Qlik Sense

Qlik Sense

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.8 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Qlik Sense

Overview

Recent Reviews

Qilky

7 out of 10
July 28, 2022
Qlik Sense Desktop is a Windows application that allows users to create visualizations, charts, interactive dashboards, and analytics apps …
Continue reading

Qlik Sense at a Glance

8 out of 10
April 25, 2022
We use it for our data analytics to make better business decisions. Across the whole organization. It addresses all problems that can be …
Continue reading

Qlik Sense makes sense

9 out of 10
March 31, 2022
Qlik Sense itself is quite easy to implement to support BI activities in the organization. We develop Qlik apps in a mixed-mode. Something …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 28 features
  • Drill-down analysis (307)
    7.9
    79%
  • Customizable dashboards (298)
    7.8
    78%
  • Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (293)
    7.5
    75%
  • Formatting capabilities (300)
    6.9
    69%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

2 videos

How Qlik Sense Opened the Door for this Business Analytics Manager
02:26
User Review: Qlik Sense Houses Business Data In One Place For Easy Analytics Discovery
02:43
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Qlik Sense Business

$30.00

On Premise
Per User/Per Month

Qlik Sense Enterprise SaaS

Contact sales

On Premise

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.qlik.com/us/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $30 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

The Qlik Associative Difference - (explainer)
04:50
Working with insight advisor - Qlik Sense
02:05
What's new in NPrinting February 2019
02:35
2019 Gartner Bake-Off - Qlik Full Demonstration
22:16
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

BI Standard Reporting

7.6
76%

Ad-hoc Reporting

7.3
73%

Report Output and Scheduling

7.1
71%

Data Discovery and Visualization

7.2
72%

Access Control and Security

8.3
83%

Mobile Capabilities

6.6
66%

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding

7.9
79%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Qlik Sense?

Qlik Sense is a business intelligence (BI) and visual analytics platform that supports a range of analytic use cases. Built on Qlik’s Associative Engine, it supports a full range of users and use-cases across the life-cycle from data to insight – with self-service analytics, interactive dashboards, conversational analytics, custom and embedded analytics, mobile analytics, and reporting. The solution comes in three different editions - Qlik Sense Enterprise, Business, and Team. Qlik Sense can be deployed in the cloud or on-premises.

The Qlik Sense analytics platforms aims to empower everyone in organizations to make data-driven decisions. People of all skill levels get analytical power, with associative exploration and search, AI-powered insight suggestions, AI-accelerated creation and data prep, advanced analytics integration, and natural-language, conversational interaction. They can share and communicate the insights they discover and get answers anywhere they work – with interactive and secure online and offline mobility. And for the enterprise, users get a platform with open and standard APIs for customization and extension, data integration and connectivity, centralized management and governance, and a Kubernetes based SaaS / multi-cloud architecture driving scalability across combinations of on-premise, private, and public cloud environments.

Qlik Sense Features

BI Platform Features

  • Supported: Administration via Windows App
  • Supported: Administration via MacOS App
  • Supported: Administration via Web Interface
  • Supported: Live Connection to External Data
  • Supported: Snapshot of External Data
  • Supported: In-memory data model
  • Supported: OLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
  • Supported: ROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
  • Supported: Multi-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
  • Supported: Data warehouse / dictionary layer
  • Supported: ETL Capability
  • Supported: ETL Scheduler

Supported Data Sources Features

  • Supported: MS Excel Workbooks
  • Supported: Text Files (CSV, etc)
  • Supported: Oracle
  • Supported: MS SQL Server
  • Supported: IBM DB2
  • Supported: Postgres
  • Supported: MySQL
  • Supported: ODBC
  • Supported: Cloudera Hadoop
  • Supported: Hortonworks Hadoop
  • Supported: EMC Greenplum
  • Supported: IBM Netezza
  • Supported: HP Vertica
  • Supported: ParAccel
  • Supported: SAP Hana
  • Supported: Teradata
  • Supported: Sage 500
  • Supported: Salesforce
  • Supported: SAP
  • Supported: Google Analytics

BI Standard Reporting Features

  • Supported: Pixel Perfect reports
  • Supported: Customizable dashboards
  • Supported: Report Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Integration with R or other statistical packages
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to Web
  • Supported: Publish to PDF
  • Supported: Output Raw Supporting Data
  • Supported: Report Versioning
  • Supported: Report Delivery Scheduling
  • Supported: Delivery to Remote Servers

