SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
686 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-62 of 62)

Ali Rehman | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2014

Business Objects - Can We Live Without It?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Business Objects is being used heavily by many departments at Citi to perform various analytical functions and research of various products and cases. I use Business Objects on a daily basis to run my early morning reports which highlight the daily trending of key performance indicators and help me understand what cases need to resolved more urgently. The only issues i think it could be more user friendly and easier to automate. I believe the new version of 4.1 should be a lot better.
  • Ability to easily modify queries
  • Refresh rates are fast
  • Ability to schedule reports to inbox saving time from running recurring reports
  • Good java development environment, user friendly interface
  • Some of the reports takes forever to run, I know the data request is large but that can be improved
  • Some functionalities like building a report or query could be made easier.
  • Provide some short slides on best practices in running BO
  • A demo on how to build a report should be included in the software
  • How to schedule a report
Suitability depends on the type of data request, automated reports, and the reliability of data used behind the scenes.
Read Ali Rehman's full review
Meg DeBoer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2014

Good for accessing information, bad for data visualization

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SAP Business Objects on a daily basis to obtain the data needed for our management to make decisions and prove theories.
  • Business Objects is great at data pulling and filtering.
  • The ability to create your own metrics and dimensions in a key component in reporting efficiency.
  • Being able to publish and schedule reports is crucial in information sharing.
  • Business Objects is not the easiest or most intuitive program to use. I recommend you seek out training or at least user to user guidance when picking up the tool.
  • It is difficult to customize tables, charts, etc in Business Objects. The program lacks and innate ability to improve the appearance of reporting.
  • It's is hard to manipulate the data within the program. I often use the program to get to an adequate level and then dump the information into pre-made excel reports.
SAP Business Objects is well suited when there is a need to house a lot of information that needs to be accessed and sliced by many different types of people. It's less suited for intense data manipulation and data visualization. Overall, I more so recommend this program for accessing large amounts of data rather than customizing tables, dashboards, etc.
Read Meg DeBoer's full review
Vendim Birbili | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2014

SAP Business Object Rocks!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Is very useful tool for reporting purposes.
  • Easy Integration for different platforms( .Net Java..)
  • Good user interface.
  • Ability to create report dashboards.
  • More customizable graphs.
It's very efficient for the development and there are a lot out of the box features. User interface is very friendly. Reports can be customized easily.
Read Vendim Birbili's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2016

SAP BIP what is it and what can it do?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SAP Business Intelligence Platform is an enterprise solution for the distribution, and analysis of business decision making content. We have it deployed on premise and in the cloud as our primary reporting business analytical tool. It managed through the product development life cycle (Development,Test and Production). Web based access is provided from any location secured by Active Directory Single Sign On.
  • Online report development [for] a query. Business Objects uses a Symantec layer to turn the complex underlying data to user identifiable objects for business queries. This makes it a good choice for self service environments.
  • Is has robust built in security that is can be customized and granular down to the object level. It also has integrated security modules that [can be] utilized with third party security interfaces.
  • The base platform can be scaled horizontally and vertically to meet growing demand on Windows or Linux.
  • A suite of developer tools are also incorporated with the base platform to provide the use of the right tool for the required task.
  • The Platform Search tool can be troublesome to establish in a clustered deployment.
  • Issues that are repaired in on release, should not resurface in a future release. This is rare but annoying when it occurs.
  • Some of the developer tools require more documentation that what is provided.
SAP Business Objects is not a data repository and is not designed for data dumps or long running queries on demand. The built in scheduling feature provides overnight processing to handle that. The strength of the product lies in the ability to provide varied content types to users in the manner of their choice and the capability of self service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2016

