Dell PowerEdge R

Dell PowerEdge R

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.3 out of 100
Dell PowerEdge R

Overview

Recent Reviews

Excellent servers

8 out of 10
October 01, 2020
We run several virtual servers under VMWare using Dell PowerEdge servers which are perfectly supported by VMWare suite ensuring a smooth …
Continue reading

Great Flexible Stable Server

10 out of 10
September 22, 2020
We use Dell PowerEdge R servers as VMWare ESXi hosts to power all of our applications. From Production/UAT to Development and QA they are …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Customer Support 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Usability 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Dell PowerEdge R, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Dell PowerEdge R?

Dell's PowerEdge R is a line of rack servers.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Dell PowerEdge R?

Dell's PowerEdge R is a line of rack servers.

Dell PowerEdge R Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Dell PowerEdge R?

Dell's PowerEdge R is a line of rack servers.

What is Dell PowerEdge R's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Dell PowerEdge R?

The most common users of Dell PowerEdge R are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (58)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-22 of 22)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Sudipta Banerjee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have used Dell PowerEdge R series Servers in our organization to support multiple Application platforms that runs on individual physical machines. The Product ranges offered supports ecosystems which suits our budget. We have even created excellency centre in our organization which runs multiple work loads requiring variety of physical configurations. Hence recommend Dell PowerEdge R Servers
  • Supports both Legacy and latest Work Loads
  • Support multiple Virtualization Platforms
  • Require very less management
  • Easy BIOS set up
  • Offer Single GUI to monitor multiple machines
  • Susceptible to tough DC environment
  • Getting DSAT report remotely does becomes a challenge sometimes
  • Server rebooting becomes an issue, it does not starts up easily
  • Server heats up sometimes a lot, emitting lot of noice
It is less appropriate for Defence departments where Servers are rebooted on regular basis.It is best suited for Hyper converge Environment, Virtualization. Increase performance with up to 50% * higher core counts.iDRAC9 Group Manager, offers a built-in “one to many console” web-based console letting us deploy multiple servers at the same time even remotely.
Arvind Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dell PowerEdge R series are very handy and easy to deploy rack-based servers. I am using Dell PowerEdge R710, R720 & R730 for more than 5 years. We use these rack servers as Hypervisor i.e., VMware ESXi as well as a backup server. Most of the virtual infrastructure is running on this series. You can use these rack servers as standalone ones, or like a hypervisor, etc.
  • Reliable memory feature is unique.
  • Easy in RAID configuration where we need OS and storage partitions.
  • PowerEdge iDRAC are way more easier to administer.
  • iDRAC interface can have some more shortcuts.
  • Getting DSAT report remotely becomes challenging sometimes.
Works very well during cluster-based scenarios.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dell PowerEdge R series servers in our production environment. We have 6 of them in a vSAN cluster located in only one location. We made the decision of buying them helped by Dell Consulting services. They helped us to simulate our main load and to project how that load would best fit into their hardware.
  • Low part incident.
  • Fast hardware delivery.
  • Centralize management VM.
  • Not particularly found any worth mentioning.
  • Some issues were fixed by firmware updates.
  • They are very stable.
We chose Dell PowerEdge R series because we need to consolidate a lot of physical load into a smaller number of nodes. Their hardware configuration, specifically for vSAN helps us achieve a high-density load in a very low number of physical servers. On top of that, they have lots of expansion ports, so we can increase our load internally on each other with simple upgrades.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a Dell PowerEdge R as the primary storage server in our organization, as well as a SQL server. It is used across the whole organization and maintains the integrity of all data, providing shared drives for access by approximately 1,000 users.
  • The servers are stable
  • The servers are fault tolerant
  • The servers are easily managed via IPMI
  • The servers are easily upgraded and maintained
  • I would like to see expanded use of AMD processors across the range
  • I would like to see more storage options for NVME disks
  • I would like to see improved memory compatibility
Dell PowerEdge R servers are well suited to medium to large organizations looking for robust storage or virtualization platforms. The machines are less appropriate for small businesses where the cost of the machine outweighs its usefulness.
Dell support is outstanding, both first-party and via third-party partner support.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use DellPower Edge R rack server for our projects and our customers for building compute platforms like standalone servers, virtualized rack servers, building private cloud top of the power edge rack server stacks. We deploy various security and networking applications and platforms on the dell power edge rack servers. We use these products for our own projects as well as resell, build and manage customer data center infrastructure build on the Dell PowerEdge R. These servers have great performance, cost and are energy-efficient.
  • Dell PowerEdge R supports almost all the leading virtualization solutions.
  • Dell PowerEdge R supports almost the entire range of the operating systems supported on x86 platform.
  • Dell PowerEdge R servers are very cost competitive and can support long term.
  • Highly efficient and performative.
  • Support of Dell PowerEdge R servers from entry-level to top-level for higher storage inside, like DellPowerEdge Rack 740xd.
Dell PowerEdge R is very suitable for all kinds of workload supported on x86 servers platforms. These are highly efficient for various virtualization scenarios and compute/storage hungry applications. Building Private cloud, energy-efficient data centers and building security applications are very broad use cases where users can go for Dell PowerEdge R without hesitation.
Dell PowerEdge R supports under various support levels and types from the Dell. The product itself is very reliable.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dell PowerEdge R servers for any requirement for traditional rack mount server compute and storage. Typically we'll use them for physical database servers, file sharing servers where significant storage is required with often the addition of hybrid storage (using Enmotus software) of hard disk and ssd combinations to deliver excellent i/o performance for a good price.
  • Price
  • Reliability
  • Dell Support
  • Low admin overheads
  • Fast delivery
  • The time to support latest and largest hard disks could be better
Works for all scenarios of computing, physical database servers, remote branch offices, virtualisation hosts there are very few scenarios where these servers don't fit. Due to the options for connectivity and density of CPU and RAM they are also options for hyper converged infrastructure that are replacing traditional blade environments.