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
  • Supported: Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization
  • Supported: Predictive Analytics
  • Supported: Support for Machine Learning models
  • Supported: Pattern Recognition and Data Mining

Access Control and Security Features

  • Supported: Multi-User Support (named login)
  • Supported: Role-Based Security Model
  • Supported: Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
  • Supported: Report-Level Access Control
  • Supported: Table-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
  • Supported: Field-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
  • Supported: Single Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

  • Supported: Responsive Design for Web Access
  • Supported: Mobile Application
  • Supported: Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features

  • Supported: REST API
  • Supported: Javascript API
  • Supported: iFrames
  • Supported: Java API
  • Supported: Themeable User Interface (UI)
  • Supported: Customizable Platform (Open Source)

Additional Features

  • Supported: In memory data indexing Associative Engine
  • Supported: Machine Learning with the Qlik Cognitive Engine
  • Supported: Augmented Intelligence and insight suggestions with Insight Advisor
  • Supported: Conversational Analytics with Qlik Insight Bot
  • Supported: Open APIs, in addition to Qlik Analytics Platform
  • Supported: Multi Cloud Architecture with docker containers deployed and orchestrated within Kubernetes
  • Supported: Data Catalog & Data Ops Management with Qlik Data Catalyst
  • Supported: Public and syndicated data as a service with Qlik Data Market
  • Supported: Qlik Associative Big Data Index delivers Qlik’s associative experience on top of Big Data
  • Supported: Flexible deployment options including Enterprise SaaS and combination of cloud and on-premise options
  • Supported: Enterprise reporting and distribution with Qlik NPrinting
  • Supported: Advanced geopolitical calculation and geotagging with Qlik Geo Analytics
  • Supported: Embedded analytic capabilities to build, extend and deploy custom solutions that are scalable and cloud-ready with Qlik Core

Qlik Sense Screenshots

Screenshot of Qlik Sense Cash Flow DashboardScreenshot of Qlik Sense Global Smart SearchScreenshot of Qlik Sense Smart Data Compression - Get immediate insight on large dataScreenshot of Extend, mix and mash-up with our APIsScreenshot of Add "External data" with Qlik DataMarket - Data as a ServiceScreenshot of Visualization BundleScreenshot of Help Desk case analysisScreenshot of Concentration analysisScreenshot of KPI DashboardScreenshot of Geographical Accident Analysis

Qlik Sense Videos

Qlik Sense Downloadables

Qlik Sense Integrations

Qlik Sense Competitors

Qlik Sense Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac, Kubernetes
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesAmericas, EMEA, LATAM, APAC
Supported LanguagesThe Qlik Management Console is English only.    The Qlik Sense client supports the following languages: English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Dutch, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Swedish, simplified Chinese, Polish, Turkish, Korean, and Traditional Chinese.   The language Qlik Sense uses depends on the language preferences of your browser. The default reading order in a Qlik Sense app is left to right. You can change the reading order to right-to-left in your app preferences if your data or labels are in a right-to-left language such as Arabic or Hebrew.

Frequently Asked Questions

Qlik Sense® is a self-service BI platform for data discovery and visualization. It supports a full range of analytics use cases—data governance, pixel-perfect reporting, and collaboration. Its Associative Engine indexes and connects relationships between data points for creating actionable insights.

Qlik Sense starts at $30.

Microsoft Power BI and TIBCO Spotfire are common alternatives for Qlik Sense.

Reviewers rate Multi-User Support (named login) and Single Sign-On (SSO) highest, with a score of 8.5.

The most common users of Qlik Sense are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 315)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
September 19, 2022

