JMeter Reviews

114 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-33 of 33)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2015

JMETER Review - Tool that can used for any project type.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter for load and stress test for most of our client's products. We target for:

  • Page load
  • Duration of test in seconds with number of virtual users that server can support in x number of seconds (users/sec)
  • Determine a system's behavior under both normal and anticipated peak load conditions
  • Min/Max duration for each page to load
  • Reverse stress test and its consequences
  • Duration of test in seconds with number of virtual user that server can support in x number of seconds (users/sec)
  • Determine a system's behavior under both normal and anticipated peak load conditions
  • Min/Max duration for each page to load
  • Better UI
  • Multiple project window
  • Saving and importing script on another machine looses some settings
Things to consider:

  • Number of supported users
  • Peak traffic time
  • Page size and total number of pages
  • Images on page and its size
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2015

Cool open source tool for WebService Performance testing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is being used as secondary tool at our organization, in my team its primary tool though. At the organization level we use NeoLoad which is more user friendly compared to JMeter. JMeter helped us to test our services in a cost efficient manner. We deal with millions of SOAP messages and JMeter helps us to distribute and measure performance of all those services.
  • Interaction with Java and JUnit is the one of best features and strengths of JMeter.
  • Bean shell is another strength where you can write a customized version of your scripts.
  • Webservice Performance is pretty easy compared to other tools.
  • UI Recording gives a easy way of building scripts.
  • JMeter needs to improve the interface and the start and stop process; several times it just hangs when you see an issue and stops testing in between. There is no impact but user has to reopen JMeter as the earlier session still hold resources.
  • More powerful reporting and listeners, compare previous test and current test results. Loadosophia is best example of it, including BlazeMeter which are paid versions.
I would always prefer JMeter for webservice automation over others; it does have some issues with UI based performance testing but those can be managed using JUnit and Java. Using JUnit and Java makes it some what tricky for new users to understand and that's why they go towards a more user friendly tool. JMeter support is another issue, you have to completely depend on the community to get help.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

JMeter is a nice tool for performance testing.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is used in our department as a performance testing tool. We use it to simulate multiple user systems and evaluate our product's performance.
  • Multiple thread group can simulate multiple user system
  • Setup thread, tear down thread, so we can create a scenario first, do the operation and tear down at the end
  • CSV file is very useful
  • I noticed that sometimes after you record staff in JMeter, the order is sometimes wrong.
How do you make recording steps efficient in JMeter?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2015

JMeter does it all

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is currently being utilized in our department for streaming and e-commerce applications. I use JMeter for functional, regression and performance testing. We heavily rely on this tool for every release we do to perform the above types of testing.
  • Performance testing and aggregating results in one place.
  • From functional testing of API's to regression and peformance tesing, the same tool can be used and tests can be leveraged.
  • Copy & pasting - I noticed bugs when I copy & paste tests under a thread group to others.
  • Some simple way of sharing variables from one thread group to other in same JMX.
For REST API testing, I highly recommend JMeter.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2014

Jmeter, what can not you do with it?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jmeter is used by our group in Intuit to do performance tests and analysis for all the different services that are part of the division. It is slowly and surely becoming a common tool for all the groups in Intuit primarily due to the ease of use and the no cost attached to it. Jmeter helps us to construct tests in minutes and the scripts can be run from any platform which has Java installed on it. Jmeter test plans (scripts) can be shared with the product development team to run on their local or dev environment to get performance insight at an early stage in the lifecycle of the product. Jmeter tests can also be run from a command line which makes it easy to make it part of Jenkins job for CI/CD framework.
  • Easy to construct Webservices script - You just need to add a sampler with the endpoint, payload and header information. And boom you can run a load test on the service with varying load and capture the response time and throughput. In a commercial tool like Loadrunner or Silkperformer, this process would take at least couple of hours, while with Jmeter we can do this in 10 minutes or less.
  • Modularizing the scripts - Jmeter has a very good way of organizing the scripts and the reusability of the existing script (transactions) is also as easy as copy pasting the script.
  • Jmeter tests can be run from anywhere, so you can run it from the idle webserver itself if you have some firewall restrictions to test it from your local or other environment.
  • Jmeter distributed tests can be spawn from the AWS and results collated to see the performance from different regions in the world.
  • The most not so good thing about Jmeter comes with the distributed testing. When you setup a distributed testing say with two machines, the load being generated from each machine has to be the same. So we can not separate the test plan and say run these x scripts on machine 1 and y scripts on machine 2. Both machines will run the same load with all the scripts. There is a standard feature available in all the commercial tools to specify which scripts and how many Vusers to be run from which machine in a distributed testing.
  • Reporting and graph visualization aren't that great. The option of adding external plugins for reporting does enhance it to some extent but not anywhere what we can get from Industry standard tools
  • Jmeter for UI based scripting doesn't work easily as the websites offload more work into their Javascript in the UI. Jmeter does not execute the Javascript and we may not be able to measure the real user experience.
1. Are you going to use Jmeter to primarily test for webservices? Then Jmeter is an obvious choice
2. Do you plan to test with 100s of 1000s Vusers, but have no budget to buy commercial tools?
3. Do you plan to test a wide variety of protocols like HTTP, FTP, JMS, LDAP, etc ?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2014