Use of small VMware ESXi nodes as a standalone remote branch server is an excellent option as provides considerable value and savings to deliver 3-5 virtual servers.
The vast majority of the time the support is to do with a hardware component failure and the support has been outstanding. It can sometimes be a little frustrating to have to go through the usual 1st line support when you do have skilled 3rd line engineers who can be trusted to diagnose the faults (especially when the monitoring software from Dell tells you the fault). But Dell do provide a training course to validate customers which does expediate these types of support requests.

Time to receive replaced equipment is brilliant, but this I think is due to our data centre being close to a Dell suppy centre. Often equipment is received in less than 4 hours and often within an hour!
October 01, 2020

Excellent servers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run several virtual servers under VMWare using Dell PowerEdge servers which are perfectly supported by VMWare suite ensuring a smooth workflow and support for these servers. For the past few years we haven’t had any issues with this mix of hardware and software and it has allowed us to offer the services according the needs of our organization.
  • VMWare virtualization
  • Power Redundancy
  • Customer support
  • Upgrades
Virtualization using VMWare are an excellent example of a recommended use for these servers. You can set up a computer cluster as well for calculations or running systems with high availability requirements. Dell PowerEdge servers are well suited for those tasks and many others. Dell also has terrific customer support.
Dell has a terrific support for their hardware and has many deals with software vendors like VMWare to ensure that their servers run smoothly and without issues their platforms. Their support is dependable and reliable it adds an extra layer of security to keep our operations running without issues and to have the minor impact possible if a failure occurs.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has standardized on Dell PowerEdge servers for years and have had a generally positive experience. It offers the best pricing, support, and technology available without our region. The systems are also generally reliable, and the robust management tools have streamlined routine maintenance and monitoring within the local IT department.
  • Support is best-in-class
  • Pricing is competitive
  • Reliability has been generally good.
  • Technology and management tools has been impressive.
  • Pricing for warranty extensions could be improved.
  • Support for older/obsolete hardware could be improved.
Dell Poweredge has a variety of solutions from small to large scale that should be adequate for all on-premise business needs. However, as with everything else in the world of IT, if your organization has already standardized on a different platform, it may be best to stay with that platform, unless there is enough justification to make a complete or phased change-out.
We consider Dell's support to be best-in-class compared to other solutions and is also reasonably priced. Their SLA targets have almost always been met, except for minor occasions that have had extenuating circumstances. The service staff is also professional and thorough. Overall, we are very satisfied with the level of support we receive.
September 24, 2020