Qlik Sense, a great product

Jeanine Willig | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work with hard-to-use databases that produce large sets of data. In order for the data to translate into useful information, I use Qlik Sense to create comprehensive visualizations to give senior leaders and managers the ability to understand their current workforce composition and plan for the future.
  • Color
  • third party apps
  • linking data sets
  • relatively easy for a new user in a low-code environment to adopt
  • need to export images better
  • better Microsoft integrations
  • more options for intuitive app navigation
Great for large data sets, regularly updated data, and survey analysis. don't use it for static data, small data sets, or a one-time report.
Qlik sense fills the gaps we have in our own internal databases, allowing us insight into more of the employee life-cycle
Sam Joseph Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Qlik Sense to analyze data, set metrics, and track service outcomes. It is a powerful BI tool connecting databases to create analytical reports. Qlik Sense's easy to add references from multiple platforms and blend them into locally-stored data models for fast reloading and manipulation. Using Qlik to combine ERP and BI data sped up business processes. It was a valuable tool for integrating data without needing a database. Our data was extracted quickly, cheaply, and without rewriting our legacy database architecture. The ETL tool outperforms other technologies in loading, transforming, and auto-scheduling. Qlik Sense's built-in ETL feature solved our problem.
  • Interactive visuals
  • Reload quickly
  • Convenience in obtaining
  • Query and selection speed
  • Experience of the end user
  • The rigidity of pricing
  • Many functions are complex
  • There is a lack of cutting-edge analytics
Qlik Sense makes data-driven business decisions. With Qlik Sense, we have been able to combine data from different sources without using a database and do ETL. Qlik is a good analytics platform for SMBs with multiple business units or data sources that need quick insights. It simplifies creating actionable charts and graphs and connecting to pre-configured data sources. Non-tech-savvy users can easily use the reports to surface and analyze data. In comparison to other options, Qlik sense is more expensive.
Using Qlik Sense to link large datasets to Excel and Exod has simplified our data work. The report loads information quickly from an extensive database. It can handle complex data models well, and we'll watch it perform. We can combine vast amounts of data, which works well and quickly.
Silvia Guardini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Qlik Sense to produce value-added information for our customers. The main objective is to answer critical business questions, underline the main KPIs and define new ones based on business changes and technology development. The last approach was for a fashion company where we helped to define the best KPIs regarding CRM analytics to be able to create customers' clusters and trigger the best product proposal for each of them.
  • Create a sophisticated reporting system
  • Strong storytelling possibilities
  • Website customization
  • The main Qlik Sense problem is the in-memory approach. Data needs to be uploaded for any elaboration, while it would be better to have a live approach to calculating each KPI directly on the DB side
  • Data upload becomes difficult with huge amount of data
  • Qlik Sense language is custom therefore it needs to be learned to use it
Qlik Sense is really strong if you need to integrate the reporting system together with the company website. In this scenario, Qlik Sense is the best-suited reporting tool. It is also very smart when you need to create complex KPIs. I would not recommend it if the objective is to create a reporting system with a huge amount of data as you will need too much memory.
We did not combine different data sources as we prefer to create unique enterprise data warehouses and then read only one source system. Still, we did build complex data models and a high level of detail with customer, store, transaction, and hour level of detail.
July 28, 2022

Qilky

Yuvraj Kaushal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense Desktop is a Windows application that allows users to create visualizations, charts, interactive dashboards, and analytics apps for local and offline usage. It is included in all editions of Qlik Sense.We use it for our data analytics to make better business decisions. Across the whole organization.It operates with an associative QIX engine which enables the user to link and associate data from varied sources and carries out dynamic searching and selections.
  • Data Analysis
  • QIX engine
  • dynamic search
  • features
  • ease of use
  • search engines
Qlik Sense is a data analysis and visualization software. It operates with an associative QIX engine which enables the user to link and associate data from varied sources and carries out dynamic searching and selections. SaaS-based visual analytics solution that empowers you to collaborate, share insights, and see the whole story in your data anywhere at any time.
SaaS-based visual analytics solution that empowers you to collaborate, share insights, and see the whole story in your data anywhere at any time. Qlik Sense is a data analysis and visualization software. It operates with an associative QIX engine which enables the user to link and associate data from varied sources and carries out dynamic searching and selections.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is one of the visualization tools that sit on top of the global data lake in our company. We are dealing with so many data sources and needed a decent BI tool to provide an opportunity for the end user to have an at-a-glance summary of the key performance indicators at their fingertips.
  • Good workspace environment
  • Decent filtering capability on visualization
  • In memory data management
  • Self service analytics
  • Variety of visualization types
  • Support more fonts
  • Better chart label enhancements
The integration of Qlik Sense into our Azure data lake has been successful. It's easy to use and the minimal learning curve is a big plus for business users. I would like to mention the visualization and customization capability of Qlik Sense should be improved.
Since we are using multiple data sources and need to join them to maximize the value, a portion of this process was handled by Qlik and worked as expected.
May 05, 2022

