lot of data.
Tableau Server is great for gathering data from different sources and displaying that data through dashboards and reports that are easy to create and modify. It can be easily used on a mobile platform. However, Tableau Server can be expensive for a company, and may not be able to create all kinds of graphs, dashboards, and reports.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, we have adopted the Tableau Server in our environment. It has been used by higher authority people who want to get some insights out of their data. And also it has been maintained by the AWS team to manage and control the server. It mainly solves sharing and collaboration problems in Tableau.
  • Integrating with APIs, and also on webpages.
  • Version controlling of Workbooks.
  • Provides high-level security to the dashboards. It is completely isolated with other users who don't have access.
  • Adoption of AI [Artifical Intelligence].
  • More options for dashboard management in server.
  • Sharing an interactive dashboard with another environment is the missing factor.
It doesn't have any particular scenarios...but If you are using Tableau Desktop and if you want to share your dashboard with other people in your organization, then you need to go for Tableau Server for sharing and collaboration. If you want to share your dashboard by using cloud-based functionality, then Tableau Online is sufficient. Tableau Server is not required.
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being used across our entire organization. Every employee at Qualtrics has a Tableau Server user, and we use Tableau Server authentication to display reports and dashboards in our company portal. Tableau Server is used heavily within each department, with dedicated analysts for each team creating and deploying dashboards for all employees to consume. Sales leaders view dashboards regularly to track the progress of their teams, and individual contributors view dashboards frequently to track their own progress.
  • Tableau Server is extremely well at providing a stabile system for us to host data sources and dashboards
  • Tableau Server is great at managing permissions for users, data sources, workbooks, and dashboards
  • Tableau Server has had some issue handling some of our larger data sets. Our extract refreshes fail intermittently with no obvious error that we can fix
  • Tableau Server has been hard to work with before they launched their new Rest API, which is also a little tricky to work with
Tableau Server is extremely well suited for a company with a few dedicated analysts creating dashboards and reports for a few stakeholders. It is also great at handling a large amount of report viewers, but it is more expensive because you have to pay for each user.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used in my company as our primary method for sharing business insights. We build visualization dashboards in Tableau Desktop, then publish them to project folders in Tableau Server so that the appropriate teams can access their near real-time metrics.
  • It's good at doing what it is designed for: accessing visualizations without having to download and open a workbook in Tableau Desktop. The latter would be a very inefficient method for sharing our metrics, so I am glad that we have Tableau Server to serve this function.
  • Publishing to Tableau Server is quick and easy. Just a few clicks from Tableau Desktop and a few seconds of publishing through an average speed network, and the new visualizations are live!
  • Seeing details on who has viewed the visualization and when. This is something particularly useful to me for trying to drive adoption of some new pages, so I really appreciate the granularity provided in Tableau Server
  • I think the UI of how projects and folders within projects are managed could use some improvement. The organization is pretty straightforward, but it's designed for a large amount of content. Accessing a simple dashboard from one published workbook requires clicking into a Project then clicking into the dashboard to actually see the content. It's hard to describe without seeing it, but it always feels like there was an extra, unnecessary click. Seems minor, but this is an annoyance I and my colleagues face many times through the day.
  • There seems to be some formatting issues between what's built in Tableau Desktop (TD) and Tableau Server (TS), e.g., if I format some filters over a background in TD, they show up very legibly with the background as white against the color background. But when published the same filters could have the color of the background and no way to change it to white, and the font has less contrast for some reason. Seems minor, but it wastes a lot of time retrying then re-publishing just to get something to work as expected. The view in TD should be exactly the same as TS.
  • As far as I can tell, there's no way to put a clone of a certain dashboard into multiple projects/folders and have any updates propagate to those clones. Also as far as I can tell, there's no feature that tracks where the same dashboard has been published in multiple places. That means if I have a dashboard that I need to show in multiple places so those teams can access it in their native location with their other content contextual to them, I have to maintain a record of all the places I've published and re-publish to all whenever updates are made. And if it turns out the solution is there in the product, then the UI is clearly pretty dense because I haven't found it whereas this was an intuitive setting to find on a competitor BI tool I have used. I think this should be improved in the product since it's often necessary to manage the same content across multiple locations so various teams are accessing their single location relevant to them.
The scenario where you need Tableau Desktop is if you need to share the content of workbooks across a broad audience, and access it through an on-demand web interface. The alternative being downloading a workbook from some shared drive and opening it in Tableau Desktop. I suppose the latter could work in small team environments, but that would be very tedious for anything beyond a small project.
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used mostly by marketing to get a good view of their customer base. It covers the present footprint in terms of product ownership and the trend in usage of services.

Tableau is used by data scientists to present data to managers and executive. It has a storytelling approach that facilitates the understanding of data and eases the decision-making process.
  • Tableau server's portal and general look is really convenient and pretty. Users feel comfortable using it.
  • The learning curve of Tableau Server from an end-user perspective is really short. For the creator of content, it is a little more complex but easy to learn. Tableau has really succeeded in creating a user-friendly software.
