Qlik Sense Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
692 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 217)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 13, 2021
Philippa Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense gave me easy, fast, reliable, safe and convenient access to our large data warehouse. We currently use it to audit our data and check for anomalies or missing information. We also use it to create graphic reports for our clients, this has put us ahead of our competitors and we are looking to optimise this further. Future plans would be to implement it within other areas of our business to help our managers have an easy one page view of how their team is performing, inclusive of call times etc.
  • It is extremely fast, data that used to crash my computer when working in Excel is now at my fingertips in a second!
  • It is extremely intuitive to use and user friendly. I self-taught how to use Qlik and have gone on to teach colleagues all of whom have picked it up extremely quickly - some of which have no data background at all.
  • It's suggestions are brilliant, when putting data together it will suggest a table that it believes may be the best way to display that data - and pretty much always, it's right.
  • I love the 'buckets' feature but when we started loading more data into the system, this feature didn't work anymore, the loading times were immense to even get into the page that displayed the bucket creator.
I'd recommend Qlik to any company that deals with data and perhaps hasn't got anyone on the team that is proficient at SQL or Excel. This is a great tool to do the hard lifting for you and really analyse the data from above, rather than getting lost within it.

I'd say the only time it isn't worthwhile is if a company doesn't have a wealth of data, or if the data they deal with it small. Other than that, I think Qlik can be used in so many different ways across a business it's hard to think of a place it wouldn't benefit.
Previously it could take 2-3 days for me to run and create a report for one of our clients. With Qlik this process now takes 5 minutes. This means we can create more reports, more frequently and keep our clients up to date on their performance.
Read Philippa Johnson's full review
December 15, 2020
Juncong Fu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across the whole organisation especially with departments who are involved in sales and marketing.
In-depth analysis are often performed for departments who are required to come up with incremental enhancements to existing platforms and functions.
Templates and dashboard are created for regular reports as well as high level reporting for most of other casual users.
  • Ease of use; easy for beginners to pick up.
  • Many visualizations are included in the pack which provide options for users.
  • Great community for resources sharing.
  • Expression coding easy to pick up.
  • While most commonly expressions are easy to pick up, there are certain expressions that can be certainly included in the library like 'grouping' of dimensions.
  • Enable more colour schemes for charts.
  • Percentage calculations.
  • Enterprise data to be exported out in qvf files.
Qlik Sense is especially suited for high level reporting where dashboard of important key performance indicators can be created and with appropriate filters, the presenter can sift through data quickly and present important points to the audience.
If the need is to analyse data or simple data operation, then perhaps Qlik Sense is slightly less intuitive compared to say Excel or Python.
As there are data sources from various backends and hosts coming into Qlik Sense, it enables the users to quickly integrate, create relationships and make sense of all the different numbers. Again, as mentioned earlier, it saved loads of time trying to acquire the data from various sources and thereafter cleaning up the data before it can be used for dashboard creation.
Ease of use and easy to pick up.
Read Juncong Fu's full review
December 03, 2020
Per Lyngemark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Qlik Sense in the purchasing department to see trends and identify outliers. It's very quick to find out which suppliers or products that need to update costs. We have created interactive dashboards where it's simple to filter to your individual needs either by suppliers, product, currency, country or buying region.
  • We were able to see which suppliers that had negative cost trend while the material and industry had a positive trend.
  • It's very simple to deal with the long tail of suppliers with few products and low spend.
  • We can easily take care of the suppliers that were still invoicing in USD and change them to CNY by a simple filter.
  • I lack the functionality and customization of Tableau.
  • Sometimes we need to use Excel to do some things that Qlik Sense is unable to do.
  • I wish we could resize the graphs to fit all kinds of resolutions, graphs can look good on high res and then useless on low res monitors.
I like to use Qlik Sense to view large amounts of data, it's much more useful than Excel that would choke on that amount of data. It's very fast and easy to set up some parameters, filters, and charts. You can quickly see where you want to focus and build dashboards that make your life much easier next time.
We mainly use Excel data so we do not have much experience with other data.
Read Per Lyngemark's full review
November 12, 2020
Nabajyoti Dutta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik sense is used by our organization as a replacement of SAP BO. It is mainly used for user reporting in addition to certain amount of data visualization for users.
  • Data visualization
  • Data model creation
  • License management
  • Pperformance for parallel report generation
  • Non-interactive report creation
  • Email is separated into a complete new product called nprint, it would be nice to have email as a built-in feature of Qlik Sense
If someone is looking for a data visualization tool alone, Qlik Sense is a suitable product. However for legacy enterprise reporting structure which has its own values (eg: where end users get pre-defined report outputs on their email), Qlik Sense should be thoroughly reviewed to determine if it meets most of the needs.
Our organization has not benefitted from multiple source aggregation since most of our reporting source data comes from a single ERP instance.
Read Nabajyoti Dutta's full review
November 07, 2020
Frank Goehner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QlikSense as a way to summarise data from multiple databases into a dashboard that is easy to use. Prior to the implementation of QlikSense, staff would be constantly asked to generate reports, now we create dashboards, and send the end-user to the dashboards. This has drastically increased the productivity of staff and end-users.
  • Easy to create dashboards
  • Integrate with a variety of different database
  • Extremely powerful
  • Develop visually appealing dashboards
  • Steep learning curve
  • Challenge with running out of licenses
Very powerful to create amazing dashboards. Once the staff was up to speed on developing dashboards, we have been able to create repeatable templates.
Through the server, we are able to offload the data from our main database server, to the Qlik Server, and have the data updated on a regular basis. This has decreased the main load on the server and has benefited us greatly
Read Frank Goehner's full review
October 02, 2020
John Delligatti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik is used to visualize supply chain data, provide KPI's and improve data literacy throughout our company. As a supply chain management company Qlik has enabled us to break away from "tribal knowledge" that is typically siloed by client and provide a holistic view of our our supply chain. Now, when our buyers, expediters and conformers need to make a purchasing decision or follow up with an order they have a wealth of knowledge and experience at their finger tips. The universal search functionality enables users to find a source, extract data and contact suppliers with a few clicks!
  • Visualizing trends over time.
  • Easily work with data from multiple data sources.
  • Build extractable reports or tables.
  • Learning curve with Qlik scripting language.
  • Licensing structure.
  • Confusing overlap between QlikView and Qlik Sense.
Qlik excels in many different areas, in many ways you are only limited by the questions you ask. Some specific use cases include monitoring contract compliance, monitoring pricing of commodities, recognizing trends, rationalizing spend in Supply chain.

