Dynatrace Reviews

505 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 343)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is overall an excellent application performance monitoring tool. The AI is absolutely brilliant and very powerful.
  • Load testing
  • Debugging issues
  • Pricey
The Dynatrace AI is really helpful to debug issues.
The support from Dynatrace is really good.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2020
Stephane Abitbol | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used across many business units. We deploy it to monitor all key applications for performance issues. Dynatrace is also used to help developers and support teams debug app issues. Good experience with this product overall.
  • Great support
  • Frequent updates
  • Must keep agents up to date frequently
  • Constantly ensure new releases and updates do not impact existing clients
Dynatrace is great for applications monitoring but I am not yet inclined to choose it for infrastructure monitoring. Other solutions for infrastructure monitoring are currently being looked into by our team such as Microfocus.
Chat support is available 24/7 with a highly skilled support team. There's a quick response for submitted tickets to support.
Read Stephane Abitbol's full review
May 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace was at first used with some application teams of the bank. We currently use it to enhance the support of all applications across the bank (whole organization). It helps to find out the pain points from application development or production issues. They also get performance metrics for the applications.
  • Technology details on each host.
  • Detailed host analysis.
  • Reports.
  • Instrumentation downtime.
We had resolved issues on some major incidents from some application teams. While the developers and support group could not find the root cause, we were involved to drill down to the problem details to the code level. One example we found was that the root cause of the issue is from vendor packages.
Read this authenticated review
March 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used by our organization as a central monitoring and alerting tool for our on and off-prem platforms and servers. Dynatrace provides us a single pane of glass for all of our application performance monitoring and troubleshooting for Vmware, Azure, etc.
  • Synthetic testing
  • Ease of updates & installations
  • Forward-thinking approach to implementation
  • It is rather expensive
  • Can be cumbersome to fine-tune default monitoring and alerting thresholds.
Dynatrace is a great fit for a large enterprise looking for a powerful and all-encompassing monitoring solution. You can monitor your business-critical applications with synthetic testing scripts, monitor Pivotal Cloud Foundry, Azure or AWS workloads, and even down to individual VM's and Databases. It truly is a one-stop-shop for an enterprise monitoring and alerting solution.
We have had nothing but good interactions with our Dynatrace Support and Sales team. They have been very responsive to any issues that we have brought to their attention.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Mervyn Lumarque | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Dynatrace to monitor a number of applications. We leverage Davis AI to assist us in identifying issues in our apps and to help developers write better code.
  • Monitoring
  • Prevention
  • I would love to see the ability to get network appliance information into the tool.
  • Pricing for hosts.
Application troubleshooting--this is where Dynatrace excels.
I have not engaged support.
Read Mervyn Lumarque's full review
February 07, 2020
John Gage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used across our organization. Within my department, Dynatrace is being used to monitor our service layer that provides content to our mobile layer. Dynatrace is also being used within our mobile application.
  • Uncovers exceptions occurring within our app
  • An overall visibility with the use of dashboards
  • The system is so large it sometimes requires learning on my part, to find what I'm looking for.
Dynatrace has worked great for us in monitoring our API service layer, and our mobile app user experiences, giving us both back-end and front-end visibility.
We have a dedicated Dynatrace resource helping us with our implementation, which means no searching around trying to find a person to talk to.
Read John Gage's full review
February 07, 2020
Alyssa Simon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used for the application and performance monitoring tools it provides us as way to view our infrastructure telemetry that it gets from our Azure instance. It is currently being used across the whole organization, and the business problems it addresses is the user experience as a whole and how it relates to the infrastructure.
  • Application monitoring as far as response time and degradation
  • Performance monitoring of our entire infrastructure and how that has an effect on our users
  • The synthetic monitoring
  • Dashboard features
Dynatrace is an amazing all-around product that can really change the way you do business. Dynatrace has the ability to see all the metrics in your infrastructure, and provide you with baselines, and report off that to show you how everything works together. I can't see where Dynatrace would be less appropriate because it really allows you to correlate everything that is going on in your business from all the metrics that the OneAgent is able to gather, and you can use that information and tailor it to whichever business unit you see fit.
Dynatrace support is easy to use, very communicative, and very friendly.
