Cloud Insights Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
12 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 16, 2020
Masud Kamal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetApp Cloud Insights is being used by a few important quarters of our organization that includes IT, Telecom Engineering, RF Optimization, and PMO departments. It has served its purpose well to effectively manage and optimize our organization's cloud resources and workflows. The alerts generated by Cloud Insights keep the systems checked and helps our Engineers to act proactively against any security threats and anomalous user behaviors. We have used it mainly to reduce IT resource loss and optimizing the overall network capabilities of the organization.
  • Identification of resource wastes for better optimization of IT operations.
  • Easy portal view and anyone can easily understand application performance and issues without any special technical knowledge.
  • Real-time alerts of issues and resource waste.
  • Customizable integrations as per need of the organization.
  • Need to add more cloud resources for optimization, as many are still not compatible
  • Data retention time is limited.
  • Premium subscription is costly.
Cloud Insights is meant to make your resources well optimized and cloud data integrated. It has great capabilities to monitor broad-based data and workflows generated on the entire network of a big organization and keep the resources intact for smooth operations. Very well suited for the organizations that highly rely on the IT services in the cloud and have to spend a major chunk of their budgetary costs on such services.
The support from in-house NetApp Clouds insights is very efficient and always available for any issue related to the implementation and integration of the tool. The after-sale customer support is also very good and always ready to help in case of any issue faced during the integration of different workflows and applications with the Insights portal. The related online guides and manuals are also very helpful and easily available.
Read Masud Kamal's full review
December 14, 2020
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Cloud Insights as a SaaS based storage management tool. Cloud Insights gives us visibility into our entire NetApp storage footprint from a single pane of glass. We can easily see our storage arrays that are located in our on-premises data centers and also our cloud-based NetApp Cloud Volumes as well. Cloud Insights gives us the ability to quickly spot capacity issues and trends and also look at the performance of the arrays across the environment to see if there are any hotspots so we can shift data around to relieve some pressure if necessary. Cloud Insights has become our go-to management tool for our NetApp storage environment.
  • SaaS based--so there's nothing to install locally
  • Easy to add all NetApp storage arrays and third-party storage vendors into Insights
  • Detailed canned and custom reports
  • It would be good to be able to send proactive email alerts about capacity or performance issues
  • Not all third-party storage arrays can be added with a lot of detailed information
  • Make it easier to create customized dashboards
If you are a NetApp customer with more than two or three storage arrays, then Cloud Insights is definitely worth taking a look at. If you just have a few arrays, you can probably just manage them on their own. Cloud Insights is a great tool to get complete visibility of your company's entire storage footprint rather than having to try and manage each individual array.
We haven't really had to use support very often for Cloud Insights except for a few issues getting new accounts created so they could log in and help manage the tool. Since it is an SaaS platform, we do not manage any of the software--so that has been great. Our sales team has provided post-sales support to help make sure that we are getting the most out of the product, and they also let us know when new features are getting added to the platform as well.
Read Mark McCully's full review
December 14, 2020
Roy Ruk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We monitor our servers, applications to make sure SLA not breached so basically infrastructure monitoring will be the best description.
  • Real Time Monitoring To Prevent Cyber Attacks
  • Resource Utilization Monitoring
  • Quick Inventory Count
  • Reports Can Be Improved
  • Pricing Model Can Be Better
  • Issue with data collection from 3rd party tools
Cloud Insights continuously monitors our cloud infrastructure to analyze costs so we can identify and take action on resources to save money and optimize operation much better. Without this visibility it is tough to manage the infrastructure.
So far we have raised two high cases with them & the response was amazing from the support. They try to go beyond to help the customers. We open tickets through email most of the times
Read Roy Ruk's full review
December 07, 2020
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The big thing about [Cloud Insights] is the visibility in our data. More importantly, it is all in this tool. No matter what it is. It could be our cloud data, our reporting servers, or every single data transformation table that we have. The tool is specifically used to diagnose problems in moving data around.
  • Visibility
  • Usage Optimization
  • Alerts
  • Managing reports is a little clumsy
[Cloud Insights] is easily well suited for finding problems extremely quickly. With how fast data is received nowadays, the faster that problems with the data are realized, the smaller the impact to the organization.

If you're looking for full report customization, this tool isn't going to be much use. However, that is not the bread and butter of what this tool is.
I've got no problem with the customer support. They are pretty responsive to emails and most problems are solved over a little back-and-forth. I don't know if the team has ever actually needed to talk to anyone about a problem, but no phone calls have been necessary, which is a good thing.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Cloud Insights] primarily to look at both performance and security around our NetApp Filers. We are expanding it to use it with our virtualized environment and with our in-house storage environments. It's a SaaS solution hosted by NetApp.

