Qlik Sense Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
611 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 185)

Aran Nathanson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

Qlik Sense - Small business analytics at the right price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Qlik Sense to analyze sales and customer demographics data. It's being used by the CEO and the marketing part of the organization. We operate in multiple countries, with several products in different currencies. Qlik Sense allows us to look at all the data in a single platform, which is hugely useful for us. I do have doubts as to the scalability of the cloud product as we're starting to hit the limits of data file sizes we upload (and we don't want to use the product directly against our MySQL DB for security reasons).
  • Easy to implement for relatively simple analytics
  • Deep user base/knowledge base
  • Reasonably nice UI
  • Flexible
  • Data load is a bit byzantine - there should be a one-click data load process
  • Hard to "undo" or modify data load criteria once it's been set up
  • Up to down scrolling would be nice to have - it's pretty standard functionality
Qlik Sense is good for simple analytics. However, it is not that easy to set up "what if" scenarios, more advanced statistical analysis, and custom stuff.
We only use a single data source for now, so it hasn't actually benefited us at all.
Read Aran Nathanson's full review
Ian Chua | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Qlik Sense Enterprise from a user's perspective

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Qlik Sense is being used by selected users within the whole organisation.

The current usage is quite limited as it does not connect to our existing systems yet, especially for the finance domain where we have to upload our own Excel files. Understand that this is not a Qlik Sense problem, but a data warehouse problem which the organisation is currently trying to resolve as well. Once the data warehouse is set up and running, Qlik Sense will be more widely and actively used.
  • Ease of publishing dashboards on an enterprise-level via streams.
  • Scripting language is powerful with lots of functions.
  • Qlik Sense can handle the whole data lifecycle, from ETL all the way to visualisations on dashboards.
  • Things are not as easily customisable as say, Power BI or Tableau. E.g. font size, font type, text location, etc. No overlay/floating visuals capability as well.
  • Complex front-end development makes the dashboards a bit sluggish and slow.
Qlik Sense is well suited for a dashboard developer where there are many users, and the dataset in question is large.

If the user wanted to do a quick and dirty data exploratory analysis of a given data file, Qlik Sense feels unwieldy, and other tools feel more snappy and easier to explore with.
As mentioned earlier, our organisations' data warehouse is not full-fledged yet, so we are unable to use Qlik Sense to its full intended use. However, different data sources have been loaded into and prepared using Qlik Sense with quite straightforward, easy to visualise data models. The loading process may be a bit slow due to huge data volumes, but I was surprised when the visualisations created were quite responsive.
Read Ian Chua's full review
Robin Bonham | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2020

A good package for quick and easy reporting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used throughout the organization, including our Purchase Department, Finance Department, Warehouse Team, Sales Department, and upper senior management.
  • Ease of information gathering.
  • Customization of data.
  • Graphical representations of data.
  • Better error messages on data reload, some error messages are unclear.
It is fairing very well in sales analysis and KPI management.
Yes, it has benefited by allowing us to quickly and easily gain access to data held in our Sage 200 system but it is hard to get natively.
Read Robin Bonham's full review
Malini Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

Qlik business reporting

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik is used almost across organization in form of Qlik Reports. We analyze our products and employees performance on weekly/monthly/quarterly and yearly basis. we have multiple branches and their performance and revenue also get measured through these reports.
  • Flexibility to play with data.
  • Management console.
  • Basic formatting issues: Color/font esp in graphs and Pivot.
  • Use of master measures in expressions.
  • Alternate state to have more options.
  • More options rather than having to solve everything using set analysis.
Showing KPI(s), previous and current comparisons.
We have been using SQL mainly. Running QVF has been relatively slow, but otherwise, it has been fine with us.
Read Malini Garg's full review
Sameer Walgude | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2020

QlikSense can transform your business, your decision making, and make the best use of resources

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Purchasing data analysis, dashboards, insight, business decisions, price prediction, prescriptive dashboards, sourcing reviews, performance management, and weekly, monthly, and quarterly reviews.
  • Dashboards
  • Data links and relations
  • Visualizations
  • Data filters
  • Handling huge data
  • Insights
  • AI Bot
  • Easy Customization like Power BI
  • Real-time data feeds
  • Speed
  • Geo analytics
  • More AI
  • Data inputs at front end
  • Data reloads
Well suited for dashboards and visualizations. Less appropriate with respect to speed and user-friendly customization like Power BI. Some dashboards take a long time to load. If the Qlik app size is more than 2 GB, then it works very slowly. The bot should be free.
Ye, we extract data from SAP, BW, Excel, Cordys system, PLM system, web scraping, and multiple other sources. Qlik provides a great connection with all data sources.
Read Sameer Walgude's full review
Connie Ho | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2020

