InVision Reviews

134 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision has been a great tool for our company. It has allowed our UI/UX team to quickly translate designs for concepts to usable prototypes. Being able to build clickable designs that envision user experiences has helped us create beautiful interfaces for our users while easily collaborating within our team to collect feedback and improve upon every iteration of the created designs.
  • Allows seamless collaboration within a team on design.
  • Helps us build clickable prototypes of our designs.
  • Makes envisioning user experiences simple and uncomplicated.
  • The web application is quite heavy and tends to lag from time to time.
  • Same with the mobile app. It's not the quickest and easiest experience.
  • Navigating through several designs can be difficult and confusing at times.
InVision is great if you have a relatively small design team. It can get quite expensive with larger teams as there is a monthly plan with a limit on team members. However, the tool is definitely worth it. In addition to this, InVision has a great design blog that provides helpful tips to teams with any kind of expertise.
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision is used as a quick prototyping tool to demonstrate the user experience design to the development teams and help them understand. We usually create the InVision prototypes to also use as a part of usability testing with users on new features for the software. This helps us get early feedback on the design and correct them before spending too many resources on developing bad products. In terms of business value, it saves us a lot of money to use InVision over developing the entire application, then realizing that the design was not the most optimal. Its very simple interface allows anyone to use it with minimal learning.
  • Simple and to the point UI is easy to use.
  • Ability to use anywhere; mobile, web, apps etc.
  • Basic animation features could use some improvement to support advanced users.
  • Only one project allowed per account on the free tier.
Useful to demonstrate the flows and how the user interacts with an interface. Quickly design either wireframes or high fidelity designs and import them into InVision and share with others. It helps the entire team play with it and feel the experience rather than listening to a designer narrating the experience.
Their FAQ and business support teams are very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2019
Dmitry Pashkevich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Designers at Calendly use InVision to hand off feature designs to developers. User stories that are defined and ready for implementation typically include InVision links. They also use InVision to share early prototypes/sketches with product leadership.
  • Simplicity. As a developer, I only use InVision to reference the mocks that the designer/UX person created. InVision lets me easily accomplish that.
  • Inspect mode is very useful for developers: instead of just looking at a static image, I can inspect individual elements to see their dimensions and styles like font size and color.
  • Sometimes I can't inspect the right element because some other transparent element is blocking it. Invision should handle this better and allow me to ignore certain elements or cycle through different elements at the mouse cursor.
  • No support for reusable styles (e.g. color variables).
  • No support for building an entire library of reusable components that all designers would then use. This results in frequent discrepancies between what's in the mocks and common styles of UI components (e.g. buttons, dialogs) in the actual product.
  • The Jira plugin is slow, allows only 1 attachment per issue, and is cumbersome to use (you need to generate a special share link to embed an Invision mock). So we just put the old-fashioned links in the issue description.
InVision seems to be an industry standard and works reasonably well. It's at least worth evaluating during your research for that reason. I haven't searched the landscape, but there are plenty of ways the interaction between designers and developers can be improved, and InVision doesn't seem to be taking advantage of them. I'd love to see if there's a better tool out there.
I never had to contact InVision's support.
Read Dmitry Pashkevich's full review
September 07, 2019
Wilbert Kramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The web software is mainly used by our Digital Media department, which is part of the larger IT organization. We operate globally and use InVision to make clickable prototypes of our app concepts. It allows us to operate efficiently and create testable prototypes fast, thus saving us a lot of time compared to not having this tool. All in all, we are very positive about having this!
  • Clickable prototypes with multiple screens.
  • Easy upload, due to the integration with software like Sketch.
  • Easy-to-animate prototypes, with highly customizable options.
  • Easy to access basic CSS code from graphic elements, making it easy to communicate to developers.
  • Better integration between their different products. I don't know how to distinguish them based on the names.
  • Better integration with Microsoft Teams (they have Freehand, but that's it). Option to share a prototype directly on teams.
