TrustRadius
Microsoft Exchange is a secure email / messaging gateway with file archiving and encryption / data loss capability, available as a hosted service (Exchange Online) or installed (Exchange Server).https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/mK/6e/DXT05AHQHPFP.jpegExchange on Premise good for companys with 75+ employeesWe use Exchange across our whole organization because nowadays everyone needs email. Email is now the most effective form of communication for our business, when 10 years ago it was the phone, but now everyone prefers an email instead. Having our own in-house Exchange server makes sense for us because of the number of users we have, it's better than the cloud based subscription services for email, we get all the benefits of Exchange without any of the subscription costs.,Calendaring between organization members, scheduling meetings with other in-house team members is super easy and allows you see their available times easily. Mobile device syncing, you can sync up an iPhone or android phone with your email account simply and always have your phone in sync with your desktop. Laptop on the go access. The latest versions of exchange, 2007 and up, allow you to sync a laptop with your exchange server and it will stay in sync with your inbox no matter where in the world you go, with activesync built into exchange. No need to reconfigure your inbox when youre inside or outside your corp network. Spam filtering and content rule creation. You can block unwanted emails right from the server with exchanges builtin spam filtering, or create your own rules right on the server to block unwanted non-spammers.,Scalability - it can be difficult to scale up your server when you need more hard drive room. Virtualizing your Exchange server can help a little with this. Upgradeability across versions - it can be difficult to upgrade your Exchange server to the newest versions of Exchange, Mmicrosoft recommends you build a whole new server and migrate your mailboxes to the new server instead of doing an in-place upgrade of an existing server.,9,On the positive side, the ROI of exchange has helped reduce our email hosting costs, while allowing my users to have very large inboxes, which would have cost us lots of money in a hosted environment. On the positive side, of ROI, being able to control our spam filter and blocking rules has probably saved us from being hacked and spammed countless times. On the negative side of ROI, upgrading can be costly because you are supposed to buy a whole new server every time you want to use the next version of Exchange that comes out, which can be costly, and usually happens every 3 years. We usually only upgrade every 6 years.,Microsoft Office 365,Microsoft Dynamics NAV, BarTender, Microsoft Office 2016Microsoft Exchange - "Best of the Best" Mail ServerWe use Microsoft Exchange as our primary method of email communication for internal business users, contact center agents, and for business-to-customer interactions.,Microsoft Exchange offers the best integration with Active Directory. Microsoft Exchange offers a great web management interface for administrators. Microsoft Exchange web services provide key functionality on how we integrate emails into ACD workgroup queues for customer support purposes.,Microsoft Exchange could use more canned mail filtering tools to block spam. Microsoft Exchange should include it's own quarantine solution. Microsoft Exchange requires external recipients to become Exchange mail contacts before you can add those recipients to a distribution group.,8,We are actively using and consuming the Exchange mail server platform and our user and mail volume scale is a moving target. The ROI is a break-even scenario to get the job done. We might see a bigger return if we had more mobile users, but that's just not how we are structured. Our setup is premise-based, so we have very little external work-from-home users that would increase our benefits of Exchange's mobility tools.,Zimbra, G Suite and FortiMail,Genesys PureConnect, Mailchimp, GoToMyPCMicrosoft Exchange is a great storage solution.Microsoft Exchange is being used as a server for us to store a multitude of files on. We can access our emails from the Exchange server using Outlook. Exchange Server has been a great addition to our pipeline and workflow. I can't imagine us using anything else to store the multitude of files that we deal with on a daily basis.,Storage solution for a wide range of file sizes and types Provides easy and quick access to all our files Easy to use for any employee, no matter their technical ability,Nothing comes to mind. It is easy to use and very solid.,9,Microsoft Exchange has been great because we can store files where they can be accessed and shared easily. Allows us to have more security with our files and helps prevent file loss. It has been a great ROI because we are able to store all our files and access them easily at a reasonable cost.,Google Drive,Wrike, Adobe Premiere Pro, Adobe PhotoshopNothing else comes close to Microsoft ExchangeWe used Microsoft Exchange across our entire global organization as an email solution. We utilized database servers at multiple major datacenters we had around the world. We also used multiple Database Availablity Groups so that a server failure would not affect service.,It integrates very easily with Microsoft Outlook which many people are familiar with. I found it was far and away better than other products for calendars - resource calendar, calendar delegates, syncing between client and server, etc. Overall all easy to manage from an admin standpoint. If you are familiar with Powershell, advanced reporting and admin functions are very easy. Easy migration to move from OnPrem Exchange to Office 365. Exchange is pretty much an industry standard at this point.,Large database sizes can be difficult to manage. The internal spam filter is very basic. Larger organizations will want to use a separate product. Maintenance/Licensing cost can be very expensive.,9,I'm not sure if you can put a dollar amount on a stable email system but if you keep up on maintenance, keep the DB's size down, it's as solid and stable as you can find. Email is a primary source of communication for many people so a solid system is necessary.,,MiVoice Business, Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls, Cisco Meraki MS Switches, Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point, Cisco ASA, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, CBT NuggetsExchange is Powerful and UsefulWe use Microsoft Exchange Online extensively, and have some clients that needed to have on-premise Exchange servers that we also set up and configured. Exchange provides us e-mail, calendaring for meetings and invites, and contact sharing. I also appreciate how it integrates with the other Microsoft Office suite applications such as Teams and Word.,Rules and filters for sorting e-mail Customization of e-mail formatting and views Inviting multiple users to meet and reserving resource rooms for meetings,Installation requires extensive knowledge/certification Hardening to make secure requires additional knowledge,10,Increased visibility to important communication (and less clutter) Meetings are scheduled and organized centrally Time has been saved due to complex filtering and mail transport rules,G SuiteMicrosoft Exchange is a must have for medium to large businessesWe use Microsoft Exchange across our entire organization. When looking for an email solution, we needed a product that would allow shared calendars and email. Microsoft Exchange does just that and does it well. We previously use a POP3 mail solution from our ISP that was tough to manage, and a nightmare to migrate.,Archiving Spam detection Sharing calendars Sending and receiving email,SMS messaging capability would be nice Easier tracking of email failures quick chat between users would be nice,10,Saves time and money from costly faxing of documents Avoids long distance phone bills Allows for better organized users,SysTools G Suite/Google Apps Backup,Microsoft Office 2016, Solutionreach, Centricity Practice SolutionGreat product for email.We use exchange for all of our internal email for all employees from c level to support as well as provide a hosted exchange environment to our hosting clients. that are available in 3 different tiers. The calendar, and contact list are vital as well as being able to use it on multiple devices it is a great service,Works on mobile devices. Calendar syncing. Contacts syncing.,Renders some HTML emails horribly. Use fewer resources on a PC. Search could be better in Outlook.,8,Keeps us organized. Is easily accessible. Can use it anywhere in the world.,SysTools G Suite/Google Apps Backup,SysTools G Suite/Google Apps Backup, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft Office 365Industry standard, what else is there to say?Exchange is used across the entire organization. At this point, Exchange is an industry standard for email and calendars. Works well, is easy to use and used by many. With the hosted solution, even easier to use and get set up than ever before. A professional product at a good cost, that provides a solid tool.,Calendar invites Availability and access. E365 is a way to go. Ease of use, familiarity by the market. Integration available with many web sharing and security products.,The complexity of the rules can be overly complex with little explanation. Migrating from Exchange server to E365 could be better. Rules and permissions don't translate well. Better encryption options, and use.,10,It's a solid product that people can use, and for the most part, already know how to use. Saves training cost. Better manage calendar, send invites, in a generally intuitive manner. Better handling of business. E365 cost is manageable.,,VIPRE, TeamViewerMicrosoft Exchange - No brainer for 100% uptime.We use O365 Exchange for email and calendars. We love the fact that it’s always current and the ease of use via portal. We don’t see too many issues with Exchange. Everything you need is located in one portal and the interface is really intuitive. I would highly recommend this solution to all my clients.,Ease of implementation Ease of use Intuitive portal Always up to date,Support Licensing,7,Always up, we’ve never been down in 3 years,Microsoft SQL ServerMS Exchange - Still top dog, or old dinosaur?We have been in business for 21 years and have been using Microsoft Exchange basically the entire time. Whether it's us using it internally or supporting clients of Exchange, we've been involved. We've seen a move to more cloud-based email systems as of late, but we still have plenty of clients using it. It's a time tested email solution that just works.,Manages users well. Overall reliability.,Exchange is reliant on a good infrastructure and server environment, so make sure you have that. Powershell can be tough to manage.,7,Exchange is not cheap to set up or implement. Once in place, fairly inexpensive to manage.,Microsoft Office 365,Carbonite, Datto, Continuum RMMA Great Product But It's Being Left Behind by the CloudEveryone in our organization has an email account with our on-premise Exchange setup. This is our primary system of communication internally and externally. We also utilize multiple public calendars to manage meeting and event times for our conference rooms. Most employees setup their email account on their mobile devices so they can stay up to date with the constantly changing schedule.,Almost everyone, whether in a small non-profit or fortune 500 company, is familiar with Microsoft products. Having an Exchange server that 'just works' with their Outlook desktop program and mobile devices is a huge time saver for any organization. The calendar function is extremely useful. Shared and public calendars make it easy to schedule meetings and confirm availability. Being able to attach documents to calendar events is a plus as well. The ECP GUI is admin friendly and allows our junior IT staff to assist with account creation and other basic tasks.,Better built-in spam filters/protection. It would be nice to not have to immediately purchase a spam filter appliance or pay several dollars per mailbox to cut down on spam. This may be a pipe dream since Microsoft is all but dragging people from on-premise to O365. No way to disable ECP from being exposed to the outside. It would be nice, for security purposes, to be able to just have it accessible from the LAN. CAL licensing can be a pain to manage and keep track of.,7,There have been hiccups and downtime with our on-premise installation but overall the local installation has saved us money in the long run versus paying a monthly fee for ~125 mailboxes. Our internet service likes to take mid-day breaks every so often. Having a local Exchange server allows us to continue to communicate internally and manage meetings, presentation, and other events at our site. Despite the overall good that Exchange has provided our organization it is a time suck. Managing the server, spam appliance, backups, and storage space is a constant battle and has taken away from some of our other initiatives. This is not specific to Exchange but any on-premise email server.,Microsoft Office 365,Microsoft Office 2016, Vertical Wave IP, SpiceworksExcellent email solutionMicrosoft Exchange is an excellent email, calendar and contacts, meeting solution for PC, phone or web browser. Easy implementation and very user friendly for end users. Very good functionalities like unlimited archiving, the hold and redemption policy functionality or schedule emails to be sent in the future. Fit great for small or big business.,Very good notification Email editing and sending Email archiving Contacts management Planing and scheduler,Migration from one version to another is a bit complicated Rules administration can be more easily to do No other issues or problem was identified,10,Improved process agility Manage emails more secure and more easy Improved costumer relations Possibility to work remote,,Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Application VirtualizationOrganise email work with Microsoft Exchange and be productive.Microsoft Exchange is a hosted email service which is being used by my whole organization. All the departments in my organization use this software as their default email program. It helps us to have our emails and contacts in one place. And it can be accessed by all our systems. Its organised services helps us to reduce our time managing our emails.,It can sync all emails, contacts and calendar very well. Setting up accounts and configuring emails on this software is very easy. It provides a mobile application also which helps users to access email while traveling.,Sometimes its email sorting happens with errors. Some of my important emails went to my Junk folder. It is not well optimised with Mac OS. I had to uninstall it from my MacBook. It doesn't work well with a slow internet connection.,8,It [reduces] our costs by storing all of the email database in one place. Its encryption feature protects our data. Its availability on mobile platforms increases the productivity of our employees.,,Paytm, PDFfiller, Zoho Forms, Mailjet, Skype, DocuSignLooking for average or just ok? Go with an Exchange.It's email. It doesn't get much easier to explain than that. The entire company has used it, but made a switch. Clients do use it and we have to support them when there are issues.,easy setup with Microsoft Outlook easy setup on mobile devices secure email solution,constant server timeouts lack of true support - all support seems to be offshore emails randomly go missing at times,2,negative - emails randomly go missing negative - constant disconnects from server (reliability) negative - cost not worth the service due to lack of reliability positive - great user management features,G Suite,TeamViewer, G Suite, Microsoft Office 2016, QuickBooks Pro, Adobe Acrobat DCMS Exchange - It's Not Your Father's Email ServerOur managerial staff leverage Microsoft Office and hosted Exchange across several companies, including the overseeing ownership management company. The previous two employers over the last 22 years have also depended on MS Exchange, to a much greater degree, including Unified Communications.,Unified Communications with Cisco VOIP (replacing the Cisco voice mail component) Integration with Microsoft Office (Outlook for email client) Email Archiving - The archived email still appears in a mirrored folder structure within Outlook. Outlook shows "presence" for users via Cisco Presence - if they are available, in a meeting, vacation, etc.,Some advanced functionality requires using PowerShell - Got used to it...,9,We are currently using Hosted Exchange from a provider with archaic pricing - pick your provider wisely,Exchange your busted email system for Exchange - it's the bestMicrosoft Exchange is used as our e-mail, calendar, and task-management application. The entire organization uses it, we run two servers in a redundancy and failover configuration to maintain uptime. In the current environment, all businesses must have e-mail, and most should have shared calendars or other ways of scheduling meetings with multiple people. Exchange allows for that pretty seamlessly.,E-Mail: The primary function of Exchange, I'd argue, and it does it well right out of the box. There are a thousand ways to customize the way e-mail works - mail flow, rules for types of connections, group or shared boxes - but even with a minimal, almost default setup, e-mail works perfectly. Shared Resources: Shared calendars, public folders, and rooms are a few of the resources you can add to Exchange for tracking. We prefer shard mailboxes rather than public folders in most cases, but Exchange supports both, which gives it some versatility. Active Directory Integration: If you run Active Directory, Exchange is very easy to manage. Automatic rules