TrustRadius
Looker is business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences, and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Bf/tn/27VMW1P95RMM.PNGEasy to use![It's] Used by multiple departments across the whole organization. It allows people to quickly view complex data, and share it with others. Easier to use than Tableau.,Visualization, easy manipulation. Business leaders do not need-- nor do they want-- to write SQL to get the data and then visualize it. Graphs and spaces that can be shared with other users.,Little pop overs or tips that appear as you hover mouse over an object.,10,Tableau Desktop,7,10,RStudioSolution to analyze your data quickly and safelyThis tool is being used in some departments of the company that perform calculations and data analysis, for business intelligence, helps the work team to perform analysis for decision making of large projects, it is very easy to use the graphics are great and very understandable, the filter options are very good and allows you to delve into the data, the visualizations are quite friendly and very practical,Filters that help to perform a deeper analysis Detailed data analysis It saves time when presenting works You get fast results,Sometimes it takes to load the information The calculation field is advantageous, but not intuitive They should be able to accept many more databases For some people, it is usually very cumbersome Some of its functions are somewhat limited,8,Tableau Desktop,9,9,Tableau Desktop, Tableau Public, Tableau ServerLooker - 2 Thumbs UpLooker is being used across our department to analyze how our representatives are doing metric wise. We attempt to identify any issues as they arise and this helps for us to rectify any pain points across the team. It gives us a great way to analyze all the data that we collect and make sure that it is meaningful overall.,Easy to use (I was able to pick it up without too much training.) The presentation of the data is easy to interpret Getting frequent reports is easy to setup,I would not necessarily say it is a con but it is a VAST tool so there might be features you may overlook,9,,10,9Looker is awesome!Looker is used at our company across many departments for advanced reporting on performance and data analysis.,Powerful dashboards with preset information. Easy to use for novices using the GUI but with advanced options for power users. Excellent support.,Report caching can sometimes lag behind fairly significantly.,10,10,10Looker is disrupting the BI marketplaceLooker is being used across all of Heroku. It is used in all the major departments, such as Sales, Marketing, Product, Engineering, Customer support and Finance. It provides customer insight to all areas of the company.,Real time dashboards Guided Navigation, meaning you can bring up a dashboard or report, click on a cell and drill into the foundational data. Central Metadata Management. LookML metadata repository and language is a game changer.,Better visualizations. 3d graphs and charts. A little more sex and sizzle. Adding a new data source and/or tables should be easier.,9,IBM Cognos and Business Objects SRC,8,9,Salesforce.com, Trello, Heroku
Windows, Linux, Mac
Looker
85 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Looker Reviews

Looker
85 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 85 vetted Looker reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 36)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Paul Pulley profile photo
November 16, 2018

Looker Review: "Easy to use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by multiple departments across the whole organization. It allows people to quickly view complex data, and share it with others. Easier to use than Tableau.
  • Visualization, easy manipulation.
  • Business leaders do not need-- nor do they want-- to write SQL to get the data and then visualize it.
  • Graphs and spaces that can be shared with other users.
  • Little pop overs or tips that appear as you hover mouse over an object.
Small to medium sized businesses are perfect for Looker.
Read Paul Pulley's full review
Jennifer Lamas profile photo
June 18, 2018

Looker Review: "Solution to analyze your data quickly and safely"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool is being used in some departments of the company that perform calculations and data analysis, for business intelligence, helps the work team to perform analysis for decision making of large projects, it is very easy to use the graphics are great and very understandable, the filter options are very good and allows you to delve into the data, the visualizations are quite friendly and very practical
  • Filters that help to perform a deeper analysis
  • Detailed data analysis
  • It saves time when presenting works
  • You get fast results
  • Sometimes it takes to load the information
  • The calculation field is advantageous, but not intuitive
  • They should be able to accept many more databases
  • For some people, it is usually very cumbersome
  • Some of its functions are somewhat limited
Looker adapts perfectly when we need to know project data that the company finances, we use it to make the most of the resources that are going to be used and in what way, it is an advantage since it helps us to make very important decisions when approving some project or deny it, since its analyzes are fast reliable and in real time
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
No photo available
May 28, 2018

