BrightHR

BrightHR

Customer Verified
Score 8.8 out of 10
BrightHR

Overview

What is BrightHR?

British company BrightHR offers a human resources platform which helps replace paper documents with edocuments and contains features for managing employee scheduling and ROTA, sick leave and tardiness, vacation and holiday shift planning, as well as providing employment law legal...
Read more

Recent Reviews

BrightHR for growing IT company

10 out of 10
September 05, 2022
We have adopted BrightHR as our new software package for managing all things HR. I recently completed an onboarding session and this was …
Continue reading

Great first impression!

10 out of 10
June 30, 2022
We are utilizing the BrightHRs employee portal, their health and safety advice, and most importantly BrightHR's legal advice to check our …
Continue reading

Time saver

9 out of 10
June 30, 2022
I have been setting up for staff to use templates for contracts and policies as we need to use them a lot and BrightHR saves time trying …
Continue reading

BrightHR

7 out of 10
June 23, 2022
We have just signed up to BrightHR for HR and H & S advice. We require additional support for these functions and BrightHR seemed to have …
Continue reading

New to Bright HR

10 out of 10
June 16, 2022
Our organization has only recently signed up for Bright HR. The training and support provided so far to help us become familiar with it …
Continue reading

Bright HR

8 out of 10
March 07, 2022
Being a small business I do not always have time to stay on top of every employment law change. Bright HR frees up a lot of my time and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • View company policy documentation (13)
    8.5
    85%
  • Update personal information (13)
    8.5
    85%
  • Balance details (11)
    8.4
    84%
  • Approval workflow (12)
    8.3
    83%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of BrightHR, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.brighthr.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $4.50
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Call in HR back up from the pros, 24/7 | BrightHR
00:20
Customer stories: Meet Mark from Audacious Church
02:41
Customer stories: Meet Chris and Jess from Hotel Football
02:39
Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

7Avg 8.0

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

7Avg 8.1

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

8.6Avg 8.2

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.3Avg 8.2

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

9Avg 7.7

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

8Avg 8.0

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

7Avg 7.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is BrightHR?

BrightHR is a UK based HR and health & safety software platform, dedicated to transforming people management.

BrightHR has supported employers since 2015 with a range of software and provides HR, H&S, and business support to over 80,000 businesses globally.

The software allows the user to manage staff holidays, overtime, sickness, lateness, and on the go with mobile apps.

With the Turbo Talent Navigator, the user can build a team with its job listing creator and applicant manager, and download templates such as offer letters and job descriptions, alongside interview checklists.

Once they’re hired, BrightHR will help plan their rotas, run their payroll reports, and track their sick leave and holidays, in its people management software. Plus, with Blip and PoP, BrightHR's free mobile apps, the user can create a digital clock-in system and track employee expenses.

Staff will also have access to an employee assistance programme, Bright Wellbeing & Counselling, which brings staff a wealth of wellbeing services. The EAP provides a 24/7, 365 confidential & compassionate helpline for employees to speak to experienced in-house counsellors.

Because keeping staff safe is important, BrightSafe also helps to ensure compliance with regulations. Create and manage risk assessments, record any accidents in the workplace and carry out investigations. Also, access a range of CPD and RoSPA accredited e-learning courses.

The solution includes access to Bright Exchange, where the user can list a business and offer exclusive discounts to an audience of over 50,000 businesses and their staff. Staff will also get access to tons of special offers.

Additionally, BrightAdvice gives a direct line to a team of qualified employment law experts ready to help when needed. BrightAdvice guarantees a support network for even the trickiest HR issues.

And its answer bot, BrightHR Lightning, lets users type in an HR question, and the smart AI system will return a legally compliant answer straight away.

BrightHR Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Pre-built reports

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Additional Features

  • Supported: Absence Management
  • Supported: Attendance Management
  • Supported: Clocking In and Out System
  • Supported: Document Storage
  • Supported: Time & Attendance Tracking
  • Supported: Sick Leave tracking
  • Supported: Employee Self Service
  • Supported: Expense Management

BrightHR Screenshots

Screenshot of BrightHR dashboardScreenshot of BrightHR LightningScreenshot of Bright ExchangeScreenshot of BrightSafeScreenshot of BrightBaseScreenshot of PoP by BrightHR

BrightHR Videos

Call in HR back up from the pros, 24/7 | BrightHR Discover #TheNewHR at https://bit.ly/34gRI20
Meet Mark, Operations Director and BrightHR user. Mark explains how BrightHR has been revolutionary for the business. Get a personalised tour of our award-winning HR software to find out how BrightHR could benefit your business too. Book your free demo today: https://bit.ly/34gRI20
Jess and Mark from Hotel Football have found BrightHR Wellbeing and Counselling to be a valuable feature that supports their staff through any issues at home or in the workplace.

