TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ts/aU/4JKN1CZSRNPM.JPEGJosh’s Dynatrace review[Dynatrace is] Currently used by two application teams. The Unix/Linux team has purchased the agents and is the process of deploying. We brought Dynatrace into the organization approximately two years ago in the middle of a significant production challenge within our web site. We had spent several days manually looking for the root cause, and then Dynatrace offered to install an agent and review the application (for free!!!). Dynatrace almost immediately detected the error and diagnosed the root cause. The product has continued to exceed our already high expectations.,Easy to use. The product is easy to install, configure and use. Self discovery. The product will quickly map an environment, and determine appropriate baselines. Completeness. Dynatrace provides an incredibly complete view of a user experience.,Expanding to other areas of infrastructure, including telecom and SAN. Tighter integration between on-prem and SaaS within our environment.,9,It has helped us proactively address challenges before they effect users Provided a single pane of glass to see full stack. Greater total uptime,,50,,Determining root cause of challenges Establishing baselines, that define what “good” looks like. Mapping the environment.,We will be able to better target testing and notification of expected changes through the extensive mapping. We can determine best location for systems, I.e on-prem or cloud,Integrate other systems into Davis.,10,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Analyst Reports,We wouldn’t.Stellar APMWe used Dynatrace as our main monitoring software solution for several web applications - varying from Laravel to WordPress - mostly in the PHP environment.,We loved Dynatrace's ability to show the data flow - from the front end points through the back end points straight to the database and various API's. It was advanced in its data visualization. This is useful for debugging - showing when/where the errors are. It can even enable non-technical individuals in the corporation to help debug Dynatrace has some great highly customizable integration options as well as monitoring. You can configure your layout & integration options to create custom monitoring alerts for your applications performance. Further you can increase the extensibility of using a REST API on your architecture. Some advanced dev-ops systems are utilizing Kubernetes/docker aswell as Node.JS - Dynatrace was able to log and help understand all of our dev-ops needs. It gave us native alerts based off of deviations from the baseline that we set during initial configuration. These metrics are priceless.,Dynatrace is expensive. They have a pay-as-you-go option for startups and small companies - but monitoring more than one application can easily have you metered at three figures a month. Dynatrace's learning curve could be considered steep if you want to truly create an extensible & customizable monitoring environment for your web-apps.,8,We had a great positive ROI with Dynatrace in being able to prevent some fiascos before they would occur - saving us money during potential downtime.Dynatrace is at the foundation of DXC safe pair of hands approach.DXC Technology is an extreme partner for Dynatrace. As an apps management product manager, we set the direction for our apps services. Our default toolset for application monitoring is Dynatrace, unless the customer has already procured a different tool. The objective is really to improve app availability and enhance the customer experience.,Full stack monitoring from infra to apps, all layers including event correlation AI powered root cause identification reducing MTTR Support for hybrid cloud environment Easy to collaborate with Dynatrace partner team,Improve capability for legacy stacks such as mainframe and AS400 Improved support for business outcome monitoring,10,Dynatrace helps reduce apps maintenance costs by up to 10% at least Helps DXC achieve productivity targets Improve employee satisfaction by reducing on call duty,AppDynamics and Micro Focus Business Manager,AppDynamicsQuick to install, easy to useDynatrace is being used by various teams within our organization to give us greater insight into our applications, allowing us to resolve issues faster as well as release quality code faster.,Real user experience Easy to use and learn Root cause analysis Dependency mapping ServiceNow integration,Available on other browsers Single sign on for the SaaS solution Upgrade the Smartcscape from a black background with white dots to a white background with more meaningful icons,9,It has allowed us to triage problems considerably faster It has allowed us to improve the quality of our code prior to release It has given us the ability to populate our CMDB,AppDynamics, New Relic, Foglight, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager and SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor,Foglight, AnsibleDynatrace One is the only One!Dynatrace is being used across the whole organization. It is used to diagnose and resolve application performance issues which increases productivity and revenue.,Dynatrace is super easy and fast to implement and support is best in class. Dynatrace is quick to isolate and resolve performance problems so users can be more productive.,Dynatrace has APM down to a science. I have not experienced any room for improvement.,10,There has been no negative impact. The ROI was less than three months.,AppDynamics,CA Spectrum, Nlyte
Unspecified
Dynatrace
254 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Dynatrace Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Dynatrace
254 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 254 vetted Dynatrace reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 142)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Josh Rush profile photo
February 03, 2019