User Review: "Looker - 2 Thumbs Up"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used across our department to analyze how our representatives are doing metric wise. We attempt to identify any issues as they arise and this helps for us to rectify any pain points across the team. It gives us a great way to analyze all the data that we collect and make sure that it is meaningful overall.
  • Easy to use (I was able to pick it up without too much training.)
  • The presentation of the data is easy to interpret
  • Getting frequent reports is easy to setup
  • I would not necessarily say it is a con but it is a VAST tool so there might be features you may overlook
Depending on organization size and the amount of data that you collect, that will strongly determine if this is appropriate for you. For less complex scenarios, I may suggest Excel/Google Sheets because you're probably already familiar with the tools. I only suggest it if you have more basic things to analyze.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 15, 2018

User Review: "Looker is awesome!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is used at our company across many departments for advanced reporting on performance and data analysis.
  • Powerful dashboards with preset information.
  • Easy to use for novices using the GUI but with advanced options for power users.
  • Excellent support.
  • Report caching can sometimes lag behind fairly significantly.
Looker is great for understanding performance data and making adjustments on the fly. It is great for truly "exploring" data.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Schiff profile photo
December 28, 2017

Review: "Looker is disrupting the BI marketplace"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used across all of Heroku. It is used in all the major departments, such as Sales, Marketing, Product, Engineering, Customer support and Finance. It provides customer insight to all areas of the company.
  • Real time dashboards
  • Guided Navigation, meaning you can bring up a dashboard or report, click on a cell and drill into the foundational data.
  • Central Metadata Management. LookML metadata repository and language is a game changer.
  • Better visualizations. 3d graphs and charts. A little more sex and sizzle.
  • Adding a new data source and/or tables should be easier.
Well suited:
- Self service analytics
- Realtime reports and dashboards
- Scheduled reports and dashboards
- Embedded reporting

Not well suited: Statistical reporting


Read Michael Schiff's full review
Henri Allik profile photo
December 07, 2017

Review: "Looker supports data self-serve - everyone can use it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every team in TransferWise is using Looker which means that more than half the company is using it regularly. Our teams are formed to be independent and there is no central BI team to support them with analytics and this is why we use Looker. It helps us to dig into data and draw conclusions based on data real-time. Teams use it to monitor their key performing indicators and build dashboards to present data. Some teams also use Looker for operational work.
  • Build it once - The reason why we have so many Looker users in TransferWise is because it is easy and fast to use. If tables have imported and modeled then everyone can quickly pick the fields and run they query.
  • Simple - average users don't need to know SQL or have technical skills to use Looker.
  • Automated reporting - Looker allows you to schedule emails for daily/weekly/monthly reports or send alerts if there are anomalies in data.
  • Missing some more advanced visualization options, for example Trellis Line Graph
Looker can be used for almost everything, but the solution might not be the most straightforward in more technical cases. With the latest upgrade to Looker 5 it is super simple and fast to build dashboards. Looker is great for automated reporting using scheduling feature. Looker is not so great for ad-hoc complex queries as you would need to build it in LookML first - however, this can be now solved using SQL runner built-in Looker and create temporary Explores
Read Henri Allik's full review
Scott Schaen profile photo
December 06, 2017

