Microsoft Exchange Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
473 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Kyle Naidoo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

Exchange! Not for the faint of heart

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. It works well and addresses communication.
  • Active sync
  • Group dist list creation
  • Manage permissions
  • Manage space
  • Mail relays could be easier to navigate to.
  • Easier to create groups
  • One touch technology could be better.
Suited for all functions. No issues and works great. Could use one-touch to create and attach to default databases.
Read Kyle Naidoo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Exchange continues to be the gold standard for on premises messaging.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange across out whole company, spanning multiple sites. It enables us to effectively communicate and coordinate with calendar features across departments. Coupling Exchange with Outlook gives us a reliable platform for messaging. We make use of several third party applications which integrate seamlessly with Exchange and Outlook as well. Upgrades are fairly straightforward as are patches. We feel that we get a good benefit for the resources dedicated to this application.
  • Public folders are still supported and allow for effective handling of incoming requests.
  • Department level calendars allow for excellent coordination of schedules.
  • Better integration with cloud based mail would be welcome.
  • Native deduplication for mail databases would be a useful feature.
If you require on premises mail as we do there are few alternatives to Exchange in a business environment. Tight integration with Outlook makes training users fairly easy as Outlook is the de-facto leading mail client. Most businesses need an on premises SMTP server, and this fits the bill.
Where Exchange would be less appropriate would be a new company without a significant investment in on premises infrastructure and Active Directory. Using cloud based messaging would most likely be the best path forward for them, and the most forward looking.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

You'll Never Want to Exchange Microsoft!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is used throughout our entire organization by each individual on a daily basis. With Microsoft Exchange, our company is much more productive than we have ever been. We are able to communicate with one another effortlessly because of Exchange's user-friendly platform, and seamless integration ability. Since using Exchange, I have seen a tremendous improvement in productivity and organization in everyone.
  • Easier communication within.
  • Exceptional organization.
  • HTML within email signatures.
  • OneDrive integration.
Microsoft Exchange is an exceptional tool for small businesses and organizations. It gives companies the ability to communicate within, and create a close-knit team. We are able to access our email and calendars from wherever we are! Larger companies, however, may benefit from using Microsoft Office 365 because it provides access to more features on multiple devices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Enterprise-level email server for your business!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is the default electronic mail server for any organization that is serious about doing business. It is used by my entire organization. But it is more than just a simple mail server. With the cost of Microsoft Exchange built into Office 365 for Business, you get the entire enterprise level email server for an extremely low bundle cost.
  • Great Admin Screen.
  • Bundled with Office 365.
  • You lose some admin control in new Office 365.
  • White listing email addresses seems to regress sometimes.
Once you are past using all of the free/open source products out there, you move to Microsoft Exchange for your email needs. It just works seamlessly with all of your other office suite products. I would not be using it for a small organization where you do not purchase Office 365. It is too much overhead without the subscription model.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Microsoft Exchange is great for teams and enterprises

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange for easy email management. We have a small team and Microsoft Exchange allows us to manage emails, aliases, and distribution groups. It's very stable and rarely gives us issues. It's a lot more affordable than other enterprise email systems like Gsuite and more affordable.
  • User management
  • Cost-Effective
  • Distribution Groups
  • WebMail
  • Email management
  • Email forwarding
  • Simpler Interface
  • Mail forwarding from distribution groups
  • Cost for startups
Microsoft Exchange is excellent for professional email management. No need to set up a server or any complex steps. It's not suited for non-technical users who want a simple interface.
Read this authenticated review
Mark Metz | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