  • From an administration point of view, Tableau is great. Installation and housekeeping are really easy and quick.
  • Visuals are really appealing and will help "sell" your presentations.
  • Tableau allows connectivity to a huge selection of data sources and data formats.
  • Online training for software is free and of very good quality.
  • Tableau doesn't (at least when I used it) have custom widgets or elements in the creation of dashboards. Its main competitor, Power BI, allows this. Because of that, some visualizations are challenging and need the use of advanced tricks that most users don't know about.
  • Tableau logs a lot of information, and sometimes, getting the right information from these logs when something goes wrong is challenging.
  • Tableau support is not the quickest. This sounds bad, but I have to specify that I very rarely had to contact them. However, when I did, the answer took a few more days than with other providers.
Tableau Server should be considered in organizations where you have several consumers of data and fewer creators. The licensing of the server will make you save and allow you to have some governance over your dashboards.

In an environment where you have a lot of creators, the use of a server might not bring a lot of benefits, because creators using the desktop version can open and modify other people's dashboards.
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used by our organization to implement real-time data visualization and monitoring. The software is used only by certain departments. Tableau Server makes real-time data analytics easy for busy executives who want interactive visualizations and reporting without having to put too much work into what they are doing.
  • Tableau is perhaps the most aesthetically pleasing software to create beautiful visualizations that get updated in real-time. I wish this software had been around 20 years ago.
  • Tableau Server makes sharing visualizations across the organization seamless. I don't think I could do my job without it.
  • Tableau Server is used to create interactive daily reports, updated automatically and in an interactive style.
  • Tableau Server is sometimes referred to as simply Microsoft Excel with a power boost. I understand the reason analysts say this. It is because the software is almost exclusively a visualization software. If you're looking for truly advanced analytics combined with cutting-edge visualization, Tableau Server isn't it.
  • Tableau Server limits the type of graphs a user can create. There are numerous workarounds for different graph types, but they are not easy to implement.
  • Tableau Server can sometimes be slow to render graphics with lots of data and calculated fields.
Tableau Server is awesome for creating easy to understand visualizations for busy executives. An analyst can be up and running with some cool visualizations fairly quickly. But, if you're thinking of using Tableau Server for real machine learning, this is not the tool.
January 02, 2019

Intuitive and easy BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Tableau as another BI tool, by the client where the Tableau server installation was used and most production reports were accessible here.
Tableau has proven to be a great tool for the collection of data from multiple data sources, with varying complexity -- we used spreadsheets, SQL tables as well as Google Analytics connection. The tool was a standard platform in a multinational organization and was used for years, so the data was already linked, including the local eDWH solution, providing support for regular as well as ad-hoc reports.
  • Many available plugins, incl. the one I have used for regional analysis (data enriched with addresses / GPS attributes)
  • Narratives (story building) is a great tool for creating and sharing your analysis with your audience
  • Data visualization is one of the best you can get today
  • Supports mobile usage
  • Connection to SQL database: by connecting it to a database, one has to employ an SQL specialist to write the script
  • No autosave function
  • No automatized notification feature (e.g. alert based on value out of range, in a report)
  • Very expensive solutions
If you have to quickly explore a large volume of unknown big data (really large tables), then Tableau is a great choice.
It is a great tool for any ad-hoc analysis that has to deliver an interactive story to management (client), it will not only deliver nice visualizations, but will also allow for drill-downs to the primary data and proof for your audience that your numbers in the presented graph are correct
December 28, 2018

Tableau Server Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The medical department uses it to keep everything organized. It works very well.
  • Very well organized.
  • Menus are clear to understand.
  • The product works without issues.
  • Their technical support sometimes doesn't understand the issues.
  • One technician may know the product very well and another technician may not know the product well enough and has to engage a different team.
  • Their licensing is very strict, doesn't give me many options and if you run into any issues, you have to contact the licensing team via email and only email.
Document management and scheduling work very well. No complaints about the product.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau provides agile, easy to use, and effective ways to visualize data. We have used Tableau visualizations to inform decisions regarding our strategic goals. It took very little time for our data analysts to become familiar with the Tableau toolset. We had several data dashboards up on day one of our implementation.
  • It's extremely intuitive to use the visualizations. Users can manipulate and construct meaning and additional questions from the data quickly.
  • Tableau is very flexible -- it's completely data source agnostic. It will take data from any source.
  • Our development team learned it very quickly.
  • While it took little time for our data analysts to crank out visualizations, it did take some time(longer than I expected) for our technology operations team to configure the server to share the sizes.
  • The server update process is rather cumbersome -- requires a full uninstall/re-install.
  • Again, while it took our data analysts next to no time to start creating, I've been in other organizations that have struggled with the feature-rich interface and complexity of the Tableau client. So, it requires the right personnel, with dedicated time, to fully leverage the tool.
Tableau is a fully agnostic tool for simply representing complex data. If thought is given to the design of the visualizations, they are very powerful and intuitive to use. We recently used Tableau to go deeper into our staffing. We looked at various demographic profiles of attendance centers to see which ones should receive more FTE. This would have taken much longer and been much less insightful without Tableau.