"Josh’s Dynatrace review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Dynatrace is] Currently used by two application teams. The Unix/Linux team has purchased the agents and is the process of deploying. We brought Dynatrace into the organization approximately two years ago in the middle of a significant production challenge within our web site. We had spent several days manually looking for the root cause, and then Dynatrace offered to install an agent and review the application (for free!!!). Dynatrace almost immediately detected the error and diagnosed the root cause. The product has continued to exceed our already high expectations.
  • Easy to use. The product is easy to install, configure and use.
  • Self discovery. The product will quickly map an environment, and determine appropriate baselines.
  • Completeness. Dynatrace provides an incredibly complete view of a user experience.
  • Expanding to other areas of infrastructure, including telecom and SAN.
  • Tighter integration between on-prem and SaaS within our environment.
Dynatrace is well suited to address challenges that are well base-lined. This requires workloads that are relatively repeatable and normalized. If workloads are random or unique, the AI will struggle to understand when challenges arise. That said, most of our workloads have been well baselines, and appropriate for Dyantrace.
Read Josh Rush's full review
Matthew Mariner profile photo
November 27, 2018

Dynatrace Review: "Stellar APM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Dynatrace as our main monitoring software solution for several web applications - varying from Laravel to WordPress - mostly in the PHP environment.
  • We loved Dynatrace's ability to show the data flow - from the front end points through the back end points straight to the database and various API's. It was advanced in its data visualization. This is useful for debugging - showing when/where the errors are. It can even enable non-technical individuals in the corporation to help debug
  • Dynatrace has some great highly customizable integration options as well as monitoring. You can configure your layout & integration options to create custom monitoring alerts for your applications performance. Further you can increase the extensibility of using a REST API on your architecture.
  • Some advanced dev-ops systems are utilizing Kubernetes/docker aswell as Node.JS - Dynatrace was able to log and help understand all of our dev-ops needs. It gave us native alerts based off of deviations from the baseline that we set during initial configuration. These metrics are priceless.
  • Dynatrace is expensive. They have a pay-as-you-go option for startups and small companies - but monitoring more than one application can easily have you metered at three figures a month.
  • Dynatrace's learning curve could be considered steep if you want to truly create an extensible & customizable monitoring environment for your web-apps.
Dynatrace provides real time insight into your web applications, your dev-ops/infrastructure & can give you a live view of how your end users are experiencing and interacting with your website. It does every single one of these things exceedingly well. It can help minimize any errors before they occur - preventing data loss at scale & minimizing downtime during production. You can eliminate problems before they cause severe damage due to their extensive alerting system.
Read Matthew Mariner's full review
Rajesh Dontula profile photo
February 04, 2019

Review: "Dynatrace is at the foundation of DXC safe pair of hands approach."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
DXC Technology is an extreme partner for Dynatrace. As an apps management product manager, we set the direction for our apps services. Our default toolset for application monitoring is Dynatrace, unless the customer has already procured a different tool. The objective is really to improve app availability and enhance the customer experience.
  • Full stack monitoring from infra to apps, all layers including event correlation
  • AI powered root cause identification reducing MTTR
  • Support for hybrid cloud environment
  • Easy to collaborate with Dynatrace partner team
  • Improve capability for legacy stacks such as mainframe and AS400
  • Improved support for business outcome monitoring
All modern app monitoring
Read Rajesh Dontula's full review
Aletha Diaz profile photo
February 02, 2019

Dynatrace Review: "Quick to install, easy to use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used by various teams within our organization to give us greater insight into our applications, allowing us to resolve issues faster as well as release quality code faster.
  • Real user experience
  • Easy to use and learn
  • Root cause analysis
  • Dependency mapping
  • ServiceNow integration
  • Available on other browsers
  • Single sign on for the SaaS solution
  • Upgrade the Smartcscape from a black background with white dots to a white background with more meaningful icons
Dynatrace is perfect for any company with an online presence that interacts with customers.
Read Aletha Diaz's full review
Steve Clark profile photo
February 01, 2019