Read Alyssa Simon's full review
February 07, 2020
Sandy Neavaes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used as our Enterprise Monitoring System. It is used throughout the organization. Our heaviest users are from our Middleware Engineering group. We use Dynatrace for monitoring applications in the cloud, for monitoring internal- and external-facing systems. We use synthetic monitoring and user monitoring. We heavily monitor cloud applications. Many of our applications are moving to the cloud.
  • Proactive monitoring of potential issues/problems
  • Quickly alerting when there is a problem
  • Eliminating false alerts
  • Organization of synthetic screens--unable to do edits for mass # of monitors at one time
Dynatrace is well suited for monitoring cloud applications. We haven't used any mobile monitoring so I can't say how Dynatrace performs for that scenario. Synthetic monitoring is good, but could use some improvements, such as more detail in the error descriptions where possible. Also, the screen for editing all monitors at one time is not available. Monitors have to be edited in buckets of 100.
Our support team for converting Synthetics from Gomez to Dynatrace was absolutely wonderful. Nicole G. has been extremely helpful and always follows-up on our issues and concerns. She was invaluable in our upgrade--always providing both technical support as well as "moral support." Our Dynatrace coach is also extremely involved in helping us become proficient Dynatrace administrators. He also follows-up on our questions and issues.
Read Sandy Neavaes's full review
February 07, 2020
Higino Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Dynatrace is helping us with transparent, easy, and deep observability of our managed infrastructure and micro-service based apps. We quickly installed and started having deep monitoring and observability, and with Davis, we have instant insights into problems we could only have had with hours of engineering root cause analysis in the past.
  • Auto discovery and complete observability without any tweaks or configuration
  • Root cause analysis and alter correlation into a changing micro-service environment
  • Greater transparency on licensing costs, cost optimization, and cost projection of activating Dynatrace features
Dynatrace is well suited for start-ups looking to quickly and easily monitor apps having business impact.
I haven't have much need to contact support so far, so nothing to complain about or praise.
Read Higino Silva's full review
February 07, 2020
Jamey Price | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT department uses Dynatrace for incident detection and resolution, as well as testing at scale, debugging, and some business analysis.
  • Root-cause analysis in 30 seconds instead of 0.5-2 hours
  • Application developer self-service of fault detection
  • Business analysis is in its early stages of implementation, and I'm excited to see how the feature grows and develops.
If you are using supported technologies (see their materials, the list grows regularly), Dynatrace is the best APM tool on the market. If you are using unsupported technologies, it's still amazing, but you'll miss out on some of the most advanced, groundbreaking features of the product (such as PurePaths). If anyone ever asked you what was wrong, and you had to answer, "I don't know," then you need Dynatrace.
It's easy to engage support, and they're actually helpful.
Read Jamey Price's full review
February 07, 2020
Matt Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace for application and infrastructure monitoring. Additionally, we use it for business insights. Primarily, it is used by our infrastructure team with some users in application development. Dynatrace has been used to find issues with cpu, code, third-party applications, and a number of other issues. We are currently working on dashboards to share with other depts.
  • Ease of deployment
  • Complete infrastructure monitoring
  • Reporting
  • API use
Dynatrace does a great job at monitoring business processes from end to end. Finding and alerting on problems, and then being able to drill down into pure paths to see user actions, have waterfall analysis to take us right down to the code level, set up conversion goals to track outcomes, etc.
Support is always there, either online or over the phone. They provide expert answers and research anything they don't know. The chat function through the application is excellent, and we have weekly calls with our support rep who is knowledgable and helpful. I cannot say enough good things about Dynatrace support.
Read Matt Johnson's full review
February 07, 2020
Ganesh Ramasamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application development organization within IT primarily uses Dynatrace to gain visibility into the technology health and react to issues. This helps the teams proactively address impending issues.
  • Ease of installation and initial setup.
  • Great customer service and active account executives.
  • There have been instances of high resource consumption but was addressed quickly.
  • Additional configuration needed.
Dynatrace has been very useful for application/user session monitoring. The IT Operations team still need other specialized products to monitor infrastructure.
Support through JIRA is very responsive but more frequent phone support would be efficient.