BrightHR Competitors

BrightHR Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesUK, Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand

Frequently Asked Questions

British company BrightHR offers a human resources platform which helps replace paper documents with edocuments and contains features for managing employee scheduling and ROTA, sick leave and tardiness, vacation and holiday shift planning, as well as providing employment law legal advice.

BrightHR starts at $4.5.

BambooHR, People HR, and Breathe are common alternatives for BrightHR.

Reviewers rate Update personal information and View company policy documentation highest, with a score of 8.5.

The most common users of BrightHR are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (18)

Reviews

(1-15 of 15)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use BrightHR to organise our employees regarding time management, health and safety, managing expenses. It is an extremely useful tool with a large scope for helping organisations in their day to day running of the business.
  • Health and Safety Checks
  • Expense Recording
  • Holiday Entitlement
  • More detailed answers on the help section.
Bright HR have an excellent team of Staff to provide information on how to use the different products and to give further help and advice when needed. We were particularly impressed with Raffaella Sinamtwa and Tyez Bennett, we found them to be extremely polite, helpful and friendly. They really made our journey of starting with Bright HR smooth and stress-free.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use BrightHR to manage all of our HR support requirements.

Samuel L. was excellent at demonstrating and training us on the system. Excellent service and excellent technology.

The platform brings an incredible boost to our efficiency, productivity and ease of use with our company systems.
  • great interface for both staff and managers to work with
  • all annual leave requests, TOIL, overtime handled incredibly easy
  • central storage of employee documentation easily and safely held and on-hand
  • would be good to be able to remove items not required (e.g. function for staff to select 'payable' overtime additions)
Tremendous platform for all HR, documentation, contracts, holiday entitlement, leave requests and approvals, TOIL, etc.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have adopted BrightHR as our new software package for managing all things HR. I recently completed an onboarding session and this was extremely informative. The follow-up has been great as well. I feel comfortable that I can now deploy the features I need from BrightHR to support my staff.
  • employee records management
  • calendar integration
  • documents management
  • dedicated managed dashboard
From what I have seen BrightHR provides all of the necessary functions to support a small business and its staff. It is simple to use and the app makes booking leave very simple for everyone.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are utilizing the BrightHRs employee portal, their health and safety advice, and most importantly BrightHR's legal advice to check our contracts and company policies. We currently do not have any legal help internally, so it will be very useful for us.
  • Easy to use
  • Great communication
  • Friendly
Just signed up for BrightHR - it was great onboarding experience with John, Gabriella, and Megan. Super simple to set up, and their service so far has been fantastic. Looking forward to working with them all!
June 30, 2022

Time saver

Andrea Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have been setting up for staff to use templates for contracts and policies as we need to use them a lot and BrightHR saves time trying to find templates online. Now we are signed up we can see the benefits of BrightHR's use for staff management, rotas, timetabling, etc. too. I am also going to use calendars and features to allocate work to staff.
  • Simple format
  • Great communication
  • friendly, easy-going staff who answer questions without too much jargon
Keeping staff data in one place as a small business increases in size. Staff handbooks and policies, contracts, etc. will be helpful. Staff are attentive and supportive so you can get the most out of the software.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We adopted BrightHR to assist in managing HR issues (via Croner) and ensure our staff followed correct procedures and processes. We wanted the structured support the platform offers to guide us and provide a simple, attractive, easy-to-use platform for all staff so that they would engage and benefit. Onboarding from Samuel was brilliant - he was helpful, witty, and knowledgeable. I toyed around with the platform and added some data, so he could tailor his presentation and answer my seemingly obscure questions without batting an eyelid - very impressive.
  • Document handling
  • Employee data display
  • Probably leave administration (though we have to decide whether to adopt that)
  • Ability to handle things on team by team basis rather than individuals (BrightSafe)
  • Encourage admin by a specific admin account rather than the account of a 'user'
It seems appropriate for SMBs who are often without specific HR personnel.
Lorna Dinan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our business uses BrightHR for Time and Attendance of our employees within a very busy childcare centre. Gareth has given us fantastic training on the BrightHR system in-house. He has made us all feel extremely comfortable around the use of this package and could not have been more supportive and pleasant as a trainer as we bombarded him with all our questions. I would very much recommend Gareth to any company wishing to put the BrightHR System in place as you will be guaranteed continued support from him and his company. The software seems like it will be very easy to use going forward and will make life easier day to day for us.
  • Training.
  • User-friendly.
  • Secure.
  • Irish Location site for BrightHR would be fantastic.
On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give BrightHR a ten. Fantastic company.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Bright HR along with Bright Safe to store all of our risk assessments, policies and e-learning for our employees. The product has highlighted what risk assessments we are missing and also which policies need updating.
  • Organisation and communication is impeccable.
  • Communication is always friendly and helpful.
Our account manager, Elisha S., was so helpful and kind in the training that I received from her. She is extremely punctual and provided amazing service.
June 23, 2022

