Miro

Miro

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.8 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Miro

Overview

Recent Reviews

Miro's Whiteboard Extraordinaire

10 out of 10
September 23, 2022
We use it for Project Management and Continuous Improvement events (Kaizen). We needed to have a visual representation of our projects and …
Continue reading

Great for online teaching.

8 out of 10
September 17, 2022
I have used Miro for academic purposes. It is an excellent platform because it allows students and teachers to work simultaneously on the …
Continue reading

Miro For Education.

9 out of 10
September 15, 2022
I use Miro for student brainstorming as well as group work that I would like them to share with the class. In teaching, I've found that …
Continue reading

MIRO - Simple yet efficient!

9 out of 10
September 15, 2022
I have been using Miro for quite a few months. It's been very useful when it comes to meetings. The best part I would use often is …
Continue reading

Great for collaboration!

10 out of 10
September 12, 2022
Miro is used for collaboration at work - both internally and externally. It is often hard to collect thoughts in a quick manner. I have …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

3 videos

How Miro Benefits Both Teachers and Students in Remote Environments
04:00
How Miro Brings Creative Thinking to New Spaces During the Pandemic
04:39
Improve Remote Team Collaboration: A Miro Online Whiteboard Review
02:22
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optionalOptional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://miro.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $12 per month per user
Return to navigation

Product Demos

How to Use Stickies Capture
00:52
Introducing Miro Live Embed
00:35
Why global teams love Miro
01:54
Visually Collaborate with Miro
00:48
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Miro?

Miro is an online whiteboard platform for distributed team collaboration.

The platform’s infinite canvas is designed to enable its more than 20M users to lead engaging workshops and meetings, design products, and brainstorm ideas. Miro was founded by Andrey Khusid and Oleg Shardin in 2011 as RealtimeBoard and rebranded as Miro in 2019.

Miro is global, with eleven hubs in cities around the world, including San Francisco, Los Angeles, Austin, New York City, Amsterdam, Perm, Berlin, Munich, London, Tokyo, and Sydney.

Miro Features

  • Supported: Drawing
  • Supported: Marker Colors
  • Supported: Mind Mapping
  • Supported: Templates
  • Supported: Drag-and-Drop
  • Supported: Voting
  • Supported: Commenting
  • Supported: CMS Integrations
  • Supported: Sharing
  • Supported: In-Browser
  • Supported: Desktop App
  • Supported: Mobile App
  • Supported: Collaborative Editing
  • Supported: Task Management
  • Supported: Notes and Comments
  • Supported: Styles and Themes
  • Supported: Image Import
  • Supported: Custom Icons
  • Supported: File Formats
  • Supported: Cloud Storage Integration
  • Supported: Mobile Application
  • Supported: Desktop Availability
  • Supported: Status Updates
  • Supported: Instant Messaging
  • Supported: Activity Feed
  • Supported: Notifications
  • Supported: Comments and Voting
  • Supported: Discussions
  • Supported: User Directory
  • Supported: Online Status of Coworkers
  • Supported: File Sharing
  • Supported: Document Collaboration
  • Supported: Version Control
  • Supported: Tagging
  • Supported: Knowledge Base
  • Supported: Surveys
  • Supported: Task Management
  • Supported: Calendar
  • Supported: Search
  • Supported: Mobile
  • Supported: Multi-Language Support
  • Supported: Moderation
  • Supported: User, Role, and Access Management
  • Supported: Performance and Reliability
  • Supported: Integrated Communications
  • Supported: Native Communications
  • Supported: Board Overview
  • Supported: Screen Sharing
  • Supported: Pre-made Templates
  • Supported: Custom Templates
  • Supported: Required Hardware
  • Supported: Bring Your Own Device
  • Supported: Permissions
  • Supported: Permissions

Miro Screenshots

Screenshot of Brainstorm together and visualize ideas at the speed of inspiration.Screenshot of From ideation to prototype, support the end-to-end design thinking process in one infinite space.Screenshot of Run effective, online project planning sessions and keep teams moving in the same direction.Screenshot of Supercharge your agile process with collaborative retrospectives, sprint planning, and huddle boards.Screenshot of Explain complex processes and systems with visual mapping and diagramming.Screenshot of Make your team workshops smooth, save time, and find patterns and insights easily.