Some areas where Qlik would be less appropriate include their automated reporting capabilities. Although the utility is good, the cost of the automation portion is significant.
My company has significantly benefited from this feature. Generally our clients run their business on multiple systems and often times the data sources do not "talk" to one another. Qlik's ability to effortlessly join in data from multiple sources, automatically recognize unique identifiers and join the data together to tell a data driven story has dramatically increased our sales effectiveness.
Read John Delligatti's full review
September 25, 2020
Jimshad Muhammed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is working well in our organization. We were using Qlik Sense in all major business sectors. As we are one among five of biggest jewelry retailer in the world, Qlik Sense helps us a lot to get the real time sales reports for hedging and others. It helps us to make decisions on time and reduce losses.
  • Definitely the first one is, Qlik Sense is an in-memory tool. It helps the users well on detail analysis like product performance and stock aging, expiry indication, etc...
  • Product reports have millions of line in dataset. Searches are very fast and get any report in detail.
  • Mobile app will be the second strength of Qlik Sense I feel. Because it helps send notifications of Market fluctuation and even interaction between users. None of other products in the market have these features. And the main point is, there is no additional spend for mobile app from the customer side.
  • Qlik Insight bot and AI researches are very brilliant in Qlik Sense. It gives information as per their thoughts. And the trust on the reports/analytics are increasing. There is no Man dependency on reports.
  • Still there are things to improve. But it does not stop Qlik Sense anywhere. I feel there could be more features needed in table formatting, front end designs.
  • Some extensions and buttons are taking more space in mobile apps. If it is more adjustable, then it will give a good feel in mobile also.
  • Qlik Sense partners should have detail and through knowledge about the Qlik back end engine. Because it effects the performance a lot. Also the customers or organizations are evaluating a products by look and feel, information and performance. My suggestion is, Qlik has to restrict or direct Qlik Sense back end development activity for better future. A bad development will be a loss for product.
On analytics side there are many products available in market, but there is only one in memory tool, Qlik Sense. There is no data warehouse need to build a BI solution, only if it is Qlik. I suggest it strongly.
We also use multi data connection to Qlik and there are challenges we face as of now. Qvds have enough capabilities.
Read Jimshad Muhammed's full review
September 04, 2020
Christer Andersson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Qlik Sense from the shop floor persons to top management. It goes from very frequent use in operational matters to nightruns with data extracts and consolidations to management views across the whole company. And it is used in all areas where we need to analyze or handle data. Sales, Purchasing, Inventory, Manufacturing, Finance, Quality, HR. Everywhere.
  • The look and feel for end users are "always" good. You don't need to think about screen size.
  • For 99.9% of our cases I don't need to think about the data size. Qlik handles it very well.
  • With Qlik scripting you can do ANYTHING with your data. For example creating history files of data is very easy. And also linking that into the applications and present it to end users. No more saving Excel files every where.
  • The Qlik Sense management console can definitely be improved. QlikView management console was MUCH better and powerful. Especially regarding task relations.
  • In the Management console there should be better integrations of triggering tasks in for example NPrinting and QlikView.
  • They always refer that it is possible via API, but as business user those things should not require API scripting consulting to get it working.
  • Extensions is VERY useful and gives more power to Qlik Sense. But some of those should be standard built-in features.
  • We are using some extensions from Vizlib that is very powerful.
  • Sync of applications between different distant nodes should be improved. Due to network we have nodes in EU and CN. Those we need to sync manually or via API scripts, Powershell and xcopy scripts depending on what to move.
If you need to dig into some data set with thousands or millions of lines, do it in Qlik Sense. You will immediately find the outliers and odd data. Somehow it will pop up in front of you when start sorting and doing selections. There are no unapproved ways of looking at the data.
I promise, every time I start digging I find "funny data." Doesn't matter what kind of data I look into.
If there is something you do with data "every day" and you do the same every day, add it to Qlik Sense and spend time on the value add instead.
And with data I mean any kind of data. By scripting and automating it you will also secure data handling.
If there is some data you wonder what happens with it, create some history files and do the analyzing.
If it's just some smaller amount of data and you need to do decisions and subjective tweak of data that is hard to adjust to script and logical rules, perhaps not Qlik or any other BI tool is the best. Keep it in Excel.
Otherwise data tweak that is logical you can always add and use in Qlik Sense.
