Visual Studio IDE Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
457 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 91)

Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

Super Powerful IDE for your .Net (and more) needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our .Net team uses Visual Studio IDE as their tool to build .Net web applications, APIs and do light interface work with Azure resources. Since the IDE provides a complete development environment, it makes it easy to build, test, debug, and deploy code into a wide variety of environments with ease.
  • Debugging
  • Performance tracking
  • Code insights
  • Performance
  • Integrations
  • Deployments
Visual Studio is a great solution for large scale .Net projects. The solution file architecture makes it easy to have a Web API, data libraries, and front end code all as separate projects within the solution. Additionally, the integration with Azure resources provided within the IDE makes it easy to explore resources and deploy to hosted services.

Visual Studio might node be suited for smaller sized projects since the IDE can take up a lot of resources. For smaller projects, Visual Studio Code works much easier. Visual Studio might not be suited for projects where you need to deploy from the IDE into environments that are not Azure or Web Deploy based. The FTP deployment options can be finicky and there are no built-in deployment options for other services.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
zahit bogus | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

My experiences in Visual Studio IDE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Visual Studio IDE to develop mobile applications, develop Web applications, and write web services. As a team in the software development department, we follow the codes we write both through GitHub and the Visual Studio IDE. In the education sector, we are developing mobile applications where students can receive written and visual training. Using the frameworks in the Visual Studio IDE, we develop an efficient and effective application.
  • The entity frameworks offered by mobile application developers produce highly efficient results.
  • The Visual Studio IDE tool with which we write code is very fast and has a user-friendly display
  • Initially, problems with GitHub integration may occur. It can be difficult for all members of the team to get involved in the project via GitHub.
  • I think it is quite successful in such operations as rearranging, renaming variables as smart, converting one or more lines of code into a new method, changing the order of method parameters.
  • The Quick Launch search box, called "Quick Launch," allows us to find everything we need in Visual Studio quickly.
  • Linux environments do not provide as much performance as windows systems. In addition to this, we need to check the configuration at the beginning of the manual need to do
In the education sector, we are developing mobile applications where students can receive written and visual training. We are preparing an environment where 2000 students can work online at the same time. Thanks to the application we have developed, we have developed a design so that students can enter the application online offline. Using the frameworks in the Visual Studio IDE, we develop an efficient and effective application.
Read zahit bogus's full review
Clay Horste | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Long-time Visual Studio IDE user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Studio IDE across our entire organization as our primary development platform. Visual Studio has become a great way to develop software for most platforms that we target. The beauty of Visual Studio is the way it handles legacy applications. We have been updating and modernizing a lot of apps recently and combining the ability to work with apps written 10 or more years ago with programmability has made the work much simpler.
  • Full Stack Web Development
  • Legacy app compatibility
  • Working with a team on larger projects
  • Code completion/checking
  • Debugging
  • Can be slow at times
  • Learning curve can be daunting
  • Cost for some versions can be a challenge if you need the features
If you are a full stack developer and like C# or VB.net, then Visual Studio IDE is definitely the way to go. Sure, you could go with VSCode or some other editor and make everything happen in the command line, but Visual Studio IDE makes most things much easier. Personally, I use both. 90% of the time, I am in Visual Studio IDE and then I keep Code open for various lightweight utility tasks that it is perfect for.
Read Clay Horste's full review
Anthony Aziz | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Visual Studio still offers a rich IDE experience and keeps in healthy competition with my preferred IDE

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Visual Studio for all C#, ASP.NET, and even Classic ASP development over the past 10 years. Nowadays our team mostly uses Rider IDE but Visual Studio still remains installed for a few special use cases, where we want first-party IDE support.
  • Provides a smooth, efficient IDE for developing .NET applications.
  • Debugging tools are better than any other IDE I've used in the past.
  • Has a great selection of extensions, e.g Resharper and OzCode.
  • Visual Studio can be clunky and slow at times, much longer loading and building than Rider.
  • Having the manually save after becoming used to auto-saving and automatic local history is an annoyance and constant fear.
I would still recommend Visual Studio to anyone looking to do anything serious with .NET as an IDE if they have access to it, but for the most part, JetBrains Rider wins my recommendation. I think that if you're working on Windows-specific applications or some specific scenarios that VS supports, you have a use for it.
Read Anthony Aziz's full review
John Stuchly | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Visual Studio IDE - Good, but Heavy