A power user with 2 years experience

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole department (NSW Health). My department just uses Qlik Sense as our main BI tool at the moment while the other departments use other tools as well like Power BI or Tableau. Our department uses Qlik Sense for our KPI monthly reports replacing our static PDF reports.
  • Can access different data sources directly.
  • Easy to learn to build simple reports.
  • Continual support from Qlik Sense team.
  • Cannot change font size in the graphs, hard to read the graph titles especially when projecting to larger screens. Just the graph size becomes bigger not the titles at all!
  • It's not really that easy to build the data model behind, steep learning curve. The built-in data manager is no use for serious analysts.
  • Hard to visualise clearly on big screens, very faded and white on big screens.
  • Data security model is complex.
  • Cannot use version control software on Qlik Sense files, harder on collaborative work.
  • Set analysis is powerful and useful but complex.
Visualisation is best on smaller screens like laptops and iPads, but not on big screens and projectors.
We feed the data from databases directly plus some Excel spreadsheets. The data model behind it enables the combining both datasets in a timely fashion, but the building of the model is not that simple.
Read Connie Ho's full review
Jay Mistry | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

Qlik Sense for Quick Insights!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Qlik Sense is being used across the Finance function but the intention is for Sales/Marketing and the Supply Chain function also to have access as we roll out projects relating to those areas. Many of the business problems we are trying to resolve are around having one source of data and a one-stop-shop to access that data.
  • Visualizations that interact with the user.
  • Associations help users understand the data and can provide answers.
  • Handling of large volumes of data with ease.
  • Restrict who can see what especially with functional data.
  • From a development point, be able to replicate variables more easily and be able to use the find/replace function.
  • More flexibility around waterfall charts and making them easier to build.
  • Ability to do cyclical groups (as in QlikView) so save canvass space.
Qlik Sense is ideal where is there is a large volume of data (millions of rows), where there are many data sources and information needs to be restricted as to who and what they can see. In terms of development time required, Qlik Sense may not be suited where data rows are only in the thousands and where information can only add value if presented as tables (I.E., where visuals are not required).
These have been some of the benefits of using Qlik Sense. POS data can come from various vendors and in different formats, which were a big challenge for the organization. Qlik Sense was able to load data from a variety of sources and handle the different formats too.
Read Jay Mistry's full review
Eka Tjahjadi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Getting insight of your data using Qlik Sense

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used across the whole organization with different maturity degrees of adoption. Within my own department, I don't use it only for monitoring, but also for gaining insight related to server performance. By using Grey-Green-White features in Qlik Sense, I was able to get the usage behavior of all programs running in a server. For example, the peak time, the most used apps, the relationship between time. and certain program usage. I was also able to find the root cause of some problems. For example, finding the root cause of a performance problem case is in lack of memory instead of a lack of CPU.
  • Simplicity and easiness
  • Speed of analysis
  • Green-Gray-White feature
  • The desktop version is longer free. It makes it hard to recommend it to everyone.
  • Lacking interoperability. Only Qlik is able to access QVD Data. Should make a connector to another program.
  • Need a mobile version app with simple authentication (like current the desktop version) which can directly connect to get data in the cloud.
It is perfect for structured data, to create a dashboard, and to get a simple insight into the relationship between dimensions. It is less appropriate for unstructured data, since you will need lots of work to clean/transform the data. It also won't replace R or Python to get more advanced insight using many statistics available in the algorithms.
We have operational data scattered in many locations using different technology. The greatest achievement is Qlik has SAP Connector which enables us to utilize SAP Extractor. This way, data extraction from SAP has minimal impact on server performance. The validity of data itself is guaranteed, since it utilizes a standard SAP program.
Read Eka Tjahjadi's full review
Kate Pellegrina | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Making the leap from QlikView to Qlik Sense