Cody Kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is a vital part of our data ecosystem. Without it, our data analytics and general reporting efforts would be greatly impeded if not completely derailed. It hosts a large majority of our internal facing reporting KPIs and metrics, and enables our business leaders to keep a watchful eye on the status of the company and its health.
  • It is able to extract data very efficiently, as compared to extracting data on one's personal machine
  • It is able to handle a large quantity of content and traffic to the reports hosted on the server
  • It is fairly self-sustaining and doesn't require too much maintenance, though it is hosted in our own environment.
  • Some of the metrics and data relevant to Tableau Server are difficult to get to, and it would be super insightful if it was more accessible and readily available to users trying to report on it
If you have sensitive data that you are wanting to share in a High Level Visual Analytics environment, Tableau Server is the way to go. Your executives will appreciate no longer wondering how their business is actually doing, but can in a lot of cases have real-time visual depictions on the health of their companies, or at least accurate as of the previous day (depending on your data ecosystem).
Subhadipto Poddar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used by our department to visualize displays. The transportation department uses it to visualize different performance parameters like congestion, delay, and other measures across the state. It is also being used to work in collaboration by different research groups at Iowa State University. Tableau server is also used to visualize different accident hotspots in the state of Iowa.
  • Access from any device
  • Worksheets can be managed online
  • Can change and visualize new stuff
  • Easy to use
  • Public server gives first few lines free of charge
  • Free lines are limited to 10 million per single connection
  • Premium is expensive
  • New data sources cam be published from Tableau Desktop
When you are using it to collaborate with other Tableau Servers, it is very useful. However, if you have data sets to be added from another sheet, it is not possible using Tableau Server. Tableau desktop version needs to be used to cope up with such a scenario. Thus we should have both Tableau Server as well as the desktop accounts.
Anand KK | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization of internal users and external users use the Tableau dashboards hosted on Tableau Server. We use Tableau to address health care analytics data.
  • The installation, upgrading and migrating to new hardware is straightforward
  • The Tableau Server admin can adjust the server processes to make it tailor-fit for the organization, hence increasing the dashboard and query performances.
  • The core-based licensing and user-based licensing of Tableau Server is very useful based on the required scenario.
  • Support for Exasol Data Connections in Tableau Server for Linux.
  • Publish Document Covering Tableau Server Architecture on 2018.2 with HA environment.
  • Improve historical reporting for extract schedules on Tableau Server.
The Tableau Server can be used based on different requirements and is very user-friendly.
Sachin Basappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is used by a department and it addresses key issues such as device availability, performance of devices deployed, and enterprise reporting for roadway data. Tableau Server has helped store information and visualize it in a great fashion. We have great leverage over other systems because Tableau Server is standalone. Our future goal is to use it across the whole organization.
  • Tableau Server is compatible and flexible in terms of data connection and usage.
  • Tableau Server has the option of configuring on-site or cloud, which is excellent.
  • Tableau Server is economical and easily adaptive in nature.
  • Tableau Server could be made more flexible in terms of data connection and ease of use in terms of documenting.
  • In Tableau Server, the workbook folder itself should be made available with share options to web embed.
  • Groups should be enhanced with more test case scenarios so organizations can easily follow the protocols.
It is well suited in an industry rich with data flow and more room for public information. The reason behind the public information use case is that can Tableau can be made visualize value, and in return adds value to proof of concepts or detailed plan. Tableau Server is economical, and many organizations look for such products, as it is no harm to test and try such an enterprise tool.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau to aggregate data from a lot of different systems. It brings it all together to a single place where users can build and access reports and dashboards to gain insight into different areas of the business. The insight gained through Tableau across systems is essential to our business functions and would take much more time and effort to do manually.
  • Allows for aggregation across multiple systems
  • Allows reports and dashboards to be self serve for end users
  • Allows for ad-hoc reporting
  • Initial setup of data sources can be time consuming.
  • Some native connectors didn’t work as well for us like Salesforce. We had to build our own ETL process.
  • Setting up permissions originally was burdensome.
Tableau is great for aggregating data for reporting across many different systems. The perpetual licensing made it an affordable solution for a small subset of our company. It is nice that end users can create reports and dashboards without a dedicated report writing resource. If Tableau is used for reporting outside the company to external users it can get very expensive.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to help our clients visualize their usage data from different angles. It is being used by a handful of people across the organization. It helps expose our big data hosted on Cloudera clusters to display them in a unique way.
  • Very easy to create neat visualizations in a professional way.
  • Easy to publish workbooks to Tableau server for global access
  • Different ways to group and slice the data
  • Custom SQL are not intuitive when dealing with Cloudera connections
  • Simple data tables are harder to create than complex visualizations
  • Large extracts are not very performant
  • Cubes are not supported on Tableau
  • Group aggregates and stacked charts are some of Tableau's better visualizations.
  • Simple data sums and data points are not well suited for Tableau