BambooHR

BambooHR

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
Top Rated
BambooHR

Overview

Recent Reviews

Incredible HR Software

9 out of 10
March 24, 2022
This software offers human resources tools that make our work easier and more bearable, so we can focus on another area that needs our …
Continue reading

BambooHR Rocks

10 out of 10
January 07, 2022
I love BambooHR. Super easy to use, very user-friendly. I experienced no problems with the site. The best UX and UI design I've seen for …
Continue reading

BambooHR Review

9 out of 10
January 06, 2022
I personally use Bamboo to track all current and former employees; see their locations, job titles, time at FanDuel, level, salary, and …
Continue reading

Great for HR!

10 out of 10
January 06, 2022
I thought BambooHR was a great application, and it is so easy to use. I thought this site contained a lot of cool features, for example, …
Continue reading

Would not recommend BambooHR

1 out of 10
December 28, 2021
Our plan was to use BambooHR and Trax payroll to have a single solution for our HR and payroll needs. We were okay until we started to …
Continue reading

Highly Recommend!

10 out of 10
December 01, 2021
We use BambooHR as our HRIS and ATS. This includes recruitment, onboarding, time-off management, employee files, and off-boarding. We also …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features

View job history (69)

9.2
92%

Update personal information (74)

9.0
90%

Employment history (68)

9.0
90%

Job profiles and administration (68)

8.7
87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of BambooHR, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

12 Employees

$99

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optionalOptional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.bamboohr.com/pricing.php

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $59 per month

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

8.3
83%

Payroll Management

8.5
85%

Leave and Attendance Management

9.1
91%

Employee Self Service

8.6
86%

Asset Management

8.4
84%

HR Reporting

7.7
77%

Onboarding

8.1
81%

Performance and Goals

8.2
82%

Performance Management

8.1
81%

Succession Planning

7.9
79%

Recruiting / ATS

8.1
81%

Product Details

What is BambooHR?

BambooHR is an online HR system for small and medium-sized businesses. The cloud-based system offers integrated payroll, applicant tracking (ATS), onboarding tools, e-signatures, time-off tracking, and performance management, with reporting and a mobile app for employees. BambooHR simplifies HR data management to help HR teams become more effective, more efficient, and more human.

BambooHR Features

  • Supported: Customizable Dashboards and Reports
  • Supported: Automated Time-Off Management
  • Supported: Employee Self-Service
  • Supported: Open API
  • Supported: Global Settings for Multi-National Businesses

BambooHR Screenshots

Reporting Made EasyReadily Accessible Employee Information

BambooHR Integrations

BambooHR Competitors

BambooHR Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesBambooHR supports any country worldwide
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Spanish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BambooHR?

BambooHR is an on-line human resources solution that provides onboarding, payroll, and benefits management. It also offers automated time-off management and employee self-service.

How much does BambooHR cost?

BambooHR starts at $59.

What is BambooHR's best feature?

Reviewers rate Approval workflow highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses BambooHR?

The most common users of BambooHR are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 80)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
MacKenzie Knoll | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bamboo for SO much. Payroll, PTO, stored documents, etc. It works so well for our company as we navigate 4 sub-companies. It works really well for PTO requests and accrual. I never have to try and remember complicated information regarding that which is super nice.
  • PTO
  • Payroll
  • Employee Directory
  • Docusign stuff
  • None that I can think of.
It is super good for a well-structured company. If the company were newer or less structured, it might take some time to get used to using it. There are so many features, and it can be overwhelming to figure out what is beneficial to use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software offers human resources tools that make our work easier and more bearable, so we can focus on another area that needs our presence. It allows us to track, manage data, and employee information, thus providing a complete report to bosses. Employees will be able to enter, make some changes by themselves, from an application that they can have on their mobile. We employees can group them according to their work categories, carry out inventories, information, follow-up of employees and their work, payroll, and signed documents, among other things. It facilitates our communication, maintaining order and efficiency in our company.
  • Manage the personal information of employees.
  • Easy access for employees, and the digital signature is not complicated at all.
  • It's frustrating when the wait for a vacancy disappears and it's a little difficult to see it again later.
I have been working with BambooHR for just over four years, and my experience has been very pleasant. It is very easy to use, better than any other software I have used before. I love the option that allows employees to enter their data, sign, do any changes, and save. Also where the available jobs are reflected to users, and so I would go by naming features that make my experience more enjoyable with BambooHR.
January 07, 2022

