TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T1/mK/407IXMMTL73O.pngGreat Platform for Data ManagementToad for Oracle is used to manage databases in our organization. Huge data generated in the oil and gas industry needs to be managed to make business decisions and managing such huge data needs an application which is able to handle such data. SQL builder helps to build queries which are used to extract data out of oracle databases. It is used across the organization so that everyone has the same data rather than having local databases in their system.,Manages huge volume of data and provides a platform to run queries. Not very expensive. The SQL builder really helps those who are new to SQL. Very well integrated with other applications. Very intuitive and user-friendly with lot of features and functionalities.,A Python platform to write scripts which can be used to extract and manage data would be really helpful. Needs to be linked to more applications to import data such as SharePoint. Reduced cost is like icing on the cake.,9,Positive impact as it helps to manage huge volume of data that is generated. Deriving value out of data is quite easy and helps to make data driven business decisions. Investment is very less on the licensing as compared to returns.,Microsoft Access,Microsoft AccessThe tool for OracleToad is the best tool for SQL development, you can have thousands of tables and the indexation and current searches work fantastic, if I had to describe it in one word it should be fast.,Import/Export function where we are able to export the data in any of the format like .csv, xlsx, .txt etc., according to the number of rows required. Database diagram - Easily able to generate the database diagram which will shows the relationship between objects. Toad automation scripts and formatting SQL scripts for developer. Transform function and cleansing the data.,License Key is costly since we have to pay rather than open-ended tool. Some of the SQL commands are still not recognized by Toad like (NOSQL), PIVOT etc. Reporting will not be exact since this is not owned by database production. An example of that is SSRS reports run by Microsoft.,8,Some of the data sources I connect to are very primitive and still use pipe-delimited flat files. I have figured out a way to connect to these but it was very difficult. I wish it were easier to convert Oracle to SQL Server, SQL scripting and vise versa. I move frequently between the two and tire of rewriting my scripts. I've had some preferences lost in the course of an upgrade. We have a very specific network and operating system environment with roaming profiles, so that could simply be a result of that.,Cisco WebEx Room Series (formerly Cisco Spark Room Series), Zoom, JabberToad is a de-facto database development tool, but a bit much for just analyticsAs a non-profit healthcare system consisting of hospitals and clinics, we run an electronic health record system to capture patient data and clinical workflow logs and store them into an enterprise data warehouse (EDW). The EDW is being used as a data source to pursue for clinical research and data driven quality improvement and clinical workflow optimization. Toad has been used as a database tool for our EDW team, by data developers who create data marts and ETL processes, and data analysts who extract KPIs from clinical data in the EDW.,Toad is a de-facto standard tool for data developers and analysts. Generally speaking it provides almost every function needed to manage data in EDW with great performance and stability. The nature of clinical data is big-sized: one table may have billions of rows. Toad provides critical functions to manage SQLs, e.g. Top SQL that can monitor and manage SQLs using CPU power and network bandwidth, so that EDW administrator can optimize ETL operations in the best efficiency. Many of our data analysts are not computer science backgrounded (having clinical / nursing background). Toad provides great auditing tools such as Tuning Lab or SQL Scanner, so that data analysts can train themselves with guidance of the tool.,It is an expensive tool, compared to SQL developer or Orange. It is worth its price, but for developers or analysts who need basic functions, other tools are good enough. It is a heavy tool. It consumes a lot of resources especially when it runs in laptop. If hardware is not good enough and runs big query on top of that, Toad sometimes crashes. Look and feel of ER diagram should be improved. We had need of printing it out and put on the wall and it wasn't so beautiful.,8,Toad is a great tool and good thing is developers are already familiar with it. There are strong online user communities and our developers learned from them or each other. There may not need additional training for Toad for our developers. Database guys have their own preferences of tools. Toad is an expensive tool and everyone doesn't have to buy it, if there are alternatives. We started pulling unstructured and big data in our Oracle based EDW. Toad may need additional features to be integrated with advanced analytics: machine learning tools (e.g. R) or data pipelining tools (e.g. Alteryx),SQL Developer,Hortonworks Data Platform, SAP Business Objects Data Quality Management, Eclipse, IntelliJ IDEAToad for Oracle is well suited for technical advanced database adminI mainly use Toad to access our Oracle database. The Oracle database is hosting all of the legacy data. Not many people in the organization use it. The main purpose of using Toad was to export legacy data.,The interface offers a lot of customization options. Connecting time to the server was on par with other database software. Exporting wizard is easy to use.,Query run time were extraordinarily long. Though It could be caused by lack of support on the legacy database. User interface is too busy, difficult to navigate and sometimes confusing Common function NOLOCK is not recognized,6,We needed Toad because we need to access legacy Oracle data at times. So in that aspect, the software seals the gap. I spent a relatively longer time to learn to use the software for basic functions since its connection options were difficult compare to other Database software,Oracle Analytics Cloud Service, Sequel Pro and Microsoft SQL Server,Sequel Pro, Oracle Analytics Cloud Service, DBArtisan, dbForge Studio for MySQL, dbForge Studio for Oracle, dbForge Studio for SQL ServerToad for OracleOur department uses Toad to interact with our databases and to write SQL scripts. It is used across the entire IT department. Toad provides many ways for us to interact directly with our database.,Ability to Interact with multiple database connections from the same interface. A multitude of tools to run scripts and explore the database. A useful output interface that displays query results.,Syntax validation could use some work. It appears this was addressed in an update but the new version has not been pushed out yet. Toad uses an enormous amount of RAM, memory efficiency could be improved. Toad does not format well to smaller screen sizes, such as a laptop.,8,It has handled our database needs as a department all under one tool which saves us time. The functionality allows us to interact with the database quickly and perform a lot of needed operations.,Dell Boomi,JIRA Service Desk, Dell Boomi, Salesforce Lightning, Asana, Google Drive
Unspecified
Toad for Oracle
78 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Toad for Oracle Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Toad for Oracle
78 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 78 vetted Toad for Oracle reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-22 of 22)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Rajat Wadhwani profile photo
December 08, 2018

