Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Dynatrace

Dynatrace

Overview

What is Dynatrace?

Dynatrace is an APM scaled for enterprises with cloud, on-premise, and hybrid application and SaaS monitoring. Dynatrace uses AI-supported algorithms to provide continual APM self-learning and predictive alerts for proactive issue resolution.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Dynatrace is a versatile software that offers a wide range of use cases for monitoring and optimizing applications and infrastructure. …
Continue reading

Dynatrace is great!

8 out of 10
May 23, 2020
Dynatrace was at first used with some application teams of the bank. We currently use it to enhance the support of all applications across …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Dynatrace?

Dynatrace is an APM scaled for enterprises with cloud, on-premise, and hybrid application and SaaS monitoring. Dynatrace uses AI-supported algorithms to provide continual APM self-learning and predictive alerts for proactive issue resolution.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

37 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Datadog?

Datadog is a monitoring service for IT, Dev and Ops teams who write and run applications at scale, and want to turn the massive amounts of data produced by their apps, tools and services into actionable insight.

What is New Relic?

New Relic is a SaaS-based web and mobile application performance management provider for the cloud and the datacenter. They provide code-level diagnostics for dedicated infrastructures, the cloud, or hybrid environments and real time monitoring.

Return to navigation

Product Demos

What is Dynatrace?

YouTube

Dynatrace Demo - Deliver Perfect Software Experiences

YouTube

Dynatrace Quick Demo - Automated baselining

YouTube

Dynatrace Demo - 5 minute getting started overview

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Dynatrace?

Dynatrace is an AI-centered software intelligence platform. It includes APM features scaled for enterprises and with individual transaction-level monitoring capabilities as well as infrastructure monitoring, AIOps, digital business analytics, and digital experience monitoring. Businesses use the Dynatrace platform to collaborate internally and deliver value to users with minimal effort.

Dynatrace Video

Intro to the magic of Dynatrace

Dynatrace Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Dynatrace is an APM scaled for enterprises with cloud, on-premise, and hybrid application and SaaS monitoring. Dynatrace uses AI-supported algorithms to provide continual APM self-learning and predictive alerts for proactive issue resolution.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.4.

The most common users of Dynatrace are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(570)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Dynatrace is a versatile software that offers a wide range of use cases for monitoring and optimizing applications and infrastructure. Users have found the tool to be extremely valuable in measuring the performance of key business applications and enabling error analysis and outage remediation. Dynatrace is utilized by organizations to monitor applications and infrastructure, both on-premises and in the cloud, providing operational support to infrastructure and application teams by rapidly identifying and resolving problems. The software is also instrumental in providing automation capabilities, empowering different departments to onboard and benefit from its monitoring capabilities. With its ability to catch issues before they impact customers, Dynatrace ensures availability, performance, and root cause analysis for tier 1 applications. It proves to be essential for troubleshooting incidents, conducting health checks, and gaining insight into dependencies for business and product engineering operations teams. Additionally, Dynatrace offers robustness that allows managing large environments with a small team. Being rolled out across the organization, it helps accelerate deployments to modern technologies and streamlines problem detection. Overall, Dynatrace serves as a crucial tool in understanding critical application issues, improving customer satisfaction, increasing the frequency of deployments, addressing performance issues, and making informed business decisions.

To get the most out of Dynatrace, users recommend the following actions:

  1. Conduct thorough research and ensure buy-in from executive leadership and all app and infrastructure teams before committing to Dynatrace.

  2. Start by setting up Dynatrace correctly and build meaningful dashboards and management zones to optimize monitoring needs and gain valuable insights.

  3. Leverage Dynatrace's professional services to speed up deployment and make the most of the product. Take advantage of the study material available on university.dynatrace.com to enhance knowledge and skills.

By following these recommendations, users believe that Dynatrace can provide comprehensive monitoring capabilities, quickly identify performance issues, and assist in effective issue resolution.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 341)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dynatrace is used to monitor the health and other metrics of the oracle servers and other servers that are added in the UI. UI is quite nice and its easy to look for metric graphs and generate graphs according to requirement. Currently they have automated every process via github and jenkins and its better than before.
  • Metrics addition to the UI.
  • Graphs and all generation in the UI.
  • Alerting mechanism also work like a charm.
  • UI can be a little more user-friendly from non-tech perspective.
  • Alerting mechanism needs to be more seamless.
  • Performance issues with some versions which leads to lots of incidents.
If you'd like a UI to monitor your servers and get the metrics in the form of graphs and all that fancy stuff you can go for it.
Along with that if you want alerting setup based on a threshold its a great tool for that.
But there is limited functionality and monitoring with each versions(i think there are 3) which you need to chose according to your project needs.
December 11, 2022

Fullstack visibility

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Dynatrace is used by the software development team to monitor the availability and performance of the releases.