Review: "Looker's great if you're looking for a customizable solution for making data available to your team"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker to make clean data available to the rest of the company. Empowering teams with data in a quick and reliable way with as much of the technical nuances removed. It's an easy way to reduce reliance on the analytics team and make reporting as real-time as possible.
  • Customizing your build -- Fields and measures can represent whatever you want it to.
  • Transparency -- Everything is translated to SQL in real-time so you know what's going on in the background.
  • Innovation -- There's a monthly update where new features are regularly released.
  • User Management and Sharing Data could be a little easier. Your entire model needs to be built with user permissions in mind.
  • It's not quite as plug 'n play as the alternatives, but that's okay.
  • Visualizations could be improved for large amounts of data.
  • Date reporting could be improved. Date, week, hour, month, etc are separate fields...you can't quickly shift between them in reporting/visualizations.
Looker is a great solution if making data available is a priority, or if flexibility/customization is really important. Dashboards and visualizations are good, but it's not Looker's strong suit. Looker is also not a tool for blending different datasets, however there's now a beta feature that takes a stab at this. The Looker UI is pretty intuitive from a user perspective.
Read Scott Schaen's full review
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu profile photo
December 12, 2017

Looker Review: "Dynamic and Realtime Dashboards"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is one of the best tools for monitoring dashboards and report generations. It is used widely over the organization. It helped to migrate from the legacy email reports to dynamic dashboards and report creation.
Business Analytics and higher management heavy rely on looker for the trend of sales, expenses and many other use cases.
  • Helps to dynamically create filters.
  • Easy user interface.
  • Can connect to multiple datasources with ease.
  • Representation of data in different formats : graphs, stats.
  • Can share the looks to different teams and assign appropriate permissions for individual look.
  • Can include multiple looks within one single dashboard.
  • Creates cache data in the internal looker DB which consumes much space. Would be great if it has some garbage collection technique.
  • 2 Factor authentication to user login will add more value to its security.
  • Would be great to download the looks and send through an email.
Looker is well suited to showcase the company progress and trend visually where the data is noisy and huge. Multiple types of data visualization can be included in a single frame. Best in Dynamic dashboard creation and data projection in real time.
Less suited when OLAP datasources are connected which increases the data retrieval time and loading to looker is slow.
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review
No photo available
May 18, 2018

User Review: "Using Looker in a Custom Integration"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We built a custom integration with Looker that auto-generates dashboards and visualizations from data that our platform accumulates. Because of this custom integration, we are often limited in our options on how we use the platform and what cool Looker tools we can use as well. Additionally, this integration has our clients interacting with Looker and they are often unimpressed and frustrated by how technical the platform is as well as the speed. Our integration and what we allow them to do and see could be a contributing factor in this so please keep that in mind as you read the rest of my review.
  • Incredibly advanced analytics tool that is even more capable if you learn how to use LookML which is Looker's custom programming language.
  • Quick access to the raw data that is being visualized allows you to spot check for data integrity.
  • My usage with Looker is limited because of our integration but, having seen their updates over time, the integrations with Slack, Salesforce, and other tools appear to greatly improve organizations' workflows.
  • The time it takes to load data has been INCREDIBLY frustrating to our clients. How much of this is the fault of our developers, I don't know. What I do know is that it's the slowest time to see a visualization of any BI tool I've used. By far.
  • There is A LOT of exerting setup required for custom dashboards. When adding our custom integration into the mix it's been nearly impossible to get things done.
  • The calculation field can be incredibly useful but, again, requires technical expertise which not all of our users have.
When you've had a technical expert spend the significant time required to customize your Looker experience, then it could very well be one of the top contenders in its space. You are able to log in, see what you need immediately, dig deeper quickly, and integrate smoothly with your other tools. This one caveat, however, is a big one; and thus the lower score.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 20, 2017

Looker Review: "Look No Further"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker to build dashboards to serve each area of the business: clinical, financial, marketing, and supply chain.
  • The granular permissions sets allow a large amount of control over what users can see and do.
  • Views, models, and (optionally) dashboards are version-controlled and stored in a git repo of your choosing. This is indispensable for having peace of mind when performing large refactors.
  • Incredible customer support offered conveniently via live chat within the app. Feature requests are always taken seriously and you can check back anytime to see where it is in the queue.
  • Option to implement custom D3 visualizations.
  • There could be more stock visualizations.
  • The delineation between user-defined dashboards and LookML-defined dashboards is confusing and disjointed.
Looker is best for environments in which users are empowered to perform some of their own exploration and analysis. Although it is an excellent dashboard tool in its own right, its potential isn’t realized until data models specific to each line of business are created and users understand how to explore their own data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2017

Looker Review: "Definitely recommend it to companies willing to invest resources to learn the tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is used across all departments : marketing, operation, finance and customer service. It is the number one source of truth of the company.