Toad for Oracle Review: "Great Platform for Data Management"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used to manage databases in our organization. Huge data generated in the oil and gas industry needs to be managed to make business decisions and managing such huge data needs an application which is able to handle such data. SQL builder helps to build queries which are used to extract data out of oracle databases. It is used across the organization so that everyone has the same data rather than having local databases in their system.
  • Manages huge volume of data and provides a platform to run queries. Not very expensive.
  • The SQL builder really helps those who are new to SQL. Very well integrated with other applications.
  • Very intuitive and user-friendly with lot of features and functionalities.
  • A Python platform to write scripts which can be used to extract and manage data would be really helpful.
  • Needs to be linked to more applications to import data such as SharePoint.
  • Reduced cost is like icing on the cake.
While managing data one of the tasks is to work on a particular filtered data. In that case "views" play an important role. One can play with the the data on a particular dataset without disturbing the original data. Also it is very important to make sure everyone uses the same data in such a large organization which is updated to avoid any discrepancies.
Read Rajat Wadhwani's full review
Akshay Malhotra profile photo
November 06, 2018

Toad for Oracle Review: "The tool for Oracle"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad is the best tool for SQL development, you can have thousands of tables and the indexation and current searches work fantastic, if I had to describe it in one word it should be fast.
  • Import/Export function where we are able to export the data in any of the format like .csv, xlsx, .txt etc., according to the number of rows required.
  • Database diagram - Easily able to generate the database diagram which will shows the relationship between objects.
  • Toad automation scripts and formatting SQL scripts for developer.
  • Transform function and cleansing the data.
  • License Key is costly since we have to pay rather than open-ended tool.
  • Some of the SQL commands are still not recognized by Toad like (NOSQL), PIVOT etc.
  • Reporting will not be exact since this is not owned by database production. An example of that is SSRS reports run by Microsoft.
What I think is the best in this software is that it has a complete environment to work within the data base, you don't have to work with other tools. This is the form you have to work in, there you can see from a field of a table to the database relation, which is really complete. Backing up the databases is pretty easy, and you can restore it also in a few clicks.
Read Akshay Malhotra's full review
No photo available
September 12, 2018