User Review: "Dynatrace One is the only One!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used across the whole organization. It is used to diagnose and resolve application performance issues which increases productivity and revenue.
  • Dynatrace is super easy and fast to implement and support is best in class.
  • Dynatrace is quick to isolate and resolve performance problems so users can be more productive.
  • Dynatrace has APM down to a science. I have not experienced any room for improvement.
Dynatrace is well suited for all scenarios but one scenario where it shines above all others is in Docker and container environments.
Read Steve Clark's full review
Tim Vaudt profile photo
February 01, 2019

Dynatrace Review: "Provide Exadata support!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While Dynatrace is being used across the organization, I use it in support of a select department. We are using Dynatrace to assist in MTTR/MTTD and to alert ops teams of problems detected in the environment or with the application flows.
  • Problem detections can be simplified with DTOne.
  • Replaying of problem detection and resolution flows is helpful.
  • Having visibility into the historic performance of hosts and ability to compare time periods against each other is useful for trending.
  • We need support for Exadata appliances to have visibility into Oracle backend databases.
  • Implementation of RUM broke some of our applications. Implementing monitoring tools should not break applications.
  • Visibility of users who “own” resources in the DT console i.e., maintenance windows. It would be good to know what user created a maintenance window.
Dynatrace is well suited for customer facing applications in large ecosystems with many dependencies. For some internal applications that are business facing, we have seen some lesser value in the product.
Read Tim Vaudt's full review
Gregory Schullo profile photo
February 01, 2019

User Review: "Dynatrace is a great option!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dynatrace to discover problems in our applications before users notice an impact. The working relationship we have built with Dynatrace over the past 5 years has been outstanding.
  • Dynatrace is easy for our customers to instrument and deploy.
  • Dynatrace support is awesome and works with us to develop features we need in our business.
  • Dynatrace UI makes navigation a breeze for all users of the tool at our company.
  • Providing usage metric for our management
  • Automated deployments for the Dynatrace managed platform
  • Logging for upgrades of managed cluster nodes and active gates to detect issues with installations and upgrades
Overall this tool is best for cloud monitoring. Since lots of our infrastructure is moving that way, we focused on that before deciding to move customers to the new platform.
Read Gregory Schullo's full review
Mike Legg profile photo
February 01, 2019

User Review: "Success with Dynatrace"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Transurban is using Dynatrace across the enterprise. In corporate applications, Dynatrace gives us a deeper insight into the performance of various applications. On our tolling platform Dynatrace is used for monitoring and APM and across the SDLC Dynatrace is used in performance testing on demand and early detection during development.
  • Ease of deployment and management
  • Deep insight into customer experience, application performance and monitoring
  • Quicker MTTI
  • Mobile application implementation could be easier
  • More flexible dashboards
Well suited for complex environments
Read Mike Legg's full review
Satheesh Arumugam profile photo
January 31, 2019

Review: "Operational Effeciency Journey using Dynatrace"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used on our Ecom platform, and we use this tool daily to monitor performance analysis and also baseline the performance metrics for comparison before and after any change release.
  • Deep code level visibility so we can easily identify the code problem and see if there's any performance bottleneck upfront before the code goes to production and causes any user impact.
  • Infrastructure and process monitoring visibility, and it also provides all the integration touchpoints and performance and availability KPI.
  • From AppMon to Dynatrace we are missing PurePath and offline PurePath analysis. If we could get it all in one Dynatrace agent that would be a great addition.
Dynatrace can help any organization to improve their system stability and digital customer experience journey. This tool might not be a replacement for log monitoring tools like Splunk or any security tools out in the market.
Read Satheesh Arumugam's full review
Anjeneya Dubey profile photo
January 31, 2019