An Administrator's General Guide to the Pros and Cons of Exchange.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is the primary source of email communication for our users. All departments use it and it is the one service that cannot be down for any significant amount of time. It allows for group distribution of information via mail groups; conference room reservations; communications with outside organizations; management of daily work schedules; and communications via instant messaging. Without it, work would almost literally come to a halt.
  • Setting up Mail Groups/Distribution Lists which allow for communications with large numbers of people without having to address email to each person individually.
  • Setting up resource calendars for users to access and reserve. For instance tying a physical room to a mailbox calendar allows for very easy scheduling of that particular room resource. It helps with the timeframe of planning meeting locations and for easy reservation without having to coordinate with multiple people wanting to use the room resource. The same would apply to equipment resources.
  • Exchange allows for the creation of shared mailboxes, which allow email to be funneled to a central mailbox that can be managed by multiple people and allow for one point of contact rather than multiple individual contacts. When dealing with outside contacts this is absolutely critical.
  • It is an excellent tool for managing users' primary source of communication. Everything for message discovery to helping correct something as small as an incorrect Out of Office notice is possible via the Management Console. It's also a good source for PowerShell scripts since it provides you the ability to see the command and syntax in PowerShell of a task or function you perform within the tool.
  • Permissions for users on other calendars (Specifically Delegates) could stand to be improved quite a bit. Permission via Delegation, Full-Access on account or things like Send-As should be more easily available within the Exchange management console rather than a combination of using the console and using PowerShell scripts.
  • Mail discovery could also use an overhaul of its current process. While it does work, the limitations are difficult work around and sometimes it’s as though only have of the management done is via a GUI versus having to script a lot of the work needed.
  • The online version for Exchange O365 could also use an overhaul of how it works. There are too many related components that would seem to go together that reside in completely different locations. And again the reliance of scripting can be troublesome for someone that is not an extremely experienced administrator.
Obviously it's a perfect tool for communications. The ability for users to access their mail either through the Outlook application or via the Outlook Web Application makes staying up to date and communicating with co-workers is unmatched by any other application. Without it out organization would be crippled and very hard pressed to find a substitute that matches all the Exchange offers.

The only time I would say it's not appropriate in as a substitute for face to face direct communication. Sending information and details is great, but one thing that is lost is the context of a conversation
Read Mark Metz's full review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Exchange on Premise good for companys with 75+ employees

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Exchange across our whole organization because nowadays everyone needs email. Email is now the most effective form of communication for our business, when 10 years ago it was the phone, but now everyone prefers an email instead. Having our own in-house Exchange server makes sense for us because of the number of users we have, it's better than the cloud based subscription services for email, we get all the benefits of Exchange without any of the subscription costs.
  • Calendaring between organization members, scheduling meetings with other in-house team members is super easy and allows you see their available times easily.
  • Mobile device syncing, you can sync up an iPhone or android phone with your email account simply and always have your phone in sync with your desktop.
  • Laptop on the go access. The latest versions of exchange, 2007 and up, allow you to sync a laptop with your exchange server and it will stay in sync with your inbox no matter where in the world you go, with activesync built into exchange. No need to reconfigure your inbox when youre inside or outside your corp network.
  • Spam filtering and content rule creation. You can block unwanted emails right from the server with exchanges builtin spam filtering, or create your own rules right on the server to block unwanted non-spammers.
  • Scalability - it can be difficult to scale up your server when you need more hard drive room. Virtualizing your Exchange server can help a little with this.
  • Upgradeability across versions - it can be difficult to upgrade your Exchange server to the newest versions of Exchange, Mmicrosoft recommends you build a whole new server and migrate your mailboxes to the new server instead of doing an in-place upgrade of an existing server.
Exchange is a great option for organizations with more than 75 employees who rely on email heavily and have users with large inboxes, who want to be able to backup and restore their email quickly and easily. If you have less than 75 employees but more than 25, you might also be able to go with a windows essential server which has Exchange for up to 75 users only and it still makes a lot of sense, but you cannot grow bigger than 75 employees ever without adding another server that runs the full blown exchange. if you have less than 25 employees or don't use email much, then you probably should stick with Office 365 and cloud based email.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

My Experience with MS Exchange Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are currently using Microsoft Exchange as our primary email system and it plays a critical role in our organization. It is used as a communication and collaboration tool by all staff members. In addition it is used for scheduling meetings with its calendar function and many of our staff relies on its search capabilities to locate important information and business documents.
  • MS Exchange is a very flexible and versatile collaboration tool. It's very easy to deploy and maintain once you have the necessary MS Exchange knowledge. Also there are many 3rd-party add-ons available which can enhance the capability of MS Exchange such as spam filters, antivirus software, etc.
  • Since MS Exchange is such a vital tool in most organizations, there are many ways to make MS Exchange highly available. A number of these HA options are based on standard Microsoft methodologies and may not necessarily result in additional costs for software.
  • MS Exchange is used by a large number of businesses and organizations around the world which simplifies integration with business partners.
  • MS Exchange Server does have its pitfalls. There are many times where users complain of losing emails or they cannot locate emails using the search function. Also, MS Exchange Server does not have the best out-of-the-box troubleshooting and mail tracing tools.
  • The MS Exchange platform is extremely vulnerable against possible threats and hacking. It is therefore important to increase the network security around the Exchange Server to limit attacks. Also, you will need to ensure that the system stays updated with the latest security patches and service packs. The extensive maintenance required for supporting MS Exchange Server needs to be taken into account. You may need an Exchange administrator to continuously monitor and support the system which may increase operational support costs.
Any business or organization who needs to take control over their communication and collaboration systems would be ideally suited for to leverage the capabilities of MS Exchange. Even small businesses can benefit. The advantage is that there are no additional costs for creating new mailboxes for users. Since most users are already running MS Office they would most likely have access to MS Outlook and can thus easily integrate with MS Exchange Server. Also MS Exchange supports mobile devices with an email application which makes it ideal for both onsite and offsite workers.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

