Splunk Enterprise Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
293 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 60)

Fraser Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Splunk Enterprise - Log collection & aggregation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk was initially purchased to be our replacement for our syslog server, but it has grown into much much more and this is because of how easy it is to get logs into Splunk and the flexibility of what can be done with those logs.
We are now using it as a security tool, ingesting logs from lots of different sources and even our cloud platforms.
Currently it is just our IT team that use Splunk.
  • Dashboards/visualisations.
  • Can ingest any type of data.
  • Flexibility with filtering, etc.
  • Steep learning curve.
  • Full stack reporting (though with SignalFX being purchased by Splunk, this is clearly a high priority).
  • Team needed to manage large installations.
Splunk is excellent in most situations where log collection and aggregation is needed. It can work as a small scale syslog server and be built on from that.
The obvious wall is the cost of the product and for that reason I would say smaller businesses would not be suited to this as there are free solutions that could bridge this gap.
Read Fraser Clark's full review
ShuYun Du | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Splunk is a single tool that does everything

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Splunk to integrate all the logs for each of the applications. Building dashboards and alerts base on the logs by the Application team's requirement. The Application team will be able to search through their log from one centralized place rather than logging into multiple servers to try to define the issue manually. With the Splunk search language, it is very easy to look for possible errors within a certain time frame. Our organization also use Splunk for fraud investigation purpose. We have more than 100 application teams using Splunk today and most of them are using it for troubleshooting purposes when there is an issue that has occurred.
  • Log mining.
  • Able to consume multiple log sources.
  • Provides the possibility to upgrade the Splunk UF from a deployment server.
  • Splunk search language can be very expensive if the users do not know what they are doing.
Splunk is the best tool to use for log mining. It is also good at combining multiple sources of logs together and creates a single pane of glass. It can do lots of APM monitoring however at the end of the day it is more of a log mining tool but not an APM tool. It is best to use for business analyzing, debugging and fraud investigation. When it comes to monitoring part, get a proper APM tool will be a better idea.
Read ShuYun Du's full review
Daniel Garrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Splunk-ing across the Enterprise

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is utilized for creation of dashboards and log queries across many areas.
  • Quick log queries across different types of infrastructure
  • Adaptable dashboards for digesting large amounts of continuous data
  • Easy access and sharing of information via URL links
  • Building Splunk queries can be comber some without intricate knowledge of Splunk and the applications involved
  • Dashboard duplication for different areas can be difficult
  • Capturing all necessary data from cloud platforms is not always straightforward
Real-time and historical log research is a glowing achievement for Splunk. Splunk is also quite effective at dashboard creation and presentation with high level or more granular investigation possible.
Read Daniel Garrett's full review
Ahmet Fatih IRKLI | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

One Splunk to rule them all!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used across the whole department in our organization for Security information
and event management. It improves our security aspect of the assets by collecting logs. Splunk offers log collection from all types of assets in the environment varying from vulnerability scanning tools to network devices. Centralizing all these logs and managing them from one place is the real deal. It manages huge amounts of log data with a robust operation. Every day our environment creates dozens of logs and Splunk enables us to
see anomalies with alarms.
  • Maximize endpoint logging.
  • Can find and store logs from all types of assets.
  • Customization of dashboards.
  • Creating apps based on your needs.
  • Alarm feature alerts relevant people in the organization.
  • Data visualization.
  • Search queries can be saved for future or even can be converted to apps.
  • Slow interface.
I definitely recommend Splunk Enterprise to security and network teams as it is perfectly scalable for any size environment.
  • Network teams can easily see if there is a problem with the network device.
  • The security team can easily be notified about anomalies that may due to an intrusion.
  • The support team can follow the situation of assets and tools.
  • It can be integrated with most of the tools available on the market.
Read Ahmet Fatih IRKLI's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2020

Splunk leads the pack

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is our one stop shop for all log data. We send logs from everything from servers, routers, firewalls, switches, sans and applications there to be analyzed and reviewed by different teams. This solves a critical issue by ensuring all teams are working from the same information. Prior to consolidating onto Splunk a number of different sources of truth leading different teams to work with different information.
  • Single source of truth for all log files.
  • Alerting system based on captured log data.
  • Reporting/Dashboard system to present data.
  • Complex overall architecture.
  • Long implementation time.
  • High cost.
  • Requires on-going staff time to keep running effectively.
Splunk is a great fit for organizations that need to consolidate log data. It's also a great fit for organizations that need to provide access to data to different teams of engineers. We send all of our log data to Splunk, index and report on it then provide access to different teams based on need.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Splunk Enterprise review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently our bank has different departments with their own Splunk infrastructure. We are currently building a larger infrastructure to incorporate all departments to join this centralized infrastructure with Splunk Enterprise. As Splunk is used for log analyzing, it is used for reports on different metrics built from logs collected from different servers. We try to consolidate the logs and put results onto a more centralized data center set as well.
  • Log analyzing.
  • Reports.
  • Forecast (ML model).
  • Stability on some components (e.g. indexers).
  • Complexity of install and maintenance of infrastructure.
Splunk is good for log analyzing from enterprise level of applications on different logs and consolidating results as reports. We can use such data to make forecasts for future trends if issues would occur more or less frequently.

