Qlik Sense Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
572 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 154)

Kate Pellegrina | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Making the leap from QlikView to Qlik Sense

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense across the whole organization is our primary visualization tool for all reporting.
  • Data visualization
  • Empowers self service
  • Company-wide single reporting tool
  • More ability to bespoke visualizations
  • Miss some QlikView functionality
Qlik Sense works in small and large implementations for visualization of most data; the most time-consuming part is getting the data in a good state, then the visualizations come easily.
Read Kate Pellegrina's full review
Andrew Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Qlik Sense Enterprise

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is being used across the organisation from HR, finance, retail functions to custody and funds services. Dashboards are available not just to internal users but external clients also. Qlik Sense allows us to provide our internal operations teams and external clients with valuable insights in a self-service manner.
  • Users can self-service their visualisation needs within Qlik Sense with ease. No longer are centralized analytics teams the bottleneck on new dashboards/reports.
  • Qlik Sense makes stitching of data together from different sources an absolute breeze. Qlik Sense can be used as a Data Warehouse without any great difficulty. It can become your organisation's single source of truth.
  • Qlik Sense APIs are extremely robust. We have been able to extend the functionality available in the UI and customize the back end to our specific needs. There are very few limits with powerful APIs at your fingertips.
  • Data Lineage is difficult to determine and relies on trailing logs using 3rd-party scripts or pushing from a vendor.
  • Section access (entitlements) is quite efficient, but quite often our products want a finer level of control .e.g applying across multiple different fields, enabling/disabling fields for certain users.
  • I would like to see changes to the Qlik Sense load script to allow better parameterisation of functions, try/catch blocks and other behavior that comes as standard with other languages. User-defined functions should be passed to the QMC for use in all reloads, instead of loading into every script using library files.
  • I would like to see an emphasis on real-time dashboarding capabilities. BDI does not solve all real-time dashboard needs. Provide ability to upsert using partial reload feature etc. We ultimately want to treat in-memory dashboards like a relational database.
Qlik Sense is not appropriate for real-time dashboards. It is fantastic for EOD or dashboards which need to be refreshed every 10-15 minutes. Qlik Sense makes a fantastic Data Warehouse, if that is what your ultimate goal is. If you have the resources, you can extend the out-of-the-box functionality to suit your needs. Unfortunately, if you do not have the resources, you may struggle with the back end of Qlik Sense.
Read Andrew Burns's full review
Jason Webb | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Qlik Sense is an easy ROI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is being used by our entire organization, at most all levels of the organization. It allows us to generate business insights not attainable through our ERP or CRM systems. It has allowed us to more proactively manage our sales teams and create visibility around activity we couldn't get previously.
  • Data Visualizations
  • Integrating data from multiple data sources
  • Data analysis
  • Requires external support for implementation
  • Much more flexible with in-house talent
Qlik Sense is most effective when used with a data strategy. Without a deep understanding of what you want to look for and manage from an analytics standpoint, it use-case is limited. However, if you know what you want to look for and have an idea of how best to read and interpret data, Qlik Sense is very effective. It's an extremely flexible platform, more so for our organization since we have an internal product champion who can design, develop and deploy dashboards.
Read Jason Webb's full review
Vijaya Sompalli | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

QlikSense Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using QlikSense across the whole organization. Whenever we do upgrades and new installations, business users may face issues and we resolve them.
  • User friendly
  • Self service analytics
  • Easy integration to any source system
  • Easy storytelling
  • Advances analytics
  • Graphs and charts
  • Usability
  • Dashboards
It's more appropriate for custom properties and security rules and less appropriate when designing dashboards.
Read Vijaya Sompalli's full review
Terry Wolvert | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