can be set up for new users, group emails can be managed within AD instead of logging into Exchange, &c. And it means only one password. Mobile Access: Users can access their email on their phones or via the web, which is especially useful for employees who travel. But even internally, it means users don't need an additional application to use most of Exchange's feature (although Outlook is extremely useful, too).,No Management App: Microsoft decided to most administration of Exchange to a web portal instead of a separate application like older editions. This does allow an admin to log in from anywhere, but it's not as clean as a dedicated app. For example, if a browser update breaks compatibility, you have to wait for a fix, whereas a native app would just work regardless of browser functionality. Less GUI/More Powershell: There are a handful of things you cannot manage in the management web portal. They require Powershell commands. Powershell is useful in many cases, but usually for advanced features, not regular, every day type things like running reports. Cost: Exchange is not an inexpensive product, and with the licensing model, the more users you have, the more expensive it becomes.,10,Cost: While the software is expensive, having an on-site implementation was more cost effective for an organization of our size. Our usual cycle is 5 years, so with our user count it was cheaper - even with hardware and two sites - to maintain in house. Training: We did have to train users on a few new things. The older edition we had (2010) used public folders, but those are being deprecated with each edition. So we had to teach users how to use shared mailboxes instead, but those end up being far more robust in the long run. Efficiency: Exchange 2016 is much faster and uses less overhead for us than 2010 did. And using replication makes recovery during an outage must faster as well.,,Microsoft Office 2016, Proofpoint Email Security and Protection, ZixExchange is best email platform availableMicrosoft Exchange is being used across the entire organization. It is utilized for internal and external communications via email as well as scheduling meetings both internally and externally. Resource rooms are used to schedule internal meetings and can be reserved with the meeting invite. Microsoft Exchange email allows staff to communicate efficiently.,incoming email outgoing email scheduling meetings,hybrid on-premise and O365 do not communicate well together ease of management email tracking,9,stable email environment for business communications scalable as company grows issues tend to be complex and Microsoft support needed,,MS SharePoint, Proofpoint Advanced Threat Protection, VMware ESXiMicrosoft Exchange: Why use anyone else?Microsoft Exchange has been the dominant email application that most companies use across the board. It is beautiful, user-friendly, and brings so much collaboration to each staff member in the organization. It is the one stop shop for email, calendar, contact, and sharing of data. With so much potential for other application integrations, the only limit is based on the company, not with Microsoft. With all their special pricing they give out to non-profit or to the education sector, it is no wonder that they shine across the globe.,Email Calendar Contact Data Collaboration Management,On Premise updates are time consuming.,10,MS Exchange has saved the company millions in paid employee time.Microsoft Exchange ReviewMicrosoft Exchange is being used across the entire organization for both email and calendar purposes. It allows everyone in the company to communicate effectively and in a streamlined manner. Each department has access to various distribution groups and are able to address issues as quickly as they come in.,Productive and Organized Work Collaboration Shared Contacts and Calendars Collaborate on projects and share information easily,User management could be more straightforward Occasional connectivity issues with Outlook iOS and Android apps functionality,7,Mobile worker incremental productivity gain Improved availability and disaster recovery,Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Adobe Acrobat DC, LogMeIn RescueMicrosoft Exchange enables collaboration and shared resource managementWe use Microsoft Exchange throughout the organization for email, calendar, and contact management. Exchange also handles the scheduling of our shared resources, such as our conference rooms. By utilizing Exchange, we can see the availability of conference rooms on any given day and at any given time, which greatly improves our ability to schedule meetings with other co-workers and avoid scheduling conflicts.,Resource Scheduling Publishing Availability Active Directory Integration,User Experience in Web Access Client User Mailbox Management Message Recall,10,Improved collaboration through calendar sharing Integration with Active Directory and Outlook has provided a consistent user experience across the desktop, making user adoption easier. Improved communication throughout the organization,,Microsoft Office 2016, OneNoteMicrsoft Gives Your Company a Positive Outlook!To be clear, I'm reviewing Microsoft's desktop email application "MS Outlook 2016". I find the term "Microsoft Exchange" to be a bit confusing, because it refers to an underlying platform for which there are several clients. MS Exchange is used for email and scheduling meetings at my company, so it is at the heart of keeping us organized and in touch. If a meeting wasn't scheduled (and accepted) on our Exchange calendar, then it's not a legitimately booked meeting.,Flexibility of user interface: for me, being able to completely customize the commands and layout of the ribbon menu is a huge productivity booster. I surface the functions I need to use often, and hide the rest. Setting up meetings and appointments, and color-coding them so I can see at-a-glance what my day is going to look like. Pop-up reminders for meetings are absolutely invaluable, and without them I have a hard time making the meetings I've committed to attending.,I sometimes get confused about availability for appointments. I use my Outlook calendar not only to schedule meetings with others, but also to remind myself to complete tasks on a specific day. Not sure how this could be more intuitive, but it's something I've run into a few times before. When the details for a meeting change several times in a short period, as can happen when someone has trouble booking a room, or working within the availability of all the attendees, I get many messages in my inbox and it's a) annoying and b) a bit hard to understand what's going on. Maybe some kind of digest for those cases could help there. The setting to strip out formatting when pasting from another application does not actually work, which is annoying since I send HTML-enabled messages. I need to right click and choose the special paste option to get around this.,9,Exchange has a huge positive impact, I would imagine, on our business objectives. I don't know how much we pay for it, but it's difficult for me to imagine running our company efficiently and effectively without it.,,JIRA Software, OneNoteExchange It Up!In my current position, I am responsible for migrating our United States origination from Lotus Notes to Microsoft Exchange 2016. This includes the Exchange architecture, setup, migration and management. Exchange 2016 is now our primary (and only) email solution for our entire origination across multiple continents. The reason we switched to Exchange from Notes, is because Exchange provides up-to-date email technology, redundancy/failover, low cost of ownership, scalability and excellent performance.,Exchange provides protection of sensitive data though DLP (Data Loss Prevention) and compliance regulations. Exchange makes use ease of access by integrating with Lync/Skype For Business/SharePoint as well as personal archives and large mailbox support. Exchange provides multi-layered anti-spam protection keeping your users safe from email threats. Exchange provides email anywhere through the use OWA, Outlook Anywhere, and mobile devices support with ActiveSync. Exchange provides different levels of admin access by using RBAC (Role Based Access Controls) to allow administrators and helpdesk to manage mailboxes and users efficiently.,The main issue I have with Exchange is the web-based Administrative Center. Compared to the Exchange Management Console prior to Exchange 2013, it's slow and you don't have as many options. That being said, is the reason every Exchange admin should learn PowerShell to do their job efficiently. Exchange is quite the resource hog and does need some initial investment into server hardware/VM infrastructure and storage. Luckily Exchange can run on big, cheap disks quite well. Depending on the environment it does take quite a bit of knowledge to setup and configure. There are tons of guides out there to get you where you need to be.,10,We have achieved 99% uptime for email services using Exchange 2016. By using a Database Availability Group (DAG), email is highly available and partnered with a load balancing solution, you can even run maintenance during production hours. Exchange makes it possible to work from anywhere by using Outlook On The Web (OWA) or Outlook Anywhere by providing external access to email. While on the go, Exchange provides email connectivity to devices and phones, so you never miss that important email. Exchange provides an excellent return on investment by providing "always on" email services with the benefit of being able to run on cheap storage - this allows for giant mailboxes allowing users to keep emails forever.,IBM Notes,Skype for Business, MS SharePoint, Windows ServerMicrosoft Exchange - The Industry Standard for a ReasonMicrosoft Exchange being used by the entire organization. Our entire email infrastructure is Microsoft Exchange, including alerts and notifications. Our current system is Microsoft Exchange 2010, which is on-premise. We are in the process of upgrading to Microsoft Exchange 2016, which will also be on-premise. We have it deployed in multiple data centers for redundancy. It provides dependable, reliable email for the entire company, across a wide variety of devices. We also have Exchange access on all of our mobile phones, which is managed by Airwatch MDM. I also used Exchange at my previous employers, and it has always worked very well and provided solid, dependable email access. We prefer on-premise to hosted, as it gives us absolute control of both the architecture of our Exchange environment, as well as very granular control over the Exchange servers themselves. All of our Exchange servers on virtualized in VMWare ESXi, as well. Exchange is simply the best email solution available, and on-premise is the best version of that product.,Integration with mobile devices. It's fast, simple, and effective Integration with Microsoft Outlook. There's no better product in the business if you use Microsoft Office, period. Simple user management. It's easy to create, delete, and move mailboxes & distribution lists. Excellent active directory integration. Again, best of breed here.,Cost. Exchange is expensive, both in terms of hardware costs and especially software costs. Complexity. It is not something that you have a novice setup or administer. You need admins trained in Microsoft Exchange. Problems can be difficult to troubleshoot. Some problems that pop up are not especially intuitive, even for seasoned Exchange Admins.,9,Availability. It has enabled us to have predictable, reliable, and robust email. Email cannot go down, and we have never had a major outage as a result of the way our system is architected. Powerful email administration. Adding new mailboxes, DL's, and even Exchange servers, is not difficult. It enables us to grow our environment as needed, without any painfully long outage periods. High availability. It's not simple, but it is effective. HA Exchange setups are best of breed.,,Microsoft Office 2016, GoToMeeting, VMware Horizon ViewMicrosoft Exchange is a Must for Outlook UsersMicrosoft Exchange is used by our entire organization, and is a great way to manage your email away from the office, whether working from home or on the road.,Microsoft Exchange gives me complete access to my email and features. I can compose emails, use and manage email signatures, send attachments, etc. Everything I need, I can do it through Exchange. Exchange gives my emails a more professional feel than using my phone or tablet to compose and send email. If I need a more polished, professional feel to my message, I like using Exchange. I'm able to access my calendars, make appointments, set my out-of-office automated responses, and check my team's calendars through Exchange. I don't have to sacrifice any functionality.,Message formatting, especially with bullets and numbering, is compromised with Exchange. You can still do basic bullets and numbering, but you don't have the same look and feel [as] when using Outlook. This isn't necessarily a complaint against Exchange, but just a fact. If you're using your personal device to access Exchange, you're not going to have access to all of your documents on your work device. So if you're looking for a document to attach, you need to have it on the device or in the cloud to access it. I wouldn't want to use Exchange as my primary way to access my email. It's nice in a crunch, or if you're working from home or on the road, but Outlook is much easier for me to use.,10,It's made our organization more effective. We can keep track of our email communication from home and on the road at any time of the day. It allows my team to constantly be up-to-date for all email communication. Exchange allows my team to create calendar invites and events to ensure we're as productive as possible.,IBM Lotus Notes and Novel GroupWise,Microsoft Access, Blue Box, Proto.ioMicrosoft Exchange: A Great Tool for Business And/Or Personal UseMy previous and current employers utilize Microsoft Exchange throughout the entire organization to communicate both internally and externally. It helps us share information, view each other's calendars and schedule meetings easily.,The threaded emails allow me to easily find and follow a conversation history when necessary. I can easily add an email to my task list, calendar and contact information.,I shared a general email account with my team, and while my iPhone allowed me to easily set up my own Exchange account on it to check emails, the general/shared Exchange account could only be viewed from my phone. I was unable to reply to emails from my phone.,10,There have been times that Exchange is unable to connect with the server and emails do not get sent. While it is rare and could possibly be an issue on our end, it is inconvenient in a corporate environment regarding efficiency and productivity.,,Articulate Storyline, Google Drive
Unspecified
Microsoft Exchange
422 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft Exchange Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Microsoft Exchange
422 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 422 vetted Microsoft Exchange reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Andrew Shannon profile photo
June 28, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Exchange on Premise good for companys with 75+ employees"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Exchange across our whole organization because nowadays everyone needs email. Email is now the most effective form of communication for our business, when 10 years ago it was the phone, but now everyone prefers an email instead. Having our own in-house Exchange server makes sense for us because of the number of users we have, it's better than the cloud based subscription services for email, we get all the benefits of Exchange without any of the subscription costs.
  • Calendaring between organization members, scheduling meetings with other in-house team members is super easy and allows you see their available times easily.
  • Mobile device syncing, you can sync up an iPhone or android phone with your email account simply and always have your phone in sync with your desktop.
  • Laptop on the go access. The latest versions of exchange, 2007 and up, allow you to sync a laptop with your exchange server and it will stay in sync with your inbox no matter where in the world you go, with activesync built into exchange. No need to reconfigure your inbox when youre inside or outside your corp network.
  • Spam filtering and content rule creation. You can block unwanted emails right from the server with exchanges builtin spam filtering, or create your own rules right on the server to block unwanted non-spammers.
  • Scalability - it can be difficult to scale up your server when you need more hard drive room. Virtualizing your Exchange server can help a little with this.
  • Upgradeability across versions - it can be difficult to upgrade your Exchange server to the newest versions of Exchange, Mmicrosoft recommends you build a whole new server and migrate your mailboxes to the new server instead of doing an in-place upgrade of an existing server.
Exchange is a great option for organizations with more than 75 employees who rely on email heavily and have users with large inboxes, who want to be able to backup and restore their email quickly and easily. If you have less than 75 employees but more than 25, you might also be able to go with a windows essential server which has Exchange for up to 75 users only and it still makes a lot of sense, but you cannot grow bigger than 75 employees ever without adding another server that runs the full blown exchange. if you have less than 25 employees or don't use email much, then you probably should stick with Office 365 and cloud based email.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Christopher Kaldenberg profile photo
June 26, 2019

