TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/4b/Wm/A1HKR1GD7JMK.PNGSauce Labs = Amazing LabsSauce Labs is used by Developer Teams to run their e2e Selenium tests. Sauce Labs is managed by a cross-department (testing team) but it's used across the whole organization (not only in IT department) It's used also by Customer Service teams or Email Marketing teams. The main business problems that it addresses is helping us to understand customers' problems or bugs and make a visual and functionality check before or after a deployment.,Cross Browsing: It's a large list of OS, Browsers and Versions really updated. Really aaS: Sauce is really an as a service product, you just use it when you want with really a few clicks. Documentation rocks: They have a large knowledge base documented for all their customers. Analytics: The have a nice analytics service to understand you test trends. Allow CIs stateless: With Sauce Connect it's possible to get a CI-CD environment really stateless without needing to install and maintain a lot of tools and infrastructure.,Speed: We've some speed issues with "Live Testing" it's a bit slow and in our agile environment is a little sad. Sauce and Testobject: It's wired to use 2 platforms when it's the same company. I wish it was all Saucelabs...It'd be more useful to explain to all the people that it's another service of the same company.,9,Achieve continuous delivery,We're not a security issue with Sauce Labs. All the things we use are based on the production code...accessed by the production Url and using the Sauce connect tunnel we're sure that it's secure and also we've some infrastructure services inside of our platform to avoid to be a part of security issues.,Sauce Labs is not helping us right now with this topic honestly.,In the past, we have our own platform like sauce labs. But it was to much cost to keep it updated and available to all the developers when they really need to use it. We decided to buy because of it, we do not want to have a maintenance cost of developers, resources, time, etc. We really appreciate Saucelabs because let us free of this problem.,BrowserStack, TestingBot and CrossBrowserTesting,CircleCI, Jenkins, AppiumSauce Lab ReviewSauce Labs is a powerful tool for our organizations in terms of running our automation scripts on multiple browsers/devices on the cloud. It is very easily integrated with our CI tool, it helps us executing our whole test suite as per the schedule mentioned in our CI tool. The results are shown in a user-friendly, easily readable format.,We use Sauce Labs to run automation script on different browsers in the cloud. We use Sauce Labs to run a test on multiple devices (simulators). It is useful in our manual testing as well. We are in the process of evaluating Sauce Labs for real device testing.,need to improve on network latency issues need to support video playback on sauce connect looks sometimes flaky,9,Accelerate the pace of new feature releases,Every company has different wants and requires an application that can be personalized for their size, type of workers and customers, and the specific industry they are in. For these reasons, no software can provide perfect features out-of-the-box. When you look for a software app, first be sure what you need it for. Read some Sauce Labs reviews and ask yourself do you desire basic features or do you want advanced functionality? Are there any industry-specific features that you are searching for? Find the answers to these questions to help your search. There are plenty of aspects that you need to mull over and these include your finances, specific business needs, your company size, integration needs etc. Take your time, use a few free trials, and finally select the platform that presents all that you require boosting your company effectiveness and productivity.,The wide scope of open source coding brings freedom and innovation for the design, architecture, and infrastructure of the applications. Through this, the whole community of developers can work with the open coding framework of Selenium.,Sauce Labs offers valuable and powerful cloud-based capabilities for testing mobile and web applications. It’s simple yet advanced based on the agile frameworks combined with open source code methodology. Hence, delivering the right set of tools to developers and testers to run tests across different platforms, browsers, and integrations.,not really,Amazon Cloud Drive,Microsoft Azure, Jenkins, HP Application Lifecycle ManagementEasy and SimpleWe are currently using Sauce Labs in the software department.,Easy to integrate as simple as plug and play. A wide range of devices and browsers. Provides video clips of entire automation. Supports live testing on real devices.,Sometimes, execution is slow, needs improvement. Real device testing is available in limited regions.,7,Accelerate the pace of new feature releases Eliminate testing as a bottleneck Improve quality by increasing browser/OS/device coverage Achieve continuous delivery,Sauce Labs met the security standards with our company.,The building takes up a lot of time and effort. Sauce Labs provided an easy plug and play mechanism with a huge variety of devices and browsers, which helped in scaling up the testing process. Provided real device testing which eliminated us in investing in procuring real devices. Sauce Labs also helped in continuous integration.,AWS Device FarmThings that Arkie saysWe use it in the quality department for help with our cross browser testing. We also use it for testing of our mobile apps. It helps us with confidence in our apps in a variety of different contexts, and the fact that we don't have to maintain a lab environment is one of the biggest wins for us.,Diversity of test environments Ease of looking at the results Stellar support team,Sometimes, the system can be laggy when you examine test results. I have a support case logged about this It seems to me that its taking longer for the support team to successfully close my cases,10,Improve quality by increasing browser/OS/device coverage,I think they do. We do ask our vendors to pass a security audit. I was not a part of that review, nor do I know the specifics that were asked in this review process, but Sauce Labs did pass and has been approved by us to be used in our engineering processes.,They helped us achieve this by removing the maintenance burden of having to keep up a bank of machines in a multitude of configurations from our team. I've maintained a local selenium grid for a few weeks before I told my boss of the potential nightmare that would be coming down the pike it we continued down that path.,Time and money is really where it comes down to it. With infinite money, sure, you could maintain the lab yourself, but we don't have infinite money and time. So the cost of Sauce - while not cheap - enables us to focus on the real problems, as opposed to problems that maintaining a test lab would force us to face.,We have not used the Proxy,BrowserStackWhy we chose Saucelabs as our Cross-browser testing platform within our mission critical team.Sauce Labs is a relatively new tool in the kit of all audited enterprise tools being used in one of the largest Financial institutions I am part of. It is a highly recommended platform for teams to perform cross-browser testing. After an easy integration process, Sauce Labs allows us to test our projects from iPad screens to Firefox, Chrome and IE running on almost any combination of Operating Systems.,Multiple browser options to choose from. Real devices along with simulators Integration with a wide variety of frameworks.,Use of camera on real mobile devices. Eg: QR Scanning,9,Accelerate the pace of new feature releases,Yes.,We have certain services being accessed only on mobile devices while others on desktop browsers. Sauce Labs facilitates testing both scenarios as a single central platform.,Buying a subscription may be expensive at times. But considering the time to develop a similar platform, it could well worth be a good deal.,CrossBrowserTesting
Unspecified
Sauce Labs
200 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Sauce Labs Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Sauce Labs
200 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 200 vetted Sauce Labs reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 112)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Javier Cardoso profile photo
March 05, 2019