Toad for Oracle Review: "Toad is a de-facto database development tool, but a bit much for just analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a non-profit healthcare system consisting of hospitals and clinics, we run an electronic health record system to capture patient data and clinical workflow logs and store them into an enterprise data warehouse (EDW). The EDW is being used as a data source to pursue for clinical research and data driven quality improvement and clinical workflow optimization. Toad has been used as a database tool for our EDW team, by data developers who create data marts and ETL processes, and data analysts who extract KPIs from clinical data in the EDW.
  • Toad is a de-facto standard tool for data developers and analysts. Generally speaking it provides almost every function needed to manage data in EDW with great performance and stability.
  • The nature of clinical data is big-sized: one table may have billions of rows. Toad provides critical functions to manage SQLs, e.g. Top SQL that can monitor and manage SQLs using CPU power and network bandwidth, so that EDW administrator can optimize ETL operations in the best efficiency.
  • Many of our data analysts are not computer science backgrounded (having clinical / nursing background). Toad provides great auditing tools such as Tuning Lab or SQL Scanner, so that data analysts can train themselves with guidance of the tool.
  • It is an expensive tool, compared to SQL Developer or Orange. It is worth its price, but for developers or analysts who need basic functions, other tools are good enough.
  • It is a heavy tool. It consumes a lot of resources especially when it runs in laptop. If hardware is not good enough and runs big query on top of that, Toad sometimes crashes.
  • Look and feel of ER diagram should be improved. We had need of printing it out and put on the wall and it wasn't so beautiful.
Toad is basically a tool for everything about database management. We have two groups of people; one as data developers who create and manage data marts in our EDW, the other as data analysts who perform analysis using data in the EDW. Toad is perfect for data developers, but a luxury for data analysts.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 27, 2018

Review: "Toad for Oracle is well suited for technical advanced database admin"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mainly use Toad to access our Oracle database. The Oracle database is hosting all of the legacy data. Not many people in the organization use it. The main purpose of using Toad was to export legacy data.
  • The interface offers a lot of customization options.
  • Connecting time to the server was on par with other database software.
  • Exporting wizard is easy to use.
  • Query run time were extraordinarily long. Though It could be caused by lack of support on the legacy database.
  • User interface is too busy, difficult to navigate and sometimes confusing
  • Common function NOLOCK is not recognized
Toad is well suited for advanced users like DBA. I was an analyst so I had a more difficult time using it. I would imagine DBA would use it with no problems because of its high level of customization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2018

User Review: "Toad for Oracle"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department uses Toad to interact with our databases and to write SQL scripts. It is used across the entire IT department. Toad provides many ways for us to interact directly with our database.
  • Ability to Interact with multiple database connections from the same interface.
  • A multitude of tools to run scripts and explore the database.
  • A useful output interface that displays query results.
  • Syntax validation could use some work. It appears this was addressed in an update but the new version has not been pushed out yet.
  • Toad uses an enormous amount of RAM, memory efficiency could be improved.
  • Toad does not format well to smaller screen sizes, such as a laptop.
Toad is well suited as a robust tool to interact with an organization's databases. It has many options available that should fit most use cases. Running scripts, writing quick queries, creating tables, and exploring schemas are all great use cases. It is less suited for machines that have low-end performance specs and laptop screens.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2018

Toad for Oracle Review: "Beginners best to use Toad"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for oracle is easy to use for the new users who are working on databases. It is used by some of science and technology teams at our workplace. We mostly use it to store JSON data a lot.
  • Filtering result set records quickly
  • Great graphical user interface.
  • Easy to use.
  • Visual treat for writing queries.
  • Can improve while connecting to schemas. It's quite slow some times.
For beginners instead of using sqlplus editor toad helps a lot write / execute queries.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Kuhn profile photo
February 27, 2018