Review: "Microsoft Exchange - "Best of the Best" Mail Server"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange as our primary method of email communication for internal business users, contact center agents, and for business-to-customer interactions.
  • Microsoft Exchange offers the best integration with Active Directory.
  • Microsoft Exchange offers a great web management interface for administrators.
  • Microsoft Exchange web services provide key functionality on how we integrate emails into ACD workgroup queues for customer support purposes.
  • Microsoft Exchange could use more canned mail filtering tools to block spam.
  • Microsoft Exchange should include it's own quarantine solution.
  • Microsoft Exchange requires external recipients to become Exchange mail contacts before you can add those recipients to a distribution group.
Microsoft Exchange is well suited for a business that can afford the pricing structure, as well as afford the additional costs to improve mail server security.
Read Christopher Kaldenberg's full review
Matt Graf profile photo
June 26, 2019

Review: "Microsoft Exchange is a great storage solution."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is being used as a server for us to store a multitude of files on. We can access our emails from the Exchange server using Outlook. Exchange Server has been a great addition to our pipeline and workflow. I can't imagine us using anything else to store the multitude of files that we deal with on a daily basis.
  • Storage solution for a wide range of file sizes and types
  • Provides easy and quick access to all our files
  • Easy to use for any employee, no matter their technical ability
  • Nothing comes to mind. It is easy to use and very solid.
Microsoft Exchange is a great solution for storing files and works really well with Microsoft Outlook and other programs. It makes accessing a wide range of files quick and easy. Giving you the ability to store large files and not storing them locally is hugely beneficial and more secure than just using external hard drives.
Read Matt Graf's full review
Curt Sminkey profile photo
June 26, 2019