User Review: "Sauce Labs = Amazing Labs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sauce Labs is used by Developer Teams to run their e2e Selenium tests. Sauce Labs is managed by a cross-department (testing team) but it's used across the whole organization (not only in IT department) It's used also by Customer Service teams or Email Marketing teams.

The main business problems that it addresses is helping us to understand customers' problems or bugs and make a visual and functionality check before or after a deployment.
  • Cross Browsing: It's a large list of OS, Browsers and Versions really updated.
  • Really aaS: Sauce is really an as a service product, you just use it when you want with really a few clicks.
  • Documentation rocks: They have a large knowledge base documented for all their customers.
  • Analytics: The have a nice analytics service to understand you test trends.
  • Allow CIs stateless: With Sauce Connect it's possible to get a CI-CD environment really stateless without needing to install and maintain a lot of tools and infrastructure.
  • Speed: We've some speed issues with "Live Testing" it's a bit slow and in our agile environment is a little sad.
  • Sauce and Testobject: It's wired to use 2 platforms when it's the same company. I wish it was all Saucelabs...It'd be more useful to explain to all the people that it's another service of the same company.
SauceLabs suits if:
* You need to run your tests in a lot of browsers and versions. It's very useful to be used for cross-browsing and visual pixel perfect tests.
* You need to delegate the maintenance of the selenium infrastructure. It's awesome to forget about browsers or OS releases and all the problems involved with it.

SauceLabs doesn't suit if:
* You need a fast environment to run manual tests.
* You are looking for a fast UI.
Read Javier Cardoso's full review
Manoj T V profile photo
February 25, 2019

Sauce Labs: "Sauce Lab Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sauce Labs is a powerful tool for our organizations in terms of running our automation scripts on multiple browsers/devices on the cloud. It is very easily integrated with our CI tool, it helps us executing our whole test suite as per the schedule mentioned in our CI tool. The results are shown in a user-friendly, easily readable format.
  • We use Sauce Labs to run automation script on different browsers in the cloud.
  • We use Sauce Labs to run a test on multiple devices (simulators).
  • It is useful in our manual testing as well.
  • We are in the process of evaluating Sauce Labs for real device testing.
  • need to improve on network latency issues
  • need to support video playback on
  • sauce connect looks sometimes flaky
Sauce Labs is well suited for Web Functional testing, Cross Browser testing, Mobile Web testing, Automated Testing Platform, Comprehensive platform coverage. Sauce Labs offers valuable and powerful cloud-based capabilities for testing mobile and web applications. It’s simple yet advanced based on the agile frameworks combined with open source code methodology. Hence, delivering the right set of tools to developers and testers to run tests across different platforms, browsers, and integrations.