Qlik Sense Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this product for reporting, data analytics, and other work as per the requirements of the project. It's a powerful tool that help to present the data in a better way to each user and client.
  • This tool are work fast and quick calculation
  • Easily we can do the data analytics for manage and un-manage data
  • This tool are much easy to use and perform the daily reporting work
  • User must be experienced to use this tool for different usages
This tool is well suited to manage the huge size of unstructured data and structured data, Easily we can point out the trend of project progress based on the report. These tools are much easy to use with some experience. We can use this tool in different work like reporting, data analytics, alerts, etc.
Yes, We can combine the multiple data in huge sizes, and its works well and fast. It helps us to save a lots efforts to maintaining and present the different source data.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to better our data-driven decisions and take specific actions based on these. We use it for various purposes like visualizations of dashboards, data analytics, embedded data analytics, and also for natural language analytics. We also use it for reporting and alerting purposes. It is a powerful tool and performs calculations at a high speed.
  • Visualizations and dashboards are exceptionally well.
  • Calculations are super fast.
  • Analytics of various purposes is particularly good.
  • The set of commands can be made simple.
  • As of now, it uses all sorts of brackets on the keyboard. Can be reduced to minimal types of brackets.
My main reason for giving this rating would be the speed and precision that this tool has. Qlik Sense is very fast in performing calculations. Qlik Sense has various types of analytics mechanisms that every business needs. This ranges from visualizations, dashboards, custom and embedded analytics, and natural language analytics. Qlik Sense has also got good reporting and alerting.
We have used multiple data sources to combine features with excel and another database. Qlik Sense was really good at combining multiple data sources. It was fast and accurate, to say the least. It can also very well handle complex data models which we will be looking forward to seeing it outperform.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our data analytics to make better business decisions. Across the whole organization. It addresses all problems that can be solved by looking at data. We use it to better visualize our numbers as well as how other factors would affect them. In addition we use it to find trends.
  • Data analytics.
  • Data visualization.
  • Trends.
  • Mapping.
  • User interface could be updated.
  • SPC charts.
  • ETL (extract, transform, load).
Qlik is great for environments that need data analytics but do not have the budget for something such as Tableau or Power BI. It was about a tenth of the price of competitors. It took some development work on our end, but ended up saving us hundred of thousands of dollars just in comparison to other Business Intelligence tools, not including the benefits of the smarter business decisions it led us to.
Qlik Sense Enterprise has made it possible for us to combine data from various sources - excel, smart sheets, Snowflake, MySQL, toad, and numerous other sources but from the cloud as well as localized personal computers. Qlik has made it possible for us to easily combine the data from these various sources without having to manually combine them. It has saved us countless hours.
Issac Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is a powerful BI tool that allows users to generate analytical data report's directly by connecting with the databases. It supports a wide variety of databases I primarily use SQL and Oracle DB. It supports fast connectivity with the DB for extraction of large data sets and allows for easy creation of dashboards. The data modeling features allow the developer to see the linkages amongst data sets and are extremely useful while working month extremely large datasets.
  • Creation of visual dashboards
  • Working with large datasets for creation of dashboard
  • Easy Connection with data source
  • Additional features need to be purchased as addons. It should be provided as a standard package without additional cost.
  • Expensive compared to competitors.
It is best suited if data security is of major concern to the enterprise. Well suited for working with large datasets Supports functionality to refresh data connections at required intervals. The inbuilt dashboard features are not on par with competitors.
Earlier we were connecting the large datasets to excel and exod used to crash because of the size of the data. This problem was easily solved after using qlik sense . Also the data can be combined from multiple sources and the heirarchy of data can be viewed in the data model to see how data is connected. Also the report easily work with large database without any lags in loading data.
Richard Stables | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We accumulate data concerning our service provision via a system that stores data in a Postgresql DB. We use Qlik Sense to aggregate and analyse the data to establish metrics and track outcomes for our services. We use analytics to create a wide range of measures and annual outcomes generation, and ad hoc queries.
  • Flexible data visualisations
  • Easy to manipulate to provide for alternative scenario modeling
  • Good for exporting query results eg to Excel for further analysis
  • I would like to see the authentication for access to the software improve (to be more flexible)
  • It would be good sometimes to get more context-sensitive hints and tips to do with data modeling
  • Better tuition on good practice use of the software for non DB specialists
