McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator Reviews

41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 24, 2021
Angel Iani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator is used throughout the organization. It has been used for years. Because we are a Defense Contractor we rely heavily on all the benefits that EPO provides from real time virus scanning to usb peripheral detection. It is used both on the classified and unclassified sides.
  • It integrates well with Splunk
  • You get email alerts
  • It can easily manage users and groups through System Tree
  • Deployment is easy
  • DLP for USB devices
  • You can update from a single console
  • Not easy to master every component
  • Won't catch 0 Day threats
  • High CPU utilization
  • Console can be very busy looking for a new user
McAffee ePolicy Orchestrator is very well suited in large environments. You can load your updates to the repository and deploy them to every node on your network. It has great reporting and auditing features. You can control your users and groups all from the System Tree. DLP is great for USB devices. You can restrict all the ports on a computer and open them up for a limited time to plug in a device. EPO is to bulky for small networks.
Read Angel Iani's full review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator was used as a Management Console for all our AV endpoints agents, including workstations, laptops and servers.
The goal was to have a robust AV solution that will provide well know protection against malware [and] viruses.
We needed a Centralized Solution, capable to deploy the agents across network and create alerts on Handled/Unhandled events.
  • Protect endpoints from malware, viruses.
  • Robust agent deployment capabilities.
  • Management dashboards.
  • Very complex configuration, can be difficult to implement.
  • Database usage.
  • Hardware resources usage.
Very good protection.
It comes with the basic protection, called Endpoint Security (which can be another thing to review).
If you want to go more granular, like Firewall, Web-Control, it has to be decided before buying the license.
But all those products [are] worth the investment.
Lacking on some compatibility, ex. WEBControl can be disabled from the Browsers (except IE), still place for improvement.
Hardware resources can use all endpoint resources if not configured properly.
Read this authenticated review
September 02, 2020
Harmesh Trivedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the major things we use it for is USB storage file access. We use this for the whitelisted process, to tag endpoints with additional tasks for remediation, and to quarantine the endpoint or systems with restricted policies.
  • Centralized security management
  • Dashboarding and single point to fetch reports
  • Supporting third-party with API integration
  • Need in-depth on KBs because there is dependency on support for even petty issues
  • Scanning of systems at times increases CPU utilization
  • GUI can be made little more easy and smooth
McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator is best suited for the enterprise environment. If you have other McAfee products in the organization, then it is very good to have such tool in place to manage products. Helps in maintaining security posture as per organization policy by installing agents.
Support is quite knowledgeable and promptly responds to concerns. If there is a time delay, they help with workarounds and later do the patching or hotfix as available.
Read Harmesh Trivedi's full review
March 13, 2020
Tiago Mokwa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee ePO was deployed in 2014 after many occurrences of crypto locker attacks worldwide. It was deployed to all our domain machines, with Antivirus and Agents. It is constantly monitored and updated. This provided a real-time protection to all our users in different locations. It was deployed to all departments and it provides the extra security any business need nowadays. I can confirm it was able to catch many instances of malicious files that users tried to open or execute addressing the issues where users unintentionally open phishing scam emails believing their content. A must for every company.
  • Real-time protection with daily DATA updates.
  • Visibility to which machine had a potential occurrence.