We are consolidating data from several data sources and present that in Qlik Sense giving management control over the whole group on a daily basis. Creating scripts secure that all data is handled correct daily. Once they are done, datahandling and data output are secure and people can focus on doing something with the output instead of just transforming data.
Standard user interface and powerful analytic functions is GREAT.
As technical person working in the background there are more things to do to make this a completely great tool.
Some functions that should be standard requires consult scripting and hours.
Now we are using it quite advanced and with many servers and in combination with QlikView.
So overall I love the tool. But it could be better and user friendly and powerful in the background.
Read Christer Andersson's full review
August 24, 2020
Jeremy Annable | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used as the primary business intelligence hub to enable managers to analyse information about the performance of many aspects of the business. It is being used across the whole organisation. It has replaced static SRSS reports which were delivered on a timed basis directly to departments which resulted in a myriad of reports being virtually the same with very small variations in how the data was presented. We can use a unified view for those reports now and train the users to move around within the presented data using Qlik in the way it is designed.
The main business problems it addresses are analytic views on performance by department for various aspects of the business, which previously static reporting could be potentially misleading or would disallow further analysing within the available data meaning decisions were often not as considered as managers might like.
  • Ease of visualisation creation, Qlik sense allows fast and easy data visualisations for easy consumption of data.
  • Unification of data presentation across the organisation, apps and sheets can be managed and used across many aspects of the business
  • Intuitive. For the curious few it allows growth within each department for how the data is used and presented which can then be utilised for a wider audience if there is consensus that the data analysis gains strength from the way it is presented.
  • Shared bookmarks is a function that most users want, mainly to recreate quick "go-to" visualisations for particular focus meetings.
  • Renaming tabs where seta analysis is used based on selection criteria.
Qlik is well suited to viewing historic data and quickly slicing that data up in various ways to present a full picture, allowing for in depth analysis quickly and easily. Not really appropriate for bang up to date or fast moving very current data due to the length of time to collate sometimes lots of data sources.
Multiple data sources being combined into one view is the absolute strength of Qlik Sense for me. We have benefited by being able to bring together ERP, distribution, Salesforce, archived data, other bespoke software data resources all into one central place to be consumed by users in a streamlined view.
It is not simple to implement this and creating data models that "work" can be very time consuming and actually carry risk without thorough testing of the data being ultimately presented to consumers. This product is overkill for simple data sources, and is not "off the shelf" for multiple data sources where complicated data models are required.
Read Jeremy Annable's full review
August 24, 2020
Jonathan Vitale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used by the school district to collect, analyze, and display vital student and employee data to our central office administration and school administration (e.g., principals). Qlik Sense was purchased to provide an intuitive way to give our employees the data they need to make important strategic decisions about schools and student subgroups. It is used in multiple ways throughout or organization, but one of our priorities is for principals to use the data to develop specific action plans.
  • Responds well to user's inquiries - very flexible.
  • Enables deep connections between disparate sources of data.
  • Allows users to bookmark specific selections for easy navigation.
  • Developer tools need work - the script editing interface is very minimal (look at VS Code by contrast).
  • Ability for developers to create custom functionality.
  • Needs more look-and-feel customization on the front end.
  • Streams (application repositories) are difficult to navigate - no nested structure.
Qlik Sense is great for an organization that has multiple sources of data that must be combined in a reasonable way. The user interfaces - if created properly - can be very simple and intuitive. Therefore, it is great for employees who may not have extremely strong graph literacy. I would be less willing to use it in a research environment where a lot of customization is required. Also, Qlik caters strongly to financial and traditional business organizations.
Yes, absolutely. We use several sources for data - a student information system fed into an Oracle warehouse, a financial system, and flat Excel files produced by various departments. We have had little difficulty integrating these systems although we have found it difficult to integrate data from Google Drive. In some cases we have also used the REST API to access web-based data (e.g., data stored on SurveyMonkey). As an example of data-integration, we created an app that incorporates school performance, schools' action plans (e.g. with performance metric target) and financial information to help schools determine the best course of action within their schools for allocating funds.