You have large amounts of data, and understanding trends and aspects of that is critical to being able to monitor and improve your organisation's performance. Qlik Sense is ideal for this. You can create easy-to-understand visualisations, which identify issues ("actionable insights") or act as useful aids to business decision-making. For small datasets, held locally, you might find the investment in learning is not necessary if something like Excel or another tool can do the job.
We sometimes combine our main data source, which is a Postgresql database, with other sources, such as locally developed Excel lists, and the integration between the two is straightforward. Mostly we use Qlik Sense as a "window" to visualise trends in the main data source.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense itself is quite easy to implement to support BI activities in the organization. We develop Qlik apps in a mixed-mode. Something we do in-house, but for bigger tasks we ask a partner to help. Each app covers its own company area or process to support managers and their teams. It's quite important to think about actual needs when you decide to develop a new one. Deep analysis of current information and forecasting almost always provides more value to the company than analyzing historical data. Try to focus on that and Qlik should help.
  • Easy to start
  • Easy to use
  • Fast and agile
  • Experts are needed to implement and use it in a right way.
  • Less benefits without trained users.
Based on experience and comparison with other solutions.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Qliksense to track our impact and the outcomes of the women we help.
  • The visualizations are clean and easy to comprehend.
  • It allows you to create different scenarios while you select the information.
  • It responds very fast to the new selections.
  • It can be accessed anywhere.
  • Maybe it lacks a way to group pages. For example, in Qlik View we have workbooks.
Well suited: I like that the information can be queried so it doesn't provide a simple report but you can change it while you select the data. Other members of the organization can take the base pages and create new ones for their own visualizations. Less appropriate: Sometimes it's hard to format when you need a detailed list due to the reduced space on the pages.
We certainly have since we import the information from our main data entry systems and sometimes we have combined this information with the information from other projects using Excel files.
Angel Monjarás | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to track the sales and profitability of our retail beverage startup business. Some special use cases arise from time to time such as reporting on the status of large customer orders.
  • Available for all users and developers without installation.
  • Easy to set up and follow alerts.
  • Combine multiple sources of data.
  • Easily program automatic actions.
  • Include a "dark mode", especially for developers. Sometimes the white screen is too tiresome on the eyes.
  • A simpler way to connect to on-premise ODBC sources.
The SaaS version is super easy to use and very intuitive. The associative engine means you don't have to rely on a single data table or resort to SQL-type joins. It just works! The assistant mode will pick the best visualization for you, but you are still in control if you want.
As this is a new business, we are currently combining data from separate spreadsheets with ease, but the Qlik apps are built with a future transition to a database in mind.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Qlik Sense in our organization as a way to remove the need for us to email reports to our existing clients. Qlik Sense acts as a platform to provide clients access to their reports. This way we will no longer need to produce these reports in Excel/PDF as the application will do that for us.
  • Automation
  • Analytics
  • Pricing
  • Flexible integration with other solutions
One of Qlik Sense's strong suits is the ability to scale while maintaining consistent performance, security, and fast response times. Qlik Sense can also be deployed with predictable self-service business intelligence with consistent results. Qlik Sense seamlessly works with our Enterprise level service as business needs evolve. It allows our organization to focus on better things.
We essentially deploy Qlik Sense to be utilized with multiple data sources, such as on-premise, across multiple clouds, and everything in between. Qlik Sense has the ability to work with complex data and the freedom and flexibility to use any infrastructure as business requirements change. As an example, we deploy Qlik Sense seamlessly on the Kubernetes cluster running in both public and private clouds.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps to create reports and deliver [them] from [a] separate database. It has the ability to connect and combine the [data] from different sources which [play] a vital role and is the key feature [that] helps us a lot to rely on the service provided by Qlik service. It provides speedy access to reports.
  • Active and engaged community forum[.]
  • Drag and drop dashboard[.]
  • Process large data in real time[.]
  • Some errors while migrating from Qlik view[.]
  • Similar menus with confusing names[.]
Well suited for combining data from different sources and analysis. It is also having a strong forum [that] is active. Thus we can solve our problems easily by getting help from others. The platform needs little knowledge but the learning curve is less. I would recommend [using] the service[.]
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik is used to push reports out to line areas in an easy to use way. The usage of reports differs across business areas, with some preferring to take visualisations at face value, and others preferring to use filters to export relevant data. Specialised data areas are required to build the reports from SQL tables.

