TrustRadius
Sketch is a visual design tool of use for application prototyping, coming with a wide variety of extensions, plugins, and an active user community.Pixel perfect made easy with SketchAs a member of our product definition and user experience team, we have many tools to design the user interface of our product and Sketch is typically used for nearly all of our design and layout. The product is primarily used by our team to mock up pixel-perfect ideas, click-throughs and communicating workflow to our development team. Sketch is also coupled with a few other tools/plugins that allow us to make click-through user tests and some content control, allowing us to share ideas in a native way with our developers. Although this is used exclusively in our UX team, we try to include many of our teams in the process of UX and design so we have developers and quality engineers that are also using templates and asset sheets so they can simply layout and share ideas quickly.,Sketch has a nice plugin and partner set of applications so you can extend the use through partnerships they have built. These plugins can also speed up layouts as well as templates that can be reused quickly. Sketch has a great layout, support of an eye friendly dark mode and has great organization of assets. You can quickly create pages, groups and control all aspects of the visual effects of each and every level. Drawing tools are wonderful and they have all the expected graphics based drawing and boolean options necessary for building layouts, icons and effects.,Although they have gotten much better, the stability of large sketch files was a bit flaky. I would like to see some online services provided natively to Sketch for things like version control (instead of using Abstract),9,Being able to use one tool reduced the number of products we needed to license for product design. Although we often just share images to get our ideas across, the ability for asset design (icons) was easy to streamline our icon creation, review and publish process due to templates and a common file format.,Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe Photoshop and Balsamiq,Jenkins, Craft, AtomSketch is one of the best design tools in the marketSketch was being used only by the design team. We were using it to iterate on existing products, defining flows and creating new ideas, concepts and wireframes.,Creation of wireframes High fidelity prototypes (not including animation) User interface design,Doesn't have a collaborative way of working Slow on updates Bad interaction with the community,6,Modern tool comparing to the way designers were working before, making it possible to work easily with design system. Easy hand-off to development.,Adobe Photoshop and Adobe XD,No,4,Yes,I never had a superb support. Only on the first year of the company where one of the founders answered my question and gave me a small discount to buy the new version.Best application for UX ProfessionalsAs a designer in a company of Windows users, Sketch unfortunately isn't used as wide-spread as it could be because it's a Mac-only application. However for me it handles a number of uses in doing user interface design and user experience. To name a few uses: Symbol Library allows for reuse of UI elementsPrototyping brings ideas to lifeClean interface brings efficiency to the design process,Prototyping. Create interactive designs, publish and share for feedback Design Library. Create a library of commonly used design elements from type to icons Continually Updated. There's always something new happening with Sketch, it's updated frequently with new and better tools Tools. Sketch allows for third-party app development so that the community can make tools that work with Sketch,Photo-editing is minimal Work flow symbols would be nice for building flow charts Prebuilt templates would be cool,10,Save lots of time! Allows for creative thinking Encourages growth in UX profession,Adobe Photoshop,Evernote, draw.io, SlackIf you don't have Sketch yet, get itWe use Sketch as our primary design software. While Adobe products are still in use, we rely heavily on Sketch for product designs and marketing collateral of every variety. We love the integrations Sketch offers, especially to Zeplin, as well as plugins like Magic Mirror. Sketch has become a staple in our tech stack.,Plugins are extensive and robust. High fidelity wireframes are a breeze. The interface makes it easy for advanced designers, as well as less experienced ones, to thrive.,Collaborative design. Prototyping is pretty basic. Large file handling.,10,Highly cost-effective, especially compared to Adobe licenses. Simple to learn, both for experienced designers and those new to the game. Robust enough for everything we've thrown at it—and that's a lot.,Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Advertising Cloud,Zoom Video Webinar, Box, MS SharePoint, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), HubSpot, HubSpot CRM, HubSpot Sales, IntercomThe king of the mountain - for now.We use Sketch to mock up design collateral. Mostly responsive landing pages, but we've used it for simple app screens and prototypes as well. We can send review links of the designs internally or externally or upload the screens with InVision for prototyping and feedback/approval. As a vector tool, there's a lot we can do with it for our digital collateral.,High-fidelity mockups - web and apps. Simple prototyping to mimic user flows. Ease of use - allows for quick wireframes to hammer out ideas (even during the meeting). Fantastic use of symbols.,The interface needs a complete overhaul. It's not bad, just dated and it's getting lapped by other similar tools. As it relies heavily on plugins, functionality can be broken with app updates or OS updates. The prototyping feature is basic now. Needs to add more features to keep up with the competition.,8,Easy learning curve so we could jump right in and design. You own the software. Purchase entitles you to one year of upgrades, but the software will still work fine after that (not dependent on a subscription). Exhaustive extendibility via plugins. Chances are, you will find what you need for even the most nuanced workflow enhancement.,Adobe XD, InVision, Axure RP and Marvel,inMotion, Adobe Illustrator CC, InVision
Unspecified
Sketch
27 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Sketch Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Sketch
27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 27 vetted Sketch reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Lou Gallo profile photo
December 19, 2018