Toad for Oracle Review: "Utilization of Toad for business users"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Toad for Oracle across the whole organization. I have been on multiple teams throughout that utilize this tool as their primary database interaction tools. Our database administrators utilize this tool to view/manage process, table changes, analysis and some small data copies. Our analyst teams across the whole organization utilize Toad to perform their day to day job. Our analyst teams need to be able to dive deep into the data in our database tables to build out specs needed to develop new business functionality or reporting. The interface within Toad allows for users that don't have a technical background to be able to analyze the data within our tables to determine what new tables or requirements we need to implement. Our analytic teams do not always have in depth knowledge of SQL, which makes it difficult for them to dive deep into the data without a user interface that is very user friendly. This allows our analysts to focus on analyzing the data and not have to spend time figuring out how to write sql statements to get to the data.
  • Easy interaction with data
  • Interactive tools to build out SQL for individuals that are not as comfortable with SQL
  • Can allow business administration teams to quickly make changes to database and monitor process that are running on the database
  • The tool does have a tendency to freeze up when multiple windows or browsers are open
  • When looking at data it would be nice to be able to right click on a row/column and say filter on that individual column and value
  • More tools to interact with XML Clobs within a table
Toad is very useful to individuals that are not as technically advanced in database interactions given the strong UI interfaces. This is the group that has used this tool over the last few years. There are a lot of other tools also within Toad that allow for much more technical users to interact with the database through the process monitors and other features.
Read Andrew Kuhn's full review
Tom Blades profile photo
January 02, 2018

Toad for Oracle Review: "Great tool for troubleshooting with Oracle EBS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is being used in our department here at Experian for querying the database and troubleshooting issues with the Oracle application which are reported to us.

Toad is a crucial tool for our department as we have limited front-end access, and therefore we have a controlled platform to query tables/packages where differing levels of rights and access is granted for HR/Finance respectively.
  • Quick querying of data and debugging of issues which is particularly made easier with the stored procedures function and has a very friendly user-interface.
  • The use of a stored TNSnames file for accessing the different environments makes it very simple to connect to different databases.
  • Creating and editing packages is very simple and allows you to toggle different views of the package which is very handy when they are of such a large size.
  • Version control on stored procedures - currently not something which is available
  • To allow scheduled reporting remotely without the need to be physically logged into the software
Toad is well suited to our data-centric organization as we have segregation of duties for HR/Finance and we have restricted access to particular tables. Rights given to perform write functions to DEV and Read-Only for UAT/PROD makes this a very secure tool for our business to prevent data corruption.
Read Tom Blades's full review
No photo available
February 28, 2018

Toad for Oracle Review: "Toad for direct data analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within my team we use Toad to view data in Oracle tables and easily slice and dice it for analysis purposes. I am not a technical person that has the ability to write complex SQL to view the data within tables so I have to rely heavily on the schema browser with Toad to view the data. This allows me to quickly filter on data in specific tables to get the information with ease.
  • Great interface to filter on data in tables with ease using the UI
  • The options for exporting a table subset of data to an excel or text file is great. There are a lot of options to choose from with the date fields and how to handle number of records, null values, conversion of field types to others and ability to update the where clause for pulling the data
  • The sql generator interface is great for a non-technical person to drag and drop tables, fields, and where clauses and run queries
  • Possible improvement of the schema browser capabilities. I know that this is not the primary use of this software but if there were a few more features with the schema browser we could use this for a lot more data analysis versus having to go to Tableau or Hyperion reporting.
  • The process of adding tnsnames to the oracle file through Toad could be a little more user friendly.
  • Have a way to protect your PASSWORD file within TOAD. This file has a tendency to get overwritten or removed frequently making you loose all your saved connections within TOAD.
Our team has started to go directly to the data with Toad versus using a reporting tool like Hyperion or Tableau. This allows us to cut out the reporting aspect and go directly to the data. This review is tailored to a non technical group of people. With a little bit of training the tool is extremely useful for anyone trying to slice and dice data quickly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 15, 2018