Review: "Nothing else comes close to Microsoft Exchange"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Microsoft Exchange across our entire global organization as an email solution. We utilized database servers at multiple major datacenters we had around the world. We also used multiple Database Availablity Groups so that a server failure would not affect service.
  • It integrates very easily with Microsoft Outlook which many people are familiar with.
  • I found it was far and away better than other products for calendars - resource calendar, calendar delegates, syncing between client and server, etc.
  • Overall all easy to manage from an admin standpoint.
  • If you are familiar with Powershell, advanced reporting and admin functions are very easy.
  • Easy migration to move from OnPrem Exchange to Office 365.
  • Exchange is pretty much an industry standard at this point.
  • Large database sizes can be difficult to manage.
  • The internal spam filter is very basic. Larger organizations will want to use a separate product.
  • Maintenance/Licensing cost can be very expensive.
I personally don't know of any scenario where it is not appropriate. I've worked with email systems that all have major flaws in how they are managed or used by an end user and the quirks with Exchange pale in comparison. I've worked in large scale organizations and very small businesses with less than 100 employees and Exchange scales well for both.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
Ian Hansen profile photo
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Exchange is Powerful and Useful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange Online extensively, and have some clients that needed to have on-premise Exchange servers that we also set up and configured. Exchange provides us e-mail, calendaring for meetings and invites, and contact sharing. I also appreciate how it integrates with the other Microsoft Office suite applications such as Teams and Word.
  • Rules and filters for sorting e-mail
  • Customization of e-mail formatting and views
  • Inviting multiple users to meet and reserving resource rooms for meetings
  • Installation requires extensive knowledge/certification
  • Hardening to make secure requires additional knowledge
MS Exchange is beneficial for large-scale business organizations or non-profits that require collaboration. Its features are robust and extensive and support and documentation is adequate to maintain. Any business that wants to stay organized and have a universal platform that ties well into other collaboration tools such as Teams should consider Exchange or Exchange Online. Smaller organizations may not need all the features.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
Gary Lamontagne profile photo
June 26, 2019

