Toad for Oracle Reviews

108 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

Ribbit All About It! My Review of Toad for Oracle.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is being used by my team to manage our databases. Working with medical data, we use Toad to manage the data we store, which involved packages, sequences, procedures, and schemas. Toad makes it easy to manage schemas in different instances and make modifications quickly. It addresses many business problems like this.
  • Giving scripts for table modification commands.
  • Easy access of different instances and schemas.
  • Capabilities to monitor running packages.
  • Speed as to which changes can be made.
  • Efficiency of the tool.
  • The user interface could be better.
Toad for Oracle is a great tool to use for teams who are managing a lot of data. We have 4 instances in which there are around a hundred schemas, each with tables and packages of their own. Toad for Oracle makes it easy to mange these tables in the databases and make the required changes as necessary.
Read Jatel Desai's full review
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Toad is not better than SQL Developer

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad was used comparably to Oracle SQL Developer. It's a good graphical interface to Oracle RDBMS and provides a bridge for non-native SQL developers and analysts. It's primarily used by the business analysts and database administrators. The demo version is feature-rich and provides limited support to database hardware monitoring.
  • Easy to install interface to Oracle RDBMS.
  • Ability to export data to many different spreadsheet software formats.
  • Converts common query language to standard ANSI SQL.
  • Toad is high-cost.
  • Not all tools are easy to navigate nor understand.
  • Error handling isn't as accurate as it should be.
  • Accessing Oracle RDBMS
  • Exporting database data into spreadsheet format
  • Cross-database implementations (connecting different database software, i.e. bridging Microsoft SQL server to Oracle RDBMS)
  • Real-time database session monitoring
  • Visibility into database metadata without requiring explicit knowledge of data dictionary
  • Easy to install on common workstation operating systems
  • Access to RDBMS procedural code outside of non-graphical interfaces (i.e. ability to call dbms_datapump)
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
Ram Nair | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

Ram's Toad Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used to connect to our Database. It is used to do query, write PL/SQL, execute and fine-tune our database queries for better performance and optimization.
  • Database query execution
  • Connection to various database
  • Multiple DB connections
  • DB query optimization
  • DB query auto formation
  • Improve explain plan
Toad is very popular and widely used across organizations and teams. It is useful to connect to the individual database schema or if you have multiple database schemas. It can be useful when you need to connect to your development, test and production database simultaneously. The user interface is very friendly and easy to use for the newbie to advance database programmer.
Read Ram Nair's full review
SUbrat Mishra | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Toad For Oracle - Way to Go

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad is currently used by our DBA team and some of the development teams. It is primarily used for SQL building, SQL tuning exercises. We are also using it in DB design tasks. DBAs primary use it in their day to day operation. It is only used by oracle DBA team now. They use this to pull session information also.
  • SQL Formatting
  • Running multiple SQLs as multithreading operation
  • Data extract exports
  • Better syntax error information
  • Auto tracing options
Toad is well suited with Oracle as it provides a mechanism to run multiple sqls at the same time against a single database. Performance and memory management of the tool is particularly good. The way it provides the explain plan generation is really handy when a developer needs to analyze their sqls in lower environment. It is also handy for DBA team for their daily operational tasks.
Read SUbrat Mishra's full review
Aaron Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2019