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense across the whole organization is our primary visualization tool for all reporting.
  • Data visualization
  • Empowers self service
  • Company-wide single reporting tool
  • More ability to bespoke visualizations
  • Miss some QlikView functionality
Qlik Sense works in small and large implementations for visualization of most data; the most time-consuming part is getting the data in a good state, then the visualizations come easily.
Yes, we use Qlik Sense to pull together data from multiple underlying systems.
Read Kate Pellegrina's full review
Madhur Jhawar | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Qlik Sense works Magic!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using it for computing large amounts of data with the vizualisation and easy implementations. Qlik Sense has worked a lot in these. Easy to use and ease of availability on different platforms makes it very user friendly. We use Qlik Sense for our day-to-day reporting of machinery and equipment sales, purchases, stock details and historical data computation.
  • User friendly.
  • Data computation.
  • Ease of availability.
  • Easy licencing.
  • More extensions support.
Well suited for handling large amounts of data and implementing complex logics.
Read Madhur Jhawar's full review
Yiannos Morphitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Qlik and Take Control

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It used across the whole company in order to view, analyze and compare at the first stage of the implementation company monthly performance.
  • Analyze data
  • Compare data
  • Visualization of data
  • Profit and loss tools
  • Budgeting tools
  • Forecasting tools
Data analysis and visualization.
Read Yiannos Morphitis's full review
Filippo Orlando | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

My SENSEtional Experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company began its experience with Qlik 6 years ago. At the beginning we used View and for two years we have integrated Sense and Nprinting. The IT (business intelligence) team and the MS (advanced analytics) team coordinate the infrastructure and manage the releases, which reach every branch of the company.
  • Adaptability
  • Integration
  • Ease of Use
  • Greater possibility of native customization
  • Fewer links to scripting and more wizards
  • Certified and officially maintained extensions
I believe that thanks to its scalability it is suitable for medium to large companies. The complexity of the proprietary language and the link with scripting make it not very accessible to small companies, where however it is certainly less necessary.
To date we are still in an initial state and we have not yet taken advantage of all the power and integration of Qlik Sense.
Read Filippo Orlando's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Qlik Sense combines power and ease of use to enable data driven decisions

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to track the consumption of our published marketing materials. Since we support many industry verticals, tracking and attribution are important to justify our expenditure in these areas, and ultimately, see where the materials contribute towards opportunities and sales leads. We rank the usage statistics when we try to allocate our content development budgets based on the level and method of consumption.
  • Tracking
  • Developing insights and reporting.
  • Merging with Salesforce.
  • Automated reporting and customization.
  • Sometimes hard to save a standard query.
  • Must rebuild report parameters repeatedly.
  • Exportation of data to Excel a bit clunky.
I really like the interface and the ability to build custom reports. The ability to add filters and develop a high degree of precision makes the reporting valuable. If one is trying to track and measure the effectiveness of campaigns based on collateral consumption is important, especially if they are spread among various channels, this tool and functionality is very important
Yes, we do content publishing to various outlets, both internally and externally. The content can take many forms including papers, video, partner briefs across MANY channels, so the ability to have a degree of granularity of reporting and to attribute it with specific insight is crucial. Reports are needed with some degree of frequency— weekly, monthly, quarterly
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Great promise, too difficult/time consuming to use to deliver on it.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Qlik Sense as our principal BI solution for the entire company. We serve visualizations of our data to users in every department for any reason they might need automatically updating data resources. We purchased Qlik due to its ability to load relatively large volumes of data for analysis by the end user through the in-app selections tool, a job at which it performs fairly well.
  • End-user driven analysis
  • Multi-table data structures
  • Data Manager is almost completely non-performant with large data volumes or complex queries, wasting large amounts of analyst time waiting around for the necessary synchronize tables step, which can take *actual hours* and doesn't even actually load the data! We elected not to utilize Qlik as our embedded BI tool for this reason: I couldn't imagine putting my own users through what I deal with on a regular basis. I also have several apps which appear to have developed some sort of bug which prevents me from
  • Many common analytics questions are not really possible to perform in the front end and must be pre-calculated either in the load script or your data warehouse: rolling averages, period over period calculations, and several other common transformations are not really possible without (exceedingly complicated and unintuitive) "set analysis" scripts, and some are just best handled in
  • Adding multiple event streams from different tables to a single graph is essentially impossible; you must instead redesign your data model to allow for a single data field to refer to all the relevant events. There is no internal feature to help you do this.
  • Overall, Qlik is a system which serves end users reasonably well, and the data model combined with the selections feature *should* free up Analyst hours due to enabling end-user driven analytics, but that opportunity is lost due to how difficult it is to use and maintain apps in the back end.
  • I don't know if this is a "room for improvement" but Qlik's model is to internalize all data to disk on your Qlik server, which means if you are looking for a tool to make best use of a high-powered big data warehouse with excellent OLAP processing times, Qlik is not the tool for you.
Qlik Sense Enterprise is best when:
  • You have a highly data literate team of stakeholders who will benefit from being able to do their own analysis.
  • You have an IT team familiar with Windows Server. (Not relevant to Cloud offering)
  • You have ample analyst resources and training time.