  • Application Monitoring
  • Real User Monitoring
  • Network Monitoring
  • Troubleshooting
Dynatrace is well suited for Java and .Net environments. It is not suited for Python or Ruby on Rails
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are adopting the use of Dynatrace within our organization. It is being used other places within the enterprise. We're looking to expand its role in DevOps, batch process automation and monitoring and custom metrics reporting.
  • Easily integrate with a large array of products.
  • Proactive monitoring through self-discovery.
  • The AI-driven analytics is amazing.
  • Better navigation menus.
  • Integration with Mulesoft and Apigee, not just limit to Data Power. The strategic partnership with IBM may be a handicap in this.
  • Make some parts of it open source to allow faster adoption.
1. Great for a quick start on application monitoring. 2. Better suited for large scale deployments. 3. Amazing integration with the cloud.
August 11, 2021

Benefits of Dynatrace

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Dynatrace for monitoring application performance for the products which are developed using monolithic and microservices architectures. We use it for monitoring various performance metrics such as CPU usage, memory usage, ram usage, garbage collection, heap memory size, thread count for various processes, and for monitoring the frequency of network bandwidth.
  • Flexible
  • Ease of adoption
  • Multipurpose
  • Ease of understanding various features
  • Clear documentation
  • Realtime tutorials using qwiklabs
Dynatrace can be used for various monitoring purposes. It can also be used for various effects of tracing the memory leakages, garbage collection, heap memory utilization, and the CPU usage of the application for which the Dynatrace is enabled. It can be used for end-to-end application troubleshooting for debugging the issues.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our team is using Dynatrace as a monitoring tool for the windows application services. It is monitoring the services 24/7 and sends an alert to the application owners if the service is stopped. This has helped us to reduce the downtime for the important and critical services for our applications.
  • Best application performance monitoring solution
  • Problem detection and diagnosis
  • Centralized dashboard for detailed insights
  • No human intervention
  • Generation of detailed monthly reports for application performance and SLAs
  • Cost is bit higher
  • Documentation needs to be improved
  • Graphs on the centralized dashboard can be more descriptive
  • More flexibility for users to modify the design of centralized dashboard and options to choose from the components to display and hide.
Dynatrace is one of the best options to choose from for automated monitoring. It provides excellent numbers of prebuilt options to start with and on top of that detailed insights about the health check activities for the applications and services. It is one of the best monitoring tools which can be used if you have a large number of applications and wide infrastructure for your deployments.
Shipra Dubey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dynatrace has helped our application support team to automate the manual monitoring activities of the infrastructure and 200+ application virtual servers(Linux and Windows). We are able to run custom code workflows to perform monitoring on client-defined parameters and SLAs.
Primarily we are using Dynatrace for synthetic monitoring to analyze the server and application performance. This has helped us to get an in-depth analysis of how the applications are performing.
  • 24/7 monitoring for infra and applications
  • Generation of reports based on user defined thresholds
  • Ability to create custom synthetic monitoring workflows
  • Support for wide range of application technologies for monitoring
  • More options to be included for web based monitoring
  • Documentation should be included with more scenarios and usage examples
Dynatrace is well suited for large enterprises where extensive monitoring has to be performed on a day to to day basis for mission-critical applications. It is one of the best standalone tools available for synthetic monitoring which can be easily integrated with the apps and has multiple customization options for the end-users.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Dynatrace was at first used with some application teams of the bank. We currently use it to enhance the support of all applications across the bank (whole organization). It helps to find out the pain points from application development or production issues. They also get performance metrics for the applications.
  • Technology details on each host.
  • Detailed host analysis.
  • Reports.
  • Instrumentation downtime.
We had resolved issues on some major incidents from some application teams. While the developers and support group could not find the root cause, we were involved to drill down to the problem details to the code level. One example we found was that the root cause of the issue is from vendor packages.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dynatrace is used across many business units. We deploy it to monitor all key applications for performance issues. Dynatrace is also used to help developers and support teams debug app issues. Good experience with this product overall.
  • Great support
  • Frequent updates
  • Must keep agents up to date frequently
  • Constantly ensure new releases and updates do not impact existing clients
Dynatrace is great for applications monitoring but I am not yet inclined to choose it for infrastructure monitoring. Other solutions for infrastructure monitoring are currently being looked into by our team such as Microfocus.
February 24, 2020