Toad for Oracle: "Toad review from PeopleSoft user"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our ERP department which supports the PeopleSoft software for HCM, Finance, and Supply chain. I don't know of other groups within BJC that are using it. We use it to run queries that are too large too run in PeopleSoft and take too much time to generate results in PeopleSoft.
  • Toad runs queries much faster than the PeopleSoft system can
  • Toad does not lock up my system while it is running a query and I am still able to do other things
  • I have not encountered anything that I feel needed to be improved; it has worked well for me when needed
It is well suited for queries that will pull back a large amount of data. We use it a lot for payroll data when users want a whole year's worth of information on our 32,000+ employees
Read this authenticated review
Robb Glietz profile photo
November 06, 2017

Review: "Toad for Oracle Makes Oracle database simple"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by one department. We have different sources which feed data into our Oracle database at a Co-location. Toad for Oracle makes it easy to access the database and work with the tables and schema. When having to either add tables or build out a new database for new data, Toad for Oracle make it a breeze to get those tasks done in no time with minimal effort.
  • One key feature I use all the time is the stored procedure Toad makes it easy not just to create them but also to debug them which speeds up the process to get them down with minimal downtime.
  • The other key feature I just love is the query builder since we have a lot of tables it makes it easy to build a query using data from the different tables by just using the table name.
  • Toad for Oracle makes it easy to connect to different databases via the GUI.
  • I would like to see them build in version control for stored procedures, right now I have to cut and paste the procedure before making changes to it in case something happens in my coding.
In my mind there is no other way to work with Oracle except to use Toad for Oracle, it makes everything you do with Oracle Databases so much easier. The GUI is very easy to use and things are arranged in a way that makes sense. If you do a lot of stored procedure then it is a must-have for it makes creating, troubleshooting and deploying so easy.
Read Robb Glietz's full review
Dan Hotka profile photo
October 26, 2017

Review: "Toad for Oracle - A great development/data query/SQL tuning tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle makes things VERY easy for the developer. I like the PL/SQL templates within the product. I also like how easy it is to add your own shortcuts to customize the coding experience to your needs.

In my book: Toad for Oracle Unleashed, chapter 10 is 'Toad as a SQL Tuning Tool'. The Toad team has made performance tuning of SQL very easy.

I use Toad for light development, as a data query tool, and as a SQL performance tuning tool.
  • SQL Performance Tuning. The Toad team has done a great job with explain plans...and DBMS_XPLAN displays as well. They have also included 'advanced' explain plan features that one would have to use SQL*Plus to get otherwise. The Toad Team has a great Trace File Browser that takes you right to the poorly performing SQL.
  • Toad for data analysis. Toad is a great query tool. If you don't know SQL, Toad has this great Query Builder that is a drag/drop operation that will create simple to advanced SQL just using your mouse. You can then export to a nice report writer and Excel. Most export to Excel.
  • Oracle code development. Toad is simply the best with its templates, ability to condense and expand code...and allows you to add your own short cuts to help customize Toad to your programming needs.
  • I've wanted the Toad Team to make some of the more advanced features available on more affordable packages. Right now, I can't think of any functionality that is missing that I turn to another tool for.
  • Toad now does ( ) matching...this is something I used to have to use the vi editor for...but now Toad covers it. Toad also covers brace and bracket matching.
  • The Toad Team did add my QBLOCK_NAME stuff...that is super helpful when performance tuning SQL that contains sub queries. We worked together on this and now I can use Toad for this type of tuning as well.
I know of many companies that use Toad as a data analysis tool. Toad has a great following and I know people who switched jobs and now do not have Toad...and REALLY miss it.

Toad is a good development GUI. Toad is great for data retrieval, even for the novice... Toad is a great SQL tuning tool.
Read Dan Hotka's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega profile photo
October 27, 2017

Toad for Oracle Review: "Toad to jump to efficiency"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Many platforms [designed] to manage a database are intended to simplify the management of databases. Although generally in large companies their DBA is responsible for supporting these issues, many companies still look positively on using these tools to control their operations’ databases. And not only in positions such as a DBA, but in positions where software development database management tools are mostly welcomed for the simplicity, ease of use and speed they offer in their work.

