Looker Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
191 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 66)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 14, 2021
Johnny Pelter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used by our organization to manage and build dashboards for our team, both for our website and data analytics as well as some of our sales data in order to track and manage our sales kpis. Our sales manager and client services team have used this product to be able to track these and build dashboards.
  • Building dashboards
  • Great interface that is simple enough
  • Can collaborate with other teammates
  • Can be slow at times
  • Takes a lot of upfront investment.
  • Better on the go and mobile tools.
I would definitely recommend [Looker] for anyone. It is a great way to visualize data. I have also heard of people using Tableau, and I have used a little myself, but I definitely think Looker is easy to use.
The support team is absolutely awesome! It is so great and the team is super helpful.
Read Johnny Pelter's full review
April 07, 2021
Joe Hughes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker across the whole organization. It is used for integrated reporting (known as Looks) for delivery via email or GUI. Our company uses it for its own reports and we also publish customer-facing reports with it, on a daily basis. Essentially, it is a delivery program and some other things for our ETL process.
  • Provides interesting data, provided the databases exist for it to be sliced.
  • Delivery system is relatively easy to use.
  • Customers can pick up the report creation pretty quickly.
  • API is difficult to use, especially with auth problems.
  • The LookMLs can be confusing with referenced objects.
  • Maintaining on-prem servers requires a lot of maintenance.
  • In the cloud the data writes slowly.
For less evolved reporting, it is not bad at all. It is not designed to scale, fully. I mean that as long as you do not intend to scale, it is a good product for your company. Log aggregation level reporting is not suited for Looker. Customer facing data reporting is. As long as the reporting is not too multi-dimensional, Looker is good.
Actual Looker "premium" support is not too bad. They are responsive to issues and the only issues we have really had in the past is explaining our setup or providing access to our on-prem setup. Looker support is probably seen by others as above average. Multiple tickets have been resolved by them for us within a day.
Read Joe Hughes's full review
July 30, 2021
Vincent Fernando Juares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Business Operations & Systems department is currently using [Looker] to create a visual dashboard. We primarily use it to track our end-to-end business process efficiencies across different programs. We then publish these dashboards for our organization.
  • Visuals are amazing
  • UI is easy to use
  • Advanced formula creation seems to lack in comparison to other tools
All in all, you can create fast stunning dashboards from scratch. However, it can be a bit difficult to maintain in the long run as some advanced features appear to be lacking. We had an instance where we needed to use Tableau for a particular dashboard.
The self help documentation is very helpful and informative
Read Vincent Fernando Juares's full review
May 19, 2021
salman inamdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With a good Looker implementation, you can make something like analytics - which is usually difficult to put together and requires a complex set of skills - far more easy and streamlined for people who would otherwise have to rely on an analyst or others in the company for their data. Customer service at Looker is also top-notch.
  • It's simple to build a dashboard, save your favourites, and search for new content by visiting the spaces of your colleagues.
  • I really like how you can create your own measurements and dimensions.
  • I really appreciate the fantastic layout of the graph into Looker; I often copy and paste graphs from it into ppt. The fact that you can play with the Axis adds to the game's appeal.
  • It's also how we get data into spreadsheets.
  • Another time-consuming aspect is [those] table calculations are not saved, so they must be re-written whenever I run a new query or delete a table.
  • I wish there were more customization options for visualisations and more control over how data is displayed within the various visualisation options.
  • In comparison to other tools we've used, the visualisation options appear to be somewhat restricted.
This tool comes highly recommended [by] me! Prior to Looker, I briefly used Tableau, and I frequently see Tableau as the go-to BI method for organisations, but I've always had a stronger experience with Looker.
Read salman inamdar's full review
May 08, 2021
Elizabeth Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used by our company to make reports and graphs for both our own company initiatives, as well as for our clients. Our whole organization uses it at least to view data, but a lot of us work within the software to make it edits. This tool lets us build dashboards to show all of our company numbers simply and upfront.