User Review: "Pixel perfect made easy with Sketch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a member of our product definition and user experience team, we have many tools to design the user interface of our product and Sketch is typically used for nearly all of our design and layout. The product is primarily used by our team to mock up pixel-perfect ideas, click-throughs and communicating workflow to our development team. Sketch is also coupled with a few other tools/plugins that allow us to make click-through user tests and some content control, allowing us to share ideas in a native way with our developers. Although this is used exclusively in our UX team, we try to include many of our teams in the process of UX and design so we have developers and quality engineers that are also using templates and asset sheets so they can simply layout and share ideas quickly.
  • Sketch has a nice plugin and partner set of applications so you can extend the use through partnerships they have built. These plugins can also speed up layouts as well as templates that can be reused quickly.
  • Sketch has a great layout, support of an eye friendly dark mode and has great organization of assets. You can quickly create pages, groups and control all aspects of the visual effects of each and every level.
  • Drawing tools are wonderful and they have all the expected graphics based drawing and boolean options necessary for building layouts, icons and effects.
  • Although they have gotten much better, the stability of large sketch files was a bit flaky.
  • I would like to see some online services provided natively to Sketch for things like version control (instead of using Abstract)
I think Sketch is a great tool for design for those that may not want to be tied to the workflow of an Adobe suite and have to switch and swap out tools for a variety of needs. If you are not trying to do photo editing or have to do some blending to photos, but are trying to do pixel-perfect layouts with custom icons, shadowing and other effects, Sketch is a great tool. Personally, I have used Adobe's tools but was never an expert in them. Sketch is a quick study and you can build amazing design assets that are easy to share and output. If you build exports of image files for a variety of formats to support many platforms like web, mobile, website etc. that is easy to automate.
Read Lou Gallo's full review
Fábio Zuppone Chavasco profile photo
December 13, 2018

Review: "Sketch is one of the best design tools in the market"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sketch was being used only by the design team. We were using it to iterate on existing products, defining flows and creating new ideas, concepts and wireframes.
  • Creation of wireframes
  • High fidelity prototypes (not including animation)
  • User interface design
  • Doesn't have a collaborative way of working
  • Slow on updates
  • Bad interaction with the community
It's good for designers who work alone on that specific design. The way you can create components design is incredible. The community is huge, so you can find any kind of resources or plugins for Sketch.
Read Fábio Zuppone Chavasco's full review
No photo available
December 03, 2018

Sketch Review: "Best application for UX Professionals"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a designer in a company of Windows users, Sketch unfortunately isn't used as wide-spread as it could be because it's a Mac-only application. However for me it handles a number of uses in doing user interface design and user experience. To name a few uses:
  • Symbol Library allows for reuse of UI elements
  • Prototyping brings ideas to life
  • Clean interface brings efficiency to the design process
  • Prototyping. Create interactive designs, publish and share for feedback
  • Design Library. Create a library of commonly used design elements from type to icons
  • Continually Updated. There's always something new happening with Sketch, it's updated frequently with new and better tools
  • Tools. Sketch allows for third-party app development so that the community can make tools that work with Sketch
  • Photo-editing is minimal
  • Work flow symbols would be nice for building flow charts
  • Prebuilt templates would be cool
Sketch is well-suited for any user experience situation. Whether you're creating a robust, high-fidelity application or a minimal, low-fidelity concept, Sketch has you covered. For instance, say that you have an idea of how a user should interact with an application. Quickly design that experience and the steps it takes to finish the process.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 09, 2019