Read Manoj T V's full review
Ashish Miraskar Umakantha profile photo
March 02, 2019

Sauce Labs Review: "Easy and Simple"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Sauce Labs in the software department.
  • Easy to integrate as simple as plug and play.
  • A wide range of devices and browsers.
  • Provides video clips of entire automation.
  • Supports live testing on real devices.
  • Sometimes, execution is slow, needs improvement.
  • Real device testing is available in limited regions.
Pros:
1. Easy to integrate.
2. A wide range of devices and browsers.
3. Supports live testing on real devices.
4. Easy to maintain.
5. Provides video playback.
6. Pricing is reasonable.
7. Easy to set up a device lab.

Cons:
1. Execution is slow, needs improvements.
2. Please provide more regions for real device testing.
3. Real devices are slow at times.

Read Ashish Miraskar Umakantha's full review
Alan Ark profile photo
November 29, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Things that Arkie says"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in the quality department for help with our cross browser testing. We also use it for testing of our mobile apps. It helps us with confidence in our apps in a variety of different contexts, and the fact that we don't have to maintain a lab environment is one of the biggest wins for us.
  • Diversity of test environments
  • Ease of looking at the results
  • Stellar support team
  • Sometimes, the system can be laggy when you examine test results. I have a support case logged about this
  • It seems to me that its taking longer for the support team to successfully close my cases
We love the fact that we can call up a variety of browser / version / operating system combinations to be at the ready when we want to start our testing. It is able to slide into our CI environment seamlessly.

We also are able to quickly verify our mobile apps across a variety of emulators or real devices as we see fit.

And we do not need to have anyone maintain a lab on our own,
Read Alan Ark's full review
Vishal Menon profile photo
October 10, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Why we chose Saucelabs as our Cross-browser testing platform within our mission critical team."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sauce Labs is a relatively new tool in the kit of all audited enterprise tools being used in one of the largest Financial institutions I am part of. It is a highly recommended platform for teams to perform cross-browser testing. After an easy integration process, Sauce Labs allows us to test our projects from iPad screens to Firefox, Chrome and IE running on almost any combination of Operating Systems.
  • Multiple browser options to choose from.
  • Real devices along with simulators
  • Integration with a wide variety of frameworks.
  • Use of camera on real mobile devices. Eg: QR Scanning

- Multi-browser testing scenarios.

- Real mobile device testing

- Enterprise grade tool.

Read Vishal Menon's full review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Amazing website"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At this time we are currently using Sauce Labs across the entire organization. Within 1 to 2 months of being hired, we all get an invite to join Sauce Labs from our email and then we're set a couple of reminder emails as well. Our organization is B2B software, and our goal is that no matter what department you're in, you'll be educated on the technology we all ultimately work with. We're all encouraged to take additional training to get ourselves up to speed about different kinds of software and technology, as well as troubleshooting devices and codes. What my team specifically uses is Sauce Labs University, which is where we can build our knowledge of IT and coding that we can apply to our job. The benefit that we get from this is that we can better understand what goes on in the back end, and we can therefore work more efficiently and better address customer-facing questions.
  • One thing that Sauce Labs does very well is continuing to provide education for technological products, so that we stay up to speed and are even able to learn new things that we never knew before. I definitely saw myself applying a lot of the new concepts that I learned, such as automated testing.
  • I also love the Secret Sauce where we can learn about new product updates for Sauce Labs, as well as learn about upcoming events such as SauceCon. I love being able to stay abreast of a company that I love, as well as be able to learn of more interactive meetings where I can meet tech-minded people, as well as the Sauce company, i.e. Saucecon.
  • I really love the customer service. Once in the Forum, I had a question, and Alyssa the VP actually gave me a reply, and was very quick to respond as well as very friendly. I've never had a company where the leadership was so responsive and so eager to dive in with customers on issues and questions that they have. This definitely shows that Sauce isn't just about getting profits, and that they truly deeply care about making the customers happy and successful.
  • Lastly, I love how Sauce University has a stash which encourages friendly competition among team members. It shows who has the most points, which encourages us to continue to actively participate in those trainings and challenges and quizzes. This in turn adds an element of fun to our work.
  • In Sauce University trainings, it would be nice we could receive more in-depth information, as opposed to a short paragraph of information. As a beginner in the technological field, I would definitely find that helpful. Maybe they could do something where you can create a link to show more details, so that more advanced readers don't have to open it, but beginners can actually open up that link to read more.
  • Also, it would be nice if in the trainings you would include the videos as well because a lot of people are visual learners.
  • I wish it were easier to search through the Sauce Labs help page. Sometimes it takes quite a few searches to get to the right result. For instance, I'm not sure if I should click on Knowledge Base or Documentation or Support- there's too much to click-through. There should just be a Search All button that would search across the whole Sauce Labs page, so that we can easily find the answer that we need.
  • Our team especially loves the challenges, because again that fosters friendly competition and encourages us to continue to learn more about the product and the tech, as well as hone previous skills we've learned through Sauce Labs. We definitely hope that more of those classes come out every week, so we can dive deeper into each concept. I think there should be a feedback page where we can submit ideas for the classes that we would like to see.
I would say that Sauce Labs is best suited for troubleshooting internal issues that we do have customers. Currently we do use Sauce Labs with JIRA integration which easily allows us to keep track of the tickets that we are sending to a technical team on the half of our clients that utilize our software. It also allows our technical team to use that interface to investigate what's going on in the background for the issues that our clients AK and users are facing.