  • Options for testing InVision better. Currently, the limit is 1 prototype per free account.
One of the best tools around for prototyping for non-technical users. Designers love InVision, especially those who design for screens. A responsive (web) app or website can be easily demoed by a graphic designer in InVision. It makes it possible to gather feedback quickly from managers and improve on that after that.
I didn't need to contact InVision support, as I've never needed it. They have an intuitive UI, and most of the questions are answered in their help portal or in tutorials online. Since many people use it, there a great resources available on for example YouTube. No problems so far with InVision.
Read Wilbert Kramer's full review
November 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision is being used by my organization as a prototype platform. Designers use it to create prototypes that can be utilized for client review and approval. These prototypes are also used for demos and user experience feedback.

InVision prototypes allow for quick creation of very impressive, rich, and editable prototypes that increase agile development and project efficiency. This in turn, allows my team to iterate quickly, elevate quality, and ship fast.
  • Clickable prototype.
  • Facilitate reviews and consolidate feedback.
  • Test user feedback.
  • It could be easier to generate feedback reports.
InVision is well suited for creating clickable prototypes. It is very easy to wire up and add complexity to the prototype. These prototypes can be used for review and approvals, user experience testing and validation designs.

InVision allows you to collaborate, experiment, and test much more effectively and efficiently. When updates need to be made, it is quick and seamless.
I have not used support for InVision.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our creative team is using InVision as a prototyping tool to demonstrate website design concepts and layout to clients for web development projects. We can simulate some of the interactivity with the designs, as well as easily share the create with clients over a link. It is also helpful to capture important notes from the design/UX team for the development team. Prior to InVision, we shared PDFs with clients which were flat, and didn't always load properly. InVision is helping us better showcase our conceptual designs and give clients a feel for what to expect with their new website.
  • Showcase web design page layouts in an efficient way.
  • Simulate hover states, click states, drop down menus, and other interactive elements.
  • Easily capture design feedback from clients.
  • I wish it had even more ability to simulate interactivity. What is there is nice, but still doesn't faithfully prototype the website.
  • It can be a bit cumbersome to set up connected pages and interactive states.
  • Pushy sales team that is always trying to get you to upgrade your plan even when you don't want/need to.
If you need a helpful way to share web designs with clients, as well as internal stakeholders and are looking to capture feedback, InVision is a great tool for that. It also has more advanced features to go deeper with animations as well. The platform can definitely scale as your needs change and you don't have to use all of the features to get your value from the expense.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2019
Wojciech Szafalowicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision is my favorite tool for building software prototypes, designs, and sharing them within and across organizations. I can easily and quickly access all my projects, those created by myself as well as those shared by my peers. There is no need for registration, although you might limit access to your projects to invited, registered users only. It is very handy when you are working under NDA agreements. The app is also mobile friendly and will work on most mobile phones and tablets. There are some small cons as well. I would hope to find dynamic transitions between screens (like Balsamiq mockups can do), but this is a graphics/design tool, so you can't really have everything. I would still highly recommend using InVision if you are a designer, UI/UX specialist or project manager/product owner!
  • Easily sharing designs and mockups.
  • Creating folders and separate projects for easy handling of multiple projects.
  • Great interface and ease of use.
  • Lack of dynamic transitions between screens (ie. "mocked buttons").
Useful for creating a design and sharing them with peers, creating several different projects with sets of designs, and quickly accessing your projects archive. Less useful for showing the functionality of several screens with heavy connection and particular actions needed to transition from one to another.
Read Wojciech Szafalowicz's full review
July 18, 2019
Prashant Mahajan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Invision is currently being used for various use cases in our team.
Top one being prototype, it helps to share a prototype with potential stakeholders and get feedback.
It also helps in sharing design specs with developers, which reduces to and fro between developers and designers and thus increasing productivity.
  • Really good for prototyping.