Review: "Dynatrace is great if you are trying to move faster in product development and even better if you are moving towards no ops"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AppMon in our cloud infrastructure very heavily for both non-prod and prod environments. Dynatrace has been super helpful in finding and fixing performance issues early on in our product development lifecycle. It helped tremendously in our production support and incident/problem management processes.
  • The detailed view into pure paths.
  • The event correlation with both app level and infra level metrics.
  • Integration with third-party solutions for better incident management processes.
  • We currently use AppMon, which is the older version of Dynatrace, and I think the Saas version is much better for what we are trying to do.
  • Anomaly detection
  • Capacity forecast
For all our infra and cloud performance needs, Dynatrace is perfectly suited. We are looking to consolidate our infra Monitoring solutions and are looking for one tool that can help do both the infra and application performance, as well as log monitoring that Dynatrace helps to solve. However, the log monitoring solution from Dynatrace is less than optimal.
Read Anjeneya Dubey's full review
Kristel Pugh profile photo
January 31, 2019

Review: "Dynatrace platform - all in one monitoring solution!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace throughout our DevOps cycle from build & test, performance testing, UEM, Application troubleshooting & problem triage, and export to Splunk & Tableau for reporting.
  • Performance and full stack analytics
  • Problem triage and deep dive analysis
  • Alert & quickly identify problems and root cause
  • The licensing model is giving my management heart burn. As a long time AppMon customer, we shouldn’t have to re-buy our investment in order to move to the new Dynatrace platform.
  • Tech support continues to be condescending and unhelpful. They don’t read the tickets and then re-ask for information we already provided.
Dynatrace continues to grow and lead in their industry. The software is solid, not bug ridden. The sales, marketing, Exec, and PS staff are exceptional. The feature set continues to be ahead of the curve. Great work, keep it up!
Read Kristel Pugh's full review
Chad Friedrichsen profile photo
January 31, 2019

Review: "Dynatrace, top of the line...but costs too."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is currently being used on by a small group of developers and Application Technical support team. It helps give visibility into vendor products that we install locally and helps us work with the vendors to better their software that we have purchased.
  • Details, Dynatrace gives you all the details of an application from start to finish. Helps identify server connections, response times over network connections, and so much more. Easy to use and find errors so we can spend more time fixing problems than trying to figure out where the problem is.
  • Ease of use. The out of the box dashboards are easy to use and very intuitive.
  • Support -- the user community and Dynatrace University help in figuring out where information is, or what information from Dynatrace is telling me, easier.
  • Pricing -- some of the pricing is a bit much for smaller companies. Pricing models could be adjusted accordingly.
  • Synthetic monitoring is nice, but with the code, smaller companies can’t utilize this function.
Dynatrace can help anyone find out where their application issues are. From database calls, network traffic, and user sessions, it gives you the details you need to fix the problems. At this time I have not figured out where it would not be appropriate. Due to cost, it is probably appropriate to not put it on everything, as it is not as cost friendly.
Read Chad Friedrichsen's full review
David Rippey profile photo
January 31, 2019

User Review: "Getting Started with Dynatrace"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used by several groups and applications at NatGen. I manage our claims application and we are a relatively new consumer of Dynatrace. However, I am seeing tremendous benefit from Dynatrace in providing me with valuable information at a glance, not to mention alerts and notifications of impending issues.
  • Dynatrace provides lots of information from several platforms at once, unlike any other product that I’m aware of. Infrastructure, databases, and networks are just a few of the platforms monitored for us.
  • Instead of providing GBs of useless information, Dynatrace understands how issues in different areas of your environment can contribute to problems with your users’ experience.
  • I particularly like Dynatrace’s root cause analysis, as that is what management cares most about, but more importantly, that’s where we need to focus our efforts to ensure it doesn’t recur.
  • In an environment with multiple groups and applications using Dynatrace, sometimes the problem reporting can result in a noticeable amount of “noise” to users. Not all problems affect my application.
  • Setting up the notifications and alerts isn’t the most intuitive.
  • I’m not always sure what products we’ve purchased when doing online research, so the specific tool may or may not be available for your use.
I know a lot of organizations are "poor" in monitoring tools, but still may not have the overall efficiency provided by just one tool, Dynatrace.
Read David Rippey's full review
Connor Grady profile photo
January 30, 2019

