TrustRadius
Visual Studio: The Swiss Army Knife for CodingVisual Studio to the goto IDE for every developer at LiveTiles. We use it to build our client-side components in Typescript & React, plus back-end components in C#. Need to open up a database and make some queries? Visual Studio. Need to configure some Azure resources? Visual Studio. Need to manage backlog items and check-ins in source control? That's right - Visual Studio.,Code editing with best-of-class auto-complete, refactoring, and shortcuts Managing source control branches, work items, etc, fully integrated with Azure DevOps SQL Management and Cloud resource management,While stability in recent years is so much better, Visual Studio still crashes from time-to-time Better feature parity between C# and Typescript Since each team at Microsoft builds their own tooling, there are feature sets that you think would work similarly (EG, web apps vs Azure Functions), but they work completely differently.,10,We spent about the first year on Visual Studio Community, which is completely free for small companies, and it offered a better Developer Experience than any other IDE on the market Integration with Azure DevOps has made adoption of good Change Management practices very simple for developers As a company with a core product intended to run on SharePoint, it provides the vital and exclusive tool for delivering products worth millions,Eclipse and NetBeans,Microsoft Azure, Chrome DevTools, Azure SQL Database, Azure CDNThe Best IDEThe Visual Studio IDE really started with a couple developers at Dynacare when a decision was made to start modernizing our enterprise applications. It's used by over a dozen developers today including back-end, front-end web, report designers, and our IT operations team to develop tools and applications for the business.,Integration into git and in particular VSTS (now named Azure DevOps) is amazing. The experience is seamless and works very well. Backward compatibility is better than ever, so there's less risk of breaking applications as you upgrade from different versions of Visual Studio. The development experience in Visual Studio is second-to-none. This really is the gold standard for IDEs with tight integration into the Microsoft stack, built-in unit testing tools, debugging and diagnostics capabilities, ... the list goes on. Everything is at the developer's finger-tips.,Anyone who has the displeasure of working with SSRS or SSIS knows... Visual Studio is pretty bad for building SSIS flows and building SSRS reports. Those two features feel half-baked, and there are usually compile-time errors between VS2013 and newer versions of VS depending on your SSIS package. Updates occur regularly and often eat up disk space and/or cause instability. You may want to avoid being on the latest and greatest release of VS just because it can cause all sorts of head-aches. Over time, you'll probably notice decreased disk space - the VS updates usually eat disk and never give any of it back. VS is very heavy - though load-times have gotten better since 2008, it does still require a lot of resources to do your development. If you're still using a traditional hard disk vs a SSD you may find build and launch times particularly slow.,10,Living in the Microsoft eco-system, the VS IDE really isn't a choice, so much as a requirement for developing applications. The speed at which developers become acclimatized to the tool is a sentiment to the ease of use for the IDE and adherence to good practice. This enables us to onboard new developers and get them up and running in a short period of time vs having to install and configure other IDEs. The VS IDE does include the core set of tools required for development - that alone makes life easier and reduces the need to hunt for 3rd party development add-ons. Though some are nice to have, it isn't required to get going with development. Meaning the IDE is really all you need. Fewer tools to purchase, lower running costs for development.,Eclipse,Azure SQL Database, Azure API Management,15,2,We have home-grown enterprise applications that require enhancements/updates. They are built in the microsoft stack and so require developers to use Visual Studio. These include both web apps, windows services, web services, etc. Visual Studio is used to build SSRS reports for our operations teams.,The Visual Studio IDE continues to evolve with Microsoft's service offerings. We've been developing cloud native applications using VS IDE. Serverless functions leveraging Azure SQL can all be developed and tested with the VS IDE.,10An IDE to support the entire software development processVisual Studio is an excellent IDE that allows users to have many tools in a centralized environment. In our organization we use it through the development process for coding, testing, building and deployment. It supports many languages like C#, Javascript, HTML and Typescript so the integration of a whole solution is very natural. In addition, we use it to manage the code review process. It has a great integration with version control tools like GitHub and allows users to execute commands within the IDE without having additional open windows.,Great integration of tools to support the entire software development process. Support for multiple languages like C#, Javascript and Typescript. Very customizable and lightweight installation requirements.,Feeling unnatural installation in a non-Windows environment. Intellisense could be better, it works pretty good with Resharper. Command line for .Net framework projects is poor.,9,Very flexible pricing schemas for licensing allows us to focus on