Qlik Sense BI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily as a UI for Space Management data. We provide category management services to CPG and retailer customers who analyze shelf space. Cubic, Capacity, Linear, Square, Facings, Points of Distribution, $ Share, Unit Share, Fair Share Index. We provide scorecards that compare previous to current or planned and calculate TTLs, DIFF, and % Change. We leverage common visualizations, KPI, charts, etc.
  • Processing speed.
  • Ease of use.
  • Seamless Integration SQL.
  • Limited appearance options.
  • Poor ability to filters and other objects on the page.
  • No bound box features for tables or other charts.
  • Limited QMC functionality (e.g. Export).
  • Poor viewing capability when viewing many applications for a stream.
  • Poor support for branch plugins.
Well suited for the following:
  • Viewing and slicing SQL data sources
  • Simple UI vs. Development in .NET or SAS reporting
  • Business users with limited BI training
  • Sharing/Collaboration
Read Terry Wolvert's full review
Shahzad Ghori | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

Power of Augmented Intelligence & Cognitive Engine

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Qlikview is widely used in Faysal Bank. However we are in the process of migrating it to Qlik Sense. We are extensively using Qlik Sense within Finance Department. We have provided access along with training to other department users. So that they will create/design their own analytics.
  • Qlik associative engine.
  • Augmented intelligence.
  • Self-service BI.
  • Enhancement through extensions.
  • More functionality on Pivot Table.
  • More charts and graphs.
  • Dynamically increase in font while using the dashboard on big screen/projector.
I assumed Qlik Sense was the best self-service BI tool. Users can easily use Qlik with minimum training. However there is a lot of room for improvement on the data modelling side.
Read Shahzad Ghori's full review
Rina Falkovich | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Operational Reporting and Analytics in a bottle

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is being used in the number departments, however, it is a strategic BI/Analytical tool in our organization. It supports our reporting and analytical needs, and allows for faster data delivery and the more efficient use of data.
  • Great visualizations
  • Drilling down and finding correlations
  • Questions that were not asked
  • Working with large data sets might be slow.
  • QVD "chaining" is not straightforward.
  • Better support on the on-demand apps generation.
Qlik Sense is well suited for trend analysis, heat maps, and high-level comparisons. It does not work well with direct database queries and on-demand app generations.
Read Rina Falkovich's full review
Filippo Orlando | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

My SENSEtional Experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company began its experience with Qlik 6 years ago. At the beginning we used View and for two years we have integrated Sense and Nprinting. The IT (business intelligence) team and the MS (advanced analytics) team coordinate the infrastructure and manage the releases, which reach every branch of the company.
  • Adaptability
  • Integration
  • Ease of Use
  • Greater possibility of native customization
  • Fewer links to scripting and more wizards
  • Certified and officially maintained extensions
I believe that thanks to its scalability it is suitable for medium to large companies. The complexity of the proprietary language and the link with scripting make it not very accessible to small companies, where however it is certainly less necessary.
Read Filippo Orlando's full review
Satmar Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Super Mario

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used across the whole organization. The major problem relates to streams. We have many departments and the number of streams increases as well.
  • Indexing data
  • Time of reload
  • Quick search
  • Memory size (RAM)
  • Few components (vs QlikView)
Qlik Sense is well suited when we need to show a story, based on a specific set of data. It is very well suited when we have a big set of data.
Read Satmar Paul's full review
Shalabh Srivastava | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Data prep to insight on steroids

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used at Visy enterprise-wide. It is used in measuring manufacturing, sales and finance KPIs. Some examples are:
Manufacturing - Measure customer claims, run rate
Sales - Used for sales and margin reporting at SKU level
Procurement/Finance - Tracking spending
  • Data modelling is very good. One doesn’t need to explicitly define the joins between different data sets, as Qlik Sense associative model takes care of it.
  • Highly customisable. Using the variable editor allows a user to define simple to complex formulas.
  • Filters do not need to be defined separately. All the dimensions of the data set can be used as filters without any extra steps.
  • Customisation of colors on charts and tables without coding.
  • Include Sparkline charts within tables.
  • Add discussion or commentary feature for improved collaboration.
  • Include what-if scenarios and predictive analytics out of box.
  • Allow planning and forecasting activities where users can enter data.
Qlik Sense is highly customisable application and can be used for a majority of use cases for data analysis, rich visualisation. It doesn’t do planning activities very well. Not the best tool for what-if scenarios.
Read Shalabh Srivastava's full review
greg davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