As a sweeping generalisation, I would characterise contract managers as the biggest users of the visualisation. Program managers will check the reports for accurate data, and will export the data for compliance and pattern checking.
  • Some of the visualisations are very convincing. I have particularly enjoyed plotting on maps.
  • Very easy to export data with filters.
  • Easy for anyone to build a report from a variety of sources.
  • I have not been able to publish a report just for my team (publishes only to a wider audience). This has limited its usage in my current role due to sensitive data.
  • Some of the coding language can be very confusing, requiring un-intuitive approaches to solve conditional problems (it has been a while since I have coded).
  • I would appreciate the ability to roll back to previous versions more easily - having multiple backups can be a hassle.
Well suited when you need a report to go out to many different types of users with varying levels of data skills.

Well suited when you need to guide users to places they need to look at.

Not well suited as an initial place to explore your data, prior to building a report.
There were often difficulties with data teams figuring out how to code complex data models in Qlik with multiple conditions.

This led to delays in reporting, and some issues becoming apparent down the track.

When reports were accurate, it was very easy to "set and forget" and be a user rather than a report manager. This led to easier program management, and freed up time to explore the data to see if there were issues with the program that needed addressing.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qliksense is being used as a primary BI reporting tool within multiple business units. It provides a cloud-based analytic/reporting tool [that] can solve complex business problems and a centralized single source of data needed for day-to-day activities. Qlik sense is capable of [handling a] huge volume of data and [providing] some unique [functions] such as snapshot creation.
  • capable to handle huge data volume
  • Snapshot and data history can be maintained
  • Cloud based GUI and beautiful dashboards
  • More charts can be added ex. sunburst chart
  • Scope to improve GUI for end users
If you do not have a centralized database and you need to do the maximum calculation and business transformation within the BI reporting tool then QlikView/Qlik Sense is the best available tool in the market. You can even do complete data warehousing using Qlik (ex. snapshot creation/maintaining history) etc. Qliksense can handle a huge volume of data and the most complex code can be implemented in Qliks Sense. Qlik Sense does not have an attractive GUI compared to Power BI or Tableau.
We have multiple dashboards created and used by different business units, which included sales, marketing, finance, manufacturing. it provided functionality to combine data from multiple data sources also [write] the complex logic. As we do not have a centralized database, this tool provides the functionality to create snapshots and build data warehouse. to handle and compile
November 20, 2021