BambooHR Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love BambooHR. Super easy to use, very user-friendly. I experienced no problems with the site. The best UX and UI design I've seen for an HR portal. I really liked how simple the website looked, it made searching things very easy. I also like the functions that are given to users.
  • Search
  • User Friendly
  • UX Design
  • Access
  • Detailed Information
  • In Depth Access
The easiest HR systems I've used. I love the org chart it provides. It also makes seeing employee information very easy and accessible. One of my favorite features is being able to see everyone that is out of office. I like being able to filter throughout the organization to see who is out of office as well.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a member of the human resources department, I utilize BambooHR to verify job history, department, team, salary history, contact info, and other related items. BambooHR helps me gain better insight into an employee's organizational progression which allows me to better plan & organize for future promotions, merit increases, or market adjustments related to employee compensation.
  • Employee Directory
  • Time Off Requests
  • New Hire Shout Outs
  • I really can't think of anything. Functionality and features have all been top-notch in my experience using BambooHR.
Well-suited: Position history Time off requests New hire shout outs Less Appropriate: Healthcare administration 401k External communications with third parties
January 06, 2022

BambooHR Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally use Bamboo to track all current and former employees; see their locations, job titles, time at FanDuel, level, salary, and who they report to. I also use bamboo to request time off and handle any personal aspects that relate to my position.
  • Convenience
  • Efficiency
  • User Interaction
  • Layout
I enjoy BambooHR because it is extremely easy to navigate and allows me the ability to find current employees easily. There is not much I would change about BambooHR.
January 06, 2022