Review: "Microsoft Exchange is a must have for medium to large businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange across our entire organization. When looking for an email solution, we needed a product that would allow shared calendars and email. Microsoft Exchange does just that and does it well. We previously use a POP3 mail solution from our ISP that was tough to manage, and a nightmare to migrate.
  • Archiving
  • Spam detection
  • Sharing calendars
  • Sending and receiving email
  • SMS messaging capability would be nice
  • Easier tracking of email failures
  • quick chat between users would be nice
Microsoft Exchange is well suited for a company that needs to host their own email on-site and has the staff to properly administrate it. It is less appropriate in a small company without a dedicated IT person.
Read Gary Lamontagne's full review
Andrew DeLira profile photo
June 05, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Great product for email."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use exchange for all of our internal email for all employees from c level to support as well as provide a hosted exchange environment to our hosting clients. that are available in 3 different tiers. The calendar, and contact list are vital as well as being able to use it on multiple devices it is a great service
  • Works on mobile devices.
  • Calendar syncing.
  • Contacts syncing.
  • Renders some HTML emails horribly.
  • Use fewer resources on a PC.
  • Search could be better in Outlook.
Microsoft Exchange has been a great product, however, when it comes to spam protection it's not the best. For larger companies with spam filtering, it would be perfect if everything works how it should all the syncing with mobile and multiple desktops as well as OWA web access it's just great.
Read Andrew DeLira's full review
Mike Narumiya profile photo
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Industry standard, what else is there to say?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Exchange is used across the entire organization. At this point, Exchange is an industry standard for email and calendars. Works well, is easy to use and used by many. With the hosted solution, even easier to use and get set up than ever before. A professional product at a good cost, that provides a solid tool.
  • Calendar invites
  • Availability and access. E365 is a way to go.
  • Ease of use, familiarity by the market.
  • Integration available with many web sharing and security products.
  • The complexity of the rules can be overly complex with little explanation.
  • Migrating from Exchange server to E365 could be better. Rules and permissions don't translate well.
  • Better encryption options, and use.
For any organization that wishes to use a solid tool, Exchange is the way to go. If you are set in using Exchange server, and have excessive permissions and rules, you may not be able to very smoothly migrate over to 365.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Julian Volpe profile photo
June 26, 2019