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Visual Studio IDE for two primary purposes. One is application development and maintenance using primarily c#. The other is for data development, mainly using SQL Server Data Tools/extensions for SSAS, SSIS, and SSRS. This is beginning to shift somewhat on the application development as they are beginning to leverage the VS Code. On the data side, we are heavy users of Visual Studio IDE for SQL suite development and will continue to be so long as we leverage SSAS, SSIS, and SSRS.
  • Provides a single interface for developing across tools
  • Updates have become much easier as the SQL tools have moved to extensions.
  • The IDE install/update process has become more streamlined over the years..
  • Integration with Azure DevOps is now excellent and continues to improve.
  • Continuing instability with the IDE, which often results in uninstall/reinstall to remedy issues.
  • Still somewhat bloated even when slimming down the installed options
  • Overkill for some development (VS Code, the better choice for specific patterns)
Visual Studio IDE depends on what you're trying to do. Many modern development practices would garner better service from VS Code for Node.js, GraphQL, etc. However, if you are supporting legacy applications or leveraging the GUI capabilities, then Visual Studio IDE is a great IDE. For a data developer using the SQL Server suite, there is little choice. Databases can undoubtedly be developed outside the IDE, but Analysis Services, Reporting Services, and Integration Services are captive in Visual Studio. Fortunately, the interface is quite mature for these tools, and largely works well.
Read John Stuchly's full review
Matt Cushing | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