  • Superb collaboration between teams.
  • Integration with Sketch is very useful.
  • Inspect product is another great resource.
  • The craft plugin for Sketch helps in speeding up design process.
  • I guess with so many features I think team management needs improvement.
  • Notifications and updates are not well executed.
  • Pricing, I think bit expensive for starters.
It is very well suited for design sharing, prototyping, feedback collection, design spec sharing.
Read Prashant Mahajan's full review
March 14, 2019
Albert Ellenich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The UX department uses InVision to share every wireframe and visual comp we create. InVision allows all stakeholders and technologists to review work in progress and conduct reviews of work with a commenting feature. Design and UX use sync connections from Slack and Adobe Photoshop to seamlessly post comps to InVision and quickly sync changes on the fly.
  • InVision works well with Sketch for the syncing of comps with a few clicks. This saves a lot of time in having to export JPGs and manually upload to InVision projects.
  • InVision's commenting system makes it very easy for stakeholders to comment with markers directly on objects related to their comment. By tagging users in the comment, the users then get an email with a small screen capture of the doc and the commenter's comment. This makes it really simple for discussions to be tracked.
  • It's a simple thing, but the ability to use the keyboard arrows to navigate back and forth through page views in InVision is very handy when presenting.
  • The technology running InVision doesn't allow you to be signed in and open multiple documents at once. If you're in a project and want to present 2 different pages in the project, opening them in different browser tabs ultimate causes the InVision interface to crash, etc.
  • It might have been thought of as a benefit, but I find that the ability to rename a screen once uploaded to InVision is confusing. Creators will have a naming convention for their files, and changing a files name in InVision for display makes it challenging to find the creator's original file by the name they used.
  • Sharing a document with others not part of your organization is a clunky experience requiring the creation of a shareable link. There are a few options, and it's not always clear to people how they should generate the share. And then it's not clear to the person being shared with how to interact with InVision.
InVision is a terrific tool for syncing design work to a central location where other colleagues in your organization can view it. The commenting system works very well at allowing people to comment directly on a page and for recipients of those comments to easily see and respond to a comment.

InVision allows for a simple prototype creation, but I find it easier and more robust using other tools. The InVision features are limited for prototype work, but it excels in sharing docs for feedback.
Read Albert Ellenich's full review
May 18, 2019
Mitchell Clements | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision is used by our UX team in order to stitch together prototypes. Often we create mockups and wireframes in Sketch, import them into InVision, add hotspots and scroll zones to the screens, and link the screens together in a clickable prototype that can then be shared with customers externally, or our developers internally.
  • InVision is great for putting together prototypes because it's fast and simple.
  • InVision is great for giving specs to your developers that they can inspect because it gives them the information they need to build it.
  • Large InVision prototypes can often be slow on mobile phones because they have to download so many screens.
  • InVision prototypes are pretty limited in terms of functionality.
InVision is great for app flows and simple screens stitched together. It's also great when you have pixel-perfect mockups for your developers to inspect. Where InVision struggles is in making advanced prototypes with custom animations, interactions, and dynamic content. In addition, InVision prototypes don't allow you to use keyboard input from a user, making it difficult to truly test usability with forms and other input-heavy applications.
Read Mitchell Clements's full review
February 04, 2019
Brad Henderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use InVision as a clickable prototyping software for helping developers understand the flow and implementation of designs from our designer. It helps bridge the gap in communication between designers and developers and free up both of their time to focus on what they're good at instead of constantly going back and forth on small details of how to implement the designs.
  • The ability to leave comments on specific parts of the screen to add details or feedback for the developers. This removes the pain of trying to explain which screen/part of the screen you're referring to.
  • InVision makes it extremely easy to create a clickable prototype and test the flow of your software.
  • The design and user experience of InVision makes it very pleasant and extremely easy to use.