Miro Videos

How to Use Stickies Capture: Lots of ideas means lots and lots of stickies — but how can they be captured all in place? The Miro app to take a screenshot of stickies to keep and share.
Introducing Miro Live Embed: Live embeds and work on Miro boards in a wide variety of applications. Miro's Live embed APIs enable anyone to bring a fully editable Miro board into their core user experience.
Miro (formerly RealtimeBoard) is a visual collaboration platform for thinkers, builders and doers. Miro helps cross-functional teams of marketers, designers, product managers and engineers ideate, design think, and collaborate to bring some of the world’s most innovative products to market, faster.
Visually Collaborate with Miro: Teamwork needs an upgrade. This quick intro to Miro shows how to visually collaborate as a team — and to make everyone feel as though they are in the same room even while far apart.

Miro Downloadables

Miro Integrations

Miro Competitors

Miro Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Miro is an online collaborative whiteboard for cross-functional teams, boasting over 20 million product managers, project managers, Agile coaches, developers, and other team members around the world as users of Miro to collaborate, brainstorm, and visualize ideas.

Miro starts at $12.

MURAL, InVision, and Lucidspark are common alternatives for Miro.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.8.

The most common users of Miro are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 2888)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for Project Management and Continuous Improvement events (Kaizen). We needed to have a visual representation of our projects and events, i.e., post-it notes with different tasks on different dates, but wanted our project board to be easier to manage, as well as have interactive and electronic to make it more user friendly from multiple remote sites.
  • Electronic format of our previously physical post-it note Gantt charts
  • Interactive
  • Allows for multiple users
  • At this point in my use of the Miro, it is performing great!
Miro is very interactive, it is easily shareable, and it is also very customizable. It can be set up to fit your project management project, your style, etc. It is also scalable and can be used for a few users or many users. And it can be used to organize one or many projects.
Miro's usability is really great, but sometimes when dragging notes or other features, they get dropped unexpectedly or it moves it too quick.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Miro once or twice a year during our account review. We use it to plan and collect ideas to improve/manage our relationship with the client and foster ideas to grow the business. As we are a multinational team with people sitting in many different countries, Miro is really useful for working together, replacing the physical whiteboard or paper board we would normally use in face two face meetings. It's pretty handy as we can all write ideas simultaneously and save them in one single place.
  • collect ideas/data in once single place.
  • allow people from different locations to work together simultaneously.
  • plan in advance for the workshops/meeting.
  • Not 100% user friendly.
  • Not always easy to select and size the boxes.
  • Sometimes difficult to write all at the same time.
It's really well suited for working among virtual teams when we cannot all sit in the same place/ Good for collecting ideas and having them all in the same place. May need to limit the number of users as it can be very crowdy and have some bugs. Need to prepare the users ahead of the meeting and Need to train a facilitator as all features may not be 100% intuitive.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Miro to collaborate and sketch out ideas. The form allows more expansive discussion and thinking in comparison to traditional media tools. It also allows connections and relationships to be more accurately represented, which promotes a more comprehensive understanding of the topics discussed.
  • Connections between elements of a topic.
  • More comprehensive analysis.
  • Collaboration.
  • Ability to navigate with smaller devices.
Since the Covid-19 pandemic, much work has been conducted remotely and under hybrid home/office work patterns, meaning that individuals are in different locations. This creates challenges for collaborating, as we may previously have done using a whiteboard, when physically together. Miro is a tool that promotes collaboration between individuals in different locations and is a handy record of work that has taken place.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Miro is used as a centralized board for our information to better collaborate with the production teams so that we're all on the same page in real-time. It is used on a daily basis to keep updated with changes, features, suggestions, and issues occurring within multiple departments and projects.
  • Loads fast.
  • Easy to use by nontechnical users.
  • Compartmentation of information is well structured.
  • The searching feature could be improved as it doesn't always find relevant data.
Miro is useful for presenting various information to multiple users in nearly real-time while having options to leave comments and have live feeds of followed pages/interests together with useful and un-intrusive notifications. The chatting feature is also useful when used in a multi-team environment formed of people with various backgrounds and languages.
September 17, 2022