It's also well suited for educational purposes, because you get to use Sauce University as well as attend any boot camps to continue to broaden your knowledge and become a stronger technological resource in the company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 01, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Testing Automation at its Finest"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sauce Labs is used across the organization on many consumer-facing teams. It is our primary method of regression testing, freeing QA resources up from manual testing. Sauce Labs also takes into account the infrastructure aspect, which is a huge time/cost sink if an organization would have to build that in-house.
  • Infrastructure as a service - we do not need to worry about spinning up machines or VMs.
  • Scalable based on demands of the company.
  • View recordings of the automated tests.
  • Live manual test support.
  • Mobile device support.
  • UI not the most responsive.
  • SauceConnect tunnel sometimes fails for no reason.
Great for automating your QA test/regression use cases, especially for frontend (including web and mobile). Great for integrating with CI/CD (continuous integration continuous delivery) pipelines like Jenkins. Comes with a built-in Jenkins plugin that makes the integration easy. SauceConnect allows tunneling to internal sites, which allow this to be leveraged for both production facing and internal/dev sites.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 26, 2019

Sauce Labs Review: "The best in the business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Sauce Labs as our third-party provider for cross-browser testing. There are a lot of devices and mobiles out there. Even though we can manage to purchase a variety of devices in our lab, we sometimes run into issues when we are not actually having an un-common device/phone to test. That's how Sauce Labs comes into the picture. With a lot of real vs virtual devices, Sauce Labs helps a lot with debugging and testing across multiple devices, which reduces the cost of purchasing new real devices.
  • Real vs Virtual Devices
  • Tunneled connection for firewalled website
  • Well-documented wiki
  • Always keep up with new technologies
  • The ability to share the account with other colleagues without sharing the actual password
  • Should populate the most frequently used devices to the top instead of a static dropdown list
Sauce Labs can be utilized by any department and it's very easy to use, either automated or in manual testing. If you are planning to increase the coverage of responsive design, Sauce Labs provides you a list of many actual devices to test from. For automation, the setup is very seamless and you don't need to have a good experience with Sauce Labs to do so.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Testing made easy and quick."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Sauce Labs integrated with our automated testing platform for front-end testing of Salesforce applications. That involved both SFDC B2C and B2B applications.
  • Comprehensive platform coverage including all the browsers and operating systems we were looking for. We did not test anything on mobile.
  • It saved time on the regression test cycle time and enabled quicker releases to production.
  • Video recordings of the test execution were very helpful to triage failures and resolve.
  • Cost could be lower - some of the team members felt Sauce Labs was a little expensive but I do not have more details on that.
I recommend Sauce Labs for the fact that how quickly we can create test environments with this and the ability to have videos and screenshots of tests along with live viewing of videos as tests are executed which helps to quickly come to know about any issue even before the test execution is completed.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 22, 2018