Qlik Sense makes quick sense of disparate data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Qlik Sense is used across the whole organisation for management reporting, also for operational reporting by departments, and is very effective for data exploration. It allows consolidation of data from disparate legacy systems. Excellent performance with large data sets.
  • Allows rapid, intuitive development of dashboards and reports.
  • Has a rich palette of presentation scenarios.
  • Scripting language allows for precise customisation to meet end-user requirements.
  • Integral documentation could be improved.
  • Embedded user help could be better.
  • Stories based on current query data set with the ability to interact would help.
Qlik Sense is excellent for data exploration. List boxes in conjunction with a chart allow for drill down on (for example) outliers in the graph to underlying data in the list boxes. Last time I looked extensions are still not permitted in Qlik Sense Cloud.
Read greg davis's full review
Vijay Trivedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Qlik is a solid BI contender

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mainly dashboards but we are moving towards predictive analytics.
  • Dashboard creation is easy.
  • Lots of built in KPIs and visualizations.
  • Aggregation of data from various sources.
  • Documentation is lacking especially around more advanced concepts like parameter usage and set operations.
  • The KPI/Visualizations import feature should tell you about compatibility issues at import.
Management dashboards and metrics. Analysis of data through filtering, finding the hidden patterns in why/how the results came to be.
Read Vijay Trivedi's full review
Rahul Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Qlik Sense made a positive impact on digital initiatives

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Qlik Sense at an Enterprise level. We have created persona-based Dashboards for Sales, Finance, Delivery, Marketing, HR functions. We are showing KPIs as per persona. Before Qlik, users went to different functions and asked for data and created their own Excel sheets based on reports after massaging the data. Now, we have integrated these functions and data is available for all. This helps users not to go to every department to get their data. Manual efforts are removed and we are able to automate the system.
  • Inbuilt ETL capability is exceptional so you don't need to have separate DWH.
  • You can connect with any type of data source if you have a connector .
  • Quick UI will help you to deliver fast.
  • Self Service has the capability but the user should have basic SQL knowledge.
  • Its UI is not good when compared with Tableau.
For an enterprise application, It is well suited as your whole data lies in enterprise DWH and then you can chip your Qlik Sense to deliver reports quickly.
Read Rahul Gupta's full review
Harjan Boes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Qlik Sense, game changer in our organization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First of all, we use Qlik Sense to visualize real time information about our manufacturing process from our ERP system. We have several real time monitors on our production floor used by floor managers and team leaders to steer teams. Data driven decision making.

Next to this, we use Qlik Sense as a BI tool for business cases, budgeting, and forecasting. We have management dashboards, but also in-depth, drill down dashboards for specific departments.
  • Ease of use. We do not have programmers or data analysts in house, but we have managed to create our own Qlik Sense environment with just a little bit of consultancy support.
  • Frequent, very useful updates with always fresh and trendy stuff that can be used instantly.
  • Speed, connecting with databases, SQL or external sources is a piece of cake. Loading & indexing data is incredibly fast.
  • Pricy analyzer licenses.
  • Lack of local support and consultancy companies nearby (Romania).
In any place or department where any kind of database or system is used, Qlik Sense can be well suited.It's as simple as that. We started by linking some Excel files to Qlik Sense and created dashboards. Generally speaking, I would say that data integrity is important and data cleansing could be necessary, but this is something regardless of Qlik or any other BI tool.
Read Harjan Boes's full review
Alexander Ratanov | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Wow Qlik!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used for the whole company in all departments including Finance, Retail, Whosales, IT, Logistics and others.
  • Data governance
  • Self service
  • Possible options in the objects
  • Data science
Well suited: self-service and data analysis of medium-scale data. Less Well Suited: the ability to use ODAG; real-time analytics.
Read Alexander Ratanov's full review
Leif Hvitved | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Qlik Sense as a versatile problem solver for ad hoc analysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mainly used for prototyping analytical ideas. Fast and versatile platform enables rapid test of hypothesis.
  • Speed
  • Versatility
  • Ease of use
  • Flexible datamodel
  • License model
  • Additional packages for geoanalytics
When one needs to get a fast overview of data, or mix and match between multiple datasets and formats. Rapid visualisation of data makes it a Swiss knife to us.
Read Leif Hvitved's full review
Kurniadi Soetopo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Qlik Sense: “Skate to where the puck is going to be”