Read Ganesh Ramasamy's full review
February 07, 2020
David Junkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace to monitor performance of our applications and our infrastructure. It has the ability to stitch together the path of a transaction through the stack of technology. It also can tell you an end-user's experience. Dynatrace has an AI engine that helps reduce the need to dig through tons of data. It will highlight were your issues are for you. It is being used across the enterprise to help us improve customer experience.
  • Stitch transactions across multiple technologies
  • Give an accurate picture of the end-user experience
  • Reporting: Current dashboards are limited
  • User experience data is purged after a while, which means you need to extract data to another source.
Dynatrace is great at highlighting issues and letting you know of their impact. The AI allows you to make associations that one person could probably not do. I think, so far, most things Dynatrace targets, it does well. I would say Dynatrace should not replace a business analytics solution.
The Dynatrace chat feature is nice. Dynatrace support staff react quickly to issues. I didn't give them a ten because sometimes they are too quick to try and close a ticket and declare an issue is not theirs.
Read David Junkin's full review
February 07, 2020
Jaime Morell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Dynatrace in a few departments, but we are looking to expand it to the entire production environment. Dynatrace addresses app and infrastructure monitoring, as well as log analysis. The ease of the interface and amount of info is great. Overall, Dynatrace has helped us to locate issues we didn't know were in the environment.
  • Application monitoring
  • Infrastructure monitoring
  • Hyper-V integration
  • Citrix products integration
App and infrastructure monitoring is what we use Dynatrace for right now. We are looking to expand as it has many useful tools. Dynatrace has provided us with info and metrics that we couldn't see before. It allows you to troubleshoot an issue before it becomes the customer's issue. Overall Dynatrace is a great product, and I look forward to working with them more.
The time Dynatrace saves us in troubleshooting and filtering through logs is priceless. The high level of monitoring and the ability to drill down to the issue, or instance, has been a great experience. We are looking to implement Dynatrace on the majority of our infrastructure and will continue with it in the future.
Read Jaime Morell's full review
February 07, 2020
kulwinder singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dynatrace to monitor our environment of 1000+ hosts, both on cloud and on-premises, we are using DEM, synthetic to monitor various apps and perform auto healing as needed. Dynatrace works great on base-lining and alerting--seamless integration with different alert platforms.
  • Excellent topology display by Smartscape
  • Synthetic, DEM, and Davis are excellent tools
  • Heap dumps are hard to gather.
  • Event correlation is off sometimes.
Dynatrace is well suited for infrastructure, cloud, and container monitoring, as well as VMware monitoring.
Smartscape Topology works great to show the dependencies.
Dynatrace's chat feature is excellent. The support community is also a great tool to find out information on various new and old issues.
Read kulwinder singh's full review
February 07, 2020
Ryan Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used throughout our organization to provide APM including visibility, monitoring, and alerting for our products and services. We provide many different SaaS-based products and need to ensure that they're available to customers all the time. We want to ensure that we're providing an excellent experience for our users.
  • Setup, deployment, and updates
  • AI engine actually works--bubbles problems up proactively
  • Price point--it's extremely expensive
  • Support offering--in-app chat works, but takes a long time to solve problems that are even somewhat complex
Dynatrace is well suited to complex infrastructures--hybrid cloud and on-premises. We use Dynatrace across seven different data centers in three global regions, and it was extremely simple to roll all of that out. It did take some time to get used to the different ways in which Dynatrace presents information as opposed to prior tools like New Relic and AppDynamics, but once you get used to it, Dynatrace makes a lot of sense.
Dynatrace has paid support offerings, but considering the size of our investment, I would have expected more of a premium offering being available as part of the purchase where we really only have in-app chat. Both other competitors offered this. Luckily it's pretty easy to use so generally we don't need a ton of help.
Read Ryan Smith's full review
February 07, 2020
Aaron Martinas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used by a specific department currently. As our expertise with this product increases, we will likely migrate existing application monitoring technologies into Dynatrace. The operations team has traditionally used various monitoring technologies that we want to integrate into one platform to increase issue correlation effectiveness. Additionally, we'd like to integrate alerting and incident management into Service Now.
  • Application discovery
  • Automated base-lining
  • When filtering by time, it seems like certain clicks will send you down a trail that no longer illustrates that you're filtered by time.