Dynatrace Review: "Easy to use, efficient, and automated"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace was originally used by one department but, as was always our intention, has begun rolling out across the entire organization. The teams that are using it most, so far, are our application development teams. These developers can now better understand how their creations are operating in the real world, be notified about and respond to issues sooner, and build better software.
  • Dynatrace is excellent at seeing and discovering everything. As soon as you role out the OneAgent on an environment, telemetry and intelligence from hundreds of different technologies begin rolling in.
  • Problem detection and, most importantly, analysis, is incredibly valuable. Especially with the new Davis (Dynatrace’s AI) upgrade, Dynatrace will not only tell you there’s a problem, but will use its vast amount of data to indicate a root cause and any connections along the way.
  • Dynatrace’s user experience is impressive given the amount and sometimes complexity of the data it needs to show. The UX team deserves commendation for the simple experience they’ve built.
  • I’d like to see deeper areas of APM-related recommendations. While we can see potential method hotspots, I’d like even better detection of these hotspots.
  • Dynatrace appears to have room to grow when it comes database engines. For example, we can see database queries from applications, but there’s a lack of specific metrics for database engines.
Dynatrace is excellent for scenarios where organizations want to automate the tracing and detection of technologies within their environment, and be able to use that data for action.
Read Connor Grady's full review
Nicole Yarbrough profile photo
January 30, 2019

Review: "Increased Environment Visibility with Dynatrace"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace was implemented at my company initially to meet a need for the Operations teams to have a more modern and inclusive monitoring tool for our environments. It has since broadened its use case and has been adopted by other departments in the company as well. Dynatrace solves the problem of operations team members having to watch dashboards throughout the day and then spend additional time tracking down the root of the issue, by sending notifications when problems do arise and determining the root cause.
  • Dynatrace shows dependencies between services well. It allows users to visualize the steps that a call takes as it moves through your system.
  • Dynatrace determines root causes well, which has been a great benefit for our team. We can quickly see what service has slowed down or crashed, and what is causing other systems to be impacted.
  • Dynatrace doesn’t work as well out-of-the-box with legacy technologies, such as WebMethods, and requires a more manual implementation for them.
Dynatrace is well suited for large, complex environments where it can be difficult to determine where dependencies are.
Read Nicole Yarbrough's full review
Matthew Oleksowicz profile photo
January 30, 2019

Dynatrace Review: "Easy to use, powerful, and intelligent, even with no configuration"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Dynatrace within the web Technologies group for a major client, to primarily address performance issue detection and remediation.
  • AI-driven
  • Actionable root cause analysis
  • Easy to deploy and integrate
  • Additional API features
  • More reporting
  • Insight into business data
Great at monitoring and problem remediation. I am not sure of an IT environment where it would not be well suited.
Read Matthew Oleksowicz's full review
Jeremy Cencer profile photo
January 30, 2019

Dynatrace Review: "Overall good tool, strong in large environments"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used organization-wide by over 100 applications. It is our main outage detection and management of performance for a wide range of applications. We use it in both development and production.
  • Easy to deploy
  • Great community and services
  • Great customer Support
  • Better mainframe support
  • Better Synthetics
  • Better sales models and costs
It is well suited to large environments. It scales well and handles large loads. Designed for the enterprise.
Read Jeremy Cencer's full review
Daniel Garrett profile photo
January 30, 2019

Review: "Dynatrace was responsive and engaged in helping to solve a problem and helping to properly approach and implement a solution."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used in a performance testing environment to assess application performance as well as platform performance for PaaS.
  • Ease of deployment
  • Auto-discovery of applications, services, and other components
  • Root cause analysis
  • Easier identification of issues
  • Filtering of false positives
  • Easier integration in high security environments
Dynatrace is well suited to non-prod and prod environments for monitoring. It is also effective in identifying performance defects in prod and non-prod environments.
Read Daniel Garrett's full review
Marcus Safar profile photo
January 30, 2019

User Review: "Dynatrace love story"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace for performance testing, real user monitoring, production monitoring, and aggregation of existing information into one platform. Currently, it is only used by one team in one line of business, but future expansion is possible.
  • Very easy administration and installation
  • Great predictive analytics of data
  • Great interface
  • They need more integrations with other platforms
  • Kubernetes monitoring needs to happen soon
  • Network monitoring should be added to replace other tools
Dynatrace is great for revealing problems in testing before full production deployments.
Read Marcus Safar's full review
Mao Phu profile photo
January 30, 2019