  • It is simple to set up and create normal dashboards and graphs.
  • You can build from the templates or customize, the options are endless.
  • Interface is simple and easy to use.
  • Can be slow at times.
  • The set up initially can be tough.
  • Customizing visualization could be improved.
I would definitely recommend this tool for almost any company. You can create a company dashboard that shows all of your important numbers in one place for everyone to be able to view.
The support team is very helpful and can assist in any requests you have. They have a great team who are both friendly and responsive.
Read Elizabeth Turner's full review
May 03, 2021
Greg Alder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is an ETL (extract, transform, load) software, which means that it has the ability to ingest data. Users can create dashboards in various flavors, such as dashboards, reports and line graphs. The platform looks well-designed and is really easy to navigate. All the three columns and the dropdown boxes are well thought-out. These offer a level of customization to an extent that you can further customize them according to your needs.
  • The core-visibility lets you monitor your entire workflow along with live data.
  • The user interface makes the task of figuring out the data easy.
  • Find the relevant data that your business needs.
  • Build models on the fly.
  • Customer service could be more responsive.
  • Platform can be expensive depending on the level of your business.
I don't know of any business that doesn't need analytics and data mining in their business, so it is well suited for almost any business out there.
The support team could definitely be better in terms of response time. Anytime I have had issues and sent emails, it took days to receive a response back. Sometime issues are urgent.
Read Greg Alder's full review
May 02, 2021
Jun Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mostly use Looker to manage our social media numbers and turn that into reports and visual data for the rest of the team and for our clients. I know a lot of the rest of the company uses this tool as well, but this is the purpose specifically for me.
  • Looker is easy to learn which is helpful because I can show other members of our team how to edit existing charts and graphs or reports.
  • Looker customer service team is very supportive and helpful for us.
  • Looker saves us a lot of time
  • Some of the customization tools for graphs and charts could be improved.
  • Could have a cheaper version is people are using for less complicated tasks.
Looker is well suited for pretty much any level of data visualization. Really the choice of software comes down to what other software you use that it integrates with.
The support team is very helpful and assists us with anything that we need. It is one of the main reasons why we chose this software.
Read Jun Nguyen's full review
May 02, 2021
Ron Iver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker for data migration and visualization. It is great for turning loads of data into meaningful graphs and charts that can be made sense of. It helps us drive decisions that make sense for our company.
  • Data migration
  • Data visualization
  • Graphing
  • Charting
  • Interface
  • Customer support
  • Onboarding
Looker is great software for visualizing data and developing business strategy. If you can manage this data in excel or sheets then you may not need Looker but if you have more data, then Looker is a great tool.
The support team could be better as they are not very responsive.
Read Ron Iver's full review
April 30, 2021
Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker currently is being used by our organization to make business decisions on buying or selling inventory in the ad tech space. The key decisions being made allow for the KPIs to give a larger return on investment or minimize cap losses based on the reporting the metrics that looker provides for us.
  • Ease of use of report creation
  • SQL syntax to modify or create reports
  • Drag and drop functionalities
  • Dashboard creation
  • More data source connections
  • Licensing model
  • Integration with Active Directory or LDAP. Only OKTA for now.
If you are looking at Looker for key performance metrics for IT-related things (like a data dog aspect), this will not be the use case you would want to use Looker. This is great for looking at the overall performance of sales, inventory, and dashboards of information related to the business itself.
Never had to work with support for issues. Any questions we had, they would respond promptly and clearly. The one-time setup was easy, by reading documentation. If the feature is not supported, they will add a feature request. In this case, LDAP support was requested over OKTA. They are looking into it.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
April 30, 2021
David Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker to be able to visually analyze our data. It is being used by most of our organization, but especially our Operations team. I believe this is a support important tool because just having the data only tells half of the story if you cannot visualize it and be able to notice trends and reasons for discrepancies in data.
  • user friendly
  • searching