Review: "Microsoft Exchange - No brainer for 100% uptime."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use O365 Exchange for email and calendars. We love the fact that it’s always current and the ease of use via portal. We don’t see too many issues with Exchange. Everything you need is located in one portal and the interface is really intuitive. I would highly recommend this solution to all my clients.
  • Ease of implementation
  • Ease of use
  • Intuitive portal
  • Always up to date
  • Support
  • Licensing
Exchange is suited for anyone who wants a simple to set up, robust platform.
Read Julian Volpe's full review
Rob Rotundo profile photo
January 29, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "MS Exchange - Still top dog, or old dinosaur?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been in business for 21 years and have been using Microsoft Exchange basically the entire time. Whether it's us using it internally or supporting clients of Exchange, we've been involved. We've seen a move to more cloud-based email systems as of late, but we still have plenty of clients using it. It's a time tested email solution that just works.
  • Manages users well.
  • Overall reliability.
  • Exchange is reliant on a good infrastructure and server environment, so make sure you have that.
  • Powershell can be tough to manage.
If you want a good old fashioned email system that works and is reliable, Microsoft Exchange is that. If you're a larger business and need better control over your staff email, Exchange is best. If you're a small business with just a few users, there are better options that don't need maintenance and are cheaper.
Read Rob Rotundo's full review
No photo available
May 10, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "A Great Product But It's Being Left Behind by the Cloud"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone in our organization has an email account with our on-premise Exchange setup. This is our primary system of communication internally and externally. We also utilize multiple public calendars to manage meeting and event times for our conference rooms. Most employees setup their email account on their mobile devices so they can stay up to date with the constantly changing schedule.
  • Almost everyone, whether in a small non-profit or fortune 500 company, is familiar with Microsoft products. Having an Exchange server that 'just works' with their Outlook desktop program and mobile devices is a huge time saver for any organization.
  • The calendar function is extremely useful. Shared and public calendars make it easy to schedule meetings and confirm availability. Being able to attach documents to calendar events is a plus as well.
  • The ECP GUI is admin friendly and allows our junior IT staff to assist with account creation and other basic tasks.
  • Better built-in spam filters/protection. It would be nice to not have to immediately purchase a spam filter appliance or pay several dollars per mailbox to cut down on spam. This may be a pipe dream since Microsoft is all but dragging people from on-premise to O365.
  • No way to disable ECP from being exposed to the outside. It would be nice, for security purposes, to be able to just have it accessible from the LAN.
  • CAL licensing can be a pain to manage and keep track of.
Any large organization with a dedicated IT staff can save money by having an on-premise Exchange server rather than paying a monthly fee per mailbox every month. Also, any organization that uses Outlook for the desktop email clients will enjoy the ease of setup and use. Non-Profits also have the benefit of reduced software licensing costs for Windows Server and Exchange Server but this is now a moot point with up 300 free mailboxes in O365 for qualifying non-profits. Any small startup that doesn't have the capital to invest in servers, licenses and other costs would not be well served by Exchange. Any organization, whether small or large, will need IT services, either an MSP or dedicated staff, to manage Exchange. If you do not have the staff then Exchange is not for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 03, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Excellent email solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is an excellent email, calendar and contacts, meeting solution for PC, phone or web browser. Easy implementation and very user friendly for end users. Very good functionalities like unlimited archiving, the hold and redemption policy functionality or schedule emails to be sent in the future. Fit great for small or big business.
  • Very good notification
  • Email editing and sending
  • Email archiving
  • Contacts management
  • Planing and scheduler
  • Migration from one version to another is a bit complicated
  • Rules administration can be more easily to do
  • No other issues or problem was identified
Microsoft Exchange works very fast and it consumes low resources. Works great on PCs, web browser, phone and tablets in different OS: Microsoft, IOS, Android. Easy installation, inclusive configuration on mobile devices. The web browser solution is a great tool to access your email remotely, including on VPN. Message archiving is very useful. Easy import/export of messages on different devices.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 28, 2019

Review: "Organise email work with Microsoft Exchange and be productive."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is a hosted email service which is being used by my whole organization. All the departments in my organization use this software as their default email program. It helps us to have our emails and contacts in one place. And it can be accessed by all our systems. Its organised services helps us to reduce our time managing our emails.
  • It can sync all emails, contacts and calendar very well.
  • Setting up accounts and configuring emails on this software is very easy.
  • It provides a mobile application also which helps users to access email while traveling.
  • Sometimes its email sorting happens with errors. Some of my important emails went to my Junk folder.
  • It is not well optimised with Mac OS. I had to uninstall it from my MacBook.
  • It doesn't work well with a slow internet connection.
This software is extremely good in organising emails. It makes it easy to find any email even from a long thread of emails. It is very well suited for the users who want to organise multiple email accounts at one place. This software is capable of handling multiple accounts with ease.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Looking for average or just ok? Go with an Exchange."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's email. It doesn't get much easier to explain than that. The entire company has used it, but made a switch. Clients do use it and we have to support them when there are issues.
  • easy setup with Microsoft Outlook
  • easy setup on mobile devices
  • secure email solution
  • constant server timeouts
  • lack of true support - all support seems to be offshore
  • emails randomly go missing at times
If you are looking for a business email service then sure, use Exchange. But if you're looking for reliability, you may want to find another solution. It would be great for business, if it consistently worked. It seems that the service has gotten worse over the last year or so.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "MS Exchange - It's Not Your Father's Email Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our managerial staff leverage Microsoft Office and hosted Exchange across several companies, including the overseeing ownership management company. The previous two employers over the last 22 years have also depended on MS Exchange, to a much greater degree, including Unified Communications.
  • Unified Communications with Cisco VOIP (replacing the Cisco voice mail component)
  • Integration with Microsoft Office (Outlook for email client)
  • Email Archiving - The archived email still appears in a mirrored folder structure within Outlook.
  • Outlook shows "presence" for users via Cisco Presence - if they are available, in a meeting, vacation, etc.
  • Some advanced functionality requires using PowerShell - Got used to it...
At my current employer, they elected to use Gmail for non-management staff due to cost, even though, with the recent price increases for G Suite, Exchange, or even MS Hosted Exchange would save a bundle. Our current Hosted Exchange provider has an archaic cost structure - hasn't altered pricing in several years. We are paying about $25/box, where MS Hosted Exchange currently starts at $4/box. MS Hosted Exchange is a great cost solution for those that want Exchange features, but don't have / want onsite servers. I also can't comment about the current state of Exchange malware protection. Historically, we found Forefront and its replacement lacking the protection we needed. We made an excellent decision opting for Mimecast (this was about five years ago).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Exchange your busted email system for Exchange - it's the best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is used as our e-mail, calendar, and task-management application. The entire organization uses it, we run two servers in a redundancy and failover configuration to maintain uptime. In the current environment, all businesses must have e-mail, and most should have shared calendars or other ways of scheduling meetings with multiple people. Exchange allows for that pretty seamlessly.
  • E-Mail: The primary function of Exchange, I'd argue, and it does it well right out of the box. There are a thousand ways to customize the way e-mail works - mail flow, rules for types of connections, group or shared boxes - but even with a minimal, almost default setup, e-mail works perfectly.
  • Shared Resources: Shared calendars, public folders, and rooms are a few of the resources you can add to Exchange for tracking. We prefer shard mailboxes rather than public folders in most cases, but Exchange supports both, which gives it some versatility.
  • Active Directory Integration: If you run Active Directory, Exchange is very easy to manage. Automatic rules can be set up for new users, group emails can be managed within AD instead of logging into Exchange, &c. And it means only one password.
  • Mobile Access: Users can access their email on their phones or via the web, which is especially useful for employees who travel. But even internally, it means users don't need an additional application to use most of Exchange's feature (although Outlook is extremely useful, too).
  • No Management App: Microsoft decided to most administration of Exchange to a web portal instead of a separate application like older editions. This does allow an admin to log in from anywhere, but it's not as clean as a dedicated app. For example, if a browser update breaks compatibility, you have to wait for a fix, whereas a native app would just work regardless of browser functionality.
  • Less GUI/More Powershell: There are a handful of things you cannot manage in the management web portal. They require Powershell commands. Powershell is useful in many cases, but usually for advanced features, not regular, every day type things like running reports.
  • Cost: Exchange is not an inexpensive product, and with the licensing model, the more users you have, the more expensive it becomes.
Exchange is well suited for just about every business, except perhaps the smallest (in which case Office 365, which is essentially a hosted Exchange implementation, would probably be more cost effective). It's extremely scalable, flexible, and still easy to admin and maintain. It's also an industry standard with many experts out there, and tons of documentation in case you run into issues.