It solves the problem of having multiple data sources. It makes report sharing very easy and data visualization instantaneous.

Looker makes everyone able to join tables without any knowledge of SQL.
  • It is very easy to use by business users.
  • They have an insanely good customer service. They reply within the minute to any question and sometimes spend hours debugging your crytpic SQL query even if it is not really their job to do so.
  • The possibility of doing spreadsheet like operations within their UI on top of the result of a SQL query is very convenient from an analyst point of view.
  • It misses something to properly manage dependencies in the data pipeline such as Luigi or Digdag.
  • It can be very frustrating to use is your internet connection is so so.
  • The visualisation could be improved.
  • Their customer service is very good at helping to solve local problem. It took me a while to understand the big picture of the problem that this tool solves and I think they share half of the responsibility.
Looker is good if you want one source of truth and have business users willing to spend some time learning its capabilities.

It is good if your data pipeline is not too complex. You can manage it from the LookML but as soon as it becomes too involve you need an alternative tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

Looker Review: "A BI Tool that is powerful and Easy to Use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Analytics team at my business uses Looker as a reporting tool for Business Intelligence. Looker allows my team to automate reporting. These reports are then used across the whole organisation by various teams. Although other teams do not directly deal with Looker, their functioning certainly depends on the great features that Looker offers.
  • Automation of reports.
  • Easy drag and drop interface for most functionalities.
  • Great variety of reporting options.
  • Works well with large data in terms of performance.
  • Setting up looker is quite tedious.
  • It takes a considerable amount of time to get handy with the features on Looker .
  • Need to configure database separately every time you want to connect a new database.
Looker is strongly recommended as a Business Intelligence tool when you wish to work with huge amounts of data. Moreover, Looker capitalizes on the power of your own database, and does not have its own analytics engine. This cuts down cost and makes it more performance-oriented.

On the other hand, if you are looking for out-of-the-box trends or data patterns, Looker is not the right tool for you.
Read this authenticated review
Gleb Mezhanskiy profile photo
March 14, 2016

Looker Review: "The Best BI User Experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker helps us democratize data around 10+ product lines and 4 functions.

We have Looker connected to multiple product databases (PostgreSQL, MySQL) and to a data warehouse (Redshift).

Currently have over 50 internal active users of Looker.
  • I believe that among BI tools, Looker provides the best balance between flexibility and configurability for the data team, ease of deployment and support for dev ops and great user experience for the end users – consumers of data.
  • The data modeling layer, LookML proved to be extremely helpful for the Data team to define data models and abstract end users – data consumers – away from the complexity of underlying data sets.
  • Documentation is clear, comprehensive and easy to find.
  • Live chart support within the Looker interface is very helpful.
  • Powerful permission management system allows to provide access to multiple data sets to a big number of users without the risk of compromising security.
  • Very easy to deploy: is shipped as a standalone server Java application. Or even better: can be hosted by Looker company.
  • Add the ability to perform joins across physically distributed databases
Very well suited for modeling and exposing data of any data source with a SQL interface including but not limited to Hive and Spark.

Greatly reduces the burden on engineers by allowing business users to perform analysis, build visualizations and put together dashboards themselves.