Read Jonathan Vitale's full review
December 03, 2020
Adam Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used throughout the business to analyse data, produce management reports and help make business decisions.
  • Reporting on KPIs.
  • Linking to any area of our SQL databases.
  • Very quick to load data and export.
  • Allow users to refresh data when required.
Creating department KPIs and displaying in a user friendly, easy to read format.
Read Adam Davies's full review
November 08, 2020
veysel kaya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's been used across the whole organization. It helps us to visualize a big chunk of data that can not be categorized and visualized manually. With the help of this digital tool, it became easier to see the general macro look, as well as make deep dive into details.
  • Interactive, and responsive
  • Easy navigation
  • Intuitive
  • Refresh time is long.
  • Faster page results.
A proper solution to reach enormous data with a well-organized flow. It's good to have a high level of customization depending on our needs.
Even though we are in the early stages, there are several attempts already to combine multiple data sources. Certainly, the type and number of sources will increase in the very near future.
Read veysel kaya's full review
November 06, 2020
Remon van Fessem | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used in a technical department where we carry out maintenance on rail vehicles.
  • Realized results
  • Overviews over time
  • Possibilities of different dashboards
  • I sometimes convert data to exel, then numbers are often displayed as text; it would be nice if that is no longer necessary
  • Possibilities to visualize data in even more ways
Very suitable for visualizing large quantities.
Our data analyst merges the data from multiple systems so that we, as an end user, have everything in one place.
Read Remon van Fessem's full review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization governed by IT. Qlik is a valuable tool that helps business gain insights across various domains from marketing to operations. It is empowering business users to get relevant timely information. Qlik has helped move the organization from legacy reports that would run once a week or month to more timely updates as needed.
  • Associative engine that makes connected data and filtering easy to achieve.
  • Strong enterprise focus and product suite that can expand capabilities to cover the entire data spectrum.
  • Good extensibility via API and community - ability to enhance through third party extensions.
  • The support team and service tier could use improvement.
  • API for exposing raw data is tricky.
If you need to get BI up and running quickly at an enterprise scale then Qlik Sense can get you there. It's great for connecting data from various systems quickly and delivering a solution. It does require Qlik Sense technical team to install, configure, write ETL to build and deliver for the on-prem but you can go the cloud route and eliminate some of the steps. The associative engine makes working with data intuitive and the performance is also decent due to an in-memory database. The native color scheme and UI of Qlik Sense does not pop like some other competing products but it can be customized and you get a better server side infrastructure for enterprise scale. Qlik Sense needs to have data reside on the server for it to deliver a solution - if you have requirements where the data needs to be queried on-demand from an external system for real time reporting, it probably can be achieved but would require some good amount of work.
Yes - We were able to blend data from multiple systems to deliver solutions like a customer 360.
The support culture needs a new approach with urgency, ownership and more collaborative.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in many departments including mine (accounting and finance). I usually use it to show comparisons between budget and actual purchase amounts. Also, our factory units benefit from the visuals each day, because it is easy to read for everyone. For instance, it is used for production line details.
  • Its online platform is easy to reach.
  • Has nice colors and many options for number formatting.
  • Manipulation is easy if you know which formula to use.
  • Formulas are hard to find sometimes.
  • Exporting the data is nice but it exports as shown, not the whole data.
For comparisons it is the best I think. On a daily or monthly changing data, it is nice to use Qlik Sense because it can refresh anytime I want.
Yes, my colleagues use this option. They bring data from different sources and with the matching techniques, they can create reports.
I generally use one or two sources but I have friends who use more than 2 sources for their data, and this is really helpful.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Qlik Sense to provide insight to what is happening with insurance claims. We have 2-4 million claims a day and run reporting in batches every morning.
We also use it as an ETL tool but are attempting to move away from that and get our users to perform their analysis in the apps.
  • Easy for users to understand.
  • Great security.
  • Code gets complicated after much development.
  • Qlik makes you pay for every feature.
  • Expensive.
Qlik Sense is well suited for summary analysis and finding answers quickly. If the data grows beyond 10 million records or so the performance begins to suffer.
If you do not have a good understanding of the data structure then Qlik sense will not help you much.
Their ODAG (On Demand App Generation) feature is great when your data becomes too large.