BrightHR

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have just signed up to BrightHR for HR and H & S advice. We require additional support for these functions and BrightHR seemed to have a reasonably priced solution. The system seems very easy to use and the help given so far is very good.
  • HR advice
  • H & S advice
  • Don't know yet
don't know enough about the system yet, but it seems very easy to use
June 16, 2022

New to Bright HR

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our organization has only recently signed up for Bright HR. The training and support provided so far to help us become familiar with it have been very good. Our onboarding account manager has been very professional and patiently taking the time to go through the system in detail.
  • Onboarding
  • Providing information
  • Answering queries
  • Enable some additional features within employee permissions
Well suited to organizations that do not have their own HR department
Pauline Meredith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use BrightHR to retain accurate and up-to-date staff HR records. Also, we take advantage of the BrightHR helpline to address input and processing queries. For example, we have just discussed an annual leave entitlement query for a member of staff who works irregular shifts.
  • When a query has been dealt with via the helpline an email confirming the outcome is often issued which is great for reference at any time.
  • The system is easy to use and the screens are clutter free.
  • The support service offered is easy to access and the staff are friendly and helpful.
  • Direct-dial telephone numbers rather than going through the Peninsula helpline numbers.
  • Setting up annual leave profiles often needs the assistance of a Bright HR representative when staff works quirky shifts. Providing examples of how to set the system up in user guides may help to set the system upright the first time.
For a new part of our business, we have input staff details on Bright HR. There have been times when calls have been made to the helpline for guidance. It does not take long to get to know the staff you are speaking to. In relation to the query addressed with a team member today the service was excellent. Matthew has a great depth of knowledge of the system and works through the shift and annual leave calculations at the click of a finger. Thank you Mathew for your support, you are a star!
March 07, 2022

Bright HR

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Being a small business I do not always have time to stay on top of every employment law change. Bright HR frees up a lot of my time and streamlines the HR process in the company. We love that we now have access to top HR professionals to assist us when needed from drawing up new contracts of employment right through any disciplinary process we may need to undertake in the future.
  • Staying in contact with us
  • Easy to use Sotware
  • Quick Response to questions we have
  • Bright Exchange should add functionality to list in more than one region
  • Should be able to calculate holiday hours based on hours worked
Less suited to calculating actual holidays due
Great for keeping a HR system in place
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
As a small organization, BrightHR was affordable and has helped us to streamline and manage our HR processes more efficiently, from personnel record filing through to managing holiday requests and managing absence. It is very easy to use; the app is great for employees to use on their phones and it makes managing employee requests quick and easy. Employees and line manager can manage their own holiday and absences without having to go through HR. And personally, I love the cheery interface and inspiring quotes every time I login :o) Thank you BrightHR!
  • BrightHR app for employees and managers
  • BrightHR newsflash for the latest HR updates
  • BrightHR notifications and reminders
  • BrightHR documents - organisation and employee
  • Batch imports of employee data
  • All teams access to a holiday calendar across teams
I like the fact that there is a lot of ongoing development. The team is quick to respond to all support and development requests and I like that new features are being added all the time, which help me to do my day-to-day job.
September 01, 2021

Bright HR introduction

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Bright HR will give everyone access to their employment documents and track holiday leave, sick leave and any other type of leave.

It is also great for creating rotas. It will bring a level of professionalism to empowering and managing employee needs. The set up is very easy. The support is excellent and like any system, it can probably do more than you realize!
  • support
  • easy to use
  • none that I can think of
Suited to both large and small organisations. Takes some level of knowledge of HR issues in order to manage it.
Ella Malin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BrightHR is used to track employee absences, monitor holidays, and hold all our HR information about each employee. We also use the folders to share HR policies and send out reminders for managers to track and update documents, etc. It allows us to go paperless and have centrally held information where we can access it whenever and wherever in the world we are. It also allows for viability as to who is in the office or working from home, etc.
  • Holiday management
  • HR storage
  • Absence reporting
  • Track vacation
  • Permissions-need to be revised.
  • The bottom landing page is hard to navigate.
  • Granting access to employees has too many saves involved.
BrightHR is great at showing who is on holiday, who is in the office or working from home; which team and who reports to who. It is great at setting up new employees and it is very intuitive with setting the new employees up.

You can add all HR documents to individual employee folders and you can give permission to those employees to view documents or you can turn that off. You can set reminders for reviews and PDRs as well as you receive reminders from Bright HR letting you know if the information is missing; for if someone needs holiday/TOIL approval.

I find the fact that documents cannot be viewed in the application frustrating as sometimes I do not want to download the document to my laptop.
Return to navigation