Great for HR!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I thought BambooHR was a great application, and it is so easy to use. I thought this site contained a lot of cool features, for example, the welcome section for new hires. This application makes your resources and links simply to find as well! The site itself is appealing and not confusing at all.
  • Mapping out the company's organizational chart
  • Easy to see information in profile
  • Allowing employees to see who is out for the day
  • Making the calendar of those who are out a bit easier to read.
  • Adding an attendance feature for employees.
  • A section that features employees' birthdays.
I think BambooHR is well suited for new hires starting out in the company. I think the site is very easy for new users to navigate and explore more about their company. I cannot imagine where this site is not well-suited for a company as this site allows companies to post their policies and resources there for employees to read as well as search for other employees if needed.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our plan was to use BambooHR and Trax payroll to have a single solution for our HR and payroll needs. We were okay until we started to implement their time tracking app and realized that they could not manage some basic payroll functions and no fix was anticipated. Many issues identified in the interim and wrote up several things at their request for them to consider addressing, none of which has been changed. For example, most employee name drop-downs are in first name order. Some are in no intelligible order. Basic, basic stuff. Most recently, about half our employees received half of their vacation accruals for no apparent reason. The "Support Hero" advised that it must have been one of the Admins on our side who adjusted the accrual dates (definitely not the case). Had to go through four people before it was taken seriously and then took two weeks to address, and even then required my reviewing and notifying them of further issues. Just one example.
  • Showing accruals (when it isn't messed up) in running total form
  • Landing screen is user friendly and visually appealing
  • Applicant tracking
  • Basic functions of converting time to payroll
  • Clocking in and out punches often do not "take"
  • Default employee sort should be able to be changed to last name
  • Consider not having everyone take their lunch at the same time
  • Too little documentation for implementation - told to watch videos
After a bumpy implementation, pleased with applicant tracking, time-off request process works well, visually appealing Cons - in my opinion, onboarding is not intuitive; in an effort to be progressive, some aspects verge on the unprofessional: "beep boop," misspelling; help function requires logging in again; aforementioned employee lists. For basic employee data warehousing, BambooHR is probably a good choice.
Carlos Andrés Patiño | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bamboo HR is a seamless system to compile all employees' information in one place. everything from what they like to where they live. The documents required for their long-term experience in the company. We also keep salary information there and people can go back and track their growth and pay raises. We can manage time off in a fast and straightforward way. We provide unpaid time off options, parental leaves, and more.
  • BambooHR supports our Paid Time Off strategy
  • BambooHR supports our pay rate records per employee
  • Bamboo HR allows us to track Bday and anniversaries
  • I think the mobile version can be better
  • I think there are many other features to explore in HR that can make BambooHR a 360 platform
  • I think they can promote more the features available, unused or new.
BambooHR provides a simple and effective platform for company leaders, People Ops, and all team members to track relevant information about their employment, interests, salary rates, time off, parental leaves, birthdays, and anniversaries and see who is out. It is also great at integrating with our calendars and displaying this information elsewhere. It is not as effective when it comes to employee satisfaction tracking.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR has been a solid blanket HR solution for us. It provides the basics of managing our prospective hires and active employees, but it also goes far beyond that. It stores our HR documentation records, emergency contact information, personnel data, and work histories. It has a thorough system that allows for easy changes to job roles with an extensive history system. It allows us to manage hierarchies in multiple departments very easily. We also use it for managing time-off requests and time balances. It integrates with our scheduling solution, Deputy, behind the scenes in a seamless way thanks to its API features.
  • It provides an extensive system for setting up time off accruals and managing their balances.
  • It has a powerful system for managing user permissions to allow supervisors access to necessary areas and limit the access of employees.
  • It provides a very useful set of auditing tools and reports, both for tracking changes to employee profiles and who made the changes.
  • It has a clean UI that makes it easy for less tech-savvy users to interact with their HR data.
  • It could use the ability to create default profile settings for new employees to allow them to default to having certain time off and permissions settings.
  • The API could use some more work on the time tracking side of things. It is very limited in that area.
  • The reporting is not as user-friendly as it could be and can feel tedious for less tech-savvy HR users.