In my opinion we have not benefitted that much from Qlik Sense's ability to support complex data models. If you already have your data in a relational data base then your needs for support on complex data models should be satisfied.
As far as accuracy goes there are some quirks in the coding of Qlik that can get you from time to time, but 99.9% of the time (and in 99.9% of use cases) Qlik will give you accurate results. Only if you are doing some very specific transformations will the result surprise you. Make sure you test your output.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Qlik Sense in the procurement and supplies department for monitoring of suppliers delivery punctuality. It is linked to our SAP database which would capture the information and date when the item arrives at the receiving end of the warehouse. With that, we can make comparisons in terms of performance between our suppliers. The dashboard is interactive and can be used by several users at the same time which is great.
  • Interactive.
  • User Friendly.
  • Clear.
  • Building dashboard is complicated as new BI eg. PBI is entering the market.
Basically, its a very useful tool for every enterprise to have. The dashboard can be present in every single department and companies with these would enable employees to make faster, wiser, and better business decisions. However, implementation of BPI in companies might be easier in my opinion as most companies are using Microsoft Office and since PBI is part of its ecosystem, employees are more willing to accept.
We have definitely benefited from the capabilities of Qlik. Before this, reports were done individually and Excel files were everywhere and reports were prepared individually to various managers. The most important part is it being interactive so we as users can choose and select the fields and filters etc that we want to view and make decisions.
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a local government organization, we use Qlik Sense to serve public-facing dashboards and data reports to residents and service users. We're also transitioning from Qlik View to Qlik Sense for internal reporting in several service areas. We maintain a range of interactive reports to allow service managers to understand their data, and also use Qlik Sense as an ad hoc analysis tool within our Business Intelligence function.
  • Data modeling is incorporated in the product, allowing for a "no warehouse" approach to smaller reporting solutions. This means we can get off the ground with new reporting projects (or replacements of currently manual processes) without cross-organization coordination, and our analysts don't have to become experts in multiple tools to deliver useful outputs.
  • The Data > Analysis > Story workflow allows for precise analysis reports/commentaries on specific areas, with the ability to drill back to the analysis screens for broader exploration.
  • Without much thought at all, simple data models just "happen". With proper design, complex data models function well, too. Data processing within Qlik Sense data files happens dramatically faster than the equivalent processing on our Oracle database servers, meaning we can pull raw data in bulk and process it more quickly in Qlik Sense, removing the need for a lengthy warehousing time slot in our nightly database schedule.
  • Visualizations can be difficult to customize. For example, while it's possible to select specific colors for chart items, it's not immediately obvious how this works, so there's either a bit of a learning curve for what's a basic task in any other tool, or you end up with every report following the Qlik default scheme. This isn't just an aesthetic preference; color can be crucial in guiding a user through a series of complex reports, and Qlik makes this harder to manage than some other tools I've used (though not impossible).
  • Selecting a reseller is more opaque than it needs to be. We happened to land on an excellent reseller when re-procuring our licenses, who brought with them a whole approach to modeling data in Qlik Sense which we otherwise wouldn't have known about, and which, despite the licenses costing about the same, has saved us months of development time. Other customers will presumably be less lucky.
  • I'd really like it if my having purchased the QAP license for publishing dashboards externally meant I was also covered for my internal customers. As it is I still have to buy "viewer" licenses for internal users. If we weren't already locked into the Qlik Sense contract because we've already made the big payment and are now only paying maintenance, it would be hard to justify buying this product over cheaper competitors. I still think it's a good product, but in ways that it's hard to articulate in a local government procurement process.
Interactive reporting and multi-dimensional analysis. The product is well suited to a technically literate team who don't want to maintain data warehouses but do want to work in detail with their data. With proper data modeling, it can also serve less technically skilled users as a drag and drop analysis tool, but this is probably less useful.
Yes, this does work. When I arrived at the organization I was skeptical about Qlik Sense as a data modeling tool as it doesn't work well, for example, with cubes. After working with the tool it becomes clear that most of what Qlik Sense doesn't do, it doesn't actually need to do in most cases. Cubes are irrelevant to Qlik Sense, to follow that example, because it holds all the data in its data files, and allows cross-cutting at any level of granularity you bring in from source or define in your data load.