solution development instead of development cost. The integration of tools in a single IDE is better for estimating the budget because it is not necessary to have other licenses. Improves the speed of the development process so the ROI can be faster.,IntelliJ IDEA and IntelliJ WebStorm,IntelliJ WebStorm, PyCharm, IntelliJ IDEAVisual Studio Enterprise is the best for you best developersVisual Studio is being used for software and web development at my company. It is used by more than fifty developers daily. I use the Visual Studio develop Windows Services as well as various parts of a continuous integration and continuous delivery system . I have also used Visual Studio to develop C#, Visual Basic, PowerShell and Python applications. Visual Studio Professional and Enterprise come with many tools to help you develop software. One of the most useful tools of Enterprise is the load and performance testing tool. It allows you to put a load of more that a thousand users on an application and see how it handles that load.,Visual Studio handles most of the newer languages for the Microsoft platform very well. It makes developing complex applications much easier. I really like the debugger of Visual Studio. Debugging can become a complex task and the Visual Studio debugger is one of the best debuggers available. It will allow you to view all varable values as well as the machine state at a break point. This can be a great aid in finding many software bugs. The Visual Studio load testing tool is one of the best load testers available. It can be used to simulate loads form multiple browsers and multiple internet connection types. This allows you to help see what can happen to your application during more realistic loads.,Visual Studio is a very complex tool and some developers have a hard time usig it well. For these developers I show some of the items they need to perform and suggest they not go too deaply in the tool until they get used to using the tool. Visual Studio has so many features some think it is a draw back to its use. As I mentioned above, it is better to keep to simpler features until you truly feel you can move on to more complex features. Only a developer who truely understands load testing should attempt to run and then interpret the results of a load test using Visual Studio. If a developer does not have a good grasp on how a computer actually runs they will misinterpret a load test.,9,Visual Studio has allowed the developement group at my company to develop numerous applications keeping us in the top number of contractors performing this work. Visual Studio Enterprise can be quite expensive so only purchase the Enterprise e-version for your most experienced developers. The Professional version of Visual Studio is quite capable of do the work for less experienced developers and is much lower in cost. If your company is required to develop software that will be run on Windows-based workstations or servers, you must have Visual Studio to develop with. Any lesser tool will just not be enough.,PyCharm and Eclipse,Jenkins, Netwrix Auditor, Team Foundation Server,Yes,Product Features Product Reputation Vendor Reputation,I think we made the proper choice in moving to Visual Studio, so I would not change any part of our evaluation process. The only problem we ran into was some of the newer developers did not want to move from Visual Basic 6.0 to the .Net platform. This, however, did not make sense to me since Visual Basic 6.0 did not generate native code either and was much slower that .Net.Visual Studio 2017 ReviewVisual Studio IDE Professional version 2017 is an essential tool in our development process. Functionality is quite large and I have yet to know all there is in the tool. Our own use is primarily for the development and maintenance of eCommerce web sites to sell our products. The primary language is C# with JavaScript to produce MVC-based webs.,Intellisense is amazingly helpful in being able to code without needing to reference a manual. GIT integration along with TFS for source control and the build/release/deploy process Projects and solutions and the provided templates NuGet is another feature that is essential.,Infrequent crashes and hangs are concerning Some features are difficult or non-intuitive to use like setup projects Combined with Resharper, Visual Studio is particularly useful. If Resharper functionality was in Visual Studio, purchase of this utility would not be necessary. I am aware that there are many Resharper features in VS already (refactoring, etc). Additional powerful controls in MVC would be appreciated.,10,Visual Studio is not inexpensive,,Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Azure, Telerik
Unspecified
Visual Studio IDE
317 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Visual Studio IDE Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Visual Studio IDE
317 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 317 vetted Visual Studio IDE reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 62)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Erik Ralston profile photo
September 25, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Visual Studio: The Swiss Army Knife for Coding"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio to the goto IDE for every developer at LiveTiles. We use it to build our client-side components in Typescript & React, plus back-end components in C#. Need to open up a database and make some queries? Visual Studio. Need to configure some Azure resources? Visual Studio. Need to manage backlog items and check-ins in source control? That's right - Visual Studio.