  • visualization
  • limited charting
  • interface
  • not as widely used
I definitely would recommend Looker, it is an awesome tool. Though I do like it more, the only reason I would not recommend it is because it is not the most widely used tool for this type of software and there are not as many resources out there online for it.
The support team is very helpful and responsive if you reach out to them with any questions.
Read David Turner's full review
June 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used by our business as a tool to display complex datasets which include forecasts, units sold, customer demographic and overall business pipeline. It is predominantly used by the Marketing department, but is often delved into by the Finance team and the Sales team as well. The business problem we have is that we have a lot of datasets that are not on one system and therefore cause confusion when we are looking to do presentations and look at the overall view of each quarter. Having Looker is great in that we can use it to create dashboards where we've integrated datasets from various different places to create charts that are easily digestable for the team.
  • Easy to read charts
  • Lots of integrations
  • Great for analysing data
  • Dashboards could look better
  • Could be more complex
  • Lacks real customisation
Looker is one of those tools that is easy to pick up and play with, even though you would probably need an hour or two to get used to the dashboard and do some training. Once you get the hang of it, it is easy enough to start pulling in data and displaying them on charts. There is an Explore view which allows you to look at various metrics and pull them all into one chart, displaying the information you need on an easy-to-read view. This comes in handy when you have data from various places and need to put them all in one place. Where it is less appropriate is for the data analysts, who are used to this kind of information and need deeper analytics. Looker does not provide anything in further detail than what you've added, so it is a bit of a push to try and get analysts to want to use it, when they can easily take the data offline and do what they like with it.
Looker's support was key to getting us up and running and the conversations we had with them on calls, through video, were extremely helpful as it didn't take us long to start playing around with the tool and getting used to it. It wasn't long before we were building our own dashboards. Because of the simplicity, we didn't really need Support's help after that, although there have been one or two questions posed, where the team would take a little longer to respond than anticipated. Overall though, the support has been good.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used by our organization in order to connect databases and create data models so we can make data driven decisions for our organization. It is only being used by our team who conducts data analysis, though we do of course share the results of the analysis with the rest of the team. It solves the problem of displaying data in a visual way.
  • User friendly.
  • Good UI.
  • Reporting.
  • CPU usage.
  • Slow.
  • Bugs.
Looker is well suited for a larger organization that has a lot of data that needs to be modeled for the business. It makes it easy to manage and process this data and display it in a way that makes sense.
The support team is absolutely awesome. Looker has one of the best customer supports out there.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used across our entire organization and by every single department. We generally use Looker to address business-related metrics like health checks, MRR, C$R. It is a single source for us to determine how our business is progressing. It is a great tool to get cross-functional data and use that to provide feedback or make changes to our structure or initiatives.
  • SQL Capabilities
  • Pivots and calculations
  • Easy filtering
  • The visualization isn't the best
  • The left sidebar coloring makes it hard to see what is selected (bad for accessibility)
I love Looker and it helps on the "money" side of the business to see where you stand. I generally don't like using it for product data because the visualization isn't great. If you are comfortable and familiar with excel and SQL, Looker is an easy transition and you will pick it up quite quickly.
N/A I have never had to contact support
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
- It is being used by a particular department but the plan is to expand the usage across the organization.
- It provides the capability to work with and pull data from many different systems.
- It helps the department improve its business decisions as it offers accurate, real-time data insights.
  • It makes it easy for administrators to improve platform adoption as it is easy to integrate in the existing system.
  • It has the ability to create and periodically update the data cache within the database
  • They have a very good chat support system
  • It is very expensive
  • There are not a lot of trainings or documentation available
  • Not a lot of customisation is possible with this tool
Appropriate scenarios:
- It has the ability to easily integrate with the existing softwares

