TrustRadius
Siemens PLM Software (formerly UGS) is a computer software company specializing in 3D & 2D Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) software. The company is a business unit of Siemens Industry Automation division, and is headquartered in Plano, Texas.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Lj/Pf/UMH3V4IPDX2A.jpegPLM for EngineeringSiemens PLM software is being used a company-wide level for engineers and designers to analyze CAD in 3D. Visualization Mockup is the most often element used. This addresses our problem of analysis of design for design reviews and for problem-solving issues.,3D CAD review works really well in VisMockup. It allows for a virtual representation of the product. Sectioning in 2D works well for tolerance checks. The ability to move and rotate components allows engineers to see how the components interact and how they perform in different positions.,Measurements are not always accurate and sometimes difficult to take. The user interface needs to be updated and a better arrangement of the icons are needed. Importing and exporting data is cumbersome.,8,It allows us to quickly problem solve and not miss timing. It allows us to reduce the need for a physical property to review. It allows us the ability to markup the CAD for proposals for design.,AutoCAD 360,OneNote, AutoCAD 360, Fusion 360Siemens PLM - Organize Your DataWe use Siemens PLM software to manage our Engineering data, including 3D CAD models, 2D drawings, and supporting documentation. We have also built our ECN workflow into the system, which gets used by all of our business departments, including Product Development, Manufacturing Engineering, Quality, Accounting, Purchasing, Marketing, and Operations.,Easy to navigate Version control of shared documents Electronic workflows and notifications for processing ECNs.,Web client for occasional users Easier data migration from other systems Single sign-on integration with Windows Active Directory,8,Decreased time to process ECNs with electronic workflow and notifications Ability to track status of ECNs has given us a better overview of the health of our process and resource constraints Version control for released items going through revision has reduced risk of manufacturing the wrong revision,,Microsoft Project, Cherwell Service Management, MS SharePointAn Overview of PLM, the Siemens wayThe Engineering Manager wanted to use the software to during our transition from 2D to 3D design. It would primarily be used in our department only at first, and by other departments later. It was very mature software, but at the time we wanted to install locally and what I was given was under powered, so I spent too much time arguing with the IT dept over getting more hardware. It solved all of our design problems in that it tracked EVERYTHING. The biggest problem was that it required a change in discipline by all our designers to track everything instead of using AutoCAD alone. Siemens PLM was great in that respect...,Tracks design data very thoroughly. Making 3D models of our designs was a daunting change, but worthwhile. The PLM tracking of old data was excellent. The tracking of existing designs in template format was excellent.,Nothing,10,I left just as the implementation was getting really expanded, so I don't know firsthand. But, if it was accepted, it wasn't because of the software. The software turned out to be much better than expected.,,10,8,9,Yes,Once in a meeting, a manager responded with a negative comment about both support and social media... so during the meeting I texted to Twitter something like "@#!$ GTAC". When I got to my desk there were two voicemails waiting for me, one from the head of GTAC, and one from our support person at GTAC.,8,9My time with Siemens PLM SoftwareDuring my time as a Design Engineer with Graham Packaging Co. I utilized the CAD (NX), CAE (NX FEA/Nastran), and PLM (Teamcenter) software offered by Siemens. My role was to support new and existing business by developing and engineering new package designs to meet our customers needs. The use of Siemens software helped ensure we remained ahead of our competition by improving effciency/throughput, minimzing risk, and providing the tools needed for innovation.,NX CAD is a highly customizable software that any designer/drafter can learn in a short period of time. I would consider NX to be one fo the best CAD packages available on the market. The base platform allows for easy integration into other software offered by Siemens, which improves data tranfsers and file integrtiy moving from concept (Studio), CAD (NX), and CAE (NX FEM). NX CAE is a state of the art computer aided engineering software that helped us improve our design decisions and drive our first run capability from concept to production. Siemens PLM is a fully integrated product lifecycle managment software that helps manage design/data, create standard workflows/roles, and drives effciency throughout the organization. It is an off that shelf product that can be implemented into any organziaiton without spending large amounts of money customizing and developing an internal version that will become obsolete in 5-10 years.,As with any technical software package the support and buy in from upper managment is critical to drive the implementaiton and culture within the organziation. If support is lacking then the full capabilities and return on investment will not be realized. Some standard functionality/capabilities are embeded into alternate software or require additional licenses to use.,9,Improved employee efficiency/throughputs using NX CAD software. Improved standardization of design elements between design engineering teams using NX CAD and Teamcenter Improved workflow and lead times of concepts to production using NX CAE.,Pro-Engineer,Solid-Works,Ansys,Auto-Cad,10Siemens PLM: A Useful Enterprise ToolCurrently, we are using Teamcenter and NX to allow for better CAD and CAD-BOM management. Engineering is the only department currently using the softwares, although Siemens and third-party developers provide many modules and add-ons to push the data stored in Teamcenter to the Shop Floor and throughout other parts of the organization. Teamcenter removes the headaches of storing CAD files on a local/network drive which can get very convuluted if not controlled correctly.,Inherent strengths (check-in/check-out, revision control, access control) Integration with NX Customization capabilities Global Product Data Management,Expensive Unreliable programming can cause unexpected crashes Almost forces you to rely on Siemens consultants for customizations,6,Increased Engineering lead times for design work Very expensive (Licensing and maintenance),10,Item Creation NX integration Sharing Data amongst remote sites,Yes, but I don't use it,6
Unspecified
Siemens PLM software
15 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Siemens PLM Reviews