Qlik Sense Enterprise is problematic when:
  • You have limited analyst resources.
  • You have a broad array of data literacy among your end users, requiring more explicit graphs to be designed by your analysts.
  • You want to take advantage of a powerful big data warehouse with good on-demand OLAP performance.
I think there's a balance here that we've caught the wrong end of: Qlik is fine to serve as a BI tool to take you from relatively small firm to enterprise scale, but you need to be able to continually re-invest in analytics in order to make it work at larger scales, and if your org doesn't have the capacity to maintain a non-trivial team of experts to maintain the system, they may easily become overwhelmed. Training users in the tools they need to be really successful (Data Load scripting, set expressions, chart scripting) is time consuming and expensive.
We used to utilize Qlik's ability to connect to multiple data sources, but we've changed our architecture significantly and no longer want or need our BI tool to connect to anything other than our central data warehouse and a few specialty data repositories which are all themselves a very common DBMS like Postgres or Redshift, so we really only need Qlik to attach to those two sources these days.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Driving Performance Intervention with Data Visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While many teams within our organization utilize Qlik Sense for business analytics and visualizations, our learning and development function that supports our customer service teams has recently begun using Qlik Sense to determine and prioritize needs within our teams that can and should be addressed with performance interventions.
  • Data Modeling. I really appreciate how Qlik Sense is a truly approachable professional tool. Loading and connecting data tables into an app can be as simple or complex as your project requires. This allows both novice and expert users to effectively develop data visualizations.
  • Wide Userbase. The fact that Qlik Sense has so many users around the globe means that there are a plethora of training materials available online from many sources. Qlik's training materials are helpful, but I also found valuable resources at Udemy.com and even on YouTube.
  • Consistent Visualizations. The process for creating nearly every type of visualization is very similar, meaning that it does not take long for a new user to learn the basic processes of the program and to become an efficient report/app developer.
  • Simplicity. Being a PowerBI user as well, I think Microsoft does a better job concerning the simplicity of layout and cloud integration of their product.
  • Modern Design. I also think PowerBI does a better job of making aesthetically attractive visualizations right out of the box. Some of Qlik Sense's visualizations are very practical, but lack of design without a lot of finicky adjustments.
I think Qlik Sense is well suited to fill the need of an organization or individual in need of creating interactive visualizations from large data sets. Ultimately, when it comes to data analytics, it is vital to use a tool that integrates well in the environment of other software within the user's context, making Qlik Sense a tough sell over PowerBI in many Microsoft-dominated business contexts.
Qlik sense has provided our team with the ability to quickly and easily combine data from multiple, competing vendors into singular visualizations to allow for effortless comparisons of their performance. It also allows us to update our data sets as new data comes in on a monthly basis, so once we have completed a report (or app), we only need to update the data source with new tables, and our reports adjust accordingly. This saves us much time over our old process which involved many spreadsheet-based reports that were all formatted individually.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2020

