Umbraco CMS Reviews

39 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Janus Kamp Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Couldn't and wouldn't live without Umbraco.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Attityde ApS, Silkeborg we develop all our customer solutions with Umbraco. If the customer demands anything else, we send them away! From giant to tiny companies, and through the use of Umbraco, our projects are always a success thanks to the flexibility of Umbraco. 500+ Umbraco sites and counting... Even our own website, intranet, and special products are based on Umbraco. We would be able to provide the same fantastic solutions if it wasn't for Umbraco... and we wouldn't want it any other way.
  • Content Hierarchy/tree
  • Media section
  • Plugins (Custom made)
  • Out of the box web-templates
Umbraco is well suited if you want to host the website yourself or if our customers want them on their own server. It's easy to get started though our own instance-system were we can spin-up customer sites within 4 minutes.

If you just want to have a borring-wp-a-like site that looks like everything else on the internet, Umbraco is not the best solution. It's more time consuming to get a proper website up and running.
Read Janus Kamp Hansen's full review
Jerker Edenborg | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Umbraco is the friendly CMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Umbraco is really what it says, a friendly CMS.
It is nice and easy for developing web sites and has many very good features.
  • The ease to use compositions (= interfaces)
  • Media handling, Image scaling
  • The user interface
  • Umbraco Heartcore is too expensive
Whenever there is a need for a small/medium-sized web site Umbraco CMS is a good choice. For larger multi-language sites there are probably better choices.
Read Jerker Edenborg's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Real world experience with Umbraco

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are a web development company and we set clients up with Umbraco.
  • Templating
  • Code editing
  • Back office usability
  • The update process is HORRIBLE!
  • Every release has bugs. NOT ONE release is BUG FREE!
  • Fixing issues quickly. We often have to wait over 30 days are months for something as simple as a media picker to be updated.
I like using Umbraco, but the update process is a PIA compared to WordPress. We have clients on WordPress and try to sell them on the idea of switching, but the maintenance to update Umbraco is a road block. Our clients don't have to pay to have their WordPress site updated. There are bugs in every release and the release schedule is mind numbing. Almost every other week there is a new release and with 20 web sites in Umbraco, it is IMPOSSIBLE to keep up with the maintenance and bill our clients for something that should have worked to begin with. Umbraco is more like a hobbyist CMS and is not quite ready for prime time. I would pay for a CMS to be bug free. The cloud option for Umbraco is not an option for us and honestly I find it impossible for the cloud option to be updated "automatically" while professional developers have issues with simple updates.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Very simple but complete, Umbraco CMS will help you organization to go online in a very short time.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the client of my company will migrate several web site to Umbraco CMS. For now we are in a learning phase and start to test the workflow with Umbraco and several plugins like Ucommerce and uSync. Our client would start to migrate one or two sites and their application first, and they intend to migrate other of their applications and web sites later.
  • Easy to learn. If you know ASP.NET MVC, using Umbraco is straightforward.
  • Full use of the Framework MVC.
  • Very short time to market.
  • Conflict management if two or several users modify the same page or object in the same instance.
  • It would be great if the CMS came with two or more starter kits: very simple site, corporate site and maybe one with a simple e-commerce functionality.
  • Integrate a minimum continuous integration/continuous deployment functionality.
  • Umbraco CMS is well suited for a small and medium size company and organization. The time to market is not long.
  • Umbraco CMS is less appropriate for large scale web site or application, especially if there are a lot of content managers and writers who work simultaneously on the web site.
Read this authenticated review
Jakub Wilk | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

Umbraco our 2nd and final choice

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We create our website, so it is used by the whole organization and all our potential customers. We manage Umbraco CMS by a person in the marketing department, and a little work is done by developers. We also change Umbraco a little to suit the needs required by the marketing department as very important.
  • customization
  • good prepared SEO
  • integration with other software
  • a little more ready templates
  • e-commerce integration out of the box
  • easier URL configuration
As I write, Umbraco is very good in customization, also customization by programmers, but sometimes it needs quite a lot of knowledge to develop something. It is also very scalable and it is the best CMS framework in .net programming. There is not too much competition in this area, though maybe I would like to have a little bigger community
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
Debbie Marshall | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Easy to use CMS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Umbraco to build our company company website. It's a great tool and very easy to use, it allows me to [have] different roles from editor through to admin. The CMS is simple to use, each employee has been able to use it independently with very little training.

The system has allowed us to integrate our digital marketing into web pages, so for the end user, the process of completing forms is seamless.

We have been so impressed with the umbraco CMS that we currently use this tool to deliver [our] website to our customers.