A good alternative to Oracle SQL Developer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used to interact with data in our Oracle Utilities Suite databases. It is also used by our DBAs to support those databases. We perform DML and DDL functions with the tool. It allows us to run more than 1 query at a time against the same database, unlike other products.
  • It is user-friendly for the most part.
  • It has all of the features you expect from a tool like it.
  • It allows you to run more than one query against the same database at the same time.
  • The date/time settings in Toad are kind of difficult to figure out. I have to use an ALTER SESSION command to format the dates so I can actually query date/time fields.
  • It seems to be updated too often. I get notifications very frequently about new versions being available.
  • The export function is difficult to use.
Toad for Oracle is well suited for anyone who knows how to write SQL well. It has all the features you want although they're sometimes difficult to find. Toad is less well-suited for people brand new to writing SQL. SQL Developer is a little more user-friendly in my opinion. If the UI were better designed, it would be easily better than SQL Developer.
Read Aaron Baker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Toad keeps me productive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This application is being used almost exclusively by our technical team. It provides a helpful environment for creating, testing and running SQL scripts. I really appreciate the library feature that allows me to save and catalog scripts for future use.
  • I appreciate the library feature that enables me to label and store previously created statements. These are saved off to a network share for future use.
  • I also really like the describe function that lists all fields in a table. This helps as I build new queries.
  • I wish I was better at using the tuning function. I have seen others use it and am very impressed with the graphical depiction of query costing.
  • I don't have any unmet needs from this tool. I mostly need more time to be able to get in and take advantage of its existing features.
I mostly use this application to build SQL Queries. Its library and tuning aspects are very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Oracle DB Toad is aight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It solves our integration projects and database queries, and the need for transactions to set up standards for our customers.
  • Sql database queries.
  • A developer database tool.
  • Integration support.
  • License support that is manageable.
  • Previous version support.
  • Better installer and push support.
It's used for our database support users, for Oracle DB, and to solve standards for queries and other things that SQL Developer doesn't have.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

The perfect program for database manipulation and administration!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Toad for Oracle to monitor the various Oracle databases and their connections between each other. We also utilize the editor part to run SQL queries on our databases and to modify entries via script as needed. It allows us to see a visual layout of what entries we're working with instead of using command prompt / SQL plus.
  • Allows for modifying table data
  • Performs powerful, complex commands by clicking a single button
  • Offers tools for running complex scripts on tables and exporting for reports
  • There is a steep learning curve to use the software
  • Slightly expensive
  • Can cause significant damage to your databases if you are untrained
If you have very large, complex databases, then Toad for Oracle is the software you need for monitoring and manipulating the data. However, if you have only one or two small databases with very little data, you might be better off saving the money and using a free SQL script compiler instead.
Read this authenticated review
Ravinder Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

Working with Oracle Database made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My client organization is a big enterprise with thousands of Oracle Database instances. We bought unlimited organization level license of Toad for Oracle. This was done because almost everyone who works directly with Oracle Database used Toad, be it DBAs, developers, or testers. We have been extremely happy with the choice. I personally work on Toad for Oracle as a database administrator and developer. It gives you tons of features and makes working with Oracle Database super convenient.
  • Schema Level Administration: Toad for Oracle allows you to create and maintain schema objects conveniently. It's GUI interface is the best in this class of software. It's easy to learn and get used to.
  • Performance Monitoring: You can monitor database performance and long running transactions using Toad for Oracle interface. For most of the performance issues reported, i prefer using Toad for Oracle over Oracle's native tools like SQLPLUS or OEM.
  • Data Modelling: You can develop data models for your database design and generate scripts to create the objects in the database instance.
  • I like the ease with which Toad for Oracle lets you use features like SQL Loader, Export/Import, etc.
  • It sometimes hangs up if you are working on multiple Toad instances in parallel.
  • If you are running some few thousands statements through Toad, it's better you do it directly through SQL Plus interface. It takes way longer if you do it through the Toad for Oracle interface.
  • Toad for Oracle should consider including some graphs and histogram charts for performance monitoring . This will be especially useful for non-technical users like project managers.
Toad for Oracle is very well suited for all Oracle implementations, be it single instance or RAC. It is best suited for use of Oracle DBA, Developer and Database Engineers.

I don't recommend Toad for Oracle for Project Managers or Solution Architects. This can be a pricier choice for these people. They can do fine with free options like SQL Developer.
Read Ravinder Gupta's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Toad: the best IDE for database developers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used by all developers across my organizations. It is stable IDE for database developers and few DBAs in our organization can think of doing development in Oracle database without having Toad installed. It is mainly used by solution developers who design queries and test their performance using the explain plan module.
  • The UI of Toad has not changed much from the earlier versions and thus developers can focus on what they do instead of having to pay attention to the many redundant features which seem to come up every year.
  • Designing a query in toad is a breeze. It also helps while taking data dumps.
  • Performance analysis module of toad is also very robust providing graphic analysis of queries.
  • Toad is very reliable.
  • The full enterprise features come at a cost. Dell should think about how this wonderful solution can be made more viable for small companies.
  • Toad is not a very big player for non-RDMS DB clients.
  • All newer linguistics are not recognized by Toad.
For a person who has newly been introduced to an RDMS database, Toad reduces the learning curve a lot by providing a very user-friendly UI on top of an Oracle database. The explain plan feature of Toad also helps a lot when it comes to optimizing queries. For someone who is not comfortable logging in to a box and taking data dumps, they can easily do so with the Toad user interface.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
Rajat Wadhwani | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