Dynatrace seems suited for all types of environments, especially those with Linux and Windows deployments. Any organization that wants to reduce the amount of time spent determining root-cause analysis will find this product extremely valuable. It's fully customizable, which allows for "noise" to be filtered out and meaningful problems to be raised.
The speed of customer support is excellent. Dynatrace is responsive and reactive to the issues I raise. There are multiple avenues to reach support, which makes it less stressful. Account managers take their time to understand the issues and are always able to get the matters routed to the proper engineers.
Read Aaron Martinas's full review
February 07, 2020
Chris Knudsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Dynatrace to decouple the issues we've had with migrating to the cloud. Dynatrace allows us to see what is happening across the stack from many perspectives of the business. I can have a network engineer look at a dashboard that has nothing to do with APM, but if an issue is raised he'll have the same context as others in dev.
  • service traces
  • uptime
  • cost
  • debug needs better 1-click
Dynatrace is well suited for businesses that have multiple facets of tech. It allows those disparate tools to align in a single pane of glass. Now, the calls aren't pointing fingers at whose tool has the right info--everyone can work from the same canvas with accurate real-time info. I'd like to see us expand this to our additional BU areas.
Dynatrace has a great tech team who are always willing to help.
Read Chris Knudsen's full review
February 07, 2020
David Levine | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace was initially brought in as an app monitoring platform, and it does that extremely well. It is also being used by the development teams to identify hotspots that can benefit from optimization. We will be looking to leverage end-to-end monitoring to assess true end-user experience and also to leverage dashboards for both technical and business metrics.
  • Application monitoring
  • Infrastructure monitoring
  • Consider a basic view for newer / less frequent users of the platform
The Dynatrace platform is extensive and really shines when implemented across the stack for full end-to-end visibility from the client browser to the underlying cloud infrastructure. It is also a powerful tool to use in development/performance testing to identify issues and hotspots that are candidates for optimization, preventing these from being discovered in production. Combining client and end-to-end coverage along with their dashboard functionality you can get a combination tech/business view of KPIs.
Besides a solid SE team, the platform supports live chat to assist with real-time questions on product setup/configuration and use of the tool. The live chat has been tremendous in getting answers/clarification while actively using the product.
Read David Levine's full review
February 07, 2020
Aninda Mukherjee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace mostly in the pre-production environment to identify any performance issues before we promote code to production. Dynatrace is used by separate business units but we are considering rolling it out across the organization. By using Dynatrace, we've prevented many performance issues going to production and prevented performance issues in production as well.
  • Easy to identify any performance issues by back-tracking any dependency calls
  • Automatically identifies the root cause of any performance problem
  • Dashboards: Currently we don't have the option to compare dashboard data between two time-frames
  • Easy to group multiple database instances into one single database
With Dynatrace, it's easy to back-track any transaction. We are also using AppDynamics in production but developers are struggling to identify any root cause if there are any performance issues. However, in Dynatrace it's easy to back-track and identify any issue quickly. Dynatrace UI is user friendly compared to AppDynamics. I think Dashboard is nice, but there is no way I can compare between two time-frames. This would help me to compare test results between two releases easily.
Support folks are always available to help. They are pretty knowledgeable and helpful if I am stuck on any problems or issues.
Read Aninda Mukherjee's full review
February 07, 2020
Bryan LeBlanc | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used as the premier enterprise monitoring tool at Air Canada. It is currently used by our monitoring and IT operation center teams. We use Dynatrace to monitor various applications in the Air Canada network including our website - aircanada.com and our check-in channels including mobile, web and airport kiosks. The main business problem Dynatrace addresses is visibility. But it also does so much more to help us reach root cause analysis quickly and automatically. Whenever we have issues on an application, Dynatrace automatically detects the problem and sends an alert to our ITOC team to investigate the current issue.
  • AIops - automation is king, and saves time/money.
  • One agent deployment is simple and the auto detection feature is great.
  • Better dashboarding - fix the bugs and give more customization options.
  • Easier ways to chart custom metrics.