My Dell are going Well

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dell PE R710 servers in our data center. They provide resources for Drake Hyper-V virtualization.
Few of them also allocated for backup and DR. During time of usage they have showed mostly positive outcome.
They connected to corporate SAN and provide access to various applications for business needs. It is mostly Web and SQL servers.
  • PowerEdge R really well work for small/med hosting servers.
  • MS SQL DBs are running well for such type of hardware.
  • Dedicated backup servers are performing well on Dell servers.
  • DRAC interface should be better designed to improve usability of management.
  • Raid controllers sometimes have an issue with non-Dell disks.
  • There is room to improve drivers for server support.
It is good hardware to meet project requirements, if budget can allow to purchase high grade Dell servers. We use them for hosting and they well suited for our needs. Practically PowerEdge R servers have good reputation and can provide any high load compute activities like DBs, SAP, Mail servers or other application services.
Dell support is usually busy during working hours. It is possible to get through after 5-10 minutes on hold. Service support engineers are qualified to provide high quality troubleshooting for any cases. It usually takes few days to replace faulty components or find solution for drivers issues.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dell PowerEdge R servers as VMWare ESXi hosts to power all of our applications. From Production/UAT to Development and QA they are running on Power Edge servers. They provide us an affordable and stable hardware platform with enterprise grade service and support that's available when we need it.
  • Stable.
  • Good service and support.
  • Enterprise grade.
  • Scalable.
  • Flexible.
  • Firmware Update Process could be improved.
Power Edge R Servers are well suited to use a VM Host or phsyical application servers. There is a wide range of models from dual socket/small office servers to the quad socket large VM Host or Database server. One area were PowerEdge R servers aren't well suited would be in hyperscale environments, just not a good fit.
Good stable servers, they do what you need them to do. Dell stands behind their products and will handle any hardware issues that arise. We use many different model PowerEdge R servers and have seem fewer hardware failures and calls to support since switching from HPE ProLiant's 5 years ago.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The PowerEdge R is a server that houses all of our files, including data, images, audio, and other media. We use PowerEdge R to manage the server and our 30+ employees. We allow and restrict those who has access to certain data. The server allows for Windows backup and password protection. The server allows multiple users to access the information remotely.
  • Solid performance.
  • Few reboots.
  • Few maintenance issues.
  • Interface could be improved upon.
  • Better IOPS, i.e. the disc speed. That is the main limitation for scaling up the number of users.
  • Increase GPU's and benchmarking.
The PowerEdge R is well suited for those who are looking for reliability and have a need to increase volume or have to connect to a computer with permissions for multiple users. Helpful for managing e-mail for an increasing number of people. Multiple users need to access the same data. Managing shared resources across the workspace. Centralized control over network security management. If you don't require multiple user access a server might not be right for you.
Dell's customer support is fair and often has mixed reviews. I haven't had to contact Dell support but they do have phone numbers where they can be contacted.
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dell PowerEdge R rack mount servers in our Data Center for our business-critical workloads across our entire Enterprise. Dell PowerEdge R servers give us a very reliable compute and storage platform that servers as the foundation of our infrastructure. All of our tier-1 member-facing applications are homed on Dell PowerEdge R servers. We have been very satisfied with the performance and reliability of this server platform over the years.
  • Performance
  • Reliability
  • Cost
  • The firmware upgrade process could be more automated.
  • Software updates could be more frequent.
  • Technical support could have higher-caliber engineers.
Dell PowerEdge R servers are great for large companies that need reliable compute and storage that is easy to manage. I think smaller companies can get by with cheaper, more commodity-level hardware, but for medium to large enterprise size companies, Dell PowerEdge R is a great platform to build your infrastructure on. Dell has made the equipment upgrade process much smoother, so there is less downtime if you need to add or upgrade existing hardware. We haven't found a better server that combines performance, uptime, and cost as well as the Dell PowerEdge R line.
We have been very happy with the technical support that we have received from Dell\EMC for our PowerEdge R servers. The response time is good and the technical expertise of the engineers has been very good too. The front line engineers rarely have to escalate anything up to Level 2 as well. Most of our tickets get closed out with their level 1 techs.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This server is being utilized for our Active Directory in 2 different sites. We are using R330 and R340 1U Rack. We required a simple, cost effective and slim profile server on top of our existing hyperconverged environment. For some reason we still believe that a physical AD is necessary.
  • Reliable
  • Ease of use
  • Firmware update is a breeze.
  • Admin management is easy.
  • This server should last you a good 7-8 years.
  • Intuitiveness of the web interface
  • 1-click update (similar to what Nutanix has) for firmware
  • Mobile management
Dell PowerEdge R servers really last. They're good for SME business, but the price can be quite steep. Ours is 1U, so they save space on the rack. If you need a server that could last a good amount of years 7-8, then this is the way to go.
Never really have had the need to call them till now, so can't really say, but from past experiences with Dell Pro Support, they're quite fast!
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dell PowerEdge R for production, development, and testing in virtual environments. Each environment hosts applications from Databases, Web Servers to BI, and CRM applications on different Operating Systems and containers.
  • Amazing support, and we can easily find replacement parts & great documentation.
  • Good performance
  • Great compatibility with virtualization solutions
  • The product can be expensive for small business.
  • Sometimes the replacement parts take too much time to arrive.
  • The product lifecycle could be longer.
The server performance is very good with virtual and high-demand environments.
The Dell support is very good and always provide good solutions to our issues. The documentation and software available on the support website is accurate and updated.
September 18, 2020