  • Code editing with best-of-class auto-complete, refactoring, and shortcuts
  • Managing source control branches, work items, etc, fully integrated with Azure DevOps
  • SQL Management and Cloud resource management
  • While stability in recent years is so much better, Visual Studio still crashes from time-to-time
  • Better feature parity between C# and Typescript
  • Since each team at Microsoft builds their own tooling, there are feature sets that you think would work similarly (EG, web apps vs Azure Functions), but they work completely differently.
Visual Studio is well suited for: Developing console, system, mobile, or web applications using a cross-section of popular languages, with a special emphasis on C#. Managing resources in Azure or SQL Server databases. Automated, performance, and unit testing code. Code analytics (cyclomatic complexity, etc). Visual Studio is not as good at Proprietary programming languages with poor third-party support (EG, can't make a Swift app - you can make a Xamarin app on iOS). While one can use Visual Studio to write AI-integrated apps, actual data science applications wouldn't use Visual Studio (EG, not known for writing R applications).
Read Erik Ralston's full review
Gordon Lo profile photo
September 24, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "The Best IDE"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Visual Studio IDE really started with a couple developers at Dynacare when a decision was made to start modernizing our enterprise applications. It's used by over a dozen developers today including back-end, front-end web, report designers, and our IT operations team to develop tools and applications for the business.
  • Integration into git and in particular VSTS (now named Azure DevOps) is amazing. The experience is seamless and works very well.
  • Backward compatibility is better than ever, so there's less risk of breaking applications as you upgrade from different versions of Visual Studio.
  • The development experience in Visual Studio is second-to-none. This really is the gold standard for IDEs with tight integration into the Microsoft stack, built-in unit testing tools, debugging and diagnostics capabilities, ... the list goes on. Everything is at the developer's finger-tips.
  • Anyone who has the displeasure of working with SSRS or SSIS knows... Visual Studio is pretty bad for building SSIS flows and building SSRS reports. Those two features feel half-baked, and there are usually compile-time errors between VS2013 and newer versions of VS depending on your SSIS package.
  • Updates occur regularly and often eat up disk space and/or cause instability. You may want to avoid being on the latest and greatest release of VS just because it can cause all sorts of head-aches. Over time, you'll probably notice decreased disk space - the VS updates usually eat disk and never give any of it back.
  • VS is very heavy - though load-times have gotten better since 2008, it does still require a lot of resources to do your development. If you're still using a traditional hard disk vs a SSD you may find build and launch times particularly slow.
If you live in the Microsoft stack, the Visual Studio IDE is the only IDE you need. The integration into Azure DevOps is amazing - again, keeping in the Microsoft ecosystem of products - which makes life as a developer that much better. I don't really see VS used outside the Microsoft stack - for Java development you may still want to use Eclipse, and mobile dev for Android you'll have better tools provided by google based on Eclipse.
Read Gordon Lo's full review
Diego Fonseca Marín profile photo
September 18, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "An IDE to support the entire software development process"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio is an excellent IDE that allows users to have many tools in a centralized environment. In our organization we use it through the development process for coding, testing, building and deployment. It supports many languages like C#, Javascript, HTML and Typescript so the integration of a whole solution is very natural. In addition, we use it to manage the code review process.
It has a great integration with version control tools like GitHub and allows users to execute commands within the IDE without having additional open windows.
  • Great integration of tools to support the entire software development process.
  • Support for multiple languages like C#, Javascript and Typescript.
  • Very customizable and lightweight installation requirements.
  • Feeling unnatural installation in a non-Windows environment.
  • Intellisense could be better, it works pretty good with Resharper.
  • Command line for .Net framework projects is poor.
Visual Studio is very well suited in web API projects and web applications. The debugger allows users to get clear information about a request to do a better solution design during the development process. Also, it has great tools for code review and testing; those are very important reasons to choose this IDE rather than others. On the other hand for mobile applications it is not as good.