"A Sauce labs review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Automated UI tests are all currently running on Sauce Labs and Testobject. It solves the issue of having to maintain a server that runs emulators/simulators.
  • The devices are really up to date. For example, the latest iPhone became part of the list almost as soon as it was released.
  • Ability to tunnel to a different location so you can run tests on a specific region.
  • Customer support is quite responsive.
  • Testobject analytics - we've had a hard time ordering tests
  • Test start time - sometimes takes a while to upload an app to a device and start test execution
  • Price - it's a bit on the expensive side
Sauce Labs is really good if your use case requires you to test on multiple devices with different OS, as their list of devices is quite big. You won't have to maintain the list (as Sauce Labs already does that for you,) so you just have to worry about writing your tests.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Using SauceLabs enterprise-wide"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Run UI bases tests to mimic actual browser on variety of devices.
  • Multiple browsers, Multiple OS available for running tests.
  • Difficult to maintain these server farm in-house.
  • Someone maintains the server farm for us and provides as SaaS offering.
  • Tests take longer to run as compared to in-house. This makes overall tests suite completing slow, slowing our deployment time.
Best suited - want to quickly get started with multiple platform tests.
Least suited - where your test suite used to run for hours, it will now take days.
Read this authenticated review
Jayson Smith profile photo
August 17, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Pros with some cons, but absolutely mostly pros!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company has used Sauce to automate the verification of video playback across multiple platforms and environments across desktop to mobile. Right now, it's only used by myself for a subset of teams. Video is a really tough thing to work with as it's very subjective and can be very time consuming to test. Being able to automate at least part of it gives us the ability to spend more time on other tasks.
  • Customer communication - My account team and support are always responsive and helpful!
  • Staying up to date including day one support for some things.
  • Receiving feedback. I've had several meetings with Product to discuss my pain points, future wants, etc.
  • Sometimes things can be finicky
  • Connection speeds haven't always been great
For scenarios/teams that have the appropriate budget for a premium product, Sauce is definitely the route to go. Also, for teams that value folks that sponsor the OSS libraries they use and having that expertise on their team, Sauce is a great choice. I suppose if you're super strapped, don't put value in the above, or care about communication, they may not be a wise fit.
Read Jayson Smith's full review
Randall Kelley profile photo
July 25, 2018

Review: "Get on the Sauce! Sauce Labs will make your automation life A LOT easier!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sauce Labs when we're running our regression test suite against a multitude of OS and browser combinations for our core web product. We are able to easily spin up virtual machines that contain a specific OS along with either the latest, beta or older version of the browsers we support with our app. This saves us a lot of maintenance and support issues with our test environments.
  • Greatest strength of Sauce Labs to me is the ease of spinning up a clean virtual machine with the desired OS and browser combination.
  • Sauce Labs support has been great! When I've run into issues whether it's from my own code issue or something on their side, they have been very responsive and helpful.
  • The ability to scale up or down our needs from Sauce Labs has been great. As we build out more automation, we have a larger need of Sauce Labs services and it's been so simple to do. Need more parallel VMs? No problem. Need more automation time each month? No problem. It's all done almost instantly.
  • My main area of concern that could be improved is the cost of the real mobile device farm offered. I have tried it out and it's great! I want to use it for most of my mobile automation, but can't justify the cost.....yet. Once more and more tests are created on my side along with a need to cover more devices then maybe it will work.
  • A minor area that could be improved would be the responsiveness of the video stream of active tests. Sometimes I need to refresh the browser to get the video to come on or update.
  • Another area of improvement would be the speed that tests can run. This has improved since I first started using Sauce Labs, but don't we all want everything, right now, immediately? I'm asking for the world, but you asked!
When there is a need to run tests against many different OS and browser combinations, but don't want to take resources away from other tasks to constantly maintain, build and support this type of infrastructure then Sauce Labs would be a perfect option. Sauce Labs has been less helpful when I've been doing mobile automation and I need to have device passcode and being able to push notifications. This may be possible now or in the future, but wasn't when I first looked into it.
We have been able to test on different OS and browser combinations that we were not able to before. Yes, we could have eventually built virtual machine's with what we needed, but we didn't have the resources in place when we needed it and Sauce Labs gave us a quick way to get this started and still use today. This has given us better quality and definitely made us more efficient which in turn gets us to market quicker. It's a win all around!
Read Randall Kelley's full review
Deon Cravalho profile photo
July 16, 2018