Setup and maintenance would not be easy, so always plan ahead. Also always do health check for stability on some of the Splunk components such as indexers and HFs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Won't you take me to Splunkytown

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Splunk Enterprise to assist us with IT Operations and IT Security. We came to look at Splunk because when I entered the company I found over 500 devices with no centralized logging in any way, no ability to pinpoint problems across the whole organization whether historic or predictable and things like this. Splunk is helping us deliver a predictable, robust operation of our infrastructure instead of reacting to problems and working to find just what was affected and when.

We believe we can apply Splunk to other data, in time, specifically aiding the company with analyzing financial information, but this is not yet an active project.
  • Fast, efficient
  • Solid community of experts and training materials
  • Ingests data from many sources, with a large number of partner relationships
  • There is a high learning curve. If you go to a Splunk demo or class, get inspired, then install it yourself, you'll have no idea what you're meant to do. It's not intuitive to the first-time user in any way.
  • Pricing can be confusing. People ask how much data you want to ingest, and you don't know until after you've been using Splunk. It's not easy to sign up and start without guesswork.
  • I found online help pages are broken or out-of-date, or incomplete. e.g. pages on setting up the Java-based SQL Server driver don't even tell you where to download it or where to install it.
Splunk Enterprise is well-suited for any requirement to aggregate vast sums of data, no matter how structured or unstructured, and search across it all at speed, or report on it with visualizations, etc.

It's not suited for scenarios where you want to report on a single set of data, say, in a traditional way, for example, a typical scheduled report out of a finance system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Excellent product for our cybersecurity team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise has been used by our Cybersecurity Department for almost five years to be the single dashboard for our Security Incident and Event Monitoring. On top of that, we are also using the Enterprise Security, and it helps us to focus on the most notable events that need to be followed up asap.
  • Central dashboard for all logs
  • Enterprise Security
  • Better dashboard graphics
Splunk Enterprise is very well suited for correlating all the logs that need to be monitored and to be analyzed. It has performed very well with a vast amount of logs data. Furthermore, Splunk Enterprise can be pumped in and do parsing for numerous security device logs.
However, it needs certain technical skills to be able to correlate the logs and do the query in the Splunk Enterprise.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Splunk Enterprise: A powerful, but expensive tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used as a repository for all our server and network infrastructure logs. This allows us to go to one place to review logs and potentially find a relationship between different systems with specific issues. For example, seeing failed login attempts to our switches and learning that a server was using old credentials.
  • Robust collection of plugins to support specific applications
  • Relatively easy to use
  • Strong and helpful support
  • Difficult to master
  • Can be very complicated to implement into an environment
  • Very expensive
If the organization is looking for a powerful SIEM solution and has the budget, then I would recommend Splunk Enterprise. Using the tool can be as simple or as complicated as you want it. My only hesitation will be the complexity of implementation. For smaller organizations, it shouldn't be an issue, but larger ones may find it challenging to follow Splunk Enterprise's best practices for implementation.
Read this authenticated review
Kuntal Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Splunk: The log expert

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is a brilliant tool that we use in the University of Colorado, Denver to analyze logs obtained from various sources. Our team is responsible for maintaining the security of our campus and the University of Colorado, Anschutz medical campus.