Dynatrace is great when we have an issue with one of our apps and we need to pinpoint the problem. For example, we had an issue with kiosks at airports - we managed to have Dynatrace alert the airports when the kiosks were running low on paper and to replace them. Another place Dynatrace excels is when we have an outage that is affecting multiple applications at once. Usually that means some dependency is down and Dynatrace can quickly identify the root cause.

Dynatrace is less appropriate on some legacy systems that are not supported. Unfortunately no support for really old applications.
Support overall has been good over the lifetime of the product. Recently we've been having more struggles with Dynatrace breaking our website and have had to turn the monitoring off for aircanada.com This has been going on since November and it's currently February with no resolution. We are pushing hard but have not found a solution yet.
Read Bryan LeBlanc's full review
February 07, 2020
Nick Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used in infrastructure and operations department. It's used to address coding issues as well as issues caused by the Oracle Weblogic infrastructure. We also have some insight into database calls and problems with queries. Dynatrace has helped with diagnosing countless issues with its root cause leading to problem resolution.
  • User session analysis is fantastic.
  • Root cause analysis has been extremely accurate.
  • Cost.
  • Cost.
Dynatrace is well suited for reviewing customer complaints with your particular applications. Its user session record feature has helped with countless problems reported and allowed us to make changes to provide a better experience to our customers. We are ecstatic about the value provided with the tools available to us.
I like that support is available 24/7 and through the application itself as Dynatrace provides live text functionality. It is very helpful for quick questions about the product itself and how to format some of the data to be more meaningful. There doesn't seem to be an issue that Dynatrace was not able to provide support with, when asked.
Read Nick Martin's full review
February 07, 2020
Trivedi Apurva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used by the IT department to review the performance, availability and reliability of a few extremely business critical applications.
  • Real user monitoring.
  • Synthetic monitoring.
  • Code-level instrumentation for Python scripts.
Dynatrace is well suited for the companies where application performance is given utmost priority and the Dynatrace team has a liberty to install the agents on all systems used by the business critical applications. With the help of detailed performance and load tests in the lower environment a lot of issues can be resolved beforehand.
We use Dynatrace Guardian and his assistance instrumenting Dynatrace and onboarding the application is very helpful.
Read Trivedi Apurva's full review
February 07, 2020
Alain Cote | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are actually using AppMon and are evaluating the Dynatrace migration path to continue on our APM journey. We have around 700 AppMon users and have been using it for the last 4 years.
  • Visibility across the whole application stack.
  • Great integration with cloud stacks.
  • Well documented and flexible API.
  • Integrated AI for baselining, problem detection and root cause analysis.
  • Export of session for storage and sharing not available.
  • Limited schedules for reporting.
Dynatrace helps us see what applications are doing across cloud and on premise deployments. It is adapted to microservices monitoring with auto discovery and CAAS integretions. Faster incident resolution through root cause analysis.
Excellent support. The chat support feature is very valuable.
Read Alain Cote's full review
February 06, 2020
Gustavo Maia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Most of my clients use Dynatrace in specific departments, not the whole organization. They are almost all working on expanding this and especially trying to bring business people to the party. Most of the time, my clients come to Dynatrace to work on monitoring their apps, but we try to show them that they can deliver business metrics and also optimize their performance, not just be reactive.
  • Problem Detection
  • Root Cause Analysis
  • Serverless application monitoring
  • Cloud integration
Dynatrace is well suited for monitoring a diverse ecosystem of applications, running in multiple environments and with differing languages. It is very quick and easy to implement Dynatrace and it is very fast to deliver business value. In the world of cloud deployments, monitoring server-less applications, i.e. AWS Lambda is still in early stages, which is a shame since we often use it.
Dynatrace ONE works very well, for the purpose it was built. You can get quick answers that are more in-depth than expected for a first-level, in-product online chat. Dynatrace guardian used to work very very well, but some of our customers have been facing issues with them, which we are still in the process of understanding and remediating.
Read Gustavo Maia's full review

What is Dynatrace?

Dynatrace is an AI-centered software intelligence platform. It includes APM features scaled for enterprises and with individual transaction-level monitoring capabilities as well as infrastructure monitoring, AIOps, digital business analytics, and digital experience monitoring. Businesses use the Dynatrace platform to collaborate internally and deliver value to users with minimal effort.

Dynatrace Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No