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Qliksense across the whole organization. We used it to analyze our sales and order profile, operations metrics, and financial health monitoring. It gives us the agility to view our businesses from different perspectives within the click of a button. The information derived from the associated analysis enables us to formulate better strategies to serve our customers better.
  • Beautiful charts
  • Ease of use
  • Associative model
  • Ability to resize the text generated in the charts should be added.
  • Ability to create stories from different apps should be added. Sometimes I want to create stories that combine, for example, my sales apps and my operation apps.
It is less appropriate when I want to differentiate the accessibility of the slides in one app between different users. Now, I have to create a duplicate app to limit the view.
Read Kurniadi Soetopo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2020

I like it

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a local government organization, we use Qlik Sense to serve public-facing dashboards and data reports to residents and service users. We're also transitioning from Qlik View to Qlik Sense for internal reporting in several service areas. We maintain a range of interactive reports to allow service managers to understand their data, and also use Qlik Sense as an ad hoc analysis tool within our Business Intelligence function.
  • Data modeling is incorporated in the product, allowing for a "no warehouse" approach to smaller reporting solutions. This means we can get off the ground with new reporting projects (or replacements of currently manual processes) without cross-organization coordination, and our analysts don't have to become experts in multiple tools to deliver useful outputs.
  • The Data > Analysis > Story workflow allows for precise analysis reports/commentaries on specific areas, with the ability to drill back to the analysis screens for broader exploration.
  • Without much thought at all, simple data models just "happen". With proper design, complex data models function well, too. Data processing within Qlik Sense data files happens dramatically faster than the equivalent processing on our Oracle database servers, meaning we can pull raw data in bulk and process it more quickly in Qlik Sense, removing the need for a lengthy warehousing time slot in our nightly database schedule.
  • Visualizations can be difficult to customize. For example, while it's possible to select specific colors for chart items, it's not immediately obvious how this works, so there's either a bit of a learning curve for what's a basic task in any other tool, or you end up with every report following the Qlik default scheme. This isn't just an aesthetic preference; color can be crucial in guiding a user through a series of complex reports, and Qlik makes this harder to manage than some other tools I've used (though not impossible).
  • Selecting a reseller is more opaque than it needs to be. We happened to land on an excellent reseller when re-procuring our licenses, who brought with them a whole approach to modeling data in Qlik Sense which we otherwise wouldn't have known about, and which, despite the licenses costing about the same, has saved us months of development time. Other customers will presumably be less lucky.
  • I'd really like it if my having purchased the QAP license for publishing dashboards externally meant I was also covered for my internal customers. As it is I still have to buy "viewer" licenses for internal users. If we weren't already locked into the Qlik Sense contract because we've already made the big payment and are now only paying maintenance, it would be hard to justify buying this product over cheaper competitors. I still think it's a good product, but in ways that it's hard to articulate in a local government procurement process.
Interactive reporting and multi-dimensional analysis. The product is well suited to a technically literate team who don't want to maintain data warehouses but do want to work in detail with their data. With proper data modeling, it can also serve less technically skilled users as a drag and drop analysis tool, but this is probably less useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Qlik Sense Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to consolidate data from different businesses and departments across the organisation. It is also being used at a local level to analyse production data and performance.
  • Reducing manual transactions for end users.
  • It allows end-users to quickly drill down into data to spend more time addressing problems rather than trying to find where they are.
  • Allows the consolidating of data from multiple sources.
  • Not everything is intuitive, requires experience and training to get the best out of Qlik and create good data models and dashboards.
  • The dashboards themselves are not the most aesthetically pleasing compared to other software packages that are available.
  • There are limited options to customise the look and feel of dashboards.
Qlik is great for consolidating data from different sources, e.g. where businesses are using several different systems such as MES, ERP and even manually created spreadsheets.