Less suitable scenarios:
- It is expensive so it is not suitable for small teams
- Customization of visuals created by the software is sometimes difficult
- They have one of the best chat support platforms
- The query raised is answered on time and meets all the requirements of the concerns raised
- They also ask for feedback of the service they provide so that they can improve their existing chat bots and service.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Kevin Yip | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker was basically developed for our Circulation Dept. Since they have DFP data in the data warehouse already, We were using Yieldex for advertising reporting but it is pricey. I started building dashboards for our advertising department and people love it. My VP is planning to work with other Hearst newspapers to get them on board.
  • It allows you to create looks for routine focus analysis.
  • It allows you to build a dashboard simply by combining looks.
  • The reports are easily shared simply by forwarding the link.
  • Your work will unlikely be altered by other people with the option of 'Explore Here'.
  • The charts are pretty basic.
  • Presenting KPIs on the dashboard requires combining different 'looks' instead of one look including all.
  • 'Look' cannot be exported in PDF format.
  • It requires a lot of work to include multimedia.
  • It requires good knowledge of SQL. (but once everything has been built, the users do not need it.)
  • Deep learning curve.
Looker is well suited for companies with a data team. It's more suited for internal reporting because the presentation is pretty basic. It does not let you export as Powerpoint and no options for a custom cover page. It is less suited for companies with no data team and no SQL knowledge.
Read Kevin Yip's full review
October 03, 2019
Dustin Hovey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is used by many departments in our organization as a hub for business intelligence data. We are all able to access data dashboards in a smooth and slick UI for various uses, including sales, marketing, and research. It's a great way for stakeholders across the organization to view customized, high and low-level metrics. We can use data from Looker for detailed analysis and reports that are shared across units such as BizOps and Marketing.
  • It's user-friendly enough to democratize data for the entire organization; it's functional enough to be used by all users regardless of their experience with BI tools.
  • Ability to quickly connect to data sources without heavy back-end data engineering requirements.
  • Filters, visualization and data elements keep all of the information front and center and logically ordered for a power user.
  • It can be difficult to customize the visualizations.
  • Security groups and content restrictions can be confusing to set up and maintain.
  • The tool can slow down for large and complex queries.
Looker is a great tool when it has a lot of data to ingest and a lot of sources to link to. Since Looker works best at scale it is likely best for the organizations that operate at scale (medium to large business), specifically, organizations that a juggling multiple marketing/sales channels.
Read Dustin Hovey's full review
September 28, 2019
Maddie Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker to analyze leads data to determine billing, as well as the efficacy of our different referral paths and PPC efforts. I find it relatively easy to use once you learn the hierarchy of the system, and easy to manipulate on the fly when I need to pull data while I'm on the phone with a customer.
  • Easily modify saved reports to highlight specific points of interest.
  • Report across multiple clients, lead paths and referral objects.
  • Save reports to come back to frequently visited reports for real time updates.
  • It was definitely tricky getting started. However, once you learn how the system classifies and organizes, it gets a lot easier.
  • Sometimes Looker takes too long to load, and as a result won't find the object you're looking for.
  • Occasional run-ins with the spinning wheel of death.
It works really effectively to highlight activity within a specific brand. It's an excellent tool to reference the same reports with updated information, and it's easy enough to modify 1 thing to be able to access the same info across many clients.
Read Maddie Morris's full review
September 14, 2019
Jasmeet S Babra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is used company-wide, and it allows any analyst or business user to make smart decisions backed by data. Looker connects to all of our databases, be it AWS or GCP, and helps us to mash and analyze it in a single space.
  • Email schedules for reports.
  • Dashboard reporting.
  • New and advanced charting, and analytical capabilities.
  • It does very well with query optimization and displaying results.
  • More charting colors and default scheme options.
Looker is the best BI tool for an enterprise-level company. It allows everyone to work on their space and create reports and dashboards. They have done a great job with their own simpler version of SQL like language to set up tables, called lookml, which is very easy to write, and the documentation on it is excellent! Their customer support is phenomenal! What could be better are their filtering options and visualization options.
Looker support specialists are heroes. They are knowledgeable, smart, and always vouch for your success. The availability is super quick, and even if there is no current solution for my problem, they will address it and voice it as feedback for a product.
Read Jasmeet S Babra's full review
September 13, 2019
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker was being used by the entire organization. We also wanted to use Looker externally for our merchant dashboards, but that option turned out to be too expensive. We focused more on using it internally by our sales, finance, marketing, and engineering teams to build dashboards that we could use for internal analytics.
  • We were able to create a data model that was consistent with all users.
  • We were able to customize our dashboards to our needs.
  • Very simple tasks are very complicated in Looker. It is complicated for users to be able to create their own calculation, as these measures have to be added to the data model.
  • Very simple calculations are complicated to add to the data model.
Looker is extremely well suited for a large company that can devote a large number of resources to running and maintaining Looker. It is also great if you have a large analytics initiative and you need a consistent data model in order to avoid different analytics based on the same topic.
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
August 09, 2019
Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker in just the administrative side of our organization rather than throughout the whole group. This is mainly due to the specific purpose of the software and also because it can be a little difficult to use for non-trained individuals. The best aspect of it is its ability to quickly share and present BI data to anyone.
  • Great management of complex and large amounts of data.
  • Stunning visuals.
  • Easy sharing of products and results.
  • Mobile version is not the same caliber as the full version.
  • Usage can become complex when performing unusual processes.
  • Loading data can sometimes take a while.
Looker is an excellent option for managing and displaying complex business data without too much hassle or waiting. This ability allows us to quickly understand trends and statistics, but it should not be used for in-depth statistical analysis. It is a great first stop when looking at data, but other software should be used for further research.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using Looker to peer into our own organization's internal data which is contained in our data warehouse. Looker is now used by everyone within our company in order to have operational insights across operations, finance, sales... all the way to the C-suite. We've been very impressed.