MS Exchange is still the gold standard on-premise email server

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange currently underpins our email servers and failover email servers. The exchange serves every employee (that has an email address) across our entire enterprise. I've been using and managing Exchange for over two decades at three different companies. What it does is act as an email flow (receipt, delivery, handling of various types) manager and it controls all aspects of an end user's email handling, although not the end user's experience. The end user's experience is provided by any of a number of email "clients" or software packages. Exchange is what works in the background and the email client is what is used to interface with the user so they can send and receive the email.
  • Exchange does a great job of delivering emails using all of the well-known mail protocols. It sends using SMTP like all other mail handlers and it receives mail using POP and IMAP. It's extremely reliable and it can be configured for adequate failover.
  • It's very good at managing email traffic on-premise, or inside the edge of a corporate network. If you want absolute control over your email and you want to keep all of it in-house and not in the cloud, Exchange is perfect for that.
  • Exchange is fast. It's processing speeds are impressive, and mail can be handled in enormous quantities, even by a very modest Exchange deployment of one or two servers.
  • Exchange can't handle spam filtering very well on its own, or rather, it can do spam filtering based on subscription services, but no one really publishes subscription services anymore, at least not for free. So you generally have to find a third-party tool to help filter spam before it gets to your Exchange server, and if you do not do that, your users will get a lot of spam unless your Exchange administrator is constantly tinkering with filtering.
  • Exchange servers are resource-needy in several areas, as one might expect. It requires sturdy, well-provisioned hardware (read that as a big server or really big server depending on how much mail you expect that it will handle) and it needs a very large bandwidth internet pipe because of the sheer quantity of in and out traffic. This is, of course, strongly dependent on the number of your email users and the types of emails they typically send. But in general, you will need a big internet circuit and bog server to handle email traffic.
  • Exchange is an on-premise solution that must be run on your own hardware. That involves large capital outlay. It's not always the right choice as a result.
Exchange is the long-established email server of choice for Microsoft shops that want to host their own email servers. This is true for small, medium and large enterprises that use Microsoft products. If you do not want to host your own email servers, if you are not a Microsoft shop, or if you expect to handle very small amounts of email (companies with under 100 email addresses, for instance) then this solution is probably not for you. For a very small enterprise, it would be too expensive to implement and license and in addition, it requires specialized knowledge to deploy, so for many micro-SMBs, cloud-hosted email is much more affordable and hassle-free way to handle your corporate email. Cloud-hosted email is also becoming more popular in larger enterprises, primarily because it's so inexpensive and removes the need for any initial capital outlay.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