Dynatrace Review: "Great Visibility to Mainframe services"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team manages and develops core services hosted on zOs WAS, and every time there was a production issue, we had to dig through 5 different locations and guess what processes match each other. With the implementation of Dynatrace, we can see the end to end processes of our mainframe services in one centralized view and reduce the production problem resolution time from 2 hours to 15min.
  • End to end mapping for mainframe services.
  • With more agents deployed within our infrastructure, we can see different technology, from Java to .net framework, and can easily identify bottlenecks or spot trouble to reduced triages
  • Great support community that helps each other on the Dynatrace support site.
  • The Appmon exclusion method is hard to use and requires knowledge of regex. It would be nice if there was a drop down or easier way to exclude.
  • Upgrading the Agent requires a manual process. It would be nice if there was a way for the agent to call "home" to pull the update and wait for a reboot to apply.
  • HOT Day classes waste a lot of time performing set up, and the meat of the session was glazed over.
Dynatrace help us greatly to identify bottlenecks and issue areas. It has helped us create six dashboards for our core application and display them 24/7 on a 55" TV. So when an issue happens, the whole team knows and can come together to resolve it.
Read Mao Phu's full review
Carlos Gutierrez-Menoyo profile photo
January 30, 2019

Review: "Dynatrace: Bridging the Gap Between Business and IT"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We’re using Dynatrace across the enterprise to address many real-world problems, while also identifying a lot of new opportunities in the process. In a nutshell, Dynatrace is helping us bridge the gap between business and IT by bridging metrics that matter to the business (site traffic, conversions, bounce rates) and metrics that matter to IT (CPU, memory, instance counts) together into one tool that finally demonstrates the connections.

Dynatrace connects the dots and highlights that the user experience can be impacted by any number of factors and, more importantly, helps you manage those impacts to improve the user’s experience.
  • Problem detection with root cause analysis works incredibly well. When correctly configured, if Dynatrace says you’ve got a problem, it’s a real problem -- no more false alerts.
  • Integration with tools like PagerDuty, Slack, are simple out of the box, and more advanced integrations are possible with the increasingly powerful API.
  • Events API to track deployments, annotations, info, and more is really great and is a feature I think goes undervalued. Imagine having every change made to content, email campaigns, or code in a timeline alongside your user data, resource metrics, and more.
  • Session Replay is a new and exciting feature that just needs to be given an opportunity to grow. What they’ve got so far is impressive and early adopters will not be disappointed because having session visibility alongside everything else offered is a game-changer but, I’m excited to see more and the sooner, the better!
  • Dashboards are great but, more and more, we have the need to expose these on TVs or to executives, and having to log in is a roadblock. We need public dashboards, and these have been announced as a deliverable for early 2019 but I’d like to see it in action before considering the gap addressed.
  • Dynatrace has some incredible offerings that I think need to be better documented or advertised. The events API is a good example of an incredible tool that could do with some TLC. More blog posts, more examples in the documentation, and more knowledge shared with the tech support staff so they can better answer questions through the chat feature.
Dynatrace is meant to help any business that wants to better understand and ultimately cater to their customer. Be it better resource scaling, problem detection/resolution, or even usability with Session Replay, Dynatrace is a great tool for DEM.
Read Carlos Gutierrez-Menoyo's full review
Lisa Bogart profile photo
January 30, 2019

Dynatrace Review: "Very powerful monitoring software and valuable at capturing KPIs useful for management purposes"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Dynatrace in the area of RUM and synthetics to get a better understanding of the user experience. We have a metric we monitor called Open by Technology where we track whether our technology determined an issue or a user had to call in to tell us.
  • Identifying performance issues
  • Allowing us to drill down into bottlenecks
  • Dashboarding
  • KPI tuning
  • The tool is sometimes difficult to use
  • Dynatrace Univesity if good, but users need to spend a lot of time to get through them
Dynatrace is helping us to identify performance problems and real user experiences. Sometimes the infrastructure KPIs don’t tell the entire story of system behavior, so the RUM and synthetics are very useful.
Read Lisa Bogart's full review
Daniel Addo profile photo
January 29, 2019