Overall BambooHr has excelled in satisfying our needs. It performs well as a one-stop-shop for HR challenges. It has benefitted us as an excellent repository for personnel information both in processing prospective and new hires, as well as existing employees. It provides a fairly simple, but [the] straightforward system for managing and using time off. Some areas do need some work, however. There is no ability to set up a default set of time-off types/accruals for a new hire, which means this has to be done manually for each new employee. This creates a lot of opportunities for human error. It also has a very opaque and unhelpful API when it comes to the management of the time data; Whereas the rest of the API is exceptional. Lastly, the ability to request time off only allows for a flat number of hours in a day; it doesn't allow the employee to request specific times. As a result, we rely on the employee and manager to communicate the time successfully in the notes field. There is a big difference between arriving 1 hour late, leaving 1 hour early, and stepping out for an extended lunch.
Mike Cheney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used BambooHR as our HRIS. We managed recruitment and hiring, new employee onboarding, existing employee training and development, and facilitated employee leave policies via BambooHR. BambooHR was our one-stop-shop for everything HR-related. All our team managers used it to keep track of their teams and who needed leave when. Our recruitment team used BambooHR exclusively to facilitate hundreds of new hires across multiple departments.
  • Creating and launching job adverts in a well designed easy to use job portal.
  • Facilitate employee leave policies and approvals.
  • Create easy-to-use onboarding and offboarding templates for new and existing employees.
  • For a non-US-based company, BambooHR can be on the pricey side billing per user per month.
  • We managed to figure out how to set up the various features we wanted within BambooHR and their online help directory was useful but it would've been nice to have more onboarding support from their onboarding team.
Easy to set up and use for medium to large enterprises. You're able to run any and all HR-related administration through BambooHRs one-stop-shop platform. Small enterprises will find BambooHR on the pricey side of things.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at Dashlane, we use BambooHR to store all our employee information and use their organization chart to make it easy to find out who is reporting to who. This information is also imported into Small Improvements, which is our tool that we use to help facilitate our feedback checkpoints during the performance review process. We heavily rely on BambooHR to make it easy to control all this data, from a user's first day until we off-board them from our company.
  • Simple UI - Easy for everyone to use and understand, no matter what they are using it for.
  • Clear documentation - Their API documentation is easy to read and makes it easy to know what is and isn't achievable.
  • Integrations with other products - Being able to automatically sync with Small Improvements makes our lives much easier.
  • Lack of features - BambooHR does everything well, but as a user of the platform, it. doesn't do much more than organize our companies directory.
  • Not natural to use some features - At Dashlane, we don't have any need to use the Announcements or Approval features of BambooHR. I don't know why exactly, but we use other platforms to handle this for us.
If a company doesn't already have an easy way to onboard, keep track and organize their employees on a directory, I would highly recommend they use BambooHR. As a user, it isn't very difficult to get used to and I find myself looking at it often to make sure I remember who is on what team and who is their manager. I also use it during the onboarding process as a manager, making my life easier to get my new hires into the directory and begin getting them the access they need within the rest of our company.
Jennifer Hagen, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was in a small company that needed an HRIS that could manage time off, time tracking, and onboarding/offboarding. This software fit the bill exactly what I needed to manage my team. It helped consolidate many of my pain points and gave transparency to the employees so they could see their time off and manage their own time tracking. The solution was affordable and scaled nicely to what I needed. It worked closely with other solutions to provide benefits administration for when I needed it.
  • Time tracking.
  • Paid time off.
  • Onboarding.
  • Benefits administration.
  • Reporting.
  • Customization.
BambooHR is well suited for small companies. If you have more than 100 employees in your company you might want to look at a different solution. It has both add-on opportunities if you need benefits administration or other components that it doesn’t provide as an HRIS. As far as onboarding new employees, it makes it very simple and user-friendly for both the employer and the new employee.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I really liked BambooHR for the onboarding piece. You could post jobs, select candidates to interview, and hire them all in one system. I also liked that I was able to do all of the onboarding functions in one place and all of their documents were saved in that system.
  • Onboarding
  • Filing System
  • Recruiting
  • Integration with ADP WorkforceNow
I think this system is a great solution for an HRIS. Our company used it for about 2 years and the only reason we quit was [that] through the pandemic we were no longer hiring (which was the function we were using Bamboo for the most) and we needed to make better cost decisions.
December 01, 2021