  • Ability to create your own personalized protection rules.
  • Due to Microsoft Windows Updates, support and KB articles are a must.
  • Deployment tasks might need a lot of configurations before.
  • ePO upgrade requires a lot of preparation steps.
I would definitely recommend McAfee ePO to all companies and all IT admins/managers as a must-have to ensure the protection of the company network and data. Nowadays malicious files are evolving every day and a good system security is necessary as one of the protections, especially regarding users, as even the best spam protections can not guarantee it.
McAfee support is definitely GREAT! It is one of the best technical support on a business level. GOLD support is recommended to business. Their website is easy and quick to create a ticket. Their technical team usually responds right away with an email or call. Via call and web they provide a full and complete support until the issue is resolved. The best, most of the time they explain in detail what is the issue, the reason and how to resolve it.
Read Tiago Mokwa's full review
February 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator server is used to set and enforce policy for McAfee Host Protection (VirusScan, etc.), Site Advisor, and McAfee Disk Encryption enterprise-wide. The agent also gives us information on host hardware and software, location, etc. We also use it to generate reports regarding disk space and other info.
  • Applies the policy settings for the selected group
  • Keeps the hosts updated well, in general
  • Allows update of available software from within the management console
  • Assigns and runs ongoing tasks with little need for intervention
  • Provides quick high-level view of systems
  • In general, the upgrades are not easy and often fraught with errors and difficulties.
  • When there is an issue, it usually requires McAfee support to get involved.
  • Keeping track of what software updates need to be installed is often confusing.
Any group with any amount of PCs over 25 to 50, is well placed to take advantage of McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator. McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator might not be well suited for very small organizations.
Overall, McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator server is a great product that we have been using for years. Support for McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator can sometimes be confusing. We first have to determine whether the issue is actually the server, or if it is an issue with the product being managed.
Read this authenticated review
December 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee EPO is used across our entire organization, it centrally manages the AV and protects every server and workstation we have. It's a single pane of glass to manage updating and provisioning of our corporate AV solution. It's used to protect both servers and workstations against malware and can detect more targeted attacks.
  • Centrally manages AV - the management tools are excellent.
  • Allows policy creation and deployment.
  • Non-Windows client support is patchy. Linux versions do work - sometimes.
  • GUI is not that intuitive.
McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator is great for centrally managing a fleet of Windows servers and workstations. It does offer multi-OS support, but Linux clients tend to have more issues than Windows clients. Initially, excluded paths need to be set, and on Windows, it's pretty solid after that part gets dialed in right.
McAfee enterprise support is pretty responsive when you need to get hold of them. It can take a few emails back-and-forth before you get to the right person/team, but once you do, they're very knowledgeable and helpful. They've certainly resolved every issue I've raised with them in a reasonably fast time.
Read this authenticated review
June 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator provides security and great end-user service. For us, the implementation and deployment was fast with the support from the vendor. Very good features and customization. Very secure applications that help us to protect data from threats. Awesome tool for security threat prevention and this detects threats perfectly. This is one of the best products around the market.