Qlik data files are also fast to process, meaning a query we'd hesitate to run against our live database during work hours will run in a second from the nightly Qlik extract. Our workflow is to extract from the source into one Qlik data file, then pull and transform from that file into another, rather than transforming from the source. This requires more design work to keep the load scripts tidy, but it works well.

One thing I would say is that to get the most out of Qlik's data modeling you need to either put careful thought into the design process or adopt an established methodology.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Qlik Sense cloud solution. It is being used across the whole organization. It mainly use to evaluate primary health care program performance and monitoring purpose. Also the insight is used for department of health reporting as well. IT gather business needs and develop visualization and produce reports/dashboards to business users. Self-service was not used efficiently so all the needs will go through IT.
  • Smart search capability.
  • Self-service.
  • Smart visualization and analytics.
  • Reports and dashboard export capability. There are lot of improvements need to be done this section. It is not possible to export whole dashboard into one pdf or power point without much hassle. Storytelling feature is working well with PowerPoint. Every time we have to adjust it when re publish the dashboard. We have to export page by page for PDF exports.
  • Subscription feature is missing. We want to automate report subscription to users inbox. But this feature is not available. Anyone want to view the dashboards, they have to log in. Managers and higher managements don't like to login to Qlik Sense to get reports. They rather prefer getting reports and dashboards directly to their inbox.
  • Qlik data model: for non technical person, it is difficult to manage Qlik Sense unique data model. Language and scripting is different. Have to learn it separately.
  • Lack of single sign-on capability. Users have to login to Qlik Sense with it is own credentials. This is one of the main drawbacks. We have office 365 login. It would be great If we can login to Qlik Sense with office 365 login so we don't want to remember the login details.
  • Matrix visualization chart is not up to the mark. We can only do very little from the Matrix table. Lot of features could have given here. Cannot customizable well compared to other BI tools such as power BI and Tableau.
Well suited: Small scale reporting where users have good knowledge of BI tools.
Less Appropriate: Large scale reporting where a lot of users don't have basic BI tool knowledge. Where there are a lot of data exports needing to take place. And also users prefer report subscription to their inbox.
Yes for some extent. It is useful for situations where we have lot of excel base, web base data sources and unstructured data. So we can easily integrate data. But it is not useful If we have database or data warehouse as data storage. There we have to make extra effort to make it work with Qlik Sense complex data model architecture. I think it is not worth doing complex data modelling if we have already a database or data warehouse. We have to do unique Qlik Sense data modelling for data already modelled in a database. It is additional work for us.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik is utilized company wide to transform various databases into actionable dashboards in order to mange a variety of key performance indicators. It addresses the problem of the databases not being able to provide any data beyond data dumps, and also for the elimination of queries against these databases when needing established data sets.
  • Dashboards.
  • Visuals.
  • Ability to create data across different sources.
  • Visuals.
  • Fonts.
  • Easier to understand/better explained functions.
I believe Qlik Sense is well suited for situations where there are a variety of data sets that are related but are not published via the same reports. It allows for those data joins to gain insight that would otherwise be a manual process. Similarly, it is a good tool for databases that do not have good reporting functionality.
Our company has benefitted from Qlik Sense's ability to enable users to combine multiple data sources and support complex data models with greater speed and accuracy. We have several disjointed databases that output extremely large volumes of data that would otherwise be cumbersome to join together. Qlik is able to do this easily once properly set up.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Qlik Sense for reporting purposes. We also have done various report automations to reduce redundant manual work. Automations have been implemented to focus more time on validation and development. Managers/stakeholders across the whole organization use our automated reports to make decisions in a fast and seamless way rather than waiting for manually delivered reports.
  • Great visualization
  • Flexible and easy to use
  • Allows reuse of code/query logic
  • Creative dashboards
  • Headers should be bold in a table
  • More colors would improve visualization
  • More templates would increase the options for a wider range of presentations
Helps in identify key metrics.
Helps to tell a story with the data.
Helps to choose the right chart for the data.