The main reason we chose this tool was we wanted a site that could be updated and maintained by anybody, and we wanted to avoid having to wait for the development team to make a simple change to the site.
  • Simple to use
  • Different people can be assigned different roles
  • Easy to keep the site updated with the latest information, no technical knowledge needed
  • Accessibility features can be turned on
  • If you miss an update on the software, issues can happen if you jump to far ahead of where you are
  • Search could be improved on the site
Umbraco CMS is the perfect tool for a company that is looking to keep their website updated. The simple to use tools and templates means updating and creating new pages is easy. The WYSIWYG editor is a nice feature, however, for accessibility, there should be some more guidance on what is suitable to be used on the CMS.
Read Debbie Marshall's full review
Jason Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 29, 2017

Umbraco CMS is great for publishing sites that want to use a .NET code base

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Umbraco CMS is the content management system for our entire website. It is used by the whole organization, but mostly the Content team, which uses it for publishing, and the Technology and Events teams. It addresses the need for a powerful, yet customizable management system that can host a wide range of content and media types.
  • Plugins - as an open source CMS, Umbraco is very customizable and flexible to the needs of the organization
  • Publishing - Umbraco has powerful tools for publishing
  • Media hosting
  • Speed for older sites - Umbraco content can load slowly if you have thousands of pages of content. Of course, this would not be a problem for simpler websites
  • Complexity - since the product is free out-of-the-box, it will take technical expertise to get Umbraco setup properly
Umbraco is well suited for websites that are looking to do a wide range of activities that require complex technoligies. An example of this is a company with several different products or services. Umbraco would be overkill for simple sites that are mostly static. It is also difficult to find developers who have Umbraco experience, as it's market share is not all that high.
Read Jason Kelly's full review
Alex Lada | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2017

Umbraco CMS review and comparison to other CMS systems

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we have one client that uses Umbraco CMS. It filled their need of moving off of static HTML pages to a .NET CMS system that did not have prohibitive costs/licensing fees. The client only has one developer on hand, so this provided a way to democratize content updates across a larger user base.
  • Data architecture
  • Templating System
  • Permissions/Workflow
  • Updating system files from CMS admin
  • Migration of data between servers. There are tools that you can pay for that help facilitate this, but like any CMS system, there are still some tricks to getting it to work correctly.
  • Running as a Web Project instead of a Web Site. Umbraco does not run compiled code, but instead compiles it on the fly. I find this to cause some performance issues that would otherwise be resolved with a compiled code base.
Umbraco CMD is well suited for users looking for a .NET based CMS system without the high licensing fees that come with a system like Sitecore. It allows the developer to easily get up and running, model data, create front end templates, and get a framework of a site out quickly. It is also easy to extend the built in functionality with your own .NET libraries. For enterprise level users, Umbraco might not have quite enough juice to model and deliver content efficiently.
Read Alex Lada's full review
Matthew Hardesty | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2016

Umbraco: The do-it-yourself framework

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Other than helping to implement Umbraco for some of our clients, we use Umbraco CMS as an alternative to WordPress for a couple of our microsites. We typically only consider Umbraco for our clients (and teams) when they have one or more tech-savvy resources to help instruct and troubleshoot issues when they come up.

From a business perspective, Umbraco is very flexible (and open source). It allows for more freedom in design and data architecture (vs WordPress). For some clients, that is a necessity.
  • Umbraco has a lot of design/layout flexibility.
  • Umbraco provides a lot of control for customization.
  • You can maintain your data (product, page, entity) in a structured way.
  • Umbraco can initially be challenging for new users with limited or no development experience. After initial installation, there is a lot more work required to 'see' a site.
  • Umbraco isn't stable. For example, even on a fresh new site sometimes you'll get errors when trying to save something in the admin panel. It's not common, but it happens often enough to be annoying.
  • No out of the box contact forms. Umbraco sells their forms plugin that we've used in the past, but the plugin is disappointing. It isn't well maintained and it's very buggy. Making a new contact form with the paid plugin can take a lot of time to get everything right (fields, validation, confirmation emails, etc). This is especially frustrating for new users.
  • Documentation / resource links frequently 404. Umbraco seems to change their site URLs often enough that, when you encounter an issue, you're likely to find a number of bad links in Google's search results. This makes it difficult to research solutions to a problem.
  • Posts often go unanswered or without resolution in their community support forums. Hopefully this will improve as the community grows.
  • The update process is clumsy at best. Many people are familiar with the simple WordPress upgrade button for the core and plugins. This doesn't exist at all for Umbraco. Instead, you'll need to select specific files to overwrite and potentially update any old code references.
  • Migration between development environments is clumsy. Umbraco offers a premium plugin to address this because, as they state on the premium plugin page, deployments are "complicated, headache-inducing"
We use Umbraco CMS when clients need design flexibility, more tailored content management, and structured data. Umbraco CMS is not for clients with little to no budget for technical/developer assistance. We don't recommend it for most small companies because they don't have the budget to maintain (read: troubleshoot and work around bugs) a platform like this.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
Yes - The process has the potential to be smooth. But, any complete site implementation will require developer assistance in order to update code. Without that support, the site will encounter errors after upgrade.
The upgrade process itself is not straightforward or automatic. It involves copying over files and changing code according to the very limited instructions provided with the update.
Read Matthew Hardesty's full review
Filip Witkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2015