User Review: "Sauce Labs is the way to go!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sauce Labs to run all of our automated tests on the VMs, primarily being used by the QA Engineering team. We have web/front-end tests consuming VMs, as well as mobile tests.
  • Always up and running: I'd say 99.9% it's up and running, as I've rarely experienced any down time with their VM farm machines.
  • Reliable: we run our automated tests on their VMs at least every hour, around the clock, and their service is very reliable and working properly.
  • Community: good online community of other people using Sauce Labs with tips/tricks; often see Sauce Labs at conferences and it's nice to talk with them about what they have planned (new features).
  • Reporting: overall reporting over a time period used to be an issue, but there new feature to support this is getting there and improving.
  • Logs: I don't find their logs very useful for front-end web tests, I usually refer to my own logs if I have a bug/issue/error that needs investigation.
  • Cost: it's a little bit pricey, but I don't pay the bill so I'm not complaining too much there. Overall, I'd say the price isn't ridiculous but it's not inexpensive.
I used to manage my own set of VMs and it was a major time-consuming task, complicated by trying to make sure they were always up/running. Now using Sauce Labs, this is no longer an issue as their VMs are up virtually all the time. This allows me to do more coding and less of the hectic VM management.
Read Deon Cravalho's full review
Michael Chang profile photo
July 06, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Effective"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have recommended Sauce to several clients I supported as a consultant of test automation services. It solves the problem of streamlining mobile automation results in a timely fashion. The Sauce Labs platform affords users the ability to execute a variety of test suites on multiple devices, even in parallel. Clients I have talked to want results more quickly during each development sprint.
  • Real device cloud is a much needed feature, and Sauce delivers.
  • We are in the process of evaluating Sauce Labs for real device testing.
  • The biggest strength of Sauce Labs is very easy to configure.
  • Many time performance of the execution is really slow, especially when connected with Sauce Connect.
  • need to support video playback on
  • No real device cloud access for open source projects.
  • Eliminate testing as a bottleneck
  • Improve quality by increasing browser/OS/device coverage
  • Move from waterfall to agile methodology
Read Michael Chang's full review
Vignesh Viswanathan profile photo
June 19, 2018

Review: "Automate your cross-browser testing with Sauce Labs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several teams that have a User Interface (UI) are planning to use Sauce Labs to test on different browsers and ensure functionality is working as expected. It helps us do cross-browser testing and mobile testing on both emulators as well as real devices. They have a great collection of real devices and I was able to find the latest Android and iOS devices.
  • Many versions (includes older versions) of popular browsers like (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Edge etc.) are available
  • Great collection of real mobile devices available for testing
  • Works well with CI tools like Jenkins, CircleCI etc.
  • Has support for many programming languages like C#, Java, Python, Ruby etc.
  • Identifying flakey tests, slow tests can prove to be really useful
  • Live testing on VMs is slow i.e. there is a lag for the browser to perform actions after actually performing them
  • The metrics provided are very basic. This could be improved
Sauce Labs is well suited to test user interfaces on different browsers and on mobile devices. Sauce Labs may not be helpful if you do not use one of the programming languages supported by Sauce Labs. It is also not useful to you if your application does not have a UI (User Interface).
Read Vignesh Viswanathan's full review
Yao Di profile photo
June 13, 2018