Get a load of the JMeter power

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter mainly to load test the new hardware, soak testing memory leaks and rarely it's being used to automate certain testing processes. Jmeter is being used mainly in our QA department and very rarely by development team. Jmeter is an awesome tool, but does take a while to set up test cases and even longer to train someone to use it.
  • No overhead, it is the key to successful stress and destruction testing.
  • Scalability, you can connect JMeter with multiple machines
  • Flexibility, you can use UI to create your test or code it from scratch
  • Has great server monitoring tools
  • Huge community behind it
  • Lots of plugins and extensions
  • It's FREE!
  • Better User Interface
  • Needs a little more documentation and references
  • Improve overall look to the modern like interface
There are few really good tools out there, but they get very pricey. JMeter is a fast, reliable, free and top of the line tool to use. All it takes is time to learn it and start developing more technical tests. JMeter can be applied to any web software out there, from the simple 3 page website to a high-grade industry web application.

Do I have time to learn the new software?
Would you like to know the maximum load for your server?
Can you code or have someone around that may help you with programming?

If you answer all 3 questions with yes, JMeter is the software for you
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2014

JMeter is the best open source load test application we've tried

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter to load test restful web services. It was a little tough to get the initial setup done, but once you are past that hump, it becomes much easier to use. We were able to use JMeter to diagnose a memory leak and prove to management that we had resolved the issue, and not just making a wild shoot in the dark. Now that we have all of our basic uploads setup and configured, it only take 10-15 minutes to set up for a new test. We haven't had as good of luck with using this to load test HTML webpages, but we are still working through those issues. Overall, we are pleased with JMeter.
  • Restful web service load tests - some what complex to setup, but easy to use once it is.
  • More real world examples to help with learning the product
  • Easier setup to load test HTML pages
  • Not particularly suited for Functional testing
For a free product, it performs wonderfully with load testing, with a relatively lightweight application and easy re-use makes for a winning combo. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a load test application.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2014

JMeter is awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Jmeter directly to load test a web UI in a previous role and my current employer uses it in their QA department. The main thing I love about it is that it does such a unique job of operating in a way that enables people with a diverse range of skill sets to get what they need out of it. If you just want to run a test that someone else created and analyze the stats, you just need to drop a file and you're good to go. At the other end of the spectrum, if you're building a test and want to get very specific about the test's behavior, you have a massive array of tools at your disposal. I recommend it strongly to anyone doing GUI testing.
  • Modular test construction
  • Detailed statistical reporting
  • Exportable test design
  • The level of detail it provides can be overwhelming at times for newbies. It would benefit from some improvements that made it easier to quickstart
It's designed to do HTTP load testing, if someone wanted to do load testing over a different protocol, then obviously you don't want it. If the user is intending to integrate results data with another system, they may face problems exporting jmeter stats into the proper format - as I recall it only exports to .csv by default.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

End to end performance management (17)
8.7
Integrated performance data (17)
8.6
Deployment model flexibility (15)
8.5
Real time monitoring (16)
8.4
Automated anomaly detection (14)
7.0

About JMeter

JMeter, from Apache, is a load and performance testing tool.

JMeter Integrations

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

JMeter Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No