SSIS Reviews

198 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

John Stuchly | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

SSIS Just Works

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SSIS is being used for data interchange. This includes using it for traditional ETL to a corporate data warehouse, as well as for the production or intake of flat files for interchange with external sources. Sources include traditional RDBMS, web services based cloud sources, and flat files. We are beginning the process of extending SSIS to the cloud in conjunction with Azure Data Factory.
Read John Stuchly's full review
zahit bogus | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2020

Great Tool For ETL Design

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my department, we design and manage ETL processes. We use SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) to design a data warehouse. To create a data warehouse, we can make the stage layer and DWH layers with the SSIS ETL tool. We create data marts using aggregate functions in the SSIS ETL tool. In addition, we use the SSIS ETL tool to move data between databases.
Read zahit bogus's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2019

Our use of SSIS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SQL Server Integration Services to import data into and out of our main SQL server databases. This data comes from a variety of external sources and sometimes there is data format mismatch between source and destination. With an SSIS package, we can retain the mapping and data formats integrity from the source to the destination without having to go through the process every time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

SSIS enables you to build the data lake of your dreams!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The IT department at our organization uses SQL Server Integration Services. We use SSIS to perform extract, transform, and load (ETL) data operations. Our primary use is to move data from a source system or database, restructure the data to optimize it for reporting, and store it in a database instance used for reporting.
Read this authenticated review
Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

SQL Server Integration Services, worth a look

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SSIS in a number or different use cases. 1. Traditional ETL for our data warehouse. 2. Automate reporting. We have a number of reports that go out to thousands of customers daily. We have implemented SSIS to run these. 3. Application integration. With SSIS we are able to quickly integrate from our order entry and operations software into our ERP and Financial software.
Read Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2019

Data integration for everyone. A powerful tool that anyone can master.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using SSIS packages on two major projects:
1. To populate our data warehouse. Running SSIS packages from the server on a 10-minute schedule, we extract, transform and load the data into the warehouse to support all internal reporting and provide data as a service to our global partners.
2. Bulk data import to our CRM system. Building packages to run on-demand to bulk import structured data to our CRM instance.

In the past, we have used SSIS packages to complete a one-time migration from a legacy CRM system to the current CRM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

SQL Server Integration Services: A Great "Free" ETL Tool for Most Use Cases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my work in the health care field, we use SQL Server Integration Services as our default ETL tool of choice for pulling data into SQL Server from Teradata, Oracle, flat file and other SQL Server databases, and for creating data extracts to send to our clients, typically in the form of flat files.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

In the world of IT this should be a standard tool, at least in any Windows environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Even though we are a smaller company, we use this huge army Swiss knife to accomplish a number of technical IT tasks. First and foremost we use it to integrate systems like MS CRM and SAP, constantly enhancing the data flow and making tasks easier to accomplish for the users. Secondly, I personally use it clean up data and maintaining my BI ETL scripts running out 12-year-old data warehouse for our analysis cube. The actual tool is currently only in use by the IT department by using Visual Studio (BIDS).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

SSIS - Strong performer in the traditional data space, but can be improved in handling JSON objects

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implement data solutions for our clients. We use SSIS frequently as an ETL and Data Integration Tool for clients that have the Microsoft enterprise licensing as it offers decent base-level capabilities for traditional database management systems, and we can justify the tool selection since the technology cost-effective under MS licensing.
Read this authenticated review
Stu Teel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2018

SSIS for data integration and ETL!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SSIS to connect to API's and other DB stores/wh/marts, etc. In our projects, many different data sources and types exist, and we build BI from the disparate sources that exist within our larger clients. SSIS is used as tool to harvest those disparate sources and run jobs to populate our end DB which feeds our visualization tools.
Read Stu Teel's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

SQL Server Integration Services: a great tool for small to medium sized implementations

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SSIS is used within my organization to move data from one data source to another, performing data translations, transformations, lookups and calculations during the data movement. This process often includes very complex data transformation processes including the use of APIs, external references and various class libraries. SSIS is currently used in various areas across the entire organization to solve SQL server-based data transformation issues.
Read this authenticated review
Greg Goss | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2018

A solid ETL tool. Data doesn't stay in one place, SSIS keeps it going where it needs to go.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Like most businesses, we have various sources of data that management likes to be able to compare to each other. I use SSIS primarily to move data between our source systems and data marts and warehouses that our reporting software can be pointed at. I also use SSIS to deliver scheduled file exports to external customers or to import files into one of our critical systems for use. I even tend to use it for non-SQL related things such as file system and ftp tasks. If it needs to be extracted, transformed, or loaded somewhere, I use SSIS to do it.
Read Greg Goss's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2018

Good integration with MSSQL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is mainly used by technical analysts with the purpose of delivering data integration and reporting projects to customers. It addresses the need for complex multi-source data ingestion, data manipulation, and integration to a MSSQL database.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2018

If your back end RDBMS is SQL Server, SSIS gives you a bang for your buck.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SSIS was being used as an ETL tool both by IT as well as business teams. It is now replaced by a competitor though. The tool was being used for basic extraction and loading purposes, with hardly any complex data transformation being done. Though there were use cases to exploit the tool, neither Microsoft nor in-house consultants really helped with the tool, with the result being it getting replaced.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2018

SSIS is one of the best ETLs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SQL Server Integration Services is used for the following purposes in my organization.
1. Extract data from the source database and transform it and then load it into a destination database
2. Use this for Balancing between 2 or more different databases
3. Extract the data from relational databases and load into data ware house.