User Review: "How you evaluate Sauce Labs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Sauce Labs to execute our automation scripts in parallel, and it's being used by the QA department for the moment. It gave us the flexibility to shorten our automation suites' execution time from 6 hours to 30 minutes. And we do not need to maintain those VM machines we are using, which saves a lot of time/resources as well.
  • They recorded the execution videos and you could play back and check the failure in time
  • Their help desk and customer support team are very helpful, always ready to answer any questions/issues you have while using their product
  • It's very easy to integrate Sauce Labs to almost very CI tools you are using
  • If you are using Selenium as the main automation tool in your organization, their VMs might not support the latest Selenium3 code
  • It's not that easy for debugging failures on Sauce Labs side, though all the test scripts are passing through our local machine
Their customer support team is very professional and prompt to answer the questions you have while using their product, and the on-boarding process is very smooth. But their feature release sometimes broke our automation scripts, though the scripts were passing in our local machine.
Read Yao Di's full review
Jean Carlos Diaz Freytes profile photo
August 31, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Test in the cloud"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Continuous, deep, left-shifted testing executed in a CI/CD pipeline as a quality gate for build promotion into higher environments. Access to browsers, platforms, and devices for manual or automated testing we do not have physical access to. A platform for executing real browser tests that we cannot implement or maintain internally in a cost-effective manner.
  • Willow is generally compatible with the latest version of Appium, pretty fast
  • We use Sauce Labs to run a test on multiple devices (simulators).
  • We use Sauce Labs to execute automation scripts in different browsers in the cloud
  • There is not much information on what is causing the issue but it works when I restart it. It would also be nice if the tests are a little faster since the time for the tests to complete is a bit slow
  • The main point that I have actually dealt with was the cloud service is a bit sluggish. Often when I run it, it takes a substantially long period of time to finish executions. It is bit sluggish and took at some point to carry out action
We solved the following problems:
  • Reproduce user's bugs or problems in a certain platform, OS version, Browser, and version.
  • Cross-browsing tests.
  • Run in a remote browser our E2e tests, in an isolated context, not our CI content. Sauce helps us to improve our CI build duration and let us forget about Selenium grid maintenance.
Read Jean Carlos Diaz Freytes's full review
Alexander Cassar profile photo
August 17, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Simple way to run tests on multiple platform/browser combinations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sauce Labs is used by our QA team during the app development process. We have integrated it with our build pipeline, where it runs our automated regression tests against multiple different browsers in order to make sure our app's core functions work on all platforms. It saves us a ton of time and headache from having to perform the same test multiple times on every browser, and from needing to use our own personal VM's for windows and internet explorer.
  • Easy to integrate with other automation processes such as selenium and Jenkins
  • Has a large range of platform/browser combinations to chose from, even mobile
  • It could be a little faster
Sauce Labs is all about making the testing process easier. So yes, could you go and download multiple browsers, on many different types of VM's? Yes, but it would be a huge headache. Sauce Labs is a one-stop shop, easy to use tool for all of that. Perhaps it would be less appropriate to use Sauce Labs if you have one specific test case you're trying to run against a browser/platform you already have access to.
Read Alexander Cassar's full review
Himanshu Singal profile photo
July 18, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Increase test coverage and improve user experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the QA department. It saves time to verify and access all devices. One portal for all devices makes it easy for all quality assurance engineers to test and ship fast. It improved our organization by reducing escaped bugs. The best part of Sauce Lab for the whole QA team is that they will test on the same set of devices and test are captured even for manual.
  • Different OS
  • Fast and reliable
  • Different browsers
  • Save money on devices
  • Add more real devices
Suited:
  1. Test the same feature in multiple devices and browsers
  2. Test feature in older versions and even older OS versions are present which make it awesome.
  3. Save time to upgrade your real device. Emulators in Sauce Labs are readily available
  4. Test dashboard and capture manual execution video
Not suited:
  1. Less real time devices
  2. Some features are better to test in real device
Read Himanshu Singal's full review
Julio Gomez Ramirez profile photo
July 06, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Amazing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sauce Labs has been very [important] to our project. We have used Sauce Labs to run our CI builds for both mobile and desktop web applications, as well as for nightly regression builds. The only reason we have stopped using Sauce Labs is due to project budget and the removal of an automated QA Resource. Still, we have hooked up a pretty spiffy Jenkins, Sauce, and several 3rd party web-metric systems (such as YSlow or Pagespeed) to capture a nightly set of performance data.
  • As an advocate for the unit and functional testing, I can safely say that Sauce Labs has been the reason we have been successful in catching several major and minor regression issues before they ever made their way into production.
  • There is still some integration to go with Github and several other similar tools.. but Sauce is already appearing to be on that track. With all of the innovations they have made over the past year and a half, I am really looking forward to the changes they have planned for the future.
We capture bugs before they make it to production and once the setup is done, the automation tester gets to focus on what the job title says they ought to focus on: automation testing. Without worrying about infrastructure, we really hit the nail on the head and let our testers shine... and ultimately be more effective as testers.
Read Julio Gomez Ramirez's full review
Zukky Baig profile photo
June 05, 2018

"Quick review of Sauce Labs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is using Sauce Labs across our organisation. We have many different product teams that rely on a frontend, which is public facing and has a throughput of millions of customers. It is imperative that we have tests that are reliable and fast to ensure we haven't introduced a regression bug in our development. We have it running in our continuous integration pipelines, which we use on per 'push' of code to our master branch. And I have to say, Sauce Labs delivers. It is fast, reliable and allows me to scale to a different testing browser/device quickly and easily.
  • Easy to run a Selenium test on a device. Add 3-4 capabilities, pass it into a driver instance, and boom. You are connected to Sauce Labs.
  • Screenshots, videos, network logs, build monitoring, it's got a lot of tools that make it easy to debug a test and figure out what in the AUT is causing test failure.
  • Uptime is high, we rarely have problems with their services.
  • Mobile and tablet devices use emulators, which are extremely slow. The reason why they are slow is because they boot up a fresh VM on each test run. This adds minutes to a test, even if the test is 10s long. If there was a way whereby we could run a test on VM's which are already booted and ready to go, it will save immense amounts of time.
  • Cookie view for a test: we manipulate areas of the cookies at times for debugging. It makes life easier if a snapshot of cookies with their key:values are stored in the Sauce Labs test run dashboard for viewing. This would aid us in saving much time.
  • You can have a licence of 50 virtual machines and 5 accounts who share these 50 VMs. However, when you are logged into one of these accounts, and run i.e. 49 tests and then log in to another account, it still shows 50 VM's free when that is not the case. This causes other tests on other accounts to fail, which makes teams lose faith not only in Sauce Labs but in the test frameworks. I wish this area was more visible to all accounts and handled better in the console output.
It has many devices and browsers with different configurations for different OS, which are easy to hook your test harness up to. Add to the fact that it has many debugging options and is customisable, you have a good candidate for a stable cross-device testing platform.
Read Zukky Baig's full review
Nelson Freytes profile photo
August 17, 2018