I like it

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a local government organization, we use Qlik Sense to serve public-facing dashboards and data reports to residents and service users. We're also transitioning from Qlik View to Qlik Sense for internal reporting in several service areas. We maintain a range of interactive reports to allow service managers to understand their data, and also use Qlik Sense as an ad hoc analysis tool within our Business Intelligence function.
  • Data modeling is incorporated in the product, allowing for a "no warehouse" approach to smaller reporting solutions. This means we can get off the ground with new reporting projects (or replacements of currently manual processes) without cross-organization coordination, and our analysts don't have to become experts in multiple tools to deliver useful outputs.
  • The Data > Analysis > Story workflow allows for precise analysis reports/commentaries on specific areas, with the ability to drill back to the analysis screens for broader exploration.
  • Without much thought at all, simple data models just "happen". With proper design, complex data models function well, too. Data processing within Qlik Sense data files happens dramatically faster than the equivalent processing on our Oracle database servers, meaning we can pull raw data in bulk and process it more quickly in Qlik Sense, removing the need for a lengthy warehousing time slot in our nightly database schedule.
  • Visualizations can be difficult to customize. For example, while it's possible to select specific colors for chart items, it's not immediately obvious how this works, so there's either a bit of a learning curve for what's a basic task in any other tool, or you end up with every report following the Qlik default scheme. This isn't just an aesthetic preference; color can be crucial in guiding a user through a series of complex reports, and Qlik makes this harder to manage than some other tools I've used (though not impossible).
  • Selecting a reseller is more opaque than it needs to be. We happened to land on an excellent reseller when re-procuring our licenses, who brought with them a whole approach to modeling data in Qlik Sense which we otherwise wouldn't have known about, and which, despite the licenses costing about the same, has saved us months of development time. Other customers will presumably be less lucky.
  • I'd really like it if my having purchased the QAP license for publishing dashboards externally meant I was also covered for my internal customers. As it is I still have to buy "viewer" licenses for internal users. If we weren't already locked into the Qlik Sense contract because we've already made the big payment and are now only paying maintenance, it would be hard to justify buying this product over cheaper competitors. I still think it's a good product, but in ways that it's hard to articulate in a local government procurement process.
Interactive reporting and multi-dimensional analysis. The product is well suited to a technically literate team who don't want to maintain data warehouses but do want to work in detail with their data. With proper data modeling, it can also serve less technically skilled users as a drag and drop analysis tool, but this is probably less useful.
Yes, this does work. When I arrived at the organization I was skeptical about Qlik Sense as a data modeling tool as it doesn't work well, for example, with cubes. After working with the tool it becomes clear that most of what Qlik Sense doesn't do, it doesn't actually need to do in most cases. Cubes are irrelevant to Qlik Sense, to follow that example, because it holds all the data in its data files, and allows cross-cutting at any level of granularity you bring in from source or define in your data load.

Qlik data files are also fast to process, meaning a query we'd hesitate to run against our live database during work hours will run in a second from the nightly Qlik extract. Our workflow is to extract from the source into one Qlik data file, then pull and transform from that file into another, rather than transforming from the source. This requires more design work to keep the load scripts tidy, but it works well.

One thing I would say is that to get the most out of Qlik's data modeling you need to either put careful thought into the design process or adopt an established methodology.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2020

The analyst in each of us

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The system is used throughout the organization. The main goal is to visualize business processes in the mode as close as possible to real-time. With Qlik Sense, our company explores data in various ways and draws its own conclusions based on this data. In addition, we have built a dashboard, KPI, and a system of grades.
  • Qlik Sense has a low threshold for entry into development, which makes it possible to include the maximum number of units in it at the lowest cost.
  • In addition to the system, better training is required.
The system is ideal for large companies with a branched structure of departments, especially if the units are in different parts of the world. You can work with Qlik Sense on the corporate network, cloud, on a device, or in the version built into the application. To a lesser extent for small organizations.
The company’s QlikSense system is used by more than 16,000 employees around the world 24/7. About 170 different databases are connected to the system, which makes it possible to quickly obtain the necessary data for managing processes and building predictive analytics. A simple development system made it possible to connect employees to the process of creating reports in almost all departments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2020