If you're doing Microsoft BI, this is a must

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Studio for our Business Intelligence needs - creating SSIS packages, SSRS Reports, and SSAS Cubes. Other departments use it for creating dynamic websites using JavaScript and HTML5.
  • SSIS is easy to implement and update.
  • Integration with TFS and GIT is easy.
  • The command line interface isn't very responsive.
  • Having to search for the missing SSRS tools menu is a pain.
Works really well in a Microsoft stack shop. We use it for all of our business intelligence projects and some of the app/web projects.
Read Matt Cushing's full review
Madusanka Balapitiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Total solution for developers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio is an all-in-one package for software developers. Our team uses it for developing computer software, mobile apps and web based software. Normally we use rad model to complete our project, because we have to deliver projects with fast and correct, Visual Studio given more support to suss it. Mainly IT department uses this software, but as an education and tanning providing company, our academic department also uses for teaching process. We have in-house developed student management system, payroll, inventory control system, and HR system. [They] help to increase company efficiency.
  • Error finding and debugging.
  • Number of extensions for customize our IDE.
  • User friendly interface with dark and light mood.
  • Rich toolbox for interface design.
  • High memory use.
  • Long startup time.
  • Cost is higher than other developing case tools.
If your company builds software with different programming language, Visual Studio is the best case tool for it. Because it capable for C+, C#, Visual Basic, .NET and F#. Not only these things, but also we can work with JavaScript, XML, XSLT, HTML, and CSS as a web base developing language. One main feature of the Visual Studio interface designing, we can simply build user interface by using drag and drop method. As a result of these things I highly recommend Visual Studio IDE to all programmers.
Read Madusanka Balapitiya's full review
Diego de Oliveira Lopes Pacheco | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Program in multiple languages in a single editor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Visual Studio IDE individually to test the integration of this tool with some programming languages that we are studying to carry out its adoption by the development team. So it's in an experimental environment.
  • Shortcuts for performing tasks
  • Integration through plugins for different programming languages
  • I have difficulties working with the file explorer and some layout provisions of the IDE.
After installing plugins, we were able to quickly and easily integrate with our Salesforce SandBox and study for Flutter, executing commands directly from Visual Studio IDE without having to open terminals to execute them.
Read Diego de Oliveira Lopes Pacheco's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Visual Studio IDE? Essential for a Microsoft Shop.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE is used primarily by our Software Developers and Architects. Our Testers use Microsoft Test Manager, and most of our other SDLC roles (Project Managers, Design Managers, Business Analysts, etc.) use the Team Foundation Server web interface. Visual Studio is necessary for coding, version control, build administration, and access to other tools. It is a more robust interface than what TFS Web offers, and many of the features provided in the Visual Studio IDE that aren't present in the TFS Web are essential to the duties of those roles.
  • One-stop development shop. Centralized location for all development-related tools and workflow.
  • Continue work offline, disconnected from the network if needed.
  • More robust build administration than what is offered on the web
  • Certain settings and features can sometimes be challenging to locate. The interface isn't always intuitive.
  • Sometimes there are too many ways to do the same thing. For example, users can quickly add a new workspace in Source Control Explorer when a local path shows as "Not Mapped," but it doesn't indicate that the user might want to check the dropdown list of workspaces. The shortcut of creating a new workspace by clicking on the "Not Mapped" link can lead to developers creating too many workspaces and causing workspace management to become unwieldy. If the shortcut link were removed, the user would be forced to use the Workspace dropdown. While it can add an extra step to the process, workspaces would be managed more easily, and this would enforce consistency. At the very least, there should be a high-level administrative setting to hide the shortcut link.
Visual Studio IDE is essential for businesses where the primary coding languages are Microsoft Dot Net based, such as C#. If the company uses TFS or Azure DevOps for ALM, then Visual Studio IDE fits perfectly as it was designed to. If the company is not a primarily Microsoft-centric shop, then Visual Studio IDE isn't needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Artillery of the Developer: A comprehensive IDE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE is used throughout the organization in many directorates and departments such as IT, R&D, Manufacturing and Automation, for software and algorithm development projects, whether the application/algorithm that is being developed is a backend manufacturing software, frontend .NET software or an embedded software application written in C/C++, C# or Java. It is also used to develop AI and machine learning algorithms and pipelines.
  • User Interface/User Experience
  • Debugging
  • Library management
  • The vast functionality comes with the cost of being slow so speed has room for improvement.
  • The vast functionality also brings huge size both in the disk and main memory, which contributes to the slowness.
Visual Studio IDE is well suited for end-to-end software development projects, especially the ones that use Microsoft's .NET library. It is possible to start from scratch, develop, debug, test, implement the software, basically all the software development processes through Visual Studio IDE. It is also good to be able to compile an interpreted language project such as Java/Python. UI is very suitable for developers who frequently work at night.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Microsoft Visual Studio IDE (Enterprise) is a great tool for medium to large businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a part of a software engineering team we use this tool in order to maintain and create software needed by the business. It allows our team to have access to a suite of tools required to create the software, test the software, protect software source control, and deploy the software out to many environments for use by our customers.
  • Build Web and Cloud applications for free.
  • Large selection of development languages, i.e. Visual Basic, C#, PHP, Objective-C, JavaScript and Visual C++.
  • Heavyweight tool that can feel overwhelming or confusing when first using it.
  • Learning curve of the IDE can be daunting for beginning programmers.
Since Microsoft offers many tiers of this IDE it really could be suited for a single home developer all the way up to enterprise. It does offer a lot of use cases at every entry point. However, if you are an individual developer doing advanced work Visual Studio IDE may not be a good tool because of the cost required. I would point small businesses towards Visual Studio Code instead because it is an open-source supported community and allows you to do some really advanced level development across a suite of coding styles. Visual Studio IDE is going to be better suited for medium to large teams where standards have been established, you use the .Net Frameworks and you want to enforce coding, testing, and building policies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Review of Visual Studio IDE