Great for online teaching.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Miro for academic purposes. It is an excellent platform because it allows students and teachers to work simultaneously on the same project. The teacher is able to supervise the execution of the exercises and make corrections even in real-time. Excellent, especially in the period of lessons from home.
  • Collaboration with team members.
  • Many tools available.
  • Great for brainstorming.
  • More pleasing design.
  • It is not easy to follow the changes of many people at the same time.
Great for remote teaching. It allows you to carry out exercises in real-time during lessons, even with students at home, facilitating student-teacher interaction.
September 15, 2022

Miro For Education.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Miro for student brainstorming as well as group work that I would like them to share with the class. In teaching, I've found that students often don't want to share ideas out loud and are much more comfortable sharing via writing/online methods since it's "anonymous." Miro has been great in addressing student participation and gathering questions.
  • Organization of ideas.
  • Inclusion of all organization members in work.
  • Easy tools for creating documents, visuals, etc.
  • Struggles with formatting of shapes and objects.
  • More template ideas.
  • Quicker functionality when collaborating. The program would sometimes lag.
I think that Miro is very well suited for environments when groups need to brainstorm together and share out loud with larger groups. Miro allows a function so that all can see different topics being worked on and collectively see all notes/ideas. I also think Miro is very well suited for planning out projects, who will do what items, and the current status of the work. A possible scenario where it's less appropriate is for the actual work being completed. I think it's great for notes, brainstorming, etc., but not for sharing actual pieces of work.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MIRO is used in our organization to collaborate across teams that are spread out geographically. It helps us collaborate in real-time as well as passively on ideas that are co developed and co deployed. The main business case Miro helps us address is how to efficiently co-create as we go through a regional transformation across our function.
  • Ideation
  • Story boards
  • Product vision boards
  • Team structures
  • Visualization
  • Workflow establishment
  • Cross platform hyperlinking
Scenarios where MIRO is well suited - Working across teams and across regions Collaboration driven by working on common ideas and common goals Real-time collaboration over video conferencing Well suited for organizations that have adopted or are in process of adopting Agile methodology Scenarios where MIRO is not well suited - Organizations following waterfall methodology Teams that are not spread out regionally
September 15, 2022