Great Platform for Data Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is used to manage databases in our organization. Huge data generated in the oil and gas industry needs to be managed to make business decisions and managing such huge data needs an application which is able to handle such data. SQL builder helps to build queries which are used to extract data out of oracle databases. It is used across the organization so that everyone has the same data rather than having local databases in their system.
  • Manages huge volume of data and provides a platform to run queries. Not very expensive.
  • The SQL builder really helps those who are new to SQL. Very well integrated with other applications.
  • Very intuitive and user-friendly with lot of features and functionalities.
  • A Python platform to write scripts which can be used to extract and manage data would be really helpful.
  • Needs to be linked to more applications to import data such as SharePoint.
  • Reduced cost is like icing on the cake.
While managing data one of the tasks is to work on a particular filtered data. In that case "views" play an important role. One can play with the the data on a particular dataset without disturbing the original data. Also it is very important to make sure everyone uses the same data in such a large organization which is updated to avoid any discrepancies.
Read Rajat Wadhwani's full review
Akshay Malhotra | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

The tool for Oracle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad is the best tool for SQL development, you can have thousands of tables and the indexation and current searches work fantastic, if I had to describe it in one word it should be fast.
  • Import/Export function where we are able to export the data in any of the format like .csv, xlsx, .txt etc., according to the number of rows required.
  • Database diagram - Easily able to generate the database diagram which will shows the relationship between objects.
  • Toad automation scripts and formatting SQL scripts for developer.
  • Transform function and cleansing the data.
  • License Key is costly since we have to pay rather than open-ended tool.
  • Some of the SQL commands are still not recognized by Toad like (NOSQL), PIVOT etc.
  • Reporting will not be exact since this is not owned by database production. An example of that is SSRS reports run by Microsoft.
What I think is the best in this software is that it has a complete environment to work within the data base, you don't have to work with other tools. This is the form you have to work in, there you can see from a field of a table to the database relation, which is really complete. Backing up the databases is pretty easy, and you can restore it also in a few clicks.
Read Akshay Malhotra's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2018

Toad is a de-facto database development tool, but a bit much for just analytics

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a non-profit healthcare system consisting of hospitals and clinics, we run an electronic health record system to capture patient data and clinical workflow logs and store them into an enterprise data warehouse (EDW). The EDW is being used as a data source to pursue for clinical research and data driven quality improvement and clinical workflow optimization. Toad has been used as a database tool for our EDW team, by data developers who create data marts and ETL processes, and data analysts who extract KPIs from clinical data in the EDW.
  • Toad is a de-facto standard tool for data developers and analysts. Generally speaking it provides almost every function needed to manage data in EDW with great performance and stability.
  • The nature of clinical data is big-sized: one table may have billions of rows. Toad provides critical functions to manage SQLs, e.g. Top SQL that can monitor and manage SQLs using CPU power and network bandwidth, so that EDW administrator can optimize ETL operations in the best efficiency.
  • Many of our data analysts are not computer science backgrounded (having clinical / nursing background). Toad provides great auditing tools such as Tuning Lab or SQL Scanner, so that data analysts can train themselves with guidance of the tool.
  • It is an expensive tool, compared to SQL Developer or Orange. It is worth its price, but for developers or analysts who need basic functions, other tools are good enough.
  • It is a heavy tool. It consumes a lot of resources especially when it runs in laptop. If hardware is not good enough and runs big query on top of that, Toad sometimes crashes.
  • Look and feel of ER diagram should be improved. We had need of printing it out and put on the wall and it wasn't so beautiful.
Toad is basically a tool for everything about database management. We have two groups of people; one as data developers who create and manage data marts in our EDW, the other as data analysts who perform analysis using data in the EDW. Toad is perfect for data developers, but a luxury for data analysts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Toad for Oracle is well suited for technical advanced database admin

