TrustRadius
ASP.NET - totally legitimate since MVC arrived. I prefer Javascript solutions tough.It was used by our front-end development team. We served web pages for the company's free tier solution, which needed SEO, so it had to be server rendered. The business logic layer was already build on top of .NET so it made sense to stick to the same tech stack. Personally I started my career with ASP.NET before MVC arrived. The old ASP.NET tried to abstract the web environment which ended up complicating things and misleading young developers. ASP.NET and Microsoft in general have since greatly mended their ways and although it's not my go-to stack, ASP.NET MVC is a completely legitimate one.,C# is a great language and .NET has a lot of powerful functionality like LINQ. Easy to integrate with SQL server and other Microsoft solutions (Entity Framework is great). Microsoft tools - get the latest updates and support. They usually have great offerings for early stage startups.,Single page applications are much easier on a plain Javascript Stack-like client side frameworks or NodeJS. Heavily dependent on visual-studio and the Microsoft Stack. Still lacking in the ease of getting started and quickly deploying things. Hard to find good developers that don't have a bias for ASP.NET.,8,Visual Studio + .NET are highly productive environments. Hard to find good developers that don't have a bias for ASP.NET. This slows things down.,Oracle Java SE,Ubuntu Linux, IntelliJ WebStormWant an "all-in-one" solution that is ready right out of the box?ASP.NET is used throughout the upper levels of our Information Technology group. Lower levels and the rest of the company remains limited to VBA via Excel, Access, etc. due to security restrictions set by the company. ASP.NET addresses the more complex business problems, especially web integration, which cannot be addressed with the simpler tools. We also use ASP.NET to allow various back-end databases (Oracle, SQL, etc.) to communicate to a main program or even mobile devices.,Ease of use with drag and drop functionality; makes the learning curve less steep as new users are already familiar with this paradigm. Powerful .Net Framework libraries Control panel to manage and control the building of web applications Code-behind can be in C# or VB.NET,It works very well other Microsoft tools but could have better integration with other platforms Fewer open-source projects to use as examples, templates, and code-snippets Can be cost-prohibitive for smaller companies or if your business requirements demand 3rd party (or additional) libraries, tools, etc.,8,We realized positive returns due to interns and new employees already having experience due to the free academic versions available. Being able to evaluate the express version prior to purchase was helpful. Performance is adequate, but not as responsive as C++. I guess the trade-off is ease of use and being able to find qualified personnel.,Oracle Java SE, CakePHP and Catalyst,SQL Server Integration Services, Amazon Cloud Drive, Microsoft AzureASP.Net, great for Line-of-business appsWe use ASP.net across the whole organization and all products.,Easy to integrate with IIS on any windows server Easy to integrate with SQL Server Easy to create web apis restful or rpc,need easier integration of css pre-compilers,9,Easy to find developers that know vb.net/c#.net Visual Studio + .Net are highly productive environments Plenty of 3rd party tools and controls available for asp.net,,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Visual Studio IDE, Kendo UI,2030,2030,Create products for deployment at customer sites Create scalable n-tier applications Great tools, resources, and 3rd party libraries Robustness,Rolled our own MVC pattern using webapi, JSON, and front-end templating,Software as a service Deploy to Azure,10Super Fast DevelopmentWe are using ASP.NET to build a modern state of art web 2.0 application heavily using Web API and other functionality like REST services call, mashups etc, This is a consumer application, so making it faster for the user was one of the key requirements. The code minification really helped us do that, Its amazing IDE helps make development faster, also as asp.NET being popular tech we have great community support and resources are easily available.,Great Community support Amazing development environment and ecosystem including debugging Easy deployments Easy to find resources with this skillset,Single page applications are still difficult to develop Cost can be a possible issue Not enough tools for SEO and ADA requirements,9,Due to readily available resources, it was easy to ramp up inbuild drag-and-drop server controls helps for faster development We were also able to train freshers very quickly,Oracle Java SE,Oracle Java SE, ReactASP.NetWe use ASP.Net in a department in our company to develop wide and various applications that serve our business needs, it helped us a lot, since it is very easy to learn, has many resources over the internet and very flexible and always in a leading position compared to other technologies,Net is built over a very solid framework, that for sure developers can depend on, and through the years it evolved very well to serve the market and developers need, with the different versions and design patterns it has you will always be able to do all the stuff needed with minimum efforts One of the most strengths ASP.NET has is that it is a Microsoft product, and like all other products of Microsoft you will always get the latest updates and fixes for free, very strong support, and a lot of resources,The JavaScript intellisense, and formatting especially when using inline server side code The cascading style sheet intellisense,10,It increased the effecieny of the team Decreased the number of bugs and rounds,Zend PHP Engine
Unspecified
ASP.NET
100 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

ASP.NET Reviews

ASP.NET
100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 100 vetted ASP.NET reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sagiv Frankel profile photo
August 27, 2018

Review: "ASP.NET - totally legitimate since MVC arrived. I prefer Javascript solutions tough."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used by our front-end development team. We served web pages for the company's free tier solution, which needed SEO, so it had to be server rendered. The business logic layer was already build on top of .NET so it made sense to stick to the same tech stack.