User Review: "If you don't have Sketch yet, get it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sketch as our primary design software. While Adobe products are still in use, we rely heavily on Sketch for product designs and marketing collateral of every variety. We love the integrations Sketch offers, especially to Zeplin, as well as plugins like Magic Mirror. Sketch has become a staple in our tech stack.
  • Plugins are extensive and robust.
  • High fidelity wireframes are a breeze.
  • The interface makes it easy for advanced designers, as well as less experienced ones, to thrive.
  • Collaborative design.
  • Prototyping is pretty basic.
  • Large file handling.
Sketch is a must-have for product teams, as well as a really useful tool for marketing teams. We use it to do everything from product design to social graphics. It's a simple, yet robust platform and it's only $99 a year for the license. At that cost, it's one of the very best investments we've made for our team.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 14, 2019

Sketch Review: "The king of the mountain - for now."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sketch to mock up design collateral. Mostly responsive landing pages, but we've used it for simple app screens and prototypes as well. We can send review links of the designs internally or externally or upload the screens with InVision for prototyping and feedback/approval. As a vector tool, there's a lot we can do with it for our digital collateral.
  • High-fidelity mockups - web and apps.
  • Simple prototyping to mimic user flows.
  • Ease of use - allows for quick wireframes to hammer out ideas (even during the meeting).
  • Fantastic use of symbols.
  • The interface needs a complete overhaul. It's not bad, just dated and it's getting lapped by other similar tools.
  • As it relies heavily on plugins, functionality can be broken with app updates or OS updates.
  • The prototyping feature is basic now. Needs to add more features to keep up with the competition.
If you need high fidelity prototypes or mockups with an easy learning curve, Sketch is hard to beat. It's the industry standard. It has integration with almost everything and a vast sea of plugins to provide things the software doesn't do out of the box. This product isn't as well suited for many members of a team all working on a single project. Figma will be the one to beat in that regard.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2018

Sketch Review: "A Powerful, Forward-Thinking Web Design Tool That Makes It Easy to Transition from Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sketch has been fully implemented by our web design team and has been responsible for dramatically improving our web development process. Previously, our team used Photoshop to design websites and built multi-layered PSD files that were problematic for a number of reasons. Sketch was a VERY easy transition for the team and has really revolutionized how we design websites. We use sketch libraries to streamline the design process and create a central repository of design assets. Sketch has improved version control and has vastly improved collaboration and hand off to the development team. Sketch's integration with InVision provides a one-two punch to allow for easy prototyping and sharing conceptual designs with clients.
  • Libraries are incredibly helpful in centralizing design components and establishing a design system
  • The design tools and interface are Adobe-like, which means the software is intuitive, but there are a lot of well-thought-out features that builds on the Adobe concept
  • The pricing is very reasonable and manageable for small teams or individual designers
  • The third-party Developer Community features some very helpful extensions
  • While the prototyping tools are pretty good, we still use Invision with clients. Hopefully, in the future, Sketch will catch up and we can ditch InVision
  • I wish they offered a "lite" version for our developers. They don't need a full-fledged app, only certain features are needed. Seems like a wasted license sometimes.
  • It would be nice if the volume discounts were a little more aggressive
Sketch is recommended for anyone designing websites and other digital projects. Whether you are a freelance, work for a small agency, internal team or part of a large organization, Sketch is powerful enough and simple enough to work for nearly all situations. There are a fair amount of legacy "photoshop or illustrator" web designers that have resisted the move to another tool, but I think Sketch is an easy transition from the Adobe suite.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2018