Currently cannot handle other data interfaces, such as Splunk.
Read Gleb Mezhanskiy's full review
Mohammed Anzil profile photo
April 15, 2016

Review: "Looker - The Perfect Business Data Analytics Provider"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is a powerful self-service business intelligence tool that is focused on solving particular problems. The first time I noticed about Looker, was when this startup was been nominated for best data analytics startup. The reason why we love the service is it has been familiar to work with navigating through a web browser and it operates on any device at any time. Looker's analytics tool brings data and business teams together to develop the business to the next level.
  • Teamwork.
  • Git for version management and collaboration.
  • Powerful SQL modeling ability.
  • Should lower the price.
  • A bit hard to use the service if you are a newbie.
  • Should give more demonstrations.
Th reason why I did not rate it 9 points is because of the price but I rated it 8 because if its use. Users can discover details behind the picture because all dashboards and queries can be drilled into. Looker offers a free trial but if a small business team decided to buy the software, sometimes they can't afford that.
Read Mohammed Anzil's full review
Christian Lubasch profile photo
August 24, 2015

Review: "Looker from a BI consultant's perspective in SMEs, with pros, cons and unique features."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Digital Analytics & Business Intelligence consultancy, we're always on the look for modern and fresh approaches to common issues. There has been a clear overload of enterprise focused tools and companies that failed to address unique needs of SMEs. While there are some obvious leaders in the field of BI software for reporting and visualisation (like Tableau), Looker made its way up to challenge those. We've been consulting companies in setup, implementation and usage of Looker from startups to mid-sized companies. With the clear focus on data discovery and modeling, we've saved lots of time in reusable models and additionally helped clients to properly depict their business circumstances in BI.
  • Interesting approach to data modelling (LookML), that highly increases re-usability, is version controlled and much easier to understand for people that are not fluent in SQL.
  • Makes data discovery fun and easy.
  • Collaboration features
  • Visualisation capabilities clearly lack behind Tableau and some others.
  • Allow for custom branding and CSS changes to fit a given corporate identity / design.
  • Ability to blend data between different sources (i.e. two different connections / databases).
When focus is on understanding, playing, discovery and standard reporting needs, Looker is a very interesting tool to use. When done right, you can go up and down, back and forth in your data, link different "looks" or dashboards together and very interestingly, you can define what happens (i.e. is shown) when users drill down on a certain metric. With teams of analysts in place, a shared LookML, version controlled repository will help to keep data models right and in sync - no more 20 different versions of an Excel file or such.
After all, the Looker UI is very simple to use, simpler than Excel, Tableau, Qlik etc.

For the most fancy visualisations or complex reports I'd rather choose other software as of now. However, becoming data-driven and using data to generate the best insights possible is key here - this is definitely not mainly achieved by visualisations (partly also because it requires more time / resources to do it right than most companies have available).

It's not entirely well suited for very small companies due to its pricing structure, but that applies to many others in the field as well, that also target mid sized to large companies.
Read Christian Lubasch's full review
Adam Rhuberg profile photo
August 20, 2015

Review: "Looker is an ideal data exploration tool with room to improve as an enterprise-level BI solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is being used by dozens of people throughout our organization to quickly and easily access data from our data warehouse without needing to know or understand SQL or have direct access to the database itself. More than 100 dashboards have been built by our internal Looker developers to meet the needs of every functional unit's weekly, monthly, and quarterly reporting requirements. All of our end-users have quick and immediate access to the data underlying any of the dashboards and can self-serve ad hoc data requests without needing support from the analytics team.
  • Enables simple sharing of reports and data views throughout the ogranization.
  • Allows for immediate on-demand querying of the data warehouse without direct access to the data warehouse of knowledge of SQL.
  • Provides the ability to embed data modeling rules into the platform to make sure that "Revenue" (as an example) means the same thing to every person and is calculated with consistent logic every time.
  • New user on-boarding requires some dedicated training. It's not an easy tool to pick up and use immediately.
  • Visualization customizations are still a bit cryptic. Most end users can't figure out how to change a data series' color, for example. It's not intuitive.
  • The ease of development actually makes for a potential nightmare down the road if too many people have developer privileges. There are a lot of potential issues over the longer term if you don't introduce adequate safeguards right at initial implementation.
If your organization relies on a team of analysts to write SQL every time a new data request is submitted with output expected in the form of Excel spreadsheets and charts, this tool can help avoid that process altogether and free up analysts to do more value-added work instead of just being a glorified back-end data pulling team. I don't think it would be very useful if a company is already using an enterprise-wide BI tool, especially one that might encompass both an ETL-like modeling layer and flexible visualization tools.
Read Adam Rhuberg's full review
Michael Shostack profile photo
August 18, 2015