Highly Recommend!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR as our HRIS and ATS. This includes recruitment, onboarding, time-off management, employee files, and off-boarding. We also have it set up with reminders for birthdays, anniversaries, and performance reviews.
  • The on-boarding process is streamlined with a great user experience.
  • The time off management is quick and easy.
  • Files can be added and organized easily.
  • There is limited reporting for the ATS.
  • There is a performance management module, but it is not very customizable.
  • The engagement survey is just the eNPS question. This does not allow us to ask different questions.
BambooHR is great for small companies that want to reduce administrative time and improve candidate and employee experience. As an organization grows and becomes more complex, there are some limitations that need workarounds, perhaps by purchasing more specialized software that integrates.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is the single resource for all things HR - midway reviews, requesting time off (including parental leave, jury duty, sick leave, vacation, etc.). We are able to set goals for ourselves to stay on track as well as see any limitations that an employee may have for specific events such as allergies and flight preferences! It’s the single resource that allows us to have all of this information about an employee in one spot. We remain organized and in “the know”.
  • Allows requesting time off in any scenario to be simple.
  • Provides employee info such as address/preferences.
  • Allows employees to set goals for themselves.
  • The Home Screen could be “better”… it feels busy.
BambooHR is appropriate for companies with 100+ employees to keep track of everyone. It allows for organizations to keep everyone in one place with all of their info that may be needed. Companies with smaller head-counts won't have much use for this type of more extreme organization. Growing companies can utilize this early on to prepare for future growth.
November 30, 2021