Read Diego Fonseca Marín's full review
Glenn Jones profile photo
August 02, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Visual Studio Enterprise is the best for you best developers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio is being used for software and web development at my company. It is used by more than fifty developers daily. I use the Visual Studio develop Windows Services as well as various parts of a continuous integration and continuous delivery system . I have also used Visual Studio to develop C#, Visual Basic, PowerShell and Python applications. Visual Studio Professional and Enterprise come with many tools to help you develop software. One of the most useful tools of Enterprise is the load and performance testing tool. It allows you to put a load of more that a thousand users on an application and see how it handles that load.
  • Visual Studio handles most of the newer languages for the Microsoft platform very well. It makes developing complex applications much easier.
  • I really like the debugger of Visual Studio. Debugging can become a complex task and the Visual Studio debugger is one of the best debuggers available. It will allow you to view all varable values as well as the machine state at a break point. This can be a great aid in finding many software bugs.
  • The Visual Studio load testing tool is one of the best load testers available. It can be used to simulate loads form multiple browsers and multiple internet connection types. This allows you to help see what can happen to your application during more realistic loads.
  • Visual Studio is a very complex tool and some developers have a hard time usig it well. For these developers I show some of the items they need to perform and suggest they not go too deaply in the tool until they get used to using the tool.
  • Visual Studio has so many features some think it is a draw back to its use. As I mentioned above, it is better to keep to simpler features until you truly feel you can move on to more complex features.
  • Only a developer who truely understands load testing should attempt to run and then interpret the results of a load test using Visual Studio. If a developer does not have a good grasp on how a computer actually runs they will misinterpret a load test.
Visual Studio is a great tool for developing applications, either Windows-based or web-based. A company should, however, have at least one senior developer to help out more junior developers if they should get caught up trying to perform a complex task.

We use Visual Studio to develop some very complex automation systems and have it to be quite useful and fully capable of performing the task.
Read Glenn Jones's full review
Gary Davis profile photo
November 25, 2018

Visual Studio IDE: "Visual Studio 2017 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE Professional version 2017 is an essential tool in our development process. Functionality is quite large and I have yet to know all there is in the tool. Our own use is primarily for the development and maintenance of eCommerce web sites to sell our products. The primary language is C# with JavaScript to produce MVC-based webs.
  • Intellisense is amazingly helpful in being able to code without needing to reference a manual.
  • GIT integration along with TFS for source control and the build/release/deploy process
  • Projects and solutions and the provided templates
  • NuGet is another feature that is essential.
  • Infrequent crashes and hangs are concerning
  • Some features are difficult or non-intuitive to use like setup projects
  • Combined with Resharper, Visual Studio is particularly useful. If Resharper functionality was in Visual Studio, purchase of this utility would not be necessary. I am aware that there are many Resharper features in VS already (refactoring, etc).
  • Additional powerful controls in MVC would be appreciated.
Visual Studio IDE basically does it all. From text editing with compilation during typing identifies potential syntax and other errors early. Compile errors are displayed and located in the source for easy fixes. Debugging features are very powerful but being able to debug live server code with Visual Studio Professional on non-Azure webs would be helpful.
Read Gary Davis's full review
Jason Weimann profile photo
November 17, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Visual Studio is the best way to build C# applications for Windows, web, and games!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Studio to build a variety of great video games in C# with Unity. We build everything from simple VR applications to advanced MMORPGs all using Visual Studio as our primary code editor and debugger. It blows away the alternatives when it comes to features, functionality, and performance.
  • Debugging in Visual Studio is second to none
  • Code highlighting & syntax coloring
  • Building cross-platform C# games & applications
  • It could be better at refactorings. With Resharper, this isn't an issue though.
Visual Studio is the perfect IDE to get started in for new developers who want to build video games or Windows/web applications in C#. I'd highly recommend it to anyone working in .net in general either at a C# shop or doing game development with Unity. In the past, I've used it for everything from enterprise internal applications for huge companies like Qualcomm, Sony, and Intel, to scalable web applications for startups.
Read Jason Weimann's full review
Damien Dolan profile photo
August 24, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "One Stop Shop For Your Programing Needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE is currently being used in our IT department by our development team. We are using it by creating software solutions for our ERP that is outdated. We do not have the capital to buy a new ERP so we are leveraging the capability of Visual Studio to help make our ERP more efficient for current use cases in our company.
  • SourceControl integration
  • Collaboration
  • Installing Frameworks
  • Speed
  • Sometimes Nuget can be buggy and say installed something but did not
  • More themes? Purely aesthetic but more os a choice would be nice.