Sketch Review: "Well thought software made with the perspective of designers and developers both."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • From Wire framing of a new product to UI Designing sketch is involved from day 1 of the product development.
  • The use of sketch starts with the UI/UX team, and revolves around the development teams as well.
  • The designing team can layout a design and developers can collaborate alongside for changes and tweaks.
  • Use of extensions - Directly generate code from the sketch and paste it on for HTML/Swift/Objective-c/Kotlin/Java.
  • Exports - Directly export the design to other software like Zeplin.
  • Ease of use - The easiness that the tool carries is quite good as compared to other software in the same category, even a novice can start using it in very less time.
  • Community Support - The best part is that the software is used by a very large audience, and the community support is quite large and good.
  • Quick saves - sometimes quick saves don't work, and the progress for last few minutes is lost.
  • Layers choices - Choosing layers among nested layers becomes complicated if you have not kept this in mind from the start.
  • Pre-designed styles - Some pre-designed styles can be given to be built upon to reduce design time even more.
  • Prototyping - Easily create prototypes.
  • Designs - Well suited in case of visual designs.
  • Transitioning - If you had been using another software with clashes from your internal team on UI elements and frequent changes and need a fast pace designing it would be best tool to opt for this tool, and learn it in lesser time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2018

User Review: "Sketch is great!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization builds websites for companies and Sketch is an integral part in our UX design process. I'm not a UX designer myself, but I know our designer and developers use this program heavily to rely on building out the website. Instead, I use Sketch for our social media graphics and campaigns for clients. Our designers are able to design templates for me (not a designer) to use, and it makes it easy for me to quickly edit and update graphics on the fly.
  • Sketch is great for saving multiple artboards in one file and keeping like-minded documents together.
  • The layers are super easy to distinguish and label and it makes editing various parts of a design really easy.
  • Sketch can be a bit buggy when it comes to saving documents or working in the latest version. If you don't have the most up-to-date version, the app can crash frequently.
  • It's not great for transferring design assets quickly like it is with Adobe products.
  • Drilling down into specific layers can be a bit convoluted.
Sketch is great if you need to make lots of iterations to a document and share with people. It's also great for compiling lots of project files into one document through the various art boards.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2018

Sketch Review: "Reliable and trustworthy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sketch for basically all of our web and product design needs. The main users are the design team, with some stakeholders also opening Sketch when need be. It solves our UI design needs as the leader in the industry.
  • Libraries — able to manage design system components comprehensively
  • Prototyping — having native prototyping built right in is so much more convenient than looping in another tool
  • Shareable — sharing Sketch designs with coworkers is easy, either via Abstract or Zeplin or with the easy-to-use built-in export options
  • Color library management is still a bit wonky
  • Not super speedy
  • Can crash sometimes
Perfect for product, user interface, user experience, web design, or whatever you call it at your organization. Some examples would include designing apps, websites or interfaces for other screens. Less suited for print design or photo editing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 02, 2018

"A Sketch Review from an entry-level Designer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sketch on a daily basis to complete my design work. While using Sketch I have created vector icons, lo to mid-fi wireframes, all the way to hi-fi visual mockups for my ongoing projects. As a freelancer, it's a great tool and a solid alternative to Adobe Illustrator with a lower learning curve than most design software out there in the market. Whether if you're an entry-level designer or a seasoned veteran in any type of design (graphic, print, industrial, or UX) you'll want to add Sketch to your design toolbelt.
  • $99 dollars a year for the Sketch license
  • Thousands of templates you can find online to help jumpstart your designs
  • Whether you know the Adobe CC or not, learning Sketch will be a breeze either way
  • Symbols and reusability of artboards
  • Limited illustration support, logo design isn't possible in Sketch
  • Only available on MACOS
  • Exports can sometimes come out pixelated, export preview in Sketch doesn't always tell the full story
Sketch is well-suited for designers that are looking to build mobile and web designs quickly. There is also a prototyping feature in Sketch that allows you to quickly try out your design before you export your mocks to InVision.

Sketch is not well-suited for graphic designers looking to build a poster or graphic from an illustration, I would stick to Illustrator for work of that nature/caliber.
Read this authenticated review

About Sketch

Sketch is a visual design tool of use for application prototyping, coming with a wide variety of extensions, plugins, and an active user community.
Categories:  Prototyping

Sketch Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No