Of these existing tools for Oracle SQL - we find Toad as the most versatile among them in terms of simplicity, ease and speed alternative.

  • It is simple to use. If you are migrating languages ​​you'll find many similarities with respect to SQL Server Development Studio or MySQL Workbench.
  • Its performance is good. You will not be [waiting] long before you run a query or [have to] get used to long waits.
  • The learning curve is almost direct.
  • If you already use Oracle SQL Developer, you could expect some delays or a learning curve in finding all the options.
  • You need to get a license.
  • It can be somewhat heavy compared to tools among other areas.
If you need to rely on a tool [to build a database], Toad is recommended. Oracle SQL Developer is better for when you go to live [a]long with Oracle. According procurement policies software, Toad may not be the most advisable option because you must purchase a license.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Sergio Alvarez profile photo
August 04, 2017

"Toad for Oracle Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's been used by the IT department to manage users, data, reports, procedures, etc. We use as the main program to deal with an Oracle DB 11g, which has all the necessary data to manage all day by day working of university.
  • It's a wonderful tool to get any kind of relational data from tables, apply filters, test examples, Maintain the database, control the users.
  • It can give you statistics of use, bottlenecks, etc.
  • It lets you develop and test your own queries and/or PL programs. You can even optimize both of them.
  • It is only available for Windows. I would like to use it on Linux or even Apple environments but it's not possible right now.
It is great to administrate Oracle DBs and to develop and test your queries to include later (once debugged) in another environment. Maybe it is too powerful to make simple DB tasks, but it is good even in those cases. I think that anyone who works with Oracle DBs should also work with Toad. it 's a "must have" program.
Read Sergio Alvarez's full review
No photo available
November 29, 2017

Review: "Toad for Oracle - great tool for the toolbox"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is widely used across our application developers and analysts. Our main focus is understanding data structures, information within those structures, troubleshooting data quality issues and development of local processes and integration packages.
  • Toad works particularly well for analyzing data structures and the information enclosed within them. When users are having difficulties, Toad makes it easy to review what data resides in the tables and are there unexpected values within fields.
  • When we are experiencing performance issues, Toad shows us currently indexes on a table, and makes it easy to add additional indexes if required.
  • We utilize Oracles packages/procedures and functions. Toad provides an easy way to create and maintain those objects
  • When working with Oracle packages, and there are errors in your code, Toad could use better tools to track down and help correct the issue
  • Toad does not have an option for versioning control of database objects.
We use an off the shelf ERP solution; Toad is a perfect tool for analyzing data structures, data within those structures, and development of local changes to business processes. It is perfect for a deeper understanding of baseline code, and how the data is stored and manipulated.
Read this authenticated review
Veera Sadayappan profile photo
April 04, 2017

User Review: "Toad for Oracle"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use Toad for Oracle to connect to Oracle DB. It used to write queries (sql/plsql/package etc.) and run them. Also used to do some Admin activities with UI interface.
  • Browse Database Object
  • Run queries
  • Admin activities
  • Visual Explain plan
  • More options for explaining plan
  • Little easier to find data in query results
Any querying is good. Good format to recognize different syntax. Browsing database objects is very handy. Can filter and search for objects from browser. We can also edit data from object browser.
Read Veera Sadayappan's full review
Charanya Rajagopalan profile photo
October 03, 2016

Toad for Oracle Review: "The ideal database tool for Oracle development and administration."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software was used for my client project (a top US bank). Most of the projects across the entire organization used Toad for Oracle although the decision to use a particular software like this was based on two main factors: 1. Budget 2. Suggestion from the technical leads of individual projects.