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mainly use Toad to access our Oracle database. The Oracle database is hosting all of the legacy data. Not many people in the organization use it. The main purpose of using Toad was to export legacy data.
  • The interface offers a lot of customization options.
  • Connecting time to the server was on par with other database software.
  • Exporting wizard is easy to use.
  • Query run time were extraordinarily long. Though It could be caused by lack of support on the legacy database.
  • User interface is too busy, difficult to navigate and sometimes confusing
  • Common function NOLOCK is not recognized
Toad is well suited for advanced users like DBA. I was an analyst so I had a more difficult time using it. I would imagine DBA would use it with no problems because of its high level of customization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2018

Toad for Oracle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department uses Toad to interact with our databases and to write SQL scripts. It is used across the entire IT department. Toad provides many ways for us to interact directly with our database.
  • Ability to Interact with multiple database connections from the same interface.
  • A multitude of tools to run scripts and explore the database.
  • A useful output interface that displays query results.
  • Syntax validation could use some work. It appears this was addressed in an update but the new version has not been pushed out yet.
  • Toad uses an enormous amount of RAM, memory efficiency could be improved.
  • Toad does not format well to smaller screen sizes, such as a laptop.
Toad is well suited as a robust tool to interact with an organization's databases. It has many options available that should fit most use cases. Running scripts, writing quick queries, creating tables, and exploring schemas are all great use cases. It is less suited for machines that have low-end performance specs and laptop screens.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2018

Beginners best to use Toad

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for oracle is easy to use for the new users who are working on databases. It is used by some of science and technology teams at our workplace. We mostly use it to store JSON data a lot.
  • Filtering result set records quickly
  • Great graphical user interface.
  • Easy to use.
  • Visual treat for writing queries.
  • Can improve while connecting to schemas. It's quite slow some times.
For beginners instead of using sqlplus editor toad helps a lot write / execute queries.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2018

Toad review from PeopleSoft user

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our ERP department which supports the PeopleSoft software for HCM, Finance, and Supply chain. I don't know of other groups within BJC that are using it. We use it to run queries that are too large too run in PeopleSoft and take too much time to generate results in PeopleSoft.
  • Toad runs queries much faster than the PeopleSoft system can
  • Toad does not lock up my system while it is running a query and I am still able to do other things
  • I have not encountered anything that I feel needed to be improved; it has worked well for me when needed
It is well suited for queries that will pull back a large amount of data. We use it a lot for payroll data when users want a whole year's worth of information on our 32,000+ employees
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Kuhn | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2018

Utilization of Toad for business users

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Toad for Oracle across the whole organization. I have been on multiple teams throughout that utilize this tool as their primary database interaction tools. Our database administrators utilize this tool to view/manage process, table changes, analysis and some small data copies. Our analyst teams across the whole organization utilize Toad to perform their day to day job. Our analyst teams need to be able to dive deep into the data in our database tables to build out specs needed to develop new business functionality or reporting. The interface within Toad allows for users that don't have a technical background to be able to analyze the data within our tables to determine what new tables or requirements we need to implement. Our analytic teams do not always have in depth knowledge of SQL, which makes it difficult for them to dive deep into the data without a user interface that is very user friendly. This allows our analysts to focus on analyzing the data and not have to spend time figuring out how to write sql statements to get to the data.
  • Easy interaction with data
  • Interactive tools to build out SQL for individuals that are not as comfortable with SQL
  • Can allow business administration teams to quickly make changes to database and monitor process that are running on the database
  • The tool does have a tendency to freeze up when multiple windows or browsers are open
  • When looking at data it would be nice to be able to right click on a row/column and say filter on that individual column and value
  • More tools to interact with XML Clobs within a table
Toad is very useful to individuals that are not as technically advanced in database interactions given the strong UI interfaces. This is the group that has used this tool over the last few years. There are a lot of other tools also within Toad that allow for much more technical users to interact with the database through the process monitors and other features.
Read Andrew Kuhn's full review
Tom Blades | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2018

Great tool for troubleshooting with Oracle EBS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle is being used in our department here at Experian for querying the database and troubleshooting issues with the Oracle application which are reported to us.