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Studio across the whole organization. We build software using .NET and Visual Studio is a great tool for doing so. It is a great all-inclusive environment that works well for our workflow. We can work with Sql Server, docker containers, powershell, Git, and Azure DevOps all from within the IDE if we choose. We also love the Live Share feature that allows us to work together remotely.
  • Simply writing code is a great experience with Visual Studio. It's intellisense is great, as well as code snippets and refactoring tools. All of which combine to help make writing code easier and faster.
  • I love the integration with Git and Azure DevOps in particular. From working on tasks and bugs to reviewing changes to code via code lens. Visual Studio really helps us optimize our workflow.
  • The biggest issue for me is still startup time. Although significant progress has been made in this area, it can still be a beast when opening large projects. But that is a small price to pay given all of the features and functionality.
Visual Studio is well suited for developing API's, microservices, and many other types of applications. Although VS can certainly be used for developing spa apps I tend to use VS Code for their development. It is just a quicker and lighter tool for the task.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Visual Studio is the Rolls Royce under the IDE's

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has 40+ websites, 30+ stand-alone applications, 80+ web APIs and 25+ Windows services and we use Visual Studio as our main developing tool. It is used by a team of 8 to 15 very experienced employees on a daily basis. It's the premium tool, the single most important tool, to drive all IT development.
  • Debugging: no other tool can debug so thoroughly as Visual Studio
  • Integration through NuGet: extremely easy
  • Integration with devops (GIT) is cumbersome. Very buggy. Complains very often, where other tools solve the issue effortlessly.
  • Lately it nags about wanting you to implement "Application insights". I can't make it clear that I don't want it. Ever.
Less appropriate: javascript development. I know it's not a core responsibility, but it would make life easier. GIT integration should be made less buggy. Right now we use other tools for GIT only because Visual Studio keeps giving errors after intense use with multiple developers working on the same branch.

Best suited for: Web API, backend development, Windows services, testing and debugging.
Read this authenticated review
Torrey Vegter | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

A well-rounded IDE

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our Application Development department to maintain code for our web platform application, web APIs and AWS lambdas.
  • Good Intellisense.
  • Very intuitive as far as the organization which is very helpful when I'm trying to find a configuration or feature I'm not familiar with.
  • Overall, a very good appearance.
  • Easy to use debug and testing tools which makes trouble-shooting code issues much easier.
  • It can be a bit slow when dealing with bigger solutions.
  • It uses a large amount of memory which can slow down your computer substantially.
  • Sometimes the granularity and scale of configurations can be overwhelming.
It's perfect for a larger solution that may have multiple projects interacting with each other. If you're dealing with leaner scripting based processes, Visual Studio Code may be a better fit.
Read Torrey Vegter's full review
Steve Mayer | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2019

Visual Studio SSIS and SSAS development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It began as use for a specific project in 2012 at DECAL and in the past few years has now been used more broadly for several cross-departmental requirements. We use VS for SSIS and SSAS project development.
  • SSIS processes records in an orderly manner.
  • SSIS has many sources and destination choices and we have extended the base SSIS features using a product called Task Factory from SentryOne/Pragmatic Works.
  • The major complaint I have with Visual Studio is that the user interface does not handle screen movement well at all if the SSIS steps extend beyond a single screen. It is very cumbersome to move steps around and you cannot even double click on a step to edit it because after the first click the step moves and you wind up opening a different step which happens to be wherever the cursor lands just prior to your second click. It is very frustrating and if Microsoft developers are reading this and my description of the problems are not clear, then I would be happy to discuss this on a phone call or via email to ensure these issues are fixed.
VS SSIS is very well suited to creating packages which can be run manually via the IDE or run as jobs under the SQL Agent.
Read Steve Mayer's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

Visual Studio still the Best IDE for Windows for more than Two Decades and Still Going Strong