  • InVision doesn't integrate with Illustrator to automatically upload new updates to designs. You have to go back in and re-upload the file which means also changing the flow of the clickable hot spots. But it does have that capability for Sketch and Photoshop.
  • Because it's integrating with other platforms, it isn't as seamless of an experience as Adobe XD is at building and may be difficult to compete with Adobe over the long term because they have such a stronghold in the creative space.
  • Other than that it has worked very well for us!
As mentioned above, InVision is great for those who are using it to work in Sketch, providing solid integrations that make the process more seamless. However, it doesn't have any integration for Illustrator, making it a more difficult and a very laborious process to update designs. For heavy Adobe users I believe XD will be a better product in the future, but for Sketch users, I believe InVision is a great product.
Read Brad Henderson's full review
July 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our design team uses InVision primarily to create sharable prototypes for feedback. We do this by first creating wireframes in Sketch, Balsamiq, or Figma, then importing them into InVision. Then we add clickable “hotspots” to facilitate the drafted portrayal of a complete user journey when each frame is linked together to create a full clickable prototype. We primarily share these designs with internal stakeholders, such as with folks on the Revenue, Content Development, and Software Dev teams, for feedback, but we sometimes elicit external feedback on InVision prototypes. We have other tools for this purpose, but InVision is the one that we have used the longest and used most widely across our team.
  • InVision is an easy-to-use tool for quickly putting together and editing prototypes in order to test and iterate upon user workflows.
  • InVision's interface is modern and clear, making the user experience very pleasant and straightforward.
  • InVision’s commenting and tracking features make it incredibly easy to communicate about specific parts of designs with stakeholders, as well as to follow those conversations. All of the feedback can be captured in one place, which is really helpful in revising designs.
  • Designs can be very slow to load on mobile devices, particularly when they include many screens.
  • There isn’t an offline version of the full app, which feels less-than-ideal for many of our teammates who live in areas with more spotty internet.
  • There are limited functionalities to portray animations and transitions. This hasn’t been a huge issue, but it makes the app feel a little out of date, considering the range of such functionalities in other apps.
InVision is well-suited for many design scenarios where someone needs to portray a realistic user workflow through a clickable prototype using a solid, reliable, web-based platform. It’s an excellent tool to use for collaboration with stakeholders, as it includes commenting and tagging features that enable targeted conversations to occur. It is less useful in situations where it is necessary to include many types of animations and transitions in the prototype (limited functionality here), when there is a limited budget (it is rather pricey), and when you want to use one tool for creating mockups and prototypes (you must upload your own designs to the app from another app, then prototype).
Read this authenticated review
July 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision is used across the whole organization for UX purposes. All the prototypes for online apps, mobile apps etc are all first created in Sketch and then exported to InVision. It is a great collaboration tool, where our clients, developers and us - designers can mark out thoughts at any point of the project and respond and share their opinions. I love that I can hand off the prototype to developers and they can go into inspect mode and get a greta level of detail: pixel, percent dimensions, colors, font, sizes etc.
  • Very easy to export Sketch files (where prototypes are actually created) into Invision and preserve the interactivity.
  • Additional interactivity can be added in InVision. Like scrolling with locked footer.
  • Clients, designer and developers can collaborate - leave notes and respond to notes made by others.
  • InVision's biggest problem for me right now is that if the change I make in Sketch is minor - it does not get picked up when I update my prototype in InVision. So I have to add large bright noticeable objects - then update the prototype then remove those objects and update the prototype again. It is a very time-consuming work around.
InVision freehand is a great tool for brainstorming. It is great for collaboration in general. For example: I give permission to a number of people to access the prototype - they can then access it when it is convenient for them. When they make a comment - I get notified so nothings gets missed.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use InVision to design and share our initial design for the application so that we get a sketch which is very close to the final version. It helps to get feedback without coding.
  • Simple interface and easy to work with.
  • Easy to collaborate
  • Versioning is a key feature.
  • Drag and drop feature speeds up things.