MS Exchange on-prem. The real deal.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use MS Exchange as our collaboration software for staff and faculty. It addresses meeting scheduling, room bookings, personal calendar and email communications for the business.
  • Seamless integration with MS Outlook, client for Windows and Mac, Mobile devices and Web access.
  • Incorporates calendar, email, contact list and tasks within the software. All information is kept in the mailbox database on the Exchange servers.
  • High availability. The clustering that MS uses for Exchange has come a long way. Their Database Availability Group technology keeps a copy of the database(s) on each host within the cluster. We have not experienced an outage since implementing Exchange 2010, over 6 years ago. We are now running Exchange 2016 without issues.
  • Some of our customers have asked for a feature called 'plus addressing'. This is widely used in the Linux/Gmail email systems but is not available on Exchange.
  • Inbox rules. The basics are there, however, there is some need for a more robust method of catching and sorting email. Some rule editors include a RegEx editor that would allow for this.
  • As of a few years ago, MS has been focusing more on their development efforts on their cloud solution and now so much on the on-premises application. Most feel that the new features do not make it to the on-prem application, forcing corporations to migrate to the cloud.
  • Anti-SPAM and AntiVirus. MS Exchange has never done a great job of keeping the bad email out of the system. This has opened up an opportunity for other companies to take advantage of selling an email firewall to catch a bad email before reaching Exchange.
Microsoft Exchange is well suited for an organization of over 1000 employees. The cost of the physical servers, Exchange itself and a full-time admin, is not feasible for a smaller organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Microsoft Exchange is a powerful email software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Microsoft Exchange (2016) in our company for more than 10 years. It's still on-premise. The problems we had with Exchange are rather small beauty flaws. With the DAG, Exchange is working fine and has e cluster functionality. It could be nice when you can do more with the GUI, but with Powershell skills there are no limits.
  • Easy user management.
  • Unlimited possibilities with Exchange Shell.
  • Failover possibility.
  • You can't use Exchange without Active Directory.
  • Message tracking is not that easy.
  • Installing updates can cause some problems.
Of course it's one of the best E-Mail Software you can use and it's fully integrated in the Office suit. Create Shared Mailboxes and Distribution Groups is done in a few clicks or in one row in the Exchange Shell.
Some settings can only be done in the Exchange Shell, so you need a little bit know how in Powershell.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Long time Microsoft Exchange admin

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Exchange is used across our entire organization.
  • Is a prominent player in email service.
  • Stable product.
  • Easy to manage.
  • The Management tool could be more compatible with various web browsers. It acts a little quirky with various ones.
Not worth the effort or cost if you only have a few mailboxes. Great for large organizations.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Kaldenberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange - "Best of the Best" Mail Server

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange as our primary method of email communication for internal business users, contact center agents, and for business-to-customer interactions.
  • Microsoft Exchange offers the best integration with Active Directory.
  • Microsoft Exchange offers a great web management interface for administrators.
  • Microsoft Exchange web services provide key functionality on how we integrate emails into ACD workgroup queues for customer support purposes.
  • Microsoft Exchange could use more canned mail filtering tools to block spam.
  • Microsoft Exchange should include it's own quarantine solution.
  • Microsoft Exchange requires external recipients to become Exchange mail contacts before you can add those recipients to a distribution group.
Microsoft Exchange is well suited for a business that can afford the pricing structure, as well as afford the additional costs to improve mail server security.
Read Christopher Kaldenberg's full review
Matt Graf | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange is a great storage solution.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is being used as a server for us to store a multitude of files on. We can access our emails from the Exchange server using Outlook. Exchange Server has been a great addition to our pipeline and workflow. I can't imagine us using anything else to store the multitude of files that we deal with on a daily basis.
  • Storage solution for a wide range of file sizes and types
  • Provides easy and quick access to all our files
  • Easy to use for any employee, no matter their technical ability
  • Nothing comes to mind. It is easy to use and very solid.
Microsoft Exchange is a great solution for storing files and works really well with Microsoft Outlook and other programs. It makes accessing a wide range of files quick and easy. Giving you the ability to store large files and not storing them locally is hugely beneficial and more secure than just using external hard drives.
Read Matt Graf's full review
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Nothing else comes close to Microsoft Exchange