It is excellent for eliminating manual transactions in situations where end users are regularly analyzing data from the same sources but need up to date information.

It is not a plug and play solution and does need some experience or training to be able to develop good data models and user-friendly dashboards. End users themselves will also need basic familiarisation in using dashboards.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

Great Way to Visualize Data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being rolled out across the organization, primarily by the Workload and Reporting teams, and addresses the issues of data accessibility. Qlik Sense allows us to all view the same information consistently with great visual markers to ensure we're all on the same page on business performance. It has replaced the numerous smaller reports that were distributed previously.
  • Data visualisation
  • Easy to read layout
  • Ease of use
  • Interactivity: some icons needing a double click vs single.
For our situation (call center & back end office) where we require a multitude of data represented, it is a great tool for tracking performance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

Steep learning curve but the end result is a powerful tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency recently implemented Qlik Sense and is trying to move in the direction of business intelligence to supplement more traditional reporting practices. We plan on using Qlik Sense to provide dashboards to the general public on key issues and track internal data issues. One of the key reasons we are implementing this tool is to reduce workload on repetitive reports.
  • Data visualization
  • Speed
  • Performance on large data sets
  • User access control
  • Learning curve
  • Collaborating during dashboard development
Qlik Sense was sold as being designed for both the general business user and the developer. I would concur with this statement. It has some basic functionality that requires little help to get started. Making the jump from basic to advanced user can be pretty steep and takes some time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

High-performance, rapid analytics for corporate teams

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Qlik Sense Enterprise across a variety of departments within the organization as stand-alone installations rather than part of an enterprise program. These departmental implementations have typically been used to address business analytical needs such as market risk management, treasury operations, portfolio management, and inventory management.

It's been used as an analytical and reporting platform under full control of the business group/department to allow rapid development and iteration. The relatively small scale of the deployments (20-40 users each) has allowed this approach to work well and provide value. In addition to reporting use cases it has been useful for open-ended analysis.

  • Qlik/Associative Engine - The data processing engine almost always performed extremely well. Many apps were around 50 million records with many fields with some over 100 million. Having this amount of data available to a moderate number of users for parallel, interactive/real-time analysis was quite powerful. Especially, because it was running on relatively inexpensive hardware without any effort expended on tuning or optimization.
  • Built-In ETL - Having the option of connection to many data sources, and manipulating them with the load script proved to be extremely convenient and allowed quick development. There was a learning curve, and the script forced data processing to proceed in a particular way, but having the optionality was valuable. This allowed the development of end-to-end solutions without any back-end infrastructure and in many instances, none was ever needed.
  • Fully Web-Based Development and Administration - Being able to do all development and administration via a web interface was a nice feature as it avoided having to install a desktop client, upload files, etc. Combined with the hub and the ability to copy app and sheets made the whole experience very fluid. In a very large scale deployment access to this would have to be managed carefully, but in our instances we could leave it open.
  • Front-end control - In general Qlik Sense has provided less front-end/user interface control than the late versions of QlikView. Over time Qlik has increased the amount of control available to developers without having to resort to custom objects, but it has been a source of frustration. Every release does improve on this, but it still needs work.
  • Information Density - In our environment, non-retail financial services, the typical need is for high-density reports/displays on desktop. This is one of the reasons Excel is so popular; it allows users to build high-density reports for themselves. It seems as though Qlik Sense was initially designed with tablets in mind, which resulted in a lower density than ideal. This in the process of being remedied with additional front-end control.
  • Version Control - There was no easy way to version control data and application logic. This feature isn't something commonly available in this space, but would be very useful in running and controlling the platform. It's easy to generate many apps and data sets in the development and maintenance process and lose track.
In the departmental deployments where we had full control of the platform, and a moderate number of users interactively analyzing a large volume of data, Qlik Sense always worked extremely well. I personally didn't encounter any situations where it wasn't appropriate.