The log sources are typically firewall logs, email logs, logs from the Intrusion detection system (IDS), logs of different services running on the google cloud, etc. It offers a very easy interface and a query language. We can build our own alarm rule and UI within it for visualization. The rules will run at a time defined by the user and will send metrics to the email. It helped in automating blacklisting as now we can get the most troublesome IP addresses and block them in a minute. It also helped us in tracing a list of most vulnerable on the campus. The most powerful feature is the correlation of log sources. Correlation of log sources is a very taxing process for any software. Splunk handles this gracefully. By correlating firewall traffic, wireless and IDS traffic we once spotted a machine that had a trojan in it and was trying to spread itself laterally through open SMB ports.
  • It is very useful in creating custom rules for analyzing system logs and display relevant information. The query language is very easy to learn.
  • We can create custom UI to visualize the output of our data. The interface is very flexible. It also allows the sharing of rules among users.
  • There is an open online community to help others. Stackoverflow also has a splunk community. These resources make it more convenient to learn.
  • They can introduce a query builder for non-technical users.
  • The query error messages could be more specific.
Pros: Splunk is very well suited if you have multiple log sources of related data. All of them can be correlated and tasks can be automated based on the requirement. Other than alerts, Splunk can also run a specific script of your choice, based on some defined conditions.
Cons: If you have a few logs but a large number of log sources, Splunk can be very expensive.
Read Kuntal Das's full review
PAULIUS BUCINSKAS | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Great tool for digging deep in to the back-end and to monitor the front-end

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise tool is being used across our Digital department. Using this tool we are able to search and analyze event logs of our customer sessions. We can see the error trends of our Digital Services. Set up alerts for multiple KPIs and create dashboards for monitoring the health of our Digital products.
  • Captures multiple different information about a customer and his/her session.
  • Intuitive and informative search options.
  • Option to set up precise alerts for different KPIs.
  • The speed of the tool could be improved.
  • It could store and allow to search for historical data older than 60 days (may be related to our company license).
  • Dashboard creation could be more user-friendly.
When needed to search for some specific event information triggered by end-user or by any other service, Splunk Enterprise tool can give that information and by reviewing the log of the event you can find a lot of needed information that could help you to find the solution or resolve the issue on the spot.
Read PAULIUS BUCINSKAS's full review
Johann Davila | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

A real-time monitoring system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is used by our Engineering Department. Splunk has been a valuable and useful tool for our company to monitor errors occurring at all times. We love the real-time monitoring system that helps us detect errors and get the right people to handle them when needed to get things back up and running.
  • Love the real-time monitoring system.
  • Easy to use.
  • I have no suggestions.
It is well suited with real-time monitoring and notifications sent when issues occur. It has been very helpful to monitor issues that applications are having so that we can get the right team to address these issues to get the company back up and running to continue business as normal.
Read Johann Davila's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Using Splunk in Educational Sectors

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise has been used across University of Minnesota as one of our IT monitoring and alerting tools. This has been a big help for our user base to provide timed email alerts as well as monitoring all of the threshold parameters we set up. We have a dedicated admin to make sure the Splunk agents have been deployed and configured across all the client tools.
  • Timely alerting
  • Sharing with end users automatically
  • Less impact
  • Sometime we see the Splunk agent taking higher CPU from OS prospects
  • Similar issues have been noticed in Oracle Databases
It is very easy to configure on Oracle Databases as well as on MSSQL/Window servers to monitor the pre-configured threshold.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

Splunk, a great tool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is being used by the entire organization for searching and reporting and to analyze the logs and entire organization’s data. Splunk is a great tool to work on. It helps in finding various threats inside and outside the organization. Five stars.
  • Versatile
  • Intelligent
  • Reporting
  • Searching
  • Log analysis
  • Costly
  • Needs training to work on
  • Needs hands on experience to get used to
Splunk is the best tool to work on if there is a need for analyzing the logs and the organization’s inside data. The way employees use search engines and browse for their personal use they can be caught easily. Also, if there are some outside threats within the company you can analyze those by setting up alerts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Robust IT Operations and SIEM Management Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used by our Infrastructure and Enterprise Monitoring Team and Security Teams to monitor our infrastructure. Monitoring is enabled for the overall health of our systems. Data is collected from multiple data sources. Logs are analyzed and converted to meaningful metrics for the team to proactive monitor and take corrective actions.

Splunk has the ability to correlate data from disparate data sources and provide root cause hence reducing MTTR and improving our SLA's with our customers. The events logged in Splunk help our IT Analyst and Security Analyst take proactive action before impacting the services which our customer uses. The Event Correlation helps us find RCA and improve MTTD and MTTR.
  • Collect data from multiple data sources and correlate. Reduce alert noise from multiple monitoring systems.
  • Monitor alerts and report on data collected. Create custom dashboards.
  • Powerful machine learning and AiOPS functionality.
  • Helps with our security compliance and addresses the security team's need to remain PCI compliant.
  • Splunk data sizing and data collected. Worked with Professional Service to scale our environment.
  • Capacity data storage for Splunk data.
  • TuningSplunk analytics dashboards for performance.
Good for event correlation from multiple data sources, web monitoring, systems and application monitoring. Good as security information and event management tool. It collects data from logs and custom applications helping the business make informed decisions across the organization. Gain insights to drive operational performance and business results. Splunk's rich visualizations make results easy to understand and take necessary actions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Splunk Enterprise - all your logging needs under one roof