The only scenario I can really think of where Exchange would be inappropriate would be a sole proprietor or two- to three-person small business, where maybe personal e-mails would be acceptable. Or, as I mentioned before, some place where an on-site server may make less sense, so a hosted solution like Office 365 would be better (perhaps you have poor Internet service).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Exchange is best email platform available"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is being used across the entire organization. It is utilized for internal and external communications via email as well as scheduling meetings both internally and externally. Resource rooms are used to schedule internal meetings and can be reserved with the meeting invite. Microsoft Exchange email allows staff to communicate efficiently.
  • incoming email
  • outgoing email
  • scheduling meetings
  • hybrid on-premise and O365 do not communicate well together
  • ease of management
  • email tracking
Microsoft Exchange is well suited for a larger company environment that has the staff capable of managing the system and performing upgrades/updates. It is a robust solution capable of scaling to meet the needs of a growing company. It is not well suited for a small company that does not have IT staff capable of managing a complex setup.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2019

Review: "Microsoft Exchange: Why use anyone else?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange has been the dominant email application that most companies use across the board. It is beautiful, user-friendly, and brings so much collaboration to each staff member in the organization. It is the one stop shop for email, calendar, contact, and sharing of data. With so much potential for other application integrations, the only limit is based on the company, not with Microsoft. With all their special pricing they give out to non-profit or to the education sector, it is no wonder that they shine across the globe.
  • Email
  • Calendar
  • Contact
  • Data Collaboration
  • Management
  • On Premise updates are time consuming.
I was hired into a department where basic email functionality was non-existent. Simple requests to have a staff member see another staffs member's calendar was not fathomable. They used to print out their calendars and pass them out to the staff every Monday. This was crazy! Microsoft Exchange fixed this problem and so many others after it was implemented in the organization. Now it is one application that I must say, cannot be lived without. It is an absolute necessity.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2019

"Microsoft Exchange Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is being used across the entire organization for both email and calendar purposes. It allows everyone in the company to communicate effectively and in a streamlined manner. Each department has access to various distribution groups and are able to address issues as quickly as they come in.
  • Productive and Organized Work Collaboration
  • Shared Contacts and Calendars
  • Collaborate on projects and share information easily
  • User management could be more straightforward
  • Occasional connectivity issues with Outlook
  • iOS and Android apps functionality
Microsoft Exchange is useful in an environment where there are multiple departments, and there is a need for calendar functionality and meeting invites, as well as distribution groups. For smaller companies that mainly need email access, Microsoft Exchange would be more of a luxury and something you could live without.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 20, 2018

Review: "Microsoft Exchange enables collaboration and shared resource management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange throughout the organization for email, calendar, and contact management. Exchange also handles the scheduling of our shared resources, such as our conference rooms. By utilizing Exchange, we can see the availability of conference rooms on any given day and at any given time, which greatly improves our ability to schedule meetings with other co-workers and avoid scheduling conflicts.
  • Resource Scheduling
  • Publishing Availability
  • Active Directory Integration
  • User Experience in Web Access Client
  • User Mailbox Management
  • Message Recall
Exchange is great for integrating active directory accounts and for providing a simplified way to book shared resources. I think resource booking and the sharing of availability information across an organization are Exchange's strongest capabilities from a user's perspective. The administration of Exchange can be a little challenging, but the benefit to users makes it worthwhile.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 02, 2018

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Micrsoft Gives Your Company a Positive Outlook!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To be clear, I'm reviewing Microsoft's desktop email application "MS Outlook 2016". I find the term "Microsoft Exchange" to be a bit confusing, because it refers to an underlying platform for which there are several clients.

MS Exchange is used for email and scheduling meetings at my company, so it is at the heart of keeping us organized and in touch. If a meeting wasn't scheduled (and accepted) on our Exchange calendar, then it's not a legitimately booked meeting.
  • Flexibility of user interface: for me, being able to completely customize the commands and layout of the ribbon menu is a huge productivity booster. I surface the functions I need to use often, and hide the rest.
  • Setting up meetings and appointments, and color-coding them so I can see at-a-glance what my day is going to look like.
  • Pop-up reminders for meetings are absolutely invaluable, and without them I have a hard time making the meetings I've committed to attending.
  • I sometimes get confused about availability for appointments. I use my Outlook calendar not only to schedule meetings with others, but also to remind myself to complete tasks on a specific day. Not sure how this could be more intuitive, but it's something I've run into a few times before.
  • When the details for a meeting change several times in a short period, as can happen when someone has trouble booking a room, or working within the availability of all the attendees, I get many messages in my inbox and it's a) annoying and b) a bit hard to understand what's going on. Maybe some kind of digest for those cases could help there.
  • The setting to strip out formatting when pasting from another application does not actually work, which is annoying since I send HTML-enabled messages. I need to right click and choose the special paste option to get around this.
MS Exchange is well-suited for managing emails and meetings. I feel that's where it really excels.