From report creation to self service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used by our finance controllers to quickly get real-time data to analyse, by our business to follow up their KPI and by finance to consolidate and assist in monthly closing. The self-service possibilities of the tool allow business and commercials to do a first part of their analyses themselves, leaving the time to our controllers to do more in-depth and detailed analyses and add value instead of only create reports. The dashboard our business leaders have provide them their first view on their business in real time. The possibility to drill down and the use of the filters allow analyses of margins per client/type of business.
  • The power of grey: the possibility to filter on everything - even if it is not included in your current selection.
  • User friendly in creating graphs/tables: with limited explanation a user can create themselves simple dashboards.
  • Possibility to easily create data models linking different systems and tables.
  • Visuals: changing the basic/preset colour schemes is hard.
  • Not possible to select null values (blanks) without altering the Input.
  • In QAP it is not possible for a user to save often used filters.
Qlik Sense is in our case well suited as we have different sources of databases - to link the data in the different systems. We have different invoicing systems/different accounting packages. Qlik Sense allows us to have margin/sales per client for the total group, regardless of the invoicing source - and do analyses on them. Qlik Sense is user-friendly and works well for self-service analytics. It would be overkill if it is used on one system and only for visual purposes. Or when reports are static and it is not the intention to give users the possibility to drill down and do their own analyses.
We have different invoicing sources, different accounting packages per country and for sales/margin analyses purposes need to add information from other databases.

In Qlik we created QVDs per source to improve speed and for each main part of data one cube has been made. This means that when drawing reports we are always making this on the same basis and risk to have contradictory info is very low because your basis is always the full database.

Our ERP contains a large set of lines, going to the detailed lines per invoice, all info available on clients and all actions taken on a client. Before we had SQL report in reporting service: when loading the report of invoicing per client you could get a coffee. And if you noticed that your filter was wrong you could start over. No detail was available. Now we have a full detail model which takes 30 seconds to load.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

A stellar BI platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik is the de facto BI tool in my market leading firm. We currently have 6K+ developers and over 10K+ users consuming applications. Qlik has been critical to my success with the ease of integrating and connecting data across multiple tools and source systems in a cohesive manner.
  • Data modeling with the associative engine.
  • Set analysis for fine controlled expressions.
  • ETL capabilities with the load script editor.
  • Visualization choices and customizations.
  • Simplification of set analysis syntax.
  • Develop concepts of data models.
Well suited for:
  • Modeling data from multiple sources.
  • ETL lite via scripts.
  • Data discovery.

Poorly suited for:
  • Highly custom visualization.
We have extensive systems both internal and external. Being able to integrate and model these sources together in Qlik has been critical.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

The original BI solution and still the best.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik supports our organisation being data led and ultimately ensures our patients get the best care. We have a large suite of Qlik apps (both View & Sense) being used across the organisation from our ED dept, Surgical Theatres, OP Clinics, Inpatient Wards all the way to the Board Room, these apps consolidate vast amounts of data but presents it in a visual & easy to understand manner so it's quick for our clinicians to consume and make decisions on. We are also in the process of rolling out Qlik Sense which is more aimed at people wanting to explore their data in more depth than ever before.
  • Quick to learn & easy to use.
  • Automatically renders for the particular device, therefore works great on both desktop and mobile devices.
  • Has Qlik's powerful cognitive engine that helps highlight relationships it data.
  • It's consistent, from its underlying technology, code, standards, Qlik maintains a level of consistency unlike other vendors that frequently chop and change D&A products.
  • Storyboard is sometimes poor a rendering content, particularly 3rd party extensions.
  • Would be good to see the Qlik Value Added products & more extensions available in the Qlik Cloud.
Qlik is great for anyone interested in data, whether that's producing apps or consuming/analysing data. There are occasions where it may still be quicker to do things with spreadsheets but those occasions are reducing as Qlik becomes quicker and easier to use, unfortunately taking away Qlik Sense Desktop (or making it time-limited) will have a detrimental impact on people playing and learning Qlik Sense.
Qlik has helped us consolidate multiple data sources and provide real-time reporting, rather than having to develop our data warehouse or wait for the data to refresh overnight. This has been easy with Qlik as providing your column names are the same, it automatically finds the relationships between the different datasets. If they aren't you can still match them manually.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Great and powerful data tool that can only improve with full functioning AI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Track data to see trends and make adjustments as well as identify events that can become hidden without looking at the data in a larger population. Build different reports to set up cost justification. Monitor process control data over time in order to identify potential quality issues that may need to be corrected.
  • Easy to drill into data from annual into hourly.
  • Easily customizable.
  • Links well with multiple data sources.
  • Takes too long to get comfortable with navigating around and using.
  • It doesn't feed into presentations well or I haven't figured out how to do it the way I want.
Qlik is well suited for data collection and display. It is a lagging metric tool but needs more work done around the 'Insights' tool to assist with understanding what the data is telling us. An artificial intelligence tool added to this data would take this to the next level.
Multiple data sources always exist, it is paramount that we are able to combine multiple sources in order to get the custom picture we are looking for. It has been very helpful to know what we want to see first and not have an issue pulling the data from 3 sources to get the report.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Qlik for a company still trying to get out of the stone age