Less appropriate scenarios:
Qlik Sense sometimes uses more than usual memory space while working in the analysis mode, which causes the process to slow down and hampers the proper functioning of the app.
We have benefited from this capability since we are easily able to connect to our various data sources like PostgreSQL, SQL Server, Google Analytics, Microsoft Excel Spreadsheets, Google Sheets, SalesForce, SailPoint, etc.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Qlik Sense to analyze sales data and to to help us and our customers to better understand their business. I use Qlik an a daily basis. It can help to identify issues such as sales drops due to “out of stock” situations. In addition, Qlik helps to easily pull in meaningful data onto charts and graphs for presentations.
  • Sales data - Qlik Sense can help you understand how a partner is performing globally, or all the way down to the individual store level.
  • Qlik Sense is user friendly - after a few short training modules, you can begin to understand how to use the tool.
  • Qlik Sense is very customizable - it helps you to use data in a way that makes sense for your business.
  • The amount of data that can be pulled from Qlik Sense can we overwhelming - learning how to get what you need and to customize apps for your use takes practice.
  • Qlik data can be hard to figure out, i.e. what date the data you are looking at is from.
  • Currently at my organization, Qlik data downloads go to Excel - we have moved to G-suite, and have to switch back and forth between apps.
Qlik Sense is an excellent tool, and as mentioned is very customizable. Qlik can help you to harness all the raw data that your company uses, and put in a format that is easy to understand and can also be shared easily, either inside or outside your organization. Qlik can be used across the entire organization sales, customer service, data analysis, accounting - it has many uses.
I do not use Qlik Sense in this [manner] - I am on the sales team and use it more for interacting with my customers, sporting sales trends and reporting.
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used across our enterprise to bring together data from disparate databases/applications and provide visualizations. Provides visibility to data that is otherwise hidden.
  • Data Linking - ability to pull data from a wide variety of applications and database is a powerful feature.
  • Charting and visuals - heart of the product is the variety of out of the box visualizations (charts, tables, pivot, etc.) that give developers supported tools to tell department stores.
  • Security - ability to prevent sets of data for view by groups of users is powerful.
  • Email - lack of email functionality for reports and visuals is a miss. NPrinting adds in the functionality - but should be part of the core product. Requires the use of other products like SQL reporting services to accomplish this key business need.
  • Reporting - Visuals are great - the reality is we still need to print or export a visual for users to memorialize data. Lack of ability to produce a report or set one up is a miss.
  • Speed - at times the set up is slow. I believe this is likely more related to the development environment/setup than the product itself.
Qlik Sense is well suited for bringing together different sets of data. A strong point for Qlik Sense is that it allows us to visualize data from different sources. The challenge is on the report/email functions. Qlik Sense does not recognize the need to produce reports or email reports for users. Without this functionality, the heart of our decision-making becomes a challenge right now.
Multiple data sources are the key reason we chose Qlik Sense. Our organization has benefited greatly from this functionality.
Read this authenticated review
October 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is embedded across the whole organisation. It has been especially important during our COVID-19 response. It has enabled teams and departments to access information across the organisation using the equipment they had available. During this time a number of teams have had to work remotely and providing access to business critical data was important, Qlik enabled this through a secure platform.
  • Agile development.
  • Quick deployment.
  • Rapid access.
  • Cross platform design.
  • Flexibility to customise visual design.
  • User Cals could provide more flexibility.
  • Ability to create custom Splash screens for each user for opening Qlik.
Qlik enables users to quickly deploy dashboards even if they don't have data structure knowledge. Having the ability to combine many different data sources without a complicated data warehouse to analyse and present data is a strength of Qlik. The enables rapid deployment or organisational relevant dashboards quickly and easily.
Our organisation has benefited greatly from this ability. During our initial COVID-19 response a large amount of data was be captured using unstructured data sources (Text, Excel, Access). Qlik enabled us to capture, organise, analyse and report on specific metrics. This improved outcomes for our patients and enabled the organisation to accurately manage our healthcare response.
The way they have supported us during Covid-19
Qlik does exactly what is needs to , Data is delivered in an intuitive way which requires little to no training for uses to unlock the potential of their data.
Qlik is a web app , This enables it to be wherever/whenever you are . No client software required
Yes - We have expected downtime during our version upgrades. The additional functionality delivered has benefited our organisation. Yet another value added aspect of Qlik
Read this authenticated review
October 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used in the whole organization. It allows to gather information from all entities and see consolidated picture. Business is making decisions on the analyzed data. This is a great tool to check data quality that is crucial to have trusted data and correct results. It delivers self-service functionality and the users can make their own dashboards as they like.
  • Visibility. Attractive visual objects.
  • Self-service functionality.
  • Web-based technology.
  • Security rules - make more user friendly in terms of configuration.
  • More focus on big data, not in-memory apps.
  • Additional useful actions that are available in QlikView.
Well suited in sales, statistics.
More advanced skills needed to use financial analysis (e.g. P&L).
Our company is getting data from different sources. In combination with scripting and transformation it gives the opportunity to easily combine and analyze different data.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (146)
7.1
Customizable dashboards (211)
8.1
Report Formatting Templates (147)
7.4
Drill-down analysis (213)
8.8
Formatting capabilities (208)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (103)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (199)
7.1
Publish to Web (145)
8.2
Publish to PDF (169)
7.2
Report Versioning (116)
6.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (119)
5.4
Delivery to Remote Servers (69)
7.0
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (204)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (188)
7.6
Predictive Analytics (125)
6.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (181)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (179)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (183)
8.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (134)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (151)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (88)
6.5
Dedicated Android Application (72)
6.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (127)
7.0
REST API (74)
8.1
Javascript API (57)
7.3
iFrames (52)
7.3
Java API (40)
7.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (57)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (51)
6.6

