Jenkins

Jenkins

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
Jenkins

Overview

Recent Reviews

Jenkins

8 out of 10
August 03, 2021
Jenkins is used by my team to automate the build pipeline we have for our codebase. We use it to run builds on our code base automatically …
Continue reading

Jenkins!

9 out of 10
July 30, 2021
- Jenkins is used for orchestrating automated test, CI, CD pipelines at our organization
- It is being used by a number of departments …
Continue reading

Jenkins CI/CD

8 out of 10
October 17, 2019
Jenkins is the main workhorse supporting our build and deploy pipeline and is used by both developers and dev-ops alike. Jenkins provides …
Continue reading

A CICD build tool of choice

9 out of 10
October 17, 2019
Jenkins is used across various teams in our organization. It is an integration tool where we use the CI/CD pipeline for continuous …
Continue reading

Excellent CI/CD tool

10 out of 10
October 16, 2019
We are using Jenkins for our CI/CD solution. It is used across all the departments in our org. we use Jenkins for various purposes. We use …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Jenkins, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Jenkins?

Jenkins is an open source automation server. Jenkins provides hundreds of plugins to support building, deploying and automating any project. As an extensible automation server, Jenkins can be used as a simple CI server or turned into a continuous delivery hub for any project.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

5 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is CircleCI?

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

What is TeamCity?

TeamCity is a continuous integration server from Czeck company JetBrains.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Jenkins?

Jenkins is an open source automation server. Jenkins provides hundreds of plugins to support building, deploying and automating any project. As an extensible automation server, Jenkins can be used as a simple CI server or turned into a continuous delivery hub for any project.

Jenkins Video

What is Jenkins?

Jenkins Integrations

Jenkins Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Jenkins?

Jenkins is an open source automation server. Jenkins provides hundreds of plugins to support building, deploying and automating any project. As an extensible automation server, Jenkins can be used as a simple CI server or turned into a continuous delivery hub for any project.

What is Jenkins's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Jenkins?

The most common users of Jenkins are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (386)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 54)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Ahmed Amer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins can be very helpful in building a CI/CD pipeline, while making sure delivered software meets requirements, automating different builds and tasks that can run either periodically or based on different events always helps build trust in delivered software. Also using a Jenkins file help reduce and time consuming tasks as it can be configured to do everything from packaging code to deploying docker image to Kubernetes cluster
ANurag Tamrakar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you're looking for a highly customizable CI/CD tool then Jenkins is a go-to Tool! if you're looking for developing and using your own features you're in. You can develop your own plugins in Jenkins. Jenkins requires maintaining servers and building agents if you're looking for something maintenance-free then you should look for SaaS-based CI/CD tools.
Caleb Kleveter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is good if you need to have a CI system so flexible that it would make a gymnast look like a block of wood. In every case that I have worked with, other solutions have been easier to use and maintain, while having all features I could ever need.
August 03, 2021

Jenkins

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is well suited if you need a high customizable CI/CD tool that can be integrated with most popular tools and software. It is possible to get Jenkins to do almost anything you want or need it to if you are willing to put in the effort up front. It is a great tool for running automated tests on your codebase.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins helps the flow of build from the development team to the QA team. Can be really helpful in doing continuous builds, but when this feature is turned on the development team must have great communication otherwise the risk of broken builds become very high. In the long run, we found it made things easier when we just pushed the build manually and appointed a team member the build master.
October 17, 2019

Jenkins CI/CD

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is well suited for large and/or distributed teams where synchronization of production releases is critical. Jenkins allows us to reduce risk of a bad release by gatekeeping deployment with a variety of useful checks and verifications. Jenkins also has a huge amount of community support, as well as a large variety of plugins and integrations. Integrations with GitHub and Slack are extremely useful for our team.
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you have a very complex set-up and want full control of your build and test servers, then Jenkins will work for you. It's free and allows you to deploy it on your own machines and set up everything exactly how you want it. You need to invest a lot of time and work. It's not good if you just want a simple build and any other cloud service will do it for you, cheap or free.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is an open-source tool with great community support.
  • It has 1000+ plugins to ease your work. If a plugin does not exist, you can code it and share it with the community.
  • It is built with Java and hence, it is portable to all the major platforms.
  • Makes developers life easy.
  • Automate the build pipeline process.
  • Used for scheduling tasks and CRON jobs.
October 16, 2019

Excellent CI/CD tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is the best CI/CD tool, it integrates with most other tools. it has lots of support for various plugins. Jenkins with DSLs and Jenkinsfile it can be extremely configurable. We can automate the whole build from a Git push to prod deployments.