  • While source control is great I feel an interface-like source tree would be better
Large teams needing to build a software solution. Also, the fact that there is a free version for an individual is perfect for someone looking to "cut their teeth" and start programming. It isn't just an environment for writing C# and SQL. It supports mobile and game development as well, the community is huge so help is out there to learn as well.
Read Damien Dolan's full review
Jose Miguel Siu Navarro profile photo
August 15, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Windows or Cloud development in MS Ecosystem: Visual Studio .NET IDE is the best alternative"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a small software factory to develop custom solutions to our customers. Even though we are Java specialists, we have a small group of talented programmers versed in .NET technology. We developed for our customer mainly solutions to interface Serial DB9 ports devices to PC running Windows, WebApps and small Data Entry Windows applications.
  • Unit testing in VS IDE is awesome and light years ahead any other java technology.
  • The IDE has been perfectly designed to allow many modules on-screen without looking saturated or unreadable.
  • Add-ons!!! You can extend and connect multiple add-ons to the IDE to make your workflow easier.
  • VS .NET IDE uses a lot of memory, so be prepare to get to your programmers a very capable PC ( >16 GB of RAM the better)
  • Installation process for the core components is easy, but if you need other components they can be hard to find in the components tree in the installer. And, the more libraries and components you install, the more memory you'll need.
If you are in a Microsoft ecosystem, VS .NET IDE is a no-brainer decision. There are other IDE's like Embarcadero Delphi/C#, but they don't have the kind robustness and stability as VS. VS offers C#/C++/Visual Basic/ASP/UWA development, etc. Which means that you are fully covered to develop standalone standard Windows apps as well as Cloud-ready apps. If you integrate hardware to your app as we do, the development and unit testing is flawless.
Read Jose Miguel Siu Navarro's full review
Daniel Sanchez profile photo
November 12, 2018

"Visual Studio IDE Review - A powerful IDE with which you can perform any development"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio is used only by the systems department of our company, and in turn is implemented by certain developers depending directly on the programming language of the project. We provide support, improvements and new developments to different web platforms of our customers, allowing them to grow and improve the functionalities of their applications efficiently.
  • Visual Studio adapts to any programming language, including many features and extensions that make it an excellent IDE. It also has tools that facilitate and improve the user experience and allows you to easily filter and search only one type of element.
  • It has its own version control that allows you to maintain local change history.
  • Is easy to set up and is complete for software development.
  • It has a lot of hardware requirements.
  • It consumes a lot of memory, and even more when you work on large projects with different architectures.
  • It only works well for Windows.
  • Visual Studio IDE provides demo versions that the user can use to explore and adapt to this development environment, but these demo versions have limited functions, which leads the user to want to buy the full versions of this product. It is a commercial strategy that many Development companies implement in their products to assess the impact they generate on users.
The use of Visual Studio will depend a lot on the project or application that you want to develop. This IDE works very well with frameworks like ASP and programming languages such as C # and Visual Basic, both with MVC. It is characterized by being able to perform complex and robust processes from the server.
Read Daniel Sanchez's full review
lodeane kelly profile photo
June 28, 2018

Review: "Visual Studio IDE - Best tool for .NET application development"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE provides the employees of my organization with the proper toolset for developing Microsoft dotnet applications. It is used by some departments in my organization for the building, debugging, analyzing and deploying software. The Visual Studio IDE has one of the best code syntax checker and provides great assistance when developing new code. Finally, there is a vast community of developers that provides a lot of support for the application.
  • It provides a great syntax checking facility that reports about any error within your before running it
  • It provides fantastic code recommendations for making your code more efficient and readable
  • The addition of NuGet packages using visual studio is a breeze by using the package manager plugin
  • I think updates of the IDE should be done more seamlessly as current new updates of the IDE requires that you have to download huge files of approximately 5GB
Visual Studio is well suited for the development of dotnet applications, it provides all the necessary plugins and templates to quickly get started however I would not recommend it for developing Java code as it is hard to debug using this tool
Read lodeane kelly's full review
Parry Ghuman profile photo
June 19, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Easy to develop and deploy code changes."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool used by the development and integration team to develop and deploy the code changes on Client systems. This tool helps the tester to find out the actual issues in the code. The integration team uses this tool to set up the clone on local systems and they copy one database data to other systems.