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Studio Pro for all Windows-oriented software development including but not limited to web front end, report generation, database development, ETL, and information processing code. Because it integrates well with our Github Enterprise source control system, VS gives our developers a solid platform for team-oriented software development, deployment and life-cycle management.
  • Since Microsoft offers a free Community Edition of the IDE many of our new developers have used it at home or school and are very familiar with the user interface, requiring little training to move up to the paid, enterprise-friendly editions we use.
  • The online community support for Visual Studio is outstanding, as solid or better than any other commercial or open-source project software.
  • Microsoft continuously keeps the product up to date and has maintained a history of doing so. They use it internally for their own development so there is little chance it will ever fall out of favor and become unsupported.
  • The user interface can be a bit daunting to new people but the myriad of training videos and examples more than makes up for this weakness.
  • Being a developer tool that's always being enhanced with new features, sometimes it can crash--save frequently just to be sure--you should be doing this anyway.
Visual Studio is definitely the IDE of choice when it comes to the Windows platform. There are competitive products available but between the free Community Edition's zero cost to try and adopt to the feature set of the paid editions, plus the fact that it's the tool Microsoft uses to develop its own software solutions, there is no reason not to use it. That's hard to say about many products or services out there.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

Visual Studio IDE is a mandatory platform that I'm happy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE is used across our entire technical team, as it's the primary way we develop our application in C#. When working with Microsoft, it's effectively a requirement to use this IDE to gain access to the various Microsoft compilers, etc. that support the development of the platform. We use it for various items, such as code linting, building and running the projects, debugging, unit test execution, project organization, and things of that sort.
  • Very complete feature set for what it can do.
  • The interface is easy to understand and can be made into dark mode OR light mode.
  • The output is nicely formatted, and the code highlighting/linting is excellent.
  • It can be a bit of a heavy program, especially if you need to open multiple solutions.
  • There's no support for opening multiple solutions in one 'program,' which is a bummer.
  • Sometimes the more advanced functionality/hotkeys can be hard to remember, so some way to move through the program in a more intuitive way would be nice.
Honestly, if you're building in C#, you don't REALLY have much of an option on your editor of choice. Microsoft more or less (more) demands that you use Visual Studio to compile and build your projects. That being said, it truly is a nice platform to use, and one of the more pleasant 'you must use this IDE' experiences I've had in programming.
Read this authenticated review
Aaron Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

The gold standard of IDEs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Studio Enterprise (2017 version) for our development of our desktop, server, and some web applications that we sell worldwide. Not only does our development staff use it, but our support staff and some staff in finance and sales use it for creating SQL Server Reporting Services reports that get published to our SQL Server for internal reports. The flexibility and efficiency we gain using Visual Studio over other tools has saved us time and money.
  • Rock solid intellisense. For C# and VB.Net code, the intellisense provided by Visual Studio is hands down the best. If you find that you have a hard time remembering parameters of functions, or what object names were, the intellisense will rescue you and help me be an efficient developer.
  • Super fast and simple to use debugger for C# and VB. Everything in the debugger is handed to you on a silver platter. When you stop on a break point, it immediately shows you the local variables, the call stack, and even your current memory usage. Setting up watch variables is super simple and you can even make breakpoints conditional so it will only stop on certain conditions.
  • Hides the tedious tasks. There are quite a few things like publishing, creating click once deployments, and adding/removing settings in the project files that can be really time consuming when trying to do it by hand (such as if you don't have access to Visual Studio and you need to make changes). Visual Studio hides all the tedium from you by making nice point and click interfaces to get things done quickly.
  • Web development needs some help. Make no mistake, the world has moved to the web. Some of the more annoying aspects of Visual Studio is that you do not get the proper intellisense in your HTML for javascript. If you live in the web, you will be using JavaScript and this will start to annoy you after a while. Debugging your JavaScript will need to be done in the browser. While it DOES have the functionality to debug your JavaScript in the IDE, it's painfully slow, doesn't always work right, and did I mention it's slow? We do not have slow machines, this should not be a problem.
  • Xamarin "updates" seem to break your project frequently. We never could figure out why it would happen, but it seems like every update to Xamarin would break something and the project would stop building. Fixing it was a combination of deleting folder, app data folder, the project completely and re-getting it from TFS. Weird stuff that many people seem to experience, not just us.
If you are doing any C#/VB windows applications, you cannot go wrong with Visual Studio. If you are making a desktop application with forms, the designers will be required to get your app looking great.

