Dynatrace Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 343)

Mervyn Lumarque | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Dynatrace: The next wave in IT.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Dynatrace to monitor a number of applications. We leverage Davis AI to assist us in identifying issues in our apps and to help developers write better code.
  • Monitoring
  • Prevention
  • I would love to see the ability to get network appliance information into the tool.
  • Pricing for hosts.
Application troubleshooting--this is where Dynatrace excels.
Read Mervyn Lumarque's full review
Stephane Abitbol | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Dynatrace - Delivers great application monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used across many business units. We deploy it to monitor all key applications for performance issues. Dynatrace is also used to help developers and support teams debug app issues. Good experience with this product overall.
  • Great support
  • Frequent updates
  • Must keep agents up to date frequently
  • Constantly ensure new releases and updates do not impact existing clients
Dynatrace is great for applications monitoring but I am not yet inclined to choose it for infrastructure monitoring. Other solutions for infrastructure monitoring are currently being looked into by our team such as Microfocus.
Read Stephane Abitbol's full review
ShuYun Du | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

Dynatrace is better than the other APM tools I had been using

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dynatrace to help monitor the application health and investigate when there is an issue. Dynatrace had been applied to multiple Applications across the bank. It helps us to fix issues faster when there is one. It reduces the MMTR and allows our customers to have a better experience with the service we provide.
  • Monitoring the infrastructure health
  • Alerting on abnormal behavior of Applications
  • The save/discard on the bottom of screens is very easy to miss when I configure something.
We are currently using Dynatrace to replace other APM tools we were using and we can already see the advantages compared to other APM tools that we had.
Read ShuYun Du's full review
Jose Adan Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Dynatrace, best Monitoring tool for anomaly detection and the automatic baselining of applications.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are using Dynatrace to help our customers resolve their monitoring problems along all different technology platforms.
  • Anomaly detection
  • Automatic baselining
  • Alerting integration.
  • Dependency mapping.
  • Dashboarding flexibility
  • Covering legacy platforms
  • IBM Cloud integration
Dynatrace is well suited in multi-cloud enterprises and hybrid platforms.
Read Jose Adan Ortiz's full review
Mayur Mangalampally | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Dynatrace Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used company-wide. Dynatrace is being used for monitoring of applications. We use Dynatrace to identify the root causes of the problems for different applications. It is also used to make the developers' lives easier by identifying any performance problems in the application. We use the Davis AI engine to get alerted when there is a problem. We like the dashboarding section of Dynatrace as well.
  • Service flow
  • Root cause analysis
  • Usability
  • Role-based authentication
Dynatrace is well suited to do application performance monitoring, identify the hotspots, and alert for any issues in the application. It is not to be used for log monitoring. It cannot be used for good dashboarding.
Read Mayur Mangalampally's full review
Anthony Rossi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Great product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it to monitor end to end usage from network to application support. It detects errors early on before hitting production. It is also used for monitoring resources being used like disk space and CPU usage. It is heavily used in our DevOps team so we can detect errors early on in the deployment.
  • Monitoring
  • Details of errors
  • Would like logging to be available for more than 24 hrs
It overall covers everything from end to end, I haven't seen anything like it. Helps with early detection in case bad code is deployed. We can trace it back to the exact time frame it happened and it will show any broken connections or network slowdowns.
Read Anthony Rossi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Dynatrace is great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace was at first used with some application teams of the bank. We currently use it to enhance the support of all applications across the bank (whole organization). It helps to find out the pain points from application development or production issues. They also get performance metrics for the applications.
  • Technology details on each host.
  • Detailed host analysis.
  • Reports.
  • Instrumentation downtime.
We had resolved issues on some major incidents from some application teams. While the developers and support group could not find the root cause, we were involved to drill down to the problem details to the code level. One example we found was that the root cause of the issue is from vendor packages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Dynatrace delivers a top-of-class enterprise monitoring and alerting platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used by our organization as a central monitoring and alerting tool for our on and off-prem platforms and servers. Dynatrace provides us a single pane of glass for all of our application performance monitoring and troubleshooting for Vmware, Azure, etc.
  • Synthetic testing
  • Ease of updates & installations
  • Forward-thinking approach to implementation
  • It is rather expensive
  • Can be cumbersome to fine-tune default monitoring and alerting thresholds.
Dynatrace is a great fit for a large enterprise looking for a powerful and all-encompassing monitoring solution. You can monitor your business-critical applications with synthetic testing scripts, monitor Pivotal Cloud Foundry, Azure or AWS workloads, and even down to individual VM's and Databases. It truly is a one-stop-shop for an enterprise monitoring and alerting solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2020