It's less appropriate for keeping track of tasks and follow-ups. I get the feeling that Outlook has many more features than I actually use, and I recall trying out tasks but they never really stuck. I like to use MS OneNote for my to-dos.
Read this authenticated review
Stacey Branham profile photo
April 04, 2017

Microsoft Exchange Review: "Exchange It Up!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

In my current position, I am responsible for migrating our United States origination from Lotus Notes to Microsoft Exchange 2016. This includes the Exchange architecture, setup, migration and management.

Exchange 2016 is now our primary (and only) email solution for our entire origination across multiple continents.

The reason we switched to Exchange from Notes, is because Exchange provides up-to-date email technology, redundancy/failover, low cost of ownership, scalability and excellent performance.

  • Exchange provides protection of sensitive data though DLP (Data Loss Prevention) and compliance regulations.
  • Exchange makes use ease of access by integrating with Lync/Skype for Business/SharePoint as well as personal archives and large mailbox support.
  • Exchange provides multi-layered anti-spam protection keeping your users safe from email threats.
  • Exchange provides email anywhere through the use OWA, Outlook Anywhere, and mobile devices support with ActiveSync.
  • Exchange provides different levels of admin access by using RBAC (Role Based Access Controls) to allow administrators and helpdesk to manage mailboxes and users efficiently.
  • The main issue I have with Exchange is the web-based Administrative Center. Compared to the Exchange Management Console prior to Exchange 2013, it's slow and you don't have as many options. That being said, is the reason every Exchange admin should learn PowerShell to do their job efficiently.
  • Exchange is quite the resource hog and does need some initial investment into server hardware/VM infrastructure and storage. Luckily Exchange can run on big, cheap disks quite well.
  • Depending on the environment it does take quite a bit of knowledge to setup and configure. There are tons of guides out there to get you where you need to be.
In a nutshell, Exchange is well suited to any organization that uses email. This includes Exchange on-premises or hosted on Office 365. In my experience, it bests any other email solution in performance, cost of ownership, reliability, and redundancy, and ease of use for end-users. On-prem Exchange might less appropriate for very small organizations, but those can easily be set up on Office 365.
Read Stacey Branham's full review
Kurt Ferguson profile photo
April 04, 2017

Review: "Microsoft Exchange - The Industry Standard for a Reason"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange being used by the entire organization. Our entire email infrastructure is Microsoft Exchange, including alerts and notifications. Our current system is Microsoft Exchange 2010, which is on-premise. We are in the process of upgrading to Microsoft Exchange 2016, which will also be on-premise. We have it deployed in multiple data centers for redundancy. It provides dependable, reliable email for the entire company, across a wide variety of devices. We also have Exchange access on all of our mobile phones, which is managed by Airwatch MDM. I also used Exchange at my previous employers, and it has always worked very well and provided solid, dependable email access. We prefer on-premise to hosted, as it gives us absolute control of both the architecture of our Exchange environment, as well as very granular control over the Exchange servers themselves. All of our Exchange servers on virtualized in VMWare ESXi, as well. Exchange is simply the best email solution available, and on-premise is the best version of that product.
  • Integration with mobile devices. It's fast, simple, and effective
  • Integration with Microsoft Outlook. There's no better product in the business if you use Microsoft Office, period.
  • Simple user management. It's easy to create, delete, and move mailboxes & distribution lists.
  • Excellent active directory integration. Again, best of breed here.
  • Cost. Exchange is expensive, both in terms of hardware costs and especially software costs.
  • Complexity. It is not something that you have a novice setup or administer. You need admins trained in Microsoft Exchange.
  • Problems can be difficult to troubleshoot. Some problems that pop up are not especially intuitive, even for seasoned Exchange Admins.
Microsoft is very well suited for medium to large businesses. It is robust, powerful, and reliable. If you want the best email in the business, you want Microsoft Exchange. There is literally no better product out there in this regard.

It may be cost prohibitive for on-premise Exchange for many small businesses. Office 365 is a hosted Exchange option that is a good alternative for small businesses that still want the power of Exchange, but cannot afford the costs of installing and maintaining an on-premise instance of Exchange.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
Richard Crane profile photo
April 18, 2017

Review: "Microsoft Exchange is a Must for Outlook Users"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is used by our entire organization, and is a great way to manage your email away from the office, whether working from home or on the road.
  • Microsoft Exchange gives me complete access to my email and features. I can compose emails, use and manage email signatures, send attachments, etc. Everything I need, I can do it through Exchange.
  • Exchange gives my emails a more professional feel than using my phone or tablet to compose and send email. If I need a more polished, professional feel to my message, I like using Exchange.
  • I'm able to access my calendars, make appointments, set my out-of-office automated responses, and check my team's calendars through Exchange. I don't have to sacrifice any functionality.
  • Message formatting, especially with bullets and numbering, is compromised with Exchange. You can still do basic bullets and numbering, but you don't have the same look and feel [as] when using Outlook.
  • This isn't necessarily a complaint against Exchange, but just a fact. If you're using your personal device to access Exchange, you're not going to have access to all of your documents on your work device. So if you're looking for a document to attach, you need to have it on the device or in the cloud to access it.
  • I wouldn't want to use Exchange as my primary way to access my email. It's nice in a crunch, or if you're working from home or on the road, but Outlook is much easier for me to use.
I'd use Exchange when working from home or on the road when my work device is unavailable. If I have my work device and Outlook is available, that's what I'd prefer to use.
Read Richard Crane's full review
Aaron Itczak profile photo
March 27, 2017

Review: "Microsoft Exchange: A Great Tool for Business And/Or Personal Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My previous and current employers utilize Microsoft Exchange throughout the entire organization to communicate both internally and externally. It helps us share information, view each other's calendars and schedule meetings easily.

  • The threaded emails allow me to easily find and follow a conversation history when necessary.
  • I can easily add an email to my task list, calendar and contact information.
  • I shared a general email account with my team, and while my iPhone allowed me to easily set up my own Exchange account on it to check emails, the general/shared Exchange account could only be viewed from my phone. I was unable to reply to emails from my phone.
Microsoft Exchange contains all of the features needed from both business and personal communication aspects. It is a Microsoft product, so copying/pasting and formatting from other Office applications is seamless. I feel it comes down to user preference. Exchange is competitive and offers great features and integration offered by most email account providers.
Read Aaron Itczak's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-malware (14)
6.6
Cusomizability (15)
7.7
Data Loss Protection (13)
7.5
Threat Detection (15)
6.5
Sandboxing (8)
4.9
End-to-End Encryption (11)
6.8
Management Tools (15)
7.8

About Microsoft Exchange

Microsoft Exchange is a secure email / messaging gateway with file archiving and encryption / data loss capability, available as a hosted service (Exchange Online) or installed (Exchange Server).

Microsoft Exchange Integrations

NovaBACKUP, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Microsoft Exchange Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No