Anonymous review.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We work in an agile context, so it is very important to have a tool like Miro to manage all agile ceremonies (Daily Meeting, Spring Planning, Review, or Retrospective). On the other hand, sometimes it is difficult to use the Miro tool because it is not fluid and flexible all the time, with slowness in use.
  • Daily meeting.
  • Spring Planning.
  • Sprint Retrospective.
  • Flexibility
  • More options.
We work in an agile context, so it is very important to have a tool like Miro to manage all agile ceremonies (Daily Meeting, Spring Planning, Review, or Retrospective). On the other hand, sometimes it is difficult to use the Miro tool because it is not fluid and flexible all the time, with slowness in use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Miro for quite a few months. It's been very useful when it comes to meetings. The best part I would use often is creating flowcharts and demonstrating them to my peeps., very convenient and simple to use, easy to take quick notes whenever necessary, even for pasting code snippets to not lose the core ideas. I have been searching for a whiteboard tool for a long time that fits my use case, and I found one.
  • I like the mind map feature and design here.
  • The predefined templates over here are really good.
  • Like the feature of stickers and emojis here.
  • Wish there are more colors in the draw mode
  • To move around the board, every time I had to click on the cursor icon and right-click to move, which can be changed in an easier way.
  • The shapes feature can be improved.
The best part I would use often is creating flowcharts and demonstrating them to my peeps., very convenient and simple to use, easy to take quick notes whenever necessary, even for pasting code snippets to not lose the core ideas. The Kanban feature is very useful; I could keep track of the progress in what I am doing, but at the same time, every company uses a tool for tracking progress, it's sharable or accessible across all the users in the company, so in that way, I feel this feature is little inappropriate.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Miro is a wonderful workflow tool that we use when talking to our clients about what their Process Maps look like. The process map is critical in allowing us to deliver an efficiently customized solution for the client.
  • Cross-Platform, being able to use it on mobile, web, or desktop devices.
  • Ease of use, it is very easy to create a diagram using the multitude of templates available.
  • Collaboration, it is very easy to collaborate with internal and external users on a project.
  • Slides could be easier to set up. While you could create a presentation, it isn't as easy as PowerPoint or Google Slides.
  • While there's plenty of different types of process maps the templates could use more visual variety within the same type.
  • The UI does seem a little simplistic in terms of the icons used within the software.
Miro is absolutely what Visio should have developed into now if Microsoft had stayed the course and taken the time to bring Visio into the modern age. It can be used when planning internal software development or when needed to clarify process maps either internally or externally when dealing with clients. It is absolutely a wonderful workflow tool, and while it is usable in creating presentations, it isn't as easy as PowerPoint or Google Slides.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Miro to perform Agile SAFe rituals remotely such as PI and sprint planning. The tool perfectly meets our need for collaboration and responsiveness. We also like the template capabilities of the tool which enable reuse and thus improves the speed at which we can perform our Agile rituals. Although the tool is great for the purposes aforementioned I believe there is still room for improvement in the interface for shape styling
  • PI planning board
  • ROAM risk management
  • Sprint planning board
  • Selecting shapes
  • Styling shapes
  • Importing templates from similar other tools
The tool is very well suited for structuring agile rituals remotely such as PI planning, sprint planning. It is also very handy when seeking to organize a productive meeting as the tool allows collaboration. The part I like most about it is that when the meeting is over the minutes of the meeting are shorter to write since everyone already has access to the board.
Randeep Thandi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team and I use Miro to help organize our projects, assignees, deadlines, and content. The product helps us design our concept maps for the scope of future presentations, which are then used to help develop slideshows. Furthermore, we collaborate on it together to help promote easy teamwork and the ability to meet deadlines.
  • Wide variety of Tools.
  • Collaboration.
  • Easy Access to Links.
  • Organization Tools.
  • Easier use of tools.
  • More aesthetic designs.
  • Smarter autofill technology.
Very well suited to organize concepts and help study chapters of content. Further, very well to visualize relationships between people, broad, in-depth subjects, and sequence of events. It has helped me study for many university exams and develop an easy way of connecting and memorizing content. Not particularly well suited for presentations, as it becomes very complex and isn't very appealing.
September 12, 2022

The Hero that is Miro.

Navin Ganesh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Miro is my team's go-to tool for brainstorming, idea generation, voting on ideas, and tracking the team's activities on a daily basis.
  • Seamlessly supports multiple users.
  • Flexible miro board workspace enables unrestricted and unhindered brainstorming.
  • Unlimited sticky notes gives the ability to quickly put down ideas.
  • Ability to add priority or weightage to stickies.
A wonderful tool to bring a team together and keep the team aligned across various projects and initiatives.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Collaboration with both internal teams and co-workers in different teams. Great white-boarding tool, especially when doing hybrid and remote meetings. We can use this as a template to start our discussions. Able to capture everyone's thoughts/notes/feedback in real-time and able to keep a record of it without manually copying all the notes. Also able to edit/adjust at a later stage if needed - excellent tool.
  • Collaboration
  • Team working
  • Co operation
  • Intuitive
  • Downloadability features
  • Login issues resolved faster
  • Ability to have a 'community'
  • Real time changes
We use Miro to collaborate as a team and share ideas on different projects. Users can comment on different areas of the board and use 'sticky notes' to share thoughts and ideas on our campaigns or insights. This means that we have different boards whereby we can dedicate 'areas' and the team can post sticky notes to contribute. We then share this in our team meetings and run through the board areas and use it as a template for meetings. This is helpful for hybrid roles when you need the ability to use this kind of apps.
September 12, 2022