Personally I started my career with ASP.NET before MVC arrived. The old ASP.NET tried to abstract the web environment which ended up complicating things and misleading young developers. ASP.NET and Microsoft in general have since greatly mended their ways and although it's not my go-to stack, ASP.NET MVC is a completely legitimate one.
  • C# is a great language and .NET has a lot of powerful functionality like LINQ.
  • Easy to integrate with SQL server and other Microsoft solutions (Entity Framework is great).
  • Microsoft tools - get the latest updates and support. They usually have great offerings for early stage startups.
  • Single page applications are much easier on a plain Javascript Stack-like client side frameworks or NodeJS.
  • Heavily dependent on visual-studio and the Microsoft Stack.
  • Still lacking in the ease of getting started and quickly deploying things.
  • Hard to find good developers that don't have a bias for ASP.NET.
ASP.net is well suited when all your services are a part of the Microsoft ecosystem. If you wish to be dynamic with your tech stack and easily switch cloud providers and programming paradigms, ASP.net might get in your way a little.

Personally I am more inclined to use client side solutions for web apps, or NodeJS if server side logic/rendering is needed. However ASP.net uses C# which is a great language, and the framework has everything you need for success.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
No photo available
October 18, 2018

ASP.NET Review: "Want an "all-in-one" solution that is ready right out of the box?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ASP.NET is used throughout the upper levels of our Information Technology group. Lower levels and the rest of the company remains limited to VBA via Excel, Access, etc. due to security restrictions set by the company. ASP.NET addresses the more complex business problems, especially web integration, which cannot be addressed with the simpler tools. We also use ASP.NET to allow various back-end databases (Oracle, SQL, etc.) to communicate to a main program or even mobile devices.
  • Ease of use with drag and drop functionality; makes the learning curve less steep as new users are already familiar with this paradigm.
  • Powerful .Net Framework libraries
  • Control panel to manage and control the building of web applications
  • Code-behind can be in C# or VB.NET
  • It works very well other Microsoft tools but could have better integration with other platforms
  • Fewer open-source projects to use as examples, templates, and code-snippets
  • Can be cost-prohibitive for smaller companies or if your business requirements demand 3rd party (or additional) libraries, tools, etc.
ASP.NET is definitely well-suited for Enterprise applications as it was designed for just such a purpose. It has capabilities to produce cross-platform solutions. The learning curve when switching can be intimidating, but as long as your team has a decent knowledge of general web development, then it should not be too difficult to make the transition. You will be satisfied in the end.
Read this authenticated review
Erik Zanker profile photo
March 02, 2018

Review: "ASP.Net, great for Line-of-business apps"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ASP.net across the whole organization and all products.
  • Easy to integrate with IIS on any windows server
  • Easy to integrate with SQL Server
  • Easy to create web apis restful or rpc
  • need easier integration of css pre-compilers
Well suited to line-of-business apps, n-tier applications, apps with web and windows UIs, apps that run well on IIS, apps that use SQLServer.
Read Erik Zanker's full review
Milan Shah profile photo
December 21, 2017

ASP.NET Review: "Super Fast Development"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ASP.NET to build a modern state of art web 2.0 application heavily using Web API and other functionality like REST services call, mashups etc, This is a consumer application, so making it faster for the user was one of the key requirements. The code minification really helped us do that, Its amazing IDE helps make development faster, also as asp.NET being popular tech we have great community support and resources are easily available.
  • Great Community support
  • Amazing development environment and ecosystem including debugging
  • Easy deployments
  • Easy to find resources with this skillset
  • Single page applications are still difficult to develop
  • Cost can be a possible issue
  • Not enough tools for SEO and ADA requirements
It is highly recommended for the small application being hosted in a shared environment, also, recommend if you want a faster time to market. It has a huge inbuilt toolset for easier and faster development. Don't use if you are planning to build a single page application
Read Milan Shah's full review
Ali Abu Fkhideh profile photo
December 21, 2017