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is an excellent logging platform, allowing for short and long term log storage with top tier indexing and searching capabilities. We have deployed Splunk to aggregate all logs and act as a central logging platform throughout the company. This helps us solve operational issues by providing a centralized log monitoring platform to be used by our operations group. It also helps solve regulatory issues by being the central logging platform with strict access controls as well as tiered storage and archiving capabilities.
  • Tight access control via a variety of mechanisms to restrict users to specific logs.
  • Solves regulatory controls by providing access control and archival storage capabilities.
  • Provides a quick mechanism to search across multiple logs for issues between systems.
  • Splunk can be expensive since it's based on the amount of logging you do. The capabilities definitely make up for the cost, but there is a high bar to entry.
  • Splunk can be overly confusing for new users. The capabilities are quite vast and sometimes daunting.
Splunk is an excellent central logging system. For companies concerned about the cost, you can combine Splunk with an open-source logging engine such as rsyslog and only ingest the logs you need to search. Splunk is an excellent tool for handling web and systems logging and can help quickly identify issues in both.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

Excellent tool for analyzing logs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used to monitor both Prod as well as all our lower environments. It is used for analyzing logs and tracing transactions. We write Splunk queries and create dashboards for monitoring several Key Performance Indicators. We first analyze metrics over a particular period of them to understand the trend and then set up alerts on these metrics for threshold violations.
  • Simplifies analyzing of big logs finds and helps in finding issues faster.
  • Splunk Alerts are great to be notified of possible issues so that necessary actions can be taken to avoid it from becoming a problem to our end users.
  • Dashboard reports can be scheduled to be generated and share with key stakeholders.
  • Comparison of two or more time series data in a single graph.
  • Search and make suggestions on Splunk commands as we type on the search window.
Simplifies analyzing of big logs finds and helps in finding issues faster. Splunk Alerts are great to be notified of possible issues so that necessary actions can be taken to avoid it from becoming a problem to our end users. Dashboard reports can be scheduled to be generated and share with key stakeholders.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Splunk is a handy log consolidation and dashboarding tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Splunk to consolidate all our logging and I use it primarily for problem debugging and dashboarding.
  • It does very well at providing a central repository for logging.
  • Provides a convenient tool for problem research, debugging and analysis.
  • One issue is that users who might find dashboards useful don’t have permissions due to licensing.
  • Dashboard creation is a bit confusing.
Not so great for applications that don’t write much useful info to logs.
Read this authenticated review
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

a very good log handling and analysis tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is not used across my organization. It is being used by some of us and for some specific task. And yes, it is also used by other departments as well but according to their need. Specifically, we are using this tool for monitoring the application logs and doing some analysis over it. Splunk provides a very easy way to search your logs and perform some basic analysis.
  • Log search is very good with this tool.
  • Splunk search query language is just very good. You can easily run some analysis using this language
  • Generating reports is a very good feature of this tool.
  • Detecting anomalies and reporting them is just fantastic.
  • Splunk requires some learning to use all of its features. Understanding its SPL is not very easy, and it will take long enough time to learn it.
  • Regular expression is a bit tedious to learn and then use, it needs a good understanding of regular expression.
  • I don't know why, but sometimes its search keeps on going forever and then I had to manually kill that job to start it again.
If you need to search and need to do some analysis on top of that, then Splunk is a great thing to use. And also if you want to generate reports from them and want alerts on some specific activity, then Splunk should be your first choice. I have used this tool for this purpose but can't say in which scenario it would not fit.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Priti Asai / Thakkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Monitor your monitors...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is used for application logs monitoring and system health checks for production environment and performance environment.
  • Best tool to do log monitoring and creating intuitive dashboards and charts
  • Best for setting up alerting for application logs
  • The tool needs to integrate AI to understand the system logs and alerting should be based on the auto learning.
For anything related to the application backend logs and monitoring, it's very appropriate to use, based on which we can create various dashboards / charts. For server health / monitoring, Splunk logs are not very helpful. It completely relies on log statements, if statement is not formatted in standard format, and it gives inaccurate results.
Read Priti Asai / Thakkar's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