Good Solid RUM to rely on

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is a very good tool for APM. It gives very good internals of the applications and the user experience. We have implemented it in our Test and Pod environment for our business-critical application with the UEM. We also have the various dashboards for the app support team, Infra team and the business folks. Along with the dashboard displayed on the large-screen TV in the offshore monitoring team.
  • Best tool for APM.
  • Best user interface.
  • Very frequent releases.
  • License cost is high in some forms of the JVM configuration which becomes very expensive.
Dynatrace is easy to use and deploy and the user interface is awesome. The dashboards are super easy to add and configure and share. Forum is awesome and the the product incorporates the features requested by the users.
My view: this application performance monitoring tool is one of the best ones I have used...
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Dynatrace is the new (old) kid in town!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Dynatrace across our organization. We've consolidated previous Dynatrace applications like Gomez, DCRUM, and AppMon. Dynatrace has addressed many issues and a single app is much better for our organization The installation is by far our favorite part. The ease of installation compared to AppMon is tenfold. We can easily deploy and with the OneAgent grabbing all the process automatically - gives our teams time to focus on other tasks.

In addition, the AI finds root cause - again allowing our team to focus on other issues!
  • Installation.
  • Root cause analysis.
  • Dashboarding.
  • Plugins can be difficult.
Amazing for all apps - especially Java. We love the dashboards and the ability to bring in other tools as well. Very easy to use and easy to train other users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Know whether to go for Dynatrace after reading this.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used for product monitoring on prod and pre-prod environments, including core application, a number of services around it, and databases. It helps to effectively debug through the app, and it increases visibility in the complex environment of production, which has been live for 17 years and is a mix of various technologies and approaches.
  • Dependency identification
  • User impact analysis
  • Unreliable--sometimes API changes without a notice or mention in release notes
  • Pricing--obscured, unclear, and fluffy, a lot of time wasted on every purchase
Dynatrace performs best on modern infrastructure, strongly depending on a cloud, virtualization, and microservices. In such a setup, Dynatrace is capable of using most of its features in an effective way. For a mixed setup, for instance, the platform that is transforming from monolith to services, Dynatrace appears to be a great tool as well.
It is hard for me to tell what scenario is an absolute no-no for using Dynatrace.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Easy to use, difficult to master

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace as our primary application monitoring tool across the entire IT department, and we use Dynatrace as a way to provide some value to business users when they have dependencies on IT products put forth by our department. Production support users (like myself) use Dynatrace for monitoring, alerting, troubleshooting, and anomaly detection. Our tier 1 support uses Dynatrace's dashboard tools for around-the-clock monitoring. Our software development teams use Dynatrace to gain better insight and visibility into how their code performs in our various environments.
  • Installation and implementation
  • Anomaly detection and alerting
  • Dashboard tools
  • Navigation and ease of use
Dynatrace is great for monitoring tool consolidation. It supports a very wide variety of languages and technologies. Dynatrace is great for granting company-wide visibility into IT applications and supporting software. And it is great at detecting problems, alerting the necessary parties, and providing visibility into the root cause.
Dynatrace is severely lacking in proper dashboard tools and ease of use, though. It has a steep learning curve; the interface can make it difficult to find exactly what you're looking for at times; often, once you do find what you're looking for, you can't easily put it on a dashboard to make it easier to find and access next time around. Dynatrace is also fairly expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

My Dynatrace Experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been with Dynatrace for 7 years, having implemented by the Application Development team when we had issues with performance degradation on our digital platform. Over the years, we transitioned from AppMon to Dynatrace, Gomez to Dynatrace Synthetic, and on-boarded not only Tier 1 but also Tier 2 Applications and started to utilize Infrastructure monitoring.
  • Simple instrumentation
  • All-in-one tool
  • Database monitoring
  • Better pricing for log data ingestion
The good: Dynatrace is great for application performance monitoring and synthetics testing, and has very good all-in-one multi-cloud support and observability.

The not so good: Dynatrace is not great for additional charges for metrics ingestion and the need for additional tools (e.g. log management and analytics). They nickel-and-dime customers.