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to visualize our sales data. We use a very old system so it is hard for us to gauge what is happening sales-wise (trends, what items sell, what customers grow, don't grow, etc.), so we use the product for that. We also use the software to do conference calls with our reps, we show them what is working, what is not, and let them get data about all of their customers before they visit them and even send them PDF reports.
  • Looks nice
  • Easy to read
  • Nice UI
  • Great for display and presentation
  • Easy to get hard to find data
  • Hard to set up
  • Sharing/limiting access very difficult
  • Printing/exporting to PDF functionality does not work well
  • Editing is very hard
  • Updates were TERRIBLE and wrecked my account, needed help for 6 weeks to get it right again. George helped me and he was great.
I think it is nice to use, great for us right now but the setup issues and the issues after the update make my ranking lower. It was really a bad situation when those updates came. I would also say unless you are linked directly to an ERP I would not recommend it. We are not and I manually update the data once a month. We are limited by this, this is not Qliks fault.
We have been manually importing all the sales data from our ERP every month and Qlik visualizes all the data for us so we can see everything that is happening in our company, down to the item, sales rep, or location. It has been really great for leaning so much about what we do, what works, what does not, and how we can adjust.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Qlik Sense Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Qlik to build and deliver professional dashboards to our stakeholders.
  • Easy to use
  • Overall look and feel
  • Seamless
  • User friendly
  • Collaboration
Qlik sense is well suited in displaying multi-tiered financial data and information. It is extremely user-friendly and makes it easy to build a necessary and useful dashboard in a timely manner. Qlik sense is not great when collaboration is needed in a single app.
Absolutely. Not only have we benefited from this capability, but it is relatively easy to use and set up.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

360 deg. Review by Mohan

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are one of the biggest telecommunications services providers in Belgium with a total business employee base of around 10K. We are using Qlik Sense for all departments with around 60 Developers and around 700 Consumers to address order-related statistics, purchases, finance, revenue business decision related queries.

One of the examples is, it addresses the entertainment-related statistics on all our service users which helps us in advertisement-related decisions.

  • Qlik Insights: Which lets us to have a basic starting point on how we can start visualizing data.
  • QVD creation: Due to its RAM based data analysis structure with QVDs which helps us in fast data analysis.
  • Extensive Visualization bundle and numerous extensions help in exploring more and more insights in data.
  • Visualization such as charts and graph editing experience could be made a bit easy.
  • Data manager loads too long for just 2 tables.
  • Scripting editor could be more informative when getting issues in data loading.

There are a huge number of scenarios where Qlik Sense is suited, like for faster data retrieval, engine performance, REST API application for remote services, QVD Data Library for storing and reusing data for different applications.

But the scheduling service does not have the emailing service on its own which could be a great asset for Qlik Sense.



We have data coming from different sources including flat files, Oracle, DB2 and BigData cluster like Hive and Impala.

The data modelling with combining different sources works good till the data size is reasonable.

The load script editor serves the purpose making many manipulations in combining these data sources but still lacks greater speed in data loading in Qlik Sense.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2020

Qlik Sense Unique Associate Engine

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many depts are using Qlik Sense to address reporting needs. It will be used across the whole organization. There will be more using areas include visualization, analytics, data collection and sharing. Information are centralized and shared with the group. It's easy to generate good quality reports and produce good results to the audience.
  • On-premise server.
  • Associative engine.
  • Web-based.
  • Modern looks.
  • Free extensions.
  • Fancy 3D charts.
  • Extension store.
Dashboard and visualization are well suited. Qlik Sense makes it easier for users to explore the data, to play with the data.
Single User is less appropriate. Qlik Sense is more for enterprise, not for individual users. Qlik Sense is not the most fancy BI tool in the market. But it does suit for a lot of practical needs.
Yes, this function of Qlik Sense is very critical. For example, it will highly reduce the development processes. People can do whatever analyses needed without considering the data structure and relationship. And it will help to make sure the data are correctly joined or connected. To be simple, it's great!
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (128)
6.6
Customizable dashboards (181)
7.7
Report Formatting Templates (127)
7.4
Drill-down analysis (181)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (180)
7.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (92)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (170)
6.9
Publish to Web (128)
8.2
Publish to PDF (145)
7.1
Report Versioning (104)
6.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (101)
4.9
Delivery to Remote Servers (58)
6.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (176)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (162)
7.5
Predictive Analytics (107)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (155)
7.6
Role-Based Security Model (153)
7.8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (154)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (112)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (133)
7.7
Dedicated iOS Application (77)
5.9
Dedicated Android Application (64)
5.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (112)
6.8
REST API (61)
7.5
Javascript API (50)
7.3
iFrames (47)
7.4
Java API (36)
7.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (50)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (45)
6.7