Looker Review: "Robust and speedy BI tool for companies with internal data science and ETL resources to bring out its full potential."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker across our entire organization. It helps us understand what happens across the many facets of our business from support to marketing to product interaction.
  • Blazingly fast for most queries as it sits on top of our Redshift instance.
  • The ability to create user-defined filter presets through "Listeners" on dashboards that can be adjusted by the end user is really nice for making the product more accessible to non-technical business users.
  • The interface is very fast, limited only by the complexity of the data/dimensions we're trying to work with.
  • Support is AMAZING. Our live chat support team are always super friendly and go above and beyond to help us. I even had their CTO Lloyd respond to me once.
  • Looker has come a long way in the brief time I've used it. However it is still challenging for non-technical business users to pick up and use, even with training. Dashboards are much more accessible once configured by a knowledgeable user, but the root of the issue is that our underlying data is complex and nuanced, and requires an internal technical resource who can own the data to properly inform and guide on the appropriate dimensions to use.
  • Integrating Snowplow Analytics (Looker's recommended web analytics solution) has been a headache, despite how powerful the data is once it is working. But don't expect it to be a replacement for off-the-shelf web analytics tools like Google Analytics as Looker doesn't really have any of those reports "out of the box" since you need to model it all out yourself. It is nowhere near as intuitive to explore web data with Looker as it is with Google Analytics.
  • The biggest challenge Looker highlighted for us was the issues with our own data and ETL. Not so much their fault, but at the end of the day, the data issues have made leveraging Looker to its full potential difficult. Having a dedicated Data Science and ETL engineer is pretty much necessary if your data has even minor complexity.
Make sure you understand the data work required to make Looker shine. It is incredibly powerful, but ultimately only as useful as your data. Be prepared for an integration that likely will be ongoing forever as you add new tables, new dimensions, etc. This added perpetual resource cost is important to consider when looking at pricing as it has a decent chance of being more expensive than Looker itself. That said, Looker is a tool that enables teams to leverage their data, and we've found that data to be worth its weight in gold, so the value proposition was definitely a net positive.
Read Michael Shostack's full review
Kenneth Berland profile photo
August 24, 2015

User Review: "Looker: True Cloud-Based BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is used across our organization for business analysis. We also use Looker as a platform for customer-facing metrics.
  • Seamless integration with Amazon's Redshift.
  • Visualization without additional software development.
  • Painless user management and information segmentation.
  • Separation of development and production data and source code. However, great strides have been made here.
Well suited for teams that wish to focus on software development and not BI development. Looker has the cloud architecture that we believe all next-gen BI platforms must have. We chose them because they seemed to have the right thesis and the ability to deliver continuous improvements. We've not been disappointed.
Read Kenneth Berland's full review
Spencer Wong profile photo
August 21, 2015