  • The visibility and usage optimization are the most valuable features.
  • Ease to use for basic functionality.
  • It is good for giving an overview of the systems and for tracking long-term trends. It is handy for root cause analysis.
  • The reports, use of Cognos requires new proficiencies.
  • Their pricing model needs improvement.
The main benefit of NetApp Cloud Insights is that it's agentless. It just collects information from the SNMP protocol. We had NetApp ONTAP installed and we paired with VMware. The biggest challenge for any company is to find the bottleneck on the Edge of the technologies, like between VMware and NetApp. Both products have great reporting and monitoring tools, but whenever it comes to finding issues on the Edge between those products, you can hardly identify whether it's a storage issue or whether it's a virtualization issue.
When I did need support because I was having problems with the solution, the first or the second line just didn't understand it. They were providing this only on a software as a service basis. Would be nice if we had a direct customer success representative who could personalize the solution with us.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud Insights is used to monitor all of our infrastructure and applications. It is used by the organization to secure data from various threats our industry is surrounded by. It solves the problem of resource management and data threats. We can troubleshoot and optimize all the resources. It performs third-party audits, which leads to finding problems as early as possible.
  • Cloud service is the best part
  • Alerts about any abnormal activity on the system before it's too late
  • Track usage across all applications, units, etc.
  • Creation and management or modification of reports is a difficult task--it can be improved
  • Pricing model is another area than can be worked upon
Cloud Insights is well suited for cloud service platform. It is a very secure service, as large amounts of data can be placed in it and it is secured from any false activities from outside. Resource management and problem solving are other important features. Data reporting (i.e. creating and modifying reports) is somehow a difficult tasks to perform, which can be improved.
  1. It's very easy to contact the customer support service, and they seem to be very happy to help at any time.
  2. Timeliness of the support's response. Support is very active when responding to the customer's complaint or queries.
  3. Technical support always provided the solutions to the problems encountered.
  4. Overall customer support quality is good.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am working as a software developer and we are developing cloud-native applications in Kubernetes. We are using Cloud Insights very often to monitor our microservice deployments. Being able to view all of our microservices running in Kubernetes clusters that we host on more than one cloud platform on a single panel makes the monitoring job very easy for us.
  • Multiple cloud environment support
  • Well visualized dashboards
  • Pricing
  • Alert receiving channels are not enough
  • Poor ransomware detection
  • Custom metrics should be improved
Cloud Insights can be a good solution for you if the resources used by the development team that need monitoring are located in more than one public cloud platform or data center.
Before using Cloud Insights, we quickly resolved all the issues we had by talking with the support team. The support team is eager to assist and technically well equipped. They quickly understood what we needed and helped us during the setup and the first use period so that we could adapt easily.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud Insights is a product used by our DevOps team. We use Cloud Insights to completely monitor and optimize the public cloud computing system we have in AWS and GCP. The service definitely saves us time and helps us quickly spot problems and take actions that we would normally miss.
  • There's a free 30-day trial to make sure it's right for you
  • Data retention capability up to 13 months
  • Competitive pricing
  • REST API documentation could be better
  • Pricing is difficult to calculate using a Managed Unit
I would be highly likely to recommended Cloud Insights to a colleague. It is definitely a successful product in optimizing costs, especially for companies with small DevOps and infrastructure teams. In such small organizations, the importance given to cloud products can lead to serious financial problems in the long run. Using Cloud Insights, it is very easy to optimize costs even with a much smaller team.
Cloud Insights provides a good support service. There is a lot of pre-made content (usage documentation, frequently asked questions, etc.) other than just the support you will get from a real person. I can say that everyone who works there is trying to help you as quickly and effectively as possible. They're also pretty good with their response time.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud Insights is used by our team. Easy in terms of implementation and also provides a great learning curve. You need to establish some skills to create reports. Otherwise it is easy to use in terms of basic functionality. The whole infrastructure has become very transparent so monitoring and troubleshooting have become way more easier.
  • Monitoring
  • Troubleshooting
  • Optimisation
  • Data classification
  • Reporting
  • Data collection from third-party storage isn’t easy
  • User interface can be improved
  • Pricing can be made flexible
It is well suited in case of cloud infrastructure management in terms of troubleshooting, monitoring and optimising the resources. You can easily create reports and graphs to find out what’s going on your cloud storage. It’s a bit complicated in terms of advanced features usage but there is this customer and community support which can help you learn much more.
I would give a 10 out of 10 because their customer service is great. They are always available to answer my queries. My questions are easily understood by them and I get satisfactory responses. Their community is also very helpful. They can easily pinpoint the problem-causing areas in no time.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud Insights is being used within the IT department of our organization. Cloud Insights gives us insight into the various cloud infrastructures we have running internally or when we require insight into the performance of the cloud infrastructures for customers. The cloud has only accelerated the complexity of our infrastructure and Cloud Insights helps in creating an overview in our complex environments.
  • Proactive alerting
  • Easy-to-use visualizations in dashboards
  • Kubernetes support
  • Fullstack visibility
  • Relatively short data retention compared to competitors
  • Free tier requires usage of NetApp appliances
  • Additional features are expensive
Cloud Insights is suited very well for more complex environments, which can run in multi-vendor cloud environments. Cloud Insights is very well suited to creating a single point of contact which creates insight over multiple environments. It is less appropriate in smaller environments, for example, a single-environment cloud or on-premises situations.
The software is very well documented, has extended blogs about releases, and documentation is available on Github (which always has a good effect on developers and/or engineers). Furthermore NetApp has a community forum site where posts can easily be viewed by 1,000 visitors each. This increases the chance of your specific issue to be solved by the community.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cloud Insights?

NetApp Cloud Insights is an infrastructure monitoring tool that gives users visibility into their complete infrastructure. With Cloud Insights, users can monitor, troubleshoot and optimize all resources including public clouds and private data centers.

Cloud Insights Features

Has featureMonitor your cloud and on-premises systems with a single tool
Has featureFind performance issues 5 times faster with advanced analytics
Has featureProactively identify security threats to your data

Cloud Insights Screenshots

Cloud Insights Video

Cloud Insights Competitors

Cloud Insights Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Cloud Insights Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cloud Insights's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Cloud Insights?

The most common users of Cloud Insights are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.