Umbraco - clean CMS based on ASP.Net MVC 4.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Umbraco is used for custom projects (websites) for various clients. It is used as as framework (ASP.MVC 4) and content management system. It allows fast development of new websites, created from scratch. It allows non-professionals to create and manage content. Unlike PHP-based Drupal, Umbraco is based on ASP.Net and well fits into our company infrastructure.
  • Quick to learn. For most if cases, developer needs to know Razor coding.
  • Doesn't require back-end programming.
  • Has build in users management (developers, content managers) and members management consoles (users of the site).
  • Clear admin tool (especially in version 7)
  • Fast.
  • Creating code from scratch, so it is easier to create clean code.
  • Courier plugin, used for staging is not always working well. Tool is used to push changes (database and some files) between stages of website (dev QA staging production, or whatever the configuration is set by developer. The tool is not 100% reliable.
  • Rare incidents of publishing error.
  • Doesn't have build in support for SASS, LESS, ..., so if one of those is used, needs to be done outside admin tool.
  • Small community of developers
  • Little documentation, video tutorials are not free
  • Not many plugins for extended functionality
Umbraco is suitable when you need a clean code website with CMS or something that will work well on mobile devices. It is very scalable, [can even be ] used for a large website (100+ pages). When a company relies on ASP.Net environment, this is the CMS to go with.
Read Filip Witkowski's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (10)
7.1
API (9)
7.9
Internationalization / multi-language (9)
6.0
WYSIWYG editor (10)
5.2
Code quality / cleanliness (10)
7.0
Admin section (10)
7.9
Page templates (10)
7.0
Library of website themes (9)
6.6
Mobile optimization / responsive design (9)
8.7
Publishing workflow (10)
8.8
Form generator (9)
8.7
Content taxonomy (10)
8.7
SEO support (9)
8.8
Bulk management (8)
6.9
Availability / breadth of extensions (10)
7.8
Community / comment management (10)
6.0

About Umbraco CMS

Umbraco CMS is an Open Source ASP.NET CMS boasting over 500,000 active installs worldwide. The source code is free and available under the MIT License, so it can be downloaded for free.

Umbraco is based on C#, JavaScript, and Razor with MVC and Visual Studio supported.

The CMS is designed to provide a simple installation which users can build upon. This entails a built-in cache, Razor templating, C# APIs, customizable backoffice, support for multilingual and search features right out of the box.

With documented open APIs, users can make 3rd party integrations and are not limited to a set number of tools. Umbraco also offers a set of Umbraco Apps, as well as a selection of community Packages.
Categories:  Content Management

Umbraco CMS Features

Web Content Creation Features
Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling
Web Content Management Features
Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Does not have featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities
CMS programming language or framework Features
Does not have featurePHP
Does not have featurePython
Does not have featureJava
Has feature.NET

Umbraco CMS Screenshots

Umbraco CMS Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Umbraco Free$0
Umbraco Professional$5,000per year
Umbraco Enterprise5000+per year
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Umbraco Cloud Starter$39per month
Umbraco Cloud Standard$209per month
Umbraco Cloud Professional$569per month
Umbraco Cloud Enterprise5000+per month
Umbraco Heartcore Mini$49per month
Umbraco Heartcore Starter$239per month
Umbraco Heartcore Professional$999per month
Umbraco Heartcore Enterprise1000+per month

The Umbraco CMS and all of its core features are the same across all plans. The paid on-premise plans includes support, onboarding, licenses to add-on products (Umbraco Forms, Umbraco Courier, Umbraco TV) as well as a discount on developer training courses. Umbraco Cloud is the CMS hosted on Azure Cloud servers with automated upgrades, unlimited hosting and smooth deployments. All features can be found on Umbraco.com. Umbraco Heartcore is the managed Headless SaaS version of Umbraco.

Umbraco CMS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Umbraco CMS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English