Looker Review: "Great product and support but you need an internal owner with strong SQL and data model knowledge"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a two sided marketplace with both consumers and merchants. I have a lead on my product team that is the Looker owner, he is responsible for setup and soon we will be allowing other members within the company to leverage the Model/Looks he has created. It is expected to be used across Marketing, Tech and Sales.
In addition, we may expose some data through the iFrame to Merchants to see their data and see how they may rank compared others in their area.
The business problems it addresses is that not everyone is competent in SQL and we have a lot of reporting needs so it helps to not rely on someone in Tech to do reports on demand.
  • The fact that you create it once and can allow everyone else to use the same Looks. It allows for consistency in how data is reported and provides a layer of abstraction over the straight db tables
  • Their client support has been very helpful, both the implementation specialists and the online chat
  • Not necessarily a criticism of Looker but in the end, you really need one internal owner and someone who really understands the data model in order to build it properly in Looker. Here I tried initially to leverage Tech, but within tech we had knowledge of data model spreadout and it was also hard to take the devs away from bugs/features to help work on Looker. In the end it required me to hire someone on my own team with advanced knowledge of SQL to own Looker.
  • As a company that is focused on local on demand delivery, the out of the box geo-mapping is very weak. We use carto-db now for mapping but it would have been nice to get this out of Looker. Ability to draw polygons and not just fixed points.
Ability to join across to separate data sources. We ended up having to do workarounds to get all data into one connection but it would have been useful to join across datasets which some other competitors allow.
For more fancy graphing and reporting, Looker's options are pretty basic and not as pretty as some competitors.
Looker is strong when trying to do more advanced reporting with cohort analysis and the use of measures where you can input your own case/sql statements is very powerful.
Read Spencer Wong's full review
Tom Hosford profile photo
August 21, 2015

User Review: "Looker lookin' good"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Looker to make data accessible to non developers. With its UI that generates SQL to query to our database, it allows anyone with or without technical skills to access, analyze and pull data or canned reports.
Non-technical users can simply view saved queries (“Looks”), consume dashboards (collections of “Looks”), or go deeper and explore data on their own.

Technical users can use Looker’s modeling language, LookML, to set up data for exploration. Once a data model is set up in Looker, we don’t have to waste time manually writing SQL queries. “Looks” can be saved which store common queries and therefore reduce the chance of a person accidentally issuing an incorrect query at a later date.

  • Allowing an analyst or organizational stake holder to explore data
  • Generating canned reports or dashboards
  • Emailing out reports on a regular basis
  • LookML can be difficult to comprehend and I've gotten stuck at times when trying to issue queries that would be manageable to write with raw SQL
  • Dashboards could allow more customization
  • Pricing is high for small businesses
Do you have a central SQL database that stores all your data? If not, the tool won't apply.
Who should have access to your data? If it's only a few analysts, a cheaper option may be a better bet. If you want to make data available across your organization, Looker is a great bet.
Read Tom Hosford's full review
Anthony Maggio profile photo
August 20, 2015

Looker Review: "Powerful, flexible and easy-to-implement BI tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using Looker for about 8 months now. Our primary drivers in selecting Looker as a BI tool included:

  • Flexibility to control the data we expose to our internal team for reporting purposes
  • Looker's data intake model doesn't require data storage on their servers
  • Ease of building out the capabilities of the platform over time (vs. intensive upfront setup)
  • Ability to send daily reports to any email address
We have been very pleased with our relationship with Looker. The product is easy to use and we've been able to quickly onboard and train new users. Their support has been fantastic and their team has assisted with building particularly complex queries. I'd recommend them to any company that is looking for a very powerful and flexible BI and visualization tool.
  • Ability quickly build adhoc queries
  • Ability for users to create visualizations on the fly
  • Ability to change the data that is made available to end-users
  • Error checking could be better; would be nice to know that your code changes will break existing reports before you commit them
  • Documentation tools could use some improvement
I'd recommend Looker to any web-based business that is looking for a way to expose BI data more broadly through their company.
Read Anthony Maggio's full review
Ian Hardenburgh profile photo
August 18, 2015