I was part of the Business Intelligence team and we used Toad for ad-hoc-query analysis, data analysis, to verify SQL logic, database development, code formatting, extracting reports and much more.
  • Ease of use with a well designed and pleasant interface.
  • The Schema browser is very simple and easy to navigate between different levels of a database schema which is a great time saver! It looks simple and its use will make more sense when you use tools that don't have this feature.
  • The ability to run multiple queries in a single window without having to save the queries.
  • Very useful built-in features that help in better code analysis, are easy for comparing different versions of code, extracting reports, query evaluation, code formatting and editing.
  • Better code de-bugging capabilities.
  • Occasionally, the application crashes without warning. Leaving me to start my work all over again. This was not a frequent issue but it does happen from time to time.
It is well suited for day to day database development, database management, code analysis, query optimizations, executing ad-hoc queries, generating reports and much more.

Toad was used by different teams within our project and was suitable for users of all skill levels:

  • Database development team: For end-to-end database development.
  • Database support team: For fixing bugs in code logics within procedures and functions and for monitoring day to day jobs.
  • Database Administrator: For administering database and automating code analysis, performance analysis etc.
  • Business Intelligence/ Reporting team: For Analysing SQL logics and comparing database vs. report logic and output.
  • QA team: For creating test data and validating various functionalities.
  • Front-end team : For verifying database objects that are linked to front-end application.
Read Charanya Rajagopalan's full review
Sunder Lal profile photo
September 01, 2016

Toad for Oracle Review: "Excellent tool for managing your database"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad is being used in my whole organization for daily Database activities and module development like Packages, Procedures, Table creation, Triggers, Functions and more. It helps us in developing SQL scripts and managing our organization's database.
The business problems which we solve using Toad are Data cleanup, everyday monitoring the database and doing modifications in the database, if needed.
  • It provides excellent platform for writing database queries and executing them and at the same time managing the complete database. It is beneficial for everyone from DBA to SQL developers.
  • Its main strengths include in the functionalities such as Script execution, Generating ER diagrams, Evaluating Queries and Query plans, Generating Schema Doc, Importing & Exporting results of queries and Reverse Engineering.
  • It has the capability to show the statistics related to time taken by a query to execute completely and finally how many records have been retrieved from that query.
  • It allows me to view different type of packages present inside any database scheme easily and then allowing export of queries into csv or excel files.
  • Since it doesn't offer a very large buffer size, it will not be beneficial when you need to retrieve millions of rows from a query. So, it is not beneficial for executing very large queries.
  • It has a slow performance when you execute a query which will retrieve large number of rows and thus you could only process a fixed amount of information at a particular time using Toad.
  • It doesn't provide any script history to view your previous queries which you have executed in Toad. I would like this feature to be added in Toad.
I would say Toad is an excellent database management tool for analyzing and maintaining the database of an organization. It can be termed as the first preferred choice as the Query Builder providing graphical representation for your queries. It is well suited for companies that don't have a very large database, i.e approximately not more than 1 million records are processed every day.
Read Sunder Lal's full review
Johnny Wu profile photo
August 04, 2016

Toad for Oracle Review: "A Must-have for DBA's and Developers alike"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad is being used by developers and DBAs across our IT organization. It is used by our team to monitor databases, perform queries, generate DDLs and review performance (wait events), etc. It's also used by other teams to develop applications, run queries, and ad-hoc reports. Further it's used by the migration team to migrate code changes across environments.
  • We use it for develop and debug many of our custom and integration applications throughout IT. It has many options to display and export the results. The result was also fast. It doesn't crash easily like Oracle SQL Developer.
  • We also use it monitor databases. There are couple of views, such as Session Browser, that we use frequently. But it needs to be customized to display the information we use really want. Once it's set up, we can see all the queries, top events, long ops, block locks on each session, and take action if necessary.
  • It's easy to see all objects. There is a function - Schema/Object Comparison - which I like, to compare and a particular list of objects between two similar databases. And it will automatically list all differences and generate a sync script.
  • The user interface can be improved. As a DBA, there are times we need to have different sessions open to different databases. And if we open an Editor, and Schema Browser for each database, it becomes very confusing after a while to see which window is for what database. I think the problem is with the tabbed interface. Their dual tabbed interface can definitely be improved to streamline things to ensure which window is for what database.
  • The Session Browser can be improved. Out-of-the-box views have too many columns hidden, and apply some default "group by" columns which I don't find useful. It's hard to set up the view to see exactly the way you wanted. I think color coding the sessions between Active/Inactive/Killed (similar to the view in DBArtisan) will be helpful.
  • The default interface is too cluttered, too busy. I don't need/use nearly half of those buttons, and I would imagine most people don't need those buttons either. Again, I have to do some customization to hide those things to make it the way I wanted to be. I wish there was an easier way, for example, just show the buttons relevant to a developer, or DBA, but not both.
Toad is good for rapid, enterprise-level development and monitoring. It has many features, and is highly customizable. It's useful for both DBAs and developers. It's also better than Oracle SQL Developer. It helps you connect to multiple environments, multi-task, migrate codes, compare schema objects, kill sessions, generate DDL and much more. Some functionality is not intuitive and the interface can be improved to make it less cluttered and easier to use.
Read Johnny Wu's full review
freida oliver profile photo
April 15, 2016