  • It's on-demand and in the cloud, we don't have to mess with AMIs or scaling issues
  • Looker's data domain creating tool is better than anything we've seen
  • LookML, Looker's specialized language is incredibly extensible and allows us to connect and visualize almost any data type
  • Looker is expensive
  • Looker's solution is pretty much set, they come out with new features, but because it's hosted, you don't have a ton of extensibility
  • Creating public dashboards seem a bit difficult
If you're a company who's been in business for a few years, and can afford a Looker license, then I wouldn't really look anywhere else. We've looked at a TON of data analytics/BI tools over the years and Looker is, by far, the best we've seen. However, that comes with a cost. If you're a new startup, Looker probably isn't appropriate for you because of the cost.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used across the whole organization. Looker is our main visualization tool for all of our company reporting.
  • Easy visualization based on SQL Logic.
  • Easy to create pull and push changes.
  • Beautiful graphs.
  • Custom SQL writers can be slow.
  • Sometimes development mode has errors for no reason.
Looker is very well suited for analytics teams. It is super easy for analysts to create visualizations that are tied to data pipelines, and very easy for us to make changes. However, the Explore function might be harder for non-technical audiences to understand and therefore we needed to put on a lot of training for stakeholders.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Looker throughout the whole company. We decided to use it after careful consideration and even considering building the tool internally but realized it was going to be too expensive and time-consuming. We use it for building all sorts of reports and tracking and to do data validation.
  • Great place to combine all your data and make sources talk to each other.
  • The dashboard building is very easy and gives you a chance to create and judge any data you need.
  • With the reports, you can set up a save and then have them emailed to you automatically. It is a fantastic way of not having to recreate things all the time.
  • It takes quite a bit of time to set up initially and the onboarding process is long.
  • You need to have an internal team that is dedicated to just setting it up and getting the rest of the people on board.
  • The reports take some time to build initially and it's not overly intuitive.
It is great if you have a lot of data sources and are struggling to keep them in one place where you can also analyze it. Looker is great for helping create and keep track of data and reports that might be coming from many different places. On the other hand, if you are already using something that helps create reports and analyze data while not having many data sources, this might not be as useful.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is used as our main data warehouse and analytics system within our business. It is used across the entire organization and by every department. The business has a lot of data in a lot of different places so we feed a lot of that data into Looker to do segmentation, analysis and reporting throughout the entire business.
  • Segmentation of users when feeding in product usage data.
  • Segmentation of high value, medium value, and low-value customers based on financial data feeds.
  • Giving everyone in the organization access to the same data for better collaboration and understanding.
  • The "looks" can be difficult to create and understand.
  • Seems to run slow in our environment. Takes a long time to load large data sets.
  • Could come with more dashboard/graph capabilities depending on which data fields you're using.
Looker seems to be great if you have data from a lot of sources and need to keep it in a single place. However, there seem to be problems when integrating it with Salesforce and sometimes it can be very slow to load. However, if you are just looking for a data warehouse plain and simple, it will do the job.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Looker about two years ago. The marketing department brought it on as a better way of analyzing data that was housed in disparate systems. Sales data in NetSuite. Call data in Cisco. Website traffic data in Google Analytics. Looker was brought on to consolidate the data under one roof and allow us to analyze and report on the data in a more centralized way.
  • Bring in data from different systems.
  • Allow users to drill into reports and view the underlying data.
  • Combine reports into custom dashboards.
  • Difficult to display data in custom formats.
  • Data needs to join on a single key instead of just showing what you want.
  • Overly complex with difficult learning curve.
Looker helps users to visualize data from multiple sources. It is good at helping to stitch together multiple reports. With the proper training, it can combine data from different channels and display it in a way to allows users to visualize the impact of different variables. You can even create dashboards that are customizable for different users or roles.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (55)
7.5
Customizable dashboards (64)
8.0
Report Formatting Templates (52)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (65)
7.8
Formatting capabilities (64)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (66)
8.0
Publish to Web (52)
8.2
Publish to PDF (54)
7.6
Report Versioning (41)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (61)
7.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (62)
7.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (54)
7.7
Predictive Analytics (6)
4.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (62)
7.6
Role-Based Security Model (59)
7.8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (59)
7.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (42)
7.5
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
5
Dedicated Android Application (1)
5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (39)
7.6

What is Looker?

Looker is a business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.

Looker Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSAP

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Looker Screenshots

Looker Video

See the simple process of connecting your database to Looker and gaining insights to your data with Rafael Jara-Simkin of Looker. With the yaml based modeling language, LookML, your business logic is easily repeatable and reusable, allowing your analysts to better leverage the data and save time from writing SQL queries. Easily visualize your data sets and create dashboards, connecting your organization's teams to better collaborate and gain insight.

Looker Downloadables

Looker Competitors

Looker Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Must contact sales team for pricing.

Looker Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Looker Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Looker?

Looker is a BI application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. It includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for data discovery, and an API for supporting data in other systems.

What is Looker's best feature?

Reviewers rate Publish to Web highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses Looker?

The most common users of Looker are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.