Review: "Dynatrace Usage for Omni Channel Services"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used to diagnose, monitor and alert our omni channel applications. It is very vital that we have full visibility in the environment so we can be proactive in our monitoring space. Dynatrace time and again has given us that visibility needed in the environment. We have used it to get a handle on the services that are critical to the business.
  • Purepath to diagnose a spike especially JVM.
  • CPU spikes on our infrastructure including what our apps are using.
  • Backend issues with bad indexes and broken queries are things that Dynatrace has proven to be good at.
  • Tracing errors in our HTTP connections.
  • Detail PurePath information when errors occur. This gives deep dive information on when it occurred and how it occurred including possible contributors to the issue.
  • Under certain circumstances, the infrastructure that runs the applications might be having issues. Dynatrace is able to pinpoint these issues to allow administrators to troubleshoot easily.
  • The backend has been mostly the centerpiece of most issues. Dynatrace is able to pull how long a query ran and if it timed out what actually caused it.
Applications which have JVMs are perfect examples of what Dynatrace can help sort through. JVMs are good until servelet connections fail and create bottlenecks. Dynatrace is able to detect and help resolve these issues.
Read Daniel Addo's full review
David Kim profile photo
January 29, 2019

Review: "Check your ecosystem for complexity and eclecticism before you implement Dynatrace."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used for user experience, performance and availability management. It solves the issues of mapping applications and their dependencies in a complex ecosystem and to their business vertical.
  • Easy to use and adopt.
  • Goes up and down the stack from cloud, physical, middleware, DB to application and user
  • Purepath shows the area to focus on root cause and reduce time to repair.
  • Management zones do not have granularity in administration of their own zones. This leaves a gap for autonomy.
  • In an ever changing environment, a week of baselining and analysis is too long.
  • Older platforms are not supported. Limited support for healthcare apps that are off the shelf like Epic and Cerner. Limited support also for Citrix based applications.
It is well suited for environments with standard platform usage such as Linux and cloud providers that are standard across the industry. Multi-platform ecosystems can make implementation and stitch of data to be a bit complex.
Read David Kim's full review
Kate Kuleva profile photo
January 29, 2019

Dynatrace Review: "Best in industry features and capabilities, but has a lot of caveats and complexities that can backfire"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in multiple departments to rapidly identify bugs and performance problems both in production and performance testing environments. Addresses the business problem of reducing repair time and improving system uptime, as well as reducing the cost of troubleshooting production issues and doing performance testing.
  • Very user-friendly interface that allows you to quickly move between dashboards and views to review system performance and quickly identify problems.
  • PurePath technology allows for good deep-dive into every transaction to help find bugs and identify their cause.
  • Cross-stack end-to-end transaction tracing is best in the industry.
  • Their Sales team can sometimes present Dynatrace as a plug-and-play type of product which needs no testing with your system. This is not the case. It needs fairly extensive performance and stress testing to prevent unpleasant surprises in prod.
  • Support can sometimes give you the runaround when any technical issues come up or the product doesn’t interact well with your system. They have a tendency to treat you like a newbie user who doesn’t know which buttons to press, even when it’s very obvious that Dynatrace itself is not interacting well with the monitored system.
  • Their support for .NET systems is not as good as their Java support, and their technical support is sometimes not aware how .NET works. Their implementation of .NET Core monitoring specifically is very immature and doesn’t work well.
Very good at finding bugs and performance bottlenecks quickly. It is especially well suited for high-volume systems with fairly straightforward code.
Read Kate Kuleva's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (142)
9.3
Database monitoring (130)
6.9
Threshold alerts (140)
8.9
Predictive capabilities (123)
7.4
Application performance management console (137)
8.8
Collaboration tools (108)
7.2
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (127)
7.6
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (129)
8.8
Virtualization monitoring (124)
9.2
Server availability and performance monitoring (134)
9.3
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (131)
8.4
IT Asset Discovery (101)
7.5

About Dynatrace

Dynatrace is the new application monitoring platform from Dynatrace LLC in Waltham, MA.

Dynatrace Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No