Splunk, a revolutionary analytics tools for the new age IT professional

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk Enterprise is used by the organization to primarily analyze data. It looks at data generated by various on-premise systems and provides meaningful insights out of them. Many advanced features like custom reporting are used by business analysts on a regular basis to determine the course of action. Last but not least, it is also used to execute daily support tasks like log analysis.
  • Data Analytics
  • Reporting
  • Indexing search data
  • Searching machine-generated data at realtime to forecast trends
  • Splunk is expensive.
  • To use Splunk effectively, people must learn SPL.
  • Splunk is good at what it does, but to create an efficient analytics systems other products like SW monitoring tools need to be used in conjunction.
Splunk is an excellent analytical tool and if SPL is mastered correctly, it can be very powerful too and much more efficient than competing tools. It can be easily used by Business Analysts to get real-time insights if reports are set up for them. However, when it comes to monitoring systems, a lot of configurations are required, and that makes it not the ideal one-stop solution.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
Matt Judice | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

Splunk is great for troubleshooting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Splunk to catalog all incoming quote requests, booking requests and booking responses (effectively we catalog all successful transactions and errors). My team uses these logs to troubleshoot connections with our partners. We also use this to analyze the behavior of our customers to make sure they are operating as we expect them to. I use this tool every day, for several hours per day, to do my job.
  • logging server data
  • easy to use commands to parse data
  • automated reporting
  • real-time reporting that will alert when a condition is met
  • Not a Splunk problem, but we don't have enough space to store as much data as we would like
Logging server activity, logging transaction data, really any scenario where things or data points can be saved and parsed later.
Read Matt Judice's full review
Matt Overton | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Great tool to handle all your server and network monitoring needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Splunk Enterprise across the entire company to collect log data that allows us to see up/down times of servers and applications. We have customized Splunk a good bit and it is one of the main tools we rely to monitor our server environment and troubleshoot issues when an app/server is down or having errors.
  • Monitoring of log data to gauge server status and health
  • Dashboards that allows us to view data about servers in our environment
  • MOnitoring for fraud/cyber security threats and risks
  • We really like the product but there is a steep learning curve and training is definitely required
  • Our environment is setup so that you have to be fairly technical to navigate it and get value from it. We need to make our dashboards/reports less technical so the business users get more value from the tool
  • Tool is very module driven so you are constantly having to add modules and costs to get new functinality
Splunk does a great job of collecting and monitoring machine data. We have use it to reduce fraud/cyber crime loses and we have been able to see a measurable return since using the product for this purpose. It is very extensible so you can continue expanding what the tool does over time. There is added expense with this, but it may be worth it in the end.
Read Matt Overton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

Splunk for log collection, indexing, analysis & dashboarding

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is used in our enterprise to analyze monitoring and analytics data. We have thousands of micro services and APIs in our organization. All these APIs emit log data that is used to aggregate and analyze using Splunk. It also helps in end-to-end tracking of flows and data across services, in troubleshooting errors, and in generating metrics. Splunk is also used generating and configuring alerts.
  • Used for indexing and collecting machine data and log data from APIs.
  • This data is used to generate graphs, alerts, metrics that is useful to business, technology and operations.
  • It is data source agnostic and is used to log API, batch, db and log data. It runs on AWS for us.
  • The only con might be that it is much costlier than an open source system like ELK (Elastic Logstash Kibana).
We use Splunk heavily for log data collection, indexing for analysis, and monitoring our APIs 24x7. It is very easy for developers to generate indexes on unstructured data and easy for operations folks to create graphs of this data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

We've tried the rest and now we're back on Splunk!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Splunk is our dumping ground for our logs. We use Splunk to pump the monitoring and statistical logs to, whether for analysis, storage, or for debugging purposes. The main problem it solves is that we have many systems that live in different places, and having one centralized repository for our logging helps us with correlation of bugs to specific times, and monitoring how different infrastructure interacts.
  • Handles inputs from many different sources.
  • Very easy queries.
  • Dashboard support.
  • Scaling story.
  • Query speed.
We've tried the rest, and Splunk Enterprise seems to be the best solution for dumping our logs when you have either a multi-cloud or multi-product solution. It is great for having a centralized logging platform for multiple users to access and allows you to manage your data in many different indexes and control access to those indexes.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Centralized event and log data collection (44)
9.4
Correlation (44)
9.0
Event and log normalization (44)
9.1
Deployment flexibility (40)
8.4
Integration with Identity and Access Management Tools (40)
8.2
Custom dashboards and views (45)
9.1
Host and network-based intrusion detection (28)
8.6

About Splunk Enterprise

Splunk is software for searching, monitoring, and analyzing machine-generated big data, via a web-style interface. It captures, indexes and correlates real-time data in a searchable repository from which it can generate graphs, reports, alerts, dashboards and visualizations.

Splunk Enterprise Integrations

Splunk Enterprise Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Splunk Enterprise Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No