How Business Objects reporting saved the company millions of dallars

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
In my previous experience working with a utility company for seven years, we used Business Objects to do reporting. The reporting was on customers who did not pay in a timely manner. The reports helped the company approach the customer before they ran into default. Such implications and many other reports helped the company see the issue beforehand and fix it before they even faced the issue. I could say that it was used for a sort of manual predictive analysis.
  • Ease of Reporting - The reporting interface is so easy and adaptable that any users will be able to learn it and start using it for their own ad-hoc reporting purposes.
  • Universe - lets you gather data from disparate sources and lets you perform reporting as it is just one source.
  • Scheduling and distribution of reports is so much easier and you do not have to have all the users log on to see the reports. They can be emailed directly to them.
  • The input parameters in the webi report can be improved.
  • The promotion management tool is not that great. It can be improved quite a bit. It does not provide apt details of failures.
  • In the scheduling options, it would be nice to schedule something and not send the report out when it is empty.
It is the best tool in the market for reporting purposes. This provides one simple yet robust platform to do reporting, share reports with users and improve the reports on the go.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2016

Awesome tool for reporting and dashboards.........

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects is used by our entire organization. It helps resolve complex reporting issues. We use this tool for ad-hoc reporting, sales analytics reporting and supply chain reporting. It also helps us manage a large group of user base in an enterprise environment. It does support creation of reports for all the sales hierarchy from sales rep to management.
  • Connecting to multiple sources irrespective of whether it is SAP or non SAP.
  • IT, HR, Finance and Sales reporting.
  • New intutive look to develop reports, charts and static and dynamic dashboards.
  • Customer support, I think for any tool based issue I face on a daily bases often times requires a ticket to be opened for SAP which sometimes takes forever for resolution.
  • The process of educating developers when a new feature(s) have been introduced should be made easy.
  • Time for a resolution from SAP should be faster.
SAP Business objects is well suited in sales reporting, and ad-hoc reporting where users are able to create their own reports with minimum IT involvement. It is an easy to implement tool with a stable platform. It has the benefit of making a secured clustered environment to support large enterprise accounts for various reporting needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2015

SAP Business Objects excels against similar competition, but against the likes of Spotfire, Tableau, Qlik, and Si Sense, it's just plain old "BO"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially used Business Objects only in Finance, Procurement, and a couple of other departments. We were in the process of implementing it on a companywide basis. The major problems it addressed were: a view of the overall health of the business, a detailed look at metrics/KPI's, easier access to raw data, the ability to answer pre-defined business questions, reduced reliance on MS Access and Lotus Notes "personal data warehouses", and the ability to explore/discover/mine data when the business question isn't necessarily known.
  • Can handle large data sets with very good response time, especially when paired with SAP HANA.
  • Highly scalable.
  • Capable of producing strong data visualizations.
  • Due to the very large footprint/breadth of the solution, it can do lots of things.
  • Tight integration with SAP Data Services is a plus.
  • SAP's tools are traditionally strong with respect to supporting a global user base, rather than a tool that is tailored 100% to a U.S., English-speaking user base.
  • Backed by a cloud offering with a truly global reach.
  • Implementations are too time-consuming and costly.
  • The components in the Business Objects suite (Lumira, Explorer, WEBI, Analysis, Dashboards/Xcelsius, etc.) all serve different purposes. There is no common look and feel and they all require different skill sets. This leads to challenging training and user adoption and limited BI self-service.
  • The security model behind this and most SAP tools is very cumbersome and difficult to implement and manage.
  • Customization requires skill sets that are not readily available in most organizations. Other competing platforms leverage Java, C#, JavaScript, HTML-5, .NET, etc.
SAP Business Objects is definitely more appropriate for large organizations with big budgets and longer implementation times. It is more appropriate for organizations that wish to report on areas that mirror the SAP core modules. In other words, it is stronger for standard reporting in HR, Finance, Supply Chain, Sales, Procurement, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2014

SAP Business Objects tool review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SAP Business Objects globally across the organizations. It helps us mainly with our on demand analysis and sending the daily information to our end users thru batch reporting.
  • Very nice security system.
  • It's a very robust tool which can handle around 30000 users.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Support is really weak. Most of support engineer doesn't know about tool.
  • Support should get back quickly.
  • Tool is little expensive.
SAP Business Objects is good for finance where security of data matters. It is not good for small company as this is expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2014