What is Qlik Sense?

Qlik Sense is a business intelligence (BI) and visual analytics platform that supports a range of analytic use cases. Built on Qlik’s unique Associative Engine, it supports a full range of users and use-cases across the life-cycle from data to insight – with self-service analytics, interactive dashboards, conversational analytics, custom and embedded analytics, mobile analytics, and reporting. The solution comes in three different editions - Qlik Sense Enterprise, Business, and Team. Qlik Sense can be deployed in the cloud or on-premises.

Qlik Sense sets the benchmark for third-generation analytics platforms, empowering everyone in organizations to make data-driven decisions. People of all skill levels get unmatched analytical power, with unique associative exploration and search, AI-powered insight suggestions, AI-accelerated creation and data prep, advanced analytics integration, and natural-language, conversational interaction. They can easily share and communicate the insights they discover and get answers anywhere they work – with fully interactive and secure online and offline mobility. And for the enterprise, you get a true platform with open and standard APIs for customization and extension, powerful data integration and connectivity, centralized management and governance, and a Kubernetes based SaaS / multi-cloud architecture driving scalability across combinations of on-premise, private, and public cloud environments.

Qlik Sense Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features

Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureIn memory data indexing Associative Engine
Has featureMachine Learning with the Qlik Cognitive Engine
Has featureAugmented Intelligence and insight suggestions with Insight Advisor
Has featureConversational Analytics with Qlik Insight Bot
Has featureOpen APIs, in addition to Qlik Analytics Platform
Has featureMulti Cloud Architecture with docker containers deployed and orchestrated within Kubernetes
Has featureData Catalog & Data Ops Management with Qlik Data Catalyst
Has featurePublic and syndicated data as a service with Qlik Data Market
Has featureQlik Associative Big Data Index delivers Qlik’s associative experience on top of Big Data
Has featureFlexible deployment options including Enterprise SaaS and combination of cloud and on-premise options
Has featureEnterprise reporting and distribution with Qlik NPrinting
Has featureAdvanced geopolitical calculation and geotagging with Qlik Geo Analytics
Has featureEmbedded analytic capabilities to build, extend and deploy custom solutions that are scalable and cloud-ready with Qlik Core

Qlik Sense Screenshots

Qlik Sense Videos (12)

Watch Try a Qlik Sense App

Watch Take a Qlik Sense Product Tour - Imagine an analytics tool so intuitive, anyone in your company could easily create personalized reports and dynamic dashboards to explore vast amounts of data.

Watch Qlik GeoAnalytics

Watch Qlik Associative Big Data Index

Qlik Sense Downloadables

Qlik Sense Integrations

DataRobot, Azure, Cloudera, SAP

Qlik Sense Competitors

Qlik Sense Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Qlik Sense Perpetual$1,5001-50 users
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Qlik Sense Subscription$8401-50 Users

Qlik Sense Enterprise: Perpetual license basis, based on number of users Qlik Sense Enterprise: Subscription, based on number of users Qlik Sense Desktop: FREE Qlik Sense Cloud: FREE

Qlik Sense Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
help.qlik.com
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLdnQXZq2xRoAnbUOZl6fueHxRkZs8f5a8

Qlik Sense Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Kubernetes
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, LATAM, APAC
Supported Languages: The Qlik Management Console is English only.    The Qlik Sense client supports the following languages: English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Dutch, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Swedish, simplified Chinese, Polish, Turkish, Korean, and Traditional Chinese.   The language Qlik Sense uses depends on the language preferences of your browser. The default reading order in a Qlik Sense app is left to right. You can change the reading order to right-to-left in your app preferences if your data or labels are in a right-to-left language such as Arabic or Hebrew.