  • Threat detection and protection
  • Very good reporting and auditing
  • Good policy configuration and customization
  • Easy to detect rogue devices
  • Training is needed to fully understand and utilize all the features of the product.
  • Use documentation can be more detailed
  • No other problems
What I like the most is the fact that McAfee tries many different approaches to hit its target, securing the customers. Its feature-rich reporting, dashboarding, and deployment tools are very useful. The engine is just smarter and the processor performance is very much improved. Summary Centralized control of agents to prevent local users from overriding settings is very beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2019
Ashley Babiarz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This program allows my company to make sure that computers are properly managed and up to date before adding them back into the domain. This can prevent issues with computers that have outdated antivirus software being a part of the domain. This could potentially affect other machines by potentially spreading malware and other viruses to other machines in the domain.
  • Managing machines on the domain
  • Making sure all machines have up to date antivirus
  • Allowing us to block computers from the domain that are a potential threat
  • More advanced search options
  • Ability to automatically remove computers if they aren't active for a certain time
  • Ability to customize home screen per user
This is good for larger companies, especially ones with multiple locations. I think this would be less applicable to smaller companies with only a few machines.
Read Ashley Babiarz's full review
January 29, 2018
Philip Clarke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted a way of having a single console to cover most of our security management and McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator has an easy to use and informative dashboard approach that lets you build a single pane of glass view is so desired. Multi-consoles didn't allow the efficiencies of the department to be made and became an overhead and a bottleneck when trying to discover areas of concern.
  • A unified dashboard view provides security intelligence across different endpoints.
  • Allowed us to access our third party IT infrastructure from a single security management console.
  • Where workflows were cumbersome and messy this allowed them to be more streamlined.
  • Setup was more time consuming than expected.
  • Consolidated with McAfee products better than other vendor products.
  • Support for lesser-known vendors was not available.
As quite a few of McAfee's products are owned within the organisation it made sense to review ePolicy Orchestrator. Once the decision was made to go with this product it brought together various data streams from otherwise standalone products and gave us a single view of where possible problems existed or where possible problems could exist.
Read Philip Clarke's full review
April 03, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee is used throughout our organization as an endpoint in defending organization machines from various threats. McAfee helps us in detecting the malware or threats and deletes them automatically with its updated signatures. The installation is also super simple and keeps our machines alive from various virus/Trojans which are building daily across the world.
  • We can deploy easily to wide range of machines across the organization using ePolicy Orchestrator.
  • Easily manageable and better UI which helps users understand what is the machine, what kind of OS it has, what are the detections it found in that machine, and what are the things that are blocked.
  • McAfee helps us in detecting threats across the machines with rogue sensors which will be used in detection of unmanaged systems in the organization.
  • It has a slow mechanism when adding custom threat feeds. For example, if McAfee didn't have a signature or detection about a new virus and we try to add it to our console it is like a really big process in adding that to our available signatures.
  • Whenever a scan is performed, the system CPU utilization goes up 100 percent.
  • Installation fails due to difference in timestamp when we try to shuffle between packages.
MCAfee is really great end protection to any sort of organization but there is only one scenario I really feel it is inappropriate. Whenever a scan is performed, the system CPU utilization goes up 100 percent. This is one of the priority cases where McAfee needs to optimize system performance and also add customized threat feeds. If these two things are fixed, then I would definitely give a 10 to McAfee.
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator to manage all our McAfee Antivirus and DLP endpoint sensors across our whole organization. McAfee has been used here to provide on-access scanning for malware, static scanning after business hours and is also being used to prevent users from accessing USB Devices and removable media. McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator has also been used to manage our Exchange MSME software policies and other configuration settings. We also use McAfee's SiteAdvisor to provide an extra layer of protection for the end users web browser. McAfee ePO provides one pane of glass to manage our corporations malware protection.
  • Static malware scans for known bad processes and files works well and can be schedules on endpoints easily
  • Preventing users from accessing USB drives and other peripherals is easily configured. We can also allow users to access to USB drives with user codes for the times they need it for business reasons.
  • ePO provides access into our MSME software so that we're not managing many different products from different locations.
  • In recent years the console has gotten much easier to navigate even though there is a ton of information to be accessed.
  • Within DLP the email alerting you cannot stipulate specific vendor id's or types of devices to alert on. It will just alert on everything no if it gets hit by any policy.
  • Because the scans are for static/known processes and files you will not be protected by unknown/0-day malware.
  • There have been many times that a DAT update will find and alert very old .js files and it never caught before and are many times flagged as Artemis generic. The FP rate could be improved upon.
  • Price, it's fairly expensive.
If you're looking for a well established product that many other products integrate with, McAfee ePO is a good choice. It provides one pane of glass to your protection infrastructure; DLP, antivirus, email protection, etc. The product, however, will NOT handle unknown/0-day threats which can be an issue in many organizations where they may be hit with ransomware targeted directly at them.
Read this authenticated review
September 02, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across the whole organization. McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator is providing us with anti-virus, host intrusion protection, and a way to manage all of our PCs through one console.
  • Systems Manager. We are able to view all the systems in our environment in one dashboard. This gives us the chance to see when PCs last communicated with our McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator (ePO) server and if they are up to date on their virus definitions.
  • Ease of pushing out anti-virus to our endpoints.
  • Agentless Virtual Machine anti-virus. No need to have anti-virus on the VM it goes on the ESXi host which scans the datastores.
  • Clunky interface.
  • Lots of information but not presented neatly.
  • More configuration needed to stop some of the bigger exploits.

It's great for managing a large company with a lot of endpoints. It's a great way to feel confident that your environment is secure. It gives a great perspective of what is happening in your environment and helps to pinpoint any suspicious activity that is going on.

It's not very appropriate for smaller organizations. Unless there is a dedicated person working through it all day it could become overwhelming for a small team.

Read this authenticated review

McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator Scorecard Summary

What is McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator?

McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator (McAfee ePO) software centralizes and streamlines management of endpoint, network, data security, and compliance solutions.

McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No