Toad is a crucial tool for our department as we have limited front-end access, and therefore we have a controlled platform to query tables/packages where differing levels of rights and access is granted for HR/Finance respectively.
  • Quick querying of data and debugging of issues which is particularly made easier with the stored procedures function and has a very friendly user-interface.
  • The use of a stored TNSnames file for accessing the different environments makes it very simple to connect to different databases.
  • Creating and editing packages is very simple and allows you to toggle different views of the package which is very handy when they are of such a large size.
  • Version control on stored procedures - currently not something which is available
  • To allow scheduled reporting remotely without the need to be physically logged into the software
Toad is well suited to our data-centric organization as we have segregation of duties for HR/Finance and we have restricted access to particular tables. Rights given to perform write functions to DEV and Read-Only for UAT/PROD makes this a very secure tool for our business to prevent data corruption.
Read Tom Blades's full review
Robb Glietz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

Toad for Oracle Makes Oracle database simple

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by one department. We have different sources which feed data into our Oracle database at a Co-location. Toad for Oracle makes it easy to access the database and work with the tables and schema. When having to either add tables or build out a new database for new data, Toad for Oracle make it a breeze to get those tasks done in no time with minimal effort.
  • One key feature I use all the time is the stored procedure Toad makes it easy not just to create them but also to debug them which speeds up the process to get them down with minimal downtime.
  • The other key feature I just love is the query builder since we have a lot of tables it makes it easy to build a query using data from the different tables by just using the table name.
  • Toad for Oracle makes it easy to connect to different databases via the GUI.
  • I would like to see them build in version control for stored procedures, right now I have to cut and paste the procedure before making changes to it in case something happens in my coding.
In my mind there is no other way to work with Oracle except to use Toad for Oracle, it makes everything you do with Oracle Databases so much easier. The GUI is very easy to use and things are arranged in a way that makes sense. If you do a lot of stored procedure then it is a must-have for it makes creating, troubleshooting and deploying so easy.
Read Robb Glietz's full review
Dan Hotka | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2017

Toad for Oracle - A great development/data query/SQL tuning tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad for Oracle makes things VERY easy for the developer. I like the PL/SQL templates within the product. I also like how easy it is to add your own shortcuts to customize the coding experience to your needs.

In my book: Toad for Oracle Unleashed, chapter 10 is 'Toad as a SQL Tuning Tool'. The Toad team has made performance tuning of SQL very easy.

I use Toad for light development, as a data query tool, and as a SQL performance tuning tool.
  • SQL Performance Tuning. The Toad team has done a great job with explain plans...and DBMS_XPLAN displays as well. They have also included 'advanced' explain plan features that one would have to use SQL*Plus to get otherwise. The Toad Team has a great Trace File Browser that takes you right to the poorly performing SQL.
  • Toad for data analysis. Toad is a great query tool. If you don't know SQL, Toad has this great Query Builder that is a drag/drop operation that will create simple to advanced SQL just using your mouse. You can then export to a nice report writer and Excel. Most export to Excel.
  • Oracle code development. Toad is simply the best with its templates, ability to condense and expand code...and allows you to add your own short cuts to help customize Toad to your programming needs.
  • I've wanted the Toad Team to make some of the more advanced features available on more affordable packages. Right now, I can't think of any functionality that is missing that I turn to another tool for.
  • Toad now does ( ) matching...this is something I used to have to use the vi editor for...but now Toad covers it. Toad also covers brace and bracket matching.
  • The Toad Team did add my QBLOCK_NAME stuff...that is super helpful when performance tuning SQL that contains sub queries. We worked together on this and now I can use Toad for this type of tuning as well.
I know of many companies that use Toad as a data analysis tool. Toad has a great following and I know people who switched jobs and now do not have Toad...and REALLY miss it.

Toad is a good development GUI. Toad is great for data retrieval, even for the novice... Toad is a great SQL tuning tool.
Read Dan Hotka's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2017

Toad to jump to efficiency

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Many platforms [designed] to manage a database are intended to simplify the management of databases. Although generally in large companies their DBA is responsible for supporting these issues, many companies still look positively on using these tools to control their operations’ databases. And not only in positions such as a DBA, but in positions where software development database management tools are mostly welcomed for the simplicity, ease of use and speed they offer in their work.