Good Solid RUM to rely on

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This is a very good tool for APM. It gives very good internals of the applications and the user experience. We have implemented it in our Test and Pod environment for our business-critical application with the UEM. We also have the various dashboards for the app support team, Infra team and the business folks. Along with the dashboard displayed on the large-screen TV in the offshore monitoring team.
  • Best tool for APM.
  • Best user interface.
  • Very frequent releases.
  • License cost is high in some forms of the JVM configuration which becomes very expensive.
Dynatrace is easy to use and deploy and the user interface is awesome. The dashboards are super easy to add and configure and share. Forum is awesome and the the product incorporates the features requested by the users.
My view: this application performance monitoring tool is one of the best ones I have used...
ShuYun Du | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Dynatrace to help monitor the application health and investigate when there is an issue. Dynatrace had been applied to multiple Applications across the bank. It helps us to fix issues faster when there is one. It reduces the MMTR and allows our customers to have a better experience with the service we provide.
  • Monitoring the infrastructure health
  • Alerting on abnormal behavior of Applications
  • The save/discard on the bottom of screens is very easy to miss when I configure something.
We are currently using Dynatrace to replace other APM tools we were using and we can already see the advantages compared to other APM tools that we had.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have been using Dynatrace for less that six months and at this time it is being used by our Infrastructure organization. We currently have it configured on less than 100 servers and at this time we are using it as a monitoring tool to help us with error analysis and troubleshooting issues. We are looking to delve deeper and set up better performance monitoring so that our various teams can better manage our systems.
  • Easy to install and get started, and easy to go back in and modify
  • Excellent support, training, and resources
  • Coming from a beginner, so this may not be area for improvement, but it would be nice to be able to search and filter error results better, specifically with SQL errors.
  • Storage of logs and being able to get back to them when you need to
Currently not equipped to properly answer this question as we are still in the beginning stages of implementation. At this time we are just barely tapping in and learning how to get the information we need. We are currently using it for database monitoring and application monitoring.
Jose Adan Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We are using Dynatrace to help our customers resolve their monitoring problems along all different technology platforms.
  • Anomaly detection
  • Automatic baselining
  • Alerting integration.
  • Dependency mapping.
  • Dashboarding flexibility
  • Covering legacy platforms
  • IBM Cloud integration
Dynatrace is well suited in multi-cloud enterprises and hybrid platforms.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are currently using Dynatrace across our organization. We've consolidated previous Dynatrace applications like Gomez, DCRUM, and AppMon. Dynatrace has addressed many issues and a single app is much better for our organization The installation is by far our favorite part. The ease of installation compared to AppMon is tenfold. We can easily deploy and with the OneAgent grabbing all the process automatically - gives our teams time to focus on other tasks.

In addition, the AI finds root cause - again allowing our team to focus on other issues!
  • Installation.
  • Root cause analysis.
  • Dashboarding.
  • Plugins can be difficult.
Amazing for all apps - especially Java. We love the dashboards and the ability to bring in other tools as well. Very easy to use and easy to train other users.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dynatrace is used for product monitoring on prod and pre-prod environments, including core application, a number of services around it, and databases. It helps to effectively debug through the app, and it increases visibility in the complex environment of production, which has been live for 17 years and is a mix of various technologies and approaches.
  • Dependency identification
  • User impact analysis
  • Unreliable--sometimes API changes without a notice or mention in release notes
  • Pricing--obscured, unclear, and fluffy, a lot of time wasted on every purchase
Dynatrace performs best on modern infrastructure, strongly depending on a cloud, virtualization, and microservices. In such a setup, Dynatrace is capable of using most of its features in an effective way. For a mixed setup, for instance, the platform that is transforming from monolith to services, Dynatrace appears to be a great tool as well.
It is hard for me to tell what scenario is an absolute no-no for using Dynatrace.
February 11, 2020

Dynatrace Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It's used company-wide. Dynatrace is being used for monitoring of applications. We use Dynatrace to identify the root causes of the problems for different applications. It is also used to make the developers' lives easier by identifying any performance problems in the application. We use the Davis AI engine to get alerted when there is a problem. We like the dashboarding section of Dynatrace as well.
  • Service flow
  • Root cause analysis
  • Usability
  • Role-based authentication
Dynatrace is well suited to do application performance monitoring, identify the hotspots, and alert for any issues in the application. It is not to be used for log monitoring. It cannot be used for good dashboarding.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I try to make Dynatrace famous across the whole organization. For now, only a few teams of developers use it. We use Dynatrace mostly to measure end-user performance.
  • Waterfall analysis for performance insights
  • PurePath
  • Live Chat support
  • Custom metric ingesiton
Dynatrace is fantastic when it comes to learning how transactions and services depend on each other, thanks to Service Flow functionality.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are currently using Dynatrace to monitor a number of applications. We leverage Davis AI to assist us in identifying issues in our apps and to help developers write better code.
  • Monitoring
  • Prevention
  • I would love to see the ability to get network appliance information into the tool.
  • Pricing for hosts.
Application troubleshooting--this is where Dynatrace excels.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Dynatrace as our primary application monitoring tool across the entire IT department, and we use Dynatrace as a way to provide some value to business users when they have dependencies on IT products put forth by our department. Production support users (like myself) use Dynatrace for monitoring, alerting, troubleshooting, and anomaly detection. Our tier 1 support uses Dynatrace's dashboard tools for around-the-clock monitoring. Our software development teams use Dynatrace to gain better insight and visibility into how their code performs in our various environments.
  • Installation and implementation
  • Anomaly detection and alerting
  • Dashboard tools
  • Navigation and ease of use
Dynatrace is great for monitoring tool consolidation. It supports a very wide variety of languages and technologies. Dynatrace is great for granting company-wide visibility into IT applications and supporting software. And it is great at detecting problems, alerting the necessary parties, and providing visibility into the root cause.
Dynatrace is severely lacking in proper dashboard tools and ease of use, though. It has a steep learning curve; the interface can make it difficult to find exactly what you're looking for at times; often, once you do find what you're looking for, you can't easily put it on a dashboard to make it easier to find and access next time around. Dynatrace is also fairly expensive.
February 11, 2020