Dynatrace has great potential for Real User Management (RUM) and Digital Experience Management (DEM) to help IT and the business side collaborate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Beginner--just barely getting feet wet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Dynatrace for less that six months and at this time it is being used by our Infrastructure organization. We currently have it configured on less than 100 servers and at this time we are using it as a monitoring tool to help us with error analysis and troubleshooting issues. We are looking to delve deeper and set up better performance monitoring so that our various teams can better manage our systems.
  • Easy to install and get started, and easy to go back in and modify
  • Excellent support, training, and resources
  • Coming from a beginner, so this may not be area for improvement, but it would be nice to be able to search and filter error results better, specifically with SQL errors.
  • Storage of logs and being able to get back to them when you need to
Currently not equipped to properly answer this question as we are still in the beginning stages of implementation. At this time we are just barely tapping in and learning how to get the information we need. We are currently using it for database monitoring and application monitoring.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Great tool for patient people.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I try to make Dynatrace famous across the whole organization. For now, only a few teams of developers use it. We use Dynatrace mostly to measure end-user performance.
  • Waterfall analysis for performance insights
  • PurePath
  • Live Chat support
  • Custom metric ingesiton
Dynatrace is fantastic when it comes to learning how transactions and services depend on each other, thanks to Service Flow functionality.
Read this authenticated review
John Gage | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Visibility!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used across our organization. Within my department, Dynatrace is being used to monitor our service layer that provides content to our mobile layer. Dynatrace is also being used within our mobile application.
  • Uncovers exceptions occurring within our app
  • An overall visibility with the use of dashboards
  • The system is so large it sometimes requires learning on my part, to find what I'm looking for.
Dynatrace has worked great for us in monitoring our API service layer, and our mobile app user experiences, giving us both back-end and front-end visibility.
Read John Gage's full review
Alyssa Simon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Dynatrace is a game-changing product.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is being used for the application and performance monitoring tools it provides us as way to view our infrastructure telemetry that it gets from our Azure instance. It is currently being used across the whole organization, and the business problems it addresses is the user experience as a whole and how it relates to the infrastructure.
  • Application monitoring as far as response time and degradation
  • Performance monitoring of our entire infrastructure and how that has an effect on our users
  • The synthetic monitoring
  • Dashboard features
Dynatrace is an amazing all-around product that can really change the way you do business. Dynatrace has the ability to see all the metrics in your infrastructure, and provide you with baselines, and report off that to show you how everything works together. I can't see where Dynatrace would be less appropriate because it really allows you to correlate everything that is going on in your business from all the metrics that the OneAgent is able to gather, and you can use that information and tailor it to whichever business unit you see fit.
Read Alyssa Simon's full review
Sandy Neavaes | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Excellent company with excellent products!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynatrace is used as our Enterprise Monitoring System. It is used throughout the organization. Our heaviest users are from our Middleware Engineering group. We use Dynatrace for monitoring applications in the cloud, for monitoring internal- and external-facing systems. We use synthetic monitoring and user monitoring. We heavily monitor cloud applications. Many of our applications are moving to the cloud.
  • Proactive monitoring of potential issues/problems
  • Quickly alerting when there is a problem
  • Eliminating false alerts
  • Organization of synthetic screens--unable to do edits for mass # of monitors at one time
Dynatrace is well suited for monitoring cloud applications. We haven't used any mobile monitoring so I can't say how Dynatrace performs for that scenario. Synthetic monitoring is good, but could use some improvements, such as more detail in the error descriptions where possible. Also, the screen for editing all monitors at one time is not available. Monitors have to be edited in buckets of 100.
Read Sandy Neavaes's full review
Higino Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Dynatrace makes monitoring a breeze.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Dynatrace is helping us with transparent, easy, and deep observability of our managed infrastructure and micro-service based apps. We quickly installed and started having deep monitoring and observability, and with Davis, we have instant insights into problems we could only have had with hours of engineering root cause analysis in the past.
  • Auto discovery and complete observability without any tweaks or configuration
  • Root cause analysis and alter correlation into a changing micro-service environment
  • Greater transparency on licensing costs, cost optimization, and cost projection of activating Dynatrace features
Dynatrace is well suited for start-ups looking to quickly and easily monitor apps having business impact.
Read Higino Silva's full review
Jamey Price | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Best APM Tool That's More Than an APM Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT department uses Dynatrace for incident detection and resolution, as well as testing at scale, debugging, and some business analysis.
  • Root-cause analysis in 30 seconds instead of 0.5-2 hours
  • Application developer self-service of fault detection
  • Business analysis is in its early stages of implementation, and I'm excited to see how the feature grows and develops.
If you are using supported technologies (see their materials, the list grows regularly), Dynatrace is the best APM tool on the market. If you are using unsupported technologies, it's still amazing, but you'll miss out on some of the most advanced, groundbreaking features of the product (such as PurePaths). If anyone ever asked you what was wrong, and you had to answer, "I don't know," then you need Dynatrace.
Read Jamey Price's full review
Matt Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Dynatrace Delivers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace for application and infrastructure monitoring. Additionally, we use it for business insights. Primarily, it is used by our infrastructure team with some users in application development. Dynatrace has been used to find issues with cpu, code, third-party applications, and a number of other issues. We are currently working on dashboards to share with other depts.
  • Ease of deployment
  • Complete infrastructure monitoring
  • Reporting
  • API use
Dynatrace does a great job at monitoring business processes from end to end. Finding and alerting on problems, and then being able to drill down into pure paths to see user actions, have waterfall analysis to take us right down to the code level, set up conversion goals to track outcomes, etc.
Read Matt Johnson's full review
Ganesh Ramasamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Dynatrace: Easy to Get Started