  • No responsive design output.
  • Initial loading should be better, it's slow.
  • Nothing much.
Fast prototyping, easy to share and collaborate so that we eliminate big changes when we move into the development stage. Since the design can be made clickable we can show a process flow.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2018
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small team but we work in different locations and different times. Invision is the place where our designer uploads his assets. He also uses it demonstrate screen transitions. We then have a back and forth communication on the UI and UX to see that it meets our business goals which are usually aimed at making the end user happy.
  • The "Inspect" feature is terrific. The designer doesn't need to come up with css mapping guide. It's automatic!
  • Commenting on top of the assets is super easy and looks good.
  • Working on prototypes saves a lot of development time.
  • You need to upload complete assets as a page. You can't drag and drop elements to create screens.
  • InVision is focused on designers. That's good, but some focus on non designers (developers, product) would be nice.
If your have designers working with product or do the product from the start of each feature InVision is great for you.
If your product does a lot of work prior to the designer coming in Proto.io would be a better solution.
InVision is great for communications so it's great for big teams. Even more when working on different times and locations. Products that don't have many pages and interactions don't have much to benefit for InVision.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
December 03, 2018
Pedram Mizani, MD, MHSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to share new web development, design and prototyping.
  • InVision is a solid platform.
  • I was introduced to it by some of my European web developers, and quickly fell in love with it.
  • It also has a great mobile app, and the entire app is quite user friendly. Definitely recommend it.
  • I think its solid! Not sure how else they could improve!
Web development and prototyping. You can easily make comments on each page, and share requested updates with developers.
Read Pedram Mizani, MD, MHSA's full review
May 29, 2018
Elizabeth Coppinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My digital agency's design team uses Invision to present designs to clients. The development team occasionally uses "Invision Inspect" to build templates. In the past, we presented designs to clients in one of two ways:

  1. A physical print out
  2. A PDF sent over email
Both of these methods are terrible ways to present a design to a client. The physical print out is obviously awful because it is presenting a responsive, digital design as something static. Digital designs should never be shown on paper. PDFs are problematic because even if a client views the PDF in a "natural" digital environment (i.e. their laptop or desktop computer), they're still looking at a static design. We have no control over the sizing or the grid.

Using Invision allows us to have more control over the client's viewing experience. It allows us to present our digital designs on a digital medium.
  • Comments: Invision allows your clients to make comments on a design template. Gone are the days of trying to decipher a client's red-sharpie markup on a printed design. Invision comments are neat and organized, and closely tied to on-page elements. Read comments individually or answer several at once in the "comments" pane. Clients receive responses to their comments via email.
  • Invision Inspect: Invision Inspect is amazing. If you are synching designs to Invision using the Craft or Sketch integrations (which I recommend), all of the CSS and HTML code will be auto-generated by Invision Inspect. Developers can use the Inspect pane to accelerate development
  • Hotspots: With invision, you can create "hotspots" on your design, allowing you to create a very realistic-feeling experience for your clients. Select a button as a hotspot to link it to another page of your design. You can also assign hot spots to anchor link to another position on the existing page. The end result is immersive and allows the client to better understand the relationship between pages of your design. It offers functionality to an otherwise static thing.
  • Mobile: Invision displays mobile mocks inside of a mobile phone template. This adds to the realism and creates a more professional, polished look. You can also lock the header nav or footer on mobile devices to simulate "sticky" elements, which again, really adds a realistic quality.
  • Integrations: Automatically synch your designs directly from Sketch to Invision using the Craft plugin. This is fantastic because it allows your clients to view changes, practically in real-time, without requiring you to login to multiple platforms to make updates
  • Drains resources: Invision is HEAVY. I can't pull up more than one Invision tab on my laptop or else it will start to crawl. It drains my computer's resources.