My Dynatrace Experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have been with Dynatrace for 7 years, having implemented by the Application Development team when we had issues with performance degradation on our digital platform. Over the years, we transitioned from AppMon to Dynatrace, Gomez to Dynatrace Synthetic, and on-boarded not only Tier 1 but also Tier 2 Applications and started to utilize Infrastructure monitoring.
  • Simple instrumentation
  • All-in-one tool
  • Database monitoring
  • Better pricing for log data ingestion
The good: Dynatrace is great for application performance monitoring and synthetics testing, and has very good all-in-one multi-cloud support and observability.

The not so good: Dynatrace is not great for additional charges for metrics ingestion and the need for additional tools (e.g. log management and analytics). They nickel-and-dime customers.

Dynatrace has great potential for Real User Management (RUM) and Digital Experience Management (DEM) to help IT and the business side collaborate.
February 11, 2020

Great product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use it to monitor end to end usage from network to application support. It detects errors early on before hitting production. It is also used for monitoring resources being used like disk space and CPU usage. It is heavily used in our DevOps team so we can detect errors early on in the deployment.
  • Monitoring
  • Details of errors
  • Would like logging to be available for more than 24 hrs
It overall covers everything from end to end, I haven't seen anything like it. Helps with early detection in case bad code is deployed. We can trace it back to the exact time frame it happened and it will show any broken connections or network slowdowns.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is currently being used to help discover the reason for any incident we may have. The technology department is the only one using this product. When we used to have incidents it would take us a long time to figure the root cause so we could fix the issue within our application.
  • Pinpoints where our issues are.
  • Alerts us to issues quickly.
  • A better deployment plan for new users.
  • Better reporting on the version of OneAgent.
Dynatrace is great at discovering where an issue is without having to deeply dive into the logs. It is also very easy to create dashboards with the information needed. Due to data not being kept for long periods it can be difficult to compare items over long periods of time within our application.
February 08, 2020

Dynatrace Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is just used by IT for monitoring systems and applications. We use synthetic monitors to see if the applications are up and if workflows are working. We use it for real user monitoring to see if users are actually having problems or if they are seeing errors or if workflows are completing.
  • Synthetic monitors.
  • Real user monitoring.
  • Agent upgrades.
  • Adoption.
Dynatrace is well suited for synthetic monitoring and using the interface to create credential stores so you don't have to manually put in information about credentials. it is also good for watching user sessions after the fact to see what is actually happening in their session. It can also help in the root cause analysis process.
February 08, 2020

Dynatrace Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Dynatrace Managed and it is instrumented organization-wide. Dynatrace provides our dev teams the tools to determine RCAs for incidents.
  • Automation.
  • Self-service.
  • Integration.
  • Dashboard.
  • API standardization.
Suited for microservice architectures and dynamic environments. It allows for self-service through the ease of use for users.
February 08, 2020

Dynatrace for the win!

Brian Batiste | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Dynatrace as an end-to-end monitoring solution geared toward improving the user experience. Dynatrace helps us proactively identify and solve issues before they become major problems.
  • Correlate problems and drive root causes.
  • Problem identification.
  • Incident notification.
  • Alerting.
Dynatrace is well suited for any company who wants to make sure its users are completely satisfied!
February 08, 2020

Visibility!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dynatrace is being used across our organization. Within my department, Dynatrace is being used to monitor our service layer that provides content to our mobile layer. Dynatrace is also being used within our mobile application.
  • Uncovers exceptions occurring within our app
  • An overall visibility with the use of dashboards
  • The system is so large it sometimes requires learning on my part, to find what I'm looking for.
Dynatrace has worked great for us in monitoring our API service layer, and our mobile app user experiences, giving us both back-end and front-end visibility.
Return to navigation