If you are living in the web development space, you may want to consider something else for the JavaScript/HTML/CSS work. Visual Studio Code does well, but we've recently found WebStorm by JetBrains that works IMMENSELY better for intellisense.
Read Aaron Smith's full review
Aaron Pace | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Visual Studio IDE - My IDE of Choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're a small development shop. Currently, we use only two development solutions: the Visual Studio IDE and Visual Studio Code. We use Visual Studio (the IDE) for our major projects because it is really good at keeping track of the various aspects of a large solution. We use Visual Studio Code for one-off things that don't require all the capabilities of the larger IDE. The Visual Studio IDE is used by all our developers on current projects.
  • Ability to add plug-ins that support non-Microsoft solutions (such as PHP and Python).
  • Power to organize and support even large enterprise applications.
  • Well-structured. The built-in organization of VS makes it easy to keep track of complex projects.
  • Intuitive. The controls in VS are easy to find and use.
  • It's very large. Microsoft thought of just about everything with VS and they included it all out of the box. The installation files are massive and take hours to download on a slow connection.
  • Resource hungry. VS uses a lot of system resources.
  • Complex. One of its strengths can also be viewed as a weakness. As you learn the platform, it can be overwhelming trying to figure out everything that's included.
I started my coding experience without using a formal IDE - it was really just a text editor. NetBeans was my first formal IDE experience. It was hard for me to use - probably because I was a total novice. As I've grown up using various IDEs, Visual Studio has become my IDE of choice because it is so well-suited to the projects I've worked on. I've been a semi-professional Microsoft stack developer for the last 5 years so using Microsoft tools has just made sense. For the most part, they've had my needs in mind as new features of Visual Studio have become available. It has been my preferred tool for the last two years.
Read Aaron Pace's full review
Filip Witkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2019

Visual Studio IDE - the only choice for .Net based frameworks

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE is the one main IDE application used to develop who build 90% of our web applications. Our applications are based on .Net ASP MVC 4 and 5, and .Net Core 2.

We use VS IDE to code, test and build these applications. We also use one of the best plugins in VS that is ReSharper. I personally started my experience with Visual Studio with version 2012, then 2015 and now using 2017.
  • Code organization and looking for files, classes, and functions in Solution Explorer is fast and reliable.
  • There is a lot of code coloring options.
  • Has a lot of plugins available.
  • The updates are breaking sometimes VS permissions. I have set VS to run as administrator, but sometimes after an update, I need to go to executable file and set it again.
  • VS 2017 does not work well sometimes with the MVC 4 applications. It is showing (underlining) errors in code viewer where the errors do not exist. The VS team was not able to fix this.
  • There is no good plugin for SASS compilation and Workbench (available only up to version 2015) does not work very well.
  • VS could be faster, especially when building applications.
Visual Studio IDE is a go-to application whenever you work on .Net based frameworks. I personally don't know any other IDE that would be good with this type of applications. It is very good when you are working on BE code, on controllers, models, sometimes with views. In most cases, simple F12 will point you to property or class definition.