My Dell PowerEdge R Review

Yvonne Graber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a Dell channel partner and resell servers and workstations to small offices, medical and dental offices. It solves issues by having files centralized and on a domain. We use these servers so employees can share files view files and back up files. I have worked with Dell for years to customize the Power Edge servers to meet our clients needs.
  • The server takes up less space than the T server.
  • Customization features
  • Hot swapping of drives
  • Various Raid configurations
  • Pricing thru the years has not come down that much.
Dell PowerEdge R is well suited for offices where there are at least 8 users and you are on a domain. The servers are built to last and they are pretty rugged. It's less appropriate in smaller offices since it can be overkill and they do not need such a server and could use a lower-end server.
Dell has a wonderful Pro-Support team for servers. I stress that everyone who owns in the PowerEdge line should have a Pro-Support warranty. You get technicians only in the USA, and they are now assigned to you. They follow your case from start to finish, until the issue is resolved.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run a virtualization solution on top of a pair of PowerEdge R servers.
  • Good price - Compared to other vendors’ server platforms. In our scenario (virtualization) we found out PowerEdge offers the best price/vCPU and RAM ratio.
  • Customizable - We were able to select optimal memory/disk capacity for our use case. Other platform's minimum requirements were above our needs, hence needlessly expensive.
  • Good warranty and service - Our project did not involve creating a big cluster with a lot of spare capacity, so the next business day warranty came handy.
  • Remote management - we use Linux, and the iDRAC management utilities support were better suited for Windows.
If you are looking for a mid-size server with extensibility capacity, PowerEdge R is a good solution. Not so good for storage server maybe. In general, it is great for a small scale virtualization project.
It has the optimal price/power ratio.
Mostafa Dakam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Dell PowerEdge servers for about 10 years. We have some of R740 and R440 at our company, and we use them for many purposes like Windows domain, application servers, VM systems, and other. We use the R740 for cloud applications and VMs, they came with a punch of storage slots and 2nd generation of Intel Xeon, these are quite reliable servers and have the smooth performance we rarely had issues with them. We use the R440 for domain controlling and applications.
  • Great working performance.
  • Redundancy for power and network connectivity.
  • Produce less noise, Dell PowerEdge R are quiet servers.
  • Easy access to the inside of the servers and upgrade.
  • The need for increasing the performance may cost much.
  • The older version has not much support or replacement parts.
Dell PowerEdge R servers include a wide range for different implementation needs. For example, we use the R740 for VMware deployment because it offers many drive slots for different types of drives and pre-bundled and tailored Ready Nodes. The R440 is smaller and characterized by the balance of performance and density, we use them for Windows Domain and application purposes.
We didn't have any issues which needed support from Dell, but the few times we had inquiries about some issues, we used Dell community forums it's a very good source of information, they help a lot in resolving the problems. There are posts for almost every issue you need to know about, we usually found what we looking for there, and solve the issues.
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dell PowerEdge R servers at our client sites as physical hosts for running VMware ESX or Hyper-V Hypervisors. The organization's business critical applications within virtual machines (VMs) on the PowerEdge rack-mount servers. They are very powerful servers and can handle the most demanding business applications i.e. Databases, ERP, Business Intelligence, MS Exchange etc.
  • Flexible CPU socket options i.e. 1 socket, 2 socket and 4 socket servers.
  • The PowerEdge R portfolio includes servers for the branch (entry) to mid and enterprise servers for the datacentre to run most demanding workloads including HCI.
  • Supports NVME drives for minimum latency.
  • Sizing tools should updated and easily accessible.
  • Offer higher scalability where you can scale up like with IBM Power Servers.
Dell PowerEdge servers are well suited for most enterprise workloads running on Intel Processors i.e. ERP, CRM, HCI, Microsoft Exchange, Big Data, Artificial Intelligence (AI) and much more. These servers are rock solid and therefore can run most workloads if sized correctly. I would also advise that you get a Dell Partner to assist you in sizing the server to ensure that you have catered for sufficient capacity to grow your environment.
Very solid and powerful server with several models to choose from, it has many innovative features, easily to manage and a very good technical support offering which extends the lifecyle of the machine. Since these are rackmounted servers they fit into standards racks and can be power using dual power supplies for high-availability requirements.
September 12, 2020