Read this authenticated review
Jose Pla | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2018

Don't let SSIS rest if you already have it with SQL Server combo

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In the beginning, we had hundreds of Stored Procedures, instead of SSIS packages. The Stored Procedures were poorly made by some users, only thinking on the resulting query and not the execution performance, plus the people doing data mining created tables for a report and then they didn't eliminate such tables that only had one use, also some of those tables kept growing without being needed any longer.

The implementation and onboarding of SSIS was made with the intention to correct some of these T-SQL coding issues. It is easier to understand a diagram than sheets of T-SQL code with good documentation. Besides the performance for bulk inserts was better with SSIS than normal inserts in stored procedures. We were able to divide and define a bit better the roles, between SQL developers, Data miners, and BI engineers.

Read Jose Pla's full review
Eddie Brady | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2017

SSIS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I've used SSIS to support individual departments within an organization. Typically I use SSIS to automate migrating and transforming data from one location to another. SSIS has a diverse range of source and destination formats that makes it easy to move data between different systems. There are many add on tools for other source / destinations that are not out of the box. For example, Dynamics CRM.
Read Eddie Brady's full review
David Milillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2017

SSIS Addict

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Integration Services is the primary extraction, transformation, and loading tool we use to populate our SQL Server and Azure SQL DB and DW for our data and our clients' data. We do a majority of our logic for preparing both reporting and application data within SSIS components, scripts, or within T-SQL Stored Procedures executed within SSIS Control flows. It is only used within my group but my group is the only group directly populating our reporting databases.
Read David Milillo's full review
Hung Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2016

Use it if you have a Microsoft Stack

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I cannot say for the whole organization, but we use SSIS for just about all our automation processes. When managing a large data warehouse it is incredibly useful to automate the ETL process. We primarily use it for the data warehouse, but it's versatile enough to use for other automation tasks, reports, and notifications.
Read Hung Nguyen's full review
Eugene LaRoche | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2016

SSIS- Mundane but Dependable

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SSIS is utilized as a systems and data integration tool, and for performing a variety of ETL tasks. It is utilized by the IT department to support business applications, particularly where two or more systems require data exchange. It is a mature product (stable and reliable) and comes as part of standard SQL Server implementations so its fairly simple to utilize.
Read Eugene LaRoche's full review
Chris Morgan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2016

SSIS is terrific for all your ETL needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our laboratory uses SSIS to transfer data between servers and databases, to data warehouses, reporting services and to and from file sources in a complex SQL Server environment that includes Merge Replication and SQL Server Reporting Services. Besides internal transfer, transformation, and manipulation of data, including archiving of data, we use SSIS to export laboratory results to external systems and import scheduling and sampling information from external systems.
Read Chris Morgan's full review
Samir Patel, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2016

SSIS fits perfectly in Microsoft environments

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SSIS is our main ETL tool since we are mostly a SQL Server shop. We use it to integrate data into all of our reporting environments, transforming and massaging data dynamically and connecting to many various sources along the way. It is also a quick way to move data out of other Microsoft environments such as Excel and Access Database.
Read Samir Patel, PMP's full review
Waheed Abualrous, MCP, MCTS, MCE | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2016

SSIS is great if when used in the right place

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ee create master data management and workflow software for oil and gas companies which involves getting and writing data to other systems. We use SSIS for all integration as it helps dealing with different systems.
Read Waheed Abualrous, MCP, MCTS, MCE's full review
Tom Jaskula | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2016

A Reliable Data Preparation Tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SSIS is used by the IT department for extracting, transforming, and loading data. The most common application for SSIS would be for cleansing and restructuring data while it is being loaded into a data warehouse.
Read Tom Jaskula's full review
Luca Campanelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2016

A high-performance ETL product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our department we use SQL Server Integration Services daily. The main use is to do data processing for several ETL processes. Thanks to the use of SQL Server Integration Services we can upload data to the data warehouse in different ways such as a bulk load or with incremental loads thanks to the use of SCD task data.
Read Luca Campanelli's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (35)
9.4
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (27)
7.6
Simple transformations (35)
9.9
Complex transformations (34)
8.2
Data model creation (17)
7.4
Metadata management (21)
6.7
Business rules and workflow (28)
8.1
Collaboration (25)
6.3
Testing and debugging (33)
7.3
feature 1 (1)
7
Integration with data quality tools (25)
8.6
Integration with MDM tools (25)
7.5

About SSIS

Microsoft's SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) is a data integration solution.
Categories:  Data Integration

SSIS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No