Sauce Labs: "Review in the cloud"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization does all the necessary tests and faster than many other programs.
  • Mobile testing with Appium
  • Recording of all test runs
  • Adopting new technologies like XCUITest and Espresso allow for the use of industry standard tools in test automation
  • Having access to browsers and devices in beta would be ideal
  • They have been having increased unexpected downtime lately. This is interruptive at times.
It makes our lives much easier since we do not have to maintain multiple browsers and WebDrivers to perform tests.
Read Nelson Freytes's full review
No photo available
June 13, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "This Sauce is good, but needs a little more flavor"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sauce is primarily being used by our Digital team for mobile and browser-based testing. As a financial services firm, we have tight restrictions on what browser/OS combinations that can be installed on in-house machines. Sauce Labs provides us the ability to test on primary browser/OS combinations that our customers use.
  • Wide and deep offerings of browser and OS combinations
  • Quick support for new releases versions of browsers
  • Includes mobile emulators
  • Supports both manual and automated testing
  • Recent stability issues and outages
  • Lack of deep technical support for Windows-based Sauce Connect Tunnels
  • The online dashboard provides basic data, but in-depth analysis and drill down is not possible. We run over 10,000 tests a day and can be difficult to find patterns on errors and failed tests
Great capability for supporting automated regression test suites and manual testing across our organization. The technical support team has been very attentive and willing to meet to work with us, but at times their knowledge of running the tunnels on Windows servers is lacking. Our attempts to leverage it for our CI/CD pipeline testing with quality gates have not been successful due to sauce labs stability issues, tunnel issues and security restrictions on our side.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 13, 2018

Sauce Labs Review: "Good infrastructure for automated testing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization for cross-browser testing and automated web flow. We had lots of UI components which has to be tested across browsers. Also we are using mobile testing for Android and iPhone devices.
  • Sauce Labs enables easy debugging by providing video for the test case, Selenium log and step by step command.
  • Accessing Sauce Labs is easy, I mean good documentation
  • Email notifications when in Sauce Labs have maintenance activity
  • Customer support ticket should be responded faster
  • Mostly every weekend has maintenance activity, if it is reduced it will be good
If customer wants to test automated cross-browser testing and mobile test, then Sauce Labs will suite them well.
Read this authenticated review

About Sauce Labs

Sauce Labs is a cloud-based platform for automated testing of desktop and mobile applications. It is designed to be instantly scalable, since it is optimized for continuous integration workflows. (The vendor says that when tests are automated and run in parallel on multiple virtual machines across many different browser, platform and device combinations, testing time is reduced and developer time is freed up from managing infrastructure.) The Sauce Labs testing cloud is intended to be paired with a CI system. According to the vendor, this combination allows developers to easily test desktop and hybrid, native and mobile web applications early on in their development cycles, continuously and affordably.

Sauce Labs provides enterprise-grade security via Sauce Connect™, its secure tunneling protocol for testing behind a firewall while maintaining control of proxy and access policies. Tests are run in the company’s secure data center and VMs are destroyed (not “wiped”) after each run, ensuring customer data is never exposed to future sessions. After tests are completed the Sauce Labs’ dashboard provides a unique build-oriented report with metadata, access to Selenium logs, screenshots, video recordings, and a complete list of commands and responses. Support for SSO lets customers provision new user accounts on the fly with centralized user account management, access control, and usage reporting.

Sauce Labs Features

Has featureAutomated Cross-Browser Testing
Has featureAutomated Mobile Testing
Has featureManual Testing
Has featureReal device cloud
Has featureIntegrations with all CI servers and JIRA
Has featureEnterprise Security
Has featureProprietary Data Center
Has featureSupport for Selenium, Appium and JUnit Testing
Has featureProfessional Services & Onboarding
Has featureInstructor-led Selenium and Appium training

Sauce Labs Screenshots

Sauce Labs Integrations

Sauce Labs Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Free service available for Open Source projects.

Sauce Labs Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Sauce Labs Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No