We did not use NPrinting, but I could see Qlik Sense perhaps not being the ideal solution if all that's needed are static reports. Many of its beneficial features wouldn't be used in that situation.

One aspect of Qlik Sense Enterprise that could make it more or less appropriate to any given situation is that it's a technically sophisticated product that really rewards a highly technical approach. It provides many deployment and usage options that may not be apparent to purchasing managers and pure end-users. You may not be in a situation to be able to fully take advantage of this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Qlik Sense is a great visual analytics tool for global leaders or hyper-growth companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Qlik Sense is being used across all my organization - Finance, HR, PMO, Sales. It is our default reporting tool. We have predefined dashboards build on top of generalized data models which also allow users to do self-service.
  • Full ETL - form Raw Data, through Data Transformation, to Data Models.
  • Super easy to use front end. The associative experience is great. The simple green, white, gray give our users the ability to just get in and start analyzing the data. Almost no user training is needed. The front end is super intuitive.
  • Self Service capabilities are great, easy to use and require minimal training.
  • Qlik Sense still lacks some of the capabilities of QlikView which is a bit frustrating.
  • Qlik Sense has no inbuilt advanced analytics capabilities.
  • Qlik Sense still has a room for improvement around the integration with other Qlik products like NPrinting, Data Catalyst, Attunity. Now, these are all separate products and this makes it a bit difficult to maintain.
Qlik Sense is a great tool for descriptive and diagnostic analytics. It does it all from raw Data to fancy visual reports. Combining data from multiple sources is a great strength. Self-Service is particularly great. There are features like the insights advisor which try to serve more advanced use cases, but in case you'd like to do predictive analysis, correlations, clustering, etc., you need to integrate Qlik with another tool/platform. Integration with R, Python, Data Robot, Databricks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

Qlik Sense is a suitable tool for business analyst

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is using Qlik Sense across the entire organization from internal usages such as Finance, HR, and line management to external users such as demonstration to clients. It is one of the most useful tools to manage and provide data visualization. Even though there are many alter options, Qlik is easy to use.
  • Interactive visualization.
  • Data integration.
  • It's not as fully developed as Qlikview.
  • It does not perform advanced analytics.
Qlik Sense is a suitable tool for business analysts to perform relatively easy data analytics, data visuals, and find key insight. It is easy to learn and use. However, for data scientists, there are many other open-source tools available, and they provide more advanced data analytics options and interactive data visuals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

Qlik Sense Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used enterprise-wide for all business functions. It is managed as a central deployment by IT along with centralized and decentralized developers. We address use cases from operational to clinical to financial, and everywhere in between. We integrate 20+ data sources including user-generated and maintained data from source applications and data warehouses/data stores.
  • Scalability.
  • Flexibility.
  • Breadth of features.
  • Difficult development collaboration.
  • Lack of built in advanced analytics.
  • Lack of integrated SDLC management (version control and the like).
It has the flexibility to meet all different use cases, but requires in depth knowledge of features to develop for all use cases. Capabilities can be extended as needed to meet use cases (custom visuals, tools, metadata), but creates custom maintenance cycles and tools/utilities that may break release to release. Qlik Sense gives a consistent release cadence to quickly fix bugs and integrate new functionality.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (106)
6.6
Customizable dashboards (150)
7.7
Report Formatting Templates (106)
7.4
Drill-down analysis (150)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (149)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (82)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (140)
6.9
Publish to Web (109)
8.2
Publish to PDF (121)
7.2
Report Versioning (86)
6.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (84)
5.0
Delivery to Remote Servers (45)
6.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (148)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (135)
7.5
Predictive Analytics (92)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (129)
7.6
Role-Based Security Model (126)
7.8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (126)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (85)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (113)
7.7
Dedicated iOS Application (69)
5.9
Dedicated Android Application (55)
5.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (99)
6.8
REST API (52)
7.5
Javascript API (44)
7.2
iFrames (42)
7.4
Java API (31)
7.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (43)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (39)
6.7