  • Ordering screens: While the auto-synch from Craft and/or Sketch is amazing, it's not as good as it could be. I am working on a 200+ screen project with a client. Every time my designer synchs using the Craft plugin, I need to search through Invision to see where it dropped the new or updated screens. It is seemingly random, and very hard to keep track of. I need to audit the organization of screens weekly to make sure everything is where it should be. This is extremely hard to do on a small laptop with a touchpad, since it relies on a drag-and-drop interface, but it's no problem with a mouse.
  • Email overload: The default notification settings will send you an email each time someone leaves a comment on a mock. This is a nightmare for my zen at work - be sure to change the setting to receive a daily or weekly digest instead
  • Responsiveness: Invision hasn't really cracked the secret of displaying responsive designs through a static medium. We typically create desktop and mobile mocks for our website projects. You can't load mocks with different canvas sizes to the same project - they must be uploaded to two separate projects. This is a pain to manage. Ideally, I'd love to be able to resize my screen and show my client how the design "jumps" from desktop to mobile at a particular breakpoint. This is not possible.
  • Intuitiveness: There are some parts of Invision that are incredibly intuitive, and some that aren't. Maybe this is just me, but it took me a year to realizze you could shift+click to select multiple screens for the purposes of re-ordering. There are a few things like that that just didn't feel "natural" to me.
I don't think there are any other tools out there that are as successful as Invision when it comes to presenting designs to clients. I think this tool is a must for any organization that frequently presents digital designs to clients. It's simply not tenable to present a digital design on a printed medium. Invision can be a little pricey, so if you produce less than 5 projects per year it may not be necessary, but any more than that I would say it's a must.
Read Elizabeth Coppinger's full review
April 02, 2018
Trent Sherrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At CareerBuilder, we use Invision to build and share prototypes between the UX department and dev and product. Within Invision, stakeholders are able to make comments and track how work is progressing. The new freehand tool allows us to do real-time "whiteboard" sketching as well. This has increased our ability to work as a distributed team across several physical locations.
  • Ease of prototype building. It is great to be able to quickly show stakeholders how a series of screens function together rather than relying solely on flat images.
  • Shared links and comments. Invision allows team members and stakeholders to collaborate no matter the location or time zone.
  • Freehand sketching is a powerful tool that allows real-time collaboration across multiple locations.
  • Invision is great for linear prototyping. When it comes to more complicated needs, Invision becomes less valuable.
  • Invision's pricing model can become expensive quickly - beware of having too many reviewers.
InVision has been a great tool for producing and sharing quick, linear, prototypes. It has allowed us to collaborate in a productive manner across multiple locations and time zones. Built-in commenting and redlining has caused devs and product owners to insist on being able to access work within InVision. When prototyping needs become more complicated and usability testing more accurate - we have had to move to different tools.
Read Trent Sherrell's full review
September 06, 2017
Kirk Brote | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision is used across all of our design teams: marketing, innovation, and product experience, to rapidly prototype functionality for users or to be used as an example of what a specific customer need or solution experience would be. It is very easy to use and ramp up new designers on, unlike other far more complex prototyping tools.
  • Standard prototyping using images and hot spots to control interactions.
  • The ability to add .gif elements to prototype micro-interactions.
  • The ability to organize workflow and review steps across teams.
  • The ability to use inspect to communicate with developers instead of creating hundreds of 'red-line' images to explain spacing, etc...
  • There is no ability to add dynamic data, from a json or other data file.
  • Large prototypes can get somewhat flaky with hot spots not rendering or not functioning.
  • There is no ability to add dynamic navigation to user paths.
InVision excels on simple prototypes. Basic functionality, mobile or web, is easy to mock up and easy for users to interact with. The projects are easy to share and distribute, even for offline usage. For simple through complex end user testing or validation of functionality InVision is an excellent fit for the task.