SAP BOXI review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Business Objects was required for the use by analysts in data analytics and business intelligence. As part of the service management, all the incident management information was being collected in the BO database and it was then used for reporting. Specifically I used it for extracting reports and customising the cut of information I needed for analysing the service management trends, problem ticket details.
  • It is a very robust application and is easily cutomisable.
  • The dashboards and reporting aspect is very user friendly hence training on the application is not necessary. It did provide for drag and drop once the BO Universe was set up.
  • Setting up the BO Universe needed programming knowledge at the time. I am sure that the newer versions are better.
It is well suited for any reporting requirement where there is a vast amount of data that needs sifting through.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2014

Fast, Accurate, and Effiencient (but not so user friendly)

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP business objects is used for financial reporting at our firm. It is primarily used in the finance community at Citi. It allows us to get financial data that we are not able to get in other financial systems. We specify the parameters and it provides us with a large data set, with which we can pivot the information. It works seamlessly with Excel.
  • Works seamlessly with excel
  • One of the few financial systems that allows our team to retreive a large amount of financial data
  • Great data accuracy
  • The program can be hard to use at first as some of the controls are not intuitive. Would recommend that SAP create a tutorial for new users.
  • Creating the layout of the report can be glitchy at times - sometimes it allows you to create a report, other times it doesn't.
It is well suited for retreiving large amounts of data. Other systems may work better if you're trying to pull just a few line items. You should be familiar with excel pivot tables if you are thinking of purchasing this product. It is great if you have to do deep dives into financial data, it is not that beneficial if you just want top of the house, or aggregate data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2012

Problems reporting against an OLAP database.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I would score an 8 if reporting on a relational database - performance is good and the product works well.
  • Features and options are good. It can cater to many different use cases, depending on end-user requirements.
  • The suite contains multiple tools - OLAP, Explorer, Dashboards. It's highly versatile with a great variety of tool-sets. It doesn't force people to do things one way using a single tool.
  • However, continuing problems in reporting against an OLAP database reduce the overall score to a 6.
  • BW / Business Objects integration: SAP has more work to do here. Version 4.0 has removed major obstacles in stability, but we still have a lot of performance issues. The Business Objects features have been limited by the BW background. I would give this a score of 5 overall.
  • SAP is pushing an in-memory database solution - HANA. SAP resources are focused on moving BW to HANA database. I believe BO performance will improve significantly as a result of this. We want to re-evaluate our data warehousing strategy, middle of next year. We are going on two paths currently. We want to take a step back and re-evaluate if SAP has a better solution.
  • Dashboard tool sub-standard relative to Tableau. Takes weeks to get working vs. days in Tableau to build.
  • Mobile compatibility is far ahead in Tableau.
  • From the admin perspective, Business Objects is not fine tuned out of the box.
  • Rolling out support packages is not disciplined -sometimes every 2 weeks, sometimes every 2 months.
  • No good alerting and monitoring systems.
  • No handshake to BW - e.g. send something on a trigger basis from another system to Business Objects.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (40)
7.3
Report Formatting Templates (41)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (41)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
6.9
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
8.2
Publish to Web (34)
8.0
Publish to PDF (39)
8.2
Report Versioning (35)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (39)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (21)
8.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (34)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (33)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (31)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (40)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (39)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (39)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (25)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (27)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (21)
6.6
Dedicated Android Application (19)
6.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (24)
7.5
REST API (16)
7.7
Javascript API (14)
7.2
iFrames (12)
6.4
Java API (16)
7.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (15)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (16)
6.6

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that aims to help you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. According to the vendor, the integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Features

Has featureReporting and analysis
Has featureData visualization and analytics applications
Has featureOffice integration

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Competitors

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
Mobile Application:No