Looker Review: "Extremely satisfied analytics/data science professional deploying BI to the 99%"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Looker is being used by a small contingent of Analytics-minded people, with the idea that the product would eventually scale to the C-Suite, and possibly deployed company-wide. The functional areas cross almost every department. At the moment, we are employing Looker to address problems re: gross margin (on both our core and ancillary products/services), attrition and business development.
  • The LookML language for creating data models is extremely intuitive. It blurs the line between the data integration aspect of BI and the visualization or self-service BI component.
  • The dashboarding interface, from both a developer and end-user (UI) perspective, is beautifully modern.
  • The data table can use some basic features, like the ability to subtotal and renaming and grouping of column headers. However, as Looker is primarily a visualization tool, one might consider some features superfluous.
If your company is just introducing itself to self-service BI/analytics/data science, mostly in terms of culture, decision making and perhaps its overall analytic capacity, Looker is a very nice entry point. I'd imagine it could also serve more advanced analytical models/applications. The real appeal is the LookML modeling language, which will help a company's development to streamline its visualization/dashboard efforts to drive better decision making within your enterprise.
Read Ian Hardenburgh's full review
Jim O'Sullivan profile photo
August 18, 2015

User Review: "Looker helps the homeless"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker has been deployed to our users to help them better understand our customers' data. Before Looker our customers' had a difficult time analyzing their data. In the social service's world, decisions have been typically made based on anecdotal evidence. Now with Looker, they can quickly make decisions based on real-time data.
  • Quick to implement
  • Easy to use
  • Very customizable
  • Not robust enough table calculations
Looker is perfect for any organization that wants to quickly analyze their data.
Read Jim O'Sullivan's full review
No photo available
August 27, 2015

User Review: "Looker - One of the best BI tools"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Looker is used by various departments including Marketing, Sales, Content, and Instructor Services. We use it to monitor the funnel from users visiting our web site to becoming paid customers, performance of our ad campaigns, the performance of students over a period of time, the health of our content, etc. We are able to make decisions based on the analysis we do while monitoring the above activities.
  • Looker connects directly to our databases in MySQL and hence there is no wait time for the data to be updated into another data warehouse.
  • LookML is extremely powerful and easy to learn.
  • Derived tables in Looker help in speeding up the reports.
  • Chat support is extremely efficient as the support personnel are quite knowledgeable.
  • The ability to connect to different data sources like Facebook and Mixpanel.
  • Visualization can be made better.
If you are looking for good looking charts then Looker may not be the right tool. But if you are looking for data that you can consume and analyze then Looker is one of the best tools out there. The cost is a bit higher for startups like us. But the tool is much better than most other tools that are available for a lesser cost.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 18, 2015

User Review: "Looker continues to get better!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Looker across our entire organization, in multiple departments, to understand our work deployment and our worker activity on our digital work platform. In real-time, we're able to easily access and understand what's going on and where--down to the single user and task level. As a social business, we also use Looker to overlay our impact data demographics with our business data.
  • The Looker team is always keen to take feedback on the product and improve the user experience.
  • Looker is customizable and integrates well with other platforms.
  • Looker has tons of features that many don't know about it: they should figure out how to quickly introduce these to users that might find them useful.
It's always the most important to understand how existing data or data-generating systems can integrate into Looker as a first step.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.0
Customizable dashboards (35)
8.6
Report Formatting Templates (25)
8.2
Drill-down analysis (36)
8.1
Formatting capabilities (35)
7.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (8)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (36)
8.7
Publish to Web (26)
8.1
Publish to PDF (28)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
7.3
Report Delivery Scheduling (33)
8.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (34)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (30)
7.8
Predictive Analytics (6)
4.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (34)
9.4
Role-Based Security Model (33)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (32)
8.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (19)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
5
Dedicated Android Application (1)
5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (17)
7.8

About Looker

Looker is a business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.

Looker Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Does not have featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Does not have featureMS Excel Workbooks
Does not have featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Looker Screenshots

Looker Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Looker Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Looker Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil
Supported Languages: English