BambooHR Review

Jeffrey Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use BambooHR on a daily basis. It allows me to not only keep track of my personal vacation days but also helps me keep track of my team's scheduled vacations. It makes it very easy to approve requested vacation days. It also creates a nice directory of the entire company.
  • Tracking of employee vacation days.
  • Tracking of personal vacation days.
  • Directory of team members.
  • It could be better integrated with other platforms.
  • The interviewing process around hiring could be more robust.
I would recommend BambooHR to any company that is needing help with tracking employee vacation days as well as those who are looking to grow their teams through the interviewing and hiring process. This is a useful tool that allows for centralized documentation of these important events. Overall it is easy to use.
November 30, 2021

A Review of BambooHR

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Applicant Tracking System (ATS) Onboarding Documents & Process Credentialing of Healthcare Professionals Including Protected Health Information (PHI) Performance Management Including 360 Evaluations Goal Setting/Planning & Key Performance Indicators (KPIs).
  • Assigning/limiting access to certain areas to keep confidential information private.
  • Performance management, goal setting, collecting peer feedback.
  • Notifications for birthdays, renewals, etc.
  • More middle and back office functionality (CRM, payroll, invoicing, etc.)
  • Integrations with more platforms for middle and back office functions.
  • Better transition from ATS to employee (complete transfer of documents & communication).
It's very well suited as an HR platform for ATS, employee documentation, performance management, etc. It's less appropriate if you're looking for a platform that covers all of your business functions in one place.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used BambooHR for two small businesses (legal services and construction). The first was an existing business that had no electronic HR processes or software and the second was a start-up. BambooHR is used for full employee life-cycle management, time tracking, performance management, applicant tracking, and benefits management.
  • BambooHR has a top-notch electronic onboarding process. It is fully customizable and works very well with applicants of all technological capabilities. Onboarding allows you to add every step the new employee and the business partners must complete through timed, dated, notifications, digital documents, e-signatures, and a back-end administrative ability to follow up.
  • BambooHR has good applicant tracking system. They currently integrate with indeed and ZipRecruiter. However, it is easy to create links for other platforms with the ability to distinguish where you are getting recruiting traction. In addition the ability to rate, and communicate about an applicant is confidential between the hiring managers and HR. Also, there is an easy way to create a candidate pool of eligible candidates for later passive recruiting, that is called Talent Pools.
  • BambooHR has a unique feature called Announcements. This function allows various announcements to go out via email, through the application, or a combination of both to directed target audiences or the entire company.
  • BambooHR also sends out announcements (customizable) on every new hire. This allows folks to see who is starting and learn a bit about them before they meet them.
  • BambooHR has a great function for tracking time by the task or job. This is great for tracking productivity gaps for administrative positions or job costing for positions that have billable hours.
  • BambooHR also has easy to organize digital documents. You can easily upload documents via drop and drag. Documents can be added to folders and then downloaded later if an employee terminates.
  • Goal in performance management are very good, they follow the SMART methodology but there is no way to attach them to a performance review. They do allow the employee to adjust using a slide bar and you can attach people to a goal. In addition it notifies the supervisor but you cannot shut off notifications.
  • BambooHR really needs to improve their time tracking. Hours need to be shown by weekly total or at least have the option. The employees should have to actually approve their time and then if they need a change go in and approve it again. This would create a better audit trail to print for DOL claims that an employer is messing with a timecard without having to keep separate documentation that a request was being made. In addition, if you pull a payroll report, the totals don't always calculate correctly. They either need to show the rounding or show the full digits.
  • The onboarding and offboarding processes need to hold to email until the user finishes customizing the tasks to be sent. When the tasks are all set up ahead and then backed out by person hired, they should not go out until they are finished being adjusted. Currently as soon as you import, it notifies the person assigned to the task.
  • Former employees should have access to the system for at least three years. There is no reason we should have to manually give them documents such as pay statements, or W-2s manually.
  • BambooHR needs to have better search options, you should be able to search by nickname, maiden name, social security, birthday, etc.
  • Recently bambooHR added the ability to organize employee documents by folder, but they took the ability to download documents en mass. They need to add that back. It is a very difficult to download folder by folder.
  • BambooHR shows all birthday in a rolling format on the home page. This is great, but they should only show 10-30 days before and after (customer choice). When you have limited employees a birthday can show up months ahead.
  • They have a signed documents report to track and remind those who have not yet signed digital documents. However, it would be better if you had an option to notify supervisors when they are dragging their heels. In addition, there needs to be a way to archive the document list when completed and create a new one by date even if you are using the same document. This is an absolute cluttered mess and very messy to track and follow up on. DocuSign does it much better.
  • There needs to be a way to pull a payroll report with salaries and standard hours for exempt employees with the hourly employees. Trax is not always a payroll option and you need a way to pull a report looking for variances.
  • Performance management is weak. You cannot customize it at all. It only fits the functionality they want you to use.
  • Benefits stink if you have more than one option per benefit. They really need to upgrade this function. Report data is garbage.
  • The time accruals show rounded totals and allow employees to go negative. Customer service thinks it is bad idea to stop an employee from going negative in their time off. This should be the customer's choice. They refuse to change this function.