Siemens PLM
15 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 15 vetted Siemens PLM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
June 13, 2018

Siemens PLM Review: "PLM for Engineering"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Siemens PLM software is being used a company-wide level for engineers and designers to analyze CAD in 3D. Visualization Mockup is the most often element used. This addresses our problem of analysis of design for design reviews and for problem-solving issues.
  • 3D CAD review works really well in VisMockup. It allows for a virtual representation of the product.
  • Sectioning in 2D works well for tolerance checks.
  • The ability to move and rotate components allows engineers to see how the components interact and how they perform in different positions.
  • Measurements are not always accurate and sometimes difficult to take.
  • The user interface needs to be updated and a better arrangement of the icons are needed.
  • Importing and exporting data is cumbersome.
It is well suited in an engineering environment when reviewing CAD data. It is less appropriate to use Vis Mockup when truly accurate measures are needed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 05, 2017

User Review: "Siemens PLM - Organize Your Data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Siemens PLM software to manage our Engineering data, including 3D CAD models, 2D drawings, and supporting documentation. We have also built our ECN workflow into the system, which gets used by all of our business departments, including Product Development, Manufacturing Engineering, Quality, Accounting, Purchasing, Marketing, and Operations.
  • Easy to navigate
  • Version control of shared documents
  • Electronic workflows and notifications for processing ECNs.
  • Web client for occasional users
  • Easier data migration from other systems
  • Single sign-on integration with Windows Active Directory
Well suited for companies like ours that design and manufacture in-house. I'm not sure it is the best solution for companies that need to share Engineering data to external vendors or partners.
Read this authenticated review
Rick Stavanja profile photo
September 30, 2015

Siemens PLM Review: "An Overview of PLM, the Siemens way"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Engineering Manager wanted to use the software to during our transition from 2D to 3D design. It would primarily be used in our department only at first, and by other departments later. It was very mature software, but at the time we wanted to install locally and what I was given was under powered, so I spent too much time arguing with the IT dept over getting more hardware. It solved all of our design problems in that it tracked EVERYTHING. The biggest problem was that it required a change in discipline by all our designers to track everything instead of using AutoCAD alone. Siemens PLM was great in that respect...
  • Tracks design data very thoroughly.
  • Making 3D models of our designs was a daunting change, but worthwhile.
  • The PLM tracking of old data was excellent.
  • The tracking of existing designs in template format was excellent.
  • Nothing
The biggest determination is the size and complexity of the typical 3D model. Does it require NX, or is Solid Edge good enough?
Read Rick Stavanja's full review
Matt Gill profile photo
July 29, 2014