For microservices we have a bit better tools then Jenkins.
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins has been serving us efficiently for a long time. It is quite reliable. Whether supporting developers work, DevOps work or staging/production deployment processing, Jenkins is a good choice. However, I believe there are some things that could be improved. When we need to execute parametrized builds, Jenkins could be more flexible in delivering us better screens (maybe something customizable) where we would insert variables to be used during the pipeline.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is well suited when you need a CICD server to handle your compilation, building and deployment process, as Jenkins has many plugins and supports most script languages so it could handle almost any kind of project. In my department, before we start on a project, we define a clear strategy to use Jenkins, which task needs to be automated with Jenkins, which branch, and which module needs to be built with Jenkins and when we need to push a new version to Artifact and deploy to the server.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Suited for integration with GitHub, pulling on your master branch, wrapping it up into a deployment package, pushing that package out to an endpoint, and using scripting to update files. This process is primarily what we use Jenkins for, and it does this work well.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is open source, thus has a large number of plugins rolled out already. All major VCS, SCM, Git, and Maven applications support Jenkins. They even support Docker which is trending in DevOps nowadays. It has more than 50 APIs and plugins to work on. Thus, it is always appropriate to have Jenkins when you have a distributed workforce and to sync with everyone. To avoid synchronization problems in the distributed workforce and development, we use Jenkins. Code pushed to VCS can be built over another system so as to deploy in the production/release.
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well suited for any environment that needs to be as automated as possible and is built around the DevOps philosophy. Also, perfect on any cloud infrastructure system as it allows for considerable customization for any type of setup. It allows for applications to be developed in a fast, reliable manner by cutting out the tedious process of integration or basic QA testing. I legitimately cannot think of a scenario where Jenkins would not be useful in improving your software workflow.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is well suited to be used in any build use case. I consider Jenkins to be the gold standard for build tools and should be the primary choice for any build unless there are mitigating circumstances that require another tool.
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is a great tool for teams looking to build automation and continuous integration into their development workflow. It is very easy to setup and works of all the major Operating Systems. Anyone can learn to use Jenkins because the software is quite intuitive. There is also a huge community surrounding Jenkins, which makes learning resources very easy to find.
Ramendra Sahu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It supports a rich set of plugins. The job configuration history plugin, for example, allows you to see history of past builds. Features are constantly getting enhanced with each release. Great active community support, which can help you if you are trying to do something new. Better than a lot of peers available in market. GitHub integration and pull request and support for automatic code review are truly great features.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is a good tool to automate anything and everything. It has plugins to integrate with any other systems.
Earlier Jenkins was more like a CI tool. But now it has evolved to cater for continuous delivery and deployment as well.

Jenkins can be used to download code from a source code versioning system, build code, run tests, upload to artifact repositories and finally deploy to the required environments via shell scripts, Chef, Ansible etc.

Apart from this, Jenkins can be used to run any kind of automation required, for example, operations scheduled activities like cleaning up disk space, rotating logs etc.
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you haven't used Jenkins before and have a relatively simple and straightforward deployment setup I would not use my resources on Jenkins and go for a simpler, more SaaS-based solution. If you expect to have a lot of security demands and need control of your CI/CD pipeline I would use Jenkins for the get-go.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an open-source product, Jenkins can be recommended for any company who needs continuous integration/delivery for their projects. However, Jenkins offers the extended functionalities through their plug-ins which seems good in most cases but sometimes, this may lead to having unwanted functionalities and security issues in the platform in the case of using of multiple plug-ins for doing a specific task.
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is very well suited for someone in need of a Continuous Integration and Continuous Delivery solution. It does well for people with Unix/Mac based projects, it does handle Microsoft builds fine as well, however the setup of it and configuration may feel a bit more complicated for those coming from a Microsoft background.