VS IDE is less useful when working with front end code like JavaScript and especially SASS or CSS.
Read Filip Witkowski's full review
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

Using Visual Studio to build custom apps in a cost effective way

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Visual Studio across our entire enterprise. We have any different versions of Visual Studio in use, from 2005 all the way to 2017. We have older applications that we have not had the time to upgrade so we are still keeping them in older versions for ease of use. The hope is to pull everything up to a minimum of 2013 so we can use the Azure DevOps integration.
  • Code editing is the best I have used
  • Refactoring is so mush easier
  • Love the keyboard shortcuts, this helps speed code development
  • The menus could be a little more intuitive
  • Sometime it freezes or hangs for no reason and a reboot is required, happens much less in newer versions
  • Better Git integration
When it comes to developing custom applications there is no better platform than Visual Studio. We use it to develop web sites, web services, console applications, integrations and much more. The speed and flexibility that it affords us is unparalleled. We even use it for JavaScript development and much more. The newer versions allow for much more flexibility of choices when it comes to third-party usage.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Siddharth Walia | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Visual Studio IDE: One of the Best Development Tool Available in the Market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio was primarily used for application development, test case writing, and managing defects at my previous workplace. It was integrated with other Microsoft products to cover the whole SDLC, from requirements-gathering to testing the whole application, may it be manual or automated test cases. It was used by a lot of departments all over the company, mainly used by the developers and QA Engineers to develop and test different functionalities of the software. It helped in solving a lot of client problems by building customized software for the ever-changing requirements of the clients and the business for the core product.
  • Ability to write Unit Tests.
  • Ample amount of online community support. Every time you run into any issue, 8 out of 10 times the solution could be found in the online forums.
  • Integration with a large number of languages like Java, Python, PHP.
  • Great design of the reports generated.
  • The files can not be searched; the user has to search by the content of the file rather than the file name.
  • It uses up a lot of resources in the system, which could be an issue with some of the systems out there.
  • The installation process takes a large amount of time.
It is a great IDE for doing a number of different tasks, like Windows Application Development, Mobile Application Development for different mobile platforms like Android, Windows, and iOS (using some plugins). Also, it can be used to create a number of web applications. It has an open source library and a lot of the codes can be found on the online forums. The intelligence features makes it easy to use and learn and the interface is really user-friendly. It can be integrated with other Windows products to cater to the needs of a SDLC.
Read Siddharth Walia's full review
Amir Chand | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

It makes development so easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used this tool to develop web applications. It has provided me with lots of features like auto-completion, and running code on browsers. It also provides support for TFS. It also makes debugging easy. It provides support for different languages. I am getting regular updates for this product.
  • It's easy to debug the code.
  • It provides regular updates
  • It provides support for TFS.
  • It provides support for comparison tools like Araxis Merge.
  • Licensing is a bit costly.
  • Sometimes it slows down the system when we are going to build a project.
It's well suited for developing applications. It's best for beginners when they try to learn to code. It makes debugging so easy. Auto-completion saves lots of efforts for developers. Regular updates keep you in touch with updated technology. I must recommend this to my friends.
Read Amir Chand's full review
Simran Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2019

My opinion of using Microsoft Visual Studio

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio is basically used for development purposes in our organisation. It's the only IDE used in our organisation. We debug, test and implement [our] system through Visual Studio.
  • Team Foundation Server- Widely used for comparing the old software codes. It helps to maintain development across the whole team.
  • Frequent Updates- It's widely updated on security, features and implementation techniques.
  • Supports th maximum of programming languages.
  • Uses a lot of memory and size constraints on the system.
  • Hardware issues- Compilation codes work on different machines and systems according to the operating system and processor.
For development and debugging of desktop and mobile applications it's highly recommend
Read Simran Singh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Easy to use tool, and powerful at the same time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for internal applications created by the IT department. Usually, it completes the missing functionalities that other softwares that we use internally don't supply as a function.
  • Easy to use.
  • Many add-ons.
  • Platform integrated with the Cloud.
  • Too heavy to install.
  • Not created for database management.
  • Components are hard to install and always changing.
It is best for all situations, for end-user products, or for internal applications in a company. Very easy to integrate into other platforms, and it is very quick to deploy solutions to be used. They have great support from Microsoft, and also by the community on the internet. Usually, it is good for creating a platform or even an add-on to applications.
Read this authenticated review

About Visual Studio IDE

Visual Studio IDE Integrations

Visual Studio IDE Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No