User Review: "My time with Siemens PLM Software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
During my time as a Design Engineer with Graham Packaging Co. I utilized the CAD (NX), CAE (NX FEA/Nastran), and PLM (Teamcenter) software offered by Siemens. My role was to support new and existing business by developing and engineering new package designs to meet our customers needs. The use of Siemens software helped ensure we remained ahead of our competition by improving effciency/throughput, minimzing risk, and providing the tools needed for innovation.
  • NX CAD is a highly customizable software that any designer/drafter can learn in a short period of time. I would consider NX to be one fo the best CAD packages available on the market. The base platform allows for easy integration into other software offered by Siemens, which improves data tranfsers and file integrtiy moving from concept (Studio), CAD (NX), and CAE (NX FEM).
  • NX CAE is a state of the art computer aided engineering software that helped us improve our design decisions and drive our first run capability from concept to production.
  • Siemens PLM is a fully integrated product lifecycle managment software that helps manage design/data, create standard workflows/roles, and drives effciency throughout the organization. It is an off that shelf product that can be implemented into any organziaiton without spending large amounts of money customizing and developing an internal version that will become obsolete in 5-10 years.
  • As with any technical software package the support and buy in from upper managment is critical to drive the implementaiton and culture within the organziation. If support is lacking then the full capabilities and return on investment will not be realized.
  • Some standard functionality/capabilities are embeded into alternate software or require additional licenses to use.
1. What is the specific scope and goal for what your organization is looking to achieve?
2. Is this driven by growth, improvements, or competitiveness and what is the justification of each?
3. What software package offered by Siemens is best suited to deliver what is needed?
4. Does our organization have the required structure, support, and resources to successfully implement this software?
Read Matt Gill's full review
Kyle Long profile photo
July 28, 2014

User Review: "Siemens PLM: A Useful Enterprise Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using Teamcenter and NX to allow for better CAD and CAD-BOM management. Engineering is the only department currently using the softwares, although Siemens and third-party developers provide many modules and add-ons to push the data stored in Teamcenter to the Shop Floor and throughout other parts of the organization. Teamcenter removes the headaches of storing CAD files on a local/network drive which can get very convuluted if not controlled correctly.
  • Inherent strengths (check-in/check-out, revision control, access control)
  • Integration with NX
  • Customization capabilities
  • Global Product Data Management
  • Expensive
  • Unreliable programming can cause unexpected crashes
  • Almost forces you to rely on Siemens consultants for customizations
NX is a good standalone CAD software. Teamcenter, however, should only be used by a company that is willing to put the time/effort/money into properly setting up the system. Otherwise it is more burdensome that it is an asset to the company.
Read Kyle Long's full review
Shivakumar Patil profile photo
July 28, 2014

User Review: "Siemens PLM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it specifically in engineering department. I am part of the service industry, where I am involved with automotive clients. So my answers are related to my clients' requirements. Siemens PLM addresses data sharing between sites, helps in collaboration between engineering, suppliers and plants.
  • User Interface is much better, and easy to understand
  • Structure Manager shows and manages Bill of Materials (BOM) in a effective manner. Freedom to choose what you want to view -- dynamic perspective
  • Manufacturing Process Planner module is well represented, integration with digital manufacturing tools.
  • Ease of set up and template distribution through BMIDE
  • Ability to handle real life data flow using workflow module
  • Need some more improvements in product documentation. eEasy to get lost in documentation.
  • PLMXML module needs help clues in creating rules, Just like query builder.
  • Viewers ( JT) needs improvements.
  • How many users of the software?
  • How users are distributed across the globe?
  • What are other CAD software/s that will be integrated with Siemens PLM.
  • Who are end users of data?
  • How management can see progress?
Read Shivakumar Patil's full review
Mike McCullough profile photo
July 22, 2014

