SharePoint Designer Reviews

53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Doreen Giles | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

SharePoint Designer Novice

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I prefer InfoPath for designing forms for use in SharePoint over SharePoint Designer. I have not used SharePoint Designer for designing pages in SharePoint. I have found it easier to work directly in SharePoint. Granted I have only had the product for a little over a year.
Read Doreen Giles's full review
Melissa Kattke | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Ah-ha thoughts after using SharePoint Designer

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I'd say that Nintex is a lot easier to configure and identifying errors is less complex than SharePoint Designer. In addition, an alternative that developers may prefer using is Adobe Dreamweaver which is also a web development tool. A third option is Coda, a text editor that gives previews and allows management of local and remote files. Bluefish Editor is another tool, different from SharePoint Designer, that writes websites, scripts, and programming code.
Read Melissa Kattke's full review
Nicholas Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2017

The Truth about SharePoint Designer - The Key to Success

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Both Nintex and K2 Blackpearl are great products in their own way, but they are expensive. The pricing models for the SharePoint Online environment is very expensive for how Holiday uses workflows. Nintex's pricing model is by the number of workflows in your tenant, and I have well over 200 workflows in my environment, and the cost would be thousands of dollars per year, compared to SharePoint Designer's price of Free. K2 Blackpearl would not fit our business model directly. It would take a good bit of customization to integrate, and the price for it did not compare to the price of SharePoint Designer, Free. Since Microsoft has stated they are not coming out with a new version of SharePoint Designer, and have not stated what the replacement is, I am currently speechless as the direction. Microsoft Flow is, in my opinion, a very sad attempt to replace SharePoint Designer Workflows. Flow is open to anyone with a Microsoft Live ID, without any security trimming from Office 365 Admins. Flow is going to cause more trouble than solve problems. Currently it is free, but will more than likely follow a similar pricing model to Nintex.
Read Nicholas Miller's full review
Matt Finley, MSIT | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2017

Business solutions with SharePoint Designer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Both K2 and Nintex provide a powerful platform to build and run business applications that integrate seamlessly with SharePoint; business apps typically consist of workflow, forms, data and reports. The type of business apps range from simple document approval workflows to powerful business applications with complex forms that incorporates data from multiple systems with workflows that deliver the correct information to the right people to make the most effective business decisions, reducing cost, complexity and enabling a more agile business environment. SharePoint Designer from a workflow standpoint simply does not have these capabilities and is somewhat limited.
Read Matt Finley, MSIT's full review
April Dunnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2017

SharePoint Designer: A Necessary Evil

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There really isn't a holistic, complete SharePoint Designer replacement currently. You can utilize several different tools and piece together the functionality of Designer. No one really "selects" SharePoint Designer, it is just a necessary evil. For O365 subscribers, Flow is worth investigating for replacing the workflow function of SharePoint Designer, however, it doesn't have all of the features that Designer does. If you need a large scale workflow solution, there are third party tools such as Nintex. As far as the HTML editing capabilities, there are several tools such as Visual Studio, Sublime, TextMate, etc.
Read April Dunnam's full review
Kristina Geiger | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2016

Designer is great- but no more Design view IN Designer??

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SharePoint Designer is the only tool of its kind that I feel 100% comfortable using. Compared to the Nintex workflows/forms, SharePoint Designer has much more increased functionality and ease for an IT-type user like myself. I think it has a much better and easier to navigate user interface, because the user interface is more similar to the intended product, SharePoint.
Read Kristina Geiger's full review
Mary Kay Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2016

SharePoint Designer: Use With Caution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As I said before, I didn't select SharePoint Designer per se, but I did (and will continue to) elect to sometimes use Designer rather than create deployable solutions in Visual Studio.

Designer could be called the lazy person's tool for modifying SharePoint. Solutions created in Designer are not replicable, and possibly not upgradeable. Designer deploys directly into our production environment, so it could be a real issue trying to modify currently live sites.

On the other hand, Visual Studio is only installed in our test environment, and the solutions it creates must be deployed to production. Deploying a solution from test to a live production site that already has data can be tricky. Designer can be used to modify an existing site in production. Similarly, using Visual Studio just to create custom CSS or JavaScript, like I often do with Designer, would be overkill.

So, I continue to use Designer in 2010, and will no doubt continue to use it when we move to 2013. But I will also continue to heavily restrict its use in the production environment.

Read Mary Kay Scott's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

SharePoint Designer Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SharePoint Designer is somewhat inferior when compared to a purpose-built third-party tool like Nintex. Even though Nintex leverages built-in workflow engines (SP2010 and SP2013 depending on platform), it builds on top of that and adds many useful features.
Read this authenticated review

About SharePoint Designer

Microsoft's SharePoint Designer is a tool for developing SharePoint applications.
Categories:  .Net Development

SharePoint Designer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No