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Microsoft Exchange across our entire global organization as an email solution. We utilized database servers at multiple major datacenters we had around the world. We also used multiple Database Availablity Groups so that a server failure would not affect service.
  • It integrates very easily with Microsoft Outlook which many people are familiar with.
  • I found it was far and away better than other products for calendars - resource calendar, calendar delegates, syncing between client and server, etc.
  • Overall all easy to manage from an admin standpoint.
  • If you are familiar with Powershell, advanced reporting and admin functions are very easy.
  • Easy migration to move from OnPrem Exchange to Office 365.
  • Exchange is pretty much an industry standard at this point.
  • Large database sizes can be difficult to manage.
  • The internal spam filter is very basic. Larger organizations will want to use a separate product.
  • Maintenance/Licensing cost can be very expensive.
I personally don't know of any scenario where it is not appropriate. I've worked with email systems that all have major flaws in how they are managed or used by an end user and the quirks with Exchange pale in comparison. I've worked in large scale organizations and very small businesses with less than 100 employees and Exchange scales well for both.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Exchange is Powerful and Useful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange Online extensively, and have some clients that needed to have on-premise Exchange servers that we also set up and configured. Exchange provides us e-mail, calendaring for meetings and invites, and contact sharing. I also appreciate how it integrates with the other Microsoft Office suite applications such as Teams and Word.
  • Rules and filters for sorting e-mail
  • Customization of e-mail formatting and views
  • Inviting multiple users to meet and reserving resource rooms for meetings
  • Installation requires extensive knowledge/certification
  • Hardening to make secure requires additional knowledge
MS Exchange is beneficial for large-scale business organizations or non-profits that require collaboration. Its features are robust and extensive and support and documentation is adequate to maintain. Any business that wants to stay organized and have a universal platform that ties well into other collaboration tools such as Teams should consider Exchange or Exchange Online. Smaller organizations may not need all the features.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
Gary Lamontagne | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange is a must have for medium to large businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Exchange across our entire organization. When looking for an email solution, we needed a product that would allow shared calendars and email. Microsoft Exchange does just that and does it well. We previously use a POP3 mail solution from our ISP that was tough to manage, and a nightmare to migrate.
  • Archiving
  • Spam detection
  • Sharing calendars
  • Sending and receiving email
  • SMS messaging capability would be nice
  • Easier tracking of email failures
  • quick chat between users would be nice
Microsoft Exchange is well suited for a company that needs to host their own email on-site and has the staff to properly administrate it. It is less appropriate in a small company without a dedicated IT person.
Read Gary Lamontagne's full review
Andrew DeLira | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2019

Great product for email.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use exchange for all of our internal email for all employees from c level to support as well as provide a hosted exchange environment to our hosting clients. that are available in 3 different tiers. The calendar, and contact list are vital as well as being able to use it on multiple devices it is a great service
  • Works on mobile devices.
  • Calendar syncing.
  • Contacts syncing.
  • Renders some HTML emails horribly.
  • Use fewer resources on a PC.
  • Search could be better in Outlook.
Microsoft Exchange has been a great product, however, when it comes to spam protection it's not the best. For larger companies with spam filtering, it would be perfect if everything works how it should all the syncing with mobile and multiple desktops as well as OWA web access it's just great.
Read Andrew DeLira's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Industry standard, what else is there to say?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Exchange is used across the entire organization. At this point, Exchange is an industry standard for email and calendars. Works well, is easy to use and used by many. With the hosted solution, even easier to use and get set up than ever before. A professional product at a good cost, that provides a solid tool.
  • Calendar invites
  • Availability and access. E365 is a way to go.
  • Ease of use, familiarity by the market.
  • Integration available with many web sharing and security products.
  • The complexity of the rules can be overly complex with little explanation.
  • Migrating from Exchange server to E365 could be better. Rules and permissions don't translate well.
  • Better encryption options, and use.
For any organization that wishes to use a solid tool, Exchange is the way to go. If you are set in using Exchange server, and have excessive permissions and rules, you may not be able to very smoothly migrate over to 365.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Julian Volpe | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange - No brainer for 100% uptime.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use O365 Exchange for email and calendars. We love the fact that it’s always current and the ease of use via portal. We don’t see too many issues with Exchange. Everything you need is located in one portal and the interface is really intuitive. I would highly recommend this solution to all my clients.
  • Ease of implementation
  • Ease of use
  • Intuitive portal
  • Always up to date
  • Support
  • Licensing
Exchange is suited for anyone who wants a simple to set up, robust platform.
Read Julian Volpe's full review
Rob Rotundo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

MS Exchange - Still top dog, or old dinosaur?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been in business for 21 years and have been using Microsoft Exchange basically the entire time. Whether it's us using it internally or supporting clients of Exchange, we've been involved. We've seen a move to more cloud-based email systems as of late, but we still have plenty of clients using it. It's a time tested email solution that just works.
  • Manages users well.
  • Overall reliability.
  • Exchange is reliant on a good infrastructure and server environment, so make sure you have that.
  • Powershell can be tough to manage.
If you want a good old fashioned email system that works and is reliable, Microsoft Exchange is that. If you're a larger business and need better control over your staff email, Exchange is best. If you're a small business with just a few users, there are better options that don't need maintenance and are cheaper.
Read Rob Rotundo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