About Qlik Sense

Qlik Sense is a business intelligence (BI) and visual analytics platform that supports a range of analytic use cases. Built on Qlik’s unique Associative Engine, it supports a full range of users and use-cases across the life-cycle from data to insight – with self-service analytics, interactive dashboards, conversational analytics, custom and embedded analytics, mobile analytics, and reporting. The solution comes in three different editions - Qlik Sense Enterprise, Business, and Team. Qlik Sense can be deployed in the cloud or on-premises.

Qlik Sense sets the benchmark for third-generation analytics platforms, empowering everyone in organizations to make data-driven decisions. People of all skill levels get unmatched analytical power, with unique associative exploration and search, AI-powered insight suggestions, AI-accelerated creation and data prep, advanced analytics integration, and natural-language, conversational interaction. They can easily share and communicate the insights they discover and get answers anywhere they work – with fully interactive and secure online and offline mobility. And for the enterprise, you get a true platform with open and standard APIs for customization and extension, powerful data integration and connectivity, centralized management and governance, and a Kubernetes based SaaS / multi-cloud architecture driving scalability across combinations of on-premise, private, and public cloud environments.

Qlik Sense Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureIn memory data indexing Associative Engine
Has featureMachine Learning with the Qlik Cognitive Engine
Has featureAugmented Intelligence and insight suggestions with Insight Advisor
Has featureConversational Analytics with Qlik Insight Bot
Has featureOpen APIs, in addition to Qlik Analytics Platform
Has featureMulti Cloud Architecture with docker containers deployed and orchestrated within Kubernetes
Has featureData Catalog & Data Ops Management with Qlik Data Catalyst
Has featurePublic and syndicated data as a service with Qlik Data Market
Has featureQlik Associative Big Data Index delivers Qlik’s associative experience on top of Big Data
Has featureFlexible deployment options including Enterprise SaaS and combination of cloud and on-premise options
Has featureEnterprise reporting and distribution with Qlik NPrinting
Has featureAdvanced geopolitical calculation and geotagging with Qlik Geo Analytics
Has featureEmbedded analytic capabilities to build, extend and deploy custom solutions that are scalable and cloud-ready with Qlik Core

Qlik Sense Screenshots

Qlik Sense Videos (12)

Watch Try a Qlik Sense App

Watch Take a Qlik Sense Product Tour - Imagine an analytics tool so intuitive, anyone in your company could easily create personalized reports and dynamic dashboards to explore vast amounts of data.

Watch Qlik GeoAnalytics

Watch Qlik Associative Big Data Index

Qlik Sense Downloadables

Qlik Sense Integrations

DataRobot, Azure, Cloudera, SAP

Qlik Sense Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Qlik Sense Perpetual$1,5001-50 users
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Qlik Sense Subscription$8401-50 Users

Qlik Sense Enterprise: Perpetual license basis, based on number of users Qlik Sense Enterprise: Subscription, based on number of users Qlik Sense Desktop: FREE Qlik Sense Cloud: FREE

Qlik Sense Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
help.qlik.com
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLdnQXZq2xRoAnbUOZl6fueHxRkZs8f5a8

Qlik Sense Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Kubernetes
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, LATAM, APAC
Supported Languages: The Qlik Management Console is English only.    The Qlik Sense client supports the following languages: English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Dutch, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Swedish, simplified Chinese, Polish, Turkish, Korean, and Traditional Chinese.   The language Qlik Sense uses depends on the language preferences of your browser. The default reading order in a Qlik Sense app is left to right. You can change the reading order to right-to-left in your app preferences if your data or labels are in a right-to-left language such as Arabic or Hebrew.