Great for collaboration!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Miro is used for collaboration at work - both internally and externally. It is often hard to collect thoughts in a quick manner. I have used Miro in workshops, and it is a great way to collate everyone's thoughts at the same time in one place. It's convenient and easy to use.
  • Can bring everyone to one specific place on the board
  • Multiple user/access allowed at the same time
  • Use of shareable web link is easy and convenient
  • Size of post stick notes
  • Could be slightly more user-friendly
  • Lock and unlock function could be clearer
Miro is well suited for collaborating before, during, and after a workshop or meeting. It is suitable when you are trying to get initial ideas. I don’t think it is suitable for formal reporting, and a questionnaire-based software could be used as an alternative.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Miro as a Whiteboard for Remote Brainstorming for eg. sketching architectures of software or project structures.
  • easy to get started
  • performant for usage with many users
  • easy to maintain
  • good usage for sketching/scribbling
  • easier access configuration
  • sometimes some graphical elements are not movable as wanted
  • more shapes
brainstorming remote sessions
sketching software architecture
sketching project structures
September 05, 2022

Miro gets an A-plus!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it as an Account Manager to track our customer account planning with our extended sales team. We made charts detailing our customer stakeholders, cross-architectural technology opportunities, events, and enablements, among other engagements. Very handy for brainstorming and keeping track of everybody’s tasks and main activities, which is sometimes very hard with an extended engineering team and so many customer counterparts.
  • Brainstorming with team members
  • Organize ideas in visual way
  • Understand dependencies between project elements
  • Smoother way to add design details
  • Easier collaboration amongst people outside organization
Miro is very well suited for scenarios where you need to collaborate with many people within a team, where you need input from lots of people, and need to gather and organize ideas from brainstorming. It's very easy to have everybody chip in and collaborate together. Maybe not so well suited for people who prefer more freedom in drawing freely and adding different types of sketches.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Collaboration with both internal teams and clients. Great white-boarding tool, especially when doing hybrid in-person and remote meetings. Able to capture everyone's thoughts/notes/feedback in real-time and able to keep a record of it without manually copying all the notes. Also able to edit/adjust at a later stage if needed.
  • Ease of navigation
  • Relevant templates
  • Easy to use
  • Ability for anyone to use (free versions)
  • Cursor/moving around map could be easier
  • Save-as boards function could be easier
Miro is a great collaboration tool, especially now as more and more companies are adopting the hybrid working model. It enables everyone (both in-person and remote) to provide their feedback in real-time. It's a great tool to engage various stakeholders but also to keep track of collaboration efforts. The ability to edit the board after is also a great added benefit.

It's less appropriate or applicable if companies don't have licenses for all users to use/have access to.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Over the last two years I have used Miro mainly for the initial brainstorming phase shared with the team as well as for organizing project ideas and presentations on my own. I find it a very convenient tool for remote working, but also for keeping my own progress on projects in order.
  • synchronised co-creation
  • planning online
  • wireframing
  • online creative workshop
  • creation of slides
  • improve performance while using the tool
  • templates
Miro is a very useful tool for teams to keep track of ideas, progress and input of a shared project. It can also be very useful as a shared planning tool and is a tool that allows workshops to be created simultaneously, facilitating remote working between teams. At the same time, when it comes to reviewing a project or presentation, I prefer to import slides and tables created with other programmes instead of creating them within Miro. This additional step remains crucial for me because as a creative, the visual aspect is very relevant.
September 02, 2022