BambooHR is a great starter HRIS for new companies or ones who have never used an HRIS. It is a good tool for the employee life-cycle, but weak in performance management and benefits. I send enhancement requests almost daily. I often ask customer service is their own HR department uses this because it sure doesn't seem as productive as it could be. BambooHR often will tell you when making inquiries to find out if they can enhance a feature that if you don't like it, find a new product. The CEO has often said he cares more about employees than customers, because if they are happy the customers will be happy. This is indicative of the lack of real change and the lame 30-30 monthly promos that attempt to suggest changes are being made when no productive changes really every happen.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR handles all our employee's data and tracking! This includes hiring, onboarding, evaluation, and offboarding. We'd be lost without this program as it allows managers to really manage their team member's accounts. As an HR department of one, I'm grateful to have a program to not only quickly help me solve issues, but also other members of the team.
  • Onboarding Task Management.
  • Integrates with other programs well.
  • Hold employees' documents and notes.
  • Easily requests promotions and raises.
  • Build some features out to better handle multi-business companies - like departments in "hiring".
  • Be a resource hub! Allow pictures and templates in announcements. Would help our communication to be centralized.
Well suited for employee documentation! Will hold and manage most HR areas. Must consider payroll integration. We went with Traxpayroll (owned by BambooHR) to help with this integration. This could not be used for all mass communications.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use BambooHR to keep track of my time off accrued, sick days, holidays, etc --- anything to do with time off from work is kept in here. If I have to take a sick day or submit time off using my PTO, I'm immediately going into BambooHR. I also use it to see which holidays we already have off and are observed, as well as keep track of what I'll accrue upcoming.
  • User friendly.
  • Details accrued PTO and expectations.
  • Lays everything out clearly.
  • Auto-calculate future PTO to accrue for the year end.
  • Encompass company's PTO roll-over rules and guidelines.
  • Link to Gmail calendars.
In any situation that a company needs to track PTO and submit time off, this is a perfect fit and is super easy to use. The interface is simple and intuitive. If a team is not tracking PTO, maybe part-time employment, I don't know if there would be much use for them. It's hard for me to imagine a company that wouldn't be a good fit.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR in our organization for almost all employee data management such as org structure, compensation and benefits, documents, vacation and leave, etc... We have had the benefit of being able to combine numerous platforms into BambooHR and reduce our tech stack for employee management as it covers all of our organizational needs.
  • User-friendly UI for both administrators and users, there's no learning curve, everything is thoughtfully laid out.
  • Ease of navigation for new and experienced users alike.
  • The mobile app is very clean and easy to use, most of our employees use this to book time off.
  • We don't find it to be as customizable as other solutions but it is more robust.
BambooHR allowed our organization to consolidate our tech stack and get rid of several other products that performed similar functions to BambooHR, but none had this tool's depth. It has allowed us to bring several different functions into one place, which has made it a lot easier for our admin team to manage. BambooHR is a full service that covers all our organizational needs, given that we're ~100 employees now. We don't foresee the need to move from this platform, given how scalable it is.
Gavin Scott-Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is a great piece of software for small business needs that allows your team to be agile and adaptable to the ever-changing needs of the business world. There are a lot of very good software companies for Human Resources that exist, but BambooHR has been a great one for our business for the time that we did use it.
  • Customization.
  • User onboarding.
  • Payroll.
  • Document storage and asset management.
  • Pricing.
  • Reporting.
  • Dashboards.
We used but ultimately have switched away from BambooHR. When we used them they solved a lot of the issues we had running an operation of 60+ users. However, some of the reporting, customization through the limited payroll providers, and other smaller issues lead us to change our software in the last year or so. The pricing was also less competitive with the sometimes lackluster integrations and reporting they allowed at the base level.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BambooHR for Onboarding, adding leaves and review management. As our company is too huge it helps us to keep track of all the employees.
  • Adding schedule
  • Processing salary
  • Adding leaves
  • Its interface is bit tricky
  • It requires alot to fill in first
  • Otherwise its best HR software to use.
It is one of the best software we are currently using. It helps us a lot in managing our resource efficiently.
Muhammad Sadequl Islam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR software is one of the best HR management software I've ever used. We used it as a whole team. As it is operated on cloud base program, we can use it in an affordable way. We use it for employee information and personalize the human resource information systems.
  • Very much HR friendly software.
  • Excellent updated features.
  • Time managing.
  • Very easy to set up and use.
  • Nothing much actually.
  • But sometime module asking question is more than three.
  • May be large organization performance needed to be more improvised.
Well, first of all, it is a cloud-based operating system that ensures extra room for its users. To track and manage essential information of any employee is the main thing we use this software among us the HR executives. An update of personalized HRIS information makes the managerial sector easy. Timely reports of any executive are an easy solution to handle with. But it needed to improvise for large-scale operations.
Sergei Tkachenko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BambooHR is being used across the whole company. As a manager of a department with 6 direct reporters and 20 people in general it is an all-in-one place to keep all the information about your team. You can easily look through the Company's org chart, search for people, get some announcements, request a day off, etc. BambooHR helps you with your day-by-day human resources routines.
  • Company's org chart
  • Who's out calendar
  • Keeping your and your team's personal and job information
  • Giving and receiving feedbacks
  • Requesting VL, SL, day off
  • Plain text fields in requests (e.g. compensation request). No lists, bullets, etc.
  • Some custom feedback requests for your team
  • Anonymous custom feedback requests about myself
[BambooHR] is perfect for:
  1. It is perfect for requesting VL, SL, day off, etc.
  2. Looking through the org chart.
  3. Keeping all the personal and job information about your team.
  4. Providing, receiving, requesting feedbacks.
  5. Looking through the company's announcements, reports, events.
  6. Requesting some team changes: position, bonuses, compensation, etc.

I'm not sure if it still so useful for you if not a manager.
For me personally, it lacks some functionality to process some surveys and feedbacks customly, including NPS for example, or other metrics to measure the pulse in dynamics.