  • Help to deploy the service pack on the Production system.
  • Help to maintain large project code as it allows to create TFS.
  • It allows the developer to build an application using multiple languages.
  • It should auto fix dacpac issues while creating TFS.
  • It takes some time while building whole project solution.
  • Some time immediate window does not show current code result.
This tool really helps the developer as they can create their changes TFS and check-in these changes to another system, if there is something wrong with currently deployed changes they can roll back with the help to this tool. This tool also allows to search third-party library and use it in a project.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
Mariano Garcia profile photo
September 19, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Can not you wait to take potential from C #? The IDE that can save you."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For those who stay true to Windows and love designing desktop applications, Visual Studio IDE is part of the Software Development team's guidelines, even if not all users do not have total appreciation.
  • Its design and graphical interface are particularly sublime, and you can modify and adapt them to personal specifications.
  • It is one of the best editors to work with C ++ and C #, allowing competent synchronization and interesting functionality.
  • Facilitates faster work by having a fast and retro-compatible AI with other development and design apps.
  • Its resource consumption can become excessive, since it lacks an automatic garbage collector.
  • It is limited to a few programming languages ​​and programming desktop apps, so its potential is shortened.
  • You can't export the projects or source codes to other systems or distributions that are not Windows OS.
Well suited to create programs meant for desktop or native; it has an appropriate interface in addition to the appropriate tools, and offers excellent support.
Read Mariano Garcia's full review
No photo available
June 15, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Visual Studio Community from an accidentally developer perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my specific team, I am the only "developer". The contact center solution that I support (Genesys PureConnect) has a robust C# API, libraries, and documentation so using Visual Studio for development of new integrations and debugging existing ones was just common sense because of the tight coupling with that specific language. The ease of configuring integration with GIT was also a driving factor in choosing to use VS as my C# IDE.
  • Visual studio has a lot of features included that you would expect to need external extensions for, like code snippets for quick completion of common programming syntax like constructors and properties (and many many more).
  • Visual Studio also has a vibrant community developing extensions for it that extend it well beyond its base functionality.
  • The debugging interface and your ability to interact with your code during debugged execution are fantastically helpful. I love being able to step back to a previous execution point and change data.
  • The ability to quickly and easily compile desktop apps.
  • System performance of Visual Studio leaves some room to be desired. I understand that it has a lot going on, but the system resource usage, load times and sometimes general responsiveness of VS leaves room to be desired.
Visual studio is well suited for any programming language in the .net ecosystem. It is also fantastic for larger scale application development due to great integrations with team foundation server or various other repository/version control integrations that are available.

I would not recommend Visual studio if you are only doing small programs as the setup and load times can be "rapid prototyping" prohibitive, but that may also say a lot about your language choice for your activities.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 01, 2018

"Visual Studio IDE Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE is mainly used across the whole organization. We use this software in my team as we develop a backend API in C# for our business websites and more. Visual Studio allows our software developers to increase their development speed and hugely improve the code quality inside our business. Visual Studio is a must go in my opinion.
  • Powerful debugger and easy to use.
  • Powerful tool to create apps.
  • Stability.
  • Not cross platform.
  • Expensive.
  • Slow to start.
As a team of web developers, we mainly use Visual studio to develop a backend API for our websites. We first used Visual Studio to create ASP.Net web applications but we realized that Visual Studio was not good enough for us to develop the client side of our websites. We really like it for all our backend code but prefer to use a different alternative for all our client-side code.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Visual Studio at a glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Small applications have been written for several lines of business that meet their individual needs. Easy to write business specific needs quickly for several needs within the company.
  • Powerful ease of use.
  • Create visually appealing apps.
  • Easily distributed.
  • Help on a particular item can sometimes be time consuming within the VS.
  • Changing between datasources on the fly or dynamically.
  • Somewhat slow, especially loading, and uses a lot of horsepower.
I've found it very useful as I've switched from developing larger applications to developing several smaller applications. I can turn around an application for a staff user in a month.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "One Visual Studio does everything"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio is widely used in most of the projects in my organization where it involves a lot of programming effort to meet client requirements quickly.