About Qlik Sense

Qlik Sense is a business intelligence (BI) and visual analytics platform that supports a range of analytic use cases. Built on Qlik’s unique Associative Engine, it supports a full range of users and use-cases across the life-cycle from data to insight – with self-service analytics, interactive dashboards, conversational analytics, custom and embedded analytics, mobile analytics, and reporting. The solution comes in three different editions - Qlik Sense Enterprise, Business, and Team. Qlik Sense can be deployed in the cloud or on-premises.

Qlik Sense sets the benchmark for third-generation analytics platforms, empowering everyone in organizations to make data-driven decisions. People of all skill levels get unmatched analytical power, with unique associative exploration and search, AI-powered insight suggestions, AI-accelerated creation and data prep, advanced analytics integration, and natural-language, conversational interaction. They can easily share and communicate the insights they discover and get answers anywhere they work – with fully interactive and secure online and offline mobility. And for the enterprise, you get a true platform with open and standard APIs for customization and extension, powerful data integration and connectivity, centralized management and governance, and a Kubernetes based SaaS / multi-cloud architecture driving scalability across combinations of on-premise, private, and public cloud environments.

Qlik Sense Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureIn memory data indexing Associative Engine
Has featureMachine Learning with the Qlik Cognitive Engine
Has featureAugmented Intelligence and insight suggestions with Insight Advisor
Has featureConversational Analytics with Qlik Insight Bot
Has featureOpen APIs, in addition to Qlik Analytics Platform
Has featureMulti Cloud Architecture with docker containers deployed and orchestrated within Kubernetes
Has featureData Catalog & Data Ops Management with Qlik Data Catalyst
Has featurePublic and syndicated data as a service with Qlik Data Market
Has featureQlik Associative Big Data Index delivers Qlik’s associative experience on top of Big Data
Has featureFlexible deployment options including Enterprise SaaS and combination of cloud and on-premise options
Has featureEnterprise reporting and distribution with Qlik NPrinting
Has featureAdvanced geopolitical calculation and geotagging with Qlik Geo Analytics
Has featureEmbedded analytic capabilities to build, extend and deploy custom solutions that are scalable and cloud-ready with Qlik Core

Qlik Sense Screenshots

Qlik Sense Videos (12)

Watch Try a Qlik Sense App

Watch Take a Qlik Sense Product Tour - Imagine an analytics tool so intuitive, anyone in your company could easily create personalized reports and dynamic dashboards to explore vast amounts of data.

Watch Qlik GeoAnalytics

Watch Qlik Associative Big Data Index

Qlik Sense Downloadables

Qlik Sense Integrations

DataRobot, Azure, Cloudera, SAP

Qlik Sense Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Qlik Sense Perpetual$1,5001-50 users
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Qlik Sense Subscription$8401-50 Users

Qlik Sense Enterprise: Perpetual license basis, based on number of users Qlik Sense Enterprise: Subscription, based on number of users Qlik Sense Desktop: FREE Qlik Sense Cloud: FREE

Qlik Sense Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
help.qlik.com
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLdnQXZq2xRoAnbUOZl6fueHxRkZs8f5a8

Qlik Sense Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Kubernetes
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, LATAM, APAC
Supported Languages: The Qlik Management Console is English only.    The Qlik Sense client supports the following languages: English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Dutch, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Swedish, simplified Chinese, Polish, Turkish, Korean, and Traditional Chinese.   The language Qlik Sense uses depends on the language preferences of your browser. The default reading order in a Qlik Sense app is left to right. You can change the reading order to right-to-left in your app preferences if your data or labels are in a right-to-left language such as Arabic or Hebrew.