User Review: "ASP.Net"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ASP.Net in a department in our company to develop wide and various applications that serve our business needs, it helped us a lot, since it is very easy to learn, has many resources over the internet and very flexible and always in a leading position compared to other technologies
  • Net is built over a very solid framework, that for sure developers can depend on, and through the years it evolved very well to serve the market and developers need, with the different versions and design patterns it has you will always be able to do all the stuff needed with minimum efforts
  • One of the most strengths ASP.NET has is that it is a Microsoft product, and like all other products of Microsoft you will always get the latest updates and fixes for free, very strong support, and a lot of resources
  • The JavaScript intellisense, and formatting especially when using inline server side code
  • The cascading style sheet intellisense
It is always good and fit for any web application needed, even for small applications or websites.
Read Ali Abu Fkhideh's full review
No photo available
April 24, 2018

User Review: "We build all our apps with ASP.NET!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ASP.NET is used for our in-house software development, by our IT development teams. As a mature and stable framework, well used and well supported it is ideal for the development of everything from our small internal applications to our enterprise scale web applications - meaning both the internal and external customers interact with our ASP.NET applications.
  • NET is a rich framework which provides vast amounts of functionality, which helps speed up development
  • NET is supported by an array of high-quality tooling from Microsoft, such as TFS and Visual Studio
  • There a large community of experienced ASP.NET developers which means patterns and practices are well documented and there is also plenty of discussion opportunities within the community, such as conferences, meetups, and forums.
  • The large user base means that recruitment can be easier
  • Cost is the main one - Microsoft tooling and infrastructure can be very expensive
  • Some developers are anti-Microsoft which means not everyone is enthusiastic about joining a "Microsoft house"
ASP.NET is well suited to enterprise-scale development and smaller scale development - however, the costs traditionally associated with the tooling, licensing and infrastructure could potentially place a small blocker in the way for stand-ups looking to use ASP.NET. It is excellent for fast development - File > New Project options in Visual Studio are really good for ASP.NET and you can get up and running really quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Rich Mephan profile photo
October 27, 2017

Review: "ASP.NET - Good, but the future is ASP.NET Core"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are utilising ASP.NET within our software development team. It is used extensively in our case management application which is used by numerous law firms across the country. Primarily ASP.NET is used within our organisation to create cloud-based components to fulfill our customers' business processes and is hosted within our own private data centers or OnPremise as and when a customer requires it.
  • Templating engine - ASP.NET Razor markup allows an easy way to embed server-based code into web pages, and the powerful build in helper methods allow complex functionality to be included with a single line of code.
  • Extensibility - ASP.NET can take advantage of the massive amount of third-party components and extensibility provided by the .NET Framework and related infrastructure. For instance, NuGet.org provides thousands of components that can be used and incorporated into ASP.NET applications.
  • NET is tied to Windows and IIS. However the future of ASP.NET is ASP.NET Core, which is the reimagining of ASP.NET in a platform independent manner.

Suited: Cloud-based line of business applications.

Not Suited: Integration with users’ desktops and local machines, and highly graphical intensive applications.

Read Rich Mephan's full review
Christopher Belanger profile photo
July 19, 2017

ASP.NET Review: ".NET - A mature and reliable runtime"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We write multiple software products across our teams. The majority of these products are written in some version of ASP.NET. It is used daily for development, debugging, and all other R&D activities. This is across multiple versions of .NET and both legacy applications and new greenfield applications. In general, all back-end code is .NET.
  • .NET runs well in a variety of Windows environments.
  • It integrates seamlessly with other Microsoft product (SQL Server, Azure, etc).
  • The documentation for much of the MSDN could be improved. That said, they have done a much better job with .NET Core.
.NET is suitable across a variety of scenarios as it is a programming language. I have used it to write scalable servers, web APIs, desktop clients, command line applications, and a variety of other applications. As long as you are going to be running on an environment that can have the runtime, you can use it.
Read Christopher Belanger's full review
Filip Grasheski profile photo
March 30, 2017

Review: "ASP.NET makes deploying and publishing of Web APIs a breeze"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since I work in quite large organization, there are many different apartments that use it for their specific needs. With regards to my own department, I mainly use ASP.NET to build RESTful Web APIs which serve to facilitate the integration among the different systems we use. Many of these systems don't expose such APIs and with ASP.NET it is relatively easy to build a web service that will solve these kind of issues and eventually lead to increase in productivity as well as decrease in effort spent by technicians.
  • Utilizes .NET framework and familiar languages such as C# which makes it very easy to learn.
  • Native support for MVC via ootb templates.
  • Web API 2 allows very easy creation of RESTful Web Services.
  • It can get pricey in order to use the full feature set of VS enterprise (free community edition available).
  • Potentially harder implementation of web applications when not using the native MS technologies such as IIS.