User Review: "Toad for Oracle is a Great Product."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle was used at my previous company to query data from our Oracle data warehouse. Various departments within the information systems department used this tool to report on patient information.
  • Easy to configure. Once I gate the server names and the databases I need, connecting was easy.
  • I was able to do queries and stored procs with no training.
  • I really loved the auto complete feature (I don't like typing).
  • A fixed amount of info can be processed at one time. My queries had a lot of records but if I wanted all the records at one time, it took forever.
Even though it is Toad for Oracle, it can still connect to other databases so I think it is best suited in places that have various database environments as well an Oracle shop. Also I think it is a good app for people who don't have a lot of coding experience.
Read freida oliver's full review
No photo available
December 12, 2016

Toad for Oracle Review: "A simple SQL tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad was used at the New York State Education Department, where I interned for about 8 months during my master's at SUNY Albany. It's used by the whole organization. Toad allowed NYSED to employ interns like myself (with little prior SQL experience) and quickly get them to speed with SQL operations. It was used for all SQL development, and data analysis.
  • Syntax highlighting, and autocomplete
  • Execution plan analysis
  • Debugging complex SQL queries
  • Unable to export stored connection details
  • Cancelling queries takes a lot of time
  • Sometimes it used to crash, could be improved in terms of stability
Toad for Oracle is well suited for big tech firms / government organizations, since it's very simple to use and learn, and is one of the most powerful database tools. It has a simple and nice user interface. I'm not sure where it couldn't be used, since it has a lot less cons.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 20, 2015

Toad for Oracle Review: "Toad from a Developer's standpoint"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is being used by a department. We use it to monitor database activity, create database jobs, PL/SQL development, SQL tuning, and for the creation and maintaining of functions, procedures, packages, and views. We also use it to create new tables, sequences, and to alter existing tables. I have used it to debug but find it was crashing at times during that process so I debug several other ways instead.
  • Very easy to get an explain plan on a query that is running a bit slow.
  • You have the ability to change the layout of Toad for Oracle to be more appealing to you as a user. For example, In schema browser you can set the selections in a drop down view, a tab view, or another view.
  • You are able to have multiple session schemas open at the same time.
  • I think more understandable explain plans would help some users be better able to correct issues of slow queries. This would be more appealing to less experienced users.
  • Trying to set up the options for Toad for Oracle is rather cumbersome. It is sometimes difficult to find the options that you are seeking. I think the options could be laid out in a better way.
  • Random crashing of Toad for Oracle when you stop execution of a query.
Do you do database monitoring?
Do you develop PL/SQL?
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Version control tools (11)
7.0
Test data generation (16)
7.0
Performance optimization tools (18)
6.9
Schema maintenance (18)
8.1
Database change management (16)
7.8
User management (20)
8.3
Database security (16)
8.5
Database status reporting (18)
7.7
Change management (13)
6.5

About Toad for Oracle

Categories:  Database Management

Toad for Oracle Competitors

Toad for Oracle Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No