Read Kirk Brote's full review
June 19, 2017
Stephanie Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone on my team (of UI designers) used InVision to create high-fidelity working prototypes, as well as many of those who are working in the UX department. It's the easiest and best way we have found to present to our clients how their finished product or products will look once going live. It also solves the problem of making edits when you are working with remote employees. Since InVision has the ability to leave comments, we know longer have to sift through emails about different changes to make, everything is done smoothly and in once place.
  • Version control is very simple to use and well laid out, and you don't need multiple files.
  • You can show your clients how their product will look on a variety of different devices, such as mobile.
  • Besides just moving between pages, there are options for things like a fixed navbar and linking to hotspots within the current page.
  • You can automatically upload screens from both Photoshop and Sketch.
  • There could be a few more options for interactions, such as image carousels, link/image hovering, and page transitions.
  • It would be nice to be able to upload from Illustrator, or other Adobe software.
InVision is great for communicating UX/UI design ideas to team members and especially to clients. It's really great working remotely; my UI team was able to show a clickable prototype to a client who was on vacation in another state using InVision.
Read Stephanie Martin's full review
February 15, 2017
David Fein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision is being used by the product team to help build interactive prototyping for certain design flows. We also hope to use it going forward for user testing to get feedback on potential designs. It helps to address problems faced when presenting complex design flows and interactions that otherwise would be difficult to understand with just static pages.
  • InVision integrates with a lot of tools like Sketch where you can just drop the file in and have screens to work with.
  • InVision has lots of customization so you can set up flows for different devices.
  • It's relatively easy to use.
  • The hotspot templates are a bit hit or miss - sometimes the spot will be linked across all my pages while other times it will appear in bizarre areas of the page - I tend to have to manually make custom hotspots instead.
  • Some of the advanced prototyping features are a bit overwhelming to use, like adding forms, it would be nice to have some tutorials on those.
It's well suited to create clickable prototypes using design files you've already made. It's not well suited to make new designs. It's also good for sharing out the prototype using a link, but not necessarily a standalone fix for gathering feedback from users and internal stakeholders.
Read David Fein's full review
May 12, 2016
Prateek Gaurav | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a freelance web developer on upwork and Freelancer. I use this prototyping tool all the time before starting to code, just to give the exact idea of the website, and what it is going to look like after it’s done. And InVision is a great tool for that, it helps me give the exact prototype I wish to my client which helps me a lot. There is no need to change the codes again if the client does not like their website. I started using this prototyping tool about 1 year ago and it helped me a lot. The biggest and the most annoying problem was, the client was happy with the psd but not very happy with the website. There used to be many changes done after completing the website, and that problem has been reduced by 95% for me, since I started using InVision. I love this tool.
  • I love the comment option in InVision. It's an awesome thing for a freelancer developer. I just make the prototype, send it to the client, mostly he loves it. If there is anything he wants me to change, he puts a comment on that particular area on the page. So you have 30 pages, the client puts the comment on changes required area and you change them accordingly. It might seem basic but it's really useful.
  • The History Mode is an awesome thing in InVision. It's like git to me, it keeps a track of all the previous changes I made and all the comments which were added. It helps me check if I have fulfilled all the comments and changes asked by the client.
  • And Live Share is the best thing - it helps the client get the exact idea of what the website is gonna look like once it is completed.
  • It's not free. I mean you can only work on one project with a free account and of course you don't just have one project to work on.
  • It takes some time to get a hang of the tool. I mean you really need to understand the tool; it took me like 2-3 hours to understand most of the basic features, but keep experimenting, that's life.
Well suited for: Almost everything. You need a prototype for the mobile app.
Less appropriate for: I don't really find anything for which InVision is not appropriate.
Read Prateek Gaurav's full review
January 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InVision is being used in our website design process to view prototypes and wireframes. It's an excellent tool to really give an indepth feel that allows for excellent feedback and a much better streamlined process in our projects. A streamlined process means less workload, and the clients absolutely love being able to see the prototypes and wireframes with interactions which really brings it to life for them and makes the design portion of our projects ten times better.