ASP.NET is very well suited for building web applications for users that have good experience with .NET framework and C#. The learning curve is very mild and allows for very quick development of applications because of all the templates that can be utilized (available with Visual Studio). Moreover, Visual Studio 2015/2017 community edition is free and contains a large set of features for developing, compiling and debugging ASP.NET applications. From personal experience with the introduction of Web API it is very easy to build RESTful APIs and it is a breeze to publish on IIS servers with a click of a button. Additional advantage is when using Azure services which also allows quick publishing of ASP.NET applications to the cloud with very little configuration needed.

I would assume that it is more difficult to jump to ASP.NET from a different technology and programming languages. Even within ASP.NET it can be a bit of a steep learning curve to move from Web Forms to MVC for example.

Read Filip Grasheski's full review
Ashwini Chandorkar profile photo
April 12, 2017

ASP.NET Review: "Well collaboration with AJAX controls make your application look richer and better"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ASP.Net to build applications that can be hosted on a web server. My current project is for a desktop product that integrates with various web based applications. These web applications are developed using ASP.Net.
  • Collaboration with AJAX controls - There are ample of AJAX controls available that come with fascinating functionalities.
  • Built-in Windows authentication - It comes with built-in Windows authentication that can be configured as per your requirements.
  • Simplicity - It provides simplicity as ASP.NET makes it easy to perform common tasks, from simple form submission and client authentication to deployment and site configuration.
  • The biggest disadvantage with ASP.net is its cost. However, there are other similar technologies like PHP that are available in the market with nominal cost or for the matter at no cost.
  • Its tight coupling with IIS server is another disadvantage. There are no other choices in server selection.
  • It is widely known that IIS and Windows have a documented history of bugs and vulnerabilities in the programs. That is a security [threat].
If you are planning to develop a web application like an admin page that will be used within the organization or within a company's private network, ASP.net can be a good choice.
Read Ashwini Chandorkar's full review
No photo available
April 13, 2017

User Review: "ASP.NET web devolpment made easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ASP.NET MVC is being used by the engineering department for the development of internal and public facing web applications.
  • Web Applications
  • Ecommerce Applications
  • Best HTML Framework with managed code!
  • NET used to be very similar to java server faces and abstracting the html layer too far.
  • NET MVC enables direct html manipulation through Razor Syntax
  • Using ASP.NET MVC the performance of ASP.NET is limited
  • Well suited for web applications.
  • Not for services or windows apps.
Read this authenticated review
arlen navasartian profile photo
June 07, 2016

User Review: "ASP.NET is a vast platform for coding."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main platform for developing our eCommerce website is ASP.NET.
  • It drastically reduces the amount of code required to build large applications.
  • Easy to learn.
  • Many third party libraries are available.
  • The main disadvantage is cost. Windows server licenses, SQL Server licenses, Visual Studio licenses, etc., are all costly compared to open source alternatives.
  • Complicated page lfe cycle.
  • Limited control over HTML.
ASP.NET is well suited for rapid application development.
Read arlen navasartian's full review
No photo available
June 08, 2016

Review: "ASP.NET MVC it really cool but it is still not there yet!!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have experience working with ASP.NET from plain old web forms to MVC to Web APIs. We extensively use it for MVC web applications and Web APIs.
  • Net MVC provides lot of flexibility in creating your custom handlers, custom events as per your business needs. The entity framework works well with ASP.net.
  • Setup/Getting up to speed is really easy. ASP.NET has a healthy community of users. We can get help from MSDN articles and many blogs/articles.
  • MVC 6 has some really cool features/support for bootstrap.
  • Recent technologies like Node.js and Angular are picking up fast. Most of the controls run at server which is a huge drawback when compared to other technologies.
  • Out of the box support is missing for many features - Logging, caching (distributed).
  • IIS setup is not easy/straight forward unless you go for simple deployment.
ASP.net is really good when all of your other applications are in the Microsoft ecosystem. WCF is really good for building backend services. If Microsoft can come with its own javascript libraries for supporting different elements/features of the ASP.NET without hitting the server side, it would be cool. Also, the performance of the apps deployed using Microsoft technologies is comparatively lower when compared to the ones deployed on a Linux environment.
Read this authenticated review

About ASP.NET

Categories:  .Net Development

ASP.NET Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No