Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Reviews

133 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 77)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 11, 2019
Cameron Council | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using CrashPlan as a means of data security for our end user base. It is being used across the university to back up all users who have university provided laptops or desktops. This solution allows for a safety net for our users in case of hardware failure or a malicious attack.
Read Cameron Council's full review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company uses Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) daily for all company backups. We use Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) as our off-site backup system to have constant backups on-site and off-site. This ensures there is no data loss with any of our data and information across our multiple platforms and servers.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2019
Gail Dutchess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Capriccio Elite, LLC currently uses Code42 to back up all files across all workstations in our agency. This includes sensitive information housed on local computers and our internal file server as well as QuickBooks files. As a stand-alone, the back-ups are reliable. We choose to use Code42 as part of a daisy chain of backups. Meaning, local computers backed up to a NAS and Code42 and NAS backed up to Code42. This more than adequately solves our need to have and access back-ups of files and documents. Furthermore, if a file is deleted locally, it is easy to find and restore from the Code42 console.
Read Gail Dutchess's full review
September 26, 2019
Craig West | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Code42 backs up my home computer and business server. It will backup files almost by the minute. It will also back up large amount of data both to the cloud and internal storage.
Read Craig West's full review
June 15, 2019
Michael Bartlett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Code42 provides a secure, cloud-based and on-premises backup solution for workstations, laptops, and servers. I am a user and a reseller with about 100 end users in various organizations. It is a low-profile and low-impact installation, easy to configure, and seamlessly and continuously backs up files, providing secure off-site backup with versioning and increments- allowing you to go back to pristine file versions in the case of ransomware. It protects against unintended deletes and lost or damaged computers, virus or other malware infections, and allows a company administrator access to archives in the case of legal or HR needs.
Read Michael Bartlett's full review
August 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Code42 for cloud/offsite backups across our firm. It's inexpensive, easy to use and a great way to backup data offsite.
Read this authenticated review
January 20, 2019
Liz Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Code42 is the one and only system I use to backup my entire business in a digital sense. I am a freelance professional photographer, so I backup my images, documents, emails, etc., on a regular basis. Having a good backup system in place is crucial as hard drives fail all the time and my clients count on me to retain their products.
Read Liz Wade's full review
January 19, 2019
Aaron Pinsker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Code42 is used by a number of my clients to back up workstations, servers and NAS devices to the cloud. Most clients use Code42 to backup just mission critical machines, though some use it to back up all workstations. With Code42 set up properly, backups occur automatically every 15 min or when a file changes with no user intervention, allowing for peace of mind when it comes to protecting one's data.
Read Aaron Pinsker's full review
November 09, 2018
Kenneth Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Code42 across the whole organization to provide hands-free backup to all our users. Code42 ensures that all company data contained on user devices is backed up to a secure location that can be easily restored from. The user doesn't have to do anything and the backup process runs in the background. This service prevents user files from being lost because we can't necessarily force them to copy everything to the network drives. Additionally, when users are offsite or offline, their files are saved to the local computer. Code42 backs up using any connection - wired or wireless.
Read Kenneth Hess's full review
October 17, 2017
John Coxen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use CrashPlan to backup our remote workers. We run a hybrid configuration - our server, their cloud storage. We retain administrative controls of everything from our main office so backups can't be disabled even accidently by our end users. This has allowed us to ensure that, no matter what happens, all their files are backed up and can be restored with very little effort.
Read John Coxen's full review
August 11, 2017
Nathan Venno | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is being used to backup our important users (President, CFO, Head Account, Head Sales person, etc), any user that would cause major problems for the company if they were hit with Ransomware or the like are protected. I've used this to restore a user when they receive new computers or a single file needs to be restored (or a few files).
Read Nathan Venno's full review
March 02, 2017
Alan Richtmyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CrashPlan is used across the whole organization. Every employee has it installed on their laptop and we also have it installed on some some servers to back up their data files. Most employees are remote and CrashPlan allows us to back up everyone without having to host our own backup server.
Read Alan Richtmyer's full review
January 20, 2017
Cedric BARNET | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use CrashPlan for all our managed customers (Mac shops). We use it back up hundreds of users/devices including server or client workstation data, depending on our client needs and budget.
Read Cedric BARNET's full review
October 28, 2016
Rex Sarchet | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using CrashPlan to back up all of our remote users. The reason behind bringing on CrashPlan was that we needed a method to accurately back up and have access to data from our remote associates in the event of litigation. We soon found out that we could use CrashPlan to help us refresh the hardware for all 150 of our sales associates. We built the hardware in house, installed their most recent backup and then shipped out the new hardware. When they powered on their new system, it was identical to their previous solution. Complete with documents, email archives, desktop icons and IE favorites. We have not yet encountered any real problems. The closest thing to a problem is accessing the cold storage files. It is a bit clunky.
Read Rex Sarchet's full review
October 25, 2016
David Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CrashPlan is being used as a disaster recovery/data backup tool in our organization. It is being deployed to the entire company of ~6000 users. CrashPlan addresses several business needs as it is a very versatile application. The help desk primarily uses it for disaster recovery when drives fail or end users accidentally delete a file. We also use it for hardware refreshes where pulling data from CrashPlan would be much quicker than USMT. Lastly, we use it for legal holds and data forensics.
Read David Lo's full review
October 07, 2016
Ken Bailey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Crashplan has been implemented in our organization globally as a corporate backup solution. This addresses a number of business requirements in regards to assisting users with data recovery as well as having data available for legal compliance. With Crashplan we have been able to have a great deal more control over fulfilling our data backup requirements than other products we've tested or implemented.
Read Ken Bailey's full review
September 07, 2016
Clifford Goeke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have 15 local users and 35 remote users. I set up a parent and two sub organizations. The subs were set not to inherit the parent settings so I could control who could make changes to the settings. The remote users are locked down so we can be compliant with regulations about data archiving and retention. Remote users can not delete from backups and backups are set for unlimited retention. The backup is set to run continuously. The only issue we have had was with a user that has a satellite internet connection with limited or capped data. The first backup used most of her data allotment for the month. Users had to be educated to leave their computer on while the first backup was running.
Read Clifford Goeke's full review
August 31, 2016
Kayle Day | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CrashPlan was selected for our company to support a highly mobile user base. With a fast-growing company and lots of data being accessed, shared, and relied upon to do a job effectively, it is critical that we back up that data - and not by relying on users to understand when and where to save.