A Great Product But It's Being Left Behind by the Cloud

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone in our organization has an email account with our on-premise Exchange setup. This is our primary system of communication internally and externally. We also utilize multiple public calendars to manage meeting and event times for our conference rooms. Most employees setup their email account on their mobile devices so they can stay up to date with the constantly changing schedule.
  • Almost everyone, whether in a small non-profit or fortune 500 company, is familiar with Microsoft products. Having an Exchange server that 'just works' with their Outlook desktop program and mobile devices is a huge time saver for any organization.
  • The calendar function is extremely useful. Shared and public calendars make it easy to schedule meetings and confirm availability. Being able to attach documents to calendar events is a plus as well.
  • The ECP GUI is admin friendly and allows our junior IT staff to assist with account creation and other basic tasks.
  • Better built-in spam filters/protection. It would be nice to not have to immediately purchase a spam filter appliance or pay several dollars per mailbox to cut down on spam. This may be a pipe dream since Microsoft is all but dragging people from on-premise to O365.
  • No way to disable ECP from being exposed to the outside. It would be nice, for security purposes, to be able to just have it accessible from the LAN.
  • CAL licensing can be a pain to manage and keep track of.
Any large organization with a dedicated IT staff can save money by having an on-premise Exchange server rather than paying a monthly fee per mailbox every month. Also, any organization that uses Outlook for the desktop email clients will enjoy the ease of setup and use. Non-Profits also have the benefit of reduced software licensing costs for Windows Server and Exchange Server but this is now a moot point with up 300 free mailboxes in O365 for qualifying non-profits. Any small startup that doesn't have the capital to invest in servers, licenses and other costs would not be well served by Exchange. Any organization, whether small or large, will need IT services, either an MSP or dedicated staff, to manage Exchange. If you do not have the staff then Exchange is not for you.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2019

Excellent email solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is an excellent email, calendar and contacts, meeting solution for PC, phone or web browser. Easy implementation and very user friendly for end users. Very good functionalities like unlimited archiving, the hold and redemption policy functionality or schedule emails to be sent in the future. Fit great for small or big business.
  • Very good notification
  • Email editing and sending
  • Email archiving
  • Contacts management
  • Planing and scheduler
  • Migration from one version to another is a bit complicated
  • Rules administration can be more easily to do
  • No other issues or problem was identified
Microsoft Exchange works very fast and it consumes low resources. Works great on PCs, web browser, phone and tablets in different OS: Microsoft, IOS, Android. Easy installation, inclusive configuration on mobile devices. The web browser solution is a great tool to access your email remotely, including on VPN. Message archiving is very useful. Easy import/export of messages on different devices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

Organise email work with Microsoft Exchange and be productive.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Exchange is a hosted email service which is being used by my whole organization. All the departments in my organization use this software as their default email program. It helps us to have our emails and contacts in one place. And it can be accessed by all our systems. Its organised services helps us to reduce our time managing our emails.
  • It can sync all emails, contacts and calendar very well.
  • Setting up accounts and configuring emails on this software is very easy.
  • It provides a mobile application also which helps users to access email while traveling.
  • Sometimes its email sorting happens with errors. Some of my important emails went to my Junk folder.
  • It is not well optimised with Mac OS. I had to uninstall it from my MacBook.
  • It doesn't work well with a slow internet connection.
This software is extremely good in organising emails. It makes it easy to find any email even from a long thread of emails. It is very well suited for the users who want to organise multiple email accounts at one place. This software is capable of handling multiple accounts with ease.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Looking for average or just ok? Go with an Exchange.

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's email. It doesn't get much easier to explain than that. The entire company has used it, but made a switch. Clients do use it and we have to support them when there are issues.
  • easy setup with Microsoft Outlook
  • easy setup on mobile devices
  • secure email solution
  • constant server timeouts
  • lack of true support - all support seems to be offshore
  • emails randomly go missing at times
If you are looking for a business email service then sure, use Exchange. But if you're looking for reliability, you may want to find another solution. It would be great for business, if it consistently worked. It seems that the service has gotten worse over the last year or so.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-malware (22)
6.2
Cusomizability (25)
7.4
Data Loss Protection (21)
7.8
Threat Detection (23)
6.6
Sandboxing (13)
5.4
End-to-End Encryption (19)
6.4
Management Tools (26)
8.0

About Microsoft Exchange

Microsoft Exchange is a secure email / messaging gateway with file archiving and encryption / data loss capability, available as a hosted service (Exchange Online) or installed (Exchange Server).

Microsoft Exchange Integrations

NovaBACKUP, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Microsoft Exchange Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No