Great Servers

Ashley Beal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a reseller of Dell products which means we often sell Dell PowerEdge Servers to our customers. Every department in our company comes into contact with this product. Whether that be in the sales, marketing, finance, technicians, and the help desk.
  • Dell PowerEdge R is really good for companies that are looking for a very reliable server.
  • I can't think of anything that they need to improve.
Dell PowerEdge R is very well suited for companies that are looking for a reliable server that can support a good number of computers in their company. Rack servers are space saving and efficient and quite frankly, our company only resells Dell products as they prove to be the best in the PC business.
When we purchase Dell products we always make sure to get ProSupport because then you receive the best support they have. There is a direct line to call with highly trained and intelligent support techs and they also provide next business day onsite service should that be necessary. This is a great feature when something in the server breaks and need replaced quickly.
September 12, 2020

Dell PowerEdge Rack Servers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deploy our Dell PowerEdge servers company wide. They support all aspects of the company; especially as virtualization constantly evolves bringing in newer opportunities. It addresses many issues but the most valuable is demoing different software products or product testing before it is deployed throughout the company. It acts as a lab environment as well as supporting production infrastructure.
  • Supports ESXi extremely well.
  • Easy to find firmware updates.
  • Ease of use and reliability.
  • IDSDM modules seem to have a high failure rate.
Anytime you need to roll out a production server for a one-to-one or many-to-one scenario it is appropriate. The only time I can think a PowerEdge deployment doesn't make sense is for a single workstation user that does not require the resources a typical configuration would offer.
Support is top notch. As long as you have a valid support contract you will be able to speak to someone almost immediately and they will work with you to resolve your issue. Most of the time it's because there is a failed piece of hardware and it is dispatched fairly quickly.
Vin Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have two Dell PowerEdge R devices running as EXHost servers for our VMware network. We have our load of virtual servers split between the two host devices, with a NetApp FAS2200 device on the backend housing all of the virtual files. We're running 128GB RAM on each device with 200GB local storage for additional failover and OS management. This has been our backbone for the last 7 years.
  • Let me say -- stability, that's the key. Foundation is everything, and these servers are bedrock.
  • Uptime -- I reboot twice per year, and I probably don't need to do that.
  • Firmware updates -- Dell has done a good job over the years keeping these devices up to date.
  • Easy maintenance + easy configuration -- mostly set it and forget it.
  • The web interface is definitely lacking. I'm sure in the newer models this has been improved.
  • I'd like VMWare to have greater controls over these servers -- that would simplify management.
At this point, we are using an older version of this series, but I have to say that these servers can run for many more years to come. Well suited for small to medium size businesses for sure, as the price tag (on these - and especially the newer versions) is quite steep. These servers were perfect for setting up a load balanced virtual host scenario (VMware in our case), but could easily be used as Microsoft Hyper-V hosts as well. These servers are not appropriate in their current configuration for an atmosphere requiring quiet -- or one with limited space (we have rack mount 1U cases - loud fans + need mounting depth).
Hyler C Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We exclusively run these servers in all our supported environments. We used to use them as physical servers and now they are all set up as ESXi hosts. They are usually set up with 8 locally attached hard drives that serve as the data stores for ESXi.
  • Price vs. Performance. We run these servers for our customers with lower budgets. $6500 will get you a work horse capable of running at least 6 more VM guests.
  • Highly configurable to suit your enviroment.
  • Efficient on power. When replacing older servers, we typically see power consumption drop dramatically.
  • Costs can be prohibitive for very small companies.
  • Must purchase ProSupport to get enterprise level support.
As mentioned before, we run these servers as an ESXi server for all companies that we support. They are great, if you are looking to run VMWare essentials these would make perfect hosts. They also would work very well as physical servers if that is what your clients require.