Mostly good experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Miro to draw schemas of applications/processes as well as use cases diagrams for our applications. Miro is a very convenient tool for this use case. We use it in a team of 10-15 people.
  • Highly intuitive
  • Unlimited canvas space
  • Great templates
  • Sometimes app is slow to load
  • Confusing to watch changes done by 10+ people at the same time
Miro is well suited for brainstorming/in-depth application discussions for team less than 10 maybe 12 people. If I had bigger team I would probably reconsider using Miro as it is very hard to follow changes when 10+ people do them at the same time.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Miro to document our ideation sessions and group meetings. We use it to collaborate while working remotely. The whiteboard offers the flexibility we need to cover a range of topics and yet focus on specific areas at the same time. Another great benefit is that we can use the tool asynchronously, so before and after each session we can add contributions to our team space.
  • it allows you to collaborate while working remotely
  • it helps you to store the resources that you create
  • parts of the Miro board can be downloaded and shared with other teams
  • I often get logged out if I haven't used Miro for a day or so
  • Some of the features aren't obvious so we need to give some colleagues a tutorial
  • It takes a bit of practice to get he post-it note sizes the same as each other
Miro is well suited to ideations sessions as part of our learning and development process. We use Miro to generate ideas and solutions to training needs and problems that are presented by our customers. Miro is great for working on solutions in an agile way so we can generate ideas and then map out the ones we like best.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Miro to efficiently manage problem-solving abilities and teamwork. Our cases encompassed an analysis of individual patient cases, their needs, and their environment in order to find the most appropriate solution to incapacitating disorders while stating all risks and hazards. Miro addressed specifically the problem of allocating different tasks to team members and cooperating efficiently and simultaneously on the diverse subtasks at hand. It allows a clear layout of our strategy, workload sharing, and allocation, and supervision of findings while alleviating the need for micromanagement. Therefore, the process ran smoothly and time and effort were saved Miro enabled the team members to actively participate in the overall project either in person or remotely.
  • Team work/collaboration
  • Layout processes and steps
  • Clear graphics
  • Hard to have a clear overview of big projects (appear small when zoom out)
  • More time management and history of progress would be great
For any team work requiring collaboration without micromanagement. It is particularly easy to layout the whole process using flow chart diagrams showing the project and breaking it down into manageable steps for members to take on. Easy visualization and possibility to switch between tasks make Miro suitable for big collaborative projects
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Miro for remote collaboration, whether this is for individual, teams or wider larger groups. Being distributed as a workforce we have no natural choice but to do this in this way
  • Remote collaboration
  • Templates / building blocks such as story mapping/tables
  • Cards
  • License type (one interaction make you a "paid user") competitors do 3 interactions
  • Team/allocation management i find confusing
It's great for remote collaboration with distributed teams. We've found it excellent for team retroes and other agile events or ceremonies. It's not great where the org insists on everyone needing a license (ie not allowing guests) as people who might use it once ending potentially costing you money
September 02, 2022

Design credibility gainer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Miro is the place to go to track project progress and research documentation & synthesis. Miro is used to capture and transcribing user interviews and action items with the kanban board, custom templates to prioritize and estimate work effort and time and finally to work indirectly with Jira to backtrack the efforts of and when necessary.
  • Kanban board
  • Mindmaps
  • File imports
  • Template Sharing
  • Tables and resizing
  • Judgment of text and scale...the sticky notes turn out to be small when used later in the synthesis
  • Wireframing items can be expanded to other things(eg drop-down states, check boxes, etc)
  • Guest view for intermediate short term stakeholder sign offs
Miro is suited for workshops or tracking projects and timelines(order of synthesis). It works best in big teams but for individuals, it is a great tool to document design progress and decision-making. It becomes a bit difficult in very big organizations where the signoffs are required by stakeholders who aren't really designers and may use a board for probably 1 hour if needed, but Miro asks for licenses so the process is pretty cumbersome. I sometimes just copy-paste screenshots....although too much back and forth, it's still better than going to the leadership requesting license and access every time a new project and a new stakeholder has to be involved
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, we use Miro to visually represent our ideas for future projects, as well as the scope, the progress and details of current projects. Every member of the team can be part of the process and contribute their own ideas and complement those of others. In the organization Miro boards are also used to formally present an idea to other members of the organization
  • Allows the use of different visual media in a simple way
  • The boards handle size very well, they are immense and allow tons of content
  • Multiple users can work concurrently in the same board flawlessly, great for brainstorming
  • Boards can take to long to load when switching from one to other
  • Some board modifications can be difficult to track, both who did it and when
  • When copying some images with transparent backgrounds from the internet, they can appear with different color backgrounds on the board
A great scenario where Miro is well suited is at the early stages of a project when the scope and characteristics must be defined. Miro allows multiple users to add their own ideas to a very visually appealing board and boost the brainstorming process. A scenario where Miro would be less appropriate is when trying to present an idea or project to external clients since there are other tools that can deliver more compact and visually impressive presentations.
Return to navigation