Of these existing tools for Oracle SQL - we find Toad as the most versatile among them in terms of simplicity, ease and speed alternative.

  • It is simple to use. If you are migrating languages ​​you'll find many similarities with respect to SQL Server Development Studio or MySQL Workbench.
  • Its performance is good. You will not be [waiting] long before you run a query or [have to] get used to long waits.
  • The learning curve is almost direct.
  • If you already use Oracle SQL Developer, you could expect some delays or a learning curve in finding all the options.
  • You need to get a license.
  • It can be somewhat heavy compared to tools among other areas.
If you need to rely on a tool [to build a database], Toad is recommended. Oracle SQL Developer is better for when you go to live [a]long with Oracle. According procurement policies software, Toad may not be the most advisable option because you must purchase a license.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Sergio Alvarez | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2017

Toad for Oracle Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's been used by the IT department to manage users, data, reports, procedures, etc. We use as the main program to deal with an Oracle DB 11g, which has all the necessary data to manage all day by day working of university.
  • It's a wonderful tool to get any kind of relational data from tables, apply filters, test examples, Maintain the database, control the users.
  • It can give you statistics of use, bottlenecks, etc.
  • It lets you develop and test your own queries and/or PL programs. You can even optimize both of them.
  • It is only available for Windows. I would like to use it on Linux or even Apple environments but it's not possible right now.
It is great to administrate Oracle DBs and to develop and test your queries to include later (once debugged) in another environment. Maybe it is too powerful to make simple DB tasks, but it is good even in those cases. I think that anyone who works with Oracle DBs should also work with Toad. it 's a "must have" program.
Read Sergio Alvarez's full review
Veera Sadayappan | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2017

Toad for Oracle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use Toad for Oracle to connect to Oracle DB. It used to write queries (sql/plsql/package etc.) and run them. Also used to do some Admin activities with UI interface.
  • Browse Database Object
  • Run queries
  • Admin activities
  • Visual Explain plan
  • More options for explaining plan
  • Little easier to find data in query results
Any querying is good. Good format to recognize different syntax. Browsing database objects is very handy. Can filter and search for objects from browser. We can also edit data from object browser.
Read Veera Sadayappan's full review
Charanya Rajagopalan | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2016

The ideal database tool for Oracle development and administration.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software was used for my client project (a top US bank). Most of the projects across the entire organization used Toad for Oracle although the decision to use a particular software like this was based on two main factors: 1. Budget 2. Suggestion from the technical leads of individual projects.

I was part of the Business Intelligence team and we used Toad for ad-hoc-query analysis, data analysis, to verify SQL logic, database development, code formatting, extracting reports and much more.
  • Ease of use with a well designed and pleasant interface.
  • The Schema browser is very simple and easy to navigate between different levels of a database schema which is a great time saver! It looks simple and its use will make more sense when you use tools that don't have this feature.
  • The ability to run multiple queries in a single window without having to save the queries.
  • Very useful built-in features that help in better code analysis, are easy for comparing different versions of code, extracting reports, query evaluation, code formatting and editing.
  • Better code de-bugging capabilities.
  • Occasionally, the application crashes without warning. Leaving me to start my work all over again. This was not a frequent issue but it does happen from time to time.
It is well suited for day to day database development, database management, code analysis, query optimizations, executing ad-hoc queries, generating reports and much more.

Toad was used by different teams within our project and was suitable for users of all skill levels:

  • Database development team: For end-to-end database development.
  • Database support team: For fixing bugs in code logics within procedures and functions and for monitoring day to day jobs.
  • Database Administrator: For administering database and automating code analysis, performance analysis etc.
  • Business Intelligence/ Reporting team: For Analysing SQL logics and comparing database vs. report logic and output.
  • QA team: For creating test data and validating various functionalities.
  • Front-end team : For verifying database objects that are linked to front-end application.
Read Charanya Rajagopalan's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Version control tools (18)
7.9
Test data generation (24)
7.0
Performance optimization tools (28)
7.9
Schema maintenance (27)
8.3
Database change management (26)
7.7
User management (29)
8.0
Database security (26)
7.9
Database status reporting (27)
8.1
Change management (21)
8.2

About Toad for Oracle

Categories:  Database Management

Toad for Oracle Competitors

Toad for Oracle Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No