User Review: "Why Siemens PLM is the only choice"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Siemens PLM software was used widely by Engineering and Supply Chain for CAD model management, ECO management, document management and BOM management (eBOM and mBOM). This software allowed collaboration across multiple global locations with hundreds and thousands of end users working in various engineering functions and responsibilities. This software was key to keeping teams in synch regarding live designs and on time for project completion / deadlines.
  • BOM Management
  • Integrated CAD Management
  • Customization of API
  • Forward compatibility
  • Integration between Teamcenter and NX and which versions will work together
  • Performance / speed
Where very small companies or small amounts of data exist Teamcenter and Siemens PLM software is probably overkill for the price and costs to implement and maintain. For anything larger than a 50+ part assembly, 50+ users, etc, Siemens PLM should be a serious consideration during the evaluation of a PDM / PLM solution.
Read Mike McCullough's full review
No photo available
February 27, 2015

"Siemens PLM-NX user review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Norfolk Southern's equipment design and equipment manufacturing facility is made up of a 6 person engineering team that is responsible for designing and developing new and preexisting machines for Norfolk Southern. For a smaller design team, we really are only involved with the design and product development side of Siemens PLM software through the use of NX CAD, NX Nastran, and NX Cam. Having just recently purchased NX Cam, we have greatly increased the amount of products being produced while significantly increasing our products overall quality.
  • Seamless interaction across multiple departments.
  • The software allows you to create a very high level of control and organization within your engineering staff. This reduces the companies mistakes and maximizes productivity.
  • The software makes it very easy to track your product through every phase of the production cycle.
  • Speaking from experience with NX, each revision seems to be focused more on the layout of icons as compared to the functionality of the features.
  • Features within NX that have been used for years are no longer being used as a result of new revisions. Doesn't make a lot of sense to the end user. It would be nice to know what the reason is on a much larger scale (ie large customer recommendation?)

How many departments will be using the product?

How does each department or area within any given company work with or rely on each other? You have to know or be able to create a streamlined approach to doing work for the PLM software to really work. The software adds a lot of necessary structure.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 04, 2014

Siemens PLM Review: "NX CAD with Teamcenter Integration"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our engineering department has been using Siemens PLM software since 2010. NX (formerly known as Unigraphics; UGS) is a powerhouse CAD package that has helped us achieve our goals for modeling, drafting, and CNC programming. It is incredibly powerful and is suited well for working with the complexity associated with aerospace components. To manage our files, we use Teamcenter. Teamcenter provides a vehicle to keep track of file revisions, workflows, etc.
  • NX offers powerful modeling capabilities, and is able to handle very complex geometry.
  • The Drafting package within NX is world-class. The quality and ease of use of producing blueprints are better than most any other software I have worked with.
  • Teamcenter is integrated with the NX system, to ensure control over file revisions and workflows.
  • The help that I have received when contacting Siemens' technical support (GTAC) is generally prompt, courteous, and usually effective.
  • Within the NX CAD package, there are often various little bugs and glitches that we come across in daily use. We generally submit incident reports to Siemens on these.
  • In general, the Teamcenter software package lacks ease of use, general users within the department require frequent intervention and help from higher users for seemingly simple tasks.
NX is a world-class CAD software used by many of the larger companies in the Aerospace Industry. For larger vendors that deal with these companies, I'd recommend use of NX to maximize compatibility with the engineering models supplied by the customers. However, due to the cost of the software, many smaller companies should earnestly evaluate lower-cost CAD packages, (because many of those may be found to be just as effective for their needs.)
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 24, 2014

"Siemens PLM software Review"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a document repository (includes revision history of documents) and workflow (emails users, accept and reject requests). It also sends information to other systems. It is used by manufacturing to pull documentation. It is used by the power users to accept and reject requests. It fills the gap that other Siemens applications do not fill.
  • The interface of the application is nice!
  • It is too much of a system for the basic needs of the application it is used for. Siemens spec'd and recommended the solution.
  • The system is not very flexible or customizable. It has several limitations that cannot be modified.
  • It is overly complex and difficult for users to understand. It lacks common sense UI functions that do not need a manual to figure out.
I would say it is well suited for industries that require heavy quality control. Companies must be willing to invest into the application and should not expect it to be an out of the box solution.
Read this authenticated review

About Siemens PLM

Siemens PLM Software (formerly UGS) is a computer software company specializing in 3D & 2D Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) software. The company is a business unit of Siemens Industry Automation division, and is headquartered in Plano, Texas.

Siemens PLM Competitors

Siemens PLM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No