  • Live unit testing
  • Live architectural dependencies
  • Hangs most of the times when I open big projects.
If we are using sqlserver database with TFS then this is best to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 14, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "VS Professional is a great tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been working with Visual Studio for more than 8 years. I've worked with Java before and today I can say that Visual Studio is one of the best IDE that I've worked so far.
All our development now is C#/asp.net and we daily use Visual Studio. With the right plugins (as any other IDE) you can have an almost perfect environment for development.
  • Great debugging tools
  • Huge options of great plugins
  • Easy to work with
  • Memory usage
  • Code Standard checking
Any development with C# and asp.net it is well suited.

I'd say that it's better to use VS Code if you're working in apps based on JS frameworks, as it lightweight. But VS Professional fits as well.
Read this authenticated review
heather collins profile photo
May 29, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "IDE of the future"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE is one of the latest products of Microsoft to aide the development community. This IDE is used in our product development department as the IDE of choice for both back-end and front-end development work. We primarily use Java and javascript frameworks in our development. This IDE offers full feature support for multiple frameworks and comes equipped with Git, bash terminal, debugger, and auto-linter.
  • Visual Studio IDE is perfect for multiple languages and frameworks.
  • It is extremely light weight and you can run multiple instances without hogging too many resources.
  • Has a wide plethora of plugins and add-ons to make it more feature rich.
  • In the earlier versions of the tool, the IDE would sometimes randomly crash while using the Intellisense feature.
  • Not many issues to complain about in this product.
The IDE is perfect for Java related development work. We also use it for coding Python scripts maintained by our DevOps teams. As the product itself is very resource friendly we use it as the default program for editing most code files.
Read heather collins's full review
Sean Worle profile photo
May 09, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "The go-to IDE for Microsoft platform development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is primarily a Microsoft shop. Our development is mostly in C# and SQL, with version control and project management done in TFS. As such, Visual Studio is our go-to primary development tool across our IT department. There is no question that if you are doing development for Microsoft platforms, Visual Studio may not be the only game in town, but it is the undisputed leader.
  • Code management
  • Debugging
  • Version control integration
  • Extensibility
  • Unit testing
  • Handling merge conflicts can be tricky and confusing, though it's hard to tell if this is a failing of Visual Studio or TFS.
If you are developing for a Microsoft platform (Windows, Windows Phone, Azure, etc.), then Visual Studio is unquestionably the premier tool to choose. It can be used for other development (and there are many extensions which allow for support of lots of different languages and compilers in Visual Studio). However, it's probably not the first choice for other kinds of development unless your organization already has it for doing Microsoft development. In that case, using the same IDE for all development can be nice.
Read Sean Worle's full review
Miguelangel Nuñez profile photo
April 27, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "A great tool to work with .NET solutions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio is used in two departments (Software Development, Coastal Engineering). We code our application in this program. It provides an easy way to generate robust code with my peers.
  • The Intelligent code completion (IntelliSense) is one of the best things that I've ever used, this predetermined feature allows to me save a lot of time.
  • Debugging an application is very easy and powerful.
  • Due this program have a lot of features, It's very heavy, it's impossible to use this program in a computer with low resources. Probably, a lightweight version should be created.
  • Installation takes a lot to get done.
You have to have a powerful computer to run this program smoothly. In my experience, it's probably the best tool to code C# programs. This program has a nice look and feel.
Read Miguelangel Nuñez's full review
Nuno Filipe Coimbra profile photo
April 13, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "The best IDE for Microsoft development"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hare at ALS, we use it as the de facto IDE for all our development needs. It's used across the company to support the development of websites, web apps, mobile apps and desktop applications. Those pieces of software are used to support business processes, help on business decisions, share data with customers and users.
  • Code suggestion and completion: the IntelliSense feature of the IDE helps a lot in cutting typing time and access to complex APIs
  • Performance tools and analytics that helps chase issues
  • Awesome integration with Microsoft cloud Services
  • Performance of the IDE itself. There are some areas it could do with performance kicks
For pretty much all based Microsoft development, there is no better-suited application, particularly for large enterprise solutions. For example, any line of business application, architecture in a multi-layer scheme, with a web UI, service layer, domain model, data access layer, reporting layer, Visual Studio is a great fit. The usefulness of having everything in one place to debug and troubleshoot is great.