CrashPlan took the human error out of our backup plan. It guarantees data integrity, and our ability to service our users for a variety of needs. As an administrator, it gives me peace of mind that lost or stolen devices do not mean a loss of data. CryptoLockers don't scare me - now it's simply a matter of blowing away a machine and re-imaging with our CrashPlan backups. Accidentally deleted files can be restored in seconds, and if a user loses it somewhere in their mess of digital files, I can find it.

Read Kayle Day's full review
April 20, 2016
Leora &quot;Sparky&quot; Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize Crashplan to backup training records and file shares related to the course materials and research we have performed. Our office was previously located in an area prone to hurricanes and flooding, so we have experienced disasters and loss of data. Crashplan was implemented as a simple, cost-effective way to ensure that wherever we were located, our data was located somewhere else as protection, and it has done the job splendidly.
Read Leora "Sparky" Thomas's full review
July 15, 2016
Courtland Sorenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

For decades my company has used onsite usb backups for small businesses. With any onsite backup, you want the security and protection of an external drive that is shielded. The problem is most of them fail within a month of warranty, and usually quite unexpectedly.

Code42 and Crashplan:

- A solution that does not care about size.
- It takes our onsite backups to cloud, and gives us piece of mind for our Managed Service clients.
- It is the best hybrid solution I have seen, to date. No huge metadata files that cause issues.
- Customer support that works

Biggest things that need work:

- Backing up open databases and exchange. Would be nice if the tool was built in.
- Agents that quit unexpectedly. This happens randomly. Usually a fresh install will fix.
Read Courtland Sorenson's full review
June 24, 2016
Samuel Laflamme | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's a really great solution for computer backup on either cloud or hybrid solution. I can sleep easier because even if there a virus or hardware failure, my users will not lose any data. If a file is deleted or a bad change is made to it, my user can revert it themselves. The self service nature of crashplan is great.
Read Samuel Laflamme's full review
June 16, 2016
Kevin Henningson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our IT department does use CrashPlan; it is used company wide. The software backs up important data on all of our employees' PCs and laptops. If there are any issues that we need to rebuild or image a device we are capable to do that with CrashPlan. It's very easy to use.
Read Kevin Henningson's full review
February 03, 2016
Michael Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CrashPlan has been rolled out to all of our full-time employees. This is around 850-1000 employees total. Prior to CrashPlan, we did not have a reliable means to back up data on the individual computers other than having our end users save to network shares. Synchronizing this data for off-line use has always been messy but now we can safely allow data to be stored on the local hard drives. Additionally, CrashPlan is our primary means for data retention when a user is no longer employed. Data can always be downloaded from the administrative console if needed, especially when access to the physical computer is non existent.
Read Michael Knight's full review
May 25, 2016
Tyler Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently we are using CrashPlan for our top 50 VIPs and other users deemed with sensitive information. We use this to back up everyone from our CEO to our vice presidents. We had major problems with our previous cloud backup solutions and even on site solutions (virus infection, terrible admin console, no remote push) until we decided on CrashPlan. This has everything you could possibly want out of a cloud storage solution. Security, reliability, ease of use, the list goes on. Every company I will decide to go to in the future, implementing CrashPlan will definitely be my first priority.
Read Tyler Smith's full review

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

CrashPlan is a cloud backup solution from Code42 in Minneapolis, MN.
Categories:  Data Loss Prevention

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Features

Has featureAutomatic, continuous data protection
Has featureFull visibility of all protected devices and data in a single dashboard
Has featureSelf-service restore

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Competitors

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free 30 Day TrialFree
Standard$6per user/per month
Premium$9per user/per month
EnterpriseContact sales team

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

CrashPlan is a cloud backup solution from Code42 in Minneapolis, MN.

What is Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.8.

Who uses Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)?

The most common users of Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) are Mid-size Companies from the Information Technology & Services industry.