Getting Closer

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were and are, still, heavy QlikView users. While QlikSense is making great strides, it has not caught up with the features that our users have come to love and expect from our guided analytics products.
  • Visuals
  • Responsive Design
  • Web authoring
  • Layering
  • Custom visual control
  • Large amounts of data on screen
If you are new to analytics and not spoiled by what QlikView can offer, it's a fabulous choice. It is so much nicer and more modern. It just lacks some key features.
Yes, we are able to use many of our QlikSense LOAD specs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Qlik Sense in all of our business departments: Retail, eCommerce, Wholesale Sales, Supply Chain Management, Resource Planning, Finance, Accounting, and Warehouse. We deploy and support applications that cater to our different departments and brands. Each of our departments has Qlik Sense applications that are curated to their analytical needs.
  • Quick to Insights
  • Flexible in Disparate Data Sources
  • Easy of Development
  • Handling of Images. This became native to Qlik Software in August 21 release.
  • Exporting Images to Excel in Bulk.
  • Some features of QlikView are not compatible in QlikSense: Fast Change for charts, Cyclic fields.
It is great for apparel industries where there may be many different file types and software that need to be consolidated. Eliminates the need for a traditional Data Mart. We have not tested on Big Data (>100 Million), but have noticed some performance issues for our medium-size business. We deployed Qlik Sense on Premise so it may be based on our network limitations.
We are able to combine different sources of data with ease. There has not been a format that we cannot support. The use of APIs combined with the ODBC to our ERP databases has resulted in many combinations of data not obtainable before. We are able to utilize categorizations in simple excel spreadsheets to overcome some attributing in our ERP and Retail Systems. No more cumbersome Excel Vlookups. Reports are consistent and not departmentally siloed.
Prasad Mundewadi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the organization in different departments like IT, Sales, Tech support, Professional services, finance and more.
  • Easy to use: As compared to most of other BI tools we found Qlik to be the most easy to learn. Our users hi from basic user to building advanced apps in very short span.
  • Agile: with the current pace the business world is changing and moving we needed to be very agile. Qlik is very agile to work with.
  • Performance: being in memory tool Qlik sense performance is at par with our business expectations. The data loads are very fast using the native connectors as well
  • Report delivery: Printing is offered as a solution which is not user friendly and needs a lot of improvement.
  • Extensions: need a certified extension process so that we can trust them before bringing into our Qlik environment
  • Way to make a data model using 2 apps. Rather than creating a 3rd app, we should have a way to connect 2 apps
All the analytical needs can be solved by Qlik Sense. Operational reporting on live data is not something Qlick Sense does very well
We are a global company and we have many different tools and databases. On top of that many users still have their own personal datasets, XL files etc. Qlik has been out go to platform to combine all these diff datasets and come up with standard dashboards that can be used across the company.
no direct experience
Overall our users like to use the tool. It is easy to use and stable.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used as a reporting/dashboard platform at my current organization.
  • Handling of Large Dataset
  • QV Load Script, once comfortable is a great tool to grab data from our data warehouse
  • Not a lot of room for customization as we were used to in QlikView
  • UI and default navigation can be very clunky and not user friendly
  • Although the backend is fantastic, the front end experience leaves a lot to be desired. As a developer you don't have a lot of options to customized your app unless you turn to Javascript, CSS and HTML. This is not a common stack you would find in most BI developers
Qlik Sense is great if you want to load a large dataset and have it shown on a single dashboard. The in memory engine is fantastic.
It has, we were able to join multiple large datasets together into a cohesive dashboard for the end user to consume. The overall experience has been positive, the most common complaint we received is due the look and feel of the dashboard itself. Qlik Sense does lack some of the finer control that was available in QlikView which a lot of the business miss[es].
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a reporting platform for data that is collected and reported back to our members, which are health systems. The business problem that we are trying to address is to gather and display data that can be accessed by our members across the country.
  • Customizable
  • Downloadable
  • [In my opinion] access for users is horrible
  • Branding for the organization is non-existent; we have to send the 'invitation' from the director's name.
It is well suited as a platform for data if you have someone who can use it. It is very difficult to leverage across our organization because our members cannot get access to it, and there is no one who can troubleshoot.
Our organization has not benefited from this.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used by all members of our head office to better visualize and understand trends in our data. We can easily connect to our internal databases and build dashboards/apps that immediately communicate the desired data. We have live information regarding various elements of our business (sales, complaints, etc.).
  • Sales Analysis
  • Complaint Analysis
  • Inventory Analysis
  • Better training on writing expressions
  • Better reporting features for print reports
  • Better UI features to make the dashboards more visually appealing
Qlik Sense is well suited for all sales-related analyses. The software comes short on any print reports. You can add on Nprinting; however, many users would benefit from being able to share the content freely overprint or PDF. Qlik Sense is great at cross-platform sharing. I would highly recommend it since it's also pretty user-friendly.
Our organization has benefited from this since we have been able to merge multiple databases into a single cross-collaborative platform. We have access to different databases within the same app. This has allowed us to merge data into an app allowing for better overall analysis for sales and inventory tracking.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is very flexible and cost efficient. Given the cost and ability to build just about anything, I highly recommend the product. Dashboard performance is not the best and it's hard understanding the relational/join structure in the background.
  • Very flexible
  • Possible to code/do formulas both front end and back end
  • Possible to set up a full ETL process
  • Performance/slow front end
  • Ability to view/edit other users' back end code without duplicating the entire project
Well suited for technical audience with complex needs. Hard to use for less technical people.
Qlik Sense has allowed us to connect customer and product usage data to identify needs and measure performance on improvements.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense (on premise server) is currently used by two functional areas of the company. The commercial team comprises the primary user group followed by some of the operations and supply chain team members. Qlik Sense enables the linking of data from disparate legacy systems into coherent dashboards and visualizations.
  • Combines data from disparate systems
  • Simple user interface
  • Good visibility to applied filters
  • Features are not the same on-prem and cloud
  • Frequent problems with on-prem CPU pegging to 100%
  • Expensive license structure
Qlik Sense is well suited to combining data from disparate systems. It does require some level of coding to take full advantage of its powerful features. The drag and drop interface does not open up all the possibilities. The internal scripting language of Qlik resembles some parts of SQL. Qlik does enable the use of pure SQL in the select statements in the loading scripts.
Yes, we have benefited from this capability by combining data from legacy systems into visualizations. These visualizations inform the decision making process and help investigate problems. Combining data from disparate systems also helps to bring discrepancies to the forefront. Many of those discrepancies would not have been visible without comparing the data from different systems side-by-side.
Return to navigation