Read Nuno Filipe Coimbra's full review
David Crawford profile photo
April 10, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Cross Compatible Development for Macs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used solely by myself, it solves the problem of requiring the windows OS for development. I use Mac OS X for any C# development, and with the addition of Mac support for the IDE, this is now a great product to use. After they acquired Xamarin and integrated it into Visual Studio, iOS development is even easier now as well and cross compatible with Android/easy to port to standalone apps or ASP.NET.
  • Package management with Nuget is a breeze, without it then development would be a constant pain for setting up projects for fast prototypes.
  • The ability to use it as an editor for other tools such as Unity3D, which integrates with it perfectly and allows the IDE to use other libraries for debugging.
  • The Mac OS X experience is great and far better than the Windows environment when interacting with the IDE. The Windows install is clunky and the UI is not a joy to navigate, but on OS X it feels familiar and works the way you'd expect. Coming from XCode or other IDEs is easy to get used to.
  • Mobile development is good, albeit a pain at first to get setup, but once it's done then everything works acceptably and the simulator manager works most of the time.
  • Simulator management can use some work. Oftentimes apps simply won't load or the simulator breaks and requires frequent restarts, especially for Android development.
  • iOS provisioning profile management is difficult to get setup initially, this experience could be far more streamlined.
  • Native Mac OS X app development is wildly under documented, especially in terms of library usage and what's possible/not supported. Certain MySQL libraries simply weren't working in previous versions, now they are a few years later, but it would have been great to have something in place to show incompatibilities.
Cross compatible development, whether it be for iOS/Android, or Windows/Mac/ASP.NET. Essentially the base logic will be the same, only the UI needs different attention. I've been able to convert apps to web or mobile very quickly.
Read David Crawford's full review
Nikita kumari profile photo
March 30, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Easy to build window and web-based applications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We create a window and web-based applications for our clients. It helps us to deploy the code using TFS option and create new WCF services.
  • Easy to maintain the code as we can deploy changes through TFS option.
  • Easy to sync the code with the production system.
  • Easy to build web services as we can include third-party library easily.
  • Crashing problems while building large solutions.
  • It should include a third-party library on click option so that we can add directly to projects like other IDE tool.
  • Sometimes we face version problems in the DLL file. It does not support the old version of the DLL file.
It is the best tool if we have data distributed in various clone and we want to create an error-free web and window applications as it provides a debugging feature to resolve unknown errors.
Read Nikita kumari's full review
Pritesh Patel profile photo
March 19, 2018

Review: "Visual Studio IDE is a Perfect Platform for Application Development"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio IDE is used as our primary application for coding. We use it to develop and create our applications in our company. Visual Studio IDE helps keep our development consistent.
  • Great features and packages
  • Easy to use
  • Provides mistake free coding
  • Sometimes publishing code has too many errors and it is hard to figure out what is wrong
  • Debugging needs to be easier
  • Search needs to be better if report is very big
Visual Studio is great for a big company. It has everything a person needs to code and, since it is a Microsoft product, it works great with Windows.
Read Pritesh Patel's full review
Brett Knighton profile photo
February 28, 2018

Visual Studio IDE Review: "Fantastic full featured IDE"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'd estimate around 70% of our dev groups use Visual Studio in some form. My team primarily does web development and have a .net api. Our desktop, mobile, and core teams also rely heavily on Visual Studio for development of their applications.
  • Extensions: There are many useful third-party extension that are easily installed to improve and supplement Visual Studios already long list of features.
  • Package Management: This was a big change in the last couple versions and our teams rely heavily on the ability to easily install and manage versions of 3rd party libraries.
  • Intellisense and Debugging tools: Visual Studio is extremely user friendly while also being extremely powerful and makes all aspects of development easier.
  • I've always found Visual Studio to be a resource heavy application. Regardless of how powerful machine I'm using it can get bogged down. Especially if you need to run more than one instance of VS at a time.
It's pretty much a requirement for any c# .net application. I wouldn't recommend using it as an editor for anything else. I would recommend Visual Studio Code for any other text editing needs. Code is a fantastic application for web development.
Read Brett Knighton's full review

About Visual Studio IDE

Visual Studio IDE Integrations

Visual Studio IDE Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No