  • Excellent use for working with teams, especially long distance teams.
  • Access levels allowing you to emulate how a website would behave.
  • Mood boards, I love this feature as a designer.
  • Clickable interactive prototypes really gives the client a much better feel for how it will work.
  • Can be a bit slow, especially when upload PSD files...but I wonder how much of that is due to internet speed...
  • A bit of a learning curve when first learning to use it...would like to see a bit more simplified interface to make it more intuitive.
  • You can't switch from screen to screen in the prototype mode, this really should be a priority feature.
Web Design and Development teams, Application Designers and Developers, Freelance Web Designers and Developers, Mobile Application Designers and Developers can all benefit from using InVision. It really does make for a streamlined and easier process to share, provide/receive feedback on the design process. You can bring mockups to life for your clients, allow for extensive feedback and testing and so much more.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2016
Serge Andreyev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We (UX Design department (7 people)) @ Penton http://www.penton.com/ use invision to present our work to various brands under the Penton umbrella.

It allows us to work with remote teams around the world. It allows us to present clickable prototypes. It helps work through user flow and interactions.
  • Allowing to build an interactive (clickable prototype) is an extremely valuable resource when building a digital product. We can fine tune all interactions and behaviors prior to going into development process. Invision prototype is also valuable while explaining behaviors to the development team.
  • Commenting is also useful if a product team desires to leave feedback. Comments are all in a centralized place and not scattered among many emails.
  • One thing that I have struggled with is making an element react to both roll over and click. I have to select two areas over and near an element to highlight both actions. If invision team can find a solution for that, it would be valuable
  • A bit more animations for transitions between pages could be helpful. Slow fade for example.
  • It would be nice if invision could accommodate presentations for responsive websites. At the moment you select the device for your comps and build a presentation for specific device. If you are presenting a responsive website you need to jump between projects and it is not always convenient.
InVision is excellent for presentation of your work to clients. It is very good for walking a team of developers through interactions and behaviors as well as user-flows. It is not very convenient if you need to present or walk someone through designs for a responsive website. You need to jump through different projects in invision and it is not at all convenient.
Read Serge Andreyev's full review
June 21, 2016
Steve Surya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Invision is used by our design team. Our design team design graphical layout of the website. We share the designs via Invision with our clients. Invision helps sharing the designs and also allow customers to make comments on the designs.
So as of now it is mainly being used by our design team only.
  • Invision helps to share the designs with our customers. It's easy to share and discuss with others via Invision.
  • Invision allows users to make comments on the designs. Customers make comments as needed.
  • Uploading graphics on Invision are very easy. We can easily add new designs to Invision.
  • I would like Invision to have features to add wire-frame designs. I use another tool as of n ow for Wire-framing but If Invision can provide controls for wire-framing, it would be great.
  • If Invision can also provides a few options to make minor graphic change within Invision app, it would be great as well.
It is best to show design mock-ups to customers when designing the website. It has helped our team a lot with creating the designs. It also helps to share our design portfolio to other prospects.
Invision also helps by allowing comments from customers. It helps us get feedback on our designs from customers and we improve designs accordingly.
Read Steve Surya's full review

What is InVision?

InVision is a Digital Product Design and Development platform used to make customer experiences. The vendor provides design tools and educational resources for teams to navigate every stage of the product design process, from ideation to development. They state that today, more than 7 million people use InVision to create a repeatable and streamlined design workflow; rapidly design and prototype products before writing code, and collaborate across their entire organization. That includes 100 percent of the Fortune 100, and organizations like Airbnb, Amazon, HBO, Netflix, Nike, Slack, Starbucks and Uber, who with it, they state are now able to design better products, faster. A free trial is available at invisionapp.com, to test streamlining a digital product workflow.

InVision Screenshots

InVision Competitors

InVision Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0
Pro$7.75per user/per month
EnterpriseContact Sales

InVision Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No