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application development organization within IT primarily uses Dynatrace to gain visibility into the technology health and react to issues. This helps the teams proactively address impending issues.
  • Ease of installation and initial setup.
  • Great customer service and active account executives.
  • There have been instances of high resource consumption but was addressed quickly.
  • Additional configuration needed.
Dynatrace has been very useful for application/user session monitoring. The IT Operations team still need other specialized products to monitor infrastructure.
Read Ganesh Ramasamy's full review
David Junkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Dynatrace: A good product that keeps getting better

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynatrace to monitor performance of our applications and our infrastructure. It has the ability to stitch together the path of a transaction through the stack of technology. It also can tell you an end-user's experience. Dynatrace has an AI engine that helps reduce the need to dig through tons of data. It will highlight were your issues are for you. It is being used across the enterprise to help us improve customer experience.
  • Stitch transactions across multiple technologies
  • Give an accurate picture of the end-user experience
  • Reporting: Current dashboards are limited
  • User experience data is purged after a while, which means you need to extract data to another source.
Dynatrace is great at highlighting issues and letting you know of their impact. The AI allows you to make associations that one person could probably not do. I think, so far, most things Dynatrace targets, it does well. I would say Dynatrace should not replace a business analytics solution.
Read David Junkin's full review
Jaime Morell | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Dynatrace is the future!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Dynatrace in a few departments, but we are looking to expand it to the entire production environment. Dynatrace addresses app and infrastructure monitoring, as well as log analysis. The ease of the interface and amount of info is great. Overall, Dynatrace has helped us to locate issues we didn't know were in the environment.
  • Application monitoring
  • Infrastructure monitoring
  • Hyper-V integration
  • Citrix products integration
App and infrastructure monitoring is what we use Dynatrace for right now. We are looking to expand as it has many useful tools. Dynatrace has provided us with info and metrics that we couldn't see before. It allows you to troubleshoot an issue before it becomes the customer's issue. Overall Dynatrace is a great product, and I look forward to working with them more.
Read Jaime Morell's full review
kulwinder singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Dynatrace Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dynatrace to monitor our environment of 1000+ hosts, both on cloud and on-premises, we are using DEM, synthetic to monitor various apps and perform auto healing as needed. Dynatrace works great on base-lining and alerting--seamless integration with different alert platforms.
  • Excellent topology display by Smartscape
  • Synthetic, DEM, and Davis are excellent tools
  • Heap dumps are hard to gather.
  • Event correlation is off sometimes.
Dynatrace is well suited for infrastructure, cloud, and container monitoring, as well as VMware monitoring.
Smartscape Topology works great to show the dependencies.
Read kulwinder singh's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (341)
9.0
Database monitoring (305)
8.5
Threshold alerts (339)
8.9
Predictive capabilities (299)
8.1
Application performance management console (328)
8.7
Collaboration tools (259)
7.0
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (306)
8.2
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (314)
8.3
Virtualization monitoring (294)
8.1
Server availability and performance monitoring (323)
8.6
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (310)
8.4
IT Asset Discovery (249)
7.7

About Dynatrace

Dynatrace is an AI-centered software intelligence platform. It includes APM features scaled for enterprises and with individual transaction-level monitoring capabilities as well as infrastructure monitoring, AIOps, digital business analytics, and digital experience monitoring. Businesses use the Dynatrace platform to collaborate internally and deliver value to users with minimal effort.

Dynatrace Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No